
Wisconsin Department of Health Services 

Wisconsin Medicaid—Spousal 
Impoverishment Protection

“Spousal impoverishment protection” refers 
to special financial provisions in Medicaid 
for the Elderly, Blind or Disabled (EBD) law. 
These provisions affect how we count 
income and assets for certain married 
couples receiving or applying for nursing 
home or community waiver services. 

Home and Community-Based Waiver 
programs, such as Family Care, Family Care 
Partnership, IRIS (Include, Respect, I Self-
Direct), and PACE (Program of All-Inclusive 
Care for the Elderly) provide a home care 
alternative to a nursing home. These 
protections apply to people who are elderly 
or have disabilities. 

Medicaid EBD pays for health care and 
long-term care services for low-income 
people of all ages. Medicaid EBD is a 
federally and state-funded government 
program. To qualify, a person’s income and 
assets must be below specified levels. 

Spousal impoverishment protection affects 
legally married couples when one spouse is 
in a nursing home or taking part in a 
community waiver program and the other 
spouse is not residing in a nursing home or 
other medical institution for 30 days or 
more. The person in the nursing home or 
the community waiver program is referred 
to as the “institutionalized spouse.” The 
other spouse is the “community spouse.” 

Assets 
Counting Assets 
There are special rules for counting assets 
and allocating the assets between the 
spouses. When you or your spouse first 

enter a medical institution or nursing home 
or request a community waiver program, 
your agency will, if requested, conduct an 
assessment of your total combined assets. 
The amount of your total combined assets 
at the time of institutionalization 
determines the amount of assets each 
spouse may keep. 

If your combined assets are $100,000 or 
less, the community spouse can keep 
$50,000, and the institutionalized spouse 
may keep $2,000. If your assets are over 
$100,000 you should contact your agency 
for help in determining the amount of 
assets you can keep. The community spouse 
share can be higher than the standard if a 
court or administrative hearing officer 
orders a higher amount. 

Assets Transferred Between the 
Spouses 
Once the couple’s assets are at or below 
their asset limit, they have one year in which 
to ensure the institutionalized spouse has 
no more than $2,000 worth of assets in his 
or her name.  

During this time period, the institutionalized 
spouse usually transfers all but $2,000 of his 
or her assets to the community spouse. 

For example: Bob and Carley have $40,000 
in a money market account and $10,000 in 
a checking account. The accounts are in 
both their names. Bob is the 
institutionalized spouse, and Carley is the 
community spouse. The couple spends 
$1,500 on an adjustable bed for Bob and 
$20,000 on a newer used car for Carley after 
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trading in their old car. They open a new 
checking account for Bob and take his 
name off both the money market and the 
couple’s checking account. Bob’s new 
account has $1,000. Carley’s accounts have 
the remaining $27,500, which is only in her 
name. 

Countable Assets 
Examples of countable assets may include, 
but are not limited to: 
 Cash 
 Checking accounts 
 Life insurance policies 
 Savings accounts 
 Certificates of deposit 
 Real estate 
 Investments 
 Stocks and bonds 

Assets Not Counted 
Medicaid EBD does not count some assets. 
Those not counted include: 
 Your home (as long as the community 

spouse or other dependent relative lives 
there). 

 One vehicle. 
 Burial assets (including insurance, some 

amounts in irrevocable burial trusts, and 
plots). 

 Household furnishings. 
 Clothing and other personal items. 

Reducing Assets to the Allowable Limit 
“Excess” assets (assets that are above the 
asset limit) can be reduced to allowable 
limits if they are used to pay for nursing 
home or home care costs or for other 
things, such as home repairs or 
improvements, vehicle repair or 
replacement, clothing, or other household 
expenses. If excess assets are not reduced, 
the institutionalized spouse cannot be 
enrolled in Medicaid. 

Divestment 
Divestment is when you or your spouse: 
 Give away income and/or assets for less 

than fair market value.  
 Avoid taking income or assets you are 

entitled to, such as a pension income or 
an inheritance. 

 Buy certain types of assets, such as a life 
estate, loan, or annuity. 

Excess assets usually cannot be reduced by 
divesting those assets. Please see the 
Medicaid for the Elderly, Blind, or Disabled 
Divestment fact sheet, P-10058, for more 
information on divestment. 

Income 
Counting Income 
There are special rules for counting income 
and the amount of income that can be 
transferred from one spouse to another. 
Only the institutionalized person’s income is 
counted in determining enrollment. The 
community spouse cannot be required to 
pay for the institutionalized spouse’s care 
except when there is a court order to do so. 

