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Summary of Changes (01/2022)

Revised quarantine and isolation recommendations based on updated CDC guidance

Summary of Changes (10/2021)

* Clarified recommendations about testing. (pages 5, 14, and 15)

* Updated resources page to include links to OSHA guidance on the National Emphasis

Program. (page 19)

* Numerous updates throughout to simplify language.

Summary of Changes (09/2021)

* Standard epidemiologic terms and protocol consolidated and moved to front of document.

e Quarantine and isolation timelines reformatted.

* Information on booster doses, as it applies to definitions of full vaccination, is included.

Summary of Changes (05/2021)

Guidance on COVID-19 testing of fully vaccinated workers has been updated (page 10).

* Quarantine guidance has been updated to include quarantine after vaccination (pages 14-15).

Summary of Changes (01/2021)

The audience for this guidance has been clarified and links provided to separate guidance for
health care and educational settings (page 1).

Quarantine guidance has been updated to include new shortened quarantine period options
released by CDC and endorsed by DHS. A shortened quarantine of 7 or 10 days is permissible
if certain criteria are met. A 14-day quarantine remains the recommended option and use of
abbreviated quarantine is at the discretion of local and tribal health departments (page 9).

Serial testing is no longer a recommended strategy for non-health care settings (page 12).

Information on the use and reliability of antigen tests has been included along with links to
relevant testing guidance from CDC (page 11)



https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/hc-guidance.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p02757.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/lab/resources/antigen-tests-guidelines.html
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Introduction

This document assists employers when a worker tests positive for COVID-19.
It describes how to work with local and tribal health departments (LTHDs)

to help keep workers and customers healthy and keep businesses running
smoothly during the pandemic. Please note that this guidance document is
meant for non-health care and non-educational settings. Wisconsin DHS has
separate guidance for health care and educational settings.

When a worker tests positive for COVID-19, there are
important questions you will need to address:

Q) 1) How do we keep workers and customers safe while
ensuring continued business operation?

@ % 2 What are the first action items when a worker tests positive
for COVID-19?

O O
H_‘ '_H (3 ) What can you expect when working with the LTHD during
| | | | an investigation?

SARS

CoV-2 How should COVID-19 testing be utilized in the workplace?

5 ' When can a worker return?

o°°
<)

The guidance in this document answers these questions and includes resources to keep you
informed and prepare you for working with the LTHD. This guidance also offers resources from the
Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) and the Wisconsin State Laboratory of
Hygiene (WisCon) to maximize safety in the workplace. Although working with the LTHD is required
in state statutes, this document focuses on best practices and a collaborative approach with public
health that is needed to stop the spread of COVID-19.
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https://wedc.org/programs-and-resources/covid-19-response/
http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/hc-guidance.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p02757.pdf

Workplace Outbreak Checklist

Encourage employees to get vaccinated
against COVID-19.

Steps Resources

See “First steps when a worker tests positive for
COVID-19" page 53.

Make a COVID-19 plan.

See “Make a COVID-19 plan for the workplace”,
page 3; fill out Appendix A; contact WisCon
with any questions and/or use their planning
template.

Identify local and tribal health department
(LTHD) contacts.

See “First steps when a worker tests positive for
COVID-19," page 5, #4.

Get a free workplace risk assessment.

See "Workplace risk assessment,” page 4;
contact WisCon.

Start a worker and customer COVID-19
screening program.

See "Worker screening,” page 5;
see Appendix B.

When a worker tests positive for COVID-19

Take first steps to reduce COVID-19 spread
in the facility.

See “First steps when a worker tests positive for
COVID-19 page 5, #1-5; see Appendix A and
Appendix C.

During the outbreak investigation

Identify and report information to the
LTHD regarding the facility and affected
workers.

See "Working with the local and tribal health
department,” page 8; see Appendix A and
Appendix C.

Understand how contact tracing, isolation
and quarantine work.

See “"Working with the local and tribal health
department,” page 8

Understand testing procedures and review
testing strategies with the LTHD if needed.

See "COVID-19 testing,” page 10

Arrange for a facility risk assessment.

See “Workplace risk assessment,” page 4;
contact WisCon

Understand when workers can return
after isolation or quarantine.

See “When can workers return?” page 13

When the outbreak investigation ends

Review closeout letter and any risk
assessment guidance provided.
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http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/
http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/
http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/

How to keep my business running and
workers and customers safe

Encourage employee vaccination

COVID-19 vaccines are safe, effective, free, and
widely available. Here are some ways you can
promote vaccination among your employees:

Encourage workers to get vaccinated. Workers
should also be encouraged to receive booster
doses when eligible.

Provide paid time off for workers to get the
vaccine and recover from any side effects.

Host an onsite vaccination clinic for workers and
their families.

Implement COVID-19 testing programs in the
workplace.

For more information on vaccines including how
and where to get vaccinated, please visit DHS'
vaccination website. WEDC's Vaccine Guidance for
all Businesses offers additional guidance specific to
workplace settings.

