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PROGRAM OVERVIEW

1.1 BC+ INTRODUCTION

1.1.1 Organization of the BC+ Handbook
1.1.2 BadgerCare Plus Health Plans
1.1.3 Health Care Choice

1.1.4 How to Apply

BadgerCare Plus (BC+) is a state/federal program that provides health coverage for
Wisconsin families and individuals living in poverty. BC+ replaced the former AFDC-
Medicaid, Healthy Start and BadgerCare programs.

Potential BC+ members will include:

Children under 19 years of age,

Pregnant women,

Parents and caretakers of children under 18 and dependent 18 year olds,

Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been removed from the

home and placed in out of home care,

o Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care when they
turned 18, and

« Effective April 1, 2014, adults ages 19-64 who are not receiving Medicare and do

not have dependent children.

For information on income limits see Chapter 16.1 and Chapter 50.1. A person is
eligible for BadgerCare Plus if s/he meets all BC+ non-financial and financial
requirements.

Documented and undocumented immigrants who are children, parents or caretakers
and who are ineligible for BC+ solely due to their immigration status may be eligible for
coverage for BC+ Emergency Services.

Documented and undocumented immigrants who are pregnant and ineligible for BC+
solely due to their immigration status may be eligible for the BC+ Prenatal Program.

Women and men ages 15 years of age or older may be eligible for limited benefits
under the BC+ Family Planning Only Services program.

Women ages 35-65 diagnosed with cervical or breast cancer may be eligible for Well
Woman Medicaid. See the Medicaid Handbook for more information on Well Woman
Medicaid.
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Individuals who are elderly, blind or disabled may be eligible for Medicaid. Medicaid is a
state/federal program that provides health coverage for Wisconsin residents that are
elderly, blind, or disabled (EBD). Medicaid is also known as Medical Assistance, MA,
and Title 19. There are different subprograms of Medicaid:

SSl-related Medicaid

MAPP Medicaid Purchase Plan

Institutional Long Term Care

Home and Community Based Waivers Long Term Care

Family Care Long Term Care

Partnership Long Term Care

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly Anyone age 65 or older. (PACE)
Katie Beckett

Tuberculosis-related Medicaid

Medicare Premium Assistance: QMB Qualified Medicare Beneficiary, SLMB
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary, SLMB+, QDWI Qualified Disabled
and Working Individual;

« Emergency Medicaid

« SeniorCare

See the Medicaid Handbook for more information about these sub-programs.

1.1.1 Organization of the BC+ Handbook

This handbook outlines eligibility policy for Wisconsin’s BadgerCare Plus program. This
version documents multiple policy changes that will affect the BC+ program in 2014 as a
result of changes in State law and the federal Affordable Care Act. Accordingly, this
handbook contains policy for the BadgerCare Plus program that is currently in effect
and policy that will take effect in 2014. Policy that is time-limited or time-dependent will
be modified with the appropriate effective date. Policy that is not identified as having an
effective or end date is currently in place and will continue to exist in 2014.

Beginning in 2014, the BadgerCare Plus program will use a different set of eligibility
rules to determine household size and countable income. This version of the handbook
addresses two forms of budgeting rules. More information about these budgeting
methodologies is found in Chapter 2. The new budgeting rules that will be applied to
applicants and members in 2014 will be referred to as Modified Adjusted Gross Income
(MAGI) rules. The rules currently in place for BadgerCare Plus will be referred to as
“non-MAGI rules.”

1.1.2 BadgerCare Plus Health Plans
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Program Overview

Through March 31, 2013, existing BC+ members will have one of two major health care
benefit plans: Standard Plan and Benchmark Plan. The Standard Plan is for families
with household income at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). The
Benchmark Plan which provides more limited services than the Standard Plan, is for
families with income above 200% of the FPL, and for self-employed parents and
Caretakers. (See Table 50.1 for FPL limits)

BadgerCare Plus has several limited health plans. These include:

e Family Planning Only Services
e« BC+ Prenatal Program, and
« BC+ Emergency Services

Standard plan members may be asked to pay a share of the cost of services. The co-
pay amount ranges from $.50-$3.00 per service.

Benchmark plan members will be asked to pay a share of the cost of services provided
to them. The co-pay will be charged once per office visit. Under the Benchmark plan,
the member may be required to pay co-pays and deductibles prior to receiving services.

See the chart below for BC+ benefit plans for existing BC+ members through March 31,
2013. Beginning February 1, 2014, all new applicants found eligible for BC+ will be
covered under the Standard Plan. Beginning April 1, 2014, all BadgerCare Plus
members, regardless of when they applied, will receive coverage under the Standard
Plan.

BadgerCare Plus Benefits
Benefit Fackage

77/} Benchmark Plan

”]]]]]]]] Standard plan (same as
Medicaid henefit package)

* Self emploved parents who pass 200% FPL
tedt only without depreciation

300%

200%

150%

100%

Z
Youth .
Pregnant | Chidren | Exting | Caretaker | [ ngigtrse;“'i? emSEI.g_ed
Women 0-18 out-of-home| Relatives HIgY &
Care Faoster care Parents
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1.1.3 Health Care Choice

It is possible for individuals to qualify for both BadgerCare Plus and Elderly, Blind and
Disabled Medicaid (EBD MA) based on financial and non-financial eligibility criteria.

When a person is eligible for both BC+ and EBD MA, different rules apply based on
whether the BC+ eligibility is determined under non-MAGI or MAGI rules.

When eligibility is determined for such an individual under non-MAGI rules, CARES will
automatically enroll the individual in the program with the best benefit plan and lowest
cost share. The individual has the right to request coverage under the program not
chosen by CARES. See (49.1 Health Plan Choice). The change will be effective in the
next possible payment following Adverse Action, unless the member requests the
change be effective in the month the request to change the health plan was made.

If CARES is unable to make an automatic choice between BC+ and EBD MA, a notice
requesting the individual make a choice will be generated. Once the member has made
a choice the decision remains in effect until:

« The member requests a change, or
« The member’'s benefit under the health plan of his or her choice ends. (This
includes being placed into an unmet deductible assistance group.)

When eligibility is determined for such an individual under MAGI rules, federal law
requires that once an individual has been determined eligible for EBD Medicaid, s/he
must be enrolled in EBD MA, even if they are also eligible for BC+, unless they have a
change in circumstances that results in ineligibility for EBD MA. The only exception to
this policy is pregnant women who are eligible for both EBD MA and BC+. In these
instances, the pregnant woman will be enrolled in the BadgerCare Plus program.

If someone is pending for EBD MA or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD MA, the
individual is not considered eligible for EBD Medicaid and can enroll in BadgerCare
Plus. Pending for EBD MA includes, but is not limited to, waiting for an official disability
determination from DDB. If an individual enrolled in EBD MA is determined ineligible for
EBD Medicaid for any reason, including going over the asset limit or failing to pay a
MAPP premium, s/he can enroll in BC+ if s/he is still eligible to do so.

1.1.4 How to Apply

The following application options are available for anyone who is applying for BC+:

ACCESS online application at https://access.wisconsin.gov/ .
Face-to-Face Interview at the local county/tribal office.

Paper application

Telephone Interview.

PwpNPE
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Program Overview

5. An application submitted to the Federally Facilitated Marketplace.

Click here to view the Directory of local county/tribal agencies in Wisconsin or call 1-
800-362-3002.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14
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2 BC+ GROUP

2.1 BC+ NON-FINANCIAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

The following individuals are non-financially eligible for BC+:

Children under 19,

Pregnant Women,

Parents/Caretaker Relatives of children under 18 years of age or dependent 18

year olds, including some parents and caretaker relatives whose children have

been removed from the home and are in the care of the child welfare system

(Chapter 10), and

4. Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care when they
turned 18, and

5. Effective April 1, 2014, adults ages 19-64, not receiving Medicare, who do not

meet any of the conditions listed above.

whN e

To meet conditions of eligibility, the applicant must:

1. Be a Wisconsin resident (Chapter 3),

2. Be a U.S. citizen or qualified immigrant (Chapter 4),

Note: This is not a requirement for non qualifying immigrants receiving
Emergency Services (Chapter 39) or women applying for the BC+ Prenatal

Program (Chapter 41).

3. Provide documentation of citizenship and identity or immigration status (4.1),

4. Cooperate with establishing medical support and third party liability (TPL)
(Chapter 5),
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5. Sign over to the state his/her rights to payments from a third party for medical
expenses (5.2),

6. Meet BC+ SSN requirements (Chapter 6),

7. Cooperate with verification requests when information is mandatory or deemed
guestionable (Chapter 9),

8. Meet Health Insurance Access and Coverage Requirements (Chapter 7).

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

2.2 COVERAGE GROUP DEFINITIONS

2.2.1 Parents
2.2.1.1 Paternity
2.2.1.2 Joint Placement
2.2.1.3 Dependent 18 Year Old
2.2.2 Caretaker Relative
2.2.3 Child Welfare/Caretakers
2.2.4 Pregnant woman
2.2.5 Former Foster Care Youth (formerly known as Youth Exiting out of Home Care)
2.2.6 Child
2.2.7 Childless Adults

The following are the relationships and legal responsibility which determine who is in the
BC+ Coverage Groups:

2.2.1 Parents

A parent is any natural, legally adoptive, or step mother or father. A parent can be any
age. There can be more than one parent of a certain gender in a household. To be
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considered a parent of a child under age 19 for BC+ purposes, the child must be under
the care of that individual at least 40% of the time. For example, in families where
parents are divorced, if the child does not live with Parent B at least 40% of the time,
Parent B would have his/her eligibility considered under the Childless Adults coverage
group, rather than the Parents/Caretakers coverage group.

Note: A child under age 19 residing with a parent may not apply separately from his or
her parent. In addition, the parent must apply as the primary person for the case,
unless the child filing the application is age 18.

2.2.1.1 Paternity

When a woman is married at the time that she gives birth, her husband is considered
the legal father of the child unless a court later determines that someone else is the
father.

If the parents of the child are not married at the time of the child’s birth, paternity must
be established in order to determine the parental relationship for the father. Paternity is
legally established only by a court order or by a Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment
Form (DPH 5024) signed on or after May 1, 1998 and filed with the state Vital Records
office. A father’'s name on a birth certificate issued in Wisconsin on or after May 1, 1998,
is evidence that paternity has been established.

The following designations for a father are used in CARES . See the accompanying
definitions to determine which designation is appropriate for a case.

1. Claimed Father

A Claimed Father is someone claiming to be the father of a child but has not had
his paternity established. A claimed father is not the father for BC+ eligibility
purposes. His child should be referred to the Child Support Agency (CSA) so that
steps to establish paternity can be taken.

2. Acknowledged Father

An acknowledged father is someone who has not had his paternity adjudicated by
a court, but has filed a formal paternity claim. An acknowledged father is one who
fits one of the following criteria:

a. Filed paternity papers prior to May 1, 1998, or
b. Has his name on the birth certificate and the certificate is from another
state, or from Wisconsin and for a birth prior to May 1, 1998.

An acknowledged father is considered to be a parent for BC+ eligibility
purposes. However, because there is still no evidence of a formal adjudication,
refer acknowledged fathers to the CSA so that steps to establish paternity may be
taken.
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3. Legal/Adjudicated Father

A father who has had his paternity legally established is called the adjudicated
father. Paternity is legally established by either a court order (adjudication) or by a
Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment Form signed by the father on or after May 1,
1998 that is filed with the Wisconsin Vital Records office.

Note: If a father's name appears on a Wisconsin Birth Certificate for a child born
after May 1, 1998, it means paternity has been established. Do not refer
adjudicated fathers to the CSA.

2.2.1.2 Joint Placement

When the natural or adoptive parents of a child do not live together, and have joint placement
arrangements for the child (through a mutually agreed upon arrangement or court order), only
one parent can be determined eligible at a time unless there is reasonably equivalent placement.
Reasonably equivalent placement means that the child is residing with each parent at least 40%
of the time during a month.

If the child is not residing with both parents at least 40% of the time, only the parent with the
greater percentage of the placement time may apply on behalf of the child and/or for him or
herself as the caretaker relative of that child.

If only one parent of a child is applying for BC+ and he or she is stating that they have placement
of the child for at least 40% of the time, accept the declaration unless it is questionable.

If both parents are applying for BC+ and claim the child is residing with them, act on their BC+
cases as follows:

1. If both parents agree that they have a reasonably equivalent placement
arrangement, ask under which parent’s case they want the child to be receiving
BC+ benefits and determine eligibility for both parents’ cases.

2. If either parent disputes that the placement arrangement is reasonably
equivalent, the eligibility worker must determine the monthly percentage of the
physical placement based on the court order. If the court order does not show
reasonably equivalent placement, consider the child to be with the parent s/he is
residing with during the month in question and deny the other parent’s eligibility
as a caretaker relative of this child.

10
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3. If the parents can not agree on which case the child will receive benefits, put the
child on the case with the family whose income is at the lower FPL level.

4. Document your decision in the case record.

In determining eligibility for the parents with equivalent placement, the child is considered to be
residing in both of their homes. That means the child will be included in the group size for both
cases and the child’s income will also be counted in both cases.

If reasonably equivalent placement exists (as described above) and both parents apply
for BadgerCare Plus for the child and the child has access to health insurance where an
employer pays 80% or more of the monthly premium in one home but not the other, the
child shall remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus on the case with the parent who does not
have access to health insurance for which the employer pays 80% or more.

Example 1: Johnny, age 10, lives 50% of the time with his mom and 50% of the time
with his dad. Both Johnny’s dad and mom have applied for BadgerCare Plus. Mom
is employed, but does not have access to health insurance coverage through her
employer. Dad is employed and does have access to a family health insurance
where his employer pays 81% of the monthly premium. Johnny can remain eligible
on his mom’s case.

If reasonably equivalent joint placement exists and both parents apply for BadgerCare
Plus for the child and the income of either case requires that a premium be paid as
condition of the child’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility, then the parents can choose in which
case the child will receive BadgerCare Plus coverage. A premium requirement in one
case does not preclude eligibility in the other parent’s case where no premium for the
child would be owed.

Example 2: Billy, age 8, lives 40% of the time with his dad and 60% of the time with
his mom. Both parents are applying for BadgerCare Plus. In his mother’s case, the
family income is 220% FPL and in his dad’s case, the family income is 180% FPL.
Johnny’s parents decide that Johnny will be receiving his BadgerCare Plus coverage
through Dad's case.

If joint placement exists with a parent who lives in another state, the child must be with
the Wisconsin parent at least 50% of the time in a month to qualify for BC+.

2.2.1.3 Dependent 18 Year Old
Effective February 1, 2014, when an adult is eligible as a parent or caretaker because
they are caring for an 18 year old child, and that child is the only child in the home, the

child must meet the following conditions in order for the parent or caretaker to be
eligible for BC+ as a parent or caretaker of a dependent 18 year old:

11
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e Be enrolled in high school, and
o Be expected to graduate high school before turning 19.

The child does not have to be enrolled full time in high school in order to meet this
definition of dependent child.

The 18 year old remains eligible as a child until he or she turns 19, regardless of school
enrollment or expected date of graduation.

2.2.2 Caretaker Relative

A caretaker relative is a non-legally responsible relative of the child under his/her care.
Caretaker relatives and their spouses can be eligible for BC+ as caretaker relatives. To
be considered a caretaker relative of a child in the home, a person must first have a
qualifying relationship to the child (under age 19) and the child must also be under the
care of that relative.

Qualifying relationships for caretaker relatives consist of the following:
1. Stepfather or stepmother
2. Natural full brother or sister, legally adopted, half- or stepbrother or sister.
3. Grandmother or grandfather, aunt or uncle, first cousin, nephew or niece, or any
preceding generation denoted by the prefix grand-, great-, or great-great, and

including those through adoption.

4. Spouse of any of the above even after the marriage ends by death, divorce, or
separation.

Annulment of a marriage removes all relationships established by the marriage except
parent.

A spouse is that person recognized by Wisconsin law as another person’s legal
husband or wife. Wisconsin does not recognize common law marriage.

Being "under the care” means the caretaker exercises primary responsibility for the
child’s care and control, including making plans for him/her. Once a child marries, s/he
can no longer can be considered under the care of a caretaker relative.

In cases where a child resides with both a caretaker relative and a parent, the parent is
considered the caretaker relative, unless legal custody has been given by a court to the
caretaker relative. In that situation, the caretaker relative is considered the caretaker
relative of that child and could be eligible for BC+.

12
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Note: A child under age 19 residing with a caretaker relative may not apply as the
primary person for the relative’s benefits. For both a caretaker relative and a child to be
included in one case, the caretaker relative must apply for BC+.

2.2.3 Child Welfare Parents/Caretakers

For individuals whose eligibility is being determined under non-MAGI _rules

Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been placed in out of home care
and who meet the criteria listed in (Chapter 10) are still considered caretaker relatives of
the child. The child is considered temporarily absent from the home. The child(ren) is
included in the BC+ test group and any unearned income the child has is budgeted.
However, unlike others who are considered temporarily absent from the home, a child in
a child welfare placement is not eligible for BC+ in the household that s/he was removed
from.

For individuals whose eligibility is being determined under MAGI_rules

Parents and caretakers whose children have been placed in out of home care and who
are having their eligibility determined or renewed will still be considered parents or
caretakers, as the child will be considered temporarily absent. However, the inclusion of
the child in the parent’s group will be dependent upon MAGI budgeting rules. If the child
has been placed with a caretaker relative, the relative will not be considered the primary
caretaker of the child. If there are no other dependent children in the home with this
relative would be considered a childless adult for purposes of BC+ eligibility. Inclusion of
the child in the caretaker relative’s group will also be dependent upon MAGI rules. See
Chapter 10 for more information.

2.2.4 Pregnant woman

A pregnant woman is non-financially eligible for BC+. Marital status has no effect on her
non-financial eligibility. If she is a pregnant minor, she does not have to be under the
care of or related to the caretaker to be eligible for BC+.

2.2.5 Former Foster Care Youth (formerly known as Youth Exiting out of Home
Care)

This category was formerly referred to as Youth Exiting Out of Home Care.

BadgerCare Plus benefits are available to certain individuals who were in out- of- home
care, including foster care, court ordered kinship care, and subsidized guardianship, as
of their 18th birthday. These individuals are categorically eligible for BadgerCare Plus.
The individual did not have to be in foster care in Wisconsin when he or she was 18 in
order to be eligible for this coverage group. Through December 31, 2013, FFCY will
only be eligible for BC+ benefits until they are age 21. After January 1, 2014, benefits
will be available to all former foster care youth under age 26. See Chapter 11 for
additional eligibility criteria for Former Foster Care Youth.

13
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2.2.6 Child

A child under age 19 is non-financially eligible for BC+. Marital status and school
enrollment status have no effect on his/her non-financial eligibility. The child does not
have to be under the care of or related to the caretaker to be eligible for BC+.

Note: A child under age 19 residing with a caretaker relative may not apply as the
primary person for the relative’s benefits. For both a caretaker relative and a child to be
included in one case, the caretaker relative must apply for BC+. A child under age 19
residing with a parent may not apply separately from his or her parent. In addition, the
parent must apply as the primary person for the case, unless the child filing the
application is age 18. Individuals over age 19 must always apply separately from their
parents or caretakers, irrespective of their living arrangement or tax dependency.

2.2.7 Childless Adults

A childless adult is an individual aged 19 to 64 who does not have any dependent
children under age 19 who reside with them at least 40% of the time. Their marital
status has no effect on their BadgerCare Plus eligibility. In 2013, childless adults are
covered under BadgerCare Plus through the Core Plan. Enroliment in the Core Plan
has been closed since 2009. Beginning April 1, 2014, childless adults who are not
eligible for Medicare will be non-financially eligible for regular BC+ under the Standard
Plan.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 01/28/14
Effective Date: 01/28/14

2.3 BC+ TEST GROUP

2.3.1 The non-MAGI BC+ Test Group
2.3.1.1 Parents and Caretaker Relatives
2.3.1.2 Essential Person
2.3.1.3 Pregnant Women
2.3.1.4 Children
2.3.1.5 Childless Adults
2.3.2 MAGI Test Group
2.3.2.1 Forming the Test Group Using MAGI Tax Filing Rules
2.3.2.2 Forming the Test Group Using MAGI Relationship Rules
2.3.2.3 MAGI Flowchart
2.3.3 Applying non-MAGI Rules vs. MAGI Rules
2.3.4 Former Foster Care Youth (FFCY) Eligibility
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The following sections outline how to form BadgerCare Plus test groups under the non-
MAGI rules and the new MAGI rules. See 2.3.3 for more information about when to
apply non-MAGI rules and when to apply MAGI rules to a case.

2.3.1 The non-MAGI Test Group

For BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined using non-MAGI
budgeting rules, workers should use the following methodology to determine who
should be included in the member’s household and whose income in that household
should be counted.

The non-MAGI BC+ Test Group includes the primary person and any individuals living
in his/her household whose income and/or needs are considered when determining
financial eligibility. Inclusion in the Test Group is determined by qualifying relationships
and legal responsibility.

Anyone in the home who meets the criteria of being in the BC+ Test Group is always
included in the group whether or not s/he requested BC+.

Persons in the home who do not meet the criteria to be in a BC+ Test Group must be
excluded. However, they may be included in a BC+ Test Group in another case.

The primary person who applies for BC+ must meet one of the following requirements in
order to form a BC+ Test Group. The primary person must either be:

1. A parent residing with his or her child under age 19 or residing with a spouse and
his or her child who is under age 19.

2. A caretaker relative residing with a child in the home who is under age 19, or an
individual residing with a spouse who is a caretaker relative of a child in the
home who is under age 19,

3. A pregnant woman, or the spouse of a pregnant woman,

4. A Youth under age 26 who was in out-of-hnome care (e.g., foster care) at age 18,
or

5. A child under age 19.

2.3.1.1 Parents and Caretaker Relatives

The BC+ Test Group for a primary person who is residing with his or her own child or
with a spouse and the spouse’s child will include the following individuals:

The primary person and the primary person’s spouse.

A child under age 19 of the primary person or the primary person’s spouse.
A co-parent of a primary person’s child or the co-parent of the spouse’s child.
Any spouse of a co-parent.

Any child under age 19 of a co-parent.

arwnNpE
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6. The other parent of a co-parent’s child.

7. A child of the primary person’s child or the spouse’s child.

8. The spouse of an included child, if that child is a parent, or the spouse is under
age 19.

9. The co-parent of an included grandchild.

10. A child under age 19 who is a qualified relative of, and who is residing with, the
primary person, the primary person’s spouse or another included adult, and

11.An essential person (2.3.1.2)

If the primary person is a caretaker relative of a child under age 19 or the spouse of a
caretaker relative of a child under age 19, the BC+ Test Group will include the following
individuals:

The caretaker relative,

The caretaker relative's spouse,

The child under age 19 who is under the care of the caretaker relative,

A parent of the child, if the caretaker relative has legal custody of the child, and
Any essential person (2.3.1.2).

agrwbnE

A parent residing with his or her child under the age of 19 must be in the same BC+
Test Group. This is true even when the legal custody of the child has been transferred
to someone living outside of the home. The only exception is when someone’s parental
rights have been legally terminated. See Chapter 10 for more information on Child
Welfare Parents.

When an eligible child moves from the home of a parent or caretaker relative to the
home of another caretaker relative or caretaker relative who applies for BC+ in the
same month, the new caretaker relative can be eligible as of the application date. The
child, however, isn't eligible in the new household until the 1st of the month after his or
her eligibility ends on the previous case.

Joint Placement

In determining eligibility for the parents with equivalent placement, the child is
considered to be residing in both of their homes. That means the child will be included
in the group size for both cases and the child’s income will also be counted in both
cases. See 2.2.1.2

2.3.1.2 Essential Person
Note: This policy ends as of March 31, 2014.
To be included in a BC+ test group as an essential person, the designated person must:

1. Be related to a BC+ test group member, and
2. Be otherwise nonfinancially eligible, and

16
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Provide at least one of the following to another BC+ member:
a. Child care that enables a caretaker relative to:
e Work outside the home, full time (30 hours or more a week), for
pay,
¢ Receive training full time (30 hours or more a week),

o Attend HS or GED classes full time (as defined by the school).

b. Care for anyone who is incapacitated.

Consider a caretaker relative incapacitated if, due to physical, emotional, or
mental impairment, s/he cannot:
e Work full - time at employment paying at least Federal minimum
wage, or
e Perform customary, necessary homemaking activities or provide
adequate care for his/her children without help from other persons.

Only IM agency staff in positions or with authority higher than a first line IM Worker may
approve, deny, and review any essential person designation. The essential person
designation must be reviewed at least every six months.

Only a caretaker relative who has a child under his/her care may designate an essential
person.

To designate an essential person, the caretaker relative must submit a Designation of a
BC+ Essential Person form to the IM agency. S/he must document the need for each
essential person and that the person can provide the essential service.
More than one person may be designated as an essential person in the same BC+
group, but only for different children. No one, however, may be an essential person in
more than one BC+ group. Also, there can be no essential person if there is no born
child, as in a Maternity Care case.
2.3.1.3 Pregnant Women
If the primary person is:

e apregnant woman or her spouse,

e nota parent or a caretaker relative and

« if under age 19, not residing with a parent or a caretaker relative ,

the BC+ Test Group will include the pregnant woman and her spouse.

17
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If the pregnant woman is under 19 and residing with a parent or caretaker, the parent or
caretaker would be the primary person and the BC+ Test Group would be built around
the parent or caretaker.

Also include in the BC+ Test Group size each fetus the pregnant woman is carrying.
Verification of the number of fetuses is not required unless questionable. If the number
of fetuses is unknown, add 1 to the group size. If verification is required but there is no
verification on the number of fetuses, add 1 to the group size.

2.3.1.4 Children

If the primary person is a child under age 19, is not a parent or a caretaker relative of a
child in the home, and is not residing with a parent or caretaker relative, the BC+ group
consists solely of the child and his or her spouse if they are residing together. In this
situation, the spouse of the child under 19 is not eligible for BC+ unless s/he is also
under age 19 or there are other children in the household under the care of either the
child who is the primary person or the spouse.

2.3.1.5 Childless Adults

Prior to April 1, 2014, childless adults will only be eligible for coverage under the
BadgerCare Plus Core Plan. The Core Plan assistance group only consists of the
childless adult and his or her spouse, if the member was married at the time of
application.

2.3.2 MAGI Test Group

Beginning February 1, 2014, BC+ eligibility determinations will use Modified Adjusted
Gross Income (MAGI) rules. MAGI rules are based on the concept of an individual’'s tax
household, not necessarily on the physical household or family relationships.

Note: Whether or not someone is a tax filer or is a dependent of a tax filer is based on
what the individual plans to do for the current calendar year’s taxes, not on what he or
she is required to do based on IRS tax law. For example, many individuals file taxes
even though they are under the filing threshold because they want to receive their full
tax refund or to qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit. If a member reports that they
plan to file taxes, we will treat them as a tax filer in the test group, even if they are below
the threshold for being required to file.

All new applicants with a filing date on or after February 1, 2014 will be tested only
using MAGI rules. Ongoing beneficiaries will transition to MAGI rules at their next
scheduled renewal or April 1, 2014, whichever is later.

An ongoing beneficiary is someone who:

e Applied prior to February 1, 2014,
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e Was eligible for March 2014, and
« Remained eligible under the new income limits after April 1, 2014.

Note: Ongoing cases that had a renewal in January or February of 2014 will transition
to MAGI rules the next time eligibility is run by the worker for the month of April 2014 or
later.

2.3.2.1 Forming the Test Group using MAGI Tax Filing Rules

All MAGI groups are based on a “target” individual. Each person who can become
eligible for BC+ on the application will be a target during the eligibility determination for
a case.

Tax Filers

If the individual is a tax filer and is NOT being claimed as a dependent by anyone else,
then the individual's MAGI group consists of the tax filer, the tax filer's spouse, and any
dependents the tax filer is claiming.

Out-of-the-Home Tax Dependents

A tax filer is able to claim individuals who live outside of their home as their tax
dependents. Common examples include college students and other adult children,
elderly parents, or siblings who do not live with the filer(s). Tax filers can also
claim a deceased child as his or her tax dependent in the year that the child has
died. In these instances, the deceased child would be included in the tax filer's
group size, though the child would not be eligible for benefits on that application.

Deceased Co-Filers

It is possible for an individual to file his or her taxes jointly with a deceased spouse
for the taxable year in which the spouse died. However, unlike deceased tax
dependents, they will not be included as a household member.

Household Members in the Military

Deployed military members are still considered part of a tax household. Under
MAGI rules, the military member’s taxable income will count in the household, and
he or she will also be included in the household’s group size, as appropriate. If a
household member is absent due to military activity, he or she may be included in
the group size, but will not be eligible for assistance on this case.

Married Couples

Married individuals who are living together are always included in each other’s
group size, even if they are filing taxes separately. If a married couple is living
apart but filing jointly, the couple is included in each other’s group size. If the
married couple is living apart and filing taxes separately, or are not planning to file
taxes, do not include them in each other’s group size.

Tax Dependents
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In general, a tax dependent’s household will be the same as his or her tax filer's
household, even if the tax dependent is also a tax filer.

However, if any of the following situations apply, then the tax dependent's eligibility is
based on MAGI relationship rules:

1. The individual is being claimed as a dependent by a parent outside of the home
(a non-custodial parent is defined as a parent who is living apart from the parent
applying for benefits for the child),

2. The individual is being claimed as a dependent by someone who is not their
parent; or

3. The individual lives with both parents and his or her parents are not married filing
jointly.

2.3.2.2 Forming the Test Group Using MAGI Relationship Rules

Individuals who meet one of the exceptions to the MAGI tax filing rules or who are not
tax filers or tax dependents will have their eligibility determined using MAGI relationship
rules.

Under relationship rules, only include individuals who are living in the home with the
target. If the target individual is under 19, then the target’s group includes the target’s
parents, the target’s spouse, the target’s siblings under age 19 (including step and half
siblings), and the target’s children.

If the target individual is over age 19, the target’s group includes the target’s spouse
and the target’s children under age 19.

2.3.2.3 MAGI Flowchart

The following flowchart may assist workers in forming groups under MAGI rules.
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Four Steps to Forming a BC+ MAGI Group

Step 1: Choose a target.
Start with the Primary Person, or the Primary Person’s spouse.

L

Step 2: ASK
Is the target expecting to file taxes?

| §

If NO, go to Step 3. If YES, ask will the target be claimed by
anyone else as a tax dependent?

¥

If NO, include the target, the target's
If YES, go to Step 3. spouse (if living in the home or filing
l jointly) and all the target’s tax dependents,

and you've formed your MAGI group! @

Step 3: ASK
Is anyone else claiming the target as a tax dependent?

) |

If NO, go to Step 4. Il If YES, ask: Is the tax filer the target’s parent or spouse?

¥

If NO, go to Step 4. If YES, ask: Does the target live in one household
with both parents who are not filing taxes jointly?

|

If YES, go to Step 4. If NO, ask: Will the target be claimed by a
parent living outside of this household?

¥ |

If YES, go to Step 4. If NO, then the target's MAGI group

will be the same as his/her tax filer's
group, and your MAGI group is

formed

Step 4: USE RELATIONSHIP RULES
If they are living in the home, add the target's spouse and his/her children under age 19,
and if the target is under age 19, add his/her parents & siblings under age 19 if they are
living in the same household.

2.3.3 Applying non-MAGI Rules vs. MAGI Rules

Applications Submitted to the Department of Health Services
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Individuals who apply for BadgerCare Plus prior to February 1, 2014 will have their
eligibility determined using non-MAGI rules. These individuals will continue to be subject
to non-MAGI rules until March 31, 2014 or their next regularly scheduled 2014 renewal,
whichever comes later.

If an individual with eligibility under non-MAGI rules reports a change that makes them
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus, MAGI information will be collected and their eligibility re-
run under MAGI rules in order to determine if the individual may still be eligible for
BadgerCare Plus.

Individuals who apply for BadgerCare Plus coverage on or after February 1, 2014 will
have their eligibility determined under MAGI rules. If they request backdated eligibility
for a month prior to February 2014, we will use non-MAGI rules for those months.
Applications Submitted to the Federally-facilitated Marketplace

Beginning October 1, 2013, individuals can submit applications for Medicaid or CHIP
coverage to the federally-facilitated marketplace (the Marketplace). If the Marketplace
determines or assesses individuals as eligible for coverage through BadgerCare Plus or
EBD Medicaid, the account will be transferred to Wisconsin.

The filing date for applications received from the Marketplace is the date the application
was submitted to the Marketplace. The 30 day processing time frame begins on the
date the application is submitted to the IM agency’s inbox.

Effective February 1, 2014, DHS will send accounts of applicants and members found
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus to the Marketplace for a determination of advanced
premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions.

2.3.4 Former Foster Care Youth Eligibility

Former Foster Care Youth are categorically eligible for BadgerCare Plus.

Through December 31, 2013, if the primary person is:

e A former foster care youth,
e under 21 years old,

then the BC+ test group will include the youth and his/her spouse if the spouse is also a
former foster care youth.

Beginning January 1, 2014, if the primary person is:

« aformer foster care youth,
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e under age 26,

then the BC+ group will include the youth and his/her spouse if the spouse is also a
former foster care youth.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

2.4 THE BC+ HOUSEHOLD

2.4.1 Not Living in the Household
2.4.2 Temporary Absence
2.4.3 Students

"Living in the Household” means all individuals residing in or temporarily absent (3.5.1)
from the same residence. This includes:

1. People living in the home in a community residential confinement program. The
Department of Corrections (DOC) electronically monitors them.

2. Huber law prisoners who are released from jail to attend to the needs of their
families can become eligible for BC+. If the other parent is continuously absent,
the Huber law prisoner may be the caretaker relative in the household if the
prisoner:

a. Intends to return to the home, and
b. Continues to be involved in the planning of the support and care of the

minor children.

Huber Law prisoners who are released for a purpose other than attending to the
needs of their families are not eligible for BC+.
Consider them to be absent parents.

2.4.1 Not Living in the Household

Do not consider the following to be living in the household regardless of whether non-
MAGI rules or MAGI rules were used to determine a member’s BC+ group:
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1. Inmates of a public institution, even if they are temporarily absent from the home
with the following exceptions:

a. Pregnant inmates applying for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program.

b. If an inmate resides outside of a public correctional institution for more
than 24 hours at any one time, s/he can qualify for BC+ during that time
period if s/he meets all other eligibility criteria. For example, if an inmate is
admitted as an inpatient to a non-prison hospital for 24 hours, that inmate
could qualify for Medicaid for that day, if otherwise eligible.

2.4.2 Temporary Absence

A child and that child's parent or caretaker relative can be in the same BC+ Test Group
even when not living together if either is temporarily absent, provided:

1. The continuous absence is expected to be for no more than six months.
The IM agency may approve an extension of a child's temporary absence beyond
six months when the caretaker relatives meet the Child Welfare Caretakers

requirements.

and

2. The caretaker relative continues to exercise responsibility for the care and control
of the child. See Chapter 10 for more information about Child Welfare.

The following children are not considered temporarily absent:
e Children who are inmates of public institutions. (3.6)
e Children who are placed in an institution for 30 or more days, unless they were
placed there by a child welfare agency.

e Children who are placed in an IMD, unless they were placed there by a child
welfare agency.

2.4.3 Students

When a child under age 19 who is a student living away from their parent’s home
applies for BC+, the child and his/her family can determine whether the student will be
on his/her own case, or a temporarily absent individual included in his/her parent’s case.

Students over age 19 will need to apply for BadgerCare Plus with their own application.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

2.5 BC+ ASSISTANCE GROUPS

Because of different BC+ group requirements, individuals within the BC+ test group are
placed into a BC+ Assistance Group (AG).

Every BC+ AG will have at least one potentially eligible member. Besides these
potentially eligible members, other individuals may be designated as a person whose
income will be counted when determining financial eligibility. Still others may be counted
only in the group size. Some individuals on the application will not considered at all
when determining eligibility. Placement in the BC+ AG is dependent on age, and
relationships to the individual(s) whose eligibility is being determined.

The following are the BC+ Assistance Groups for individuals whose eligibility is being
determined using non-MAGI rules:

AG Description

BCPY: Former Foster Care Youth

BCPP: Pregnant women, including those who
become eligible by meeting a
deductible , or who are eligible for the
BC+ Prenatal Program.

BCPB Continuously Eligible Newborns

BCPM Non-pregnant, non-disabled adults in
extensions who owe a premium.

BCPN Persons who are caretakers relatives,
or the spouses of caretakers relatives
in the home including Child Welfare
caretakers

BCPL Children living with caretaker relatives

BCPC Children under age 19, living alone or
with a parent or parents

BCPA Persons age 19 or older who are
parents, or stepparents of a child in the
home, including Child Welfare parents
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BCPD Children who are eligible through
meeting a deductible
BCPE Adults and children in Earned Income

and Child Support Extensions who do
not owe a premium

The following are the BC+ Assistance Groups for individuals whose eligibility is being
determined using the MAGI rules. These AGs will not be effective until February 1,

2014.
AG Description

MAGY Former Foster Care Youth

MAGP Pregnant women, including those who are
eligible for the BC+ Prenatal Program and
those who become eligible after meeting a
deductible.

MAGB Continuously Eligible Newborns

MAGM | Adults in extensions who owe a premium.

MAGN Persons who are caretakers relatives, or the
spouses of caretakers relatives in the home,
including Child Welfare caretakers

MAGL Children living with non-legally
responsible relatives

MAGC Children under age 19, living alone or with
a parent or parents

MAGA Persons age 19 or older who are parents, or
stepparents of a child in the home,
including Child Welfare parents

MAGD Children who are eligible through meeting
a deductible

MAGE Children and Adults in Earned Income and
Spousal Support Extensions who do not
owe a premium

MAGS Childless adults
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2.6 PARTICIPATION STATUS CODES

Effective Date: 01/30/14

The participation status code for each individual in the BC+ assistance group indicates
whether the individual is eligible, counted or excluded in that assistance group.

Status Code Budgeting Rules Description Include in
(non-MAGI/ MAGI) the Group
Size?
CA Counted non-MAGI and Ineligible for BC+ Yes
Adult MAGI in this AG
CcC Counted non-MAGI and Ineligible for BC+ Yes
Child MAGI in this AG
EA Eligible non-MAGI and Non-financially Yes
Adult MAGI eligible in this BC+
AG
EC Eligible non-MAGI and Non-financially Yes
Child MAGI eligible in this BC+
AG
TC Test non-MAGI Ineligible for BC+ Yes
Child solely because
receives SSI or
Adoption
Assistance
TA Test non-MAGI Ineligible for BC+ Yes
Adult solely because
receives SSI or
1619b
XA Excluded non-MAGI and Ineligible for BC+ No
Adult MAGI in this AG
XC Excluded non-MAGI and Ineligible for BC+ No
Child MAGI in this AG

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02

Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

2.7 BC+ GROUP EXAMPLES

2.7.1 BC+ Group Examples using non-MAGI Rules

27



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

2.7.2 BC+ Group Examples using MAGI Rules

2.7.1 BC+ Group Examples using non-MAGI Rules

Examplel
Individuals 01 0z 03
o e Health Care Request Y Y Y
PP Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA EA EA CC
BCPC CA CA EC
<19
Individuals 01 0z 03
o e Health Care Request Y I Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
PP BCPA EA CA CC
BCPC CA CA EC
<19
Example 2
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Individuals 01 02 03
o e Health Care Request ¥ ¥ N
PP sS| Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA EA TA ZC
Individuals 01 02 03
o e Health Care Reguest Y Y W
PP Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA EA EA ZC
<19 e
Example 3
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Individuals 01 0z 03

o e Health Care Request Y N M
PP Assistance Group Individual Part status

BCPA 01 EA CA CC

Individuals 01 0z 03

Health Care Request Y Y I
Assistance Group Individual Part status

BCPM 01 EA FA HC

Example 4
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Individuals 01 02 03 04
Health Care Request Y Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA 01 EA EA CC Ch
BCPC 01 Ch CA EC Ch
Individuals 01 02 03 04
Health Care Request Y Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA 01 EA EA CC CC
BCPC 01 Ch CA EC EC
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PP
<19

<19

<19

PP

o)

Example 6

Example 7

32

Individuals 01 02 03
Health Care Reguest Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA EA ZC ZC
BCPC CA EC EC
Individuals 01 0z 03 04
Health Care Reguest Y Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCPA EA ZC ZC EA
BCPC CA EC EC CA




Example 8

Non-Financial Requirements (Chapters 2-15)

Indiwiduals 01 0z 03
Health Care Request Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
ECPA 01 EA CC | XC
ECPC 01 CA EC | XC
ECPL O KA, HC | EC
Individuals 01 02
Health Care Request Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
ECPN 01 EA HC
ECPL 01 HA EC
Individuals 01 0z 03 | 04 | 05
Health Care Request Y Y Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
BCFA EA | CC | XC | XA | XC
BCPC CA | EC | XC | XA | XC
Individuals 01 0z 03 04 | 05
Health Care Request Y Y Y Y Y
Assistance Group Individual Part status
ECFP EA | CC | XC | CA | CC
BCFA CA | CC | XC | EA | CC
BCPC CA | EC | XC | CA | EC
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2.7.2 BC+ Group Examples using MAGI Rules

Example 1
Temperance (36) and Seeley (40) are married parents and are not filing taxes. They
have one daughter, Christine (1).

Person BC+ Category | Temperance Seeley Christine
Temperance MAGA EA CA CcC
Seeley MAGA CA EA cC
Christine MAGC CA CA EC
Example 2

Mr. and Mrs. Bennett are married parents filing taxes separately but living together.
They have two daughters, Jane (18) and Elizabeth (17). Jane’s husband, Charles (20)
also lives with them. Mr. Bennett is claiming Jane, Elizabeth, and Charles as his tax
dependents.

Person BC+ Mr. Mrs. Jane Elizabeth | Charles
Category Bennett Bennett

Mr. Bennett MAGA EA CA CC CC CA
Mrs. MAGA CA EA XC XC XA
Bennett

Jane MAGC CA CA EC CC CA
Elizabeth MAGC CA CA CC EC XA
Charles MAGS XA XA CcC XC EA

Example 3

Evie (29) and Derrick (32) are divorced parents. Their son, Neal (8), lives with Evie 80%
of the time and 20% of the time with Derrick. Per their divorce agreement, this is
Derrick’s year to claim Neal as his tax dependent. Evie also files taxes. Evie is pregnant
with her second child. Evie, Derrick, and Neal are all applying for health care. Evie and
Neal will be on their own application. Derrick will have to apply on a separate
application.

Person BC+ Category Evie Derrick Neal
Evie MAGA EA (+1) - XC
Derrick MAGS - EA cC
Neal MAGC CA (+1) - EC

Example 4




Non-Financial Requirements (Chapters 2-15)

Same as above, except Neal lives 60% of the time with Evie and 40% of the time with
Derrick, and neither Evie nor Derrick file taxes.

Person BC+ Category Evie Derrick Neal

Evie MAGA EA (+1) - cC

Derrick MAGA - EA CcC

Neal MAGC CA (+1) - EC
Example 5

George (50) and Lucille (40) are married tax filers and are filing jointly. They have three
tax dependents: Michael (14), Lindsay (14), and Buster (6). Buster is Lucille’s nephew

who George and Lucille care for. Michael and Lindsay are George and Lucille’s

children. George and Lucille also care for George’s nephew Tobias (17) but will not
claim him as a tax dependent. All six individuals are requesting health care.

Person BC+ George Lucille | Michael | Lindsay | Buster | Tobias
Category
George MAGA EA CA CC CC CC XC
Lucille MAGA CA EA CC CC CC XC
Michael MAGC CA CA EC CC CC XC
Lindsay MAGC CA CA CC EC CC XC
Buster MAGL XA XA XC XC EC XC
Taobias MAGL XA XA XC XC XC CC
Example 6:

Danny (45) and Vicki (40) are non-married co-parents. They submit a BC+ application
for themselves, Danny’s daughter DJ (22), Vicki’'s daughter Stephanie (13) Danny and
Vicki’'s daughter, Michelle (10) and Danny’s brother, Uncle Jesse (40). Danny claims DJ
and Jesse as his tax dependents, while Vicki claims Stephanie and Michelle as her tax

dependents.
Person BC+ Danny Vicki DJ | Stephanie | Michelle | Jesse
Category
Danny MAGA EA XA CA XC XC CA
Vicki MAGA XA EA XA CcC ccC XA
DJ MAGS CA XA EA XC XC CA
Stephanie MAGC XA CA XA EC cC XA
Michelle MAGC CA CA XA cC EC XA
Jesse MAGS XA XA XA XC XC EA

Note: Uncle Jesse and DJ will need to file their own applications.
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Example 7

Emily is a 52 year old grandmother who cares for her daughter, Lorelai (18) and her

granddaughter, Rory (2). Emily is the primary caretaker of Rory. Lorelai has graduated

high school. Nobody files taxes.

Person BC+ Category Emily Lorelai Rory
Emily MAGN EA XC XC
Lorelai MAGC CA EC CC
Rory MAGC XA cC EC
Example 8
Same example as example 3, except Emily is claiming Lorelai and Rory as her tax
dependents.
Person BC+ Category Emily Lorelai Rory
Emily MAGN EA CA ccC
Lorelai MAGC CA EA cC
Rory MAGC XA CA EC

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

2.8 BC+ TEST GROUP FINANCIAL RULES

2.8.1 Non-MAGI Income Counting Rules
2.8.2 MAGI Income Counting Rules

2.8.1 Non-MAGI Income Counting Rules

Under non-MAGI BadgerCare Plus rules, the income and/or needs of all BC+ Test
Group members will be used to determine financial eligibility for all members of the BC+
Test Group.

Exception: If a child is living with a caretaker relative, the child’s financial eligibility
is determined using only the child’s income. The income from the caretaker
relative and the caretaker relative’s spouse is never used in the child’s eligibility
determination. Likewise, the child’s income is never used when determining the
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eligibility of the caretaker relative and his/her spouse. In addition, caretaker
relative and the children living with the caretaker relative do not count each other
when determining the BC+ Test Group sizes.

