
IMMUNIZATION LAW CLARIFICATION 
 

Exclusion: As described in the “Wisconsin Student Immunization Law Timeline: Actions Required of 

Schools,” every year schools are required to assess all students’ immunization records to determine if 

they are compliant with the Wisconsin Student Immunization Law. Students have until the 30
th

 school 

day to provide the appropriate documentation of immunization or a signed waiver. Starting on the 31
st
 

school day, schools must exclude from school noncompliant students in Grades 5K through Grade 5, if 

one of the following is true about the school: 

 The school is a public school and the school district’s compliance level from the previous school 

year was less than 99% or 

 The school is a private school and the school’s compliance level from the previous school year 

was less than 99%. 

Exclusion is optional for Grades 6 through 12 and for schools that met the 99% compliance level in the 

previous year. 

  

STUDENTS AND SCHOOLS 
 

5K Kindergarten: 5K Kindergarten is kindergarten for 5-year-olds and is reported separately on the 

School Report to Local Health Department (F-04002) to assess compliance specifically among children 

at the age of school entry into 5K Kindergarten. 

 

4K Kindergarten, 3K Kindergarten, Early Childhood: The vaccine requirements of the Wisconsin 

Student Immunization Law are not grade-specific for children enrolled in 4K kindergarten (kindergarten 

for 4-year-olds), 3K kindergarten (kindergarten for 3-year-olds), and early childhood programs. The law 

requires specific doses of vaccines for children 2 through 4 years of age. The vaccine requirements and 

timeline for when they are to be met should begin when the child enters school for the first time. 

Compliance information for these children should be included in the “All students enrolled at this 

school” section of the School Report to the Local Health Department (F-04002). Exclusion of 

noncompliant students in 4K, 3K, and early childhood programs is optional. 

 

School Assessment vs. Day Care Assessment: This school assessment measures compliance with the 

Wisconsin Student Immunization Law among children enrolled in school, including children enrolled in 

early childhood, 3K, and 4K programs through 12
th

 grade. Students enrolled in early childhood, 3K, or 

4K programs within a school should be reported on the School Report to Local Health Department 

(F-04002).  

 

The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law also requires that licensed Wisconsin day care centers assess 

and report the immunization status of children enrolled in licensed day care centers. The assessment of 

the immunization status of children enrolled in licensed day care centers is separate from this 

assessment of children enrolled in school. If a licensed day care center is located in a school, the day 

care center will be assessed separately from the school through a separate, direct mailing from the 

Department of Health Services. The day care assessment is typically done in late winter or early spring. 

It is possible that some children will be assessed twice in the same school year: once as the student in a 

school and again as an attendee of a licensed day care. 

 

Charter Schools: The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law applies equally to all of the following: 

public schools, private schools, charter schools, and non-charter schools. 

 

Homeschooled Children: The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law does not cover homeschooled 

children unless they enroll in any class or grade in a Wisconsin public or private school. If the child is 

enrolled for the first time, he or she should be handled like any other first-time enrollee and allowed to 

be “in process” if all vaccines have not already been administered. If that child leaves the Wisconsin 
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school and later re-enrolls, that child would be considered “behind schedule” if all required vaccines 

have not already been administered. 

 

"Off-campus" Students: For the purpose of this immunization assessment, students who are officially 

enrolled in a school but spend time away from that school should be counted in the school where they 

are officially enrolled. This would include students in group educational settings and alternative schools.  

 

Virtual/Online Schools: Wisconsin students who attend virtual/online schools only and do not attend 

any classes/extracurricular activities at a brick and mortar school are not subject to the student 

immunization law. However, students who attend virtual/online schools and also attend a brick and 

mortar school for coursework or extracurricular activities are considered admitted to the brick and 

mortar school and subject to the student immunization law requirements.  

 

IMMUNIZATION RECORDS  
 

Transfer Student Records: For students who transfer from one Wisconsin school to another, schools 

must transfer the record to the new school within 10 school days of the records request. Wisconsin 

Admin. Code § DHS 144.07(7) 
 

Immunization Records: Written evidence of immunization can be supplied on either the Student 

Immunization Record (F-04020L) or an electronic immunization record, such as a printout from the 

Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR). Parents who choose to waive an immunization are required to 

sign a waiver on the Student Immunization Record (F-04020L) and list the dates (month, day, year) of 

all of the vaccines the child has already received. Alternatively, if F-04020L is not used, the parent 

should provide documentation of all of the vaccines received, the dates (month, day, year) the vaccines 

were received, the specific vaccines that are being waived, the type of waiver, the date of the waiver, 

and the parent name and signature.  

 

Immunization Records Retention: The Student Immunization Record (F-04020L) is part of a 

student’s progress records and, as such, should be maintained for at least five years after the student 

ceases to be enrolled at the school. Wisconsin Stat. § 118.125(3). 