Make a COVID-19 plan for your business

Make a COVID-19 plan for the workplace, with
safety as the top priority. The Wisconsin State
Laboratory of Hygiene's WisCon program has
a helpful template and can answer questions
about making the plan or conduct a free on-
site assessment to recommend environmental
controls. Complete the checklist in Appendix
A. Include daily screening of workers, regular
cleaning and disinfection of workspaces,
personal protective equipment (PPE) and physical
distancing.

Draft the plan before you need it. If a worker
tests positive for COVID-19, a plan is essential
to moving your business forward and enabling
proactive, rather than reactive, responses.

* Learn how the plan's basic steps work: contact

tracing (see "What is contact tracing?,” page
8), isolation and quarantine (see “When can
workers return?,” page 13).

Consider reviewing and revising paid leave, paid
time off (PTO) and other policies, as needed:

O Direct workers to stay home when they're ill or
subject to quarantine (see page 13).

Q If the worker has exhausted paid sick time and
PTO is not an option, offer unpaid time off
or create a policy to offer PTO specifically for
COVID-19.

Consider suspending no-fault attendance
policies. Let workers know that they won't be
terminated if they have to isolate or quarantine
for themselves or care for an isolated or
quarantined family member.
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https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/vaccine.htm
https://wedc.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/COVID_19-Vaccine_9_21.pdf
https://wedc.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/COVID_19-Vaccine_9_21.pdf
http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/
http://www.slh.wisc.edu/occupational/wiscon/workplace-covid-19-consulting/

Is the workplace safe?

Workplace risk assessment

* Arisk assessment is key to stopping COVID-19 in
workplaces. “How well is a workplace prepared to
keep workers and visitors safe from COVID-19?"
is the most critical question to consider. This
question can be answered by a workplace risk
assessment from experienced public health
professionals. After a risk assessment, you
will understand what needs to be done in the
workplace to stop COVID-19.

* Free professional help is available. WisCon is a
free, professional consulting service that offers
risk assessment services to businesses during
COVID-19. Note: WisCon's COVID-19 services
are not connected to a regulatory inspection or
reported to the Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA). WisCon can be contacted
at 608-226-5246 or by email at covidconsulting@
slh.wisc.edu, or you can request assistance on the
WisCon website. Sharing the final report with the
LTHD is recommended.

Worker training

Workers should be trained on best practices to keep
themselves, their families and those around them
safe and healthy. When selecting or organizing a
training program, it is important to consider all
literacy and education levels and native languages
in the workforce. These trainings can come in the
form of webinars, prerecorded videos or in-person
training. Providing a safe space, the necessary
resources and paid time for the training will be
essential elements for full worker participation

and engagement. Handing out a pamphlet with
guidance is unlikely to be seen as sufficient in case of
an OSHA investigation.

Aside from health and safety guidance, training
should also reflect changes to policies and
procedures, such as paid sick leave, job protection
and shift changes. Routine refresher trainings should
be provided.

DHS and OSHA guidance on how to protect your
workplace and what information to include in
trainings can be found on OSHA webpages.
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Worker screening

Screening workers for COVID-19 symptoms when
entering the workplace is recommended, particularly
in facilities with many workers who are in close
contact. Screening will not be completely effective,
because some workers who are infected may have
no symptoms, or may have mild symptoms and pass
through screening anyway. Screening and health
checks are not a replacement for other protective
measures, such as getting vaccinated, practicing
physical distancing and wearing masks.

A simple screening tool is provided in Appendix B.

Whether or not you perform screening, workers should
be asked to self-screen before work and required to
stay home if any of the following are true:

* They are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 or
have tested positive for COVID-19 and have not
yet completed their at-home isolation period,
regardless of vaccination status.

* They have been exposed and their vaccination
status indicates a quarantine period is in order.

Individuals with no known close contact exposure,
but waiting on results of a precautionary COVID-19
test--before surgery or visiting family, for example--
are allowed to work.

SHORTNESS

FEVER

SORE THROAT

OF BREATH

O HEADACHE
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First steps when a worker tests
positive for COVID-19

The LTHD will work with you to stop the spread of
COVID-19 as quickly as possible and return workers
safely. Here are steps to take as soon as possible:

@

@
®

Close off areas used by the person who has
COVID-19. If the person with COVID-19 is at
work, they should be moved to a location
away from others, provided with a face mask
or cloth face covering if they do not have one,
and sent home. They will need to know about
your policies including leave, job protection,
and health care options.

Encourage other workers to use a mask to
avoid further spread.

Open doors and windows to increase air
circulation in the area as feasible.

@ Call your local and tribal health department

(LTHD). If a worker has tested positive for
COVID-19 (as self-reported by the worker, or
in a test arranged by the employer), you must
follow state law to report cases to the LTHD,
even if the worker does not have symptoms.
Maps of LTHDs and local tribal health centers
with contact information are located on the
DHS website.