All members in the BC+ Test Group will be counted when determining the BC+ Test
Group size even when there is no health care request for a member.

The income of all counted adults and children in the BC+ Test Group is used when determining
the financial eligibility for all Test Group members, except the income of SSI recipients or other
Test Adults or Test Children.

Test Children and Test Adults are included in the group size but their income is not
counted when determining eligibility for the group.

2.8.2 MAGI Income Counting Rules

Within each MAGI assistance group, all counted and eligible individuals’ income is
counted with one exception: if a group member is a child or tax dependent of a counted
or eligible member within the same assistance group, his or her income is only counted
if he/she is “expected to be required” to file a tax return for the current year. If the tax
dependent or child chooses to file a tax return when they are not required to, we will not
count their income. Tax dependents’ and children’s income is only counted when they
are “expected to be required” to file a tax return.

Note: If a child or tax dependent is the only individual in the MAGI group, he or she
would not have a parent or tax filer eligible or counted in that group. As a result, his or
her income will always be counted, regardless of whether or not she or he is expected
to be required to file taxes. NLRR children are an example of a child who is the only
counted or eligible individual in a MAGI group.

Currently tax dependents are only required to file a tax return if they have more than:

$950 per year in taxable unearned income, or
e $5,950 per year in taxable earned income.

These amounts are expected to change annually. For expected unearned income, do
not count Child Support, Social Security, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Workers
Compensation, Veteran’s Benefits, or Grants, Scholarships or Loans.

These income counting rules apply regardless of whether the assistance group was
formed based on MAGI Tax Filing Rules or MAGI Relationship Rules.
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The income of household members who are currently out of the home due to military
activity will still be counted according to MAGI rules, meaning it may be counted, even
though the individual will not be eligible on the case.

Example 1: Jack and Jill are married and will be filing a joint tax return. They have two
children, Mickey (16) and Minnie (12), whom they will claim as tax dependents. Minnie has no
income, but Mickey works at McDonald’s earning approximately $100 per month. Mickey’s
annual earned income is expected to be $1200; he is not expected to be required to file a tax
return at the end of the year. Mickey’s income is not counted.

Example 2: Daisy plans to file taxes this year. She has one tax dependent, her son Donald (16),
who works part-time at a grocery store. He earns $500 per month; with an annual income of
$6000. Based on this income, Donald will be expected to be required to file a tax return.
Donald’s income is counted.

Example 3: Kelly and Zack are non-married co-parents and have two children, Jessie (17) and
Albert (14). Albert mows lawns in the summer and makes around $300 for the year. The only
other income in the household is Zack’s unemployment payment in the amount of $400 per
month ($4800 per year). Kelly and Zack do not plan to file taxes. Albert is not expected to be
required to file taxes. The AGs for this case will be based on non-MAGI relationship rules since
there is no tax filer in the household. Zack’s Ul payment will be counted, but Albert’s self-
employment income is not counted because he is not expected to be required to file.

Example 4: Michael (16) and his sister Janet (17) live with their aunt Barb and her two
children. Barb applies for BC+ for herself, her two children and her niece and nephew. Barb
states she plans to file taxes and will be claiming Michael, Janet, and her two children as tax
dependents. Barb is self-employed earning about $800/mo. Michael is working part-time at
Dairy Queen earning approximately $150/month. Michael is not expected to be required to files
taxes. Janet works part-time at Copp’s and makes $500/mo. She will be expected be required to
file taxes.

Qutcome for Barb

Barb’s assistance group will consist of herself and all four children since she will be claiming
them as tax dependents. Michael’s income will not be counted in Barb’s AG because he is not
expected to be required to file taxes, but Janet’s income will be counted in Barb’s group because
Janet is expected to be required to file taxes. Barb’s children’s AGs will be the same as Barb’s
AG.

Qutcome for Michael and Janet

Michael and Janet will both have an assistance group of two (MAGL) since they are
siblings being claimed as tax dependents by someone living in the home who is not
their parent. Michael and Janet’s groups are built using MAGI relationship rules. All of
Michael's and Janet’s earned income will be countable when determining their eligibility
because they are not the children or tax dependents of someone in their group.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
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3 RESIDENCE

3.1 RESIDENCE

A person must be a Wisconsin resident to be eligible for BC+. S/he must:

1.

2.

Be physically present in Wisconsin. (There is no minimum requirement for the
length of time the person has been physically present in Wisconsin.) and
Express intent to reside in Wisconsin. (3.2). Effective January 1, 2014, an
individual can also be considered a resident of Wisconsin if they are physically
present in the State and have entered Wisconsin with a job commitment or
seeking employment, whether or not they are employed at the time of
application.

Example: This is George's first day in Wisconsin. He states that he intends to
reside in Wisconsin. For BC+ purposes, George is a Wisconsin resident.

Migrant Farm Worker

A migrant who meets the following conditions is a Wisconsin resident:

1.

4.

His/her primary employment in Wisconsin is in the agricultural field or cannery
work,

2. S/he is authorized to work in the US,
3.

S/he is not related (immediate family) by blood or marriage to the employer (as
distinguished from a "crew leader"), and

S/he routinely leaves an established place of residence to travel to another
locality to accept seasonal or temporary employment.

See (12.3) for Special Migrant Laborer Processing Instructions.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13
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3.2 INTENT TO RESIDE

The intent to reside requirement applies to any adult age 18 or older who is capable of
indicating intent. An adult is incapable of, and thus exempt from, indicating intent when:

1. S/he is judged legally incompetent by a court of record; or

2. His/her 1.Q. is 49 or less or s/he has a mental age of 7 or less, based on tests
acceptable to Wisconsin's Department of Health Services ( DHS ); or

3. Medical documentation obtained from a physician, psychologist, or other person
licensed by Wisconsin in the field of developmental disability supports a finding
that s/he is incapable of indicating intent.

“Intent to reside” does not mean an intent to stay permanently or indefinitely in the
State, nor does it require an intent to reside at a fixed address.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

3.3 DETERMINING STATE RESIDENCY

3.3.1 Under Age 21
3.3.2 Age 21 and Over

3.3.1 Under Age 21

Not in an institution

A person under age 21 and not residing in an institution is a Wisconsin resident if s/he
¥

e Age 18 or under age 18 and emancipated from his or her parents, or married,
and is:
1. Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, or
2. Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job commitment or to
seek employment.
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e Under age 18 and not emancipated from his or her parents and not married, and
is living in Wisconsin.

Note: For individuals received Medicaid based on receipt of Title IV-E

assistance or if the individual receives State SSI, see section 3.4.

e Living in another state when Wisconsin or one of its county agencies has legal
custody of him/her.

« Living here and is eligible based on blindness or disability.
In an institution
The residence of a person under age 21 living in a Wisconsin institution when his/her
parents or legal guardian lives outside of Wisconsin is the state in which the parent or
legal guardian states the institutionalized person is present, and intends to stay.
If the parents have abandoned him/her and no legal guardian has been appointed,
his/her residence is the state in which the institution is located, and the person making

the Medicaid application must reside in the same state.

If s/he is married, his/her residence is the institution's state.

3.3.2 Age 21 and Over
Not in an Institution

The residence of an individual over age 21 who is not institutionalized is Wisconsin if
s/he is:

e Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, or
e Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job commitment or to seek
employment.

If s/he is incapable of expressing intent, an individual is a resident if s/he is living in
Wisconsin.

In an institution
The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent before age 21 is

determined in the same way as the residence of an institutionalized person under age
21.
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The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent at age 21 or older
is Wisconsin, unless the placement was arranged by another state.

For all others, the person is a Wisconsin resident if s/he intends to reside in Wisconsin

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

3.4 SPECIAL SITUATIONS

3.4.1 SSP Payment

3.4.2 IV-E Children

3.4.3 Non IV-E Foster Children
3.4.4 Homeless Persons

3.4.1 SSP Payment

The State Supplementary Payment ( SSP ) is the portion of an SSI payment paid by a state, not
by the federal government. A person receiving SSP payments is a resident of the state making
the SSP payment.

3.4.2 IV-E Children

Federal financial participation is available under Title I\VV-E of the Social Security Act to pay for
all or part of a person's foster care or subsidized adoption. IV-E eligible children are
categorically eligible for BC+ in the state where they reside.

It does not affect any maintenance payments for substitute care.

These cases are certified manually outside of CARES .

3.4.3 Non IV-E Foster Children

Wisconsin certifies BC+ eligibility for non IV-E foster children living in another state when
Wisconsin or one of its county/tribal agencies has legal custody of the child.

Non IV-E foster children are automatically eligible for BC+.

These cases are certified for BC+ manually outside of CARES.
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3.4.4 Homeless Persons
A homeless person living in Wisconsin meets the requirement of being physically present in
Wisconsin. The agency is responsible for using its own address or some other fixed address for

purposes of mailing the BC+ card to eligible applicants who have no fixed dwelling place or
mailing address.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

3.5 ABSENCE FROM WISCONSIN
Once established, Wisconsin residency is retained until :
1. The person notifies states that they no longer intend to reside in Wisconsin,

2. Another state determines the person is a resident in that state for
Medicaid/Medical Assistance ,

3. Other information is provided that indicates the person is no longer a resident.

3.5.1 Temporary Absence

Temporary absence ends when another state determines the person is a resident there
for Medicaid/Medical Assistance purposes.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-02
Release Date: 11/19/07
Effective Date : 02/01/08

3.6 INMATES

Individuals who are inmates of a public institution are not eligible for BC+. An inmate is
residing in a public institution on an involuntary basis. For example, a prisoner in a jail,
prison, or other correctional facility is considered an inmate. A staff person voluntarily
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residing in a public institution is not considered an inmate. An individual voluntarily
residing in an institution while waiting for other living arrangements to be made which
are appropriate to the person’s needs is not considered an inmate. An individual who is
legally confined to his/her home by a monitoring device, such as an ankle bracelet, is
not considered in inmate for purposes of BC+.

Exception: Pregnant women may apply for and enroll in the BC+ Prenatal Program
(Chapter 41) while they are inmates.
3.6.1 Huber Law

Huber Law prisoners who are released from jail for the purpose of attending to the
needs of their families can become eligible for BC+ if the prisoner.

1. Intends to return to the home, and

2. Continues to be involved in the planning for the support and care of the minor
children.

Huber Law prisoners who are released for a purpose other than attending to the needs
of their families are not eligible for BC+. Consider them to be absent parents.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

4 CITIZENSHIP AND IMMIGRATION STATUS

4.1 U.S. CITIZENS AND NATIONALS

4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act
4.1.2 Compact of Free Association States

All U.S. citizens and U.S. nationals are entitled to apply for and receive BC+ if they
provide documentation of their citizenship and identity and meet all other eligibility
requirements.

A U.S. citizen is anyone who:

1. Was born in the United States, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands,
Puerto Rico, Guam or the U.S. Virgin Islands.

44



Non-Financial Requirements (Chapters 2-15)

2. Was born to a U.S. citizen who was living abroad.
3. Is a naturalized U.S. citizen.

A U.S. national is anyone who was born in American Samoa (including Swain's Island).
The Independent State of Samoa (also known as Western Samoa) is not part of
American Samoa, therefore individuals from this country are not U.S. nationals.

4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act

The Child Citizenship Act (CCA) of 2000 amended the Immigration and Naturalization Act
(INA) to provide derivative citizenship to certain foreign-born children of U.S. citizens. This
applies to individuals who were under 18 years old on February 27, 2001 and anyone born since
that date. The children included in the act are:

Adopted children meeting the two year custody requirement

Orphans with a full and final adoption abroad or adoption finalized in the U.S.
Biological or legitimated children

Certain children born out of wedlock to a mother who naturalizes

The CCA provides that foreign-born children who meet the conditions below automatically
acquire U.S. citizenship on the date the conditions are met. They are not required to apply for a
certificate of naturalization or citizenship to prove U.S. citizenship. These conditions are that the
child:

Has at least 1 parent who is a U.S. citizen (whether by birth or naturalization),
Is under 18 years of age,

Has entered the U.S. as a legal immigrant,

If adopted, has completed a full and final adoption; and,

Lives in the legal and physical custody of the US citizen parent in the U.S.

Adopted children automatically become U.S. citizens if the children meet all the above
conditions and were:

a. Adopted under the age of 16, and has been in the legal custody of and
has resided with the adopting parent or parents for at least two years.

b. Adopted while under the age of 18, and has been in the legal custody of
and has resided with the adopting parent or parents for at least two years
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and is a sibling of another adopted child who is under 16.

c. Orphans adopted while under the age of 16, who have had their
adoption and immigration status approved by the USCIS ( Form 1-171,
"Notice of Approval of Relative Immigrant Visa Petition”). These children
need not have lived with the adoptive parents for two years.

d. Orphans adopted under the age of 18, who have had their adoption and
immigration status approved by the USCIS, and are siblings of another
adopted child who is under the age of 16. These children need not have
lived with the adoptive parents for two years.

4.1.2 Compact of Free Association States

Persons from the Compact of Free Association States are not considered U.S. citizens
or nationals. The Compact of Free Association States include the Republic of the
Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia and the Republic of Palau.
Citizens of the Compact of Free Association States (CFAS) have a special status with
the US that allows them to enter the country, work here and acquire an SSN without
obtaining an immigration status. They are not eligible for BC+, unless they have
obtained a qualifying immigration status. Those CFAS citizens who do not have one of
the immigration statuses listed in 4.3 may qualify for BC+ Emergency Services only.

This page last updated in Release Number: 08-07
Release Date: 09/10/08
Effective Date : 09/10/08

4.2 DOCUMENTING CITIZENSHIP AND IDENTITY

4.2. Documenting Citizenship and Identity

4.2.1 Covered Programs
4.2.1.1 Exempt Populations

4.2.2 Reserved

4.2.3 Reserved

4.2.4 Hierarchy of Documentation

4.2.5 Agencies Paying for Documentation

4.2.6 Policy For Special Populations

4.2.7 Situations which require Special Documentation Processing
4.2.7.1 Person Add
4.2.7.2 Presumptive Eligibility/Express Enrollment (EE)
4.2.7.3 Individuals Without Verification and Affect on Household Eligibility
4.2.7.4 Child Citizenship Act 2000
4.2.7.5 Non-citizens
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4.2.7.6 Individuals in Institutional Care Facilities

The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 requires persons applying for or receiving Medicaid
(MA), BadgerCare Plus (BC+), or Family Planning Only Services ( FPOS ) benefits, who have
declared that they are a U.S. citizen, to provide documentation of their U.S. citizenship and
identity.

Agencies must comply with the BC+ requirement to document citizenship and identity in order
for the State to obtain Federal matching funds. As part of on-going DHS quality assurance
initiatives, periodic quality control reviews will be done on randomly selected cases throughout
the state to monitor agency compliance. Cases will be examined to determine if proper
documentation was used to verify citizenship/identity and if the proper verification code was
used. The Department will work with non-compliant agencies to achieve compliance.

Any document used to establish U.S. citizenship must show either a birthplace in the U.S., or
that the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen. In addition, any document used to establish identity
must show identifying information that relates to the person named on the document. For a list
of all the allowable documentation, see the Acceptable Citizenship and Identity Documentation.

If an individual has provided proof of citizenship in a state other than W1, the IM worker can
either request that the individual resubmit the documentation or request and obtain a copy or
electronic copy of the original documentation reviewed by the other state to keep on file in WI.

Agencies may accept citizenship and identity documents from a woman whose last name has
changed due to marriage or divorce if the documentation matches in every way with the
exception of the last name. If there is any doubt, the agency may request that the individual
provide an official document verifying the change such as a marriage license or divorce decree.
If an individual has changed his/her first and last name, s/he must produce documentation from a
court or governing agency documenting the change.

Applicants who are otherwise eligible and are only pending for verification of citizenship and
identity must be certified for health care benefits, within the normal application processing
timeframe (30 days from the filing date ), as long as the applicant has notified the worker that
s/he is taking steps to obtain the necessary documentation or has asked for the worker’s
assistance to obtain it.

The applicant will have 95 days after the request for verification to provide the requested
documentation. If the requested verification is not provided by the end of the 95 days, the
eligibility will be terminated with Adverse Action notice, unless the eligibility worker believes a
good-faith effort is being made by the applicant/member and the worker chooses to extend the
good-faith period. This 95 day period applies to applications, reviews and person adds. An
individual can only receive one 95 day good-faith effort period in his or her lifetime.

Once the citizenship and identity requirement is met, it need not be applied again, even if the

person loses Medicaid at some point and later re-applies. A person should ordinarily be required
to submit evidence of citizenship and identification only once, unless other information is
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received causing the evidence to be questionable.

NOTE: Do not re-verify identity for a person who has had his/her identity verified through the
signing of a Statement of Identity for Children Under 18 Years of Age, F-10154 (English)
(Spanish).

Documentation submitted by the applicant or member to satisfy the requirement must be
maintained in the case record.

See Process Help Chapter 68.1 for tools that IM workers can use to assist clients and applicants
in meeting this requirement.

4.2.1 Covered Programs

The citizenship and identity documentation requirement covers all non-exempt applicants and
members of:

BadgerCare Plus
Medicaid
Katie Becket

Note: Eligibility for Katie Becket is determined by Division of Long Term Care
staff, therefore they will be ensuring citizenship and identity verification.

Tuberculosis-related Medicaid (TB MA) and,
Wisconsin Well Woman Medicaid

Note: TB and WWW MA eligibility is not determined in CWW , therefore it is
important to ensure that citizenship and identity verification is done only once.

4.2.1.1 Exempt Populations

The following populations are exempt from the citizenship and identity documentation
requirement:
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Anyone currently receiving Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI).

Anyone who is currently receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits.
Anyone currently receiving Medicare.

Anyone currently receiving Foster Care (Title IV-E and Non IV-E)
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« Anyone currently receiving Adoption Assistance

« Anyone applying for or receiving BadgerCare Prenatal Program benefits.

« Anyone who has ever been eligible for Wisconsin Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus
as a Continuously Eligible Newborn (CEN)

Former SSI and Medicare Recipients

States cannot consider individuals who received Medicare or SSI in the past to be exempt. An
individual is not required to be a citizen to receive these benefits. Since SSA does not share
information regarding the reason benefits were lost, it is not possible to determine if the
termination was due to citizenship status or not.

Note: Confirm the receipt of SSI, SSDI, and Medicare through SOLQ or DXSA.

Note: Qualified providers who conduct BC+ express enrollment determinations must not apply
the citizenship and identification documentation requirement to persons seeking eligibility
through express enrollment. Persons determined eligible for BC+ through express enrollment
are not subject to the documentation requirement until they file a formal application with the
local Income Maintenance Agency.

4.2.2 Reserved
4.2.3 Reserved
4.2.4 Hierarchy of Documentation

The list of valid documents used to verify citizenship and identity is divided into five levels in
accordance with federal regulations. Level 1 consists of documents of the highest reliability and
can prove both citizenship and identity. Levels 2 through 4 consists of documents that can prove
citizenship only with Level 2 being the most reliable and Level 4 the least reliable. Level 5
consists of documents that can prove identity only. Applicants and members must provide
documentation from the highest level available that can be obtained during the reasonable
opportunity period.

If an individual needs to verify citizenship and/or identity at the point of application or renewal
s/he should try to fulfill the requirement with proof s/he already has available. If an
applicant/member contacts the agency, work with him/her to check Documentation Levels 1
through 5 to determine if anything on the list is readily available to the applicant/member. If an
applicant/member was born in Wisconsin, use the online Birth Query to verify citizenship.

In certain circumstances the agency can authorize payment of documentation for an
applicant/member. See the 4.2.5, Agencies Paying for Documentation.

Level 1 - Evidence of Citizenship and Identity
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Primary evidence documents both citizenship and identity. Primary evidence of citizenship and
identity is the most reliable way to establish that the person is a U.S. citizen. If an individual
presents documents from level 1, no other information is required; however, relatively few BC+
applicants and members may be able to provide documents from this group.

Level 2 - Evidence of Citizenship

Secondary evidence of citizenship is the next most reliable way to establish someone is a US
citizen. Many BC+ applicants and members will be able to present documents from level 2
during the reasonable opportunity period and should be encouraged to do so. Note, however,
that a document from this group is evidence of U.S. citizenship only and must be accompanied
by evidence of identity.

NOTE: Completing an on-line birth query (level 2 documentation) can be done for all persons
born in Wisconsin. Enter tran code MNOS on CARES mainframe screen, hit enter, then F2.
There is no cost to the agency to use this method of verification.

Level 3 - Evidence of Citizenship

Third level evidence of U.S. citizenship is acceptable and may be presented by applicants and
members who are unable to obtain level 1 or level 2 evidence during the reasonable opportunity
period. As with level 2 evidence, a document from this group is evidence of U.S. citizenship
only and must be accompanied by evidence of identity.

Level 4 - Evidence of Citizenship

Fourth level evidence of U.S. citizenship is acceptable evidence of the lowest reliability. While
most BC+ applicants and members will be able to present documents at this level, they should do
so only if unable to obtain evidence of citizenship from the other levels during the reasonable
opportunity period. As with second and third level evidence, a document from this group is
evidence of U.S. citizenship only and must be accompanied by evidence of identity.

Level 5 - Evidence of Identity

Level 5 documentation can only be used to verify identity. Documentation of citizenship from
levels two through four must be accompanied by evidence of the applicant’s or member’s
identity from Level 5.

The applicant may provide three or more corroborating documents, such as a marriage license,
divorce decree, high school or college diploma, property deed/title, death certificate, or employer
ID card, to prove identity. This option can only be used if the applicant submitted level 2 or 3,
not level 4, citizenship documentation. The applicant may not use a document that was also used
for citizenship verification.

Naturalized Citizens
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Naturalized citizens must provide level 1 or 2 citizenship documentation. The Citizenship
Affidavit is also available for this population if no document from level 1 or 2 is available. This
group cannot use level 3 or 4 documentation.

4.2.5 Agencies Paying for Documentation

The worker can authorize payment for a birth certificate from the state where the applicant was
born and/or a WI State ID if an applicant/member:

e Has no documentation from Levels 1-5;

« Needs either an out of state birth certificate and/or has no identity
documentation; and

e Requests financial assistance.

Note: If a member has obtained and already paid for his/her own documentation and later asks
the IM agency for reimbursement of those costs, the IM agency should not provide
reimbursement. If an individual has requested and paid for documentation before applying but
does not yet have the documentation, do not confirm program eligibility for this individual.
Eligibility can only be granted once the individual receives documentation and provides it to the
agency.

If an individual was born in Wisconsin and not found in the Wisconsin online birth query,
agencies may authorize payment for a W1 birth certificate to verify citizenship.

IM agencies should pay for a birth certificate or state ID card before using the "Special
Populations™ option (4.2.6). If there is an opportunity to obtain a document that meets federal
guidelines then that should be pursued.

However, when an applicant/member lacks any identity documentation needed to apply for a
birth certificate or lacks any citizenship documentation to be able to apply for an ID card, it is
appropriate to consider using the Written Affidavit for citizenship and/or "Special Populations
Policy.

In order to obtain birth certificates or state ID cards for applicants/members, agencies need to
follow the process outlined in Chapter (68.2.5) of Process Help.

4.2.6 Policy For Special Populations

It is expected that all non-exempt individuals requesting or receiving BC+ provide acceptable
documentation to verify citizenship and identity from the federally approved Levels 1 through 5
at application or review. However, certain special populations may be particularly
disadvantaged with regard to providing the required documentation. For some persons within a
special population, it will be allowable to accept other documents besides those listed in Levels
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1-5, once it is determined that the person is unable to produce any Level 1-5 documentation.

This policy only applies when it is determined that an individual within a special population is in
a situation where s/he does not have the ability to obtain citizenship or identity documentation
from Level 1-5 This policy should be used with discretion and only when an individual has no
other means of meeting the requirement.

Examples of individuals in special populations include, but are not limited to, persons who:

e Are physically or mentally incapacitated and whose condition renders them
unable to provide necessary documentation.

« Are chronically homeless and whose living arrangement makes it extremely
difficult to provide the necessary documentation.

e Are minors.

e Have religious beliefs that prevent them from securing the documentation.

There are two ways for individuals in special populations to meet the citizenship and identity
documentation requirement:

1. Present other documents besides those listed in Levels 1-5 to meet the
requirement as long as the document meets the general documentation
requirement stated here:

"Any document used to establish U.S. citizenship must show either a birthplace in
the U.S. or that the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen. Any document used to
establish identity must show identifying information that relates to the person
named on the document.”

Some examples of documents that could be used to establish citizenship for
special populations as long the document shows a birthplace in the U.S. or that
the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen are:

e Hospital "souvenir” birth certificate
« Baptismal certificate
« Native American documentation
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Below are examples of documents that could be used to establish identity for
special populations as long the document shows some identifying information
(e.g., name, address, telephone number, etc.) that relates to the individual:

e Social Security Card

« Driver education course completion certificate
e School record or transcript

o Credit card with signature

« \Voter registration materials

« Permanent Resident card

Example 1. Due to their religious practices, an Amish family is not able to present a birth
certificate for their child because the child was not born in a traditional hospital setting and no
record of the child’s birth exists within the state system. In addition, the child is home
schooled so there is no school identification card to present for identification verification.
However, the family is able to produce a signed letter from their church leader that states the
child’s birth place and birth date. This document can be used to satisfy the citizenship and
identification requirement under the policy for Special Populations.

2. The newly developed Statement of Citizenship and/or Identity for Special
Populations form (E-10161) can be used to meet the new requirement only when
no other documentation is available from Levels 1-5 or item #1 above.

This form can be completed by a related or unrelated individual who knows the
applicant/member, an authorized representative , an IM Agency worker, a worker
for a housing agency who is aware of the individual’s living situation, a BC+
provider for a minor, etc. Additional requirements concerning the F-10161 are as
follows:

e The person completing the form attesting to another person’s citizenship
must be a US citizen.

« IM agencies are not required to verify the citizenship of the person signing
the form.

« Do not accept a form attesting to the citizenship of another individual when
you know the person completing the form is not a US citizen.

Example 2: A 15 year old minor female applies for the Family Planning Only Services
program. She does not have a copy of her birth certificate, but because she was born in
Wisconsin, the IM worker is able to complete an online birth query to verify her citizenship.
The applicant does not have a driver license. She does not have a school 1D because the
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school district in which she lives does not issue a school identification card. Further, she does
not have nor is she able to provide any other acceptable document from Levels 1-5. In this
case, an F-10161 can be signed by a Family Planning Only Services program provider on the
behalf of a minor female to verify her identity and meet the federal requirement.

NOTE: An F-10161 can be signed by the authorized representative of an individual who is not
able to procure any other documents on his/her own.

While an IM worker is obligated to assist an applicant or member who asks for help in meeting
the citizenship and identity requirement, this does not necessarily mean the IM worker must sign
the F-10161. The signatory to the F-10161 must know and be able to truthfully attest to the
applicant/member’s citizenship or identity. If an IM worker can do this for an applicant/member,
then s/he may sign the form.

Maintain copies of any documents secured under this temporary policy in the case record. Enter
Case Comments to document why this policy was used and note whether the F-10161 or another
document was used to verify citizenship and identity.

NOTE: An individual who met the citizenship requirement by using documents obtained under
the Special Populations policy or by using the F-10161 has complied with the federal
requirement and is not required to provide other documentation at his/ her next review.

If you are aware of an individual who meets the special population category outlined above and
whose BC+ application has been denied or eligibility has ended because of his/her inability to
provide acceptable documentation, contact the individual to see if the Special Populations
policies may be applied. See Documentation Level 7 Acceptable Citizenship and Identity
Documentation.

4.2.7 Situations which require Special Documentation Processing
4.2.7.1 Person Add

A person being added to a case is subject to the verification requirement at the time of his/her
application. Inform the applicant of the documentation requirement and give him/her the
"reasonable opportunity period” to comply. Do not grant eligibility for the individual until
he/she has submitted valid documentation. If documentation is not received timely, deny MA for
that individual only. Do not require other non-exempt household members to submit citizenship
or identification documentation until their next review.

4.2.7.2 Presumptive Eligibility/Express Enrollment (EE)
Qualified providers who conduct BC+ presumptive eligibility/express enrollment determinations

must not apply the citizenship and identification documentation requirement to persons seeking
presumptive eligibility. Persons determined presumptively eligible for BC+ are not subject to
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the documentation requirement until they file a formal application with the local Income
Maintenance agency.

4.2.7.3 Individuals Without Verification and Affect on Household Eligibility

IM workers should not delay an individual household member’s eligibility when awaiting
another household members’ citizenship or identity verification. The individual pending for
citizenship/identity should be counted as part of the group when determining eligibility for other
group members. See Process Help Chapter 68.2 for processing instructions.

4.2.7.4 Child Citizenship Act 2000

Certain foreign-born individuals have derivative U.S. citizenship as a result of the Child
Citizenship Act (CCA). Within the context of the BC+ citizenship verification requirement, this
means that for any applicant or member claiming citizenship through the CCA, IM workers
should not request documentation for that person. In these cases, IM workers need to acquire
documentation proving the citizenship and identity of at least one U.S. citizen parent. The
parent’s U.S. citizenship is the basis for the child receiving derivative citizenship.

For persons who meet the citizenship verification requirement through the means allowed in the
CCA, this is considered level 2 evidence. Therefore this counts for citizenship only and the
individual needs to provide another document to verify identity. The code <CA> should be used
in the BC+ Citizenship Verification field.

See 4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act of 2000

4.2.7.5 Non-citizens

As a reminder, do not request or require citizenship and identity documentation from individuals
who have not declared that they are citizens. Non-citizens who apply for IM programs are not
subject to this policy. Legal non-citizens are subject to the verification process through SAVE
and undocumented non-citizens do not have any status that can be verified. Undocumented non-
citizens can apply for Emergency MA or BC+ Prenatal Program and should not be subject to the
citizenship verification policy.

When an individual who had legal non-citizen status subsequently gains US Citizenship, this is
recorded in SAVE. Therefore SAVE can be used to verify these individuals' citizenship. The
verification result from SAVE will be used to verify these individuals' citizenship. The
verification result from SAVE will be "individual is a US Citizen". Please consult Operations
Memo 04-10, for instructions on using SAVE. Use the <SV> code in the MA Citizenship
verification field when using SAVE for this population. These individuals do still need proof of
identity since the SAVE verification is considered to be Level 2 citizenship documentation.

4.2.7.6 Individuals in Institutional Care Facilities

Disabled individuals in institutional care facilities may have their identity attested to by the
facility director or administrator when nothing else is available. Use the Statement of Identity
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for Persons In Institutional Care Facilities (F-10175) for this purpose. A medical institution can
be, but is not limited to, skilled nursing facilities (SNF), intermediate care facilities (ICF
Intermediate Care Facility), institutions for mental disease ( IMD Institute for Mental Disease),
and hospitals.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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4.3 IMMIGRANTS

4.3.1 Public Charge

4.3.2 INS Reporting

4.3.3 Continuous Presence

4.3.4 Immigration Status Chart

4.3.5 Iraqgis & Afghans With Special Immigrant Status
4.3.5.1 Counting Refugee Related Income
4.3.5.2 Refugee Medical Assistance

Immigrants are persons who reside in the U.S., but are not U.S. citizens or nationals. The
immigrants described below, who apply for BC+ and meet all eligibility requirements, are
entitled to receive BC+ benefits.

1. A refugee admitted under Immigration & Nationality Act (INA) Section 207.

A refugee is a person who flees his/her country due to persecution or a well-
founded fear of persecution because of race, religion, nationality, political opinion,
or membership in a social group.

An immigrant admitted under this refugee status may be eligible for BC+ even if
his/her immigration status later changes.

2. An asylee admitted under INA Section 208.

Similar to a refugee, this is a person who seeks asylum and is already present in
the U.S. when s/he requests permission to stay.
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An immigrant admitted under this asylee status may be eligible for BC+ even if
his/her immigration status later changes.

3. An immigrant whose deportation is withheld under INA Section 243(h) and such
status was granted prior to April 1, 1997, or an immigrant whose removal is
withheld under INA Section 241(b)(3) on or after April 1, 1997.

An immigrant admitted under this status may be eligible for BC+ even if his/her
immigration status later changes.

4. A Cuban/Haitian entrant.

An immigrant admitted under this Cuban/Haitian entrant status may be eligible for
BC+ even if his/her immigration status later changes.

5. An American Indian born in Canada who is at least 50% American Indian by
blood, or an American Indian born outside the U.S. who is a member of a
Federally recognized Indian tribe.

6. **Lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the INA. 8 USC 1101 et seq.
7. **Paroled into the U.S. under INA Section 212(d)(5).

8. **Granted conditional entry under immigration law in effect before April 1, 1980
[INA Section 203(a)(7)].

9. **An immigrant who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the
U.S. and meets certain other requirements.

10.**An immigrant whose child has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in
the U.S. and meets certain other requirements.

11.**An immigrant child who resides with a parent who has been battered or
subjected to extreme cruelty in the U.S. and meets certain other requirements.

12.Victims of a severe form of trafficking in accordance with 107(b)(1) of the
Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (P.L. 106-386).
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**|f these immigrants lawfully entered the U.S. on or after August 22, 1996, they must also be
one of the following:

a. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and an honorably discharged veteran of the
U.S. Armed Forces, or

b. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and on active duty ( other than active duty
for training ) in the U.S. Armed Forces, or

c. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and the spouse, unmarried dependent
child, or surviving spouse of a person described in "a" or "b" or

d. An Amerasian.

e. Resided in the U.S. for at least five years since his/her date of entry. See
4.3.3 Continuous Presence, or

Beginning, October 1, 2009, children under the age of 19, young adults under age 21 residing in
an IMD , and pregnant women who are either:

o Lawfully Admitted for Permanent Residence (CARES TCTZ Code #1 in
Immigration Status Chart below),

o Lawfully present under Section 203(a)(7) (Code #3 in Immigration Status Chart
below),

o Lawfully present under Section 212(d)(5) (Code #6 in Immigration Status Chart
below), or

e Who suffer from domestic abuse and are considered to be a battered immigrant
(Code #16 in Immigration Status Chart below),

no longer have to wait 5 years to be eligible for full benefit Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus. This
policy applies to both persons in existing open cases and new applicants. Women have the 5-
year ban lifted when their pregnancy is verified and continues for an additional 60 days after the
last day of pregnancy and through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs.

In addition, children under the age of 19, young adults under age 21 residing in an IMD, and
pregnant women who are legally present in the U.S., under any of the non-immigrant statuses
listed in the table below may also qualify for BC+ if otherwise eligible.

USCIS Class of Admission Code or Section of the Federal Law Citation
Authorizing Class
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Class of Admission Code
(COA)/Section of Law Citation

Aliens currently in temporary resident status
pursuant to section 210 or 245A of the Act.

S16, S26, W16, W25, W26, W36 or
8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(i)

Aliens currently under Temporary Protected
Status (TPS)

pursuant to section 244 of the Act. Child
accompanying or following to join a K-3 alien.

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(ii)

Family Unity beneficiaries pursuant to section
301 of Pub. L.

101-649. (These are the spouses and
unmarried children of individuals granted
temporary or permanent residence under
Section 210 or 245A above.)

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(iv)

Aliens currently under Deferred Enforced
Departure (DED)
pursuant to a decision made by the President.

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(v)

Aliens currently in deferred action status
pursuant to Service
Operations Instructions at Ol 242.1(a)(22).

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(vi)

Aliens who are the spouse or child of a United
States citizen

whose visa petition has been approved and
who have a pending application for adjustment
of status

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(vii)

Legal non-immigrants from the Compact of NA
Free Association states (Republic of the

Marshall Islands, the Federated States of

Micronesia and the Republic of Palau) who are
considered permanent non-immigrants.

An alien who is the fiancée or fiancé ofa U.S. | K-1
citizen entering solely to conclude a valid

marriage contract.

Child of K-1 K-2
Spouse of a U.S. citizen who is a beneficiary K-3
of a petition for status as the immediate

relatives of a U.S. citizen (1-130).

Child accompanying or following to joina K-3 | K-4
alien.

Parent of an alien classified SK3 or SN3 N-8
Child of N-8 or of an alien classified SK1, N-9
SK2, SK4, SN1, SN2, SN4.

Temporary worker to perform work in R1
religious occupations.

Spouse and children of R1 R2
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An alien who is in possession of critical
reliable information concerning a criminal
organization or enterprise, is willing to supply
or has supplied such information to Federal or
State law enforcement authorities or a Federal
or State court; and whose presence in the
United States the Attorney General determines
is essential to the success of an authorized
criminal investigation or the successful
prosecution of an individual involved in the
criminal organization or enterprise

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S)(i)

An alien who the Secretary of State and the
Attorney General jointly determine is in
possession of critical reliable information
concerning a terrorist organization, enterprise,
or operation; is willing to supply or has
supplied such information to Federal law
enforcement authorities or a Federal court;
will be or has been placed in danger as a result
of providing such information; and is eligible

to receive a reward from the State Department.

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S)(ii)

An alien who is the spouse, married and
unmarried sons and daughters, and parents of
an alien in possession of critical reliable
information concerning either criminal
activities or terrorist operations.

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S)

Individuals who have suffered substantial
physical or mental abuse as victim of criminal
activity.

U-1

An alien who is the spouse, child, unmarried
sibling or parent of the victim of the criminal
activity above.

uU-2, U-3, U-4, U-5

An alien who are the spouses or children of an
alien lawfully admitted for permanent
residence and who have been waiting since at
least December 2000 for their visa application
to be approved.

V-1, V-2, V-3

Immigrants, who do not appear in the lists above, who apply for BC+ and meet all eligibility
requirements except for citizenship are entitled to receive BC+ Emergency Services only

(Chapter 39).

Pregnant immigrants who do not appear in the list above, who apply for the BC+ Prenatal
Program ( BC+PP ) (Chapter 41) and who meet the eligibility requirements except for

citizenship are entitled to receive those benefits.
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Immigration status is an individual eligibility requirement. It does not affect the eligibility of the
BC+ Group. The citizen spouse or child of an ineligible immigrant may still be eligible even
though the immigrant is not.

Verify immigration status using the procedures in the SAVE Manual.
4.3.1 Public Charge

The receipt of BC+ by an undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrant or by the
children or spouse for whom the individual is legally responsible does not establish the person as
a public charge.

Undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrants are considered to be a public charge if
while receiving BC+, s/he is in a medical institution for more than the length of a rehabilitative
stay.

Undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrants concerned about being considered a
"public charge", should be directed to contact the INS field office to seek clarification of the
difference between rehabilitative and other types of institutional stays.

4.3.2 INS Reporting

Do not refer an immigrant to Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) unless information
for administering the BC+ program is needed. For example, if BC+ needs to determine an
individual’s location for repayment or fraud prosecution, or to determine his/her immigration
status.

4.3.3 Continuous Presence

Certain non-citizens who arrived in the U.S. on or after August 22, 1996 are subject to a five
year ban on receiving federal benefits (including BadgerCare Plus and Medicaid), other than
emergency services. For these immigrants the five year ban is calculated beginning on the day
on which an individual gains qualified immigrant status. However certain applicants who
alleged an arrival date in the U.S. before August 22, 1996 and obtained legal qualified immigrant
status after August 22, 1996, are not subject to the five year ban and may be eligible to receive
federal BadgerCare Plus enrollment. The immigrants described below, who apply for BC+ and
meet all eligibility requirements, are entitled to receive BC+ benefits.

1. A non-citizen who arrived in the U.S. before August 22, 1996 in a legal, but non-
gualified, immigration status and changed their status to a qualified immigrant on
or after August 22, 1996. This individual would not be subject to the five year
ban if they remained continuously present from his/her date or arrival in the U.S.
until the date s/he gained qualified immigration status.
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2. A non-citizen who arrived in the U.S. before August 22, 1996 in undocumented
status or who overstayed his/her original visa is treated the same as someone
who arrived and remained in the U.S. with valid immigration documents.
Therefore, if this individual remained continuously present from his/her date of
arrival in the U.S. until the date s/he gained qualified immigration status, s/he
would not be subject to the five year ban.

3. For those non-citizens who arrived in the U.S. with or without documentation on
or after August 22, 1996 or those for who continuous presence cannot be
verified, the five year ban applies from the date the individual obtained qualified
immigrant status.

An individual meets the "continuous presence” test if they:

1. Did not have a single absence from the U.S. of more than 30 days, or
2. Did not have a cumulative number of absences totaling more than 90 days.

To establish continuous presence, require a signed statement from the applicant stating s/he was
continuously present for the period of time in question. The signed statement will be sufficient
unless a worker believes the information is fraudulent or further information received now
indicates that it is questionable.

Below is one example of a signed statement:

l, first and last name, hereby declare that | have continuously resided in the United
States between the day | arrived in the United States, date here, and the date |
received qualified alien status, date here. | have not left the United States in that
time for any single period of time longer than 30 days or for multiple periods
totaling more than 90 days.

Applicant/ Authorized Representative Signature, Date
Verification

Primary verification is done through Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlement ( SAVE )
which is an automated telephone and computer database system. A worker processing an
application can compare the date received from SAVE with the date on the immigration
documents presented. The primary verification query via SAVE most likely results in returning
the latest date of any qualified alien status update for an individual, not his/her original date of
arrival. The only way to obtain an accurate date of arrival for those who don't meet an
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exemption category and who allege a date of arrival prior to August 22, 1996 is through the
secondary verification procedure.

It may be necessary to complete a secondary verification procedure with USCIS, including
confirming the date of arrival, in the following situations:

e The applicant does not fall into any of the categories of non-citizens who are
exempt from the five year ban (e.g. refugees, asylees, those with military service,
etc).

e An IM worker has made an initial or primary verification inquiry using the SAVE
database. The information from the inquiry conflicts with information on the
applicant's immigration documents or what s/he is telling the IM worker.

e A non citizen applicant tells an IM worker s/he came to the U.S. prior to August
22,1996. If s/he arrived in a legal or documented status, the IM worker needs to
verify the date of arrival to ensure that the correct alien eligibility rules are being
applied.

e Save returns the message, "Institute Secondary Verification".

« IM worker finds any questionable information in the initial verification process.

The secondary verification procedure is a manual Document Verification Request and includes
two forms, the Form G-845S and Form G-845 Supplement. These two forms must be submitted
together in order to obtain the accurate U.S. arrival date. When sending the forms, include any
photocopies of immigration documents presented. Although USCIS maintains a sub-office in
Milwaukee, this office does not process these requests. Send the forms to the following address:

US Citizenship and Immigration Services
ATTN: Immigration Status Verifier

10 West Jackson Blvd.

Chicago, IL 60604

An Immigration Status Verifier (ISV) will research the alien's records and complete the response
portion of the verification request.

Note: An applicant who has provided documentation of his/her qualifying immigrant status is
considered eligible, pending verification from INS.

Consult the SAVE manual for more information.
Undocumented Non-Citizens

In cases in which it is known that the applicant originally arrived in the U.S. in undocumented
status, do not attempt to verify his/her status with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
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(USCIS ) Undocumented immigrants do not have any official documentation regarding their date
of arrival. Therefore, if a worker needs to establish a date of arrival for a qualified immigrant
who originally arrived as an undocumented immigrant prior to August 22, 1996, alternative
methods need to be used. In such cases the applicant must provide at least one piece of
documentation that shows his/her presence in the U.S. prior to August 22, 1996. This may
include pay stubs, letter from an employer, lease or rent receipts, or a utility bill in the applicant's
name.

The legal status conferred on a non-citizen by immigration law: Toshi entered the U.S.
February 2, 2004 with qualified immigrant status. She is applying for BadgerCare Plus in
February 2008. The IM worker should first determine whether she is in one of the immigrant
categories exempt from the five-year ban. If Toshi is not exempt then she must wait five
years before qualifying for BadgerCare Plus. She can be enrolled in BC Plus after February
2, 2009.

Example 2: Shariff arrived as a student in June 2002. On June 5, 2006 he was granted
asylum. The five year ban does not apply because asylees are exempt from the ban.
Secondary verification is not necessary. He is eligible to be enrolled in BadgerCare plus
provided he meets other financial and non-financial criteria.

Example 3: Katrin entered the U.S. March 3, 1995 and gained qualified immigrant status
June 20, 1995. She is applying for BadgerCare Plus in February 2008. She is a qualified
immigrant who entered the U.S. prior to August 22, 1996. There is no need to apply the five-
year ban. She is eligible for BadgerCare Plus provided she meets other financial and non-
financial criteria.

Example 4 : Juan entered the U.S. as an undocumented alien on April 1, 1996. He applied
for BadgerCare Plus on February 1, 2008. His immigration status changed to lawful
permanent resident on March 3, 2005. He has signed a self declaration stating he remained
continuously present in the U.S. between April 1, 1996 and March 3, 2005. Additionally Juan
provided a copy of a lease showing a date prior to August 1996. He is eligible for
BadgerCare Plus provided he meets other financial and non-financial criteria.

Example 5: Elena entered U.S. on July 15, 1999 on a temporary work visa and obtained
qualified immigration status on October 31, 2004. She applied for BadgerCare Plus February
1, 2008 and has been in the U.S. now for over five years. Elena is not in one of the immigrant
categories exempt from the five year ban. Therefore, the five-year ban would have to be
applied in this case since Elena's original entry date is after August 22, 1996. The five-year
clock starts from the date she obtained qualified immigration status. Therefore she will be
able to apply for BadgerCare Plus after October 31, 2009.

Example 6: Tomas entered the U.S. on April 8,1996 on a visitor’s visa. He obtained
qualified alien status on September 22, 2003. Tomas applied for MA on May 5, 2008. The
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IM worker completed primary verification and USCIS responded with the date of entry as
September 22, 2003 since that was the last updated date on his status. The IM worker needs
to confirm with the applicant that this is the original date he arrived in the U.S. Tomas
explained that he arrived in 1996; therefore, the IM worker needs to conduct secondary
verification. USCIS responds and confirms that the original date of arrival was April 8, 1996.
Additionally the IM worker needs to confirm that the applicant was continuously present
between April 8, 1996 and September 22, 2003. Tomas signs a self-declaration confirming
this and is found eligible. Had the IM worker used September 22, 2003 as the date of entry in
CARES, Tomas would have been incorrectly subject to the five-year ban and not eligible until
September 22, 2008.