Income Transferred Between the 
Spouses 
An institutionalized person who qualifies for 
Medicaid may be allowed to protect some 
of his or her income by transferring it to the 
community spouse, depending on the 
amount of income the community spouse 
has. The institutionalized person can also 
transfer income to other dependent family 
members. To find out the amount that can 
be transferred, contact your agency. 

Income and Asset Limits 
The institutionalized spouse must meet the 
same income and asset tests as a single 
person applying for Medicaid EBD in a 
nursing home or community waiver 
program. The assets directly available to the 
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institutionalized spouse are limited to 
$2,000. Except for a small personal needs 
allowance, the institutionalized spouse must 
either transfer his or her income to the 
community spouse or use it to pay for 
nursing home or home care. The spousal 
impoverishment protection applies only 
when one spouse is institutionalized and 
the other is not. If both of you are 
institutionalized, the single individual 
income and asset limits apply. The purpose 
of the spousal impoverishment protection is 
to prevent the community spouse from 
being impoverished by his or her spouse’s 
institutionalization. 

For More Information 
 Contact a disability benefit specialist or 

elderly benefit specialist at your local 
aging and disability resource center 
(ADRC) or county aging office. To find 
the specialist in your area, go to 
FindMyADRC.com or call 800-362-3002. 

 Ask hospital and nursing home staff. 
 Call ForwardHealth Member Services at 

800-362-3002 or 711 (TTY). 
 Contact your local agency. To get the 

address and phone number of your local 
agency, call 800-362-3002 or go to 
www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/
resources.htm. 

This document is being issued pursuant to 
42 CFR § 447.205 - Public notice of changes 
in Statewide methods and standards for 
setting payment rates. 
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Spousal Impoverishment Assets (Total Amount) 
Effective January 1, 2020 

If the total countable 
assets are: 

Then the community 
spouse asset share 
(CSAS) is: 

Wisconsin Medicaid 
enrollment limit (CSAS + 
$2,000): 

$257,280 or more $128,640 $130,640 

Less than $257,280 but 
greater than $100,000 

Half of the total countable 
assets of the couple 

Half of the total countable 
assets of the couple + 
$2,000 

$100,000 or less $50,000 $52,000 

Spousal Impoverishment Income Allocation and Allowances 
(Monthly Amounts) 

Effective July 1, 2020 and January 1, 2020 
Community spouse 
allocation 

The maximum allocation is the lesser of $3,216.00 or 
$2,873.34 plus an excess shelter allowance. 

“Excess shelter allowance” means shelter expenses above 
$862.00. Shelter expenses are mortgage, rent, taxes, 
maintenance fees, and a utility allowance. 

$862.00 is subtracted from the community spouse’s shelter 
costs. If there is a remainder, it is added to $2,873.34. 

Dependent family member 
allocation 

$718.34 per dependent family member living with the 
community spouse 

Personal needs allowance 
(effective 7/1/01) 

$45 for institutionalized individuals 

Community waivers 
allowance 

$963 to $2,349 for a person in a Home and Community-
Based Waiver Program 

 



Nondiscrimination Notice: Discrimination is Against the Law – Health Care-Related Programs 
The Wisconsin Department of Health Services complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis 
of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. The Department of Health Services does not exclude people or treat them 
differently because of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. 

The Department of Health Services: 
• Provides free aids and services to people with disabilities to communicate effectively with us, such as: 

o Qualified sign language interpreters. 
o Written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, other formats). 

• Provides free language services to people whose primary language is not English, such as: 
o Qualified interpreters. 
o Information written in other languages. 

If you need these services, contact the Department of Health Services civil rights coordinator at 844-201-6870. 

If you believe that the Department of Health Services has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis 
of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance with: Department of Health Services, Attn: Civil Rights 
Coordinator, 1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, PO Box 7850, Madison, WI 53707-7850, 844-201-6870, TTY: 711, fax: 608-267-1434, 
or email to dhscrc@dhs.wisconsin.gov. You can file a grievance in person or by mail, fax, or email. If you need help filing a grievance, 
the Department of Health Services civil rights coordinator is available to help you. 

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, electronically 
through the Office for Civil Rights Complaint Portal, available at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf, or by mail or phone at: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Room 509F, HHH Building 
Washington, D.C. 20201  
800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD) 

Complaint forms are available at http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html. 
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