Start collecting information to share with the
LTHD. One way to collect this information is
the spreadsheet (public health workers call this
a “line list") in Appendix C. Collect information
about the worker's contacts among coworkers
for the period starting two days before the
worker's symptoms first appeared (or before
the worker tested positive for COVID-19) to
identify other workers who could be considered
exposed. If you have a COVID-19 plan or have
filled out the questionnaire in Appendix A,
sharing these materials with the LTHD will allow
them to respond more efficiently.
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@ If a worker is confirmed to be infected with

COVID-19, inform fellow workers who were
in close contact of their possible exposure

to COVID-19 in the workplace but maintain
confidentiality as required by the Americans
with Disabilities Act. More information on
how to proceed is available in the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Public
Health Recommendations for Community-
Related Exposure.

@

The LTHD can help launch a best practices
communication plan for your company. If
needed,this can be used to provide general
information to the public about how the LTHD
and the facility are working together to keep
the community safe.

Report any work-related COVID-19 cases in
the OSHA 300 log (see Appendix D for more
details). For this log, the employer determines
which illnesses are work-related, according to
OSHA's criteria.
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Working with the local and tribal
health department

When to call the LTHD

Upon learning that a worker has tested positive for
COVID-19, immediately report this information to
the LTHD for contact tracing, in accordance with
state law.

When a worker tests positive for COVID-19, LTHD staff
will interview the worker to identify close contacts
through contact tracing. The goal is to stop the spread
of COVID-19 at the workplace and in the community.

Contact information for local and tribal health
departments is located on the DHS website.

What is contact tracing?

Contact tracing is used by LTHDs to prevent the
spread of infectious disease. Contact tracing
involves identifying people who have an infectious
disease (cases) and people who may have been
exposed (close contacts). Steps involved in
contact tracing include:

* Interviewing people with COVID-19 to identify
everyone with whom they had close contact
during the time they were infectious.

* Notifying contacts of their potential exposure.
* Referring contacts for testing.

* Monitoring contacts for signs and symptoms of
COVID-19.

* Isolating the person who tested positive

and quarantining close contacts who are
not vaccinated or are not up to date with
current vaccine recommendations.

Who is a close contact?

* Aclose contact is anyone who was within

6 feet of an infected person for at least 15
cumulative minutes in a 24-hour period,
starting from two days before the sick
person's symptoms started.

Q If the infected person has no symptoms,
this period of time begins two days
before their positive test.

* A personis also considered a close contact

if either of the following happened while
they spent any amount of time with a
person diagnosed with COVID-19:

O Direct physical contact with the person,
including but not limited to a hug or a
handshake.

O Contact with the infected person's
respiratory secretions, including but not
limited to exposure to cough or sneeze
droplets; contact with a used tissue; or
sharing a drinking glass, towels or other
personal items.
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* Mask use (or wearing other PPE) during the period
of exposure, by either the case or the contact,
does not exempt someone from being a close
contact. While PPE, like facemasks, are effective
at preventing transmission and infection, they
are not perfect. Depending on factors like the
user's proper wearing/fit, viral transmission and
infection rate can vary.

* There are different recommendations for close
contacts who are up to date with current vaccine
recommendations. See p. 14 for details.

Working with the LTHD during the
outbreak investigation

What's an outbreak and what's an outbreak
investigation?

An outbreak is defined as two or more workplace-
related COVID-19 cases, generally with symptoms
beginning (or in some cases, with a positive test
result) within 14 days of each other.

An outbreak investigation is a systematic approach
used by LTHDs to determine how COVID-19 is
spreading and helps to inform recommended
actions for workplace safety. The LTHD will
determine whether the situation meets the criteria
for an outbreak. If the LTHD determines that
positive cases constitute an outbreak, an outbreak
investigation will be conducted.

An outbreak investigation has two key components:

* Case investigation, conducted by the LTHD to
determine how COVID-19 is spreading

* Risk assessment, to help ensure a workplace
is well positioned to keep workers and visitors
safe from COVID-19. A risk assessment may be
conducted by the LTHD or in conjunction with
WisCon (see “Is the workplace safe?,” page 3).

Whether or not the outbreak is workplace-related
does not change how you should work with the
LTHD in the initial stage of the investigation. The

goal is always to stop the COVID-19 spread as quickly

as possible.

How can |, the employer, assist the LTHD
during an outbreak investigation?

¢ Share names, contact information and sufficient
work history information for all workers, as well as
facility information (for example, work schedules
and floor plans) with the LTHD. Cooperation
with the LTHD is required to stop the outbreak.
Filling out Appendix A is an efficient way to gather
important information and help the investigation.

* Keep aline list, or spreadsheet, (see Appendix C,
especially the “Demographics” and “Relationships
to Facility” sections) of workers linked to the
investigation. Determine a secure way to transfer
files and share this information with the LTHD.

O Some client-based businesses (for example,
salons and gyms) may maintain logs of client
visits.Sharing these logs can help the LTHD
identify clients at risk of COVID-19 exposure
during the investigation.

O Other records that can help the LTHD identify
close workplace contacts include administrative
records of workers and closed-circuit video. If
close workplace contacts are identified from
these records, you are required to share this
information with the LTHD for follow-up. This
information will be used solely by the LTHD
for the purpose of COVID-19 public health
investigation.