4.3.4 Immigration Status Chart

CARES | Immigration Arrived | Veteran* | Arrived | Veteran* | Children
TCTZ Status Before Arrived on or Arrived under
Code 08/22/96 | before after on or age 19
8-22-96 8-22-96 | after 8- and
22-96 pregnant
women;
Arrived
on or
after
08/22/96
01 Lawfully Eligible Eligible Ineligible | Eligible Effective
admitted for for 5 10/01/09
permanent years Eligible
residence
02 Permanent Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible
resident
under color of
law
(PRUCOL)
03 Lawfully present | Eligible Eligible Ineligible | Eligible Effective
under for 5 10/01/09
Section years Eligible
203(a)(7)
04 Lawfully present | Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
under
Section 208
05 Lawfully present | Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
under
Section 208
06 Lawfully present | Eligible Eligible Ineligible | Eligible Effective
under for 5 10/01/09
Section 212(d)(5 years Eligible
07 IRCA (No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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longer valid)

08 Lawfully Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible
admitted -
temporary

09 Undocumented | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible
Alien

10 lllegal Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible
Immigrant

11 Cuban/Haitian | Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
Entrant

12 Considered a Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Eligible
Permanent
Resident by
USCIS

13 Special Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Eligible
agricultural
worker under
Section
210(A)

14 Additional Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Eligible
special
agricultural
worker
under Section
210(A)

15 Withheld Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
deportation -
Section 243(h)

16 Battered Eligible Eligible Ineligible | Eligible Effective
Immigrant for 5 10/01/09
years Eligible

17 Amerasian Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

18 Foreign Born Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
Native American

19 Victims of Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible
Trafficking

20 Lawfully Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Ineligible | Eligible
Residing

* "Veteran™ includes certain veterans and active duty servicemen and women, their spouses,
dependent children, or certain surviving spouses.

4.3.5 Iragis & Afghans With Special Immigrant Status

Beginning December 19, 2009, Special Immigrants from Iraq or Afghanistan (Class of
Admission Codes SI-1, 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8) are to be treated like they are refugees when determining
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their eligibility for BC+ for as long as they have this Special Immigration status. This policy
applies to these immigrants regardless of when they received this status.

Class of Admission Description CARES Alien

code Registration Status
Code

Si1 Nationals of Iraq or Code 04

Afghanistan serving as
interpreters with the U.S.
Armed Forces

SI2 Spouses of an SI1 Code 04
SI3 Children of an SI1 Code 04
Sl6 Nationals of Iraq or Code 04

Afghanistan serving as
interpreters with the U.S.
Armed Forces

SI7 Spouses of an SI6 Code 04

SI8 Children of an SI6 Code 04

4.3.5.1 Counting Refugee Related Income

Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA) program payments are not counted as income for BC+. RCA is
administered by Wisconsin Works agencies and is made available for refugees who do not
qualify for Wisconsin Works.

Refugee "Reception and Placement” (R&P) payments are not counted as income for BC+. R &
P payments are made to refugees during the first 30 days after their arrival inthe U.S. R &P
payments are made by voluntary resettlement agencies and may be a direct payment to the
refugee individual/ family or to a vendor.

4.3.5.2 Refugee Medical Assistance

If an individual does not meet the other eligibility requirements for BC+, s/he may apply for
Refugee Medical Assistance (RMA), which is not funded by BC+. RMA is considered a
separate benefit from BC+ but provides the same level of benefits as these programs. RMA is
available only in the first eight months after a special immigrant’s date of entry. If it is not
applied for in that eight-month period, it cannot be applied for later. Iragi immigrants may be
eligible for RMA for eight months and Afghan immigrants may be eligible for RMA for six
months.

While W-2 agencies have contractual responsibility for providing RMA, they need to coordinate

with economic support agencies to ensure eligibility for all regular BC+ subprograms is tested
first.
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More information about this program is in the W-2 Manual Chapter 20

Note: The Federal Medicaid eligibility for all other refugees admitted under Alien
Status Code 04 remains the same.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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5 MEDICAL SUPPORT AND THIRD PARTY LIABILITY

5.1 MEDICAL SUPPORT

5.1.1 Recovery of Birth Costs
5.1.2 Referral to CSA

Medical Support refers to the obligation that a parent has to pay for his or her child’s medical
care, either through the provision of health insurance coverage or direct payment of medical
bills. The Child Support Agency (CSA) is responsible for establishing medical support orders
for some children receiving BC+ who have an absent parent. The CSA is also responsible for
establishing paternity and establishing medical support obligations for unpaid and ongoing
medical support (including recovery of birth costs.)

5.1.1 Recovery of Birth Costs

When the non marital father of the unborn child is not included in the BC+ group at the initial
eligibility determination he could be held responsible for repayment of birth costs.

5.1.2 Referral to CSA

The IM agency provides the CSA with information vital to opening medical support cases. The
IM agency also supplies continuing information, which assists the CSA in providing medical
support services. At confirmation, CARES automatically sends a referral to the CSA for all BC+
applications and person adds that include minors, unless the referral field on the Absent Parent
Page is answered ‘No’. The information on the Absent Parent Page must be filled out
completely and accurately.

Note: A Referral to Child Support Form (DWSW 3080) only needs to be completed when the
absent parent page cannot be completed in CWW .
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Note: While IM agencies are to continue referring the following individuals who are receiving
BC+, the CSA’s will be determining on their own, which cases will be provided Child Support
Services. Not all BC+ members will qualify for free Child Support services and be required to
cooperate with CSA’s.

The following individuals (including minors) for whom BC+ is requested or being received,
must be referred to the local CSA unless an exception is noted:

1. Pregnant woman who is unmarried or married and not living with her husband.

Pregnant women are not required to cooperate with the CSA during the pregnancy
and for two months after the end of pregnancy. The woman's eligibility for BC+
will continue during this period, regardless of her cooperation.

Exception: Do not refer pregnant women receiving the BC+ Prenatal Benefit to
CSA.

2. Child receiving SSI only if the parent or caretaker relative requests child support
services for the child. Do not sanction this parent or caretaker relative if s/he
does not cooperate with the CSA.

3. Non Marital coparents when paternity has not been legally established. This
includes a non-marital co-parent even when:

a. A Statement of Paternity (IMM, Ch. I, Appendix 29g) has been completed,
b. Both parents are in the home.

Exception: Do not refer parents to the CSA when both parents are in the
home and the father's paternity has been legally established. (Paternity is
legally established by a court order or by a Voluntary Paternity
Acknowledgment Form signed on or after May 1, 1998 and filed with the
Wisconsin Vital Records office.)
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Note: If a father's name appears on a Wisconsin Birth Certificate for a child born
after 5/11/1998, it means paternity has been established.

4. Natural or adoptive parent(s) not living in the household.

Exception: Do not refer to the CSA when the only reason a parent or stepparent
is not in the home is because s/he is in the military.

5. Married natural parents in the home, but:
a. Child was born prior to their marriage, and

b. Paternity was not established by court action, or the birth not legitimized after
their marriage.

Do not refer the following individuals:
1. Former Foster Care Youths, unless the youth is also the parent of an eligible
child in the household.

2. Pregnant women eligible under the BC+ Prenatal Program.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

5.2 MEDICAL SUPPORT / CSA COOPERATION

5.2.1 Introduction
5.2.2 Failure to Cooperate

5.2.1 Introduction

Unless the person is exempt or has good cause for refusal to cooperate (see 5.3), each applicant
/member that is referred, must, as a condition of eligibility, cooperate in:
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1. Establishing the paternity of any child born out of wedlock for whom BC+ is
requested or received, and

2. Obtaining medical support for the applicant and for any child for whom BC+ is
requested or received.

Cooperation includes any relevant and necessary action to achieve the above. As a part of
cooperation, the applicant may be required to:

1. Provide verbal or written information known to, possessed by, or reasonably
obtainable by the applicant.

2. Appear as a witness at judicial or other hearings or proceedings.
3. Provide information, or attest to the lack of information, under penalty of perjury.

4. Pay to the CSA any court ordered medical support payments received directly
from the absent parent after support has been assigned.

5. Attend office appointments as well as hearings and scheduled genetic tests.

Note: The applicant or member is only required to cooperate if the child under their care is
eligible for benefits funded under Title 19 or is eligible for the Medicaid expansion category of
the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). If the child’s BC+ benefit is funded through
any other source such as Title 21 Separate CHIP or GPR (i.e., state funds) the caretaker relative
is not required to cooperate and can not be sanctioned for non cooperation. Check the Medical
Status codes (See 51.1) to determine funding source. The CSA will monitor the child’s BC+
funding source.

5.2.2 Failure to Cooperate

The CSA determines if there is non-cooperation for individuals required to cooperate. The IM
agency determines if good cause exists (see 5.3). If there is a dispute, the CSA makes the final
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determination of cooperation. The member remains ineligible until s/he cooperates, establishes
good cause, or cooperation is no longer required.

The following individuals are not sanctioned for non cooperation:

1. Pregnant women,
2. Minors, and

3. Parents or caretaker relatives while the family is in a BC+ Extension.

For a pregnant woman, failure to cooperate cannot be determined prior to the end of the month in
which the 60th day after the termination of pregnancy occurs.

Note: If the local CS agency determines that a parent is not cooperating because court ordered
birth costs are not paid, the parent or caretaker is not sanctioned.

Example: Mary, a disabled parent, is applying for BC+ for her and her son, Michael. She
refuses to cooperate in obtaining medical support for Michael. Mary meets all other non-
financial and financial criteria for BC+ and EBD MA.

Mary is not eligible for EBD MA or BC+, because she will not cooperate in obtaining
medical support for Michael. Even though Mary has not cooperated in obtaining medical
support for Michael, he remains eligible for BC+.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
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5.3 CLAIMING GOOD CAUSE

5.3.1 Claiming Good Cause Introduction
5.3.2 Notice

5.3.3 Good Cause Claim

5.3.4 Circumstances

5.3.5 Evidence

5.3.6 Investigation
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5.3.7 Determination

5.3.8 Good Cause Found
5.3.9 Good Cause Not Found
5.3.10 Review

5.3.1 Claiming Good Cause Introduction

Any parent or other caretaker relative who is required to cooperate in establishing
paternity and obtaining medical support may claim good cause . S/he must:

1. Specify the circumstance that is the basis for good cause , and

2. Corroborate the circumstance according to the evidence requirements in 5.3.5.

5.3.2 Notice

The IM agency must provide a Good Cause Notice (DWSP 2018) to all applicants and
to members whenever a child is added to the BC+ case. The notice describes the right
to refuse to cooperate for good cause in establishing paternity and securing medical
support.

The IM worker and the parent or caretaker must sign and date the notice. File the
original in the case record and give the applicant /member a copy. The CSA refers
anyone who wants to claim good cause back to the IM Agency for a determination of
whether or not good cause exists.

5.3.3 Good Clause Claim
The Good Cause Claim form (DWSP 2019) must be provided to any BC+ parent or
caretaker who requests one. It describes the circumstances that support a claim and

how to document a claim.

The parent or caretaker must sign and date the claim in the presence of an IM worker or
a notary public. The applicant/member’s signature initiates the claim.

The original copy is filed in the case record, a copy is given to the parent or caretaker
and a copy is attached to the referral document when a claim is made at application .

A copy of claims must be sent to the CSA within two days after a claim is signed. When
the CSA is informed of a claim, they will immediately suspend all activities to establish
paternity or secure medical support until notified of your final determination.

5.3.4 Circumstances
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The IM agency must determine whether or not cooperation is against the best interests
of the child. Cooperation is waived only if:

1. The parent or caretaker’s cooperation is reasonably anticipated to result in
physical or emotional harm to the:

a. Child. This means that the child is so emotionally impaired, that his or her
normal functioning is substantially affected, or

b. Parent or Caretaker. This means the impairment is of such a nature or
degree that it reduces that person's capacity to adequately care for the
child, or

2. At least one of the following circumstances exists and it is reasonably anticipated
that proceeding to establish paternity or secure support or both would be
detrimental to the child:

a. The child was conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault, or

b. A petition for the child's adoption has been filed with a court, or

c. The parent or caretaker is being assisted by a public or private social

agency in deciding whether or not to terminate parental rights and this has
not gone on for more than three months.

5.3.5 Evidence

An initial good cause claim may be based only on evidence in existence at the time of
the claim. There is no limit to the age of the evidence. Once a final determination is
made, including any Fair Hearing decision, any subsequent claim must be based on
new evidence.

The following may be used as evidence:

1. Birth certificates or medical or law enforcement records that indicate that the
child may have been conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault.

2. Court documents or other records which indicate that a petition for the adoption
of the child has been filed with a court.

3. Court, medical, criminal, child protective services, social services, psychological
school, or law enforcement records which indicate that the alleged father or
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absent parent might inflict physical or emotional harm on the member or the
child.

Medical records which give the emotional health history and present emotional
health status of the member or the child.

A written statement from a mental health professional indicating a diagnosis of or
prognosis on the emotional health of the member or the child.

A written statement from a public or private social agency that the agency is
assisting the parent to decide whether or not to terminate parental rights.

A sworn statement from someone other than the member with knowledge of the
circumstance on which the claim is based.

Any other supporting or corroborative evidence.

When a claim is based on emotional harm to the child or the member, the IM agency
must consider the:

1.

2.

3.

Person's present emotional state, and

Person's emotional health history, and

Intensity and probable duration of the emotional impairment, and

Degree of cooperation required, and

Extent of the child's involvement in the paternity or the support enforcement
activity to be undertaken if the member submits only one piece of evidence or

inclusive evidence, you may refer him/her to a mental health professional for a
report relating to the claim.

When a claim is based on his/her undocumented statement that the child was
conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault, it should be reviewed as one based on
emotional harm.

The IM agency must conduct an investigation when a claim is based on anticipated
physical harm and no evidence is submitted.

The member has 20 days, from the date the claim is signed, to submit evidence. The
IM agency, with supervisory approval, may determine that more time is needed.

There must be at least one document of evidence, in addition to any sworn statements
from the member.
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The IM agency should encourage the provision of as many types of evidence as
possible and offer any assistance necessary in obtaining necessary evidence.

When insufficient evidence has been submitted:

1. The member must be notified and the specific evidence needed must be
requested.

2. The IM agency must advise that person on how to obtain the evidence, and

3. The IM agency must make a reasonable effort to obtain specific documents that
are not reasonably obtainable without assistance.

If the parent or caretaker continues to refuse to cooperate or the evidence is still
insufficient, a 10 day notice must be sent informing the parent or caretaker that if no
further action is taken within ten days from the notification date, good cause will not be
found and that s/he may first:

1. Withdraw the claim and cooperate, or

2. Exclude allowable individuals, or

3. Request a hearing, or

4. Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed.
If no option above has been taken when the ten days have expired the IM worker will
deny BC+ to the applicant or disenroll the member from BC+. The sanctions remain in
effect until there is cooperation or until it is no longer required.
5.3.6 Investigation
The IM agency must investigate all claims based on anticipated physical harm both
when the claim is credible without corroborative evidence and when such evidence is

not available.

Good cause must be granted when both the member's statement and the investigation
satisfies the worker that s/he has good cause.

Any claim must be investigated when the member's statement together with any
corroborative evidence does not provide a sufficient basis for a determination.

In the course of the investigation, neither the IM agency nor the CSA may contact the

absent parent or alleged father without first notifying the member of your intention.
Once notified the parent or caretaker has ten days from the notification date to:
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1. Present additional supporting or corroborative evidence of information so that
contact is unnecessary, or

2. Exclude allowable individuals, or
3. Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed, or
4. Request a hearing.
When the ten days have expired and no option has been taken the IM Agency will deny

BC+ to the applicant and the sanctions shall remain in effect until there is cooperation
or until it is no longer an issue.

5.3.7 Determination

The IM staff must determine whether or not there is good cause. This should be done
within 45 days from the date a claim is signed. The time may be extended if it is
documented in the case record that additional time is necessary because:

1. The IM agency cannot obtain the information needed to verify the claim within the
45 days, or

2. The parent or caretaker does not submit corroborative evidence within 20 days.

The good cause determination and all evidence submitted should be filed in the case
record along with a statement on how the determination was reached.

If there is no evidence or verifiable information available that suggests otherwise, it must
be concluded that an alleged refusal to cooperate was, in fact, a case of cooperation to
the fullest extent possible.

If the parent or caretaker is cooperating in furnishing evidence and information, do not
deny, delay, or discontinue BC+ pending the determination.

If a Fair Hearing is requested on a good cause determination, BC+ certification is
continued until the decision is made.

The 45-day period for determining good cause is not used to extend an eligibility
determination. The 30-day limit on processing an application is still a requirement.

The IM must notify the applicant/member in writing of the final determination and of the

right to a Fair Hearing. Send the CSA a copy. The CSA may also participate in any
Fair Hearing.
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5.3.8 Good Cause Found

When good cause is granted, the IM worker must direct the CSA to not initiate any or to
suspend all further case activities.

However, when the CSA's activities, without the member's participation are reasonably
anticipated to not result in physical or emotional harm, the IM agency must:

1. First notify the person of the determination and the proposed directive to the CSA
to proceed without his/her participation.

2. S/he has ten days from the notification date to:
a. Exclude allowable individuals, or
b. Request a hearing, or
c. Withdraw the application, or request that the case be closed.

3. Atthe end of the ten days, direct the CSA to proceed if no option was taken. The
CSA may decide to not proceed based on its own assessment.

The IM agency determination to proceed without the member's participation must be in
writing. Include your findings and the basis for the determination. File it in the case
record.

5.3.9 Good Cause Not Found

When good cause is not granted, the IM agency must notify the parent or caretaker. It
must be stated in the notice that s/he has ten days from the notification date to:

Cooperate, or

Exclude allowable individuals, or

Request a hearing, or

Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed.

PwbdPE

When the ten days have expired and if no option has been taken the IM agency must
deny BC+ to the applicant or terminate the member’'s BC+ eligibility, and the sanctions
remain in effect until there is cooperation or until it is no longer an issue.

5.3.10 Review
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The IM agency does not have to review determinations based on permanent
circumstances. Review good cause determinations that were based on circumstances
subject to change at re-determination and when there is new evidence.

The parent or caretaker must be notified when it is determined that good cause no
longer exists. It must be stated in the notice that s/he has ten days from the notification
date to:

Cooperate, or

Exclude allowable individuals, or
Request that the case be closed, or
Request a hearing.

PowbdPE

When the ten days have expired and if no option has been taken the IM agency must
deny the individual's BC+ eligibility, and the sanctions remain in effect until there is
cooperation or until it is no longer an issue.

This page last updated in Release Number: 08-01
Release Date: 01/11/08
Effective Date: 02/01/08

5.4 COOPERATION BETWEEN IM & CSA

5.4.1 Information

5.4.2 BC+ Discontinued
5.4.3 Failure to Cooperate
5.4.4 Fraud

The relationship between the IM agency and the CSA requires ongoing cooperation.
5.4.1 Information

The IM agency provides the CSA with information vital to opening medical support
cases. The IM agency also supplies continuing information, which assists them in
providing medical support services. Therefore, the CSA may request information from
the IM agency in addition to that included in the referral and as contained in the case
record.

CARES automatically shares information with KIDS so it is important to enter the data
accurately.

5.4.2 BC+ Discontinued
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The CSA is notified through CARES when BC+ is discontinued.

5.4.3 Failure to Cooperate

The CSA will determine if non-cooperation occurs. KIDS notifies CARES when an
individual refuses or fails to cooperate. The IM Agency must then review eligibility.

5.4.4 Fraud

When the CSA has knowledge of possible fraud, they will refer the case back to the IM
agency. For example, if in the process of collecting support, the CSA establishes that a
parent is in fact not absent, the CSA will give that information to the IM agency for
appropriate action (IMM, Ch. Ill, Public Assistance Fraud Program).

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

5.5 THIRD PARTY LIABILITY

5.5.1 TPL Cooperation

5.5.2 TPL Cooperation Requirements
5.5.3 TPL Good Cause Claim

5.5.4 Assignment Process

Third Party Liability (TPL) refers to the obligation that a third party (not Wisconsin BC+
program or the BC+ member), has to pay the bills for a BC+ member’s medical
services. BC+ is the payer of last resort for the cost of medical care. This means that if
a BC+ member also has coverage under a private health insurance plan, that plan is to
be billed first for any medical services. BC+ then pays any amount remaining after the
private insurer has paid what they owe, up to the BC+ reimbursement rate. Another
common example of third party liability is when someone receives an insurance
settlement resulting from an accident. If BC+ paid for any medical services resulting
from that accident, the BC+ program is to be reimbursed the cost of those medical
services from the proceeds of the insurance settlement. Third party payers include
health insurers, court ordered medical support and any other third party that has a legal
obligation to pay for medical services.

5.5.1 TPL Cooperation
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All BC+ members must assign to the State of Wisconsin their rights to payments for
medical services from third party payers. A member complies with this requirement by
signing the application form. The assignment includes all unpaid medical support and
all ongoing medical support obligations for as long as BC+ is received. In addition, BC+
members must cooperate in identifying and providing information to assist the State in
pursuing third parties who may be liable to pay for care and services, unless the
individual establishes good cause for not cooperating. If a member fails to cooperate
with TPL requirements s/he could be sanctioned.

5.5.2 TPL Cooperation Requirements

The BC+ member must cooperate in providing TPL information unless s/he is exempt or
there is good cause for refusing to cooperate. TPL information could include the name
and address of an insurance company, insurance policy number, and the name and
address of the policy owner.

If an adult refuses, without good cause, to provide health insurance information for
themselves, or anyone for whom they are legally responsible and is receiving BC+, the
adult is ineligible until s/he cooperates.

Do not sanction the following for non-cooperation:

1. Minors, including minor caretaker relatives.

2. A parent or caretaker relative requesting child support services for a child
receiving SSI.

3. Pregnant woman - She may not be sanctioned during the pregnancy, or for two
months after the pregnancy has ended, if the TPL source is the absent parent of
her child(ren).

5.5.3 TPL Good Cause Claim

When good cause is claimed (5.3), the IM agency must review the circumstances and
decide on whether it is an appropriate claim of good cause. The appropriate entry on
the Medical Coverage page in CWW regarding the good cause determination must be
made, and the reason for the decision must be documented in case comments.

TPL good cause reasons are the same as those for Medical Support.

5.5.4 Assignment Process

At application, the Income Maintenance Agency must give a Notice of Assignment
(DWSW-2477) to each applicant . If the applicant refuses to sign this form, the Income
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Maintenance Agency must complete the lower portion of the form and file it in the case
record. This must be done no later than at the time of the interview. The applicant must
be given a copy of the notice. Processing a BC+ application must not be delayed while
waiting for the form to be signed. The member should not be penalized for not signing
this form. The original copy must be filed in the case record.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

5.6 CASUALTY CLAIM PROCESS (SUBROGATION)

Casualty claims are those claims for BadgerCare Plus benefits resulting from an accident or
injury for which a third party may be liable.

Example 1: Mike receives treatment for injuries suffered when he was hit by a car. The
vehicle owner is the third party and may be responsible for reimbursing BadgerCare Plus for
those benefits. If Mike is working with an attorney or insurance agency to settle the claim, he
is legally obligated to give notification to the local agency .

BadgerCare Plus members should report any casualty claims before the case is settled. The
BadgerCare Plus ID number of the BadgerCare Plus member, date of the accident, and the
insurance company or name of the attorney to bill should be included with the referral.

5.6.1 Reporting Accident or Injury Claims

Members must report any cash award or settlement due to an accident or injury if BadgerCare
Plus paid for part or all of the care received as a result of the accident or injury. Members must

also report if s/he has hired an attorney or is working with an insurance agency to settle an
accident or injury claim.

1. If a member reports a claim and is:
a. getting Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
or

b. on the date of the accident or injury, lived in Clark, Douglas, Eau Claire,
Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Juneau, La Crosse, Lincoln, Marinette,
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Milwaukee, Rock, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vilas, Walworth, Waushara
or Winnebago County,

s/he must report the accident or injury case to the Casualty Recovery Unit at :

WI Casualty Recovery - HMS
5615 Highpoint Dr., Suite 100
Irving, TX 75038-9984

Telephone: (877)391-7471

Fax: (469)359-4319

e-mail: wicasualty@hms.com

Website: http://www.wicasualty.com/wi/index.htm

If the member is enrolled in an HMO or MCO they must also report the accident or
injury to that organization.

2. All other Medicaid members should report in person or phone their local agency
and any HMO or MCO that may have provided services, before the case is
settled. Members should include the date of the accident and any
insurance/attorney information.

This page last updated in Release Number: 11-03
Release Date: 11/29/11
Effective Date : 11/29/11

5.7 OTHER HEALTH INSURANCE

The IM Agency should collect insurance coverage information on both the custodial and
absent parents and caretakers at application , review, person add, or when insurance
changes and enter it into the Medical Coverage Page in CWW . The fiscal agent will
complete an insurance search and return verified insurance information through the
CWW / MMIS interface.

5.7.1 Policies Not to Report
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The following policies should not be entered on the Medical Coverage Page in CWW or
reported to the Fiscal Agency on the Health Insurance Information form (E-10115).

PwpNPE

HMOs for which the State pays all or part of the premium.

Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plans (HIRSP).

Medicare (enter in CWW on the Medicare Page ).

Indian Health Service (IHS ). IHS is the exception to the rule that MA is the
payer of last resort. For Native Americans who are MA clients, IHS is the payer
of last resort. Do not enter these policies on CARES .

5. Policies that pay benefits only for treatment of accidental injury.

©

Policies that may be described as health insurance, but which pay only weekly or
monthly based on the insured’s disability.

Limited insurance plans that pay only if there is a specific diagnosis, such as
cancer policy. Report them only if the person insured has been diagnosed as
having the disease s/he is insured against and if the benefits are assignable.

Life Insurance.

Other types of insurance types that do not cover medical services.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

6 SOCIAL SECURITY REQUIREMENTS

6.1 SSN REQUIREMENTS

BC + applicants must provide a Social Security Number ( SSN ) or be willing to apply for
one.

If the caretaker relative is unwilling to provide or apply for the SSN of a minor or 18-
year-old, the person who does not have the SSN is ineligible.

Do not require an SSN for:
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Continuously eligible newborns.

Pre-adoptive infants living in a foster home.

Non-qualifying immigrants receiving emergency services.

Someone without an SSN and may only be issued one for a valid non-work
reason.
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e. Someone who refuses to obtain an SSN because of well-established religious
objections*.
f. Tax dependents or tax filers living outside of the home.

“Well-established religious objections” means that the applicant/member:

1. Is a member of a recognized religious sect or division of the sect, and

2. Adheres to the tenets or teachings of the sect or division of the sect and for that
reason is conscientiously opposed to applying for or using a national
identification number.

A person who refuses to apply for or use a social security number due to religious
beliefs must provide verification from a church elder or other officiant that doing so is
against the church doctrine.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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7 HEALTH INSURANCE ACCESS AND COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS
View History

7.1 HEALTH INSURANCE CONDITIONS OF ELIGIBILITY

7.1.1 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility for under Non-MAGI Rules
7.7.2 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility Under MAGI Rules

7.1.1 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility under Non-MAGI rules

To prevent the crowd out of private insurance, BadgerCare Plus (BC+) benefits may be
denied or terminated for individuals who have eligibility determined under non-MAGI
rules and have access to certain employer sponsored health insurance policies when
those individuals:

1. Are adult parents and caretaker relatives with household income above 133% of
the FPL (through March 31, 2014).

2. Are infants under age 1 with household incomes over 300% of the FPL, children
ages 1 through 5 with household incomes over 185% of the FPL and children
ages 6 through 18 with household incomes over 150% of the FPL,
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3. Are pregnant women eligible under the BC+ Prenatal Program at any income
level,

4. Are not in an exempt category (see list below) and,

5. Do not have a good cause reason for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored
health insurance plan.

Individuals exempt from the policies related to health insurance access and coverage
are:

=

Continuously Eligible Newborns,

2. Children under age 19 who have met a deductible (exempt only during the
deductible period),

Infants less than 1 year old with household income at or below 300% of the FPL,
Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6) with household income at or below 185%
of the FPL,

Children ages 6 to 18 with household income at or below 150% of the FPL,
Former Foster Care Youth (FFCY),

Pregnant women, other than those in the BC+ Prenatal Program,

Parents and caretakers who are blind or disabled (including MAPP Disabled), as
determined by the DDB, or through the Presumptive Disability process (MEH
5.9), and

9. Parents, caretaker relatives, and children who are in an Extension.

how
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BC+ Prenatal Program members are subject to different policies related to health
insurance coverage. Refer to (7.4.1) (7.5) for the policies regarding the rules for current
coverage and dropping coverage under the BC+ Prenatal Program.

Access to health insurance includes:

Past Access. (7.2)
Current Access. (7.3)
Coverage. (7.4)
Dropped Coverage. (7.5)

PwpNPE

IM workers are not responsible for determining current or past access to health
insurance. The process will be done through the EVHI database. See 9.9.6.1.

7.1.2 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility under MAGI rules
To prevent the crowd out of private insurance, BC+ benefits may be denied or

terminated for individuals who have eligibility determined under MAGI rules and have
access to certain employer sponsored health insurance policies when those individuals:

1. Are children ages 1 through 5 with household incomes over 191% of the FPL and
children ages 6 through 18 with household incomes over 156% of the FPL,
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Are pregnant women eligible under the BC+ Prenatal Program at any income
level,

Are not in an exempt category (see list below) and,

Do not have a good cause reason for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored
health insurance plan.

Individuals exempt from the policies related to health insurance access and coverage

are:

=

how

© N O

9

Continuously Eligible Newborns,

Children under age 19 who have met a deductible (exempt only during the
deductible period),

Infants less than 1 year old with household income at or below 306% of the FPL,
Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6) with household income at or below 191%
of the FPL,

Children ages 6 to 18 with household income at or below 156% of the FPL,
Former Foster Care Youth,

Pregnant women, other than those in the BC+ Prenatal Program,

Parents and caretaker relatives, including those who are blind or disabled
(including MAPP Disabled), as determined by the DDB, or through the
Presumptive Disability process (MEH 5.9),

Childless adults, and

10.Parents, caretaker relatives, and children who are in an Extension.

BC+ Prenatal Program members are subject to different policies related to health
insurance coverage. Refer to (7.4.1) (7.5) for the policies regarding the rules for current
coverage and dropping coverage under the BC+ Prenatal Program.

Access to health insurance includes:

1.
2.
3.
4.

Past Access. (7.2)
Current Access. (7.3)
Coverage. (7.4)
Dropped Coverage. (7.5)

IM workers are not responsible for determining current or past access to health
insurance. The process will be done through the EVHI database. See 9.9.6.1.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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7.2 PAST ACCESS TO HEALTH INSURANCE
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7.2.1 Introduction
7.2.1.1 The 80% Past Access Test
7.2.1.2 The 9.5% Past Access Test
7.2.2 Good Cause for "Past Access Test" under Non-MAGI Rules
7.2.3 Good Cause for "Past Access Test" under MAGI Rules
Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Past Access policies in effect:

e The 80% Past Access Test.
e The 9.5% Past Access Test.

The 80% Past Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The 9.5%
test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014. After April 1, 2014,
parents and caretakers are no longer subject to a Past Access Test.

7.2.1.1 The 80 % Past Access Test

Children and any BC+ Prenatal Program members who had access to health
insurance, including access due to a qualifying event, in the twelve months prior to the
application or renewal date are not eligible for BC+ benefits if the access was through
the current employer of an adult family member who is currently living in the household
and,

1. The access was to a HIPAA health insurance plan through a current employer for
which the employer paid at least 80% of the premium, or through the State of
Wisconsin’s health care plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount
contributed by the employer); and

2. The applicant is a child under age 19 and child is not exempt; and

3. There is no good cause reason for not signing up for the coverage.

The child or BC+ Prenatal Program member is ineligible for BC+ for twelve calendar
months from the date the health insurance would have begun.

Example 1: Marilyn applied for BC+ in April 2014 for herself and her children, ages 10
and 8; they have family income that exceeds 156% of the FPL. She could have enrolled
in a family health insurance plan through her current employer in October 2013, and
her employer pays 80% of the premium for that plan. Marilyn didn’t sign up because
she felt the premiums, co-payments and deductibles would be unaffordable. If she had
signed up, coverage would have begun in December 2013.

Since Marilyn did not sign up for employer-provided coverage within the last twelve
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months when it was available, and she does not have good cause. Her children are
ineligible for BC + through November 2014, 12 months from the date the coverage
would have begun, unless they become exempt during that time. Marilyn is not eligible
because her income is over the 100% FPL limit for the parent and caretaker coverage

group.
7.2.1.2 The 9.5% Past Access Test
Note: The 9.5% Past Access Test will no longer be effective beginning April 1, 2014.

Non-exempt parents and caretakers over age 18 with household incomes over 133% of
the FPL who had access to health insurance, including access due to a qualifying
event, in the twelve months prior to the application or renewal date, are not eligible for
BC+ benefits if the access was through the current employer of an adult family member
who is currently living in the household and,

e The individual could have enrolled in the employer’s plan under the current
coverage period at any time in the past 12 months prior to the application or
renewal date,

e The cost of coverage for an employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of the
monthly household income, and

e There is no good cause reason for not signing up for the coverage.

When an employed parent or caretaker has been determined to have had past access,
the individual’s spouse will also be considered to have past access if the employer
offers a plan that would provide coverage to the spouse, such as employee + spouse or
employee + family coverage.

Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with household income
above 150% of the FPL will not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits if they had past
access to a State Employee’s health care plan, regardless of the amount of the
premium. Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretakers with access to state
employee health insurance, who have household income between 133% and 150%
FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if the employee-only premiums are not
more than 9.5% of household income.

Example 2: Joe and his wife, Mary, apply for BadgerCare Plus for themselves and their
3 children on July 2, 2012. Their income is 145% of the FPL. Joe works for ABC
Company. ABC Company offers an employee-only plan as well as a family plan. Joe’s
cost for the employee-only plan is less than 9.5% of the household’s countable income.
The last open enrollment period to sign up for the employer sponsored insurance was
October 1, 2011 through October 31, 2011. The plan coverage period is January 1,
2012 through December 31, 2012.
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Since Joe could have enrolled in the past 12 months and could have had coverage
under the current coverage period, and the premiums would have been less than 9.5%
of the family’s income, he is ineligible. Since the employer offers a family plan that
would cover Mary, she is also ineligible. Children under age 19 are not subject to the
9.5% access tests so the children’s eligibility is not affected.

7.2.2 Good Cause for 80% and 9.5% "Past Access Test" under Non-MAGI Rules

Good cause reasons for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored health insurance plan in the 12
months prior to application or renewal are:

1. Discontinuation of health insurance benefits by the employer;
2. During the time period when the employee failed to enroll in the health insurance
coverage, one or more members of the individual’'s family was covered through:

a. A private health insurance policy; or
b. Medicaid, or BC+;

And no one in the Test Group at that time was eligible for:

BadgerCare,

BC+ with a household income above 150% of the FPL,

If the failure to enroll occurred on or after July 1, 2012, BC+ with
household income above 133% of the FPL,

BC+ Extension, or

BC+ as a Pregnant Woman (not including the BC+ Prenatal Program).

3. The employment ended, or
4, Any other reason determined by DHS as a good cause reason. Local agencies
must contact the DHS CARES Call Center for approval before granting good cause for
any reason not stated above.

Example 3: Olivia applied for BC+ in January 2012 for herself and her children. Although it
was determined that she had access to employer sponsored health insurance in August of
2011 (past access), she has a good cause exemption because she and her children were
enrolled in BadgerCare Plus from July 2011 through November 2011 and the family income
at that time was only 120% of the FPL.

7.2.3 Good Cause for the 80% "Past Access Test" Under MAGI Rules
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Good cause reasons for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored health insurance
plan in the 12 months prior to application or renewal are:
1. Discontinuation of health insurance benefits by the employer;
2. During the time period when the employee failed to enroll in the health insurance
coverage, one or more members of the individual's family was covered through:

a. A private health insurance policy; or
b. Medicaid, or BC+;

And no one in the Test Group at that time was eligible for:

e BC+ with an assistance group income above 156% of the FPL,
« BC+ Extension, or
« BC+ as a Pregnant Woman (not including the BC+ Prenatal Program).

3. The employment through which the child is insured ended, or
4, Any other reason determined by DHS as a good cause reason. Local agencies
must contact the DHS CARES Call Center for approval before granting good cause for
any reason not stated above.
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7.3 CURRENT ACCESS TO HEALTH INSURANCE

7.3.1 Introduction
7.3.2 The 80% Current Access Test
7.3.3.The 9.5% Current Access Test

7.3.1 Introduction

Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Current Access policies in effect:
e The 80% Current Access Test.
e The 9.5% Current Access Test.

The 80% Current Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The
9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014.

7.3.2 The 80% Current Access Test
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Children and BC+ Prenatal Program members with access to health insurance,
including access due to a qualifying event, through an employed family member who is
currently living in the household are not eligible for BC+ benefits if:

1. The access is to a HIPAA health insurance plan through a current employer for
which the employer pays at least 80% of the premium or the State of Wisconsin’s
health care plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by
state or local government); and
The applicant/member is a child under age 19 and the child is not exempt; and
The coverage would begin within three calendar months following:

a. The BC+ application filing date; or

b. Annual review month; or

c. Employment start date

w N

The child or BC+ Prenatal Program member who could have been covered by the
health insurance plan are ineligible for BC+ benefits. Children under 19 years of age
can become eligible by meeting a deductible. (See Ch. 17)

There are no good cause reasons for not enrolling in a health insurance plan when an
individual has current access.

Example 1: Janelle applies for BC+ in January for herself and her child. She can enroll in a
health insurance plan through her employer in March and her employer pays 80% of the
premium. However, since coverage would not begin until May, Janelle does not have "current
access” so her child is eligible for BC + until the next eligibility renewal (assuming there are no
other changes that resulted in ineligibility). If Janelle’s circumstances remain unchanged, her
child will be disenrolled at his/her next review because she had "past access”. Janelle is not
eligible because her income is over the limit for the parent and caretaker coverage group.

Example 2: Bill applies for BC+ in January for himself and his family. He can enroll in
family health insurance through his employer and the employer pays 80% of the
premium. Coverage would start in April. Bill chooses not to sign up because he thinks
he will be eligible for BC+. His children are not eligible for BC+ because Bill can sign up
in this month and coverage would begin within the next three calendar months. Bill is
not eligible because his income is over the limit for the parent and caretaker coverage group.

7.3.3.The 9.5 % Current Access Test
The 9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014.
For parents and caretakers who are not exempt (See 7.1), an individual with current

access to employer sponsored health insurance is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus. An
individual has current access to employer sponsored insurance if:
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« the individual could enroll in and be covered under the plan in the month for
which eligibility is being determined, and

« the cost of coverage for the employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of the
monthly household income.

When an employed parent or caretaker has been determined to have current access,
the individual's spouse will also be considered to have current access if the employer
offers a plan that provides coverage to the spouse, such as employee + spouse or
employee + family coverage.

Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with household income
above 150% of the FPL will not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits if they have
current access or will have access in the next three months to a State Employee’s
health care plan, regardless of the amount of the premium. Non-pregnant, non-disabled
parents and caretaker relatives with access to state employee health insurance, who
have income between 133% and 150% FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if
the employee-only premiums are not more than 9.5% of household income.

There are no good cause reasons for not enrolling in a health insurance plan when an
individual has current access.
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7.4 CURRENT HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE

7.4.1 Introduction

7.4.2 The 80% Coverage Test

7.4.3 The 9.5% Current Coverage Test

7.4.4 Current Coverage for BC+ Prenatal Program

7.4.1 Introduction
Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Current Coverage policies in effect:

e« The 80% Current Coverage Test.
e The 9.5% Current Coverage Test.
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The 80% Current Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The
9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014.

7.4.2 The 80% Coverage Test

Certain children who currently have individual or family health insurance coverage
through an employed family member currently living in the household AND who meets
the following criteria are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus:

1. The child is not exempt from access and coverage policies (See 7.1); and

2. Coverage is provided by an employer; and the employer pays at least 80% of the
premium or

3. Coverage is available under the State of Wisconsin employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government).

Example 1: Dave applies for BC+ in March for himself and his family. They have income that
exceeds 150% of the federal poverty level. He is currently covered by family health insurance
through his employer and the employer pays 80% of the premium. His children are not eligible
for BC+ because they are currently covered. Dave is not eligible because his income is over the
income limit for the parent and caretaker coverage group.

Children under 19 years of age who are ineligible due to current coverage can become
eligible by meeting a deductible. (See Chapter 17)

7.4.3 The 9.5% Current Coverage Test
Note: This policy will only be effective until March 31, 2014.

For parents and caretakers who are not exempt (See 7.1), an individual with current
coverage to employer sponsored health insurance is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus.

An individual has current coverage to employer sponsored insurance if:
e The individual is covered under the plan in the month for which eligibility is being
determined, and
e The cost of coverage for the employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of the
monthly household income,
or
e Household income is above 150% of the FPL and the coverage is under a State
Employee’s health care plan, regardless of the amount of the premium.

Note: Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with state employee
health insurance coverage, who have household income between 133% and 150%
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FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if the employee-only premiums are not
more than 9.5% of household income.

7.4.4 Current Coverage for BC+ Prenatal Program

Pregnant women who are otherwise eligible only for the BC+ Prenatal Program because
of their inmate or immigration status are not eligible for the BC+ Prenatal program if
they are covered by any HIPAA health insurance policy. The plan does not have to be
employer sponsored.
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7.5 DROPPED HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE

7.5.1 Introduction

7.5.2 The 80% Dropped Coverage Test

7.5.3 The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test

7.5.4 Dropped coverage policy for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program

7.5.1 Introduction

Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Dropped Health Insurance Coverage policies in
effect:

e The 80% Dropped Coverage Test.
e« The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test.

The 80% Dropped Coverage policies will continue to apply to non-exempt children (See
7.1). The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test applies to non-pregnant, non-disabled adult
parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014.

7.5.2 The 80% Dropped Coverage Test
Children are ineligible for BadgerCare Plus (BC+) benefits for three calendar months

following the month in which coverage through an employer-provided health insurance
plan, which meets the standards of a HIPAA standard plan, ended if:
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1. The employer paid 80% or more of the premium or the insurance was part of the
Wisconsin state employees’ health insurance plan; and,

2. The applicant/member is child under age 19 and the child is not exempt; and

3. The individual did not have good cause for dropping the coverage (See 7.6).
Example 1: Joanne is employed and has access to employer sponsored health
insurance in which the employer pays 80% of the premium. The children are not
exempt from the health insurance access and coverage tests. In May 2013, she
dropped their family health insurance coverage through her employer. In June, Joanne
applies for BC+ for herself and her family. Because Joanne dropped her health
insurance in which the employer pays at least 80% of the family plan premium, her
children are not eligible for BC+ for 3 months after the coverage ended.

Example 2: Joanne was employed and had family coverage under employer
sponsored health insurance in which the employer paid 80% of the premium. The
children are not exempt from the health insurance access and coverage tests. In May
2013, Joanne voluntarily quit her job. In June, Joanne applies for BC+ for herself and
her family. Because Joanne had health insurance coverage in which the employer paid
at least 80% of the family plan premium, and she voluntarily quit her job, her children
are not eligible for BC+ in June, July and August because Joanne dropped coverage.
The family's past access to employer sponsored insurance is not affecting eligibility
because the loss of employment is a good cause reason for access.

7.5.3 The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test
Note: The 9.5% Dropped Coverage Test will no longer be in effect beginning April 1.

Parents and caretakers are ineligible for BadgerCare Plus (BC+) benefits for three
calendar months following the month in which coverage through an employer-
sponsored health insurance plan, which meets the standards of a HIPAA standard
plan, ended if:

1. The cost of premiums for the health plan was less than 9.5% of their countable
household income, or if the individual was covered by a Wisconsin state
employee’s health insurance plan, regardless of the cost of the premiums, and
their income is at least 150 % of the FPL, and

2. The person is not exempt from access and coverage policies (See 7.1), and

3. The individual did not have good cause for dropping the coverage (See 7.6).

Note: Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with state
employee health insurance coverage, who have household income between 133%

and 150% FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if the employee-only
premiums were not more than 9.5% of household income.

Example 1: Joanne is employed and has access to employer-sponsored health insurance through

96



Non-Financial Requirements (Chapters 2-15)

which her premiums are less than 9.5% of her income for her health insurance. Joanne’s family
income is 160% of the federal poverty level. In July, Joanne voluntarily quit her job. In
August, Joanne applies for BC+. Since Joanne had health insurance coverage that met the
access requirements for herself and she voluntarily quit her job, Joanne is not eligible for BC+ in
August, September and October.

7.5.4 Dropped Coverage Policy for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program

If a pregnant woman applying for the BC+ Prenatal Program has dropped insurance
coverage she is ineligible for three calendar months following the month the insurance
coverage ended, unless she has good cause for dropping the insurance.

The "dropped coverage” policy applies, regardless of the amount of the person or
employer’s share of the premium:

If the coverage is under a major medical health insurance plan which meets the
standards of a HIPAA standard plan. The insurance plan:

e Can be individual or family coverage,

e Does not have to be employer based, and

e Is not BadgerCare, BadgerCare Plus, Medicaid, Medicare Managed Care
(aka Medicare Choice Plus), Medicare, Medicare Supplemental policies,
HIRSP, General Relief, General Assistance, or Family Health Plan
(Marshfield clinics).
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7.6 GOOD CAUSE REASONS FOR DROPPING INSURANCE
COVERAGE

Any of the following reasons are considered " good cause ” for dropping insurance
coverage:

1. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided through his
or her employer, and the employment ended for a reason other than voluntary
termination, unless the voluntary termination was a result of the incapacitation of
the individual or because of an immediate family member’s health condition.
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2. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided through his
or her employer, but the individual changed employers and the new employer
does not offer health insurance coverage.

3. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided through his
or her employer, and the individual’s employer discontinued health plan coverage
for all employees.

4. The individual's coverage terminated due to the death or change in marital status
of the policy holder.

5. For BC+ Prenatal Program applicants or members only::

a.

Her coverage was COBRA continuation coverage and the coverage was
exhausted in accordance with federal regulations concerning COBRA.
The insurance does not pay for pregnancy-related services.

The insurance is owned by someone not residing with the pregnant
woman and continuation of the coverage is beyond her control.

The insurance only covers services provided in a service area that is
beyond a reasonable driving distance.

6. Any other reason determined by the department to be a good cause reason.

Example: Joanne applies for BC+ in June for herself and her family after being fired
from her job. Although it was determined that she had "dropped coverage”, she has
a good cause exemption because her employment was involuntarily terminated.

When good cause for dropping insurance coverage is approved, begin BC+ eligibility
the day after the last day of the insurance coverage or the application date, whichever is
later if the applicant applies prior to losing insurance. If the applicant applies after losing
insurance, coverage can begin on the day after the last day of insurance if they apply in
the same month insurance is lost.
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7.7 HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENT (HIPP)

7.7.1 Introduction
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7.7.2 Cost Effectiveness
7.7.3 Participation in HIPP
7.7.4 Cooperation

7.7.1 Introduction

Wisconsin’s Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program helps BC+ families
pay the employee contribution of their employer sponsored insurance. The HIPP
program pays the family’s share of the monthly premium, co-insurance, and deductibles
associated with the family health plan along with any BadgerCare covered services not
included in the family health plan through fee-for-service (wrap around).

HIPP will be considered for BadgerCare Plus members when it is cost effective to do
so.

In addition to families with employer sponsored health insurance plans, the following
BC+ families may also be considered for HIPP:

« Farm and other self-employed families
e Members with Self-funded insurance plans

Access to HIPP coverage will be allowed even if single or "plus one" coverage is the
only coverage offered by an employer.

Minimum employer contribution requirements will be eliminated and employer-
sponsored insurance (ESI) will be based solely on cost effectiveness.

7.7.2 Cost Effectiveness

The HIPP Unit of the fiscal agent determines if it is cost effective to buy the employer’s
insurance rather than enroll the individual in BC+.

The HIPP Unit will identify the cost of wrapping around the Medicaid services with the
employer-sponsored plan and then determine cost effectiveness of buy-in on that
calculation of cost comparability.

This determination will be done on a per person basis. Thus, in any given BC+ group, it
may be cost effective to enroll all BC+ members or only specific members. For example:
it may be cost effective to enroll an adult in HIPP but to keep the children in BC+.

7.7.3 Participation in HIPP

Members participating in HIPP are enrolled in BC+ as a secondary insurance. If the

employer’s health insurance does not cover a service that BC+ covers, BC+ will cover
the cost.
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7.7.4 Cooperation
To remain eligible for BC+, the adult whose employer can provide insurance must:

1. Cooperate in providing information necessary to assess cost-effectiveness, and
2. Agree to enroll and actually enroll in the employer’s health care plan if the plan is
determined to be cost-effective.

Parents may no longer be sanctioned for failing to cooperate with the HIPP program.
This policy applies to both current members and new applicants.
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View History
7.8 ACCESS/COVERAGE OVERVIEW

7.8.1 Access/Coverage Overview prior to January 1, 2014
7.8.2 Access/Coverage Overview for new applicants on or after February 1, 2014
7.8.3 BC+ Prenatal Program Access/Coverage Overview

These overviews are intended to be a guide to help determine whether a BC+
member or applicant is subject to the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

7.8.1 Access/Coverage Overview Prior to January 31, 2014

To determine whether an individual passes BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements through December 31, 2013, answer the following questions for each
individual within a BC+ group.

1. Is the applicant /member pregnant, disabled, a continuously eligible newborn or
youth exiting out of home care?
« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.
e If no, continue to question #2.

2. Is the member a child under age 19 and is currently eligible for BC+, because a
child's 150% deductible was met?
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« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements during the deductible period.
e If no, continue to question #3.

3. Is the member in a BadgerCare Plus Extension?

« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.
e If no, continue to question #4.

4. Is the applicant/member either:

a. An infant under age 1 with household income at or below
300% FPL,
b. A child age 1 through 5 with household income at or below
185% FPL, or
C. A child age 6 through 18 with household income at or below
150% FPL?

« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage

requirements.
e If no, continue to question #5.

5. Is this member a child under age 19?

o If yes, continue to question #6.
e If no, continue to question #20.

6. Does the applicant/member have access to health insurance, including access
due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current employer of
an adult member of the BC+ test group?

o If yes, continue to question #7.
e If no, continue to question #10.

7. Does the employer pay 80% or more of the premium?

e If yes, continue to question #11.
o If no, continue to question # 10.

8. Is the employer provided insurance the W1 State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

101



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

e If yes, continue to question #9.
e If no, continue to question #10.

9. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months following:

a. The month of BC+ application filing date; or
b. The annual review month; or
C. The employment start date?

« If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BC+ benefits.
e If no, continue to question #10.

10.Did the applicant/member have access to employer provided health insurance,
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the
current employer of an adult in the BC+ test group, in the twelve months prior to
the application or review date?

e If yes, continue to question #11.
e If no, continue to question #14.

11.Would the employer have paid 80% or more of the premium (at any time in the
last 12 months)?

e If yes, continue to question #13.
e If no, continue to question #12.

12.Would the employer provided insurance be under the WI State employee health
plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

e If yes, continue to question #13.
e If no, continue to question #14.

13.Did the applicant/member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an employer
sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the application (See
7.2.1)?

o If yes, continue to question #14.

« If no, the applicant is ineligible for BC+ for 12 months from the date the
coverage would have begun, unless s/he becomes exempt from health
insurance/access coverage requirements during that time.
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14.  Did the applicant/member lose employer provided health insurance coverage
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BC+ test group member in the
three calendar months prior to the application?
o If yes, continue to question #15.
« If no, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance/access coverage
requirements.

15.Did the employer pay 80% or more of the premium?

o If yes, continue to question #17.
e If no, continue to question #16.

16.Was the employer provided insurance part of the W1 State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

o If yes, continue to question #17.
« If no, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

17.Did the applicant/member have "good cause" for dropping the health insurance
(See 7.6)?

« If yes, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

e If no, the applicant/member is ineligible for BC+ for three calendar months
following the month in which the insurance coverage ended.

18.1s this member's income greater than 133% of the FPL?
« If yes, continue to question #19.

« If no, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.

19.Does the applicant/member have access to health insurance, including access
due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current employer of
an adult member of the BC+ test group?

e If yes, continue to guestion #20.
e If no, continue to question #24.
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20.1s the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer
more than 9.5% of the household income in the month for which you are
determining eligibility?

o If yes, continue to question #21.
e If no, continue to question #23.

21.1s the employer provided insurance the WI State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government) and is household income over 150% of the FPL?

o If yes, continue to question #22.
e If no, continue to question #24.

22.Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months following:

a. The month of BC+ application filing date; or
b. The annual review month; or
c. The employment start date?
« If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BC+ benefits.
e If no, continue to question #24.

23.Would the coverage begin in any of the months for which you are determining
eligibility and are those months immediately following:

a. The BC+ application filing date; or
b. The annual review; or
C. The employment start date?

« If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BC+ benefits.
e If no, continue to question #24.

24.Did the applicant/member have access to employer provided health insurance,
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the
current employer of an adult in the BC+ test group, in the twelve months prior to
the application or review date?

e If yes, continue to question #25.
e If no, continue to question #28.
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25.Was the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer
more than 9.5% of the household income in the month for which you are
determining eligibility?

e If yes, continue to question #26.
e If no, continue to question #27.

26.Was the employer provided insurance under the WI State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government) and is the household income over 150% of the FPL?

o If yes, continue to question #27.
e If no, continue to question #28.

27.Did the applicant/member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an employer
sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the application (See
7.2.1)?

« If yes, continue to question #28.
e If no, the applicant is ineligible for BC+ 12 months from the date the
coverage would have begun, unless s/he becomes exempt during that time.

28.Did the applicant/member lose employer provided health insurance coverage
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BC+ test group
member in the three calendar months prior to the application?

« If yes, continue to question #29.
« If no, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance/access coverage
requirements.

29.Was the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer
more than 9.5% of the household income in the month for which you are
determining eligibility?

o If yes, continue to guestion #30.
e If no, continue to question #31.

30.Was the employer provided insurance part of the WI State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government) and is the household income over 150% of the FPL?
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e If yes, continue to question #31.
« If no, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

31.Did the applicant/member have "good cause" for dropping the health insurance
(See 7.6)?

« If yes, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

e If no, the applicant/member is ineligible for BC+ for three calendar months
following the month in which the insurance coverage ended.

7.8.2 Access/Coverage Overview for new applicants on or after February 1, 2014

To determine whether an individual passes BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements beginning January 1, 2014, answer the following questions for each
individual within a BC+ group.

1. Is the applicant /member pregnant, disabled, a continuously eligible newborn or
youth exiting out of home care?
« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.
e If no, continue to question #2.
2. Is the member a child under age 19 and is currently eligible for BC+, because a
child's 150% deductible was met?
« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements during the deductible period.
e If no, continue to question #3.

3. Is the member in a BadgerCare Plus Extension?

« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.
e If no, continue to question #4.

4. Is the applicant/member either:
a. An infant under age 1 with household income at or below
300% FPL,
b. A child age 1 through 5 with household income at or below
185% FPL, or
C. A child age 6 through 18 with household income at or below
150% FPL?
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« If yes, the applicant/member is not subject to the access/coverage
requirements.
e If no, continue to question #5.

5. Is this member a child under age 19?

o If yes, continue to question #6.
e If no, continue to question #9.

6. Does the employer pay 80% or more of the premium?
o If yes, continue to question #8.
e If no, continue to question # 7.

7. Is the employer provided insurance the WI State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

« If yes, continue to question #8.
« If no, continue to question #9.

8. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months following:
a. The month of BC+ application filing date; or
b. The annual review month; or
c. The employment start date?
« If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BC+ benefits.
e If no, continue to question #9.

9. Did the applicant/member have access to employer provided health insurance,
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the
current employer of an adult in the BC+ test group, in the twelve months prior to
the application or review date?

o If yes, continue to question #10.
e If no, continue to question #13.

10.Would the employer have paid 80% or more of the premium (at any time in the
last 12 months)?
« If yes, continue to question #12.
« If no, continue to question #11.
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11.Would the employer provided insurance be under the WI State employee health
plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

o If yes, continue to question #12.
e If no, continue to question #13.

12.Did the applicant/member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an employer
sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the application (See
7.2.1)?

e If yes, continue to question #13.

e If no, the applicant is ineligible for BC+ for 12 months from the date the
coverage would have begun, unless s/he becomes exempt from health
insurance/access coverage requirements during that time.

13.Did the applicant/member lose employer provided health insurance coverage
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BC+ test group
member in the three calendar months prior to the application?

o If yes, continue to question #14.
« If no, the applicant/member is not subject to the BC+ insurance/access
coverage requirements.

14.Did the employer pay 80% or more of the premium?

o If yes, continue to question #16.
e If no, continue to question #15.

15.Was the employer provided insurance part of the W1 State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

e If yes, continue to question #16.
e If no, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.

16.Did the applicant/member have "good cause” for dropping the health insurance
(See 7.6)?

« If yes, the applicant/member passes the BC+ insurance access/coverage
requirements.
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« If no, the applicant/member is ineligible for BC+ for three calendar months
following the month in which the insurance coverage ended.

7.8.3 BC+ Prenatal Program Insurance Access/Coverage Overview

Use this overview only for the BC+ Prenatal Program. (Pregnant individual who is
not eligible for BC+ solely due to immigration status or because she is an
inmate.)

1. Does she have access to health insurance, including access due to a qualifying

event, through a current employer or the current employer or an adult member of
the BC+ test group.

o If yes, continue to question #2.
e If no, continue to question #5.

Does the employer pay 80% or more of the premium?

o If yes, continue to question #4.
e If no, continue to question #3.

Is the employer provided insurance the WI State employee health plan
(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?

o If yes, continue to question #4.
e If no, continue to question #5.

. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months following:

a. The month of BC+ Prenatal application filing date; or
b. The annual review month; or
c. The employment start date.

o If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BC+ Prenatal benefits.
e If no, continue to question #5.

. Did she have access to employer provided health insurance, including access
due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current employer of
an adult in the BC+ test group, in the twelve months prior to the application or
review date?

o If yes, continue to question #6.
e If no, continue to question #9.
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6. Would the employer have paid 80% or more of the premium (at any time in the
last 12 months)?

o If yes, continue to question #8.
e If no, continue to question #7.

7. Would the employer provided insurance be under the WI State employee health
plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local
government)?"

« If yes, continue to question #8.
e If no, continue to guestion #9.

8. Did she have " good cause " for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored health
insurance plan in the 12 months prior to application (7.2.1)?

« If yes, continue to question #9.

e If no, she is ineligible for BC+ Prenatal 12 months from the date the
coverage would have begun, unless she becomes exempt during that
time.

9. Is the woman covered by any HIPAA health insurance policy?

o If yes, she is ineligible to enroll in the BC+ Prenatal Program.
e If no, continue to question #10.

10.Has the woman lost coverage under a major medical health insurance plan which
meets the standards of a HIPAA standard plan in the prior three calendar
months?

« If yes, continue to question #11.
« If no, she passes BC+ Prenatal insurance access/coverage requirements.

11.Did she have a "good cause" for losing the major medical health insurance which
met the standards of a HIPAA standard plan (7.6)?

o If yes, she passes BC+ Prenatal insurance access/coverage
requirements.

« If no, she is ineligible for the BC+ Prenatal Program for three calendar
months following the month the insurance coverage ended.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
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Effective Date: 10/24/13

8 PREGNANT WOMEN AND CONTINUOUSLY ELIGIBLE NEWBORNS

8.1 PREGNANT WOMEN

Note: This chapter does not apply to pregnant women in the BC+ Prenatal Program.
A pregnant woman who is enrolled in BC+ stays eligible for:
1. The balance of the pregnancy, and

2. An additional 60 days after the last day of pregnancy through the end of the
month in which the 60th day occurs.

The decision about her eligibility need not to be made prior to termination of pregnancy,
but the application must be filed before the end of the pregnancy in order for her to
remain enrolled as a pregnant woman for the 60 days after the pregnancy ends. If the
application is not filed before the end of the pregnancy and the newborn is living with
her or she is the caretaker relative of other children under 19, she should be tested as a
caretaker relative once the pregnancy ends. An application for Express Enrollment does
not meet this application test.

If a pregnant woman is covered under the Standard Plan at any time during her
pregnancy she will remain in the Standard Plan while she is eligible as a pregnant
woman, regardless of changes in income or other eligibility factors. As of April 1, 2014,
every pregnant woman in BC+ will be enrolled in the Standard Plan, including someone
who has become eligible by meeting a deductible. After February 1, 2014 pregnant
women will be enrolled in the Standard Plan once she has been found eligible for
Badgercare Plus. Pregnant women who are enrolled in the Benchmark Plan prior to
February 1, 2014 will transition to the Standard Plan on April 1, 2014 if they are still in
their certification period.

A pregnant woman with income over 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL

(under MAGI rules) at the time of application can become eligible for BC+ by meeting a
deductible. (See section 17.2)

There are no premiums for pregnant women. (See section 19.1)

All pregnant women, except those eligible under the BC+ Prenatal Program, may have

their eligibility backdated to the first of the month up to three months prior to the month
of application.
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8.2 CONTINUOUSLY ELIGIBLE NEWBORNS (CENS)

Newborn children are automatically eligible for BC+ from the date of birth through the
end of the month in which they turn one year old if:

1. They are under age 13 months.

2. The natural mother was determined eligible, in the State of Wisconsin, for one of
the following programs:

BC+

Other full-benefit Medicaid (MEH 21.2)

Emergency Services BC+

Emergency Services Medicaid (MEH 31.1)

BC+ Prenatal Program (as a non-qualifying immigrant)

Q0T

Note: Children born to incarcerated mothers will not be eligible as a CEN. In
addition, children born to pregnant minors with family income over 300% FPL who
were eligible for BC+ are not eligible as CENSs. This policy only applies through
March 31, 2014 because children will no longer be eligible above 300% FPL as of
April 1, 2014. The natural mother’s eligibility could have been determined either
prior to the date of delivery or retroactively to cover the date of delivery.

Example: Sasha. gave birth on April 15. On June 15 she applied for BC+. Her
eligibility was backdated to March 15. Her infant son is eligible as a CEN from April
15 through April 30 of the following year, the end of the month in which he turns one
year old.

The newborn child does not receive this automatic eligibility as a CEN if the
mother's BC+ enrollment is a temporary enrollment through the Express
Enrollment program.

A newborn is not required to reside with his/her mother to be eligible as a CEN. This is
true even if the newborn is being placed into foster care, adoption or is residing with a
caretaker relative . A CEN who no longer resides with his/her mother but still resides in
Wisconsin should remain eligible as a CEN through the end of the month in which s/he
turns one year old.
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Through March 31, 2014, the child will be covered under either the Standard or the Benchmark
Plan, depending on the plan the mother was covered by at the time of the baby’s birth. Effective
April 1, 2014, all infants eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a CEN will be covered under the
Standard Plan. If the child is enrolled in BadgerCare Plus on or after February 1, 2014, the child
will be covered under the Standard Plan upon enrollment. If the child is covered by the
Benchmark plan prior to February 1, 2014, the child will transition to the Standard plan effective
April 1, 2014.

Anyone who has ever been eligible as a Continuously Eligible Newborn (CEN) under Wisconsin
Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus is exempt from the citizenship and identity documentation
requirements.

The CEN will not have to pay premiums and is not subject to the health insurance
access/coverage requirements.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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9 VERIFICATION

9.1 VERIFICATION

Proof of certain information is required to determine eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.
Mandatory (9.9) and questionable (9.10) items must be verified at application , renewal,
person addition or deletion, or when there is a change in circumstance that affects
eligibility or benefit level. One time only verification items do not need to be re-verified.

Verification means to establish the accuracy of verbal or written statements made by, or
about a group's circumstances. Case files or case comments must include
documentation for any information required to be verified to determine eligibility or
benefit levels.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date : 02/01/08
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9.2 APPLICATION

The time period for processing an application for BC+ is 30 days from the application
filing date or from the date the local agency receives the application from the Federally
Facilitated Marketplace. Advise the applicant of the specific verification required within
the 30 day processing time. Give the applicant a minimum of ten calendar days to
provide any necessary verification.

Eligibility should not be denied for failure to provide the required verification until the
later of:

« 10th day after requesting verification, or
« 30th day after the application filing date.

If verification is requested more than ten days prior to the 30th day, the applicant must
still be allowed 30 days from the application filing date to provide the required
verification.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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9.3 ELIGIBILITY RENEWALS

The group's eligibility should not be denied for failure to provide the required verification
until the 10th day after requesting verification or the end of the renewal month
whichever is later.

Example 1: Fred’s eligibility renewal is due in April. He submits a mail-in renewal
form on April 10th. The eligibility worker requests verification of his income on April
11th. If the verification is not submitted by April 30th, his eligibility will end on April
30th.

Example 2: Shannon’s eligibility renewal was due in June. At Adverse Action in June
a notice was sent to Shannon to let her know her BC+ eligibility would end June 30th
because she had not yet completed her renewal. A telephone interview was
conducted on June 30th. A request for verification, with a July 10th due date, was
sent to Shannon. Because the required verification (including signature) was not
submitted by July 10th, her eligibility beginning July 1st was denied.

Note: After an individual transitions to MAGI rules, requested verification turned in within
90 days of the renewal due date should be processed as timely. See Process Help 4.6.
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9.4 CHANGES

When a change is reported that requires verification, the member must be notified in
writing of the specific verification required and allowed a minimum of ten days to provide
it.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
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9.5 DOCUMENTATION

Documentation includes putting an original or copy of a piece of evidence in the case
record.

Documentation also includes adding notations to case comments when copying is not
possible. Notations must include enough information to verify eligibility, ineligibility,
benefit level, and coverage group determinations.

All documentation must be in sufficient detail to permit a reviewer to determine the
reasonableness and accuracy of the determination.

Documentation should include enough data to describe the nature and source of the
information should any follow up be required. All documentation should be date
stamped.

Document in the case comments:
1. Collateral contacts.
2. Observations in home visits.
3. Explanations of conversations.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/25/13

9.6 COLLATERAL CONTACTS
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Collateral contacts consists of oral confirmations of circumstances by persons other
than food unit (FS) or group (BC+) members. A collateral contact may be made either
in person or over the telephone.

While performing a collateral contact:

1.

2.

Do not disclose that an individual has applied for public assistance.

Do not disclose more information than is absolutely necessary to get the
information being sought.

Do not disclose any information supplied by the applicant .

Do not suggest that the applicant is suspected of any wrongdoing.

9.6.1 Documenting Verbal Statements and Collateral Contacts

Documentation of collateral contacts must include:

oA LNE

Name of collateral contact,

Title of Individual,

Organization the individual is affiliated with,

Address ( if no phone, or information obtained in person),
Significance to household,

Date(s) of contact(s) and when pertinent information was obtained.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
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9.7 RELEASE OF INFORMATION

Someone’s written release to get information from a verification source is needed only
when the source requires it.

When a source requires a written release:

1.

2.
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The requirement must be explained to the member.

The individual, his/her spouse, or another appropriate adult in the household
must sign the necessary release form(s). The forms that may be used are
CARES -generated or alternate pre-printed application forms.
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Benefits should be denied, discontinued or reduced only when:

The missing verification is necessary to determine eligibility, and

The individual is unwilling or unable to provide the verification directly, and
The source requires a release, and

The individual, his/her spouse or another appropriate adult in the household
refuses to sign the release, and

The release is the only way the verification can be obtained.
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9.8 GENERAL RULES

1. Avoid over-verification (requiring excessive pieces of evidence for any one item
or requesting verification that is not needed to determine eligibility). Do not
require additional verification once the accuracy of a written or verbal statement
has been established.

2. Do not verify information already verified unless there is reason to believe the
information is fraudulent or differs from more recent information. If fraud is
suspected, determine if a referral for fraud or for front-end verification should be
made (9.10.1).

3. Do not exclusively require one particular type of verification when various types
are adequate and available.

4. Verification need not be presented in person. Verification may be submitted by
mail, fax, e-mail, or through another electronic device or through an authorized
representative .

5. Do not target special groups or persons on the basis of race, religion, national
origin or migrant status for special verification requirements.

6. Do not require the member to sign a release form (either blanket or specialized)
when the member provides required verification.

7. Do not require verification of information that is not used to determine eligibility.
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Except for verification of access to employer sponsored health insurance (9.9.6), the
member has primary responsibility for providing verification and resolving questionable
information. However, the IM worker must use all available data exchanges to verify
information rather than requiring the applicant to provide it.

Assist the member in obtaining verification if s/he requests help or has difficulty in
obtaining it.

Use the best information available to process the application or change within the time
limit and issue benefits when the following two conditions exist:

1. The applicant/member does not have the power to produce verification, and
2. Information is not obtainable timely even with your assistance.

Do not deny eligibility in this situation, but continue in your attempts to obtain
verification. When you have received the verification, you may need to adjust or
recover benefits based on the new information. Explain this to the applicant/member
when requesting verification.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

9.9 MANDATORY VERIFICATION ITEMS

9.9.1 Social Security Number
9.9.1.1 Newborns
9.9.1.2 BC + Emergency Services
9.9.1.3 BC+ Prenatal Program
9.9.2 Immigrant Status
9.9.3 Pregnancy
9.9.4 Medical Expenses
9.9.5 Power of Attorney and Guardianship
9.9.6 Access to Employer-Sponsored Health Insurance
9.9.6.1 Employer Verification of Health Insurance (EVHI) database
9.9.6.2 Other Forms of Health Insurance Access Verification
9.9.7 Tribal Membership
9.9.8 Pre-Tax Deductions
9.9.9 MAGI Tax Deductions
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The following items must be verified for BC+:

SSN (9.9.1)

Citizenship and Identity (Chapter 4.2)

Immigrant Status (9.9.2)

Pregnancy, if eligibility is based on the pregnancy (9.9.3)

PowbdPE

Note: Effective January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be
verified.

Medical Expenses (for deductibles only) (9.9.4)

Documentation for Power of Attorney and Guardianship (9.9.5)
Migrant worker’s (eligibility in another state) (12.3)

Income

Health Insurance Access (9.9.6)

10 Health Insurance Coverage (Chapter 7)

11.Family Re-unification plan for Child Welfare Parents (Chapter 10)
12.The placement status of a FFCY (Chapter 11) on his/her 18th birthday
13.Tribal membership or Native American Descent (9.9.7)
14.Pre-tax Deductions* (9.9.8)

15.MAGI Tax Deductions* (9.9.9)

©ooNOO

Unless determined questionable, self declaration is acceptable for all other items.

*These mandatory verification requirements apply only to whose members eligibility is
determined under MAGI rules.

9.9.1 Social Security Number

Social Security Numbers (SSNs) need to be furnished for household members
requesting BC+ unless they are exempt from the SSN requirement (see 6.1). SSNs are
not required from non-applicants, including outside of the home tax dependents and co-
filers.

An applicant is not required to provide a document or Social Security card. S/he only
needs to provide a number, which is verified through the CARES SSN validation
process.

If the SSN validation process returns a mismatch record, the member must provide the
Social Security card or another official government document with the SSN displayed. If
an applicant does not yet have an SSN s/he must be willing to apply for one.

Assist the member in applying for an SSN for any group member who doesn’t have one
(IMM, Ch. I, Part C).
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Do not deny benefits pending issuance of an SSN if you have any documentation that
an SSN application was made. At the next renewal, check to see if an SSN has been
issued.

The member should be informed if the SSN validation process indicates another
individual is using the same SSN. The member should contact the Social Security
Administration and request they conduct an investigation. The IM worker can not
provide the member with any information that would identify the individual who is using
the member's SSN.

If the Social Security Administration finds that the SSN has been used fraudulently it
may:

1. Recommend further action be taken.
and/or

2. Provide the member with the information on the fraudulent action so that the
member may pursue action through the legal system.

Verify the SSN only once.
9.9.1.1 Newborns

A parent of a newborn may begin an SSN application on the newborn’s behalf while still
in the hospital.

Do not require an SSN to be furnished or applied for on behalf of a newborn determined
continuously eligible (8.2) for BC +. Accept the mother’s statement about the existence
and residence of the newborn.

9.9.1.2 BC + Emergency Services

Do not require or verify SSNs of members who receive BC+ Emergency Services only
(Chapter 39).

9.9.1.3 BC+ Prenatal Program

Women applying for the BC+ PP do not need to apply for or provide an SSN. See 41.1
BC+ Prenatal.

9.9.2 Immigrant Status
A member who indicates s/he is not a citizen must provide an official government

document that lists his/her immigrant registration number. Verification of the individual's
immigration status is done through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlement
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(SAVE) system. Women applying for BC+ Prenatal Program (Chapter 41) and persons
applying for Emergency Services (Chapter 39) who do not provide proof of immigration
status can still qualify for those benefits.

An immigrant that presents documentation of his/her immigrant status and meets all
other eligibility criteria is eligible while any secondary verification of immigrant status is
taking place.

Verification of immigrant status is not needed if the person already provided proof when
s/he applied for an SSN.

Do not re-verify immigrant status unless the member reports a change in citizenship or
immigrant status.

9.9.3 Pregnancy

Verification of pregnancy is only required until December 31, 2013. Beginning January
1, 2014, verification is no longer required for pregnancy unless the worker has
information that contradicts the applicant or member’s statement.

Through December 31, 2013, if a woman wants to be considered pregnant for the BC+
pregnant women group or the BC+ Prenatal Program (Chapter 39) eligibility
determination, documentation from a health care professional attesting to the pregnancy
is required. Fetus count and the expected pregnancy end date are not mandatory
verification items.

When pregnancy must be verified, acceptable verification sources for pregnancy are:

Physician's statement.

Physician assistant's statement.

Licensed nurse practitioner's statement.

A written statement from a registered nurse (RN) working:

PwpNPE

a. In a Healthy Birth Identification of Pregnancy Project (EDP).
b. In a Publicly funded family planning project.
c. As a Certified Nurse Midwife.

o

A valid BC+ Temporary Enroliment card.
Note: After January 2014, if pregnancy must be verified, the IM worker will no
longer be able to use a BC+ Temporary Enrollment card as a source of
verification, as pregnancy will not be verified for Temporary Enroliment for
Pregnant Women.

9.9.4 Medical Expenses
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Medical expenses used to meet a deductible must be verified. The expense amount,
any third party liability amount and date of service must all be verified.

9.9.5 Power of Attorney and Guardianship

Verify power of attorney and any guardianship type as specified by the court. Ask for
any documentation regarding durable power of attorney or court-ordered guardianship.

9.9.6 Access to Employer-Sponsored Health Insurance

Verification of access to health insurance is required at the following times, unless the
individual has already verified health insurance access within the last 12 months with

the same employer:

1. BC+ Application and Renewal.
2. Person Add - if adult (age 18 or over) is employed and part of the BC+ test
group.
3. When an adult (age 18 or over) in the BC+ test group gets a new job.
4. When a change is processed causing total household income to exceed the
following FPL thresholds:
e Infants less than 1 year old, 300% of the FPL,

Children ages 6 to 18, 150% of the FPL,

Parents and caretakers, 133% of the FPL, and

Parents and caretakers with access to a Wisconsin state employee’s
health insurance plan, 150 % of the FPL

1.
e Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6), 185% of the FPL,

Note: Because of changes in income limits, the reporting requirements listed above for
parents and caretakers are only effective until March 31, 2014.

Note: Verification of access to insurance when parents’ and caretakers’ household
income exceeds 133% is applied beginning July 1, 2012, when one of the following
occurs:

e A new application or program request is submitted,

« New employment is reported,

e The next review/renewal is completed, or

e A parent or caretaker with employment is added to the assistance group.

9.9.6.1 Employer Verification of Health Insurance (EVHI) Database

It is not the client’s responsibility to verify access to employer-sponsored health
insurance. For the majority of BC+ applicants and members the EVHI database will be
used to verify insurance access. Information gathered from employers is stored in the
database. The verification will be returned based on the employer details entered on the
employment page. It will be critical for Income Maintenance workers to enter the correct
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FEIN number and all other employment details for each employment sequence so that
all employers are correctly identified in the EVHI database.

If the employment details are not complete enough to verify access, the applicant will be
sent a letter from the State requesting more information and the case will pend.

Example 1: Mary’s employer has verified that permanent full-time employees have
access to health insurance, however temporary employees do not. Mary did not
indicate whether she is a permanent or temporary employee. Since that information
is necessary to verify access to health insurance using the database, she will be sent
a letter requesting the information.

If the employer has not provided information about the health insurance they offer to
their employees, the BC+ eligibility will pend and a request will be sent from the State to
the employer requesting that the information be provided.

BC+ eligibility can pend up to the end of the 30 day application processing period. At
that point, regardless of whether the employer has responded or not, eligibility must be
confirmed. If the employer has not responded assume there is not access to employer
sponsored health insurance.

BC+ will not be terminated or denied due to an employer failure to respond to a request
for verification of health insurance access. If BC+ eligibility begins and an employer
later responds to the verification request indicating that health insurance access is
available to the employee, BC+ eligibility will be terminated with adequate notice of
adverse action . There will be no overpayment liability for the applicant.

9.9.6.2 Other Forms of Health Insurance Access Verification

Other types of verification can be used to document access to employer sponsored
health insurance. If a BC+ applicant or member needs medical services, agencies may
use other contacts with employers in these situations to speed the verification process.
Other forms of verification include:

e EVF-H form

o Employer statement
o Collateral Contact with the employer

9.9.7 Tribal Membership
Tribal members are exempt from paying BC+ premiums and may be exempt for certain
benefit co-payments. Effective January 1, 2014, tribal members eligible for BC+ will

also be exempt from co-pays.

To receive these exemptions, verification of tribal membership or descent from a tribal
member is required. Verification may be done with a:
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e Tribal Enrollment Card

« Written verification or a document issued by the tribe indicating tribal affiliation

« Certificate of degree of Indian blood issue by BIA

« Tribal census document

e Medical record card or similar documentation that specifies an individual is an
Indian that is issued by an Indian Health Care provider.

9.9.8 Pre-Tax Deductions

Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim pre-tax
deductions in order to determine their MAGI taxable income. In order to claim a pre-tax
deduction, verification of the amount is required. Verification sources such as pay stubs
or other documentation from the individual's employer can serve as acceptable
documentation. See 16.3.2 for list of pre-tax deductions.

9.9.9 MAGI Tax Deductions
Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim certain tax
deductions from the IRS 1040 Form, regardless of whether or not the individual files
taxes. Individuals who claim such deductions must provide proof that the expense is or
was incurred. See 16.3.3 for a list of tax deductions.
Forms of verification for MAGI tax deductions could include:

e receipts,

e bank statements,

e check stubs, or
e previous years’ tax forms.
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9.10 QUESTIONABLE ITEMS

Information is questionable for BC+ when:
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=

There are inconsistencies in the group’s oral or written statements.

2. There are inconsistencies between the group’s claims and collateral contacts,
documents, or prior records.

3. The member or his/her representative is unsure of the accuracy of his/her own
statements.

4. The member has been convicted of Medicaid or BC+ fraud or has legally
acknowledged his/her guilt of member fraud. Do not require a member to
provide verification for the sole reason that they have acknowledged or been
convicted of fraud in any other public assistance or employment program.

5. The member is a minor who reports that s/he is living alone. This does not apply
to minors applying solely for Family Planning Services.

6. The information provided is unclear or vague.

9.10.1 Front End Verification

Front-End verification (FEV) is intensive verification of a case by a special unit or
worker. Refer a group for FEV only when its characteristics meet a designated profile.
See 3.2 Fraud Prevention/ Front End Verification of the Income Maintenance Manual .
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9.11 PROCESSING TIMEFRAME

9.11.1 Verification Receipt Date
9.11.2 Positive Actions

9.11.3 Delay
9.11.4 Negative Actions

9.11.1 Verification Receipt Date

The verification receipt date is the day verification is delivered to the appropriate Income
Maintenance agency or the next business day if verification is delivered after the
agency's regularly scheduled business hours.

Income Maintenance agencies must stamp the receipt date on each piece of verification
received.

9.11.2 Positive Actions

Begin or continue benefits when:
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1. The member provides requested verification within the specified time limits and is
otherwise eligible.

2. Requested verification is mandatory, but the member does not have the power to
produce the verification and s/he is otherwise eligible. In this situation, the
agency must also make an effort to obtain the verification (9.8).

9.11.3 Delay

Notify the member when the agency is not able to process the application within 30
days when:

1. Verification is needed, and
2. The member/applicant has the power to produce the verification, and

3. The minimum time period allowed for producing the verification has not passed,
and

4. Additional time is needed to produce the verification.
CARES provides a verification checklist, to notify the member of the reason for the
delay, the specific verification required, and the date the verification is due.
9.11.4 Negative Actions
Deny or reduce benefits when all of the following are true:
1. The member has the power to produce the verification.
2. The time allowed to produce the verification has passed.
3. The member has been given adequate notice of the verification required.
4. You need the requested verification to determine current eligibility. Do not deny

current eligibility because a member does not verify some past circumstance not
affecting current eligibility.
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10 CHILD WELFARE PARENTS

10.1 CHILD WELFARE PARENT OR CARETAKER RELATIVE

Qualifying parents and caretaker relatives of children who have been temporarily
removed from the home and are in the care of the child welfare system may be eligible
for BC+ benefits if they meet the following requirements:

1. Their child was living with them at the time the child welfare agency removed the
child and placed him/her in:

a. Foster care, (both IV-E and non IV-E).

b. Court Ordered Kinship Care.

c. Other living arrangement.
Note: If child welfare is involved and the child welfare agency has
established a permanency plan for the child under authority of ss. 48.38 or
938.38 of the statutes, other living arrangements for the children meet this
criteria. For example, a child may be placed with grandparents who are
not eligible for Kinship Care or a child may be placed with the other
parent.

2. The parent/caretaker relative is cooperating with a permanency plan, the goal of
which is family reunification. Cooperation is always presumed unless the court
has determined that reunification will no longer be the permanency goal and

3. The caretaker relative meets all other BC+ financial and non-financial
requirements.

Note: Children are not considered to be in the care of the child welfare system if they
are an inmate in a public institution, such as a Type 1 Juvenile Correctional Institution.

The parents/caretaker relative who meet the above requirements are considered caring
for a child who has been temporarily removed from the home. The parent/caretaker
relative did not have to be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus at the time of removal, but the
child did have to live with the parent/caretaker. Even though the child’s eligibility is not
determined on the caretaker relative's case, the child is included in the group size in the
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eligibility determination and any unearned income the child has is budgeted under non-
MAGI rules.

If the Child Welfare System places a child with a Kinship Care relative, the Kinship Care
relative may qualify for BC+ as the caretaker relative of this child even if the Child
Welfare parent/caretaker is also determined eligible as the caretaker relative of this
child.

See Process Help for information on processing the Child Welfare Parent or Caretaker
relative cases.

The parents/caretaker relative who meet the above requirements are considered caring
for a child who is temporarily absent. The parent/caretaker relative did not have to be
enrolled in BC+ at the time of removal, but the child did have to live with the
parent/caretaker. The parent will continue to be considered a parent or caretaker for
purposes of BC+ eligibility under MAGI rules. However, the child may not always be
included in the parent’'s MAGI group. Please refer to Chapter 2 on the MAGI
methodology.

If the Child Welfare System places a child with a Kinship Care relative, the Kinship Care
relative is no longer considered as a caretaker relative. Instead, he or she may qualify
for BC+ as a childless adult.

Example 1: Stacy’s child, Jared, was placed in Kinship Care with Stacy’s mom, Laura (55).
Stacy files taxes but will not be claiming Jared as her tax dependent. Laura will claim Jared as
her tax dependent. There are no other children, tax filers, or tax dependents in either Stacy’s or
Laura’s households. Assuming they meet all financial and non-financial requirements, Stacy
will be eligible for BC+ as a parent with a group size of 1 and Laura as a childless adult with a
group size of 2.

Example 2: Ben’s daughter, Megan, was placed in Kinship Care with her grandfather, James
(60). Ben does not file taxes. James does file taxes and will claim Megan as his dependent that
year. There are no other children, tax filers, or tax dependents in either Ben’s or James’s
households. Assuming they meet all financial and non-financial requirements, Ben will be
eligible for BC+ as a parent with a group size of 2 and James as a childless adult with a group
size of 2.

Example 3: Same as example 2, except James is 66. Under this example, James
would not be eligible for BC+ because he is a childless adult over age 65. He may be
eligible for EBD Medicaid.
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11 FORMER FOSTER CARE YOUTH

11.1 OUT OF HOME CARE (l.E., FOSTER CARE) AND FORMER
FOSTER CARE YOUTH (FFCY)

BadgerCare Plus Benefits are available for all youths placed in:

1. Foster Care (either IV-E or non IV-E),
2. Subsidized guardianship, and
3. Court ordered Kinship Care

An eligibility determination for these groups is not the responsibility of the IM agency.

IM agencies must develop a procedure with their local Child Welfare agencies to ensure
that whenever a child is losing Foster Care MA eligibility, a separate re-determination of
MA eligibility is completed by the IM agency before Foster Care MA is terminated. The
only exception to this requirement is when a child dies or leaves Wisconsin.

As part of the plan, it is expected that the Child Welfare agency will extend MA eligibility,
using the Foster Care medical status code, until a re-determination of MA eligibility is
done by the IM agency. A formal communication process must be established to assure
IM agencies are made aware of all children leaving the Foster Care system, and
provided with information necessary to re-determine eligibility.

If the IM agency does not have sufficient information to re-determine MA eligibility, the
agency must request needed information from the individual or family. If the individual or
family does not comply with a request for information after 30 days, MA can be
terminated with adverse action notice, since the family has a responsibility to cooperate
during a re-determination.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

129



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

11.2 FORMER FOSTER CARE YOUTH

Until December 31, 2013 the age limit for the FFCY coverage group is 21 years.
Effective January 1, 2014, the age limit is 26 years.

Youths who were in foster care, subsidized guardianships or court-ordered Kinship Care
on their 18th birthday, qualify for a special status under BC+ when they leave out of
home care if all the following conditions are met:

1. The youth was receiving foster care (either IV-E or non IV-E), subsidized
guardianship, or court ordered Kinship Care on the date that s/he turned 18. It
does not matter what state s/he was residing in when s/he turned 18.

2. The youth is:

e Under age 21 prior to December 31, 2013, OR

e Under age 26 on or after January 1, 2014.

3. The youth meets the following BC+ eligibility criteria:

a. No longer receiving foster care benefits (which includes subsidized
guardianships and court-ordered kinship), but was receiving the benefits
on his/her 18th birthday. Verification of the placement status on his/her
18th birthday is required.

b. Provides a Social Security Number or cooperates in applying for one.

c. IsaU.S. Citizen, or National, or is a qualifying immigrant.

d. Provides verification of U.S. citizenship and identity or qualifying
immigration status or makes a good faith effort to obtain it.

e. Cooperates with child support enforcement agencies in obtaining medical
support (if a parent).

f. Cooperates with third party liability requi(rements

g. Physically resides in Wisconsin and intends to reside in the state.

h

i.

. Is not an inmate.
Cooperates with HIPP requirements (7.7).

There is no income or resource test for these youths while they are eligible under this
status. In addition, they are not subject to the BC+ insurance access or coverage
policies and they are not required to pay any premiums for themselves. Regardless of
income, they are eligible for the BC+ Standard Plan unless they are found otherwise
ineligible or until the end of the month in which they:
e Turn age 21 (prior to December 31, 2013),
OR

e Turn age 26 (on or after January 1, 2014)

A 12 month recertification renewal is required to continue eligibility.
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12 MIGRANT WORKERS

12.1 MIGRANT WORKERS

When determining a migrant family’s eligibility for BC+ use the appropriate rules as
outlined in Chapter 2, depending on whether budgeting using non-MAGI rules or MAGI
rules.
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12.2 MIGRANT WORKER DEFINITION
A "Migrant worker” is a person who:

1. Temporarily leaves his/her principal place of residence (outside of Wisconsin)
and

2. Comes to Wisconsin for not more than ten months per year in order to accept
seasonal employment in the planting, cultivating, raising, harvesting, handling,
drying, packing, packaging, processing, freezing, grading or storing of any
agricultural or horticultural commodity in its unmanufactured state.

"Migrant worker” does not include the following:

1. A person who is employed only by a state resident if the resident or the resident’s
spouse is related to the person as the child, parent, grandchild, grandparent,
brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or the spouse of any such relative.

2. A student who is enrolled in or, during the past six months has been enrolled, in

any school, college or university unless the student is a member of a family or
household which contains a migrant worker.
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12.3 SIMPLIFIED APPLICATION

Migrant workers and their families can have their eligibility for BC+ determined using a
simplified application process if they:

1.

Have current MA eligibility from another state. ("Current MA eligibility” means
eligibility that includes at least months one and two of the application process.)
Or had MA/BC+ eligibility in Wisconsin that was certified through months one and
two of the application and that ended only because the family left Wisconsin.

And have the same members or fewer in the case as there were when the case
had coverage in the other state.

The simplified application procedure is as follows:

1.

5.

6.

For applicants with current MA eligibility from another state, verify the eligibility
and the end date. Verify with a copy of the out-of-state MA card or by contacting
the other state.

For applicants previously eligible in Wisconsin, determine the closure code and
renewal date.

Determine if the same members, or fewer, are in the case compared to when the
group was eligible in the other state.

Collect all non-financial information.
Do not collect any financial information.

Certify BC+ benefits for the migrant family.

Example 1: A migrant family consisting of Dad, Mom, and their three children come
to Wisconsin. On July 3, Dad applies for BC+ in Wisconsin for his family.

The family has current MA eligibility from Texas with a certification period ending on
November 30. That is, eligibility extends beyond application months one and two.
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The household has the same five members listed on the MA card.

Because the two conditions described in 12.2 are met, the case should be
processed using the simplified application procedure.

Example 2: The same migrant family comes in for the November review. Verify all
mandatory and questionable verification items. The family is determined eligible
through October 31 of the following year.

The family leaves Wisconsin in December. BC+ closes for failure to reside in the
state. The next March, the family returns. There have been no non-financial
changes and no changes in household composition. The family should be processed
with the simplified application procedure because their case closed only for failure to
reside in Wisconsin.

12.3.1 Renewal dates for simplified application

For migrant families that have been certified through the migrant simplified application
process, the first renewal coincides with the date out-of-state eligibility ends. The next
renewal is 12 months from the first renewal

See example 1 above. The renewal date should be set for November since that is
the last month of the certification period for the Texas MA.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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12.4 REGULAR APPLICATION

If migrant workers and their families have no current BC+/MA eligibility in Wisconsin or
another state, or if there are additional family members who were not eligible in the prior
state of residence, process the case as a regular BC+ application , with the following
exception:

Use annualized earned income. "Annualized earned income” is a prospective monthly
estimate of earned income based on the estimated total gross annual earnings divided
by 12. Annualized income can be based on the past 12 months of the migrant family’s
income if it is anticipated that last year’s income is the best estimate of the current
year’s prospective income.

Renewal dates for regular applications
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For migrant families that have been certified through the regular application process, the
first renewal is 12 months from the month of application.
12.4.1 Renewals
Offer the following three renewal choices for migrant families:
1. Mail.
2. Phone.
3. Face-to-face interview.

