

STAYING SAFE FROM CARBON MONOXIDE WHILE BOATING

Carbon monoxide poisoning can still happen even if you're outdoors.

PREVENT POISONING

- Make sure you have working, marine carbon monoxide detectors. Home detectors aren't designed to work in a marine environment, so be sure to find a detector that is specifically for marine use. You can buy a marine detector from boating supply stores for \$60—150. Like home detectors, marine detectors should be replaced every five years or according to manufacturer instructions.
- Ensure all fuel-burning engines and appliances are properly installed and maintained. The U.S. Coast Guard has a <u>helpful checklist</u> for inspecting your boat for exhaust-related problems.
- Swim and play away from areas where engines vent their exhaust.
- Never block exhaust outlets. Blocked outlets can cause carbon monoxide to build up in cabin and cockpit areas.
- Limit the time your boat idles or runs at slow speeds.
- Dock, beach, or anchor your boat at least 20 feet away from the nearest boat. Exhaust from nearby boats can build up near your boat's cabin and cockpit.

KNOW THE SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS OF POISONING

- Symptoms of overexposure to carbon monoxide include headaches, fatigue, dizziness, shortness of breath, nausea, and confusion.
- At high levels, carbon monoxide can cause death within minutes.

TAKE ACTION

- Go to fresh air—away from the boat—immediately if you see the symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning or if your alarm sounds.
- Call 911, and stay in the fresh air until the boat has been declared safe.

It may not be seasickness or alcohol that is making you dizzy.

Carbon monoxide is a gas that can't be seen or smelled, and at high levels, it can cause death within minutes. Don't assume you are feeling seasick, especially if others around you are feeling dizzy, nauseated, or are out of breath.

Sofia's Law

As of May 1, 2018, Minnesota requires certain types of boats to display carbon monoxide warning stickers and/or be equipped with a marine carbon monoxide detector. If you boat in Minnesota waters, you must comply with Sofia's Law. Learn more about the requirements on the <u>Sophia's Law</u> webpage.

BUREAU OF ENVIRONMENTAL AND OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

dhs.wisconsin.gov/environmental | JULY 2018 | dhsenvhealth@wi.gov Department of Health Services | Division of Public Health | P-02211 (07/2018)