* Work with the LTHD to determine whether
workplace COVID-19 virus testing will be needed.
In some cases, testing fees during an outbreak
investigation may be paid for by the state (the LTHD
will have the appropriate details).

* Treat workers’' COVID-19 information as
confidential health information, regardless of their
consent. The LTHD will also treat this information
as confidential. The LTHD will calculate and
provide return-to-work dates of workers. Do not
require workers to return to work from isolation or
quarantine earlier than the date provided by the
LTHD.
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COVID-19 testing

When should workers get tested?
Workers should be tested in the following situations:

* Workers with COVID-19 symptoms: Regardless
of vaccination status, workers with COVID-19
symptoms should be tested as soon as possible
to detect COVID-19 cases. Workers can be
referred to a health care provider or a community
site for testing. Some employers may arrange for
testing at the workplace (see “Starting a COVID-19
testing program for my business,” page 10).

* Workers who are close contacts of reported
cases: Regardless of vaccination status, close
contacts of COVID-19 cases (see page 8) should
be tested at least 5 days after exposure to identify
people who are infected.

Screening Testing:

Some employers may also choose to conduct
screening testing. Screening testing is regular,
routine testing of workers regardless of whether or
not they have symptoms or are close contacts of
COVID-19 cases. Employers may consider setting up
this type of testing program, particularly in settings
where workers are frequently in close contact

with one another. COVID-19 can be quickly and
easily spread and become an outbreak. Additional
guidance on screening testing is available from CDC.
(see “Starting a COVID-19 testing program for my
business,” page 10).
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Types of COVID-19 tests

Diagnostic tests are tests that can tell whether a
person has an active COVID-19 infection.

There are the two kinds of diagnostic tests used
to detect COVID-19:

* PCR (molecular) testing: PCR testing
searches for genetic material of the virus in
samples taken from the individual. These
samples are collected generally using a nasal
swab, oral swab, or saliva collection tube.
Results may be available within the same
day or could be delayed as long as a week,
depending on the lab.

* Antigen testing: This is often called rapid
testing or at-home testing. Similar to PCR
tests, a health care worker collects a nasal
swab or saliva sample. This test, however,
searches for larger proteins associated with
the virus. Although antigen tests are less
expensive and provide quick results, they are
less accurate than PCR tests and may require
a follow-up test to confirm the result. If using
antigen tests, please contact your LTHD or
occupational medicine provider for retesting

instructions.

A note about diagnostic
tests

Diagnostic tests only provide

a snapshot at a single point

in time. It can take up to two
weeks for someone to develop
symptoms after being exposed.
For instance, although a worker may have a
negative test result one day after close contact,
they may have a positive test result a week
later. A 10-day quarantine period is the safest
strategy for preventing the spread of COVID-19
for unvaccinated workers. For additional
quarantine guidance, see “When can workers
return?” on page 13. Exceptions are approved
on a case-by-case basis by the LTHD.

A third type of test is antibody (serology) testing:

Antibody testing involves analyzing a person's
blood to determine if that person has ever been
infected with the virus that causes COVID-19.
Antibody testing cannot be used to diagnose
a COVID-19 infection, to determine if a worker
is immune to COVID-19, or to justify return to
work after isolation or quarantine. (See CDC
Recommendations and "When can workers return?,”
page 13).
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Testing approaches during
outbreak investigations

During an outbreak investigation, different
testing strategies may be used, depending on
the nature of the outbreak. Businesses should
work closely with their LTHD to determine
which testing approach is most appropriate
for your specific situation.

Tier 1: testing close contacts

Testing all workers, regardless of vaccination
status, who have had close contact (within 6
feet for at least 15 minutes) with a worker who
has COVID-19. Close contacts should be tested
at least 5 days after their most recent contact
with the positive co-worker.

Tier 2: testing all workers in a unit or
section

Tier 2 is used when wider COVID-19 spread
is suspected within a unit or section of a
business. This approach is used when:

* Cases are grouped in one unit or section of
a facility.

e One or more cases have an unidentified
source.

* One or more cases came to work while
infectious and potentially spread the virus
to many contacts within a particular unit or
section of a facility.

"

Tier 3: testing all workers in a facility

Testing all workers at a facility. This approach is used
when the entire facility may be impacted, based on
the number and distribution of cases. The LTHD will
assist when this approach is necessary.

Taking action following testing

Quarantine protocol should be followed in close
contact exposure situations, even before test
results are available. All individuals who test positive
should begin isolation protocol. Guidance for both
quarantine and isolation is provided on page 13. For
more information on close contacts for vaccinated
and unvaccinated workers, see “Who is a close

contact?” on page 8.
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When can workers return?

The following guidelines outline the criteria for
deciding when it is safe for a worker to return
to work. Return-to-work dates are based on
quarantine and isolation periods established by
the CDC and implemented by LTHDs. See the
following section for a visual diagram detailing
these periods.

