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Wisconsin’s Lead-Safe Renovation Rule, DHS 163 
Guidelines for 

Renovation Contractors and Painters 
 

The Wisconsin Department of Health Services is approved by the U.S. EPA to administer 
and enforce the Lead-Safe Renovation program in Wisconsin.   
 
Safe renovation of old housing is the best way to protect Wisconsin children from lead 
poisoning.  Renovators who are not trained in lead-safe work practices risk exposing 
themselves and occupants to lead at the job site and exposing their own families by 
bringing lead dust home on their work clothes. 
 
The Law:  Renovation work is regulated when it is performed for compensation in a 
dwelling or child-occupied facility built before 1978 and the work disturbs 6 sq. ft. or 
more of paint per room, 20 sq. ft. or more of exterior paint, or involves windows. 
 

1. A renovation contractor must be Certified as a Lead-Safe Renovator or must have 
a Certified Lead-Safe Renovator in charge of the work site. 
To become certified – 

 Complete the 1-day Lead-Safe Renovation Initial Course   
 Apply to DHS for certification:   

 Lead-Safe Renovator certification is $50 and is valid for 2 years. 
 Certification is renewable every 2 years. 
 A ½-day Refresher course is required every 4 years. 

 Find approved training providers and forms at www.dhs.wi.gov/lead  
 Every renovation project must have a certified Lead-Safe Renovator in charge. 

  
2.   A renovation contractor must work for or be a Certified Lead-Safe Company      

(including self-employed persons/sole proprietors)  
 To become a certified company, apply to DHS.  
 Lead-Safe Company certification is $75 and is valid for 2 years. 
 Certification is renewable every 2 years. 
 Find application forms and other information at www.dhs.wi.gov/lead. 

 
??? Have More Questions ??? 

Check out the CONTRACTOR CORNER on our website at www.dhs.wi.gov/lead 
 