See Chapter 26 for information on renewals.
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13 - 15 RESERVED

CHAPTERS 13-15 (RESERVED)
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16 INCOME

16.1 INCOME

16.1.1 Income Limits

16.1.1 Income Limits

Income Limit for . Income Limits
. Existing members Income_L|m_|t for for all Members
Population New Applications as :
through of February 1, 2014 effective
March 31, 2014 ' April 1, 2014
300% FPL (non-
300% FPL (non-MAGI | 306% FPL (MAGI MAGI rules)
Pregnant Women rules) rules) 306% FPL (MAGI
rules)
300% FPL (non-
, * - - MAGI rules)
Children under 19 No Limit No Limit 306% EPL (MAGI
rules)
Eaerlg?itjégamaker 200% FPL 100% FPL 100% FPL
Childless Adults 200% FPL N/A 100% FPL
300% FPL (non-
Family Planning 300% FPL (non-MAGI | 306% FPL (MAGI MAGI rules)
Only Services rules) rules) 306% FPL (MAGI
rules)

*Children and pregnant women with income above the limit can become eligible by

meeting a deductible.

See Chapter 50.1 for the most recent Federal Poverty Level limits.

The income limits under MAGI rules listed above include the following income

disregards.

« Children, pregnant women and individuals eligible under Family Planning Only

Services will be allowed an income disregard equal to 5% of the FPL in addition
to a conversion factor adjustment equal to 1% of the FPL. While the income limit
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remains 300% FPL, CWW will actually test against an income limit of 306% FPL
once the income disregard and conversion factor are included.

« Parents, caretakers and childless adults already have the income disregard
included in the income limit of 100% FPL. CWW will test against an income limit
of 100% FPL.

Note: Other effective income limits for children under MAGI rules will also reflect the
addition of the 6% disregard with the exception that the income thresholds for children’s
premiums will only be increased by 1%.

16.1.2 Income under non-MAGI Rules

In general, all available gross income is counted when determining BC+ eligibility under
non-MAGI rules. See unavailable income below for exceptions to this rule.

Gross income is the total income before any amounts are subtracted or withheld (i.e.
taxes, garnishments, repayment amounts, etc.)

Net income is the amount of income after deductions are withheld.
Available income : Income is available when:

1. Itis actually available, and

2. The person has a legal interest in it, and

3. The person has the legal ability to make it available for support and maintenance.

An example of an income source that someone can make available is unemployment
compensation.

When it is known that a member of the group is eligible for income or an increased
amount of income:

1. If the amount is known, count the income as if the person is receiving it.
If the amount is unknown, ignore the income.

Example: Ms. M. is entitled to Worker's compensation benefits of $430. However,
she declined a $100 increase offered by the insurance company, and the amount of
her check remains at $430. Since the full entittement amount is known, the available
income is $530.

Unavailable Income: Income is unavailable when it will not be available for 31 days or
more. The person must document that it will not be available for 31 days or more.

Unavailability is documented by a letter from the source of the income stating when the
person will receive the benefit. Thus, if s/he has just applied for benefits, the income
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would not be counted. The income is not ignored; it is just not counted until it becomes
available. Schedule an eligibility review for no later than the 60th day.

All taxable income is counted when determining BC+ eligibility under MAGI rules. Social
Security income is also counted under MAGI rules. See 16.2 for the list of income that is
not counted. These rules apply to families that are filing taxes and those who are not.

16.1.3 Income under MAGI Rules

All taxable income is counted when determining BC+ eligibility under MAGI rules.
Social Security income is also counted under MAGI rules. See 16.2 for the list of income
that is not counted. These rules apply to families that are filing taxes and those who are
not.

Within a MAGI group, income will be counted as detailed in Chapter 2. For any member
whose income is budgeted for their assistance group, income under the countable
income types listed in 16.4 and 16.5 will be counted and deductions under the types
listed in 16.3 will be allowed. See Chapter 2 for determining the assistance group size.

All MAGI group members’ income is counted with one exception: If a group member is
the child or tax dependent of another group member, his or her income is only counted
if s/he is “expected to be required” to file a tax return for the current year. See section
2.8.2 for more information.

If a member’s income is budgeted for his or her assistance group, his or her deductions
will be counted for that group. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint
tax return with his or her spouse, the individual’s deductions may offset the spouse’s
income even if the individual has no income.

Note: The availability of income does not affect whether or not the income is counted
under MAGI rules.

When it is known that a member of the group is eligible for income or an increased
amount of income:

1. If the amount is known, count the income as if the person is receiving it.
2. If the amount is unknown, ignore the income.

Example: Ms. M. is entitled to Unemployment compensation benefits of $430.
However, she declined a $100 increase offered by unemployment compensation,
and the amount of her check remains at $430. Since the full entittement amount is
known, the available income is $530.
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16.2 INCOME TYPES NOT COUNTED

Adoption Assistance

Agent Orange Settlement Fund

Combat Pay

Other Military Pay

Crime Victim Restitution Program

Disaster and Emergency Assistance

Earned Income (non-MAGI only)

Foster Care

. IDA

10.Jury Duty Payments (non-MAGI only)
11.Kinship Care

12.Life Insurance policy dividends

13. Nutrition Benefits

14.Payments to Native Americans

15.Payments to Nazi Victims

16.Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (PL 101-426)
17.Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA)

18.Refugee "Reception and Placement"

19. Reimbursements

20.Relocation Payments

21.Repayments

22.Special Programs

23.Spinal Bifida Child

24.Susan Walker Payments

25. Student Financial Aids

26. Stipends from the UW Upward Bound Program
27.Tax Refunds (Income and EITC)
28.Unpredictable Income

29.VA Allowances

30.Wartime Relocation of Citizens

31.Workforce Investment Act Unearned Income
32.W2 Payments

33.General Relief and Charity
34.SSl/Supplemental Security Income

35. Interest and Dividend income (non-MAGI only)
36.Lump Sum Payments (non-MAGI only)
37.Property Settlements

38.Subsidized Guardianship

39.The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009

©CoNoO~WNE

138



Financial Requirements (Chapters 16-24)

The following types of income are not included in the countable income when determining
eligibility for BC+.

1. Adoption Assistance

2. Agent Orange Settlement Fund Do not count payments received from the
Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established in settling "In Re:
Agent Orange product liability Settlement Fund litigation, M.D.L. No. 381
(E.D.N.Y.)". This is retroactive to January 1, 1989. Do not count these
payments for as long as they are identified separately.

3. Combat Pay Do not count combat zone pay that goes to the household that is in
excess of the military person's pre-deployment pay. The exclusion lasts while
the military person is deployed to the combat area.

If the amount of military pay from the deployed absent family member is equal to
or less than the amount the household was receiving prior to deployment, count all
of the income to the household. Any portion of the military pay that exceeds the
amount the household was receiving prior to deployment to a designated combat
zone should not be counted when determining the household’s income.

Example: John's wife Bonnie and their daughter have an open BC+ case. John is in the
military stationed overseas, his monthly income is $1,000. John sends his wife $1,000 every
month.

When John is deployed to a combat zone his pay is increased to $1,300 a month, which is
deposited into a joint account. Because the $300 is combat zone pay, it is not counted in the
determination. The pre-combat pay of $1,000 is budgeted as unearned income for BC+.

4. Other Military Pay Do not count income received for the following purposes:
e Living allowances
o Basic Allowance for Housing (BAH)
o Basic Allowance for Subsistence (BAS)
o Housing and cost-of-living allowances abroad paid by the U.S.
Government or by a foreign government
o Overseas Housing Allowance (OHA)
Death allowances
Family allowances
Moving allowances
Travel allowances
Professional education allowances
ROTC educational and subsistence closure benefit allowances

O O O O o0 oo
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o Uniform allowances
Note: Military pay can be verified using the Leave and Earnings Statement

(LES) received by active duty personel.

Crime Victim Restitution Program payments received from a state established
fund to aid victims of a crime.

Disaster and Emergency Assistance payments made by federal, state, county,
and local agencies, and other disaster assistance organizations.
Earned Income of individuals under 18 years of age.

For cases under non-MAGI rules, disregard the income until the month
following the month in which the person turns 18 years of age.

For cases under MAGI rules, see section 2.8.2 about counting income.
Foster Care
IDA (Individual Development Account) payments that are made in the form of

matching funds to buy a home, start a business, or to complete post-secondary
education.

10.Jury Duty Payments Count any portion of a jury payment that is over and above

expenses as earned income for the month in which it is received.

For cases under non-MAGI rules, count any portion of a jury payment that is
over and above expenses as earned income for the month in which it is
received.

For cases under MAGI rules, count all jury duty payments as earned income
for the month in which it is received if the payments are not turned over to
the individual’'s employer. Amounts received separately as reimbursements
or allowances for travel to and from the courthouse, meals, and lodging
during jury duty are not countable.

11.Kinship Care

12.Life Insurance policy dividends.

13.Nutrition Benefits received from the following:
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Emergency Food and Shelter National Board.

Federal Emergency Management Assistance (FEMA).

FoodShare allotment.

Home produce for household consumption.

National School Lunch Act.

Supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966.
Title VIl Nutrition Program for the Elderly, Older Americans Act of 1965.
USDA Child Care Food Program.

USDA donated food and other emergency food.

WIC - the supplemental food program for women, infants, and children.

14.Payments to Native Americans from:

a.

b.

Menominee Indian Bond interest payments.

All judgment payments to tribes through the Indian Claims Commission or
Court of Claims.

Payments under the Alaskan Native Claims Settlement Act.
Payments under the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Fund.

Payments under PL 93-124 to the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe, except
under non-MAGIrules, individual shares over $2,000.

Payments under PL 93-134 to the Maricopa Ak-Chin Indian Community,
Navajo Tribe, Coast Indian Community of the Resighini Rancheria,
Stillaguamish Tribe, Pueblo of Taos Tribe, Walker River Paiute Tribe, and
White Earth Band of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, except under non-
MAGI rules, individual shares over $2,000.

Payments under PL 94-114 to the Bad River Band and Lac Courte
Oreilles Band of Chippewa Indians and the Stockbridge Munsee Indian
Community of Mohicans.

. Payments under PL 96-318 to the Delaware Tribe of Kansas and of Idaho.
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i. Payments under PL 96-420 to the Houlton Band of Muliseet Indians, the
Passamoquoddy, and Penobscot.

j. For EBD MA cases, under PL 98-64, disregard all Indian judgment funds
held in trust by the Secretary of the Interior for an Indian tribe and
distributed on an individual basis to members of the tribe. Also disregard
interest and investment income from these funds.

k. Payments under PL 99-346, Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan.

I.  Payments under PL 99-377 to the Mille Lacs, Leech Lake, and White
Earth, MN, reservations.

m. Payments under PL 101-41, Puyallup Tribe of Indians Settlement Act of
1989.

n. Payments under the Distribution of Judgment Funds Act of 1987 to the
Cow Creek Band, Umpqua Tribe.

0. Payments under the Distribution of Indian Judgment to the Crow Creek
and Lower Brule Sioux except individual shares over $2,000.

p. Under non-MAGI rules, disregard the first $500 of the monthly income
from Tribal Per Capita payments from gaming revenue. If the payments
are received less than monthly, prorate the gross payment amount over
the months it is intended to cover and disregard $500 from the monthly
amount.

Under MAGI rules, all of the income form Tribal Per Capita payments from
gaming revenue are counted income.

g. Under MAGI rules, all of the income form Tribal Per Capita payments from
gaming revenue are counted income.

15.Payments to Nazi Victims made under PL 103-286 to victims of Nazi

persecution.

16.Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (PL 101-426) payments to persons to
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compensate injury or death due to exposure to radiation from nuclear testing
($50,000) and uranium mining ($100,000). The federal Department of Justice
reviews the claims and makes the payments. If the affected person is dead,
payments are made to his/her surviving spouse, children, parents, or
grandparents. This is retroactive to October 15, 1990. Do not count these
payments for as long as they are identified  separately.
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17.Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA) program payments. RCA is administered by
Wisconsin Works agencies and is made available for refugees who do not qualify
for Wisconsin Works.

18.Refugee "Reception and Placement" (R&P) payments made to refugees
during the first 30 days after their arrival in the U.S. R& P payments are made by
voluntary resettlement agencies and may be a direct payment to the refugee
individual/family or to a vendor.

19.Reimbursements for out of pocket expenses which an assistance group
member has incurred and/or paid. However, reimbursements for normal
household living expenses (rent, clothing, or food eaten at home) are counted.

Examples of reimbursements that are not counted:

a. For job or training related expenses. The expenses may be for travel,
food, uniforms, and transportation to and from the job or training site. This
includes travel expenses of migrant workers.

b. For volunteers' out-of-pocket expenses incurred during their work.
c. Medical or dependent care reimbursements.

d. Reimbursement from the Indianhead Community Action Agency
(Ladysmith) under its JUMP Start Program for start-up costs to set up an
in-home child care business in the person's home.

e. Reimbursements received from the Social Services Block Grant Program
for expenses in purchasing Social Services Block Grant services, for
example, transportation, chore services, and child care services.

The reimbursement payment should not be more than the person’s actual out-
of-pocket expenses. If it is more, count the excess amount as unearned
income.

20.Relocation Payments Under s. 32.19, Wis. Stats., relocation payments are
available to displaced persons. The following are examples of costs which the
relocation payments are intended to cover: moving expenses, replacement
housing and property transfer expenses. Do not count the amounts paid by any
governmental agency or organization listed in s. 32.02, Wis. Stats. Do not count
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Title I, Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act
payments. Its purpose is to treat persons displaced by federal and federally
aided programs fairly so that they do not suffer disproportionate injuries as a
result of programs designed for the public's benefit.

Do not count Experimental Housing Allowance Program (EHAP) payments. Its
purpose is to study housing supply. Test areas, which include Brown County,
were selected throughout the United States, and contracts were entered into prior
to January 1, 1975. A sample of families was selected to receive monthly housing
allowance payments.

21.Repayments of money the member has received from an economic support
program and must give back because of a program error or violation. Since s/he
is not entitled to the money, s/he must repay it; therefore it should not be counted
as income to the member.

Do not count the following repayments:

a. Money withheld from an economic assistance check due to a prior
overpayment.

b. Money from a particular income source that is voluntarily or involuntarily
paid to repay a prior overpayment received from that same source of
income.

If money from a particular income source is mixed with money from other
types of income, disregard only an amount up to the amount of the current
payment from the particular source.

Example: Richard receives $50 a month from the Veteran’s Administration (VA) and $250
from Social Security. The income from the two sources is mixed together in one lump of
$300. If the VA overpays Richard by $200, he can pay back to the VA only the $50 a month
he receives from the VA. If he repays more, for instance, $75 a month, disregard only $50.

c. Social Security income used to repay an overpayment previously received
from the Social Security Administration, whether SSA or SSI.
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22.Special Programs income received from any of the following:

a. Active Corp. of Executives (ACE).

b. Wages paid by the Census Bureau for temporary employment related to
Census 2010.

c. Emergency Fuel Assistance.

d. Foster Grandparents Program.

e. Governmental rent or housing subsidy, including reimbursements due to
federal regulatory changes in computing HUD housing rent.

f. Homestead Tax Credit.

g. Low Income Energy Assistance Program.

h. Programs funded under Title V of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (16.3.1
#6), except wages or salaries, which are counted as earned income.

i. Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP).

J. Service Corp. of Retired Executives (SCORE).

k. University Year for Action Program (UYA).

[. Under non-MAGI rules, income from Volunteers in Service to America
(VISTA) is not counted. Under MAGI rules, earnings and cash benefits
from VISTA are counted.

m. Wisconsin's Family Support Program (s. 46.985, WI Stats.) This program
funds the unique needs of severely disabled children. They may be a
vendor or a money payment.

23.Spinal Bifida Child (PL 104-204) payments to any child of a Vietnam veteran for
any disability resulting from the child's spinal bifida.

24.Susan Walker Payments received from the class action settlement of Susan
Walker vs. Bayer Corporation. These payments are to hemophiliacs who
contracted the HIV virus from contaminated blood products.

25.Student Financial Aids

Under non-MAGI Rules, student financial aids are not counted as income
regardless of source. This includes student loans, grants, scholarships and work
study, and any financial assistance provided by a public or private organization
for the purpose of obtaining an education. Disregard the full amount of student
financial aids, including any amounts earmarked for living expenses. Count
income from an internship or assistantship that is not part of work study or
another student aid as earned income. Count Income from an internship or
assistantship that is not part of work study or another student aid, counts the
income from the internship or assistantship as earned income.

Example: Clark is a journalism student. The University School of Journalism has arranged
an internship for him to work 10 hours a week at The Daily Planet. The newspaper pays him
$30 a week. Count this as earned income when you are determining Clark's eligibility.
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Under MAGI Rules, work study income and any income from an internship or
assistantship should be counted as earned income. Grants, scholarships,
fellowships and any additional financial assistance provided by public or private
organizations that exceed the cost of tuition, books and mandatory fees are
counted as unearned income and should be pro-rated over the period of time they
are intended to cover. Student loans are not counted as income irrespective of
what the loan is used to pay for.

Example: Mary was awarded a scholarship for $3,500 in July that is intended to cover her
fall semester (September through December). Her tuition and course related expenses are
$3,250 for the semester. The $250 that exceeds the amount of tuition and course-related
expenses will be pro-rated over the four month period from September through December at
$62.50 in unearned income each month ($250/4 months = $62.50/month).

Types of grants, scholarships and fellowships counted as income include:
e Pell Grants,
e Robert Byrd Honors scholarships,
e Any grants, scholarships or fellowships received from the college
or university as part of a financial aid package,
e Any grants, scholarships or fellowships provided by public or
private organizations.

The following educational aid types are not counted as income:
e Loans, including Stafford Loans and Perkins Loans,
e AmeriCorps or HealthCorps grant,
e Bureau of Indian Affairs grant,
« GI Bill/ Veterans benefits,
e« ROTC benefits.

Note: These income types will not be considered when determining
if grants, scholarships and fellowships exceed the cost of tuition,
books and mandatory feeds.

The following expense types will be used to offset income from grants,
scholarships, fellowships and other financial aid:

e Tuition,

o Required books, supplies or equipment,

e Mandatory fees

The following expense types will not be allowed to offset income from
grants, scholarships or other financial aid:

e Room,

e Board (meals or meal plans),

o Personal expenses,

o Transportation and parking,
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e Loan fees,
e Health insurance costs.

26.Stipends from the UW Upward Bound Program paid to high school students
to encourage low income students to further their education.

27.Tax Refunds (Income and EITC)

28.Unpredictable Income which is unpredictable, irregular, and has no appreciable
effect on ongoing need.

29.VA Allowances for unusual medical expenses that are received by a veteran,
their surviving spouse, or dependent. Do not count aid and attendance and
housebound allowances received by veterans, spouses of disabled veterans and
surviving spouses. For institutionalized and community waiver cases, do not
count these allowances in eligibility and post-eligibility determinations, except for
residents of the State Veterans Home at King.

30.Wartime Relocation of Citizens (PL 100-383) restitution payments made to
individual Japanese-Americans (or their survivors) and Aleuts who were interned
or relocated during WW 11.

31.Workforce Investment Act Unearned Income (WIA) paid to any adult or minor
participating in WIA, including:

a. "Need-based payments" paid to persons as allowances to enable them to
participate in a training program.

b. "Compensation in lieu of wages" paid to persons in "tryout employment".
This is arranged when private-for-profit opportunities aren't available and
is generally limited to persons under age 22. Ask any applicant under age
23, or the local WIA staff if s/he is participating in "tryout employment”. If
s/he is, count this as unearned income.

c. "Payments for supportive services" paid to persons in training programs
who aren't able to pay for training related expenses (e.g., transportation,
health care, child care, meals).

32.W2 Payments for W-2 Transition (W-2 T), Custodial Parent of an Infant (CMC),
At Risk Pregnancy (ARP), and Community Service Jobs (CSJ). Do not disregard
payments for Trial Employment Match Program or Transform Milwaukee Jobs.

33.General Relief and Charity
34.SSlI/Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
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SSl is not counted income for BC+. The following is a brief list of the potential
codes for SSI.

Sl - SSI/Supplemental Security Income

SISE - SSI-E/Supplemental Security Income - Expenditure

SISS - State Supplemental Security Income

35.Interest and Dividend Income

Under non-MAGI rules, interest and dividend income is not counted income
for BC+.

Under MAGI rules, interest and dividend income is counted as unearned
income.

36.Lump Sums Payments

Under non-MAGI rules, lump sum payments (rather than recurring
payments) from such sources as insurance policies, inheritance, sale of
property, Railroad Retirement, Unemployment Compensation benefits,
retroactive corrective financial aid payments, etc. are counted as an asset
when received. There is no asset test for BC+ (20.1). The payment can be
either unearned or earned income. However, do not include payments that
are included in farm or self-employment income.

Under MAGI rules, count lump sum payments (if the payment is otherwise a
countable income type) in the month received.

37.Property Settlement

Money received as a property settlement is always an asset, regardless of
whether it is paid in one payment or installments. It is never income.

38.Subsidized Guardianship Payments

Subsidized guardianship payments are not counted for BadgerCare Plus (BC+).

39.The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009
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Disregard the one time payments of $250 sent to SSI, Veterans, Railroad
Retirement, and Social Security recipients as a result of The American Recovery
and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Effective 02/01/2009,disregard the $25 per week, temporary supplement benefits
from Unemployment Compensation (UC).
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his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

16.3 INCOME DEDUCTIONS
16.3.1 Support Payments

Under non-MAGI rules, deduct the amount of court ordered support a BC+ applicant
/member is obligated to pay for the support or maintenance of another person. Non-
court ordered payments are not deducted. Under MAGI rules, child support payments
will not be allowed as an income deduction.

The income deduction for a monthly court ordered support expense is the amount that
the member is "obligated" to pay as stipulated in the court order. The court ordered
obligated amount is allowed even if actual payments are not being made. The
deduction can only be made from the income of the person with the court ordered
obligation. Do not allow payments for arrearages and annual receipt and disbursement
(R & D) expenses.

Actual payments may be deducted for court ordered lying in costs (for the costs of the
birth of the child). Unlike monthly court ordered expenses, actual payments for lying in
costs are frequently paid at various times and are usually not tied to a regular payment
schedule.

Note: If the court order stipulates that the individual must pay a monthly amount toward
lying in costs, allow the court ordered monthly amount (obligated amount) as an income
deduction. If the member is required to pay lying in costs, but no specific monthly
amount is ordered, allow actual payments for lying in costs as an income deduction.

16.3.2 Pre-Tax Deductions

The following deductions will be allowed if the payments are taken out of the individual’s
paycheck on a pre-tax basis:

Health Insurance premium payments

Health Savings Account (including flexible spending accounts) contributions
Retirement contributions

Parking & Transit costs

Child Care Savings Account contributions

Group Life Insurance premium payments

oghwhE
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16.3.3 Tax Deductions

Under MAGI rules, monthly expenses related to the following tax deductions from page
one of the IRS Form 1040 will be allowed as income deductions for the current year,
even if the individual does not plan on filing taxes. If the expense is not incurred on a
monthly basis, it will be prorated and counted as a monthly expense.

Most of these deductions are not common, and they do not include itemized tax
deductions, like charitable contributions or mortgage interest.

In addition, a few deductions have caps, as noted in detail below. If an individual
reports and verifies a monthly expense that is more than the monthly cap, the deduction
will be the amount of the cap.

1. Student Loan Interest
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Interest on a loan taken to pay for school expenses for the following persons at
the time the loan was taken out:

o His or her spouse;

e His or her child under age 19; or

e His or her child under age 24 who was a student, lived with the individual for
more than half a year, did not provide more than half of his or her own
support for that year, and did not earn more than $3,900 during that year.

Do not count interest on a loan used for anything besides paying for education or
if a relative or employer gave the loan.

This deduction is capped at a monthly amount of $208.

Higher Education Expenses Includes tuition, school fees, room and board, and
other school-related expenses such as books and supplies. This is capped at a
monthly amount of $333.

Self-employment Tax Deduction Applies to individuals who are self-employed
and pay self-employment tax.

Spousal Support, Alimony or Maintenance The amount paid for court ordered
spousal support, alimony or maintenance or payments under Section 73 for a
current or prior spouse as a result of a legal separation or divorce. Do not deduct
more than the court ordered amount.

Teachers’ Tax-Deductible Expenses Applies to K-12 teachers who have up to
$250 in out-of-pocket work expenses (expenses not paid for by the employer).
This is capped at a monthly amount of $21.
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6. Self-employed SEP, Simple or Qualified Plan Contributions
Examples of these plans include:
« Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) Plan
e Savings Incentive Match Plan For Employees (SIMPLE)
e Qualified Plan Contributions

7. Penalties for Early Withdrawal of Funds Penalties to a bank or financial
institution for withdrawing funds early from a savings account where money must
be left in the account for a fixed period of time, such as a time saving account,
certificate of deposit (CD) or an annunity.

8. Performing Artists Tax-deductible Expenses Applies to performing artists who
have out-of-pocket business expenses not paid by the employer and meet the
following criteria:

o Worked for at least two employers who each paid at least $200;
« Did not earn more than $16,000 for his or her work in the current year; and
o Out-of-pocket expenses were more than 10% of his or her earnings.

9. Military Reserve Members’ Tax-deductible Expenses Applies to travel
expenses for members of the Armed Forces Reserve who travel more than 100
miles away from home to perform work for the Armed Forces Reserve.

10.Out-of-pocket Costs for a Job-related Move Applies to individuals who paid
out-of-pocket expenses for a job-related move and meets the following criteria:
« The move must be for a job-related reason, such as starting a new job,
and
e The new job must be at least 50 miles farther from the individual's old
home than the old home was from the individual’s old job or must be at
least 50 miles from the old home if the individual did not have a job before.

11.Loss from Sale of Business Property Applies to self-employed individuals that
had a loss from the sale or exchange of property that they owned for their
business.

12.Individual Retirement Account (IRA) Contributions Applies to individuals who
had income from a job and made contributions to an individual retirement
account (IRA). Also applies to self-employed individuals who made contributions
to an IRA they set up themselves.

13.Fee-based Official Tax-deductible Expenses Applies to individuals who are
fee-based officials and have out-of-pocket business expenses. Examples of fee-
based officials include chaplains, county commissioners, judges, justices of the
peace, sheriffs, constables, registrars of deeds or building inspectors.

14.Domestic Production Activities Deduction Applies to self-employed
individuals who led the production of things like property, electricity, natural gas,
or potable water, as long as these things were produced in the United States.
This also applies to individuals who invented or created software, recordings, or
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films in the United States.

Note: This deduction is not common.

15.Allowable Write-in Expenses These deductions include:
o Contributions to Archer MSAs
o Deductions attributable to rents and royalties
« Certain deductions of life tenants and income beneficiaries of property
« Jury duty pay given to the employer because the juror was paid a salary
during duty
Reforestation expenses
Costs involving discrimination suits
Attorney fees relating to awards to whistleblowers
Contributions to section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans.
Contributions by certain chaplains to section 403(b) plans

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

16.4 EARNED INCOME

16.4.1 Specially Treated Wages
16.4.2 Room and Board Income
16.4.3 Self Employment Income
16.4.3.1 Income Sources
16.4.3.2 Calculating BC+ Self Employment Income
16.4.3.2.1 IRS Tax Forms
16.4.3.2.2 Worksheets
16.4.3.2.3 Disallowed Expenses
16.4.3.2.4 Anticipating Earnings
16.4.3.3 Losses Offsetting Other Income (MAGI Rules Only)
16.4.4 Verification
16.4.4.1 Self-Employment Hours

Earned income is income from gainful employment.

Under non-MAGI rules, earned income for individuals under 18 years of age is not
counted. The gross earned income before any deductions are taken out is counted.

Under MAGI rules, earned income after pre-tax deductions will be counted. See 16.3.2
for more information on pre-tax deductions.
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1. Contractual Income

This provision applies primarily to teachers and other school employees.

When an employed BC+ group member is paid under a contract, either written or
verbal, rather than on an hourly or piecework basis, the income is prorated over
the period of the contract. For example, if the contract is for 18 months, the
income is prorated over 18 months no matter the number of installments made in
paying the income. The income is prorated even if:

a. There are predetermined vacation periods, or

b. S/he will only be paid during work periods, or

c. S/he will be paid only at the end of the work period, season, semester or
school year.

2. Income In Kind

Count in-kind benefits as earned income if they are:

a. Regular, and
b. Predictable, and
c. Received in return for a service or product.

Do not count:

a. Meals and lodging for armed services members.

b. In-kind services that do not meet all three of the above criteria.

c. To determine the value of in-kind benefits, use the prevailing wage (but
not less than the minimum wage) in the community for the type of work the
person does to earn the benefits.

3. Wage Advances Count advances on wages as earned income in the month
received.
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4. Severance Pay Count severance pay as earned income in the month of
receipt. Count severance pay that has been deferred at the employee’s request
or through a mutual agreement with his/her employer as earned income when
s/he would have received the amount had it not been deferred.

5. Worker's Compensation
Under non-MAGI rules, count Worker's Compensation as earned income.

Under MAGI rules, do not count Worker's Compensation as earned income.
16.4.1 Specially Treated Wages

1. Income Received by Members of a Religious Order
Under non-MAGI rules, count any compensation that a member of a religious
order receives as earned income if the compensation is for gainful employment,
even if the compensation is turned back over to the order. Count any
compensation that a member of a religious order receives, not related to gainful
employment, as unearned income even if the compensation is turned over to the
order.

Under MAGI rules,if a person is a member of a religious order and has taken a
vow of poverty, do not count any compensation that a member of a religious
order receives if the compensation is turned back over to the order.

2. Housing Allowances for Members of the Clergy
Under MAGI rules, do not count any housing or housing utility allowances that
are received as compensation for services as an ordained, licensed, or
commissioned minister as income.

3. Jury Duty Payments

Under non-MAGI rules, count any portion of a jury payment that is over and above
expenses as earned income.

Under MAGI rules, count all jury duty payments as earned income for the month in
which it is received if the payments are not turned over to the individual's
employer. Amounts received separately as reimbursements or allowances for
travel to and from the courthouse, meals, and lodging during jury duty are not
countable.

4. AmeriCorps

Under non-MAGI rules, disregard any benefit whether cash or in-kind, including
but not limited to living allowance payments, stipends, food and shelter, clothing
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allowance, and educational awards or payments in lieu of educational awards.
Disregard any child care allowance to the extent it was used to meet child care
expenses to participate in AmeriCorps. Disregard any basic health insurance
policy, child care services, auxiliary aid, and services to people with disabilities
and the national service.

Under MAGI rules, earnings or cash benefits received through AmeriCorps,
including VISTA, will be counted as earned income. Educational awards received
from AmeriCorps are not counted as income.

. Title V - Older Americans Act of 1965

Count only wages and salaries paid to individuals as a result of their participation
in a program funded under Title V of the Older Americans Act of 1965 as earned
income.

These programs include, but are not limited to:

Green Thumb.

Experience Works.

The National Urban League.

National Senior Citizens Education and Research Center (Senior Aides).
National Indian Council on Aging.

U.S.D.A. Forest Service.

Wisconsin Senior Employment Program (WISE).

Community service employment programs, such as the Older Americans
Community Service Program.

S@~ooo0oTp

Identify programs funded under the Title V of the Older Americans Act using
documents provided by the member, contacts with the provider, or a local council
on aging.

Do not count reimbursements (16.2 #19).

16.4.2 Room and Board Income

Under non-MAGI rules, calculate net amount by deducting one of the following from the gross
amount received from each roomer/boarder: $15 roomer only, $111 Boarder only, $126 roomer
and boarder.

Under MAGI rules, these deductions are no longer used if this income is reported as room and
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board income. If room and board income is reported as self-employment income, see section
16.4.3 for more information on counting self-employment income.

16.4.3 Self Employment Income

Self-employment income is income derived directly from one's own business rather than as an
employee with a specified salary or wages from an employer. "Business” means an occupation,
work, or trade in which a person is engaged as a means of livelihood.

A business is operating when it is ready to function in its specific purpose. The period of
operation begins when the business first opens and generally continues uninterrupted up to the
present. A business is operating even if there are no sales and no work is being performed. Thus
a seasonal business operates in the off season unless there's been a significant change in
circumstances.

A business isn't operating when it can't function in its specific purpose. For instance, if a
mechanic can't work for 4 months because of an illness or injury, he may claim his business
wasn't in operation for those months.

Self Employment is identified according to the following criteria.

Organization

A farm or other business is organized in 1 of 3 ways:

1. A sole proprietorship, which is an unincorporated business owned by one person.

2. A partnership, which exists when 2 or more persons associate to conduct
business. Each person contributes money, property, labor, or skills, and expects
to share in the profits and losses. Partnerships are unincorporated.

3. A corporation is a legal entity authorized by a state to operate under the rules of
the entity's charter. There may be one or more owners. A corporation differs
from the other forms because a corporation:

a. Istaxed as a separate entity rather than the owners being taxed as
individuals, and

b. Provides only limited liability. Each owner’s loss is limited to their
investment in the corporation while the owners of unincorporated business
are also personally liable.

IRS Tax Forms
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A self-employed person who earns more than $400 net income must file an end-of-year return.
A person who will owe more than $400 in taxes at the end of the year must file quarterly
estimates.

IRS tax forms for reporting self-employment income are listed below.

Form 1065 - Partnership

Form 1120 - Corporation

Form 1120S - S Corporation

Form 4562 - Depreciation & Amortization
Form 1040 - Sole Proprietorship

agrwnE

Schedule C ( Form 1040 ) - Business (non-farm)

Schedule E ( Form 1040 ) - Rental and Royalty

Schedule F ( Form 1040 ) - Farm Income

Schedule SE ( Form 1040 ) - Social Security Self-Employment

apop

Employee Status
A person is an employee if s/he is under the direct "wield and control" of an employer. The

employer has the right to control the method and result of the employee's service. A self-
employed person earns income directly from his/her own business, and:

1. Does not have federal income tax and FICA payments withheld from a paycheck.

Note: A baby sitter who works in someone else's home is considered an
employee of that household, even if the individual employing him/her does not
withhold taxes or FICA.

2. Does not complete a W-4 for an employer.

3. Is not covered by employer liability insurance or worker's compensation.
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4. Is responsible for his/her own work schedule.

Examples of self-employment are:

a. Businesses that receive income regularly ( for example, daily, weekly or
monthly):
a. Merchant.
b. Small business.
c. Commercial boarding house owner or operator.
d. Owner of rental property.

b. Service businesses that receive income frequently, and possibly,
sporadically:
Craft persons.
a. Repair persons.
b. Franchise holders.
c. Subcontractors.
d. Sellers of blood and plasma.
e. Commission sales persons (such as door-to-door delivery).

3. Businesses that receive income seasonally:
a. Summer or tourist oriented business.
b. Seasonal farmers (custom machine operators).
c. Migrant farm worker crew leaders.
d. Fishers, trappers, or hunters.
e. Roofers.

4. Farming, including income from cultivating the soil, or raising or harvesting
any agricultural commodities. It may be earned from full-time, part-time or
hobby farming.

16.4.3.1 Income Sources

Self-employment income sources are:
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1. Business. Income from operating a business.

2. Capital Gains. Business income from selling securities and other property is
counted. Personal capital gains are not counted as income. Under non-MAGI
rules, personal capital gains are not counted as income. Under MAGI rules,
personal capital gains and ordinary gains or losses are counted as income. See
section 16.5 for more information.

3. Rental.

Rental income is rent received from properties owned or controlled. Rental
income is either earned or unearned. It is earned only if the owner actively
manages the property on an average of 20 or more hours per week. Itis
unearned when the owner reports it to the IRS as other than self-employment
income.

Use "net" rental income in the eligibility determination. "Net" rental income means
gross rental receipts minus business expenses.

When a MA group member reports rental income to the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) as self-employment income, see 3A Reported to IRS as Self Employment
Income.

If s/he does not report it as self-employment income, add "net rent" to any other
unearned income on the appropriate worksheet. Determine "net rent" as detailed
in 3B Rental Income not reported as Self Employment Income.

3A Reported to IRS as Self Employment Income

When the owner isn't an occupant, net rental income is the rent payment received
minus the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other verified operational
costs.

When a life estate holder moves off the property and the property is rented, net
rental income is the rent payment received minus taxes, insurance, and
operational costs. The operational costs are the same as the costs the holder was
liable for when living on the property.

When the owner lives in one of the units of a multiple unit dwelling and does not
file taxes for the rental income, compute net rental income as follows:
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1. Add the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other operational
costs common to the entire operation.

2. Multiply the number of rental units by the total in step 1.

3. Divide the result in step 2 by the total number of units, to get the
proportionate share.

4. Add the proportionate share to any operational costs paid that are unique
to any rental unit. This equals total expenses.

5. Subtract total expenses from the total rent payments to get net rent.

3B Rental Income not reported as self employment income

When a BC+ group member reports rental income to the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) as self-employment income, see 3A.

If s/he does not report it as self-employment income, add "net rent" to any other
unearned income on the appropriate worksheet. Determine "net rent" as follows:

. When the owner is not an occupant, "net rent" is the rent payment received

minus the interest portion of the mortgage payment, and other verifiable
operational costs. Operational costs include ordinary and necessary expenses
such as insurance, taxes, advertising for tenants, and repairs. Repairs include
such expenses as repainting, fixing gutters or floors, plastering, and replacing
broken windows.

Capital expenditures are not deductible from gross rent. A capital expenditure is
an expense for an addition or increase in the value of the property. It would
include improvements such as finishing a basement, adding a room, putting up a
fence, putting in new plumbing, wiring or cabinets, paving a driveway.

If an institutionalized person has excess operational costs above the monthly
rental income, carry the excess costs over into later months until they are offset
completely by rental income. But do the carryover only until the end of the year in
which the expenses were incurred.

When a life estate holder moves off the property and the property is rented, count
the net rental income the holder is entitled to receive. Net rental income is the
gross rental income minus taxes, insurance, and other operational costs. The
operational costs are the same as the costs the holder was liable for when living
on the property.
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2. When s/he receives income from a duplex, triplex, etc. and lives in one of the
units, determine "net rent" as follows:

a. Add the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other verifiable
operational costs common to the entire operation.

b. Multiply the number of rental units by the total in "a."

c. Divide the result in "b." by the total number of units. This is the
proportionate share.

d. Add the proportionate share "c." to any operational costs paid by the
member that are unique to any rental unit. The result is the total member
expense.

e. Subtract the total member expense "d." from the total rent payments to get
"net rent.

3. Royalties. Royalty income is unearned income received for granting the use of
property owned or controlled. Examples are patents, copyrighted materials or a
natural resource. The right to income is often expressed as a percentage of
receipts from using the property or as an amount per unit produced. See section
16.5 for more information on counting royalty income.

16.4.3.2 Calculating BC+ Self Employment Income

Calculate BC+ income by either:
1. Using IRS tax forms (16.4.3.2.1) completed for the previous year, or
2. Anticipating earnings (16.4.3.2.4).

16.4.3.2.1 IRS Tax Forms

Don't fill out any IRS tax forms (or the Self-Employment Income Report form; F-00107)
yourself. This is the responsibility of the member.

Consult IRS tax forms only if:

1. The business was in operation at least one full month during the previous tax
year, and
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2. The business has been in operation six or more months at the time of the
application , and

3. The person doesn't claim a change in circumstances since the previous year.

If all three conditions aren't met, use anticipated earnings (16.4.3.2.4).
16.4.3.2.2 Worksheets

If you decide to use IRS tax forms, use them together with the self-employment income
worksheets (F-16034, F-16035, F-16036 and F-16037).

The worksheets identify net income and depreciation by line on the IRS tax forms.

For each operation, select the worksheet you need and, using the provided tax forms and/or
schedule, complete the worksheet. These are:

1. Sole Proprietor - Farm and Other Business

IRS Schedule C ( Form 1040 ) - Non-farm Business Income
IRS Schedule E ( Form 1040 ) - Rental and Royalty Income
IRS Schedule F ( Form 1040 ) - Farm Income

IRS Form 4797 - Capital & Ordinary Gains

apop

2. Partnership

a. IRS Form 1065 - Partnership Income
b. IRS Schedule K-1 ( Form 1065 ) - Partner's Share of Income

3. Corporation

IRS Form 1120 - Corporation Income
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4. Subchapter S Corporation
a. IRS Form - 1120S - Small Business Corporation Income
b. IRS Schedule K-1 ( Form 1120S - Shareholder's Share of Income

Next, divide IM income by the number of months that the business was in operation during the
previous tax year.

The result is monthly IM income. Add this to the fiscal test group's other earned and unearned
income. If, monthly IM income is a loss, add zero to the non self-employment income.

When a household has more than one self-employment operation, the losses of one may be used
to offset the profits of another. Apply this offset only to those self-employment operations that
produced earned income. Don’t apply a loss from unearned income to a gain in earned income.
Losses from self-employment can’t be used to offset other earned or unearned income. Under
non-MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can’t be used to offset other earned or unearned
income. Under MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can be used to offset other income

types.

If you use more than one worksheet because there is more than one operation, combine the
results of each worksheet into one monthly IM income amount before adding that total to any
other income. Remember that while a salary or wage paid to a test group member is an allowable
business expense, you must count it as earned income to the payee.

Continue to process the group through the balance of the Handbook, including some additional
work-related expenses that IRS doesn't allow as business expenses.

16.4.3.2.3 Disallowed Expenses

Generally, expenses that are allowed by the IRS on business tax forms are considered allowed
expenses for BadgerCare Plus. However, under non-MAGI rules, some specific expenses allowed
in the calculation of Self Employment Income on the IRS tax forms but are not allowed for
BadgerCare Plus. Under MAGI rules, countable self-employment income will be the same as the
net self-employment taxable income.

Depreciation and Depletion
Through March 31, 2014, depreciation expenses will continue to be handled using the
follow process for applicants tested under non-MAGI rules:

Net self employment income for BC+ groups is first determined without allowing
depreciation expenses. If the group’s total countable IM income exceeds 200% of the
Federal Poverty Level, the self employed group is allowed a second income test. For
the second test, net self-employment income is redetermined, this time deducting
depreciation expenses. If the total countable IM income minus the depreciation is less
than 200% of the Federal Poverty Level,, the adults and children are eligible for the
Benchmark Plan. The premium for the parents and children in the household is 5% of
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the household’s total countable gross income including depreciation. (i.e., depreciation
expenses are not deducted)

Effective February 1, 2014 for new BC+ applicants and effective April 1, 2014 for
existing BC+ members, depreciation and depletion expenses will be allowable
expenses.

Under non-MAGI rules the following expenses are not allowed for BadgerCare Plus:

Net loss carryover from previous periods (long term capital loss)

Federal, State, and local income taxes

Charitable donations

Work-related personal expenses, such as transportation to and from work

Employer work-related personal expenses such as pensions, employee benefit

and retirement programs and/or profit sharing expenses (Business expenses for

employees’ pensions, benefits, retirement programs, and profit sharing expenses

are allowable, but the work-related personal expenses of the employer are not).

6. The purchase price of income producing real estate, capital assets/equipment,
and durable goods or payments on the principal of loans for the purchase of
these assets.

7. Guaranteed payments to partners

arwnE

Under MAGI rules, the following expenses will continue to not be allowed for
BadgerCare Plus:

1. Charitable donations

2. Work-related personal expenses, such as transportation to and from work

3. Employer work-related personal expenses such as pensions, employee benefit
and retirement programs and/or profit sharing expenses (Business expenses for
employees’ pensions, benefits, retirement programs, and profit sharing expenses
are allowable, but the work-related personal expenses of the employer are not).

16.4.3.2.4 Anticipating Earnings

If past circumstances don't represent present circumstances, calculate self-employment income
based on anticipated earnings. A change in circumstances is any change that can be expected to
affect income over time. It is the person’s responsibility to report changes.

The date of an income change is the date you agree that a change occurred. You must also judge
whether the person's report was timely to decide if the case was over or underpaid. Changes are
then effective according to the normal prospective budgeting cycle. Don't recover payments
made before the agreed on date.

Other instances when you would use anticipated earnings:
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1. The business wasn't operating at least one full month during the previous tax
year.
2. The business wasn't operating six or more months at the time of the interview.

Examples of changed circumstances are:

e The owner sold or simply closed down the business.

e The owner sold a part of his business (e.g., one of two retail stores).

e The owneris ill or injured and will be unable to operate the business for a
period of time.

e A plumber gets the contract on a new apartment complex. The job will take
nine months and his/her income will increase.

e A farmer suffers unusual crop loss due to the weather or other circumstances.

e There's a substantial cost increase for a particular material such that there will
be less profit per unit sold.

e Sales, for an unknown reason, are consistently below previous levels. The
relevant period may vary depending on the type of business (consider normal
sales fluctuations).

The Self-Employment Income Report form (SEIRF) (F-00107) simplifies reporting income and
expenses when earnings must be anticipated. It's modeled after IRS Form 1040, Schedule C, and
can be used to report income for any type of business with any form of organization. However,
some, especially farm operators, may find it easier to complete the IRS tax form when income
and expense items are more complex.

To compute anticipated earnings, the person must complete a SEIRF for those months of
operation since the change in circumstances occurred following the guidelines below (remember,
the beginning of a business is a change in circumstances). S/he may complete the SEIRF for
each month separately or combine the months on one SEIRF.

When a new self-employment business is reported or when a change in circumstance occurs and
the past circumstances no longer represent the present, recalculate self-employment income:

1. When two or more months of actual self-employment information is available,
calculate a monthly self-employment net income average using all of the actual
income information beginning from the date self employment began or the date
of the significant change. See example 1.
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2. When at least one full month but less than two full months of actual self-
employment income information is available, calculate a monthly net income
average using the actual net income received in any partial month of operation,
the one full month of operation and an estimate of net income for the next month.
See example 2.

3. When there is less than one full month of actual income information available,
calculate a monthly net self-employment income average using the actual net
income received in the partial month (since the change in circumstance occurred)
and estimated income and expenses for the next two months. See example 3.

Use the average until the person's next review or if a significant change in circumstances is
reported between reviews.

Example 1: Bonnie applies for CC and BC+ on April 5, 2007. She reports that she started
self-employment in January 2007. The agency uses a SEIRF for January, February and
March to determine the prospective self-employment income estimate for Bonnie’s BC+ and
CC certification period (April 2007 - March 2008).