* Quarantine refers to the period of time during

which someone stays home (or away from other

individuals) because they are a “close contact”
who has recently been exposed to a person
with COVID-19, even though the quarantined
individual may not feel sick or have tested
positive for COVID-19. The purpose is to keep
a potentially infectious person from further
spreading the virus.

* Isolation refers to the period of time during
which someone stays at home (or away from
other individuals) because they are either
symptomatic and/or tested positive for
COVID-19. Isolation is necessary because we
want to keep sick people away from other,
healthy members of the population.

Isolation guidelines

* Workers with COVID-19 who have mild to
moderate symptoms and are directed to care
for themselves at home (isolate) may return to
work after all of the following criteria are met:

O At least 5 days have passed since symptoms
first appeared and

0 Symptoms have improved

O At least 24 hours have passed without a fever
(without using fever-reducing medications,
like Tylenol) and

O Worker wears a mask around others until 10
days after their last close contact and

* Workers who test positive for COVID-19 who

do not have symptoms (asymptomatic), never
develop symptoms, and are directed to care
for themselves at home (isolate) may return to
work after 5 days have passed since the first
positive viral (PCR or antigen) test.

* When around others at home and in public,

continue to wear a well-fitting mask for an
additional 5 days after the 5-day isolation
period. Avoid eating around others at work.

For immunocompromised individuals and those
severely ill with COVID-19, isolation for 10-20
days is recommended. Healthcare providers
and the LTHD should be consulted to determine
when these individuals are no longer infectious
and safe to be around others.
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Quarantine guidelines

After close contact with an individual who has
COVID-19, the following individuals do not need
to quarantine and may return to work right away:

O Those who have received all vaccine doses
recommended, including booster doses (if
eligible).

Q Individuals who tested positive for COVID-19
(by viral test) in the past 90 days.

Note that while the above individuals do not
have to quarantine, they should:

O Get tested for COVID-19 either using a rapid
antigen or PCR test at least 5 days after
exposure (except for those people who tested
positive for COVID-19 in the past 90 days)

O Continue to wear a well-fitting mask around
others for at least 10 days following their last
close contact event.

Q Individuals who start to experience COVID-19
symptoms or test positive for COVID-19
should begin following isolation procedures
described previously (starting at day 0).

After close contact with an individual who has
COVID-19, the following individuals should
quarantine:

O Those who received their full primary series
of vaccination at least 6 months ago (for
Pfizer or Moderna) or at least 2 months ago
(for Johnson & Johnson), and have not yet
received a recommended booster shot.

O Those who are not vaccinated or have not yet
received a full primary vaccine series.

The above individuals should quarantine away
from other people both at home and in public for
at least 5 days after their last close contact event.
Wear a well-fitting mask around others at home.

Individuals who do not develop symptoms should
get tested for COVID-19 either using a rapid
antigen or viral test at least 5 days after exposure.

Q If the test result is negative, individuals can
leave quarantine.

Q If the test result is positive, the individual
should begin following isolation procedures
described previously (starting at day 0).

Q If a test is not performed 5 days after close

* If an individual develops symptoms or tests

positive during quarantine, on that day they
move into isolation.

contact, the individual can still exit quarantine
and return to work as long as they did not
experience any COVID-19 symptoms during
the 5 day quarantine period.

* Those who leave quarantine and return to work
should continue to wear a well-fitting mask around
others for at least 10 days following their last close
contact event. Individuals who start to experience
COVID-19 symptoms or test positive for COVID-19
should begin following isolation procedures
described previously (starting at day 0).

* No employment sectors are considered exempt
from the quarantine of exposed unvaccinated
workers. Exceptions to standard quarantine
guidelines are approved on a case-by-case basis by
local, tribal, or state public health officials, and only
for compelling public health or safety reasons.

Important notes:

* Isolation day O is the date symptoms start or the
date that the worker was tested (assuming that
test came back positive for COVID-19).

* When someone is exposed to the virus that
causes COVID-19, it can be many days before
they show symptoms or test positive. This is
called the incubation period and is the reason
the safest option for close contacts is to
quarantine at home for at least 5 days.

 If a worker tests positive for COVID-19 during
quarantine, they switch from quarantine to
isolation and follow the return-to-work criteria
for a symptomatic or asymptomatic case.*

* Antibody tests cannot be used to determine
if a worker can return to work (see “COVID-19
testing,” page 10, and related resources from
the EEOC and CDC for further details).

* Do not require a return-to-work or notice of
quarantine or isolation letter from a worker. DHS
may be able to send the worker a notification of
quarantine or isolation, but return-to-work dates are
not specified, as these are determined by the LTHD.

¢ |n addition to exclusion from work, remind
workers asked to quarantine or isolate to
follow other state, local and tribal public health
guidelines while at home.

