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Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services  
2014 – 2016, Provider Application Instruction Guide 

For EMT Intermediate (I99) 
(February 2014) 

 
The mission of the Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services (EMS) program is to ensure that the 
highest quality and standards of pre-hospital emergency medical care are available to all 
Wisconsin citizens and visitors. Certification or licensing provides a level of protection to 
Wisconsin citizens and visitors, and assures that an individual holding a certificate or license has 
met certain minimum competencies and is authorized to practice, as defined by law. All current 
Wisconsin EMS provider licenses and certifications expire on June 30, 2014.   
 
Besides holding a current Wisconsin certification and license to practice as an Emergency 
Medical Services provider in Wisconsin, you must also be locally credentialed with the service 
for which you are practicing. Licenses and certifications must be renewed prior to the expiration 
date of June 30, 2014, in order to continue practicing under your license. To practice as an EMT 
or First Responder in Wisconsin, you must have a current license/certificate and be credentialed 
with a service. 
 
Important Renewal Dates 
The 2014-2016 Provider License Renewal application is now available online through your E-
Licensing account for the July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2016, licensing biennium. You must 
complete the 2014-2016 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2014, in order to obtain a 
current certification or license that is valid until June 30, 2016, 
 
All Wisconsin EMS provider applications are completed in the E-Licensing system.  The 
important renewal dates to remember for 2014-2016, are:  
 

DHS 110.07 - Renewal:   November 1, 2013, through June 30, 2014  
 
DHS 110.09 (1) - Late renewals:  July 1, 2014, through December 31, 2014  
DHS 110.16 (1) (a) $50.00 Late Renewal Administrative Fee  
 
DHS 110.09 (2) - Reinstatement:  January 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016  
DHS 110.16 (1) (b) $75.00 Reinstatement Administrative Fee  
 

A license or certification that has been expired for two years or more may only be reinstated by 
successful completion of the initial education, training and examination requirements.  
 
Your Contact Information 
As EMS providers, you should ensure that your U.S. postal mailing address and email 
information are kept current in the E-Licensing system. This will assure that you will receive all 
renewal notifications and mailings from the Wisconsin EMS office. All renewal notices will be 
sent through the E-Licensing system and to the U.S. postal mailing address listed in your E-
Licensing account.  
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If you do not receive your 2014-2016 Wisconsin EMS License Renewal information by March 
15, 2014, you should assume that you do not have a current email address in the E-Licensing 
system and/or your U.S. postal mailing address in the system is incorrect. Those EMS provider 
applicants with out-of-date addresses in the system will also be subject to a $30.00 Returned 
Renewal Fee, as listed in DHS 110.16 (c). Failure to receive a renewal notification does not 
relieve an EMS provider of the responsibility to renew his/her license. 

Refresher Education 
Continuing education is a personal responsibility. Your initial or continuing education refresher 
training requirements need to be completed between July 1, 2012, and June 30, 2014, for this 
renewal biennium. Flexible continuing education may be obtained through any format, but it 
needs to meet DHS 110.07 renewal of a license or certificate, refresher retraining requirements. 
For all EMS providers, the renewal education refresher requirements for both alternate, flexible 
refresher training and standard refresher training are located at: 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/Training_education/retrainingrequirements.htm 

Waiver Request for Active Military Deployment, Medical Conditions, etc. 
If you are unable to renew your current certification or license due to active military deployment 
during the biennium, preventing your ability to complete refresher activities, or you had a 
significant medical condition during the biennium that prevented you from completing refresher 
activities, you may be able to receive an extension for the renewal process by completing the 
Waiver of Administrative Rule for Licensure - F-00569 (Word, 52 KB). You should submit the 
supporting documentation and completed form to dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov. The EMS 
program has sole discretion in determining if the waiver will be granted. The decision of the 
EMS program is final and is not appealable under DHS 110.59. 

What happens if an EMS provider applicant does not renew his/her license by June 30, 
2014? 
If a currently licensed or certified Wisconsin EMS provider has not renewed his/her provider 
license or certification by June 30, 2014, that provider may not function as an EMS provider 
after that date.   

According to DHS 110.05 (2): 

“…a person acting or advertising as an EMT or First Responder without a license or certificate 
issued by the department or without appropriate credentialing may be subject to department 
action under sub ch. V or s. 256.15 (11) (c), (d), or (f), Stats., as applicable.”  

Any application received after June 30, 2014, will be considered a late renewal under DHS 
110.09 (1): 

“An individual may renew a license or certificate that has been expired for less than 6 months by 
applying to the department for license or certificate renewal as specified under s. DHS 110.07 
and submitting the late renewal fee ($50.00) specified under s. DHS 110.16 (1). Upon the 
department's renewal of the applicant's license or certificate, the EMS professional shall be 
credentialed under s. DHS 110.52 before performing emergency medical care as an EMT or First 
Responder.” 

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/Training_education/retrainingrequirements.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f0/f00569.docx
mailto:dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%20110.07
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%20110.16(1)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/administrativecode/DHS%20110.52
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What if I want to upgrade/downgrade my license? 
The Wisconsin EMS program issues only a single license at the highest level (an EMS provider 
applicant’s “primary license level”), based on the applicant’s education and training. You should 
only complete one renewal application, and you may only renew at the level of your current 
license.  

