CARBON MONOXIDE
DETECTORS IN

RESIDENCES

Information for landlords

Landlords should take steps to help keep tenants safe from carbon monoxide.

WISCONSIN CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR LAW

m All residences in Wisconsin built after June 1, 1980 are
mandated by law to have a carbon monoxide (CO) detector
installed if there is a fuel-burning appliance in the residence.
Examples of fuel-burning appliances are: gas or oil-burning
furnaces, gas or wood-burning stoves, and gas-powered

clothing dryers. | out of every 4 Wisconsinites

m CO detectors are required on every floor of a residence, does not have a CO detector
including the basement.

in their residence™.

m Landlords who are caught in violation of the law have five
days to correct it. If the violation is not corrected, the landlord
can be fined $50/day for each day after the five-day deadline.

TAKE ACTION

m  Make sure that your rental properties have working CO detectors. Some smoke detectors also
have a CO detector, but not all do. Check for the words “CO” or “Carbon Monoxide” on the
detector. CO detectors can be purchased at most hardware stores for $20-550.

*Data from the Survey of the Health of Wisconsin, 2018-2019

m Replace CO detectors every five years or according to manufacturer instructions.

m Have fuel-burning appliances in your rental properties inspected annually. Hire a professional
to make sure they work properly and vent outside the building.

B Recommend that your tenants test the CO detectors monthly. Provide your tenants with the
DHS fact sheet on Carbon Monoxide Detectors in Residences: Information for tenants, P-02935.

LEARN MORE

Read more about carbon monoxide detector requirements in Wis. Stat. § 101.149, and Wis. Admin.
Code §§ SPS 362.0915 and SPS 321.097.

WISCONSIN ENVIRONMENTAL PUBLIC HEALTH TRACKING PROGRAM
Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Health

dhs.wisconsin.gov/epht | JUNE 2021 | dhstracking@wi.gov
Wisconsin Department of Health Services | Division of Public Health | P-02936 (06/2021)



https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p02935.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/101/i/149
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/safety_and_buildings_and_environment/361_366/362/0915
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/sps/safety_and_buildings_and_environment/320_325/321/ii/097