After release from isolation or
quarantine

At this time, the CDC does not recommend
retesting of persons who test positive for
COVID-19 for three months after their positive
test (for details, visit "Ending Isolation and
Precautions for Adults with COVID-19"). If a worker
released from isolation begins to show symptoms
of COVID-19, they should isolate and see a health
care provider before retesting.
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https://www.eeoc.gov/wysk/what-you-should-know-about-covid-19-and-ada-rehabilitation-act-and-other-eeo-laws
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/lab/resources/antibody-tests-guidelines.html
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/diagnosed.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/diagnosed.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/duration-isolation.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/duration-isolation.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/duration-isolation.html

Please refer to the following diagram to determine the length of time that
close contacts must remain in quarantine before returning to work. Written
descriptions are provided in the section above, Isolation and Quarantine.

Collin’s does not get tested.
Collin stays in quarantine through
day 5 when he takes a rapid test
and tests positive for COVID-19.
Collin begins to follow isolation
procedures starting on day 0.

= =

“B’

i
e

Q
QM

Barb, Komi and Collin are Komi and Collin begin quarantine ~ Komi stays in quarantine through
notified that they are close because they have not received day 5. He does not experience any
contacts with a coworker all recommended doses of COVID-19 symptoms during

who tested positive for COVID-19 vaccinations. quarantine and can return to work
COVID-19. Barb is up-to-date on day 6. Komi should wear a mask
on all recommended vacci- Day 0 is considered the day that through at least day 10 following
nations, Komi received a they were most recently in close his last close contact.

Johnson & Johnson vaccine contact with a positive

6 months ago but has not co-worker.

received a booster, and
Collin is unvaccinated.

Y

v N

Barb does not need to quarantine but should:
- Get tested starting day 5 after exposure
- Monitor for symptoms and wear a mask
through day 10 following her last close
contact exposure.
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Starting a COVID-19 testing
program for my business

Routine testing of workers could help to identify
outbreaks before they begin so that early
containment is more likely. If you would like to
conduct routine workplace testing, consult with
your LTHD on the best approach.

The optimal frequency or testing coverage among
workers may vary depending on available resources
and the workplace setting. Any employer-led
routine testing of asymptomatic workers for
screening purposes should be combined with
robust symptom monitoring for workers and
access to testing (or referral) for workers who
report symptoms of COVID-19 or who have been
identified as a close contact of confirmed cases.

If two or more workers test positive for COVID-19
during a routine test screening, consult with the
LTHD to determine if a change to the testing
strategy is warranted.

COVID-19 is a medical condition, and diagnostic
testing for COVID-19 that is coordinated by

the employer must comply with the reporting

and quality standards expected of a health care
provider. Work closely with an occupational health
provider (or another health care provider), as well
as the laboratory performing the tests, to ensure
that their testing program meets the following
standards:

Specimen collection

* Test type: Use accurate and reliable testing
supplies and laboratory processing, as
specified by DHS and the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration (FDA). Point-of-care antigen
tests must be approved by the FDA for the
diagnosis of COVID-19 infection. Antibody tests
should not be used for diagnosing infection.
See “COVID-19 testing” on page 10 for more
details about different types of tests.

* Specimen collection: Ensure that personnel are
knowledgeable and trained in the most effective
process and patient and personal safety
precautions.

* PPE: Ensure that all personnel have access
to appropriate PPE and are utilizing safe
testing practices.

* Worker education: Offer effective and
culturally and linguistically appropriate
health education before and at the time
of specimen collection, including isolation
instructions for symptomatic workers.

* Test documentation: Accurately document
DHS-required data elements (see “Reporting
worker test results to public health as an
employer,” page 17).

Lab processing

* Lab turnaround time: Ensure timely lab
turnaround time, ideally 48 hours from
specimen collection to lab processing.

* Timely documentation: See “Reporting
worker test results to public health as an
employer,” page 17.

Patient notification

* Time: Timely patient results reporting of
both positive and negative results (24 hours
from lab result) is critical.

* Worker notification: Use a comprehensive
script with information for those who test
positive. Providing effective and culturally
and linguistically appropriate education and
referrals to health care services, isolation
resources and other supports (e.g., paid
time off policies, income supports, etc.)
for individuals who test positive will be
essential. Promote awareness that their
LTHD will be calling for contact tracing
purposes and to provide further guidance.
Alternatively, communicate that, even with
a negative test result, the individual could
still get infected later on or could be very
early in the infection (within the incubation
period). Include information about how to
avoid infection.
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https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/help.htm

Reporting worker test results to
public health as an employer

COVID-19 is a Category 1 Reportable Condition

in Wisconsin. This means that if you conduct

your own COVID-19 testing at your business, you
are required to ensure reporting of test results
(positive and negative) to your LTHD. Laboratories
with electronic reporting capabilities should submit
results through the Wisconsin Electronic Disease
Surveillance System (WEDSS). If the lab does not
have WEDSS access, a patient information form
(see Appendix E) should be completed and faxed to
the LTHD. For bulk submission into WEDSS, please
refer to the DPH Memo BCD 2021-01.

