
Wisconsin Department of Health Services 

Work Registration Requirements for FoodShare Applicants 
and Members Ages 16 Through 59 

What are the work registration 
requirements? 
Federal law requires FoodShare applicants and 
members that are ages 16 through 59 to register for 
work. You will be registered for work at the time you 
are determined eligible for FoodShare unless you 
meet an exemption. If you do not comply with the 
work registration requirements, or meet an 
exemption, you will not be able to get FoodShare 
benefits for a period of time. This is called a sanction 
period. 

If you need to comply with the work registration 
requirements, you must: 
• Register for work when you apply for FoodShare

and every 12 months after that.
• Provide us with your employment status or ability

to work. 
• Not voluntarily and without good cause quit a

job of 30 or more hours per week (or a job with
earnings equal to 30 or more hours per week at
the federal minimum wage).

• Not reduce your work hours to less than 30 per
week (or your weekly earnings to less than 30
times the federal minimum wage).

• Accept a suitable job offer, if you are offered a
job.

• Meet the unemployment compensation program
work requirements if you applied for or are
getting unemployment benefits.

• Meet the Wisconsin Works (W-2) program work
requirements if you are taking part in W-2.

What are the exemptions from the work 
registration requirements? 
You meet an exemption from the work registration 
requirements if any of the following are true: 
• You are 16 or 17 years old and are not the

primary person in the FoodShare group.
• You are 16 or 17 years old and are the primary

person in the FoodShare group but are enrolled
in school or in an employment and training
program at least half-time.

• You are found to be unfit for work. This applies if:
− You get temporary or permanent disability 

benefits from the government or a private 
source. 

− You are found to be mentally or physically 
unable to work by your agency. 

− You are verified as unable to work by a 
statement from a health care professional or 
social worker. 

• You are enrolled in W-2 and complying with the
W-2 work requirements.

• You are the primary caregiver for a dependent
child younger than age 6 (whether the child lives
in your home or out of your home). However, if
you and another person both have parental
control of the child, only one of you can be
exempt from the work registration requirements
as the primary caregiver of that child.

• You are the primary caregiver for another person
who cannot care for himself or herself (whether
the person lives in your home or out of your
home).
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• You have applied for or are receiving 
unemployment compensation. 

• You are regularly taking part in an alcohol or 
other drug abuse treatment or rehabilitation 
program. 

• You are working 30 or more hours per week or 
earning wages equal to 30 or more hours per 
week at the federal minimum wage.  

• You are enrolled at least half-time in a 
recognized school, training program, or 
institution of higher education. 

You may need to provide proof to your agency if you 
meet one of these exemptions. 

What if I do not comply with the work 
registration requirements and do not 
meet an exemption? 
If you do not comply with the work registration 
requirements and you do not meet an exemption, 
you will not be able to get FoodShare benefits for a 
specified sanction period. This includes if you 
voluntarily and without good cause do any of the 
following: 
• Turn down a suitable job offer. 
• Quit a job of 30 or more hours per week (or a job 

with earnings equal to 30 or more hours per 
week at the federal minimum wage). 

• Reduce your work hours to less than 30 hours per 
week (or your earnings to less than 30 times the 
federal minimum wage). 

• Take part in W-2 but do not meet the W-2 
program work requirements. 

• Apply for or get unemployment benefits but do 
not meet the unemployment compensation 
program work requirements. 

What if I lose an exemption? 
If you lose an exemption, then you must meet the 
work registration requirements. If you lose one of the 
following exemptions without good cause, you will 
not be able to get FoodShare benefits for a specified 
sanction period, unless you have another exemption: 
• You are enrolled in W-2 and complying with the 

W-2 work requirement.  
• You have applied for or are receiving 

unemployment compensation. 

• You are working 30 or more hours per week or 
earning wages equal to 30 or more hours per 
week at the federal minimum wage. 

How long is a sanction period? 
The length of a sanction period depends on which 
occurrence it is. 
• The first sanction period is one month long. 
• A second sanction period is three months long. 
• A third or subsequent sanction period is six 

months long. 

Can I end a sanction period early? 
You can end a sanction period early if you become 
exempt from the work registration requirements. 

Once my sanction period ends, how do I 
get FoodShare again? 
You will need to reapply. If you are part of a 
FoodShare group, you will need to let your worker 
know to update your case instead of having to 
reapply. 

What does good cause mean? 
Good cause means there is a situation beyond your 
control that prevents you from meeting the work 
registration requirements. If you do not have good 
cause, you may not be able to get FoodShare 
benefits for the specified sanction period. If you have 
good cause, you will be able to continue to get 
FoodShare benefits. Your worker will consider your 
situation to determine if there was good cause. 

Some examples of reasons for good cause are: 
• You did not accept a job offer, or you quit a job, 

because the job was not suitable. 
• You were fired or quit at the employer’s demand. 
• You were discriminated against by an employer 

based on your age, race, sex, color, handicap, 
religious beliefs, national origin, or political 
beliefs. 

• You left your job for another job, training, or 
school. 

• You were not able to continue a job because you 
moved. 
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• Your personal health problems, or the health
problems of others, did not allow you to
continue your job.

• Your job hours were reduced by your employer
without your permission.

• You quit a job to join a volunteer program such
as AmeriCorps or AmeriCorps VISTA.

• You did not have transportation to get to the
job.

• There were other situations beyond your
control that the agency feels was good cause.

How can I learn more? 
For more details about the work registration 
requirements, contact your agency or refer to your 
Enrollment and Benefits Handbook, 
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p0/
p00079.pdf. To find your agency, go to 
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/imagency/
index.htm, or call Member Services at 
1-800-362-3002 (TTY and translation services are
available).

Note: The work registration requirements are 
different from the work requirement for able-
bodied adults ages 18 through 49. Refer to 
FoodShare Wisconsin: The Work Requirement for 
Adults Ages 18 Through 49 fact sheet (P-00710) for 
more details about this requirement. The fact sheet 
is available at www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/
p0/p00710.pdf. 

Nondiscrimination Statement 
In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department 
of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the 
USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions 
participating in or administering USDA programs are 
prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national 
origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or 
reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any 
program or activity conducted or funded by USDA. 

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of 
communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large 
print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact 
the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  
Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech 
disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay 
Service at (800) 877-8339. Additionally, program information 
may be made available in languages other than English. 

To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the 
USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) 
found online at: https://www.ascr.usda.gov/filing-program-
discrimination-complaint-usda-customer, and at any USDA 
office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the 
letter all of the information requested in the form. To request a 
copy of the complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your 
completed form or letter to USDA by:  

(1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights 
1400 Independence Avenue, SW 
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; 

(2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or

(3) email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider. 
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