On Bonnie’s September SMRF, no change in self-employment income is reported and the
worker continues to use the average determined at the time of application.

Example 2: Ricardo is applying for FS and BC+ eligibility on February 5, 2007. He started
self-employment on December 15th. To calculate his prospective self-employment income,
he completes a SEIRF for December, January, and February including his actual and expected
income and expenses for three months. The worker divides this total by three to determine an
anticipated monthly average income amount. This amount is used until a change in self-
employment is reported, or until Ricardo completes a new application or a review.

Example 3: Jenny is a BC+ member and CC recipient who has been self-employed as a hair
dresser since 2002. Jenny’s BC+ and CC certification period is December 2006 to November
2007. The worker used Jenny’s 2005 tax return to establish a monthly income amount.

In March 2007 Jenny reports that she has been unable to work since breaking her arm on
February 17. She is not sure when she’ll be able to return to work, but it will not be until at
least May. The worker has Jenny complete a SEIRF for February 17- February 28 (actual
income since the change in circumstance occurred) and for March and April using the best
estimate of income to establish her prospective self-employment income. The worker will
use these three months to determine a prospective self-employment income estimate for the
remainder of the certification period. Jenny does not need to submit any additional SEIRFs.
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Use the anticipated earnings amount until the person completes an IRS tax form or reports a
change in circumstances.

16.4.3.3 Losses Offsetting Other Income (MAGI Rules Only)

Under MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can be used to offset the individual’s
other income types. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint tax return
with his or her spouse, losses from self-employment may offset the spouse’s income.

16.4.4 Verification

Self employment income is not available through data exchange and therefore questionable
(9.10). Completed and signed IRS tax forms (16.4.3.2.1) are sufficient verification of farm and
self-employment income. If anticipated earnings are used, a completed and signed SEIRF is
sufficient verification.

It isn't necessary to collect copies of supportive items such as receipts from sales and purchases.
However, you can require verification when the information given is in question. Document the
reason for the request.

16.4.4.1 Self-Employment Hours

Count the time a self-employed person puts in on business related activities involving planning,
selling, advertising, and management along with time put in on production of goods and
providing of services as hours of work.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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16.5 OTHER INCOME

Unemployment Compensation (UC)
Child Support

Social Security Benefits

Federal Match Grants for Refugees
Gifts

Land Contract

Loans

Profit Sharing

. Retirement Benefits

10. Sick Benefits

11.Trusts

©CoNohkrwhE
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12. Gambling Winnings

13.Royalties
14.Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses

Other income is any payment that the member receives from sources other than
employment. Unless it is disregarded income, count the gross payment in the person’s
income total.

1. Unemployment Compensation (UC) - Count UC that is intercepted to collect
child support as if the UC beneficiary actually received the intercepted dollars.

2. Child Support
Under non-MAGI rules, count child support income as unearned income.

Under MAGI rules, do not count child support income.
3. Social Security Benefits - Count Social Security Benefits as unearned income
in the month received.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is not counted (16.2.33).

The following is a brief list of the potential codes that should be used in coding
Social Security income types:

SSDC - Social Security Disabled Child

SSDI - Social Security Disability/Wage Earner
SSDW - Social Security Disability/Wife

SSRE - Social Security Retirement

SSSC - Social Security Surviving Child

SSSS - Social Security Surviving Spouse
SSWW - Social Security Disabled Widow(er)

Under MAGI rules, although Social Security Benefits are not taxable, they must
be counted as unearned income. However, Social Security Benefits are not
considered when determining if an individual is “expected to be required” to file a
tax return for the current year. See section 2.7.2 for more information.

4. Federal Match Grants for Refugees - Some refugee resettlement agencies
have grants available for refugees for their second, third, and fourth month after
arrival in the U.S. These are cash grants and can vary in the amount issued.
Under non-MAGI rules, count these payments as unearned income. Under MAGI
rules, do not count this income.

5. Gifts - A gift is something a person receives which is not repayment for goods or

services the person provided and is not given because of a legal obligation on
the giver’'s part. To be a gift, something must be given irrevocably (that is, the
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donor relinquishes all control).

Under non-MAGI rules, count Monetary gifts over $30 a calendar quarter. A
Calendar quarter is three consecutive months beginning with January, April, July
or October.

Under MAGI rules, do not count the value of property received as a gift as income.
Count a gift as income in the month received if it meets either of the following
criteria:
e Income from a bequest, devise or inheritance
« Income generated from property given to a trust if the income is paid,
credited or distributed to the individual

Example 1: Keisha is the beneficiary of a trust. Land was given to the trust, and it generates
interest that is distributed to Keisha as the beneficiary. Count this interest as unearned income.

6. Land Contract - Count any portion of monthly payments received that are
considered interest from a land contract as unearned income. Do not count the
principal as income, because it is the conversion of one asset form to another.
Deduct from the gross amount any expenses the person is required to pay by
the terms of the contract.

If the income is received less often than monthly, prorate the income to a monthly
amount. Do not begin budgeting this monthly amount until the person first
receives a payment after becoming eligible.

Example 1: Bob receives land contract payments from Farmer Brown twice a year,
one $500 payment in March and another $500 payment in September.

If Bob is applying in February prorate the land contract payments Bob receives after
he becomes eligible. In March when Bob receives a $500 land contract payment,
divide the total income ($500) by the frequency of the payments (six months) to get
the budgeted income amount of $83.33 per month ($500/6 months = $83.33). Begin
budgeting this amount in March.

7. Loans - If an BC+ member makes a loan (except a land contract), treat the
repayments as follows:

a. Count the interest as unearned income in the month received. In the
months following the month the interest payment was received, count the
interest payment as an asset.

b. Do not count any repayments toward the principal of the loan, whether it
is a full payment, a partial payment, or an installment payment, as an
asset.
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If an AG member receives a loan and it is available for current living
expenses, count it as an asset. Do this even if there is a repayment
agreement. If it is not available for current living expenses, disregard it.

8. Profit Sharing - Count profit sharing income as unearned income in the month
received. Tax-deferred contributions made to a profit-sharing plan are not taxable
and are not counted as income.

9. Retirement Benefits - Retirement benefits include work-related plans for
providing income when employment ends (e.g. pension disability or retirement
plans administered by an employer or union).

Other examples of retirement funds include accounts owned by the individual,
such as Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA) and plans for self-employed
individuals, sometimes referred to as KEOGH plans.

Under non-MAGI rules, periodic payments made from a work-related retirement
benefit plan should be counted as income in the month of receipt. Payments from
an ineligible spouse’s work related pension account are also counted as income to
the ineligible spouse.

Any periodic payments from individually owned accounts (e.g., IRA) should not be
counted as income in the month of receipt. They are considered the same as
withdrawals from an applicant’s savings account.

Consider IRAs, Keoghs, or other retirement funds that are completely cashed in
as a conversion from one asset form to another. BC+ does not count assets in
eligibility determinations.

Under MAGI rules, count the taxable portion of any retirement distribution as
unearned income.

10.Sick Benefits -
Under non-MAGiI rules, count Sick benefits received from an insurance policy
such as an income continuation policy as unearned income.
Under MAGI rules, count sick benefits received from an insurance policy if the
individual’'s employer contributed or paid for the benefit. Do not count the
following:
« Reimbursement for medical care;
o Payments for loss of a member or bodily function, or permanent
disfigurement; or
e Amounts computed with reference to the injury but not with respect to the
individual's absence from work.
11.Trusts - A trust is any arrangement in which a person (the "grantor”) transfers
property to another person with the intention that person (the "trustee”) hold,
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manage, or administer the property for the benefit of the grantor or of someone
designated by the grantor (the "beneficiary”).

The term "trust” includes any legal instrument or device or arrangement which,
even though not called a trust under state law, has the same attributes as a trust.
That is, the grantor transfers property to the trustee and the grantor's intention is
that the trustee holds, manage, or administer the property for the benefit of the
grantor or of the beneficiary.
The grantor can be:

The BC+ member.

The spouse of the BC+ member.

A person, including a court or administrative body, with legal authority to act in

place of or on behalf of the member or the member’s spouse. This includes a power of
attorney or guardian.

d.

A person, including a court or an administrative body, acting at the direction or

upon the request of the member or the member’s spouse. This includes relatives,
friends, volunteers or authorized representatives.

All regular payments, excluding dividends and interest, made under the terms of
the trust, from the trust to the beneficiary are unearned income to the beneficiary.

12.Gambling Winnings
Under non-MAGI rules, gambling winnings are counted as unearned income in
the month of receipt. Gambling losses cannot be used to offset the winnings.

Under MAGI rules, count gambling winnings that are regular and predictable as
income. Gambling losses cannot be used to offset other types of income.
13.Royalties - Count Royalty income is as unearned income. Royalties are
payments received for granting the use of property owned or controlled.
Examples are patents, copyrighted materials or a natural resource. The right to
income is often expressed as a percentage of receipts from using the property or
as an amount per unit produced.
14.Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses
Under non-MAGI rules, do not count personal capital and ordinary gains or
losses.

Under MAGI rules, if personal capital gains are regular and predictable, count as
unearned income. Personal capital losses can be used to offset the individual's
other income types. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint tax
return with his or her spouse, personal capital losses may offset the spouse’s
income.

171



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

16.6 FLUCTUATING INCOME

If the amount or frequency of regularly received income is known, average the income
over the period between payments. If neither the amount nor the frequency is
predictable, do not average; count income only for the month in which it is received.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

16.7 PRORATING INCOME

Income received on a yearly basis or less often than monthly, that is predictable in both
amount and frequency, must be converted to a monthly amount or prorated.

Prorate means "to distribute proportionately."

Example 1: Sally receives a $1,500 Tribal Distribution Payment quarterly. This
payment should be prorated for the months between payments. $1,500 is distributed
over three months by dividing the amount of money by the number of months
between payments. The prorated amount is $1,500/3= $500 a month.

Prorating is applied to a member’s income when the income is received less often than
monthly. By prorating, income is distributed evenly over the number of months between
payments

When an assistance group applies, do not count the prorated income until it is received.

Example 2: Joe receives semi-annual land contract installments of $900. This
equals a monthly income of $150 ($900 prorated over six months). He becomes
eligible in May. He receives payments in January and July each year. Do not budget
any prorated income until July, the first month of receipt after Joe becomes eligible.

If the group becomes ineligible and reapplies before they receive the next installment,
use the same prorated amount as before.
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16.8 MIGRANT WORKER'S INCOME

Use annualized earned income for migrant worker’s income. “Annualized earned
income” is a prospective monthly estimate of earned income based on the estimated
total gross annual earnings divided by 12. Annualized income can be based on the past
12 months of the migrant family’s income if it is anticipated that last year’'s income is the
best estimate of the current year’s prospective income.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
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17 DEDUCTIBLES

17.1 DEDUCTIBLES

Through March 31, 2014 children (under age 19) with income above 150% of the FPL
who have access to insurance can qualify for BC+ by meeting a deductible.

Effective April 1, 2014, children (under age 19) with income over 300% FPL (non-MAGI
rules) or 306% (MAGI rules) may become eligible for BC+ by meeting a deductible.
Children with income over 150% FPL (non-MAGI rules) or 156% FPL (MAGI rules) who
are denied BC+ solely due to access to health insurance may also become eligible for
BC+ by meeting a deductible. The deductible amount is calculated for a six-month
period using the amount of income that exceeds 150% FPL.

Pregnant women with incomes above 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL
(under MAGI rules) can qualify for BC+ by meeting a deductible. The deductible amount
is calculated for a six month period using the amount of income that exceeds 300% FPL
for pregnant women. The deductible is met by incurring medical expenses that equal
the deductible amount.

Note: When determining the deductible amount under MAGI rules, only the income of
the member, the member’s spouse, and if the member is under age 19, the member’s
parents should be considered. If a sibling’s or tax dependent’s income has been
counted as part of the applicant’s regular MAGI assistance group, it should be excluded
for purposes of calculating the deductible. Do not change the group size for the MAGI
assistance group.
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17.2 PREGNANT WOMEN

17.2.1 Introduction
17.2.2 Deductible Period
17.2.3 Calculating the Deductible Amount

17.2.1 Introduction

The deductible amount for a pregnant woman is the amount of countable income above
300% FPL for a six month period. To meet the deductible she or other family members
included in the BC+ group must incur medical bills equal to her deductible amount. If
she applied prior to February 1, 2014, when the deductible is met she will be covered
under the Benchmark plan through March 31, 2014 with no premium until two months
after giving birth. Effective February 1, 2014, all pregnant women who are applying for
BC+, including those eligible through deductibles, will be covered under the Standard
Plan.

Note: For eligibility regarding BadgerCare Prenatal for inmates of a public institution or
non-qualifying immigrants , see 41.2 for that specific policy.

Note: If there is more than one pregnant woman in the BC+ group, all of them become
eligible when a deductible is met.

Through March 31, 2014, a self-employed pregnant woman with assistance group
income over 300% FPL, who is also the parent or caretaker relative of a child, does not
have to meet a deductible. She is eligible with no premium under the Benchmark plan.
If she is not the parent or caretaker relative of a born child, she would have to meet a
deductible to become eligible for BC+. Beginning April 1. 2014, she will be eligible for
coverage under the Standard Plan once she meets the deductible.

Effective January 1, 2014, a pregnhant minor with family income over 300% FPL (under
non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules) has the option to either prepay the
pregnancy deductible or to wait to meet the deductible.

If the pregnant woman applies after the birth of her baby and becomes eligible by
meeting a deductible in the back dated months, she is only eligible as a pregnant
woman until the end of the month she gives birth.

Example: Janet applies for BC+ in July and requests a BC+ deductible period from
April through September. She gave birth on June 30th. Janet paid the full deductible
amount, so is certified from April 1st through June 30th. She should be tested as a
caretaker relative effective July 1st if she is living with the newborn or any other child
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under her care.

Note: Effective April 1, 2014, if Janet has no children living with her, she can also be
tested for BC+ eligibility as a childless adult.

17.2.2 Deductible Period

The pregnant woman can choose to begin the BC+ deductible period as early as three
months prior to the month of application , and as late as the month of application.

A pregnant woman can choose a BC+ deductible period which includes a month in

which, if s/he had applied, s/he would have been ineligible for a non-financial reason.
Although excess income is still calculated over a six month period, the individual can
only be certified for BC+ during the dates when he or she was non-financially eligible.

Example 1: Luanne applied for BC+ on June 1st and requests a BC+ deductible
period from April through September. She gave birth on June 2nd and gave the baby
up for adoption. Luanne paid the full deductible amount, so is certified from April 1st
through June 30th.

A new deductible period can be established at any time before the current deductible
has been met.

Example 2: Julie is pregnant and due November 15th. She applied for BC+ April 1st
and a deductible period was set up for April through September. She did not incur
enough expenses to meet the deductible. In July, Julie’s income decreased and she
requested a new deductible period from July through November. Because she had
not met the original deductible, the new deductible period could be established.

A pregnant woman who is ineligible for excess income in some backdate months, but
has no excess income in others, does not have to choose to have a BC+ deductible.
She can choose to be certified in the months she is eligible and to accept the
ineligibility of the other months when she had excess income.

Example 3: Rachel is pregnant and applied for BC+ in July. She had no income and
did not expect any income in the future. She was eligible in July. She also
requested BC+ eligibility for April to cover some medical expenses she had in April.
In April and May she had income in excess of 300% of the FPL. In June she would
have been eligible because she had no income.

In April and May her income was over 300% of FPL by $200 a month. She has 2
choices:

1. Choose a BC+ deductible period of April through September. After meeting
the BC+ deductible of $400 she would be certified for BC+ from April through
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September or 60 days past the birth of her baby, with no premium.

2. Not choose a BC+ deductible period. She would not have to meet a BC+
deductible. She could be certified immediately for June through 60 days past
the birth of her baby but would have to forego BC+ for May and June because
of the excess income in May and June.

17.2.3 Calculating the Deductible Amount

To calculate the dollar amount of the BC+ deductible for a pregnant woman under non-
MAGI rules:

1. Determine the BC+ deductible period

2. Find the BC+ group's total countable income for each month in the deductible
period.

3. Compare the total income of each month with 300% FPL. If a month's income is
less than or equal to 300% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more than the
income limit, find the excess income by subtracting the income limit from the
income of that month.

4. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. The
result is the pregnant woman’s BC+ deductible amount.

When calculating a deductible amount for backdated months, use the actual, not
prospective, income received in the backdated months.

To calculate the dollar amount of the BC+ deductible for a pregnant woman under MAGI
rules:

1. Determine the BC+ deductible period

2. Find the BC+ group's total countable income for each month in the deductible
period.

3. If the assistance group's total countable income include the income of someone
other than the pregnant woman, her spouse, or if she under age 19, her parents,
subtract the income of that person, but do not change the group size of the AG.

4. Compare the total income of each month with 300% FPL. If a month's income is
less than or equal to 300% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more than the
income limit, find the excess income by subtracting the income limit from the
income of that month.

5. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. The
result is the pregnant woman’s BC+ deductible amount.

When calculating a deductible amount for backdated months, use the actual, not
prospective, income received in the backdated months.
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17.3 CHILDREN UNDER 19

17.3.1 Deductible Period
17.3.2 Calculating the Deductible Amount

The deductible amount for a child under 19 is the amount of countable income above
150% FPL for a 6 month period. To meet the deductible, the child or other family
members included in the BC+ group must incur medical bills equal to the deductible
amount. Once the deductible is met, the child and all other children under 19 in the
BC+ group will be covered under the Standard plan without a premium, for the
remainder of the deductible period.

17.3.1 Deductible Period

The child under 19 can choose to begin the BC+ deductible period as early as three
months prior to the month of application and as late as the month of application.

Example 1: On November 1st, John’s mother and step-father apply for BC+ for
themselves, John and John’s two step-brothers. The family’s countable income is
above 150% FPL. John’s mother has employer sponsored insurance that covers her
and John. John is ineligible for BC+ due to the insurance access. John’s step-
brothers are eligible for BC+ with a premium. Because the health insurance does not
cover all of John’s medical expenses, in December John’s mother requests a
deductible for John. The deductible period is December through May. John has
medical bills that will meet the deductible as of January 1st. John and his two step-
brothers will be covered under the standard plan with no premium from January
through May.

The BC+ deductible period for a child can include a month in which, if s/he had applied,
s/he would have been ineligible for a non-financial reason other than health insurance
access or coverage. Although excess income is still calculated over a six month period,
the child can only be certified for BC+ during the dates when he or she met all non-
financial criteria other than health insurance access or coverage.

A new deductible period can be established at any time before the current deductible
has been met.

17.3.2 Calculating the Deductible Amount
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To calculate the dollar amount of the BC+ deductible for children under age 19 under
non-MAGI rules.

1.

2.

Determine the BC+ deductible period.

Find the BC+ group's total countable income for each month in the deductible
period.

Compare the total income of each month with 150% FPL. If a month's income is
less than or equal to 150% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more than the
income limit (150% FPL), find the excess income by subtracting the income limit
from the income of that month. The child could choose to drop the deductible for
months his/her income decreases and the child is eligible to enroll in BC+.

Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. The
result is the child’s BC+ deductible amount.

To calculate the dollar amount of the BC+ deductible for a child under MAGI rules:

=

Determine the BC+ deductible period.

Find the child’s assistance group's total countable income for each month in the
deductible period.

If the assistance group’s total countable income includes the income of someone
other than the child, the child’s parents, or, if married, the child’s spouse, subtract
the income of that person, but do not change the group size of the AG.

Compare the total income of each month with 150% FPL. If a month's income is
less than or equal to 150% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more than the
income limit (150% FPL), find the excess income by subtracting the income limit
from the income of that month. The child could choose to drop the deductible for
months his/her income decreases so that the child is eligible to enroll in BC+.
Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. The
result is the child’'s BC+ deductible amount.

Example 1: John, age 14, is ineligible for BC+ because his assistance group's
income is over 150% of the FPL and he is covered under his mother’s employer
sponsored health insurance plan. The household’s size is 5. Their income is
$3466.25 per month, which is $366.25 over the 150% FPL for a group size of 5.
John’s six month deductible amount is $2197.50. (366.25*6=2197.50)

Example 2: Mark, age 5, is ineligible for BC+ because his assistance group's income is over
306% of the FPL. The household is made up of Mark’s mother, who earns $4,000/month and his
brother, age 17, who earns $1,500/month and whose income is counted because he is expected to
be required to file taxes. Mark’s assistance group’s income is $5,500 per month, which is $3,026
over the 150% FPL for a group size of 3. However, because Mark’s brother is not his parent or

178



Financial Requirements (Chapters 16-24)

spouse, we must exclude his income from the deductible calculation. This reduces the excess
income to $1,526. John’s six month deductible amount is $9,156 ($1,526*6=$9,126).
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17.4 MEETING THE DEDUCTIBLE

17.4.1 When expenses can be counted toward a Deductible
17.4.2 Countable expenses
17.4.3 Expenses that can not be counted toward a Deductible

The BC+ member or group meets the deductible by incurring medical or remedial costs
that equal the dollar amount of the deductible. The countable costs are added together.
When they are equal to or greater than the amount of the deductible, the pregnant
woman or child under 19 can be certified for BC+ through the end of the deductible
period.

If an expense was applied to a prior deductible but did not result in BC+ certification, it
can be applied to a later deductible, as long as it still meets the criteria listed in (17.4.1).

17.4.1 When expenses can be counted toward a Deductible

To be counted toward the deductible, a medical or remedial expense must meet all of
the following conditions.

1. Beincurred by a member of the child’s or pregnant woman’s BC+ group.

Expenses may also be counted if incurred for someone the pregnant woman is
legally responsible for if that individual could be counted in the member's BC+
group. The medical bill may be used even if the family member is no longer living
or no longer in the current BC+ group.

Example 1: Sally's minor child Ida died of leukemia in April. In September, Sally
requests that a medical bill incurred for Ida be used towards her deductible. Sally is
still legally responsible for the bill. The bill can be used to meet the deductible as
long as it did not result in a BC+ certification in an earlier period.

2. Meet the Definition of Medical or Remedial expense described in 17.4.2.

3. Meet one of the following four conditions:
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a. Still be owed to the medical service provider sometime during the current
deductible period.

Expenses which have been "deferred” by the provider are considered a
countable cost still owed to the provider and can be used to meet a BC+
deductible.

e The deferred charge should be viewed as an incurred expense that
remains an unpaid obligation for the member.

« If only a portion of the deferred charge was used to meet a prior
deductible, any remaining balance can be used to meet future
deductibles.

e Because many deferred charge situations involve very high costs
for the services provided, it is extremely important to document in
Case Comments which portion of the deferred charges are used to
meet previous deductibles, and any remaining balance that can be
used to meet current or future deductibles.

Example 2: In May, Helen resided in an Institute for Mental Disease (UMD ) and
incurred a $14,000 bill. In October, Helen becomes pregnant and applies for BC+.

Helen turned in the bill for the stay in the IMD which shows the amount as 'deferred
charges’ which means the member would never be billed for the charges, but if s/he
happens to come into a windfall of money (lottery or inheritance), they will change the
status of those charges to current and try to collect the debt.

Helen can use this "deferred" charge toward her deductible.

Example 3: Lestat’s parent applies for BC+ in July 2008. A BC+ deductible of $700
is calculated for him. In January 2003, he had a blood transfusion. The bill for the
transfusion was $800. The bill was never paid. Lestat can use the unpaid bill to meet
his BC+ deductible, but must provide documentation to show that the charges are
currently owed. The remaining $100 can be applied to the next deductible period, as
long as it is still owed.

b. Paid or written off sometime during the current deductible period. Medical
bills written off through bankruptcy proceedings are not allowed as a
medical expense to meet a deductible.

Example 4: Estelle applies for BC+ in March. A deductible period is set up for
March through August. In April, she had a two-year-old medical bill of $300 written
off. She can apply the $300 toward the March - August deductible because it was
written off during the deductible period.
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c. Paid or written off sometime during the deductible period that immediately
precedes and borders on the current deductible period. These bills can be
used even if they were paid after the person met the deductible in the prior
period.

Example 5: Jeffrey is in his second deductible period. He did not meet his
deductible in the prior period, which borders on the current period. He has a bill that
was written off in the prior period. He can apply this bill to his current deductible.

Example 6: Malcolm is in his second deductible period which began March 1, 2007.
He did not meet his deductible in the prior deductible period, which immediately
preceded the current deductible period. He has a medical bill that he paid in
February 2006. He may not apply this toward his current deductible.

Example 7: Norah is in her second deductible period which began in September. In
June, Norah met her deductible and was certified for BC+. After certification, and
before the prior deductible period ended in August , Norah paid for medical services
that were not BC+ covered services. Norah can apply these paid bills to the
deductible period that began in September.

d. Paid or written off some time during the three months prior to the date of
application . This expense can only be used for the first deductible period.
Balances cannot be carried forward to future deductible periods.

Example 8: Julie applies for BC+ in August. Her deductible for the period from
August through January is $1500. On May 10th she paid off a $2000 outstanding
medical bill. She can use that expense to meet her deductible because it was paid in
the three months prior to the date of her application. The remaining $500 cannot be
applied to future deductible periods.

17.4.2 Countable expenses

1. Medical expenses. Medical expenses are costs for services or goods that have
been prescribed or provided by a professional medical practitioner (licensed in
Wisconsin or another state) regardless of whether the services or goods are
covered by BC+. Medical expenses for services or prescriptions acquired
outside of the U.S. may be counted toward a deductible if a licensed medical
practitioner or pharmacy provided the service or drug.

Some examples of medical expenses are deductibles, co-payments and

premiums for BC+, Medicare, private health insurance; and bills for medical
services which are not covered by the Wisconsin BC+ program.
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Note: MMIS data may be used to calculate BC+ co-payments from the previous
deductible period.

2. Remedial expenses. Remedial expenses are costs for services or goods that are
provided for the purpose of relieving, remedying or reducing a medical or health
condition. Some examples of remedial expenses are:

a. Case management.

b. Day care.

c. Housing modifications for accessibility.
d. Respite care.

e. Supportive home care.

Supportive Home Care is necessary assistance to help people meet their
daily living needs, ensure adequate functioning in their home, and safely
access their community. Services may include:

« Assistance with activities of daily living

e Attendant care

e Supervision

e Reporting changes in the member’s condition,

« Assistance with medication and medical procedures which are
normally self-administered, or

e The extension of therapy services, ambulation and exercise.

e Tasks associated with routine household upkeep, including general
housekeeping chores, lawn mowing, snow removal, changing storm
or screen windows and other household services that are essential
to the member’s safety, well being and care at home.

f. Transportation.

g. Community Based Residential Facility (CBRF), Adult Family/Foster Home
(AFH), Residential Care Apartment Complex ( RCAC ), and all other
community substitute care setting program costs not including room and
board expenses.

Remedial expenses do not include housing or room and board expenses.

3. Ambulance service and other medical transportation including attendant services

4. Medical insurance premiums paid by a member of the BC+ Group. These
insurance premiums include disease specific and per diem hospital and nursing
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home insurance payments. Do not allow accidental insurance policy premiums
as a countable cost.

Note: Unlike other expenses listed in this section that may not be applied toward a
deductible until they are incurred, count medical insurance premiums from the first
day of the deductible period, if the premium will be coming due anytime during the
current deductible period.

5. Medical bills paid by a party who is not legally liable to pay them can be counted
against a deductible...

Examples of parties that pay medical bills when not legally liable include, but are
not limited to: Churches, fraternal organizations, Children's Special Health Needs
Unit of the Division of Public Health, Veterans Administration and the AIDS Drug
Assistance Program (ADAP).

6. The cost of medical services received at a Hill-Burton facility. The Hill-Burton Act
was enacted by Congress to provide federal assistance for the construction and
modernization of health care facilities. Medical facilities which receive Hill-Burton
assistance must provide without charge a reasonable volume of services to
persons unable to pay for those services.

7. In-kind payments. These are services or goods supplied to the provider in lieu of
cash. Self declaration of the bill being satisfied is adequate verification.

8. Medical or remedial expenses that are paid or will be paid by a state, county, city
or township administered program that meets the conditions detailed in # 1
through 7 above.

Examples include:
o General Assistance

e Community Options Program
e AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP)

Example 1: Jenna receives a medical service which will be paid by ADAP. When

Jenna becomes pregnant and applies for BC+ she has a deductible to meet. This

medical bill that has not been paid can be used immediately because it will be paid
by the state administered ADAP program.

Example 2: Sally received a medical service in January which was paid by the state
administered; state funded Community Options Program in the same month. In
February Sally applies for BC+ for herself and her son, James. Sally has access to
health insurance so James must meet a deductible. Since the medical bill was paid
by COP within three months of Sally's BC+ application it can be used to meet James’
BC+ deductible.
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9. Medical or remedial expenses that have been paid or will be paid by Indian
Health Services that meet the conditions detailed in (17.4.2).

Example 3: On January 1, Michael received a medical service which will be paid by
Indian Health Services. When Michael applies for BC+ on January 10 he has to
meet a deductible. The bill for the January 1 medical services may be used
immediately because it will be paid by the Indian Health Services program.

Example 4: Charlie received a medical service in January which was paid by Indian
Health Services in the same month. In February Charlie’s mother applies for BC+.
Charlie has to meet a deductible. Since the bill was paid by Indian Health Services
within three months of Charlie's BC+ application, it can be used to meet Charlie's
BC+ deductible.

17.4.3 Expenses that can not be counted toward a Deductible
Do not count the following toward the deductible:

1. Medical bills written off through bankruptcy.
2. Medical services payable or paid for by a third party who is legally liable for the
bill. This includes bills that will be paid or have been paid by BC+, Medicare or
other Insurance.

Example 1: The costs of medical services provided to an incarcerated person are not
allowed as expenses to meet a deductible. The incarcerating authority is the legally
liable third party.

3. A bill cannot be used if it has been used to meet a prior deductible. If only a
portion of an unpaid bill was used to meet a prior deductible, any remaining
balance that was not applied to the prior deductible, may be applied to a
subsequent deductible period as long as it is still owed or meets criteria in
(17.4.1).
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17.5 ORDER OF BILL DEDUCTION
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When applying medical bills to the deductible , start with the earliest service date. If
more than one bill has the same service date, use the bill with the highest amount first,
then the next highest and so on down to the lowest bill with that same service date.

17.5.1 Hospital Bills

Hospitals do not always itemize the cost of their services according to the day and time
of day the patient received the services. It is sometimes difficult to know when the
patient met the deductible.

For this reason, if the patient’s hospital bill for one continuous stay in the hospital is
equal to or above the deductible amount on the date of admission, the first day of
admission is the date of service for the entire bill. The hospital bill is applied to the
deductible first before counting any other medical costs that were incurred during the
hospital stay.

Example: Linda submits a $2,000 bill toward her deductible, for hospitalization from
July 12th through July 14th. She also submits a physician bill for $2,500 with a date
of service of July 12th. Apply the $2,000 hospital bill to the deductible first.

17.5.2 Pregnhancy Fees

Many providers charge a flat fee for pregnancy related services. The single-fee
includes all prenatal care, office visits, delivery, and postnatal care.

The entire "global” pregnancy fee is counted as an expense as of the date an
agreement was signed.
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17.6 PREPAYING A DEDUCTIBLE

17.6.1 Insufficient Funds

17.6.2 Payment of Entire Deductible Amount

17.6.3 Combination of Payment and Incurred Expenses
17.6.4 Combination of Payment and Outstanding Expenses
17.6.5 Calculation Errors

Anyone can prepay a BC+ deductible for him/herself or for someone else. It can be
paid in installments or all at once. A prepaid deductible may be refunded if the member
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requests a refund of the prepayment prior to the begin date of the corresponding
deductible period.

Instruct the member to make the payment payable to the local Income Maintenance
Agency. Report the receipt on the Community Aids Reporting System (CARS) on Line
909.
With the payment, include:

1. Documentation that the payment is voluntary.

2. The member’s name and BC+ ID number.
17.6.1 Insufficient Funds
If the deductible is paid with a check that is returned for insufficient funds, discontinue
the person's eligibility, determine if an overpayment occurred and if so, establish a claim
for benefit recovery.

17.6.2 Payment of Entire Deductible Amount

If the entire deductible amount is paid at any point during the deductible period,
eligibility begins on the first date of the deductible period.

Example: Laura’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st. The
total deductible amount is $1,000. Laura submits payment of $1,000 on August 15th.
Laura’s BC+ eligibility begins on March 1st.

17.6.3 Combination of Payment and Incurred Expenses

If the deductible is met through a combination of payment and incurred medical
expenses, count the incurred medical expenses first. Eligibility, by paying the remaining
deductible amount, can begin no earlier than the last date of incurred medical expense
within the deductible period.

Example: Gloria’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st. The
total BC+ deductible amount is $1,800. Gloria submits a medical bill with a March
8th date of service for $800. On July 15th, she submits payment of $1,000. Gloria’s
BC+ eligibility begins March 8th. A BC+ Remaining Deductible Update (E-10109)
must be submitted to identify the provider of service on March 8th and the $800
member share amount.

17.6.4 Combination of Payment and Outstanding Expenses
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If the deductible is met through a combination of payment and outstanding medical
expenses (incurred prior to the beginning of the deductible period), eligibility begins on
the first date of the deductible period.

Example: Roberta’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st. The
total BC+ deductible amount is $1,500. She submits an outstanding bill from January
10th for $500. On August 15th, she submits payment of $1,000. Roberta’s BC+
eligibility begins March 1st

Enter the first date of the deductible period on AGTM as the date the payment was
received.

17.6.5 Calculation Errors

If any portion of the deductible is paid and you find the amount was wrong due to
agency error, refund the paid amount that was incorrect and report the refund on CARS.
If the error was caused by an applicant /member error, see (28.2) for determining the
overpayment amount.
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17.7 REMAINING DEDUCTIBLE

When the member receives a medical bill that is equal to or greater than the amount
s/he still owes on the deductible , s/he can be certified for BC+. However, s/he is still
responsible for the part of the bill that equals the deductible. BC+ will consider the
remainder of the bill for payment. See (Process Help Chapter 19 Deductibles).

A BC+ Remaining Deductible Update (E-10109) must be sent to the fiscal agency
indicating the amount of the bill that the member owes. The Fiscal Agent subtracts this
amount from the bill and BC+ pays the rest.
Fill out the BC+ Remaining Deductible Update (F-10109) only if:

1. A BC+ certified provider has provided the billed services.

2. The person, having met the deductible, is being certified. If s/he is not being
certified, BC+ will not pay any of the bill.
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The date of the bill is the date the deductible was met. Since the member is not eligible
until s/he has met the deductible, s/he still owes for all bills prior to that date.
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17.8 CHANGES IN INCOME

Once the deductible has been met, changes in income do not affect the group’s
eligibility for the remainder of the deductible period.

If there are income changes reported during the BC+ deductible period but prior to
meeting the deductible, recalculate the BC+ deductible amount.

1. Add together the monthly excess income of the months of the BC+ deductible
period that have already gone by.

2. Using prospective net income, find the excess income of the months in the
deductible period after the month when income changed.

3. Add the results of #1, #2 and #3.

Example 1: Cicely, a pregnant woman with income over 300% FPL, applied for BC+
in July. She had excess income of $20 a month. Her BC+ deductible was $120. On
October 8th, she reports a pay increase of $10 a month. The change is effective for
November. The BC+ deductible amount is recalculated by:

1. Adding together the excess income of months July through October. The
result is $80.

2. Calculating her November excess income. The result is excess income of
$30.

3. Prospective excess income for December is $30.

4. Cicely's new BC+ deductible amount is: $80 + $30 + $30 = $140.

If the income change results in lower excess income in the month of change, the
applicant can choose to:

1. Recalculate the current BC+ deductible, or
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2. Create a new deductible period.

Example 2: Mary, a pregnant woman, goes from full time to part time employment in
the fourth month of her BC+ deductible period. She still has excess income, but it is
lower than in the previous three months. She can choose either to recalculate her
BC+ deductible to a lower amount or to start a new deductible period.

If she chooses to start a new deductible period, she will forfeit any eligibility she
might have acquired in the previous deductible period if she had met the previous
deductible.

If the income change results in no excess income the applicant has an additional
choice:

1. Recalculate the deductible.
2. Create a new deductible period.

3. Begin eligibility immediately.
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17.9 NON-FINANCIAL CHANGES

17.9.1 Non-Financial Changes Introduction
17.9.2 Group Size Changes
17.9.3 Death

17.9.1 Non-Financial Changes Introduction

If there is a change in non-financial eligibility during the deductible period, discontinue
BC+ eligibility for those persons who have become non-financially ineligible.

If a child enters the BC+ group after the deductible for another child in the group has
been met, that child will also be eligible for the remainder of the deductible period.

If an adult caretaker relative who is EBD, or is medically verified as pregnant, enters the

BC+ group, his/her name will appear on the BC+ card for the remainder of the
deductible period.
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If a member loses non-financial eligibility and regains it during the same deductible
period, the member may choose:

e To continue with the current deductible period.
OR
o To reapply and establish a new deductible period if his or her income still
exceeds the appropriate BC+ income limit.

17.9.2 Group Size Changes

When the group size is different on the last day of the month from what it was on the
last day of the previous month, and the deductible is not met, you must recalculate the
deductible. Compare the new group's countable monthly income with the new group's
FPL limit. If there is excess monthly income, recalculate the deductible in the same way
as for income changes.

17.9.3 Death

If the member dies during the deductible period, and is not already certified, look at all
countable expenses prior to death. If those countable expenses meet the deductible,
certify the person. The time period for the deductible remains six months. All months
that remain of the six-month deductible period from the point the member dies, are
considered to have $0 income. The deductible amount should be recalculated. If the
deductible was met, eligibility will be the point from which eligibility was determined to
have been met through the date of death.

If the member prepays the deductible and dies after the deductible period starts, the
deductible is non-refundable. If the member prepays and dies before the deductible
period starts, the deductible pre-payment is refundable.
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17.10 LATE REPORTS OF CHANGES

If the member turns in late reports on income changes or medical costs, recalculate the
deductible as of the date the change took place or the medical cost was incurred. See
what would have been the deductible had s/he reported the changes and the medical
costs as they occurred. If the medical bills would have met the deductible for any past
date, begin BC+ certification on that date.
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18 BC+ EXTENSIONS

18.1 BC+ EXTENSIONS

18.1.1 BC+ Extensions Introduction
18.1.2 Pregnant Women
18.1.3 Children

18.1.1 BC+ Extensions Introduction

A BC+ extension is a period of eligibility given to a person when the countable household
income increases above 100% FPL for the BC+ group size either due to an increase in earned
income, child support income, and/or spousal support; and otherwise meets the BC+ eligibility
criteria for persons with incomes below 100% FPL. Non-MAGI BC+ individuals can enter an
extension when the assistance group’s earned income, child support, or both increases above
100% FPL. A parent/caretaker relative or pregnant woman whose eligibility is determined using
MAGI rules can enter an extension due to an increase above 100% FPL in the assistance group’s
earned income, spousal support, or both.

If a family is also moving out of the State of Wisconsin at the time of the income increase, or if a
case closes for lack of review or verification and then later reapplies, they would not be eligible
for the extension. While on the extension, the member is covered under the Standard Plan and is
not subject to the insurance access and coverage requirements. For example, having access to
employer health insurance when the family income increases from 80% to 175% FPL will not
make them ineligible for the extension. Failure to pay a premium through March 31, 2014 will
result in a 12-month restrictive reenrollment period for those adults required to pay. Starting
April 1, 2014, the restrictive re-enrollment period for adults who fail to pay a premium will be 3
months (See 19.11).

Former Foster Care Youth under non-MAGI rules are eligible for a BC+ extension when they
have a natural or adoptive child in the household and that child meets the criteria for an
extension. If the FFCY is tested under MAGI rules, the FFCY will no longer qualify for
extensions.

The BC+ extension lasts 4 months when the income goes above 100% FPL solely due
to an increase in child support or spousal support. Child support extensions can occur
for anyone under non-MAGI rules. For members tested under MAGI rules, such
extensions can only occur based on an increase in spousal support.
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Note: Extensions will not be granted to anyone in the household if the household fails to verify
the income that would trigger the extension unless all the parents/caretakers in the extension are
exempt from paying premiums.

18.1.2 Pregnant Women

A pregnant woman tested under non-MAGI rules who is not a parent or caretaker relative of a
child during her pregnancy, can only become eligible for an extension if she was enrolled in
BC+, with income at or below 100% of the FPL, for 3 months once her pregnancy reaches the
8th month. Look back 60 days from her due date or the date the pregnancy ended to determine
the 8th month. If she was a parent or caretaker relative and enrolled with income at or below
100% FPL in 3 of the past 6 months she would be eligible for an extension.

Example 1: June, a single woman with no children under her care, was pregnant with a due
date of September 8th. She applied for and was enrolled in BC+ effective March 1st. Her
income was below 100% of the FPL for the entire time she was enrolled. She gave birth on
September 8th and reported the birth and her marriage to the father of the baby to her worker.
His income put the countable household income over 100% of the FPL. Since the eighth
month of her pregnancy was July (September 8th minus 60 days), she was enrolled in BC+
with income less than 100% for three months (July, August and September), beginning with
the 8th month of her pregnancy. She is eligible for a 12 month BC+ extension.

Example 2: Judith and her 2 children have been enrolled in BC+ with income below 100%
FPL since January. In March, she reported that she was pregnant with a due date of October
5th. On August 10th, Judith reported she received a raise which caused her countable
household income to exceed 100% FPL. Since she was enrolled with income at or below
100% FPL for 3 out of the past 6 months, she and her children are eligible for an extension.
Since Judith is eligible as a BCPP, she will retain that status in the Standard Plan with no
premium until the end of the month 60 days after the pregnancy ends. At that time she will be
put into the extension with her children.

Beginning January 1, 2014, a pregnant woman whose eligibility is tested under MAGI rules will
be able to enter an extension if she was eligible for BC+ as a pregnant woman, a parent or
caretaker relative at any time during the pregnancy with income at or below 100% FPL in 3 of
the past 6 months.

18.1.3 Children
All dependent children, stepchildren and NLRR children who are eligible under MAGI
rules and whose parent or caretaker becomes eligible for an extension under MAGI

rules will be eligible for the same extension provided that they are eligible for BC+ in the
month prior to the start of the extension and:

e Have AG income under 306% FPL and are under age 1
« Have AG income under 191% FPL and are age 1 through age 5
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Have AG income under 156% FPL and are age 6 through age 18

Conditions:

1. Children do not have to be eligible for BC+ for 3 of the past 6 months.

N

SRO -~

The child’s AG income does not have to be below 100% FPL at the time the
extension starts.

CENs are not eligible for extensions.

A child who is currently in an extension is not eligible for a new extension.

If a parent’s income decreases below 100% FPL the child’s extension continues.
Once a child is in an extension, the child does not lose the extension for any
reason except for death, moving out of Wisconsin, or turning 19 while in an
earned income extension.
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18.2 INCREASE IN EARNINGS/DECREASE IN GROUP SIZE
EXTENSIONS

18.2.1 Earned Income Extensions Under Non-MAGI Rules

18.2.1.1 SSI Exception

18.2.2 Extensions beginning January 1, 2014

18.2.1 Earned Income Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules

To receive a BC+ extension due to an increase in earnings a person whose eligibility is
determined under non-MAGI rules must meet the following requirements:

1.

The income increase which caused the countable income to exceed 100% FPL
must be due solely to:

a. Increased earnings or,
b. Increased earnings along with other income (changed or unchanged).

S/he must be a BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time the
income increased to over 100% FPL.

At least 1 member of the AG must have been enrolled in BC+ with income that

was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding
the month in which the income went above 100% FPL.
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4. S/he must otherwise meet the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income
below 100% FPL, and

5. S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.

Example 1: Mary and her two children had been enrolled in BC+ with income below
100% FPL, since January. Her husband Denny moved back into the house in June.
When Denny was added to the case with his additional earned income the group’s
countable income went over 100% FPL. Because Mary and the two children were
enrolled in BC+ with income below 100% FPL for three of the prior six months, at the
time the income went above 100%, they are eligible for a 12-month BC+ extension.
Denny is not included in the extension, because he was not enrolled in BC+ at the
time the income increased.

18.2.2 Earned Income Extensions under MAGI Rules

To receive a BC+ extension due to an increase in earnings, a parent, caretaker or
pregnant woman under MAGI rules must meet the following requirements:

1. The income increase which caused the countable income for his or her BC+
assistance group to exceed 100% FPL must be due solely to:

a. Increased earnings (of anyone in the same AG) or,
b. Increased earnings along with other income (changed or unchanged).

2. S/he must be a BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time the
income increased to over 100% FPL.

3. Atleast 1 member of the AG must have been enrolled in BC+ with income that
was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding
the month in which the income went above 100% FPL.

4. S/he must otherwise meet the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income
below 100% FPL, and

5. S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.

Note: These requirements do not apply to children eligible under MAGI Rules. See
18.1.3.

Example 2: Jane lives with her two teenage children and Dave, the non-marital co-parent of the
two children. Jane is claiming both children on her taxes and her income for her MAGA
assistance group of 3 is 90% FPL. Dave’s MAGA AG consists only of himself, and he is
eligible for BC+ with income of 95% FPL. The children-in-common are eligible in a MAGC
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AG group of 4, with both parents as counted adults in their AG and their group’s income is
121% FPL. Jane was enrolled in BC+ with income below 100% FPL for three of the prior six
months. In June, her earned income increased to 120% FPL. She is eligible for a 12-month
BC+ extension. Denny is not included in the extension, because he was not a counted member
of Jane’s AG. The children are eligible for a 12-month extension because they were eligible in
June when Jane’s income rose above 100% and their own AG’s income was below 156% FPL at
the time.

18.2.3 SSI Exception
A person who was eligible for SSI benefits may be eligible for a BC+ extension if s/he

loses SSI and would have been eligible for BC+ with countable income at or below
100% if she had not been an SSI recipient.