Required data elements include:
* Worker demographics: name, date of birth,
stated gender, race/ethnicity, preferred language

» Contact information: mobile phone number,
secondary phone number, physical/mailing
address

* Reason for testing: symptoms, public health
investigation, other

* Hospitalization status
* Occupation

 Link (if any): outbreak investigation or
community testing initiative

* Specimen type
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https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f02700.pdf
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dph/memos/communicable-diseases/2021-01.pdf

Resources

WISCONSIN ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

WEDC has information to help protect your business or organization, customers, clients, and staff from
COVID-19. A few simple communications, policies, and programs can encourage COVID-19 vaccination
among your workforce and help keep employees—and your community—safe and healthy.

WEDC Vaccine Guidelines for Employers

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT
of HEALTH SERVICES

The primary point of contact for questions regarding a COVID-19 outbreak at your business should be the
local and tribal health department (LTHD). Contact information can be found through the following links:

Local Public Health Departments Questions or concerns can also be sent to DHS via
the following email addresses:

Wisconsin Tribal Health Centers

DHSCOVIDOCCHEALTH@dhs.wisconsin.gov

DHS COVID-19: Businesses, Employers, and
Workers web page DHSCDESOutbreaks@dhs.wisconsin.gov

S,
.-"l.__'hf!‘.

Wisconsin State
Laboratory of Hygiene

LINIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-MADISON

x

S

WisCon offers no-obligation, free consultations to assess and address workplace health and safety
questions regarding COVID-19. These virtual or in-person consultations include helpful guidance and
recommendations for keeping your business running safely during the pandemic. Contact WisCon using
the link, email or phone number below.

COVID-19 Consulting Services

covidconsulting@slh.wisc.edu

608-226-5246
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https://wedc.org/vaccine-guidelines/
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/lh-depts/counties.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/lh-depts/tribal.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/employers.htm
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/covid-19/employers.htm
mailto:DHSCOVIDOCCHEALTH@dhs.wisconsin.gov
mailto:DHSCDESOutbreaks@dhs.wisconsin.gov
mailto:covidconsulting@slh.wisc.edu

CDC

CEMTERS FOR DISEASE
CONTROL AND PREVENTION

CDC's occupational health experts can address your workplace questions. When you make contact, let
CDC-INFO know that your question is occupational. Contact information is listed below.

Technical Information and Assistance
1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636)
Contact CDC-INFO

TTY 1-888-232-6348
Representatives are available in English and en Espanol

8a.m.-8 p.m. EDT

® Deccupational
Safety and Health
Administration

Coronavirus Disease main information page

Guidance on Mitigating Preventing the Spread of COVID-19 in the Workplace

National Emphasis Program

OSHA's COVID-19 National Emphasis Program (NEP) focuses on industries at high-risk of COVID-19
transmission. OSHA is using strategies such as inspections, outreach to employers, and compliance
assistance. Follow the link above to find the current list of industries included in the NEP.
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https://wwwn.cdc.gov/dcs/ContactUs/Form?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Fcdc-info%2Frequestform.html
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus
https://www.osha.gov/coronavirus/safework
https://www.osha.gov/enforcement/directives/dir-2021-03cpl-03
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OSHA 300 Reporting

COVID-19 Patient Information, F-02700

14-day Fever and Symptom Tracker
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Appendix A: Workplace Questionnaire, F-02729

Adhere to physical distancing

Physical barriers
Face covering use
Cleaning and disinfection practices

Hand sanitizer and hand wash stations

Visual or other reminders to maintain
physical distancing, wear a cloth face
covering, hand washing etc. (e.g.
posters)

Visual reminders posted in multiple
languages if necessary

Communications about COVID-19 and
worker safety and health

Communications in multiple languages
and at applicable literacy level if
necessary

PPE use (as appropriate for the work
setting)

Appendix

Controls Checklist

Instructions: Select Yes/No from the dropdown for each cell applicable to your worksite after implemeting the controls indicated. Areas that need to be addressed will be highlighted in red

Health screening area

Entrance, exits, and clock
infout

Uniform and equipment
pickup area

Tool sharpening area

Production area

Break areas, cafeterias

Locker rooms, restrooms

Other areas, e.g. parking lot,
smoking areas

Symptom Screening Tool, F-02730

Worker COVID-19 symptoms screening

The information on this page contains worker health information and must be must treated as confidential medical records.

Call 911 if any worker is experiencing trouble breathing, new confusion, persistant pain or pressure in the chest, inability to stay awake, bluish lips or face.

Screener:
Date:

Employee name

Temperature
(°F)

Symptoms: dropdown boxes for Yes or No

Shortness of

breath or
difficulty
Cough breathing

Fatigue or
Tiredness

Muscle or
body aches

New loss of
taste or smell

Sore throat

Vomiting or
diarrhea


https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f02729.xlsx
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f02730.xlsx

Appendix C: Worker Line List, F-02731
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https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f02731.xlsx

Appendix D: OSHA 300 Reporting

OSHA 300 reporting is a separate process from reporting to the local or tribal health department (LTHD),
and has different reporting requirements.

