

DHS / Division of Quality Assurance / Bureau of Education Services and Technology P-01848 (05/2020)

This publication provides information regarding the role and responsibilities of student nurses and:

- Explains employment requirements for student nurses who work as nurse aides in health care facilities
- Clarifies charge nurse and staffing requirements

Charge Nurse Requirements in Nursing Homes

Wis. Stat. § 50.04(2)(b) requires a nursing home charge nurse to be either a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse who acts under the supervision of a registered nurse or a physician. The law does not permit a nurse aide.

Staffing Requirements in Nursing Homes

The hours of nursing personnel cannot be counted as part of a nursing home's staffing level unless the personnel are registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, or nurse aides who are included on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry. This applies to all nursing homes licensed under Wis. Stat. ch. 50 and Wis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 132. The only exception to this requirement is a student nurse who has completed the basic nursing course of an accredited nursing school and works as a nurse aide at a nursing home that is only state-licensed and not federally-certified.

Student Nurse Employed by a Health Care Facility as a Nurse Aide

The following requirements apply to a student nurse who is employed by a health care facility to perform direct care duties. They do not apply to the clinical placement and supervision of a student nurse by an accredited nursing school.

Health care facilities that employ or contract for a student nurse to provide nursing-related, direct care services must ensure that the person satisfies one of the applicable requirements below.

 Nursing Home (federally-certified) Home Health Agency Hospice 	The student nurse is already included on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry because of completing an approved nurse aide training and testing program. <i>OR</i> The student nurse has successfully completed a basic nursing course with a minimum of 16 hours of clinical experience through an accredited school for professional or licensed practical nurses, has successfully completed an approved nurse aide competency test, and is included on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry.
 Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID) Hospital Home Health Agency (state- licensed only) Hospice Nursing Home 	The student nurse is already included on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry because of completing an approved nurse aide training and testing program. <i>OR</i> The student nurse has successfully completed a basic nursing course with a minimum of 16 hours of clinical experience through an accredited school for professional or licensed practical nurses. It is not necessary for the student nurse to complete a nurse aide competency exam or be included on the Nurse Aide Registry, but the facility must keep the student's transcript on file to verify the requirement has been met.

Approved Nurse Aide Competency Testing Programs

A person meets employment eligibility when they have a certificate proving the successful completion of an approved nurse aide competency test. A nurse aide will be listed on the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry by the next business day after the test event. Employers must verify the person's placement on the Registry by going to <u>TMUniverse</u> and clicking on "Search Nurse Aide Registry."

Wisconsin Nurse Aide Training Program Website

The Department's website for nurse aide training and testing contains the most current versions of relevant documents, such as forms, frequently asked questions, fact sheets, and DQA Memos. For more information, visit the DQA website, <u>Nurse Aide, Feeding Assistant, and Medication Aide Programs</u>.

If you have questions regarding the Wisconsin Nurse Aide Registry, contact:

DHS / Division of Quality Assurance BEST / ATTN: Nurse Aide Training Consultant PO Box 2969 Madison, WI 53701 Phone: 608-261-8481

WIDQA_NATCEP@wisconsin.gov