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WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 

1 W. Wilson St. 
Madison WI 53703 

 
 

To: Medicaid Eligibility Handbook (MEH) Users 
 

From: Shawn Smith, Bureau Director 
Bureau of Enrollment Policy and Systems 
 

Re: Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Release 13-01 
 

Release Date: 08/28/2013 
Effective Date: 08/28/2013 

  
EFFECTIVE DATE The following policy additions or changes are effective 08/28/2013, unless 

otherwise noted.  Yellow text denotes new text.  Text with a strike through it 
in the old policy section denotes deleted text.   
 

CHANGES 
 

 

9.2.3 Recovery of Payments In some cases, payments can only be signed over to the patient.  The member 
must cooperate in turning over these payments to the State of Wisconsin, or 
his/her eligibility will end for not cooperating with providing TPL coverage and 
access information. 
 
The member must write on the back of the check “Pay to the order of the State 
of Wisconsin” and sign the check.  
 
Collect the payments monthly from the members along with the corresponding 
Explanation of Benefits ( EOB ), and send them to the following address::   
 
ForwardHealth    State of Wisconsin 
TPL Unit    Department of Health Services 
313 Blettner Blvd   IBB Department 
Madison WI    P.O. Box 6220 
53714-2405    Madison, Wisconsin 53784 
 
Close the case for non-cooperation with TPL requirements if the member refuses 
to turn over the payments. 
 

17.5.2.1 Penalty Period for 
Divestments prior to January 
1, 2009 
 

Effective July 1, 2013: 
 
For divestments prior to January 1, 2009, the penalty period is calculated by 
dividing the divested amount by the average nursing home cost to a private pay 
patient ($6,554) average monthly nursing home private pay rate of $7,406 per 
month. Round all fractions downward. For example, 8.6 = 8 months, .7 = 0 
months. 
 

Example 1: Jeff transferred $83,512 in cash, CDs, and stocks to The Green 
Tree Brethren, Inc on December 20, 2008.  $83,512 divided by $6,554 $7,406 
is 12.75 11.28. Jeff is ineligible for 12 11 months. 
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17.5.2.2 Penalty Period for 
divestments on or after 
January 1, 2009 
 

Effective July 1, 2013: 
 
For divestments on or after January 1, 2009, the divestment penalties are 
calculated in days.  using the average daily nursing home cost to a private pay 
patient Use the average daily nursing home private pay rate of $243.49 per day. 
The average daily rate was computed by multiplying the average monthly rate by 
12 and dividing by 365. ($6,554 x 12 = 78,648 divided 365 = 215.48) ($7,406 x 
12 = 88,872 divided by 365 = 243.49) 
 

Example 2: Jeff applied for FC on February 5, 2010. In January 2009 Jeff 
transferred $18,500 in cash to his son. At the time of application Jeff is 
otherwise eligible for FC. $18,500 divided by 215.48 $243.49 = 85.86 74.97 
days. Jeff is ineligible for 85 74 days. 

 

17.5.3.2 Divestments That 
Occurred On or After January 
1, 2009, 
17.5.5.1 Full Refund, 
17.5.5.2 Partial Refund,  
17.5.5.3 Divestments During a 
Penalty Period 
 

Examples 4, 10, 11, 12, and 13 have been updated. 

18.4.3 Calculate the CSAS 
 

Effective January 1, 2013 
 

IF the total countable assets of the 
couple are: 

Then the CSAS is: 

$227,280 $231,840 or more $113,640 $115,920 
Less than $227,280 $231,840 but 
greater than $100,000 

½ of the total countable assets of the 
couple 

$100,000 or less $50,000 
 
 

18.6.2 Worksheet 7 Section A -
- Community Spouse Income 
Allocation 
 

Effective July 1, 2013 
 
1. Enter on Line 1 the community spouse maximum income allocation. 

Unless a larger amount is ordered by a fair hearing or court, the 
maximum allocation is the lesser of: 

 
a. $2,841.00 $2,898.00 or 
b. $2,521.67 $2,585.00 plus excess shelter allowance. (See 39.4.2) 

 
 “Excess shelter allowance” means shelter expenses above 

$756.50 $775.50. Subtract $765.50 $775.50 from the community 
spouse’s shelter costs. If there is a remainder, add the 
remainder to $2,521.67 $2,585.00. (See 39.4.2) 

 
18.6.3 Worksheet 7 Section B -
- Family Member Income 
Allowance 
 

1. Enter $630.42 $646.25 on Line 1 under the name of each dependent 
family member who lives with the community spouse. 

 

18.6.4 Section C -- Cost of 
Care 
 

Example 2 has been updated. 

21.4.2 Transportation 
 

This entire section has been rewritten. The changes are too numerous to list. 

21.5 Co-Payment 
 

Medical services exempt from co-payments are: 
 

4. Common carrier transportation, if provided through or paid for by a 
county/tribal human or social services department 
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25.7.2 Financial Tests 
(Tuberculosis) 

Effective January 1, 2013 
 
Income -The income limit for one person is $1,481 $1,505. This is gross income. 
There is no net income test. 
 