Example 3: Mary is receiving SSI. Her two children are enrolled in BC+ with
countable income at or below 100% FPL. Mary started a job and her earnings put
her above the SSI income limit. Her earned income also caused the BC+ countable
income to exceed 100%FPL. Both Mary and her two children are eligible for a 12
month BC+ extension
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18.3 INCREASE IN CHILD SUPPORT OR SPOUSAL INCOME
EXTENSIONS

18.3.1 Support Extensions Under Non-MAGI Rules
18.3.1.1 Four Month Extension under Non-MAGI Rules
18.3.1.2 Twelve Month Extension under Non-MAGI Rules
18.3.2 Support Extensions Under MAGI Rules
18.3.2.1 Four Month Extensions under MAGI Rules
18.3.2.2 Twelve Month Extensions under MAGI Rules

18.3.1 Support Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules

For assistance groups (AG) under non-MAGI rules, if a BC+ member’s countable
income increases above 100% FPL and all or part of the excess income consists of
child support income, grant an extension of either 4 or 12 months depending on the
case circumstances.
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18.3.1.1 Four Month Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules

The 4 month extension applies only if:

1.

The income increase which caused the countable income to exceed 100% FPL
must be due solely to:

a. Increased child support income or,
b. Increased child support income along with other unearned income
(changed or unchanged).

There has been no increase in earned income.

S/he must be a BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time the
income increased to over 100% FPL.

At least 1 member of the AG must have been enrolled in BC+ with income that
was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding
the month in which the income went above 100% FPL.

S/he must otherwise meet the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income
below 100% FPL, and

S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.

18.3.1.2 Twelve Month Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules

The 12 month BC+ extension applies only if:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5

Earned income increased but child support income remained the same or both
earned income and child support income increased.

S/he is a BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time the
income increased to over 100% FPL.

At least 1 member of the AG has been enrolled in BC+ with income that was at or
below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding the month
in which the income went above 100% FPL, and

S/he otherwise meets the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income below
100% FPL.

S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.

18.3.2 Support Extensions under MAGI Rules

For AGs using MAGI rules, if a parent, caretaker, or pregnant woman’s countable
income increases above 100% FPL and all or part of the excess income consists of
spousal support income, grant an extension of either 4 months or 12 months depending
on the case circumstances.
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18.3.2.1 Four Month Extensions under MAGI Rules

The 4 month extension only applies if:

1.

The income increase which caused the countable income to exceed 100% FPL
must be due solely to:

a. Increased spousal support income, or
b. Increased spousal support income along with other unearned income
(changed or unchanged).

There has been no increase in earned income.

S/he is an eligible BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time
the income increased to over 100% FPL.

S/he must have been enrolled in BC+ with income that was at or below 100%
FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding the month in which the
income went above 100% FPL.

S/he otherwise meets the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income below
100% FPL

S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.

18.3.4.2 Twelve Month Extensions under MAGI Rules

The 12 month BC+ extension applies only if:

1.

2.

Earned income increased but child support income remained the same or both
earned income and child support income increased.

S/he is a BC+ member with income at or below 100% FPL, at the time the
income increased to over 100% FPL.

At least 1 member of the AG has been enrolled in BC+ with income that was at or
below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding the month
in which the income went above 100% FPL, and

S/he otherwise meets the BC+ eligibility criteria for persons with income below
100% FPL.

S/he verified his or her income, unless s/he is exempt from paying a premium.
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18.4 INCOME CHANGES DURING THE EXTENSION
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During an extension, a group or individual’'s income may decrease to an amount at or
below 100% FPL for the group size and then increase again to exceed the 100% FPL.
When the income decreases, the individual will be removed from the extension and
placed in regular BC+. The remaining months of the extension will continue to run in
the background. If the individual's countable income again increases above the 100%
FPL, s/he would be eligible under the previous extension for any remaining months. |If
the individual is eligible for a new extension when the income again increases, because
s/he meets all of the criteria above, choose the extension which gives the longest
coverage, and cancel the other.

Example 1: A BC+ group with a 12-month extension from January through
December has a decrease in income in February that puts them back below 100%
FPL. The extension continues to run while the group is on regular BC+. In October
the group’s countable income again increases to above 100% FPL, this time due to
an increase in Child Support income. They are now eligible for a four-month child
support extension which would run from November through February. Since the four
month extension would be longer than the current extension, apply the new four-
month extension.
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18.5 LOSING AN EXTENSION

18.5.1 Introduction
18.5.2 Leaving Wisconsin

18.5.1 Introduction
A BC+ member loses an extension if one or more of following happens:

1. S/he fails to cooperate in providing third party health insurance coverage (TPL).
Children under 19 are exempt from any penalty for not cooperating with this
requirement.

2. All children under the parent's or caretaker relative’s care have either left the
household or turned 19 and the extension was based on an increase in earned
income.

3. Achild in an earned income extension turns 19.

4. S/he fails to provide verification of income and at least one parent/caretaker in
the extension AG is not disabled, a tribal member, or pregnant. Only the non-
disabled, non-tribal, non-pregnant parents/caretakers are ineligible for failure to
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provide verification. The other members of the family in the extension remain
eligible for the duration of the extension.

5. S/he fails to pay a premium or quits BC+ (See 19.11.3). Only the
parents/caretakers that owed the premium (those in the BCPM AG) are put into a
restrictive re-enrollment period. The other members of the family in the
extension remain eligible for the duration of the extension.

Note: Under MAGI rules, children in a support extension who turn 19 do not lose the
extension just for turning 19. Similarly a parent or caretaker relative in a support
extension just because all of the children under his or her care either left the home or
turned 19.

If a condition necessary for an extension is lost, the extension is not regained solely by
recovering the lost condition.

Example 1: A group has an extension and the parent fails to provide verification of earnings.
The parent loses eligibility for BadgerCare Plus. The children in the extension remain eligible
for the duration of the extension. The parent does not regain the extension if she later provides
verification of income.

18.5.2 Leaving Wisconsin

If a BC+ member is eligible for an extension and moves out of Wisconsin, s/he loses the
extension. S/he can regain the extension if s/he returns and becomes a Wisconsin
resident again during any month in the original extension period.

Example 3: Earl, a Wisconsin resident, received a 12-month extension beginning January 1,
2008. He moved out of state, thus losing his extension. On May 1, 2008, he moved back to
Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident again. He regained the extension at the time he
moved back to Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident.

If the time period of the extension expires while the person is out of state, s/he does not
regain the extension.

Example 4: Gloria, a Wisconsin resident received a 12-month extension beginning January 1,
2008. She moved out of state, thus losing her extension. In February 2009, she moved back to
Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident again. She does not regain the extension because
the time period has expired.
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Effective Date: 02/01/14
19 PREMIUMS

19.1 BC+ PREMIUMS

Note: Premium policies for BadgerCare Plus Core members are found in Chapter 43.

The following individuals must pay a premium to become or remain eligible for BC+ unless
exempt:

1. Children in families with income over 200% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 201%
(under MAGI rules),

2. Parents, stepparents and caretaker relatives with income over 133% in a BC+
Extension, and

3. Through March 31, 2014, parents, stepparents and caretaker relatives with
income over 133% through 200% of the FPL,

4. Through March 31, 2014, self-employed parents, stepparents and caretaker
relatives with income above 200% of the FPL before subtracting the depreciation
but below 200% of the FPL after subtracting the depreciation.

Note: Effective with BC+ Extensions that begin on or after April 1, 2014, parents,
stepparents and caretaker relatives with income between 100% and 133% FPL in a
BC+ Extension will be subject to premiums starting in the seventh calendar month of
their Extension.

Tthe following individuals are exempt from the requirement to pay a premium:

Pregnant women age 19 and above,

Pregnant women under age 19 with income at or below 300% of the FPL,

Former Foster Care Youth. (Chapter 11),

Children who have met a BC+ deductible, during the remainder of the deductible

period,

Children in a BC+ Extension,

Children who are not in an Extension but whose parents are in an Extension and

paying a premium,

7. Adult parents and caretakers who are blind or disabled or MAPP Disabled, as
determined by the Disability Determination Bureau (DDB) or through the
presumptive disability process (MEH, 5.9),

8. Adults with assistance group income at or below 100% FPL,

9. All children under age 1 including Continuously Eligible Newborns (Chapter 8.2) ,

10. American Indian or Alaskan Native Tribal members, the son or daughter of a

tribal member, the grandson or granddaughter of a tribal member, or anyone

PwnbE
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otherwise eligible to receive Indian Health Services. The following table outlines
which populations of adults and children are exempt from premiums due to their
Tribal status:

For FPL limits see Chapter 50.1.

BC+
who are American Indian Groups Premium
families Exemptio
benefits, but n
individually - Tribal Members eligible under Yes
EBD Medicaid, Medicaid
Care, Family BC+ Adults >133% Federal Poverty
Services or Level (FPL)

Services, are not [ Triphal Members eligible under CHIP Yes
premium. BC+ age 1-18 >200 - 300% FPL
Son or Daughter of a Tribal Member Yes
his page last (Medicaid)
Release Number: BC+ Adults >133% FPL
Release Date:
Effective Date: -
Son or Daughter of a Tribal Member Yes
(CHIP)
19.2 BC+ age 1-18 >200 - 300% FPL
' Grandchild of a Tribal Member and Yes
others eligible to use IHS
(Medicaid)
BC+ Adults >133% FPL
Grandchild of a Tribal Member and No
others eligible to use IHS (CHIP)
BC+ age 1-18 >200 - 300% FPL
CALCULATIONS

19.2.1 Premium Calculations for Non-MAGI Households

19.2.2 Premium Calculations Effective January 1, 2014

19.2.2.1 Children's Premiums Using MAGI Rules

19.2.2.3 Adults' Premiums Using MAGI Rules

19.2.1 Premium Calculations for Non-MAGI Households

Note: Persons
members of
receiving BC+
who are
certified for
Well Woman
Planning Only
Emergency
charged a BC+

updated in
14-01
02/07/14
02/01/14

PREMIUM

Note: The following policy applies to all BC+ members whose eligibility is determined
under non-MAGI rules.
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Under BC+, premiums for children are initially calculated on an individual basis and then
a total for the case is determined. Premiums for adults are based on a percentage of the
household income and the amount is the same regardless of the number of adults
covered by the premium CARES will calculate the premium for each case. The general
rules for calculating the premium amounts are as follows:

1.

2.

202

The minimum monthly premium amount for children is $10 per person.

For children with a family income above 300% of the FPL, the individual premium
shall not exceed the full per member per month cost of coverage for a child.

For non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives, including

those in BadgerCare Plus Extensions with a family income above 133% of the
FPL, premiums will be calculated based on a sliding scale, ranging from 3% of
countable household income for individuals above 133% of the FPL to 9.5% of
household countable income for individuals at or above 300% of the FPL.
Premiums for adults will be calculated based on actual household income and
rounded to the nearest dollar. See 48.1 for premium ranges based on family size
and income.

Through March 31, 2014, for self-employed parents, stepparents and caretaker
relatives, with incomes above 200% of the FPL before subtracting the
depreciation but below 200% of the FPL after subtracting the depreciation, the
caretaker relative's share of the premium shall be 5% of the family’s net income,
before subtracting depreciation from the self-employment income.

Through March 31, 2014, for families with income over 300% of the FPL, if at
least one member of the case is eligible for BC+ as a self-employed adult or as a
grandfathered individual, the combined total of all family members’ premiums will
be either the total of all children’s premiums, or 5% of the family’s income,
whichever amount is greater. One exception is for families that include a child
living with a caretaker relative. If the only BC+ eligible members are children
under 19, the 5% cap does not apply and the family owes the per member per
month premiums for the children.

Through March 31, 2014, for families with income below 300% of the FPL, where
only children owe a premium or self-employed parents/caretakers owe the 5%
premiums, the combined total of all family members’ premiums will be rounded
down to the nearest whole dollar amount.

Through March 31, 2014, For families with income at or above 300% of the FPL,
premium amounts for cases where only children owe a premium and the 5%
premiums for self-employed parents/caretakers will not be rounded.

For pregnant women under age 19 with income over 300% of the FPL, the
individual premium shall not exceed the full per member per month cost of
coverage for a child with a family income of 300% of the FPL.
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Pregnant women may sometimes fall into one of the other premium groups. In those
cases, the following rules apply:

1. Pregnant minors with income between 200% and 300% of the FPL are not
charged a premium.

2. Pregnant minors with income over 300% of the FPL are charged the child’s
premium rate.

3. Pregnant parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with income between 133%
and 200% of the FPL are not charged a premium.

4. Pregnant self-employed parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with income
between 200% and 300 % of the FPL are not charged a premium.

5. Pregnant parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with self-employment
income above 300% FPL are not charged a premium and do not have to meet a
deductible.

The premium for the BC+ group is the total of the individually calculated premiums for
the children included in the group. For example, a household with three children and
family income between 200% and 210% of the FPL will owe $30, or $10 per eligible
child in the family.

Premiums for adults with household income less than or equal to 200% of FPL or in an
extension are based on a percentage of the household income and the amount is the
same regardless of the number of adults covered by the premium.

19.2.2 Premium Calculations for MAGI Households

The basic approach for determining premiums remains the same for MAGI households:
premiums for children are initially calculated on an individual basis and then a total for
the case is determined, while premiums for adults in Extensions are based on a
percentage of the adult’'s assistance group income.However, there are some significant
differences to premium amount calculations under MAGI rules. CARES will calculate
the premium for each case, but the general rules for calculating the premium amounts
are explained below for children and adults.

19.2.2.1 Children's Premiums using MAGI Rules
1. The minimum monthly premium amount for children is $10 per person.

2. The maximum monthly premium for a child with income above 301% up to 306%
FPL is $97.53.
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3. Each child’s premium amount will be based on their AG’s size and income.
Under MAGI rules, it is possible for different children within the same household
to have different amounts of income counted and to have a different AG sizes.
For this reason, each child’s AG is evaluated separately to determine that AG’s
income and group size, which is the basis for determining the FPL percentage of
that child’s income. That FPL percentage, in turn, will determine whether a child
potentially owes a premium and the amount of the premium.

4. The premium for the BC+ group is the total of the individually calculated
premiums combined, not to exceed 5% cap.

5. The cap will be 5% of the income of the assistance group with the highest
income (in terms of dollar amount) in the case. (See 19.3))

19.2.2.2 Adults' Premiums using MAGI Rules

1. For non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives in BadgerCare
Plus Extensions with a family income above 133% of the FPL, premiums will be
calculated based on a sliding scale, ranging from 3% of countable income for
individuals above 133% of the FPL to 9.5% of countable income for individuals at
or above 300% of the FPL.

2. Premiums for adults in extensions will be calculated based on actual income and
rounded to the nearest dollar. See 48.1 for premium ranges based on family size
and income. When a child is pulled into an adult’s extension, the child does not
owe a premium.

3. Adults in an extension who are married filing jointly, or who are married but not
filing taxes, will have a combined premium. Adults in an extension who are
married filing separately or are non-marital co-parents will have premiums
calculated on an individual basis.

Note: Pregnant minors are not charged a premium.
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19.3 PREMIUM LIMITS

For all BC+ members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules, families
with incomes at or below 300% of the FPL will never have to pay in excess of 5% of the
family income for their total premiums.

The 5% caps will be calculated for income ranges of 10% of the FPL. For example, the

5% cap would be the same for a family with income at 211% of the FPL as it would be
for a family with an income at 218% of the FPL.
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Exceptions to this policy are:

1. Children living with caretaker relatives exception: Unlike children living with their
parents, eligibility for children living with caretaker relatives is determined
separately from their caretaker relatives and from other children living with the
caretaker relative. The amount of their premium is based solely on their income.
The 5% cap on the child living with a caretaker relative premium is calculated
separately from the caps on the premiums for other children living with caretaker
relative in the household and from the cap on the premium for the caretaker
relative and the caretaker relative’s immediate family.

2. Exception for children and self-employed parents with incomes over 300% of the
FPL: Usually the 5% premium owed for self-employed parents will not exceed
the amount of the per member per month (PMPM) cost of the children’s
premiums. However, some larger families with more than five children will have
PMPM costs greater than 5% of the family’s income. For those families, collect
the full PMPM per cost for those children even though it exceeds the 5% limit.
For those families, no additional premium amount will be owed for the self-
employed parents.

3. Adults with incomes over 180% of the FPL in a BC+ Extension.
4. Adults with incomes over 180% of the FPL up to 200% of the FPL.

For all BC+ members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, children with
assistance group income above 201.00% of the FPL will be required to pay premiums.
The total premium amount for the household is the total of the individually calculated
premiums, not to exceed a 5% cap. The cap will be 5% of the income of the assistance
group with the highest income (in terms of dollar amount) in the case.)

The 5% cap methodology for children with premiums will be effective as soon as one
child on the case who is subject to premiums has his or her eligibility determined using
MAGI rules.

Example: Susan and Alan are non-marital co-parents caring for four children: Susan’s son,
Aaron (15); Alan’s daughters Rachel (12) and Hannah (11); and Susan and Alan’s son Jacob (9).
Alan claims Rachel and Hannah as his two tax dependents, while Susan claims Aaron and Jacob.
Susan earns $2500/month as a waitress, and Alan earns $4500/month as a computer analyst.
None of the children have income. All four children are eligible for BC+.
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Child MAGI Group AG Income FPL Premium
Formation Amount Amount
Aaron Susan, Aaron, $2500 122% $0
and Jacob
Rachel Alan, Rachel, $4500 276% $55
and Hannah
Hannah Alan, Rachel, $4500 276% $55
and Hannah
Jacob Susan, Alan, $7000 265% $44
Aaron, Rachel,
Hannah, and
Jacob

Aaron does not have a premium, Rachel and Hannah have $55 premiums, and Jacob has a
premium of $44. In this example, 5% of the income of the assistance group with the highest
income is 5% of Jacob’s MAGI group, or 5% of $7000/month, or $350. Altogether, the
household’s monthly premiums are $154. The household will pay $154 in premiums for their
children’s coverage.

Parents and caretakers in Extensions will pay premiums based on the sliding scale
discussed above, without a 5% cap applied. Non-exempt children with incomes above
201% of the FPL will not be required to pay premiums when the adults in the household
are paying premiums in an Extension. If the parents enter a restrictive re-enrollment
period (RRP) for failure to pay a premium or are otherwise ineligible, non-exempt
children with income above 201% will be required to pay a premium.
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19.4 PREMIUM PAYMENT METHODS

Upon request from the member, the fiscal agent (1-888-907-4455) will provide members
with instructions for choosing their preferred payment method from the list below.

Approved payment methods include:
1. Direct payment by check or money order.
2. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

3. Wage withholding from each paycheck received.

Agencies are responsible to provide members with the Wage Withholding (F-13025)
and EFT (E-13026) forms upon request, to facilitate the choice of payment method other
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than direct payment. Instruct the member to mail the completed forms to the address
listed on the forms once s/he has chosen a payment method. Direct premium payments
must be made until the fiscal agent informs the family the EFT and wage withholding
has been set up.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
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19.5 INITIAL PAYMENTS

Payment of the BC+ premium is a non-financial condition of eligibility. Initial premium
payments must be made before eligibility is confirmed and the members are enrolled. The first
month is free if no one in the BC+ group was eligible for BC+ or Medicaid in the previous
month, and the BC+ AG has not received a free month in the previous 12 months. Consider
someone with an unmet deductible as not being eligible for BC+.

The Income Maintenance agency is responsible for collecting the initial payments and recording
the payment in CWW . Acceptable payment types include: check (personal, cashiers, travelers,
etc.) or a money order. Check must be issued to BC+.

A BadgerCare Plus Premium Information/Payment form (F-10139) must be sent to the fiscal
agent along with the payment. The BC+ AG CARES case number must be included on the form
(F-10139) and on the check. The BadgerCare Plus Premium Information/Payment form (F-
10139) can be found at http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf or go to the CARES
mainframe manual standard letter CNSL NCBP009901. Mail the initial BC+ premium payment
(check or money order) and completed form directly to the BC+ lockbox at:

BC+

c/o Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Box 93187

Milwaukee, WI 53293-0187

The eligibility policy and time frame procedures for premium payments are as follows:

1. Initial eligibility date and confirmation occur in the month of application.

When an application is processed in the same month it was received, and a
premium for the initial month of eligibility is not due because they are eligible for a
free month, the premium for the second month of eligibility must be paid in
advance before a family can be enrolled in BC+.

| Example 1: Lisa and her family applied for BC+ on January 25th. On January 31st, the |
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worker determined that the family met eligibility requirements effective January 1st. Since
the family had not been previously eligible for BC+, a premium for January was not assessed
since they were eligible for the free month. However, Lisa had to pay the February premium
for her family before their eligibility could be confirmed.

2. Eligibility begins in the month of application - confirmation occurs in a future
month.

When an application is not processed within the 30-day application processing
period and the family is eligible for a free month, the family must pay both the
second and third months’ premium before enrollment. CARES requires that
premiums for both the second and third months be paid before confirmation when
eligibility is processed any time in the third month.

Example 2: Cheryl and her family applied for BC+ on March 25th. No one in her family was
eligible for BC+ in the previous month. At Cheryl’s request, the IM worker extended the 30-
day processing time period by ten days for additional verification. The application for BC+
was processed on May 2nd, but the family was determined eligible effective March 1st. A
premium is not due for March because it is a free month. However, Cheryl had to pay the
premium amount for April and May before BC+ eligibility could be confirmed.

3. Eligibility begins in a future month, but application is processed in the month of
application.

When an application is processed within 30 days but eligibility does not begin until
a future month, the free month is the first future month of eligibility. The family will
receive an invoice for the premium amount through the mail. S/he must pay the
premium due for the second month by the tenth of the benefit month to remain
eligible for BC+.

Example: Arnie and his family applied for BC+ on April 12th. He and his family were
determined to be eligible for BC+ beginning May 1st. A premium is not assessed for May. A
coupon for Arnie’s June premium was mailed on May 20th with payment due by June 10th.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-01
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19.6 ON-GOING PAYMENT
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BC+ premiums are due on the tenth of the benefit month, regardless of which payment
method is chosen.

1. For families who have chosen "direct pay" as their payment method, the fiscal
agent sends out the BC+ premium coupons on the 20th of the month before the
benefit month.

2. Electronic funds transfer occurs on the third business day of the benefit month.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
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19.7 ADVANCE PAYMENTS

Through December 31, 2013, payments can be made in advance (further than the next
month), but the payment cannot exceed the current certification period .

If paying in advance, the payments must be the full amount of subsequent month’s
premiums (no partial month payments). If the income amount changes, the premium
amount will be recalculated and the member will be notified through CARES that his/her
premium amount has changed. If the premium amount has decreased, the fiscal agent
will refund any excess premium that was paid. If the premium amount has increased
and the premium coupon has not been sent for that month, the member will receive a
coupon with the new premium amount. If the premium coupons have already been
sent, the member will need to pay the additional amount owed. The member will not
receive a coupon for the difference that is owed.

Effective January 1, 2014, premium payments can no longer be made in advance.
19.7.1 Refunds

Contact the BadgerCare Plus Unit at 1-888-907-4455 to issue a refund if the premium
was paid in advance and the premium is for a month in which the:

1. Individual/family was ineligible for BC+.

2. The group’s countable income decreased and they no longer owe a premium, if
the income change was reported timely.

3. A lower premium amount is due to a change in circumstances which was in effect
for the entire month as long as the change was reported within ten days of the
date it occurred. The lower premium amount due is the first day of the month in
which the change was reported. A refund for the difference will be issued.
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Example: A child without any income is added to the BC+ group. Based on the
group's income compared to the new group size, a premium is no longer owed. The
fiscal agent will refund the premium that was paid in advance.
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19.8 NON-PAYMENT

19.8.1 Non-Payment Introduction
19.8.2 Insufficient Funds
19.8.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment

19.8.1 Non-Payment Introduction

The failure to pay a premium does not affect the eligibility of any person in the
household who does not have a premium obligation. If an individual or family with a
premium obligation fails to pay the premium by adverse action of the benefit month, BC
+ will close for those individuals who owed a premium. Through December 31, 2013, if
those individual(s) are children under age 19, they are not eligible for six calendar
months following the date on which their coverage terminated, unless there was good
cause.

Effective with RRPs beginning January 1, 2014 (for failure to pay December 2013
premiums), children under age 19 who do not pay their premiums will not be eligible for
BC+ for three calendar months. See 19.11 for more information. If those individuals are
adults age 19 and older, they are not eligible for 12 calendar months following the date
on which their coverage terminated, unless there was good cause.

For more information on how RRPs can be lifted and BC+ eligibility reinstated, see
19.11.

The total family premium for a case must be paid to avoid being considered late or
unpaid. No partial premium payments will be accepted.

19.8.2 Insufficient Funds

If a BC+ member pays the monthly premium through EFT or direct payment by check,
and the payment is rejected for insufficient funds it is considered a non-payment and the
BC+ eligibility will terminate. A restrictive re-enrollment (see 19.11) will be applied
unless there is good cause (19.8.2). The RRP begins with the first month after closure.
If an overpayment occurred, a benefit recovery claim should be established.
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19.8.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment

Do not apply an RRP for non-payment if good cause exists. Good cause reasons for
not paying the BC premium are:

Problems with the financial institution.
CARES problem.

Local agency problem.

Wage withholding problem.

Fair hearing decision.

arwnE

The member must still pay the arrears before eligibility will begin again.
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19.9 LATE PAYMENTS

Late payments impact eligibility differently, depending on when the late payment is
received. Members must pay the overdue payment(s) that resulted in case closure, but
do not have to pay the premium owed for the following month, unless the late payment
is made after the benefit month.

Example 1: If a premium was owed for September, but is not paid until October, the
premiums for both September and October must be paid before eligibility is restored.
October eligibility remains in pending status until the payment is received by the
agency and recorded in CARES.

The case will remain open for the benefit month even if no payment is received by the
due date. It will close at the end of the benefit month if no payment is received by
adverse action in the benefit month.

If the member pays between adverse action of the benefit month and the last day of the
benefit month, eligibility can be restored.

Example 2: Adverse action is September 16th. Jim’s September premium was due
September 10th. Jim has not paid his September premium by September 16th. He
pays on September 26th. The case closed effective September 30th. Eligibility for
October will be restored. He is not required to pay the October premium until
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October 10th. |

If the member pays the owed premium any time in the month after the benefit month,
eligibility can be restored. If s’lhe owes a premium for the following month, s/he must
pay that premium before CARES will restore eligibility for BC+. The member must pay
the IM agency directly (not Fiscal Agent). You can check with the Fiscal Agent to see if
a premium has already been collected for that month.

Example 3: Adverse action is September 16th. Jim has not paid his September
premium by September 16th. He finally pays on October 26th. His case closed on
September 30th. Jim must pay both the premiums for September and October
before eligibility can be restored. The November premium is not due until November
10th and does not have to be paid in advance.

If the member pays in the second month after the benefit month, it's considered a non-
payment.

Through December 31, 2013, if the member pays in the second month after the benefit
month, it's considered a non-payment. Effective January 1, 2014, the current non-
payment policy will continue for adult parents and caretakers who owe premiums.
However, children can make late premium payments at any time during their three
month RRP (see 19.11).
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19.10 PREMIUM CHANGES

19.10.1 Decreased premium amount
19.10.2 Increased premium amount
19.10.2.1 Person adds
19.10.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add)
19.10.2.3 Effective dates of premium increase (other than person adds)

19.10.1 Decreased premium amount

When a change is reported that results in a lower premium amount, it is effective during the
month in which the change occurred or the month in which it was reported, whichever is later.
The fiscal agent will refund any excess premium that was paid.

19.10.2 Increased premium amount
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You must give a 10-day notice to the member when the group is required to pay a premium for
the first time or is required to pay a higher premium. The increase is effective the following
month if BC+ eligibility is confirmed before adverse action . If the change is confirmed after
adverse action, the increase is not effective until the month after the following month.

Example 1: Jessica has BC+ with a premium for her and her family. She reports a
change in income to her worker on April 23rd that results in a higher premium
amount. Jessica’s premium amount will increase effective June 1st. She will
receive the coupon for the new premium amount at the end of May.

19.10.2.1 Person adds:

If the person add will cause an increase in the premium, CARES will not allow eligibility
confirmation if the notice requirement cannot be met. Certify eligibility for new members
through the FowardHealth Portal. If unable to certify through the ForwardHealth Portal,
complete and return the F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) for the days that cannot be confirmed in
CARES. See Process Help 81.

e Mail:
ForwardHealth iChange
P.O. Box 7636

Madison, WI 53707-7636
Fax: (608) 221-8815

« Fax: (608) 221-8815
19.10.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add)

1. If the person was added to the case before adverse action, the increase is
effective the next month.

2. If the person was added to the case after adverse action, the increase is not
effective until the second month.

Example 2: Rachel’s husband Mike moved back into the home on June 1st. She reported the
change on June 6th and the agency processed the change on June 10th (before adverse
action). Inclusion of Mike’s income resulted in a premium increase. The increase is effective
July 1st. Certify Mike’s BC+ eligibility effective June 6th by sending in a F-10110 for the
dates between June 6th and June 30th.
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Example 3: Ann moved back to her parent’s home on December 12th and reported it on the
22nd (after adverse action). The agency acted to process the change on the same day.
Inclusion of Ann’s income resulted in a premium increase. The premium increase is not
effective until February 1st. Certify Ann’s BC+ eligibility effective December 22nd by
submitting an F-10110 for the dates between December 22nd and January 31st.

19.10.2.3 Effective dates of premium increase (other than person adds)

A delay in the effective date of premium increases must also be done in certain ongoing
cases that may or may not include a person add. These are cases where a change
results in an assistance group opening up and has new or increased premiums for a
month (or months) that cannot be confirmed in CARES. In these situations, the member
is not responsible for a premium payment (or a premium increase) for the month or
months that cannot be confirmed in CARES. The first premium (or increased premium)
for which the family must pay is the one for the month for which eligibility can be
confirmed.

The following situations qualify for this treatment:

o Through March 31, 2014, a case reports a decrease in income from above 200%
to below 200% FPL and the parents are now eligible with a premium.

e A person is added to a case that has not paid the premium for another member.

e A person becomes eligible for BC+ for any non-financial reason except late
payment of the previous month’s premium, failure to verify a reported change
that resulted in the premium increase, or failure to complete a renewal.

o Cases where the Call Center is unable to get premiums adjusted on the
interChange system.

o Effective April 1, 2014, a case reports a decrease in income from above 300% to
below 300% and the child(ren) are now eligible with a premium.

In a situation where other members in the AG or in another BC+ AG may owe a
premium, treat their premium separately from the newly eligible members and/or AG.
Through March 31, 2014, a family that owes a small premium for the children but then
has an income decrease to below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) that causes
the parents to be eligible for a larger premium. With the income change, the children no
longer owe a premium. If the premium was already paid for the children, that amount
must be refunded. If the premium was not paid, the children should not be sanctioned
for non-payment since they no longer owe a premium.

Example 4: June and Ward Cleaver are receiving BC+ for their two sons, Wally and
Theodore. The family income is 205% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), and they are
paying $20 in monthly premiums for the boys. On March 25, Ward reports a decrease
in wages and the family’s income is now 191% of the FPL. This makes June and Ward
eligible for BC+ with a premium. When the IM worker runs eligibility for May, the new
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BC+ premium amount is $213. CARES will not allow the worker to confirm eligibility for
March or April because their premium is higher than the $20 amount that had already
been confirmed for the children. The worker needs to:

Confirm BC+ eligibility in CARES for May,

Do an online or manual certification of BC+ eligibility for Mr. and Mrs. Cleaver for
the months of March and April. No premium is owed for the parents for those
months, and

3. Issue a manual Positive Notice of Decision to the family for those two months.

N =

In addition, since the sons are no longer required to pay a premium and are now
eligible for the Standard Plan, the worker must also update their medical status code
using the online or manual F-10110. Once the medical status is updated in iC to a non-
premium status, HP will automatically refund the $20.00 premium that was paid.

Example 5: Mary and Tom apply for BC+ on May 1, 2014 for their son, Sam, and Mary’s
daughter, Sara. Mary and Tom are not married and both plan to file taxes. Mary claims Sara as a
dependent and Tom claims Sam. Sara’s AG income is 208%, so she has a $10 premium. Sam’s
AG income is at 310%, so he is not eligible for BC+. The case is confirmed on May 15, 2014
with Sara’s eligibility beginning May 1, 2014. On June 1st, Tom reports his income decreased in
late March, resulting in Sam’s AG income to decrease to 265%. Sam would now be eligible
with a $44 premium. Because CARES will not allow the worker to confirm the increase in
premium for June, Sam will not be required to pay a premium until July 1, 2014, although he
will be eligible as of June 1, 2014. Sara is still required to pay her $10 June premium, and the
combined premium of $54 will be effective July 1, 2014.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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19.11 BADGERCARE PLUS RESTRICTIVE RE-ENROLLMENT PERIOD
(RRP)

19.11.1 Household Changes

19.11.2 Reapplying

19.11.3 Quitting BC+

19.11.4 Good Cause for Quitting BC+

A member for whom a premium is owed for the current month who leaves BC+ by
quitting or not paying a premium may be subject to a restrictive re-enrollment period. A
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restrictive re-enrollment period (RRP) means the member cannot re-enroll in BC+ for a
certain number of months from the termination date while their income remains high
enough to owe a premium, unless they meet a good cause exemption or the RRP is
lifted. For adult BadgerCare Plus members aged 19 and older, the RRP is 12 months;
for children under age 19 the RRP lasts 6 months if the RRP begins prior to December
31, 2013 or the RRP will last 3 months if it begins after January 1, 2014.

One member in a household may be in an RRP while other members in the same
household are still eligible for BC+ or ineligible under a separate RRP. For example,
children in the same household as a member on RRP may remain eligible for BC+ if no
premium obligation was owed for the children.

Example 1: Jack, Jill and their three children are open for BC+. Jack and Jill have a
premium. The children are eligible without a premium. They fail to pay the
December premium so Jack and Jill are in a RRP from January through December.
The children are still eligible. In March, Jack reports an increase in income and the
children now each have a $10.00 ($30.00 total) premium, beginning in April. They
also fail to pay the premium for the children, so the children are put in an RRP, from
May through October.

19.11.1 Household Changes

End the RRP when an adult member of the former BC+ group leaves the home during
the RRP for one full calendar month and all arrears are paid. BC+ eligibility may begin
the first of the month after the month the adult left or the BC+ group has paid any
arrears still owed, whichever is later. The individual does not have to make payments
for months they were ineligible.

Example 2: Dad leaves the home on May 20th. On June 20th, he has been out of
the home a full calendar month. Mom may be BC+ eligible starting July 1st, if she
pays the arrears owed.

19.11.2 Reapplying

An individual who applies for BC+ before the end of the RRP is ineligible, as long as
their income is high enough to require a premium. If the family’s income drops to the
point where the individuals in an RRP no longer owe BC+ premiums, they may again
become eligible for BC+. If the income rises and the members again owe premiums,
the individuals are still in the RRP and they are ineligible for BC+.

RRPs are tracked separately for BadgerCare Plus for Families and the Core Plan. If an
individual who is under an RRP due to non-payment of premiums for Core Plan
becomes eligible for BadgerCare Plus for Families, the Core Plan RRP does not affect
eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.
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Example 3: Jackie, John and their three children are open for BC+. Jackie and John
have a premium. The children are eligible without a premium. They fail to pay the
June premium so Jackie and John are in a RRP from July through the following June.
The children are still eligible. In September, Jackie reports a decrease in income and
the family’s net income is now at 120% of the FPL. The change was effective in
September. Beginning September 1, Jackie and John are again eligible for BC+
without a premium. In addition, because their income is below the premium threshold
(133% of FPL), they are not required to pay their arrears first.

Children under age 19 in an RRP

Through December 31, 2013, the individual must serve the full six month penalty period.
Eligibility may begin again in month seven provided the arrears are paid in full. The
arrears must be paid for all months s/he was eligible with a premium. In addition, if
another group in the case has unpaid premiums and are in a different RRP, no one is
eligible after the RRP until all the arrears for the case are paid.

Beginning January 1, 2014, children will serve a three month RRP for failure to pay a
premium. However, the child can become eligible for BC+ again at any time during the
three month RRP if s/he pays his or her arrears. The child’s eligibility will be restored
back to the beginning of the RRP. If the individual serves the full three month penalty
period, s/he will become eligible for BC+ again without paying arrears on the first of the
following month after the RRP ends, if s/he continues to meet the program eligibility
criteria.

If a child enters a six month RRP prior to December 31, 2013 and the RRP would end in
2014, s/he must serve the full six month RRP before becoming eligible for BC+ again.
This child’s RRP cannot be lifted in 2014 by paying his or her arrears prior to the end of
the RRP.

Example 4: Kayla had a BCPC premium of $10 and failed to pay her November premium. Her

BCPC ended November 30, 2013 and she was put into a six month RRP from December 1, 2013
to May 31, 2014. Eligibility can be re-determined in June 2014 if the arrears are paid in full OR

Kayla could re-enroll if she pays her November and December premiums prior to December 31,
2013.

Adults

The individual must serve the full 12 month penalty period. Eligibility may begin again in
month 13. Arrears are forgiven, that is they no longer have to be paid, after the member
has not been required to pay BC+ premiums for 12 months. For example, in a family
where the parents failed to pay premiums and were in an RRP for a year after the
failure to pay, the parents could again be eligible when they owe a premium and will not
have to pay the old arrears.

Example 5: Same example 3, except Jackie reports in May that the family’s income in April
increased back up to 155% of the FPL. Since the RRP lasted until June 30, Jackie and John are
ineligible for BC+ for the month of June. Their three children remain open for BC+. If their
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income remains above 133%, they are not eligible until the end of the RRP on July 1. They do
not have to pay any arrears to become eligible in July because they have not owed a BC+
premium for the last 12 months.

Example 6: Chelsey fails to pay her October 2013 BCPA premium and is put in a 12 month
RRP from November 1, 2013 to October 31, 2014. On June 1, 2014, she reports her income
decreased and is now at 90% FPL, so the worker re-opens her BC+ and she is not required to
pay a premium. On September 5, 2014, she reports an increase in income and is now at 140%.
Her BC+ eligibility will end September 30, 2014 because she is still within the 12 month RRP
cannot be made eligible in an Extension without a premium requirement.

Example 7: Same example as above except that her income changes to 107% on November 4,
2014. Because she is no longer within the 12 month RRP, she is put into a new Extension.

19.11.3 Quitting BC+

In order for BC+ to be cost-effective, premium-paying members will not be able to pick
and choose when they want to pay premiums and receive BC+ benefits. Therefore, if a
premium-paying BC+ member decides to quit the program, they will remain ineligible
for:

e 6 months if they are a child under age 19 and they quit prior to Adverse Action in

November 2013.
e 12 months if they are an adult age 19 or older, or
« until their income drops below the premium threshold,

whichever happens first.

An RRP will not apply if a BC+ member requests to quit BC+ prior to when an initial
premium would be owed. If the request is not made in time to terminate eligibility with
timely notice, the member is still entitled to the benefit and is not required to pay the
premium. However, any arrears must be paid before they can again be eligible with a
premium, unless the BC+ group has not been required to pay BC+ premiums for 12
months.

If the request to quit BC+ is made in the premium benefit month, an RRP will be applied
if the premium is not paid by Adverse Action of the benefit month unless there is a good
cause .

Example 8: The member had an income increase which resulted in a November
premium. Previously s/he did not owe a premium. S/he tells the worker October
20th, (after Adverse Action), that s/he does not want BC+ for November. Since the
member does not owe a premium in October, s/he does not receive an RRP, even
though s/he will receive an additional month of BC+ in November. (It is too late to
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close BC+ for November.)

Note: If s/he does not pay the November premium, s/he will have to pay it before
s/he can be eligible for BC+ with a premium again

For this same case, if the member did not tell the worker until November 2nd that
they do not want BC+ for November, s/he receives an RRP beginning in December
because s/he owed a premium in the current month (November).

19.11.4 Good Cause for Quitting BC+

Do not apply the RRP when an individual who owes a premium for quitting BC+ in the
current month voluntarily quits BC+ for these reasons:

1. No person is non-financially eligible for BC+.
2. The individual moved out of Wisconsin.
3. Health insurance became available for the individual.
4. The individual is now eligible without a premium.
5. The individual has an increase in income that makes them BC+ ineligible.
6. The individual has enrolled in a Qualified Health Plan (QHP) through the
Marketplace.
his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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20 ASSETS
20.1 ASSETS

There is no asset limit for BC+.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date : 02/01/08

21 - 24 RESERVED
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CHAPTER 21-24 (RESERVED)

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date : 02/01/08
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PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (CHAPTERS 25-37)

25 APPLICATION

25.1 APPLICATION

Anyone has the right to apply for BC+; however, individuals under 18 years of age must
have a parent or a legal guardian apply for BC + on his/her behalf unless s/he is living
independently.

The applicant may be assisted by any person s/he chooses in completing an application
Note: Individuals less than 18 years of age have the right to apply for BC+ Family
Planning Only Services on his/her own behalf.

Encourage anyone who expresses interest in applying to file an application as soon as
possible. When an application is requested:

1. Suggest the applicant use the ACCESS online application at the following site
https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/ ; or

2. Mail the paper application form; or
3. Schedule a telephone or face-to-face interview.

Provide any information, instruction and/or materials needed to complete the application
process. Provide a Notice of Assignment: Child Support, Family Support, Maintenance
and Medical Support form (DWSP-2477) and Good Cause Claim form (DWSP-2019) to
each applicant with children applying for BC+ or to anyone that requests either of these.

Refer requests for applications and other outreach materials from groups and persons
involved in outreach efforts to: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/customerhelp/

Note: An application can be filed on behalf of a deceased person. If the application is
filed within the same calendar month as the date of death or within the 3 months after
the date of death, the application should be processed as if the applicant were alive. If
the application is filed more than 4 months after the date of death, s/he is not eligible.

This page last updated in Release Number: 10-03
Release Date: 08/25/10
Effective Date : 08/25/10

221


https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2477.pdf
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2019.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/customerhelp/

BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

25.2 APPLICATION TYPES/METHODS
BC+ applicants have the choice of one of the following application methods:

ACCESS https://access.wisconsin.qgov/.

Mail-In using the BadgerCare Plus Application Packet (F-10182).
Telephone Interview.

Face-to-Face Interview.

Use of the paper or online application available through the Marketplace
Telephone application with the Marketplace

ogkwnhE
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25.3 WHERE TO APPLY

25.3.1 Where to Apply Introduction

25.3.2 Intercounty Placements

25.3.3 Applications Outside Wisconsin

25.3.4 Applications Received from the Federal Marketplace

25.3.1 Where to Apply Introduction
The applicant must apply in the county in which s/he resides.

The agency (county/tribe or consortia) of the applicant’s county of residence should
process the individual's application.

The applicant’s county of residence at the time of admission must receive and process
applications for persons in these state institutions:

1. Northern, Central, and Southern Centers.
2. Winnebago and Mendota Mental Health Institutes.
3. The University of Wisconsin Hospital.

When an applicant contacts the wrong agency, redirect him/her to the consortium or
tribal agency responsible for processing the application immediately. Anytime an
application is received in the wrong consortium or tribal agency, it must be date
stamped and redirected to the agency responsible for processing that application no
later than the next business day. The filing date remains the date originally received by
the wrong consortium or tribal agency.

25.3.2 Intercounty Placements
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When a county 51.42 board, 51.437 board, human services department or social
services department places a person in a congregate care facility that is located in
another county, the placing county remains responsible for determining and reviewing
the applicant’s BC+ eligibility. A congregate care facility is a:

Child care institution.

Group home.

Foster home.

Nursing home.

Adult Family Home ( AFH ).

Community Based Residential Facility ( CBRF ).
Any other like facility.

Nook,rwhE

The placing county may request the assistance of the receiving county in completing
applications for persons who are not enrolled in BC+ and renewals for BC+ members.
The receiving county must then forward the information to the placing county. The
placing county remains responsible for determining the applicant’s eligibility. If the
placing county requests assistance from the receiving county, the placing county must
provide the other agency with:

The applicant’s name, age, and SSN .

The date of placement.

The applicant’s current BC+ status.

The name and address of the congregate care facility in which the applicant has
been placed.

5. The name of the county and agency making the placement.

PowbdPE

When there is a dispute about responsibility, the social or human services department
of the receiving county may initiate referral to the Department of Health Services' Area
Administration office for resolution. Pending a decision, the county where the person is
physically present must process the application, any changes and renewals.

25.3.3 Applications Outside Wisconsin

Generally, an application should not be taken for a resident of Wisconsin when s/he is
living outside of Wisconsin. An exception is when a Wisconsin resident becomes ill or
injured outside of the state or is taken out of the state for medical treatment. In this
case, the application may be taken, using Wisconsin’s application forms (25.1), by the
public welfare agency in the other state. The forms should be forwarded to the welfare
agency in the other state. The Wisconsin IM agency determines eligibility when the
forms are returned.

25.3.4 Applications Received from the Federal Marketplace

The Federally-faciliated Marketplace (the Marketplace or the Exchange) will begin
sending applications to DHS through an account transfer process for individuals the

223



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

Markeplace assesses as potentially eligible for BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid. Such
applications are considered full applications for all "insurance affordability programs”
including BadgerCare Plus and should be appropriately processed. The 30 day
processing requirement begins on the day that the account is received by the local
agency or the next business day if received after normal operating hours or on
weekends or holidays. If eligible, the individual's benefits will begin on the first day of the
month the application was filed at the Marketplace, not the date that the application was
received by the agency. If the individual requests backdating, their eligibility will be
backdated for up to three months from the first day of the month the application was
filed at the Marketplace.

