School Vaccine Requirements: Administrators' Quick Guide



Definitions:

- Student Immunization Record (or simply called "record"): This includes the vaccine date and number of doses the student has received.
- Vaccination waiver: There are two types of waivers. The first is a medical waiver used when a student cannot get a vaccine due to a medical issue. The second type is due to an objection to one or more vaccinations by a parent or adult student based on a personal or religious objection (under Wis. Stat. § 252.04, Stats.). A signed, written waiver must be provided to the school and updated when new vaccines are due. Note: Proof of previously administered vaccinations must be provided to the school.
- **Compliance:** Students who meet minimum requirements, are in process, or who have a personal conviction, religious or medical waiver are in compliance with state law.
- **Noncompliance:** Students who are behind schedule or have no immunization record are not in compliance with Wisconsin state law.

School Law Background

Every school is required by Wisconsin law (<u>Wis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 144</u>) to report a student's vaccination status in aggregate to the state and local health department by the deadlines outlined below. If this is not done, the school must exclude all noncompliant children in Kindergarten–5th Grade the next school year.

School Administrator Responsibilities

The local school administrator's responsibilities are to ensure the school entry requirements are followed. Administrators may refer to the <u>Immunization School Booklet (P-44545)</u> for further details. If you need assistance with the process, please reach out to your <u>local public health department</u> for guidance.

School Deadlines

Deadline 1: 30 days after the start of school, each student must turn in a vaccine record showing they completed at least the first dose of each vaccine required for that student's age or grade, or a waiver form.

Deadline 2: 40 days after the start of school, submit the public health report to your local health department.

Deadline 3: 90 days after the start of school, each student must turn in a vaccine record showing they received the second dose of each vaccine required for that student's age or grade, or a waiver form.

Deadline 4 (in the next school year): Within 30 days after the start of school for the following school year, each student must turn in a vaccine record showing they received all doses of each vaccine required for that student's age or grade, or a waiver form.



At the beginning of each school year, public school districts or private schools that have a compliance rate below 99%, or who did not report the previous school year, will be sent a reminder to exclude noncompliant students, based on the <u>previous year's report</u>.