27.2 ILTC Licensing and 
Certification 
 

Medical institutions (SNFs, ICFs, IMDs, hospitals) are licensed under Chapter 
50, Wis. Stats. The Division of Public Health, Bureau of Quality Assurance, is the 
licensing agency.  
 

28.14.1 CLTC Introduction 
 

The CLTS is entered in CWW as a CIP IB Waiver type Children’s Waiver type 
(CW). All the Medicaid eligibility criteria for the CLTS are identical to the CIP IB 
Waiver except not all children will need a disability determination in order to 
qualify. See 'County Funded Slot’ below.  The care manager will inform the IM 
worker which type of slot the child will be placed in.  
 
County Funded Slot 
Children placed in a county funded CLTS Waiver slot must meet the functional 
Level of Care but are not required to have a disability determined to become 
eligible.  
 
State Funded Slot 
Children placed in a state funded CLTS Waiver slot must be determined disabled 
in addition to meeting the functional Level of Care requirements. 
 
Not all children will require a disability determination to enroll in CLTS. It is the 
responsibility of the CLTS Support and Service Coordinator to identify to the IM 
workers which cases do not require a disability determination. If no disability 
determination is required the “Is Disability Determination Required?” question on 
the Community Waivers page should be answered ‘No’. 
 

32.6 Medicare Savings 
Programs Asset Limits 
 

Effective January 1, 2013 
 
QMB, SLMB, and SLMB+ have the same asset limit.  
 

Group 
Size 

Asset Limit 

1 $6,940 $7,080 
2 $10,410 $10,620 

 

39.4.1 EBD Assets and Income 
Table 
 

Effective January 1, 2013: 
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Group Size 

Category 1 
  

2 

EBD Categorically Needy 
Limits 

Assets $2,000 Assets $3,000 

Income $557.11 (+ actual 
shelter up to $236.67) 

Income $842.72 (+ actual shelter up to 
$355.33) 

EBD Medically Needy 
limits 

Assets $2,000 Assets $3,000 

Income $591.67 Income $591.67 

SSI Payment Level    

Federal SSI Payment Level Income $710.00 Income $1,066.00 

State Supplementary 
Payment ( SSP ) 

Income 
  

$ 83.78 Income $132.05 

Total Income $793.78 Income $1,198.05 

SSI Payment Level + E 
Supplement 

Income $889.77     

SSI E Supplement Income $95.99     

Community Waivers 
Special Income Limit 

Income $2,130.00 Income   

Institutions Categorically 
Needy Income Limit 

Income $2,130.00 
  
  

    

Substantial Gainful 
Activity limit (non-blind 
individuals) 

Income $1,040     

Substantial Gainful 
Activity limit (blind 
individuals) 

Income $1740     
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39.4.2 EBD Deductions and 
Allowances 
 

Rows 1-6 effective January 1, 2013: 
 
Rows 7-9 effective July 1, 2013: 
 

 

 

  Description Amount 

1 Personal Needs Allowance (effective 7/1/01) $45.00 

2 EBD Maximum Personal Maintenance Allowance $2,130.00 
  

3 EBD Deeming Amount to an Ineligible Minor $356.00 

4 Community Waivers Basic Needs Allowance $890.00 

5 Parental Living Allowance for Disabled Minors 1 Parent 
2 Parent 

$710.00 
$1,066.00 

6 MAPP Standard Living Allowance ( SLA ) 
SLA = SSI + State Supplement + $20 

$813.00 
  

7 Community Spouse Lower Income Allocation Limit $2,585.00 
  

8 Community Spouse Excess Shelter Cost  Limit $775.50 

9 Family Member Income Allowance $646.25 

39.5 Federal Poverty Level 
(FPL) Table 
 

Effective February 1, 2013 
 
Current numbers can be found at 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/fpl/fpl.htm 
 

39.6 Cost of Living Adjustment 
(COLA) 
 
 

Effective January 1, 2013, the COLA table has been updated. 
 
 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/fpl/fpl.htm
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39.11.1 SC Income Limits 
Introduction 
 

Effective February 1, 2013 
 

Income Limits* 
Level 1 

 
Income at or below 160% of FPL 
At or below $17,424 $18,834 per individual or $23,536 $24,816 per couple 
annually.* 

Level 2a 
 
Income above 160% and at or below 200% FPL 
$17,425 to $21,780 $18,385 to $22,980 per individual and $23,537 to $29,420 
$24,817 to $31,020 per couple annually.* 

Level 2b 
 
Income above 200% - and at or below 240% of FPL 
$21,781 to $26,136 $22,981 to $27,576 per individual and $29,421 to $35,304 
$31,021 to $37,224 per couple annually. 
 

Level 3 
 
Annual income is above 240% of the FPL 
$26,137 $27,577 or higher per individual and $35,305 $37,225 or higher per 
couple annually.* 
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