If a paper application from the Marketplace is mailed to a consortium or tribal agency,
the IM worker should consider that application as an application for BadgerCare Plus
and/or Medicaid and process it.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

25.4 VALID APPLICATION

A valid application for BC+ must include the applicant’s:

1. Name, and
2. Address, and a
3. Signature in the Rights and Responsibilities section of one of the following forms:
e Wisconsin Medicaid for the Elderly, Blind and Disabled Application /
Review Packet (E-10101),
o Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and Family Planning Services Registration
Application (E-10129),
o BadgerCare Plus Application Packet (F-10182),
o BadgerCare Plus Supplement to FoodShare Wisconsin Application (E-
10138) or an electronic signature in ACCESS,
o Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs Application from the Federally-
facilitated Marketplace
e Telephonic signature in CARES
o Electronic signature in CARES
« Electronic signature in an account transfer from the Marketplace.

The date the BC+ paper or ACCESS application received by the IM agency with the
applicant’'s name, address and a valid signature (25.5) is the filing date . Applications
must be processed within 30 days of the filing date. (See 25.7)
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For applications assessed as Medicaid eligible that were filed at the Marketplace and
subsequently determined eligible for BC+ or the Medicaid, the filing date for the BC+ or
MA coverage will be the date the application was submitted to the Marketplace.
Marketplace-referred applications must be processed within 30 days of the date the
Marketplace application was received by the consortium or agency. For additional
information about the filing date, see 25.6.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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25.5 VALID SIGNATURE

25.5.1 Witnessing the Signature
25.5.2 Telephone Signature Requirements

The applicant or the applicant's caretaker relative must sign (using his/her own
signature):

The paper application form,

The signature page of the CAF (telephone or face to face) or

The ACCESS application form with an electronic signature.

The online or paper Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs Application from the
Federally-facilitated Marketplace.

PwpbPE

Except when:

1. A guardian signs for him/her. When an application is submitted with a signature
of someone claiming to be the applicant’s guardian, obtain a copy of the
document that designates the signer of the application as the guardian. From the
documents provided, ensure that the individual claiming to be the applicant’s
guardian can file an application on his/her behalf. File the copy of the document
in the case record.

Your agency’s social services department determines the need for a guardian or
conservator (IMM, Ch. |, Part A, 19.0.0). Determine the guardian type specified by
the court.

Only the person designated as the guardian of the estate (IMM, Ch. |, Part A,
19.2.0), guardian of the person and the estate, or guardian in general may sign
the application. You may not require a conservator (IMM, Ch. |, Part A, 19.4.0) or
guardian of the person (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 19.1.0) to sign the application.
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2. An authorized representative signs for the applicant. The applicant may authorize

someone to represent him/her (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 18.3.0). An authorized
representative must be an individual, not an organization.

If the applicant wishes to authorize someone to represent him/her when applying
by mail, instruct him/her to complete the authorized representative section of the
application form.

If the applicant needs to appoint an authorized representative when applying by
telephone or in person, instruct the applicant to complete the Authorization of
Representative form (E-10126).

An authorized representative is responsible for submitting the signed application
(completed insofar as able) and any required documents.

When appointing an authorized representative, someone other than the
authorized representative must witness the applicant’s signature. If the applicant
signs with a mark, two witness signatures are required.

When a Marketplace application is processed by the agency and an applicant has
appointed an authorized representative in the application, the agency must honor
this appointment of an authorized representative.

3. The applicant’s durable power of attorney (8§ 243.07, Wis. Stats.) signs the
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application. A durable power of attorney is a person to whom the applicant has
given power of attorney authority and agrees that the authority will continue even
if the applicant later becomes disabled or otherwise incapacitated.

When a submitted application is signed by someone claiming to be the applicant’s
durable power of attorney:

a. Obtain a copy of the document the applicant used to designate the signer
of the application as the durable power of attorney.

b. Review the document for a reference that indicates the power of attorney
authority continues notwithstanding any subsequent disability or incapacity
of the applicant.

Do not consider the application properly signed unless both of these conditions
are met. File a copy of the document in the case record. An individual's Durable
Power of Attorney may appoint an authorized representative for purposes of
making a BC+ application, if authorized on the power of attorney form. The
Durable Power of Attorney form will specify what authority is granted.
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The appointment of a Durable Power of Attorney does not prevent an individual
from filing his/her own application for BC+, nor does it prevent the individual from
granting authority to someone else to apply for public assistance on his/her behalf.

4. Someone acting responsibly for the individual signs the form on behalf of the
individual, if the individual is incompetent or incapacitated.

Example: Carlisin a coma in the hospital. Sherry, a nurse who works at the
hospital, can apply for BC+ on Carl’s behalf.

5. A superintendent of a state mental health institution or center for the
developmentally disabled signs on behalf of a patient.

6. A warden signs the application for an applicant that is an inmate of a state
correctional institution that is out for more than 24 hours .

7. The director of a county social or human services department delegates, in
writing (retain a copy of this written authorization), to the superintendent of the
county psychiatric institution the authority to sign and witness an application for
residents of the institution.

The social or human services director may end the delegation when there’s
reason to believe that the delegated authority is not being carried out properly.

25.5.1 Witnessing the Signature

The signatures of two witnesses are required when the application is signed with a
mark.

An agency staff person is not required to witness the signature of a mail-in, online or
telephone application.

Note: This does not affect the State of Wisconsin’s ability to prosecute for fraud nor does it
prevent the BC+ program from recovering benefits provided incorrectly due to an applicant or
member’s misstatement or omission of fact.

25.5.2 Telephone Signature Requirements

1. An audio recording of the following:

« Key information provided by the household during the telephone interview;
« Signature statement that includes:
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i.  Rights and responsibilities;

ii. Attestation to the accuracy and completeness of information provided,;
iii.  Attestation to the identity of individual signing the application;
iv.  Release of information.

2. Store the audio recording in the electronic case file (ECF).

3. Send a written summary of the information provided during the interview. Include
a cover letter that outlines the applicant or member’s responsibility to review the
information provided and notify the agency within ten calendar days if any errors
are noted.

4. Store a copy of the written summary and cover letter in the electronic case file
(ECF).

Note: Applications that are submitted through ACCESS or transferred from the Marketplace are
signed electronically, so an additional signature (telephone or pen-and-paper) is not needed.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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25.6 FILING DATE

For applications submitted to the local agency, the filing date is the day a signed valid
application /registration form is delivered to the Income Maintenance agency or the next
business day if it is delivered after the agency's regularly scheduled business hours.

The filing date on an ACCESS application or an application submitted to the
Marketplace is the date the application is electronically submitted or the next business
day if submitted after 4:30 PM or on a weekend or holiday.

When an application is submitted by mail or fax, record the date that the IM agency
received the valid application form.

When a request for assistance is made by phone, the filing date is not set until a valid
signature is received by the agency.
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25.7 TIMEFRAMES

25.7.1 Timeframes Introduction
25.7.2 Changes

25.7.1 Timeframes Introduction
All applications received by an agency must be processed and eligibility approved or
denied as soon as possible but no later than 30 calendar days from:
« The filing date for applications submitted directly to the local tribal or consortium
agency,

OR

e The date the local agency received the application(s) from the Marketplace.

This includes issuing a notice of decision.

IM workers should not delay eligibility for an individual in a household when waiting for
another household member's citizenship or identity verification. The individual pending
for citizenship/identity should be counted as part of the group when determining
eligibility for other group members. (See 2.2)

Extend the 30-day processing time up to an additional 10 days, if you are waiting for the
applicant to provide additional information. CARES will issue a pending notice
indicating the reason for the delay when appropriate entries are made on the
Verification Due Page.

Deny the application for failure to provide information or verification, if:

1. Requested information or verification is required by program policy to determine
eligibility (Chapter 9), and

2. The applicant had the power to produce the information or verification, within the
period, but failed to do so, and

3. The applicant had a minimum of 10 days to produce the verification.
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Example 1: A signed application was received on March 15th. The worker
processed the application on April 7th and requested verification. Verification was
due April 17th, but was not received by that date. Even though the end of the 30-day
application processing period was April 13th, the application should not have been
denied until April 18th to allow at least 10 days to provide verification.

If the agency fails to take action (positive or negative) during the 30-day processing
period, and the applicant is subsequently found eligible, determine eligibility using the
original filing date.

Example 2: A signed application was received on May 15th. The first day of the 30-
day period was May 16th. The end of the 30-day period would have been June 14th.
The application was approved on June 20th, and the applicant is determined eligible
beginning May 1st.

Example 3: A signed application was submitted to the Marketplace on March 2nd.
The Marketplace assessed the individual as potentially eligible for BC+ and
transferred the individual’'s account to the agency on March 5th. The first day of the
30-day period for processing requirements was March 6th. The end of the 30-day
period would have been April 4th. The application was approved on March 31st, and
the applicant is determined eligible beginning March 1st.

25.7.2 Changes

Changes that occur between the filing date and the confirmation date should be used in
the initial eligibility determination.

For changes that occur after the confirmation date, follow the adequate and timely
notice requirements outlined in IMM Chapter 1.2.2.
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25.8 BEGIN DATES

25.8.1 Backdated Eliqibility
25.8.1.1 BC+ Family Planning Only Services
25.8.1.2 Pregnant Women
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BC+ eligibility begins the first day of the month in which the valid application is submitted and
all eligibility requirements are met, with the following exceptions. Those begin dates are the
date a valid application is submitted, all eligibility requirements are met, and:

arwnE
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Deductible - The date the deductible was met.

Inmates - The date the member is no longer an inmate of a public institution.
Newborn - The date the child was born.

Person Adds - The date the person moved into the household.

BC+ Prenatal Program - The first of the month in which a completed application
is received and the pregnancy is verified.

Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy for the BC+ Prenatal Program will
only be verified if the worker has information that contradicts the individual's
self-declaration.

Recent Moves - The date the member moved to Wisconsin.
Insurance Coverage ends with good cause - The begin date for BC+ is the date
following the coverage end date.

25.8.1 Backdated Eligibility

All pregnant women, except those eligible under the BC+ Prenatal program, may have their
eligibility backdated to the first of the month, up to three calendar months prior to the month of
application.

All former foster care youth that meet the criteria in Chapter 11 may have their eligibility
backdated to the first of the month, up to three calendar months prior to the month of application.

All disabled adults may have their eligibility backdated to the first of the month, up to three
calendar months prior to the month of application.

Children determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus are eligible for the following periods of
backdated eligibility:

Infants less than 1 year old may have their eligibility backdated up to the first of
the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any of the
months in which their family income was at or below 300% FPL (under non-MAGI
rules) OR at or below 306% FPL (under MAGI rules),

Children ages 1 through 5 may have their eligibility backdated up to the first of
the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any of the
months in which their family income was at or below 185% FPL (under non-MAGI
rules) OR at or below 191% FPL (under MAGI rules), and

Children ages 6 through 18 may have their eligibility backdated up to the first of
the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any of the
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months in which their family income was at or below 150% FPL prior to
December 31, 2013 (under non-MAGI rules) OR at or below 156% FPL (under
MAGI rules).

All non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretakers may have their eligibility
backdated up to the first of the month, three calendar months prior to the month of
application for any of the months in which their family income was:
e Atorbelow 133% FPL, prior to January 31, 2013,
OR
e Atorbelow 100% FPL, after February 1, 2014.

Childless adults with assistance group income under 100% FPL will be eligible for backdating
beginning in 2014. However, retroactive coverage cannot begin prior to April 1, 2014. As a
result, a childless adult could not be eligible for the full three calendar months period of
backdating until July 1, 2014.

If certifying for retroactive BC+, do not go back further than the first of the month, three months
prior to the application month. Certify the person for any backdate month in which s/he would
have been eligible had s/he applied in that month. In the case of children, certify the person for
any backdate month in which s/he would have been eligible had s/he applied in that month and in
which their assistance group income was at or below the appropriate FPL level for their age

group.

A backdate request can be made at any time, except in the case where the member is already
enrolled and backdating the member’s eligibility would result in a deductible for the backdated
period.

If a member has incurred a bill from a BC+ certified provider during a backdate period, instruct
the member to contact the provider to inform them to bill BC+. The member may be eligible to
receive a refund, up to the amount already paid to the provider.

Example 1: Mary who is pregnant with an August due date, applied for BC+ on April 6th,
and was found eligible. At the time of application, Mary did not request a backdate.

In September Mary is billed for a doctor’s appointment she had at the end of February. Mary
can ask to have her eligibility backdated through February. She meets all non-financial and
financial eligibility criteria in the months of February and March. Her worker certifies her for
BC+ for both months.

Example 2: Jess applied for BC+ on May 2, 2014 and was found eligible as a childless adult,
with coverage beginning May 1, 2014. At the time of application, Jess requested three months
of backdated coverage, through February 1, 2014. Because Jess is eligible as a childless adult
and coverage cannot be backdated for childless adults prior to April 1, 2014, Jess will only
receive backdated coverage in April 2014.

25.8.1.1 BC+ Family Planning Services
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Eligibility for FPOS begins on the first of the month of application, if all non-financial (40.4)
and financial (40.5) eligibility requirements are met. FPOS may be backdated up to three
months from the month of application.

25.8.1.2 Preghant Women

Except those women eligible only under the BC+ Prenatal Program, backdate a pregnant woman
to whichever is more recent:

1. The first of the month in which the pregnancy began.

2. The first of the month, three months prior to the month of application. If a woman
was pregnant before the date of her application, backdate her BC+ even though
she is not pregnant on the date of application. Do not, however, continue her
eligibility as a pregnant woman beyond the end of the pregnancy. Before
backdating her BC+, verify that she has met all the eligibility requirements during
the backdated period.

See (41.5) for the BC+ Prenatal eligibility begin date policy.
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25.9 DENIALS AND TERMINATIONS

25.9.1 Termination
25.9.2 Denial

25.9.1 Termination

If less than a calendar month has passed since a member’s enrollment has been
terminated, the applicant can provide the necessary information to reopen BC+ without
filing a new application .

If more than a calendar month has passed since a member’s enrollment was
terminated, the applicant must file a new application to reopen his/her BC+.
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Starting with renewals due March 31, 2014, if a case is determined under MAGI rules
and is closed at renewal due to failure to complete the renewal, including providing
verification for that renewal, the individual can be reopened for BC+ without filing a new
application if s/he provides the necessary information within 90 days of the renewal
date.

25.9.2 Denial

If less than 30 days has passed since the client's eligibility was denied, allow the client
to re-sign and date the application or page one of the CAF to set a new filing date .

If more than 30 days has passed since a client's eligibility was denied and the client is
not open for any other program, the client must file a new application to reopen his/her
MA.

If the client is open for any other program of assistance, do not require him/her to re-
sign his/her application or sign a new application.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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26 RENEWAL

26.1 RENEWALS

26.1.1 Renewals Introduction
26.1.2 Administrative Renewals

26.1.1 Renewals Introduction

A renewal is the process during which you reexamine all eligibility factors subject to change and
decide if eligibility continues. The group’s continued eligibility depends on its timely
completion of a renewal. Each renewal results in a determination to continue or discontinue
eligibility.

The first required eligibility renewal for a BC+ case is 12 months from the certification month,
except for:

234



Program Administration (Chapters 25-37)

1. CENS - The renewal date is 12 months from the date of birth.

2. Pregnhant women -The renewal date is two calendar months after the date the
pregnancy ends.

Note: Women in the BC+ Prenatal Program lose eligibility on the date the
pregnancy ends. However, they are automatically eligible for emergency services
for two months after eligibility for BC+ Prenatal Program ends. (Chapter 41.6)

3. Deductibles - A renewal is not scheduled for a case that did not meet its
deductible , unless someone in the case was open for BC +. For cases that did
meet the deductible, the renewal date is six months from the start of the
deductible period.

Note: For manually certified BC+ cases, make sure the member receives a timely notice of when
the renewal is due.

Agency Option

For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules, the agency may review
any case at any other time when the agency can justify the need. Examples include:

e Loss of contact
e« Member request

Note: Shortening certification periods in an attempt to balance agency workload is not
permissible.

BC+ members whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules are required to complete
a renewal no earlier or no later than 12 months from their certification period. Individuals
whose benefits are time-limited, such as CENs or pregnant women, will not be required
to do a renewal at the end of their time limited benefit if the individual is on a case with
other open BC+ assistance groups.

Once individuals’ BC+ eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, workers can complete

an early renewal only if the member requests an early renewal. Once the member
requests an early renewal, the renewal must be completed.
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For MAGI based AGs, renewals received within 90 days of the renewal month can be
processed as a late renewal instead of requiring a new application. The income that
was required to have been reported had the renewal been timely is the income that is
required to be budgeted unless the income has changed. If the income has significantly
changed, use the actual income or the best available income for the previous months
and prospective budgeting for the current and future months.

26.1.2 Administrative Renewals

Administrative Renewals through December 31, 2013

An administrative renewal is an extension of program eligibility for certain low-risk cases based
on the information in CARES as of the month prior to the renewal month. Cases selected for
administrative renewal are cases that are highly unlikely to lose eligibility at renewal due to
increases in income or assets.

The extension of program eligibility under an administrative renewal is based on the information
in CWW as of the month prior to the month a full renewal would otherwise have been due. An
administrative renewal case will not receive an eligibility renewal notice and is not required to
provide the IM agency with any additional information in order to have program eligibility
continued.

Administrative renewal cases remain subject to change reporting requirements. The
administrative renewal notice identifies program specific change reporting requirements, as well
as the potential consequences for not reporting changes timely. Changes reported for a case that
has undergone an administrative renewal should be processed under existing policy.

BadgerCare Plus (BCP) cases selected for administrative renewal must meet all the following
criteria:

e No child in household turning 18 in current or next month
« Countable income at or below 75% FPL

e No premium

e No open FoodShare, Child Care or W-2

Through December 31, 2013, Family Planning Only Services (FPOS) cases selected for
administrative renewal must meet all the following criteria:

e No child in household turning 18 in current or next month
o Countable income of individuals age 18 and older at or below 275% FPL

Open for Multiple Programs

If the case is open for MSP and BadgerCare Plus or FPOS, the case may be selected for
administrative renewal if the BCP/FPOS renewal is due and the case meets all the selection
criteria listed above. If the MSP renewal is due but not the BCP/FPOS renewal, or the case does
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not meet all the selection criteria listed above, the case will not be selected for administrative
renewal.

Continuous Eligibility

To be selected for an administrative renewal, the case must be open and currently eligible with
continuous program eligibility for at least the twelve month period prior to the month in which
the case is being considered for an administrative renewal. Additionally, the case must have had
at least one full regular renewal.

Alternate Years

Cases will not be selected for administrative renewal if the last renewal requirement was met
through an administrative renewal. Administrative renewals will be done every other year. The
exceptions to this rule are:

e HCBW or MLTC members who are Group A due to their eligibility for SSI or
1619b

« Family Planning Only Services cases where the only eligible case member is
under 18 and will not turn age 18 in the current or next month.

Persons meeting these criteria may be selected for administrative renewal annually as long as the
detailed selection criteria are met.

Schedule
Administrative renewal case selection will occur prior to sending the regular renewal notices.
Any cases not selected for an administrative renewal will be sent the regular renewal notice.

Renewal Mode
Cases in renewal mode will not be selected for administrative renewal.

CARES
CWW will automatically:

e Select cases subject to administrative renewal,
o Determine the continued eligibility, and
« Notify the member of the administrative renewal and eligibility determination.

Worker intervention is not necessary to complete the administrative renewal process.

Cases selected for Administrative Renewal will run through a batch eligibility process. Cases
that have a pending or fail status after running through the batch eligibility process will not
continue through the Administrative Renewal process and will be set for regular renewal.

Cases that are passing after eligibility batch run will go through the administrative renewal
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confirmation process.

During the confirmation process:

o Case level renewal dates are set.

e A case comment is added indicating that the case has gone through an
Administrative Renewal.

o The Application/Review Interview Details page will display 'Admin Renewal’.

« The Notice of Decision process is triggered and will generate an administrative
renewal letter. The letter will be stored in the ECF.

e The Enrollment and Benefit brochure is sent to the customer.

Administrative Renewals Effective January 1, 2014
Effective January 1, 2014, administrative renewals will be suspended for BC+ and FPOS cases.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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26.2 CHOICE OF RENEWAL

The member has the choice of the following methods for any BC + renewal:

Face-to-Face Interview.

Mail-In (paper application or pre-printed renewal packet).
Telephone Interview.

ACCESS ( https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/ )

PowbdPE
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26.3 RENEWAL PROCESSING

A BC+ eligibility renewal notice is generated in the 2nd week of the 11th month of the
certification period. Do not schedule a renewal until after adverse action in the month
prior to the month of renewal.
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Example 1: CARES sends out the renewal letter the 2nd week of July for a review
due in August. Do not schedule the renewal for a date prior to adverse action in July.

Do not require a new Authorized Representative form at renewal, if the person signing
the renewal is the Authorized Representative on file. If the renewal is not completed by
the end of the certification period, the case will close. The closure notice is generated
through CARES, at adverse action in the renewal month.
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27 CHANGE REPORTING

27.1 CHANGES REPORTED DURING THE APPLICATION
PROCESSING PERIOD

For applications, changes that occur between the filing date and confirmation date must
be reported and considered in the eligibility determination. Changes that are reported
after certification must be acted on in the same manner as any other reported change.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

27.2 NON- FINANCIAL CHANGE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules must
report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after occurrence:

e Address

e Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the pregnancy of a
BC+ member

e Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.)

e Change in marital status

BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules must

report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after occurrence:

e Address
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e Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the pregnancy of a
BC+ member

Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.)

Change in marital status

Change in insurance coverage

Change in expected tax filing status

Change in tax dependents

No longer receiving a tax-related deduction

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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27.3 INCOME CHANGE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules must
report income changes when their total monthly gross income exceeds the following
percentages of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) for their group size.

100% FPL
133% FPL
150% FPL
185% FPL
200% FPL
250% FPL
300% FPL
350% FPL
400% FPL

BC+ members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, income changes must
be reported when the total monthly income of the assistance group with the highest
monthly income amount exceeds the following FPL percentages for their assistance
group size:

100% FPL
133% FPL
156% FPL
191% FPL
200% FPL
250% FPL
306% FPL
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o 350% FPL
e 400% FPL

The income change must be reported by the 10th of the month following the month in
which the total income exceeded its previous threshold.

Adults in a BadgerCare Plus Extension who are required to pay a premium must also
report and verify income changes during the extension certification period. Eligibility for
adult members who would be required to pay premiums will be terminated for failure to
submit requested verification. Effective April 1, 2014, all non-exempt parents and
caretakers in BC+ Extensions will be required to pay a premium. However, parents and
caretakers with income between 100 and 133% FPL will not be subject to premiums
until the seventh calendar month of their extension.

The CARES notice will indicate the dollar amount associated with each FPL level, for
the BC+ group size.

Example 1: Sally’s countable family income has been at 80% of the FPL since she
applied in January. In June her income increased to 107%, so she must report the
change by July 10th.

Example 2: Heidi’s countable family income is 128% of the FPL. In September it
increased to 164% of the FPL. Heidi must report this change by October 10th.

Example 3: Steve’s countable family income is 265% of the FPL. In December it
increased to 411% of the FPL. Steve must report this change by January 10th.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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27.4 OTHER REPORTED CHANGES

Any other change that is reported, or becomes known to the agency (i.e. through data
exchange) must be acted upon.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08
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27.5 CHANGE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR BC+ FAMILY
PLANNING ONLY SERVICES MEMBERS:

There are only two changes that BC+ Family Planning Only Services members need to
report during the certification period :

e Address or
« Living arrangement (e.g. incarceration, institutionalization)

These changes must be reported within ten days of occurrence.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-01
Release Date: 02/28/13
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28 CORRECTIVE ACTION

28.1 OVERPAYMENTS

An “overpayment” occurs when BC+ benefits are paid for someone who was not eligible
for them or when BC+ premium calculations are incorrect. The amount of recovery may
not exceed the amount of the BC+ benefits incorrectly provided. Some examples of
how overpayments occur are:

1. Concealing or not reporting income.

2. Failure to report a change in income.

3. Providing misinformation at the time of application regarding any information that
would affect eligibility.

Note: Overpayments can only be recovered if the member failed to report a change for
which they were notified they were required to report.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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28.2 RECOVERABLE OVERPAYMENTS
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Initiate recovery for a BC+ overpayment, if the incorrect payment resulted from one of
the following:

1. Applicant /Member Error

Applicant/Member error exists when an applicant, member or any other person
responsible for giving information on the member’s behalf unintentionally
misstates (financial or non-financial) facts, which results in the member receiving a
benefit that s/he is not entitled to or more benefits than s/he is entitled to. Failure
to report non-financial facts that impact eligibility or cost share amounts is a
recoverable overpayment.

Applicant/Member error occurs when there is a:

a. Misstatement or omission of facts by a member, or any other person
responsible for giving information on the member’s behalf at a BC +
application or review.

or
b. Failure on the part of the member, or any person responsible for
giving information on the member’s behalf, to report required
changes in financial (27.3) (income, expenses, etc.) or non-financial
(27.2) information that affects eligibility, premium, patient liability or
cost share amounts.

An overpayment occurs if the change would have adversely affected eligibility, the
benefit plan or the premium amount.

Example 1: Joe and his family were determined eligible for BC+ with a $100.00 total
group premium in July. In November, Joe’s worker learned that Joe had received a
raise September 1st that Joe was required to report by October 10th. The amount of
the new family income increased the premium amount to $130.00. The worker
entered the new income in CARES and confirmed the increase in the premium
amount for December.

What can now be recovered?
Because Joe did not report the increase in income to his worker, the premium

amount for November is incorrect. The overpayment amount would be the difference
between the correct premium for November and the premium amount that was paid.

Example 2: Sally was determined eligible for BC+ Standard Plan in January. In May,
the worker discovered that at application Sally had not reported the income from a
part time job. The unreported income would have put Sally into the Benchmark Plan
with a $30.00 premium. The worker entered the income in CARES and confirmed
the premium and the change from the Standard plan to the Benchmark plan effective
June 1st.
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What can now be recovered?

The overpayment for the months of January through May is the $30.00 per month
premium amount plus the difference in the co-pays and deductible amounts for
services that she should have paid under the Benchmark plan.

Example 3: John and his family were determined eligible for BC+ in June. John
accepted a new job in South Carolina and the family moved out of state on July 20th.
Since they were no longer residents of Wisconsin, they were no longer eligible for
BC+. However, because their move to South Carolina was not reported, capitation
payments continued to be made for John and his family until the worker closed the
case effective December 31st.

What can now be recovered?
Giving 10 days to report and following AA logic, the case would have closed August

31. Fee-For-Service claims and/or HMO capitation payments for September,
October, November and December are recoverable.

Example 4: Susan was determined eligible for BC+ in January. She was pregnant
with a due date of August 15th. On February 3rd, she miscarried but did not report
this change to her worker. Her BC+ eligibility continued until the worker closed the
case effective October 31st. Once she was no longer pregnant, she would only have
remained eligible for an additional 60 days after the last day of pregnancy through
the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs. Susan was not eligible for the
months May through October.

What can now be recovered?

The change should have been reported in February. Allowing for the 2 month
extension, BC+ should have closed April 30. The overpayment amount is the
amount of the Fee-For-Service claims and the capitation payment made for her from
May through October.

2. Fraud
Fraud is also known as Intentional Program Violation (IPV).

Fraud exists when an applicant, member or any other person responsible for
giving information on the member's behalf does any of the following:

1. Intentionally makes or causes to be made a false statement or
representation of fact in an application for a benefit or payment.
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2. Intentionally makes or causes to be made a false statement or
representation of a fact for use in determining rights to benefits or
payments.

3. Having knowledge of an event affecting initial or continued right to a
benefit or payment and intentionally failing to disclose such event.

4. Having made application to receive a benefit or payment and intentionally
uses any or all of the benefit or payment for something other than the
intended use and benefit of such persons listed on the application.

If there is a suspicion that fraud has occurred, see 28.6 for information about
referral to the District Attorney (DA).

. Member Loss of an Appeal

Benefits a member receives as a result of a fair hearing request order can be
recovered, if the member loses the appeal.

A member may choose to continue to receive benefits pending an appeal
decision. If the appeal decision is that the member was ineligible, the benefits
received while awaiting the decision can be recovered. If an appeal results in an
increased patient liability, cost share,or premium, recover the difference between
the initial amount and the new amount.

This page last updated in Release Number: 12-02
Release Date: 10/05/12
Effective Date: 07/01/12

28.3 NON-RECOVERABLE OVERPAYMENTS

Do not initiate recovery for a BC+ overpayment if it resulted from a non-member error,
including the following situations:

1.

The member reported the change timely, but the case could not be closed or the
benefit reduced due to the 10-day notice requirement.

2. Agency error (keying error, math error, failure to act on a reported change, etc).
3.

Normal prospective budgeting projections based on best available information.

Example: Susan and her daughter Kathy are open for BC+. Susan reported a
change in income on April 1st. The worker did not process the change until April
28th,
change was reported timely, but not acted on by the worker until after Adverse Action

so it was not effective until June 1st. There is no overpayment for May since the
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28.4 OVERPAYMENT CALCULATION

28.4.1 Overpayment Period

28.4.2 Overpayment Amount

28.4.3 Overpayments for Individuals Eligible for Family Planning Services (FPS)
28.4 4 Determining Liable Individual

28.4.1 Overpayment Period
Misstatement or Omission of Fact

If the overpayment is a result of a misstatement or omission of fact during an initial BC+
application or review, determine the period for which the benefits were determined
incorrectly and determine the appropriate overpayment amount (28.4.2).

Failure to Report

For ineligible cases, if the overpayment is a result of failure to report a required change,
calculate the date the change should have been reported and which month the case
would have closed or been adversely affected if the change had been reported timely.

Fraud/IPV

For ineligible cases, if the overpayment was the result of fraud, determine the date the
fraudulent act occurred. The period of ineligibility should begin the date the case would
have closed or been adversely affected allowing for proper notice. If an overpayment
exists, but the case is still being investigated for fraud, establish the claim so collection
can begin promptly. Prosecution should not delay recovery of a claim.

The ineligible period should begin with the application month.
28.4.2 Overpayment Amount

Use the actual income that was reported or required to be reported in determining if an
overpayment has occurred.

If the case was ineligible for BC+, recover the amount of medical claims paid by the
state and/or the capitation rate. Use the ForwardHealth interChange data from the
Total Benefits Paid by Medicaid Report(s). Deduct any amount paid in premiums (for
each month in which an overpayment occurred) from the overpayment amount.
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If the case is still eligible for BC+ for the timeframe in question, but there was an
increase in the premium, recover the difference between the premiums paid and the
amount owed for each month in question. To determine the difference, determine the
premium amount owed and view the premium amount paid on CARES screen AGPT.

The overpayment amount is the difference between the premium paid and premium
owed even if the premium that was paid was $0.

Example: Tom and his family became eligible for BC+ in June 2008, without a
premium. In his application Tom failed to disclose income from a second job which
would have resulted in $100 per month group premium. All individuals in the group
remained eligible for BC+. This new information was discovered in July 2008.

Overpayment Calculation
$100 premium owed for June
+ $100 premium owed for July
$200 Total premium owed
- $0 premium paid
$200 Overpayment

If the unreported information would have placed the individual in the Benchmark plan
instead of the Standard plan, the overpayment amount would be the difference in the
co-pays and deductibles for the services provided.

If a member error increases a deductible amount before the deductible is met, there is
no overpayment. Recalculate eligibility and notify the member of the new deductible
amount.

If the member met the incorrect deductible and BC+ paid for services after the
deductible had been met, there is an overpayment. Recover the difference between the
correct deductible amount and the previous deductible amount or the amount of claims
over the six month period (whichever is less).

If the member was ineligible for the deductible, determine the overpayment amount. If
the member prepaid his/her deductible, deduct any amount s/he paid toward the
deductible from the overpayment amount.

28.4.3 Overpayments for Individuals Eligible for Family Planning Only Services
(FPOS)

If an individual or case was ineligible for MA or BC+ but would have been eligible for
FPOS , the calculation of the BC +overpayment amount is as follows:

1. If the incorrect/overpaid FPOS costs were “fee for service” medical claims paid
by the state, recover the amount of benefits that were actually paid by the state
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minus any BC+ premiums which the member may have paid and the amount of
any actual FPOS services that were provided.

2. If the incorrect /overpaid BC+ benefits were paid by an HMO, recover the HMO
capitation rate paid by the state minus any premiums which the member may
have paid and the “average” monthly cost of the FPOS.

28.4 4 Determining Liable Individual

Except for minors, collect overpayments from the BC+ member, even if the member has
authorized a representative to complete the application or review for him/her.

If a minor received BC+ in error, make the claim against the minor’s parent(s) or legally
responsible relative, if the parent or legally responsible relative was living with the minor
at the time of the overpayment.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/24/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

28.5 MEMBER NOTICE

Notify the member or the member’s representative of the period of ineligibility, the
reason for his/her ineligibility, the amounts incorrectly paid, and request arrangement of
repayment within a specified period of time.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

28.6 REFER TO DISTRICT ATTORNEY

See IMM Chapter 11 Program Fraud Overview for referral criteria when fraud is
suspected. The agency may refer the case to the Department of Health Services (DHS)
Office of the Inspector General (OIG) where fraudulent activity by the member is
suspected. If the investigation reveals a member may have committed fraud, refer the
case to the district attorney, corporation counsel for investigation, or OIG. The district
attorney or corporation counsel may prosecute for fraud under civil liability statutes.

The agency may seek recovery through an order for restitution by the court of
jurisdiction in which the member or former member is being prosecuted for fraud.
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28.7 FAIR HEARING

The IM agency’s decision concerning ineligibility and amounts owed may be appealed
through a fair hearing. During the appeal process the agency may take no further
recovery actions pending a decision.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
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28.8 AGENCY RETENTION

The IM agency can retain 15% of the payments recovered. See IMM Chapter 3.3.8
Local Agency Retention.
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28.9 RESTORATION OF BENEFITS

If it is determined that a member’s benefits have been incorrectly denied or terminated, restore
his/her BC+ from the date of the incorrect denial or termination through the time period that s/he
would have remained eligible.

If the member was incorrectly denied or terminated for BC+ with a premium obligation, allow
the member to pick which months s/he would like to receive benefits. Collect all premiums
owed for those prior months before certifying the member for the months s/he chose.

If a member already paid for a BC+ covered service, inform the member that s/he will need to
contact his/her provider to bill BC+ for services provided during that time. A BC+ provider
must refund the amount that BC+ will reimburse for the service. The provider may choose to
refund up to the full amount billed to the member, but that decision is entirely optional.

28.9.1 Premiums
If it is determined that a premium amount was incorrectly calculated for BC+ and would result in
a refund for the member, determine the correct premium amount for each month in which it was

incorrect and report the error to the fiscal agent's BC+ Unit. The fiscal agent will refund the
amount of the premium the member overpaid. The report can be made either by:
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1. Telephone: 1 (888) 907-4455 or
2. Fax: (608) 251-1513

When submitting a fax, write "Attn: BC+ Premium Refunds”.

When reporting the refund to the BC+ Unit, include the:

The member’s Social Security Number.
Months for which a refund needs to be issued.
New premium amount.

Old premium amount.

PwpbdPE

Indicate whether there is a hardship situation that requires the refund to be processed more
quickly.

Occasionally, a BC+ member is certified for retroactive Katie Beckett or SSI eligibility for a
period of time in which they were also certified for BC+. If the BC+ member paid a premium
during this time frame, they are entitled to a refund of any BC+ premiums that they paid during
the retroactive Katie Beckett or SSI certification period .

This page last updated in Release Number: 10-02
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29 NOTICES AND FAIR HEARINGS
29.1 NOTICES

A member must receive a notice at least ten days prior to a negative action such as a
termination of benefits, a change from the Standard plan to the Benchmark plan (only
until March 31, 2014), or an increase in premium.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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29.2 FAIR HEARINGS

Members have the right to a fair hearing, timely case decisions, and accurate notices of
decision. See Chapter 3 of the IMM for specifics.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
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30 AFFIRMATIVE ACTION

30.1 AFFIRMATIVE ACTION AND CIVIL RIGHTS

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, requires a person with impaired sensory, manual or
speaking skills have an opportunity to participate in programs equivalent to those
afforded non-disabled persons.

Assistance must be provided to all BC+ members to assure effective communication.
This includes certified interpreters for deaf persons and translators for non-English
speaking persons. See the Wisconsin BC+ Enrollment and Benefits brochure (P-
00079).

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 requires that applicants for public assistance have an equal
opportunity to participate regardless of race, color, or national origin.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

31 INTERAGENCY TRANSFER

31.1 INTERAGENCY TRANSFER

A case transfer occurs when the primary person receiving benefits from a county or
tribal Income Maintenance agency for a particular month, applies for aid from another
Income Maintenance agency for the same or next month. The primary person must be a
member of a currently open BC+, Child Care, EBD Medicaid, Food Share, or W2
Assistance Group or one that has been closed for less than a calendar month.
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The agency to which the member reports the move must collect information about the
changes, for example, the new address. If the agency does not have sufficient
information about the changed circumstances, it must request information from the
member, according to the BC+ verification policy (Chapter 9).

The renewal date will remain the same after case transfer.

Do not require a renewal or new application for case transfers, except in the following
programs:

e Community Waivers (EBD-MEH Chapter 28.1)
e Family Care (EBD-MEH Chapter 29.1)
e Deductible Met (EBD-MEH Chapter 24.2)

See 6.1 of the Process Help for information on how to process case transfers.
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32 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY

32.1 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE) FOR CHILDREN

(This entire chapter has been rewritten with this release.)

Note: Wisconsin’s presumptive eligibility programs are known by multiple terms: express
enrollment, temporary enrollment, and presumptive eligibility. All such policy will be
collectively referred to as presumptive eligibility.

Children can be presumptively eligible (PE) for the BC+ Standard Plan, if they meet the
following financial and non-financial criteria:

1. Under age 19 (Minors under age 18 must apply with a parent/guardian)

2. A U.S. citizen or lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for the
amount of time the person is lawfully present in the US) and

3. Through January 31, 2014:

1.

« If the child is younger than age 1, the family’s gross income must be at or
below 300% of the Federal Poverty Level.
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Program Administration (Chapters 25-37)

o If the child is age 1 through 5, the family’s gross income must be at or
below 185 % of the Federal Poverty Level.

o If the child is age 6 through 18, the family’s gross income must be at or
below 150 % of the Federal Poverty Level.

Effective February 1, 2014
« If the child is younger than age 1, the child’s assistance group’s income
must be at or below 306% of the Federal Poverty Level.
« Ifthe child is age 1 through 5, the child’s assistance group’s income must
be at or below 191 % of the Federal Poverty Level.
« If the child is age 6 through 18, the child’s assistance group’s income must
be at or below 156% of the Federal Poverty Level

Note: See section 16.1.2 for additional information on MAGI income disregards.

Presumptive eligibility can begin on the day on which a qualified provider determines
that the child meets the criteria listed above by completing an application for a
presumptive eligibility determination through ACCESS APP.

A child is allowed to have only one period of presumptive eligibility in a 12 month period.
Qualified certifying agencies who can enroll children include:

0.

1. Medicaid Providers.

2. Head Start programs.

3. Authorized Child Care providers.
4. WIC agencies.

5.
6
7
8
9
1

Faith-based organizations such as the YMCA.

. Certain Community-based organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club.
. Authorized agencies offering emergency food and shelter.
. Elementary and secondary schools.

Qualified Hospitals
Any other entity the state so deems as approved by the Secretary.

Once certified by fiscal agent to enroll children through the presumptive eligibility
category, the PE certifying agencies will:

1.

Complete an online PE application through the ACCESS Partners/Providers
portal designed for PE determinations.

Provide a temporary BC+ card for the child if s’/he meets the non-financial and
financial criteria for PE.

Provide a denial notice to the child if s/he does not meet the requirements for PE.

Advise the applicant that a ForwardHealth card will replace the temporary card
and provide BC+ benefits for up to two months. (The card will be received within
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3-5 business days.)

5. Stress the importance of applying through the local county/tribal agency for
continued BC+ eligibility. In addition, they will advise applicants that they may
apply for BC+ via the Internet through the ACCESS web site, over the telephone,
through the mail or in person.

Once a certifying agency determines a child presumptively eligible, the child will remain
enrolled until the last day of the calendar month after the month in which the
presumptive eligibility is granted.

If an application is made for BC+ at the local IM agency by the end of the month
following the month in which the child was determined presumptively eligible, the
enrollment period ends the day on which the agency completes processing the BC+
application, regardless of the result of the eligibility determination.

If a BC+ application is not submitted by the end of the month following the month in
which the child was temporarily enrolled, the PE period ends the last day of the month
following the month in which the child was enrolled.

Example: Joe Green applied for BC+ PE for his son Jim on February 4th at the
Center Street Boys Club. Jim was found presumptively eligible for BC+ from
February 4th through March 31st. Joe submits a BC+ ACCESS application to the
local IM agency on February 10th. The agency completes processing the application
on March 1st. Jim is found ineligible for BC+ for February and March and the
application is denied. A notice is sent to Joe informing him Jim is not eligible for BC+
and his BC+ presumptive

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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32.2 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE) FOR PREGNANT WOMEN
(This chapter has been rewritten with this release.)

A Medicaid Qualified Provider certified under contract with the Division of Health Care
Access and Accountability (DHCAA) can temporarily enroll a pregnant woman in BC+
through the Express Enrollment program.

BC+ Express Enrollment (EE) for pregnant women provides pregnancy related out
patient care, including pharmacy services, to pregnant women who are presumptively

eligible for BC+ by meeting the following financial and non-financial criteria:

1. Currently pregnant,
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3.

4.

Program Administration (Chapters 25-37)

A U.S. Citizen or lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for the
amount of time the person is lawfully present in the U.S.), and
Through January 31, 2014,

e Family income at or below 300% of FPL

Effective February 1, 2014,

e Has assistance group income at or below 306% of the FPL, and
« Has not been found presumptively eligible for BC+ through EE for Pregnant
Women at any time during her current pregnancy.

Through January 31, 2014, if the pregnant woman’s income is at or below 200% of the
FPL, she will be eligible for prenatal services under the Standard Plan, if it is between
201% and 300% of the FPL, she will be eligible for prenatal services under the
Benchmark Plan. Beginning February 1, 2014, she will be eligible for out-patient
services under the Standard Plan, regardless of her income at or below 306% of the

FPL.

The provider will:

1.

w N

ok

Medically verify the pregnancy.

Note: Pregnancy will no longer be required to be verified for PE effective
February 1, 2014.

Complete a BC+ PE for Pregnant Women application .

Provide a temporary BC+ card if she meets the non-financial and financial criteria
for PE.

Provide a denial notice if she does not meet the requirements for PE.

Advise the applicant that a ForwardHealth Card will replace the temporary card
and provide prenatal services through BC+ for up to two months. (The new card
will be received within 3-5 business days.)

Stress the importance of applying through the local county/tribal agency for
continued BC+ eligibility. And, advise that the application can be submitted
through https://access.wisconsin.gov/, over the telephone, through the mail or in
person.

Note: Non-citizens will be referred to the IM agency for a BC+PP eligibility
determination.

The qualified provider will also:

1.
2.

Submit the completed PE application form to the fiscal agent.
When circumstances allow, assist the woman in completing and submitting the
BC+ application with the IM agency.
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If she applies for BC+ by the end of the month following the month in which she was
found presumptively eligible, the enrollment period ends the day on which the agency
determines her eligibility, regardless of the result of the determination.

Example: Sandra’s was enrolled in BC+ through the EE for Pregnant Women
Program from January 10th through February 28th. She applied for regular BC+
eligibility through the IM agency on January 15th and was found eligible effective
January 1st. Her PE will end because the BC+ eligibility will retroactively cover her
with full benefits.

If she does not apply by the end of the month following the month in which she was
enrolled through PE for pregnant women, the PE period ends the last day of the month
following the month in which she was determined eligible for PE for pregnant women. If
she is found ineligible for BC+, her enroliment will end following adverse action notice.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date:02/01/14

32.3 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY FOR ADULTS

(This section is new with this release.)

Effective April 1, 2014, qualified hospitals can make presumptive eligiblity
determinations for parents, caretakers and childless adults for the BC+ Standard Plan if
they meet the following financial and non-financial criteria:

1. Has assistance group income at or below 100% of the FPL, and
2. Is one of the following:

« U.S. Citizen,
Lawfully residing in the United States for at least 5 years,
Lawfully residing in the United States and a refugee or is seeking asylum,
From Cuba or Haiti and is lawfully residing in the United States, or
Lawfully residing in the United Status under one of the eligible immigration
statuses listed in section 4.3.4.

Parents, caretakers and childless adults will be limited to one PE period within a rolling
12-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial PE period. Hospitals are
required to assist applicants with the completion of the full Medicaid and BadgerCare
Plus application.
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Note: Please see the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Chapter 36.2.2.1 for information on
presumptive eligibility under the Wisconsin Well Women Medicaid program for women
under age 65 with breast or cervical cancer.

Qualified hospitals will be allowed to make PE determinations for patients who are
inmates of public correctional institutions that are not state correctional facilities (e.g.,
county jails) as long as those patients are expected to remain in the hospital for 24
hours or more. The PE determination process for these patients will be the same as for
other patients. Patients who are inmates of a state correctional facility are not eligible for
Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus through the hospital PE process.

Once a qualified hospital determines the parent, caretaker or childless adult
presumptively eligible, the individual will remain enrolled until the last day of the
calendar month after the month in which the presumptive eligibility is granted.

If an application is made for BC+ at the local agency by the end of the month following
the month in which the individual was determined presumptively eligible, the enroliment
period ends the day on which the agency completes processing the BC+ application,
regardless of the result of the eligibility determination.

If a BC+ application is not submitted by the end of the month following the month in
which the individual was temporarily enrolled, the PE period ends the last day of the
month following the month in which the individual was enrolled.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date:02/01/14

32.4 AT THE IM AGENCY

(This section is new with this release.)

If an individual who has been determined presumptively eligible for BC+ applies for full
BC+ at the IM agency on or before the last day of the PE period:

« Verify the individual is temporarily enrolled by checking his or her temporary BC+
ID card or MMIS.

« Assist him or her in filing the application. