

WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES
Division of Public Health
P-01060 (07/2022)

# INFORMATION FOR MARRIAGE APPLICANTS AND OFFICIANTS

- Applicants or officiants who have questions or concerns regarding the officiant's authority to perform marriages
  in Wisconsin should seek legal counsel. Information as to the validity of any specific religious organization or any
  ordination process is not available from the County Clerk's Office or from the State Vital Records Office.
- A marriage may be validly contracted in Wisconsin only after a marriage license has been issued by a county clerk, and only when the mutual declarations of the two parties to be joined are made before an authorized officiating person and in the presence of at least two competent adult witnesses other than the officiating person. If one of the parties is serving on active duty in the military, only one adult witness is required.
- The Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet has two sections: the marriage license, which
  is completed by the County Clerk; and the marriage certificate worksheet, which is completed by the officiant.
  Applicants must sign the marriage license section before the ceremony, preferably in the County Clerk's Office.
- It is permissible to make and keep a copy of the Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet.
- If the Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet is misplaced or ruined, contact the issuing County Clerk's Office immediately for instructions. Counties may charge a fee to replace the document.
- The couple will not automatically receive a certified copy of the Original Certificate of Marriage. Upon registration of the Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet, the couple may purchase certified copies of their Original Certificate of Marriage from any Wisconsin County Register of Deeds office or from the State Vital Records Office. Certified copies of the Original Certificate of Marriage may be needed for proof of name change, proof for insurance coverage, overseas travel, and other legal purposes. It is illegal to make copies of the Original Certificate of Marriage.
- Corrections to fields completed by the officiant can be made on a registered certificate and do not require a court order if the request is received by the State Vital Records Office within 365 days of the marriage. The Officiant Amendment Request form is available from the Register of Deeds office, the State Vital Records Office, or on the web at <a href="https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01481.pdf">https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f01481.pdf</a>.
- Corrections to the couple's information can be made on a registered certificate if the request is received by the State Vital Records Office within 365 days of the marriage. Contact the County Clerk's Office in the county where the marriage license was issued for information on requesting an amendment.
- For information on Alcohol and Drug Use during Pregnancy: <a href="https://www.cdc.gov/pregnancy/during.html">https://www.cdc.gov/pregnancy/during.html</a>
- For Wisconsin laws and penalties on marriage: <a href="http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/765">http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/765</a>

# **OFFICIANT INFORMATION**

- Officiants must ensure the parties have a valid Wisconsin marriage license to marry before performing the marriage ceremony.
- The officiating person shall determine the parties presenting themselves to be married are the parties named on the marriage license.
- An officiant must be at least 18 years old.
- It is permissible to have two officiants perform a marriage ceremony.
- The completed Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet must be returned to any County Register of Deeds in Wisconsin for registration within three days after the date of the marriage.

See Reverse Side for Officiant Instructions for Completing the Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet



# **INSTRUCTIONS FOR OFFICIANTS**

# FOR COMPLETING THE WISCONSIN MARRIAGE LICENSE/MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE WORKSHEET

- Officiants must ensure all items are completed correctly in the Officiant section of the Wisconsin Marriage License/Marriage Certificate Worksheet (F-05060) for any marriage ceremony performed in Wisconsin.
- Cross-outs and clearly written corrections are allowed.
- All signatures must be original; stamped signatures are prohibited.

# Review, correct, or complete all items legibly and accurately.

# 8. **DATE OF MARRIAGE** (MM/DD/YYYY)

Review and correct, if necessary, the month, day, and year the marriage was performed.

#### 9. **COUNTY OF MARRIAGE**

Review and correct, if necessary, the name of the county where the marriage ceremony was performed. The county must be a Wisconsin county.

# 10. CITY, VILLAGE, OR TOWN OF MARRIAGE

Review, correct, or print the city, village, or town where the ceremony occurred. Do not use unincorporated places. Mark the appropriate box for "City," "Village," or "Town." NOTE: If a couple will be married in a moving conveyance, the place of marriage is where the couple exits the conveyance after the ceremony.

### 11. OFFICIANT SIGNATURE

Sign in the space provided. If there are two Officiants, both may sign. When the marriage is performed by the two parties themselves, both parties sign as Officiants.

# 12. **OFFICIANT NAME** (Print or Type)

Review, correct, or print the Officiant name. If there are two Officiants, both names may be printed. When the marriage is performed by the two parties themselves, print both parties' names.

#### 13. **OFFICIANT MAILING ADDRESS** (Street, City, State, Zip Code)

Review, correct, or print the mailing address, including ZIP Code, of the Officiant. If there are two Officiants, both addresses may be printed. This address should identify where business mail is to be sent in the event a Register of Deeds has a question about this record.

#### 14. OFFICIANT PHONE

Review, correct, or print the phone number of the Officiant. If there are two Officiants, both phone numbers may be printed.

#### 15. OFFICIANT EMAIL

Review, correct, or print the email address of the Officiant. If there are two Officiants, both email addresses may be printed.

# 16. ADULT WITNESS 1 TO CEREMONY (Sign and Print Name)

A competent adult (at least 18 years old) witness must sign and print their name in the space provided.

## 17. ADULT WITNESS 2 TO CEREMONY (Sign and Print Name)

A second competent adult (at least 18 years old) witness must sign and print their name in the space provided. If either party indicated active-duty military, a second witness is not required. Enter "NOT REQUIRED" in the Witness 2 Name field, if applicable.