 

Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR) Records—Heath Care Provider vs. School: The 

Wisconsin Student Immunization Law requires students to have a minimum number of doses of 

vaccine. For some vaccines, the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP, the committee 

that makes recommendations for vaccine use in the United States), recommends that children receive 

more doses than are required by the Wisconsin Student Immunization Law. The school WIR record may 

indicate that a student is compliant with the law; however, that same student may need further 

immunizations based on the WIR record of the student’s health care provider, which follows the ACIP 

recommendations. If a parent asks about further recommended immunizations for their children, they 

should be referred to their health care provider. A “refusal of [vaccine name]” documented in the WIR 

does not constitute a valid waiver. The school is responsible for obtaining waiver documentation. 

 

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA):  

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) is a Federal law that protects the privacy of 

student education records. The law applies to all schools that receive funds under an applicable program 

of the U.S. Department of Education. If you have questions about releasing information, contact your 

school’s legal counsel. 

 

Generally, schools must have written permission from the parent in order to release any information 

from a student's education record (including immunization information). However, FERPA allows 

schools to disclose those records, without consent, under certain conditions, including (a) to comply 
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with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena, and (b) to appropriate officials in the event of health 

and safety emergencies. 

 

The following describes the circumstances under which student immunization information can be 

released to local health departments, district attorneys, and the Wisconsin Immunization Registry 

(WIR). 

 

Release to local health departments 

 Should the local health department determine that there is a health emergency (i.e., an outbreak of a 

vaccine-preventable disease) at a school, the LHD may request from the school the names and 

contact information of students who are not protected from the disease (i.e., students not fully 

vaccinated against the disease). This determination should inform the school’s decision whether a 

disclosure of the requested information is necessary to protect the health or safety of one or more 

students or others, consistent with federal law. 

 However, for assuring compliance only, schools may not share names of noncompliant students with 

the local health department unless the parent has provided signed consent.   

 

Release to district attorneys 

 If your school is in a jurisdiction where a court order has been issued for schools to provide names 

of noncompliant students to the county district attorney’s office, this disclosure is allowed under 

FERPA (to comply with the judicial order). 

 Schools/districts, however, may wish to consult with their legal counsel to determine their course of 

action, if they receive such a court order.  

 

Release to the Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR) 

 Schools may not share student immunization information with the Wisconsin Immunization 

Registry (WIR) or with health care providers unless the parent provided signed consent. 

 The parent signature portion of the Student Immunization Record (F-04020L) includes a checkbox 

where parents can give permission for schools to share the student’s immunization information with 

the WIR.  

 Schools are encouraged to use this form for all new and transferring students. 

 For existing students, schools may use form F-04020L to obtain consent to release immunization 

information, or the school may choose to develop some other form to obtain consent for the release.  

 

Waivers: The Wisconsin student immunization requirements can be waived for personal conviction, 

religious, or medical/health reasons. Children for whom waivers are filed are compliant with the 

Wisconsin Student Immunization Law; however, these children may be subject to exclusion from school 

in the event of an outbreak of a disease against which they are not completely immunized.  

 

Parents who choose to waive an immunization are required to sign a waiver on the Student 

Immunization Record (F-04020L) and list the dates (month, day, year) of all of the vaccines the child 

has already received. Alternatively, if F-04020L is not used, the parent should provide documentation of 

all of the vaccines received, the dates (month, day, year) the vaccines were received, the vaccines that 

are being waived, the type of waiver, the date of the waiver, and the parent name and signature. The 

school is responsible for obtaining waiver documentation. 

 

A “refusal of [vaccine name]” documented in the Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR) does not 

constitute a valid waiver. A history of chickenpox is not a waiver; but does exempt a student from the 

varicella vaccine requirement. 
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Every year schools should review all student waivers for accuracy. Those students’ immunization 

records can be checked in the Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR) to determine if the student has 

received the vaccine and therefore the waiver status is no longer necessary. 

 

New Vaccines and Waivers: If a waiver is chosen, it applies to vaccine(s) required at the time a student 

enrolls into a Wisconsin school for the first time (e.g., a student entering kindergarten or a student 

transferring from an out-of-state school). Any new vaccines or new dose of an existing vaccine required 

after enrollment in the Wisconsin school would require a separate waiver for that vaccine.   

 

VACCINES AND IMMUNIZATIONS 
 

 Required Vaccines 

DT Diphtheria and tetanus vaccine (pediatric)  

Td Tetanus and diphtheria vaccine (for ages 7 years or older) 

Tdap Tetanus, diphtheria, and acellular pertussis vaccine (adolescents) 

DTaP Diphtheria, tetanus, and acellular pertussis vaccine (pediatric) 

DTP Diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis vaccine (no longer available) 

Hep B Hepatitis B vaccine 

MMR Measles, mumps, and rubella vaccine 

Polio Polio vaccine 

Var Varicella (chickenpox vaccine) 

 

Vaccine Trade Names: A health care provider might administer a vaccine and provide the parent with 

a note listing only the vaccine trade name rather than listing the specific type of vaccine received. The 

following list of commonly used vaccines and their manufacturer trade names is provided to help you 

determine which vaccines were received. 

 

Vaccine Type  Trade Name 

DTaP Tripedia® 

DTaP Infanrix® 

DTaP DAPTACEL® 

DTaP ACEL-IMMUNE® (no longer available) 

DTaP Certiva® (no longer available) 

DTaP-Hib combination TriHIBit® (Licensed for 4
th

 dose only) 

DTaP-Hep B-IPV combination Pediarix® 

DTP-Hib combination Tetramune® (no longer available) 

DTaP-Hib-IPV combination Pentacel® 

DTaP-IPV combination Kinrix® 

Hepatitis B-Hib combination Comvax® 

Hepatitis B ENGERIX B® 

Hepatitis B RECOMBIVAX® 

Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV) IPOL® 

MMR-V (varicella) combination ProQuad® 

Td Decavac® or MassBiologics 

Tdap BOOSTRIX® 

Tdap ADACEL 

Varicella (chickenpox) Varivax® 

 



Valid Doses: Vaccines in a series (when more than one dose is required) are most effective when the 

doses are administered according to recommended time intervals. However, the Wisconsin Student 

Immunization Law does not require that vaccines are received at specific time intervals. Therefore, the 

number of doses received, including those that were received at inappropriate time intervals, can be 

counted toward compliance with the Wisconsin Student Immunization Law. In the Wisconsin 

Immunization Registry, doses received at inappropriate time intervals are marked as "not valid." These 

doses can be counted towards meeting the minimum required doses. The only exceptions to this are the 

first dose of MMR vaccine, which must be administered on or after the first birthday, and a dose of 

DTaP/DT vaccine, which should be given on or after the fourth birthday for children entering 5K 

Kindergarten. 

 

Four-day Grace Period: The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law allows a four-day grace period for 

certain required age-dependent vaccines. The four-day grace period means a student is compliant with 

the immunization law if the dose of each of these vaccines was received four days or less before the date 

it was required. See footnotes 1, 2, 4, and 6 on the table describing “Meets all Minimum Requirements” 

on the School Report to Local Health Department (F-04002) for descriptions of which vaccines/doses 

this applies to.  

 

DTaP/DTP/DT Vaccine After 4 Years of Age: The DHS 144 requirement that at least one dose of 

DTaP/DTP/DT is to be received after the fourth birthday applies to 5K Kindergarten children only. The 

purpose of this required (and recommended) dose is to boost the level of protection primarily against 

pertussis (whooping cough). If the third dose of DTaP/DTP/DT is received after the child’s fourth 

birthday, a fourth dose is not required. 

 

Polio Vaccine, Four Doses Required: ACIP recommends a fifth dose of polio vaccine for children 

who received their fourth dose before their fourth birthday. The Wisconsin Student Immunization Law 

requires four doses only; a fifth dose is not required. Children who received their third dose of polio 

vaccine after their fourth birthday are also compliant with the Wisconsin Student Immunization Law. 

 

Hepatitis B Vaccine, Two-dose Series: An exception was made in DHS 144 for students who receive 

two doses of a licensed, two-dose hepatitis B vaccine formulation. These students are not required to 

receive a third dose. The two-dose hepatitis B vaccine is licensed only for children 11-15 years of age 

and is given four to six months apart. If the first dose was received by the 30
th

 school day, the second 

would be required by the 30
th

 school day of the following school year. This formulation is rarely used at 

this time.  

 

Varicella Vaccine Exemption: All students in grades 5K Kindergarten through Grade 12 are required 

to have two doses of varicella vaccine. Students with a history of chickenpox disease are exempt from 

the varicella vaccine requirement. If a student received the first dose of varicella vaccine and 

subsequently developed chickenpox (“breakthrough disease”), or if the student has been diagnosed with 

shingles, the second dose of varicella vaccine is not required. The student’s history of having had the 

disease or laboratory evidence of immunity should be noted on the Student Immunization Record. If the 

student has been diagnosed with shingles, a history of chickenpox can be noted on the Student 

Immunization Record since a person cannot develop shingles unless they previously had chickenpox. 

 

Tdap Vaccine Exception: Please note that one dose of Tdap vaccine is currently recommended for 

adolescents and adults. The school requirement for students in Grades 6 through 12 is only one dose of 

Tdap. An exception is made for students who already received a tetanus-containing vaccine, such as Td, 

TT (tetanus toxoid), or DTaP, within five years (i.e., a total of five full years) before entering the grade 

where Tdap is required. These students are compliant with the Tdap requirement, and no further doses 

are required. For example, if a child received a dose of Td vaccine because of an injury within five years 
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before entering 6
th

 grade, that child has met the Tdap requirement (even though s/he has not actually 

received Tdap vaccine). Although in these circumstances Tdap is not required for school entry, Tdap 

vaccination is recommended to boost the student’s immunity to pertussis. Pertussis is common among 

adolescents and other school-aged children, and can result in significant illness for the student, the 

student’s family (especially infants aged <1 year), and can result in many missed days of school and/or 

work for the student and parent.  
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