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Out-of-State Transfer Requirements for Nurse Aides with Less than 120 Hours of Training 
Nurse aides who are listed on another state’s registry in good standing, but who have completed less than 120 hours of 
nurse aide training, may be eligible for placement on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry per Act 357 if they meet the 
requirements below: 

Out-of-State Trained 
• Wisconsin Act 357 provisions allow an individual with less than Wisconsin’s required 120 hours of nurse aide 

training to be eligible for placement on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry and employable as a nurse aide in 
Wisconsin provided they have had 2,088 hours of work experience as a nurse aide in the past two years in 
another state.   

• An individual who successfully completed a competency exam in that state that is the same or substantially 
similar to the Wisconsin state competency examination will be placed on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry and 
they will not be required to take a Bridge Training program or an equivalent competency examination.   

• If the individual has not completed a competency examination in that state that is the same or substantially similar 
to the Wisconsin examination, they will first need to pass the Wisconsin competency examination in order to be 
listed on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry and to be eligible to work in Wisconsin.  Individuals would not be 
required to complete a Bridge Training program.  

 
Requirements 
Individuals must first complete the Out-of-State Application process to determine if they are eligible for transfer.  For out-
of-state nurse aides to be eligible, individuals must be listed as active and in good standing on the Registry in the state 
they are transferring from and must provide evidence of having worked as a nurse aide for a minimum of 2088 hours in 
the preceding 24-month period. 

Directions 
• Access the PearsonVue form, Nurse Aide Registry Out-of-State Application, at: 

http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/075001.pdf 
 

• Complete Part I Sections A-D of the application. 
 

• Attach a copy of your Nurse Aide Training Certificate of Completion. 
 

• Send the completed application to the state where you are currently registered or trained as a nurse aide with the 
exceptions of individuals transferring from California, Colorado, Missouri, North Carolina, and South Carolina.  
Individuals from these states should send their application directly to the Office of Caregiver Quality, P.O. Box 
2969 Madison, WI 53701.   

 

• A complete list of the State Nurse Aide Registries can be found on the Pearson VUE website at: 
www.pearsonvue.com 

Process 
The Office of Caregiver Quality will review the Nurse Aide Registry Out-of-State Application and, if the applicant is 
eligible to transfer to the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry, the applicant will be mailed a Nurse Aide Employment 
Verification (DQA form F-01231).  This form will need to be completed and notarized by the applicant’s most recent 
employer.  Once this form has been returned to the Office of Caregiver Quality, the individual’s name will either be 
entered onto the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry and a certificate issued or the individual will be mailed an authorization 
letter allowing them to apply to take the Wisconsin nurse aide competency exam. 

Note 
Individuals wishing to transfer their nurse aide certification to Wisconsin who have had 120 hours or more of nurse aide 
instruction do not need to report 2,088 hours of employment. 
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