If a confirmed case of COVID-19 is identified, the company will determine if it meets the criteria for
recordability and reportability under OSHA's recordkeeping rule. OSHA requires employers to record
work-related injuries and illnesses that meet certain severity criteria on the OSHA 300 log, as well as
complete the OSHA form 301 (or equivalent) upon the occurrence of these injuries or illnesses.

OSHA has determined that COVID-19 should not be excluded from coverage of the rule (unlike the
common cold or seasonal flu, which are excluded). Thus, OSHA considers COVID-19 an illness, but has
stated that only confirmed cases of COVID-19 should be considered an illness under the rule. If a worker
simply comes to work with symptoms consistent with COVID-19 but does not have a confirmed diagnosis,
the recordability analysis is not necessarily triggered at that time.

For purposes of COVID-19, OSHA also requires employers to report any work-related illness that (1) results
in a fatality, or (2) results in the inpatient hospitalization of one or more workers. Inpatient hospitalization
is defined as a formal admission to the inpatient service of a hospital or clinic for care or treatment.

If a worker has a confirmed case of COVID-19, the company will consult with the LTHD as the company
conducts an assessment of any workplace exposures to determine if the case meets OSHA criteria for
work-relatedness. Work-relatedness is presumed for illnesses that result from events or exposures in the
work environment, unless it meets certain exceptions. One of those exceptions is that the illness involves
signs or symptoms that surface at work but result solely from a non-work-related event or exposure that
occurs outside of the work environment. Thus, if an worker develops COVID-19 solely from an exposure
outside of the work environment, it would not be work-related, and thus not recordable. Determining
where a worker became infected may be a challenging task. Note that OSHA's rule for work-relatedness of
COVID-19 illness may be different than those of state and national public health agencies.

The company’s assessment of work-relatedness will consider the work environment itself, the type of
work performed, the risk of person-to-person transmission given the work environment, and other factors
such as community spread. Further, if a worker has a confirmed case of COVID-19 that is considered
work-related per OSHA criteria, the company will report the case to OSHA if it results in a fatality within 30
days or an inpatient hospitalization within 24 hours of the exposure incident.

More information can be found on OSHA's recordkeeping webpage.



https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/RKforms.html
https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/RKforms.html
https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping/index.html

Appendix E: COVID-19 Patient Information, F-02700

DEPARTMEMT OF HEALTH SERVICES ETATE OF WISCONEIN

WISCONSIN COVID-19 PATIENT INFORMATION

Fiirst Mame Last Mams Date of Birth Gender
[ CIM [JF O Other
= =1 W AW .Y H ™ A | Uk
Face Ethimcity Prifirmed langussge

[ Hispanic/Latino [] Amarican Indian/Alaska Native [ Asian [ | Black/African American
[] Mot Hispanic/Lating | ] Native Hawaiian/Pacific lslander | White [ Other

Street Address City State | Zip County

Frmary Phone (8.4., callphone) ‘ Secondary Fhone ‘ Email Addrass

Iz Patient a health care worker? Ciccupalion
O ves [OMo

[ Symptoms of COVID-19  Onsat date for earliest sympton: [ Asymptematic
Has the patient had any of the following symploms in the past 14 days?

Fever ]| O | Muscie achas (myaigia) O] O
Caugh (Rew onset orworsening of chronic :
| cough) 8] 0O | religue al|o
Sora throat ]| O] | Rurny nose (rhinarrhea) | [ |
Shorness of breath (dyspnea) 1| [ | Viomiting 01| 0l
' Nausea ]| [ | Dianmea | more than 3 loose stools/day) B | 8
Abdominal pain [ | [ | Loss of smell? M| M |
Chills [ | [ | Loss of taste? Ll 0
| Headache O [ O | Cther, specity (a8
[JPublic Health Investigation (e.g., long-term care, workplace, cormections) — Enter Investigation Details Below
[] Commumnity Testing Sile [ ] Hospitalized (inpatient)  Admission Dale: ICU: [ Yes []Mo

[C] Pre-procedure or Preoperalive Screening

Does the patient work in nursing home, long-termn care facility, jail. shelter or other congregate living setling?
[Ives (1Mo If ves. name and location of facility:

Does the patient live in nursing home, long-term care facility, jail, shelter or other congregate living setting?
[]¥es [[|No IfYes. name and location of facility:

If part of @ workplace investigation, |5 the patent an Employee? | | Yés | | Mo
Contact of an employee? [ Yes [IMNo
What is the name of the warkplace: What seclion or unit?

Collection Date: Specimen Type: [] Nasal swab [] NP [ OP [ Saliva [ other
Crdering Provicer: Phone:
Reporting Faciity or Heatth Department
Imvestigation Name/ID {If applicable for public heaith investigation)

All patienta with a panding molecular test must ba reportad to public haalth while laboratory results are pending,
and reports must include the data fields on this form, Reporting this information via WEDES is strongly encouraged. In
lieu of WEDSS reporting, this form can be used to report to the patient’s local public health agency while resulls are
pending. A list of local kealth agency conlact information can be found on the Deparment of Health Senices website,



https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f02700.pdf
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