If you are eligible to upgrade your license level, then you will need to log into your E-Licensing 
account and complete a Provider Upgrade application.   

If you are eligible to downgrade your license level, then you will need to log into your E-
Licensing account and complete a Provider Downgrade application.  

To upgrade or downgrade a license, please use the provider upgrade or provider downgrade 
application. The renewal application cannot be used to upgrade or downgrade a license level.  

 
HOW TO APPLY 
 
Logging in to an E-Licensing Account 
As an EMS provider applicant, you can log into your E-Licensing account by entering your 
username and password on the E-Licensing system account login page.   
 
If you do not remember your username or password, you may attempt to recover your logon 
information by going to the E-Licensing logon page and clicking "forgot username or password." 
You may also use the “Account Lookup” feature using your last name, date of birth and social 
security number. If your E-Licensing account has a valid email address on file, your logon 
information will be sent to you by email. If the EMS program does not have an active email 
address on file, you may contact the EMS program for assistance or send your name, license 
number, and current email address to: dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov. 
 
 
2014-2016 Wisconsin EMS Provider renewal information needed to complete the 
application 
As an EMS provider applicant, you will need the following information to complete the 2014-
2016 EMS Provider Renewal Application: 

• Your initial or continuing EMS education refresher training completed between July 1, 
2012, and June 30, 2014; 

• Your current CPR card; and 
• Whether you were convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, or deferred prosecution, since 

your last application, or have pending charges at this time, or received a traffic violation 
that led to the suspension, revocation or withdrawal of your driver's license, and all 
required court documentation. (You will have the opportunity to upload the documents if 
you have them electronically.) If you cannot upload your documents into the application, 
you should email them to the Wisconsin EMS program at dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov 
or fax them to 608-266-6391. 

 

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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Please remember that making a false statement on an application is cause for denial of a license 
renewal per DHS 110.54 (2). 
 
 
Renewal Process Audits 
The EMS program has been conducting random audits of the renewal process. If you are selected 
for an audit, you must provide all requested documentation. Copies of all information entered on 
the renewal application must be retained for at least five years. Failure to provide the requested, 
required documentation will result in the suspension or revocation of your EMS Provider license 
or certification.  
 
Getting started to renew an EMS certification or license 
Navigate to the Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services website at: 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/index.htm 
 
Once at the website, click on the Wisconsin EMS E-Licensing system logo (identified with a red 
arrow in the image below) and left-click on the logo. You will be redirected to the Wisconsin 
Department of Health Services EMS E-Licensing system account login page. 
 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/index.htm
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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Once at the Wisconsin Department of Health Services EMS E-Licensing system account login 
page, you will see options to log in to the E-Licensing system, use account lookup, and use 
“forgot username or password.” You may use any of these options to assist you with entry into 
the E-Licensing system. If you are recovering your login information, an email with your 
username and password information will be sent to the email address that was previously 
provided to the E-Licensing system. If you do not have a current email address in the E-
Licensing system, or are unsuccessful in your attempt to recover your account information, 
contact the Wisconsin EMS program at dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov. 

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
mailto:dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov
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Once you have successfully logged into your E-Licensing system account, you will be directed to 
your E-Licensing system home page. On the left side of the screen, click on “Profile” (identified 
with a red arrow in the image below). 
 

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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Once you have navigated to your profile page, you will have the opportunity to review your 
profile and update your personal information. Items that may be changed include your education, 
contact information, alert preferences, and certification expiration dates for CPR, ACLS and 
PALS. When you are finished updating your information, please make sure to click the “Save” 
box at the bottom of every page.  
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After you have updated your profile account demographics, you may now navigate to the 
Applications tab (identified with a red arrow in the image below). 
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Once you have navigated to the Applications page, you will see a list of available applications. 
Please select the correct level of renewal application for your license level. In this example, the 
2014-2016, EMT Intermediate Renewal is the selected application level (identified with a red 
arrow in the image below). 

 

By selecting “Apply Now,” you will begin the EMT Intermediate renewal application. You may 
click “Start” to enter your information into the application or “Continue” to complete an 
application that you have already started (red arrow in the image below).  
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You may also click the grey header bar for any license application to expand or collapse the list 
of forms associated with that application. 

 

You are now ready to start the application process, steps one through seven. You should 
carefully read and answer all of the questions on the application, using the “tab” feature to go 
from line to line. As you complete the application, please remember to click the “Save and 
Continue” tab at the bottom of every page in the application (red arrow in the image below).  
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You should make sure that in Section 1: EMS Training, Provider Training Requirements, your 
completed training hours total 48 and are identified on the application in green (identified with a 
red arrow in the image above). The green 48 on this portion of the application indicates that your 
training is valid. 
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Once you have completed all of the questions from steps one through seven on the application, 
you will need to enter your username and password to electronically sign the application. After 
providing your username and password, click on the “Save and Continue” button. Once you have 
submitted your application to the system by completing the application and electronically signing 
it with your username and password, you will receive the following email:  
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Once your application has been processed and issued, you will receive the following email:  

 

 

Once you receive this email, you can then log back into your E-Licensing system account and 
print your 2014-2016, provider certification or license (steps identified in the images below).   

https://www.wi-emss.org/public/wisconsin/
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If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Wisconsin EMS program at 
dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov.  
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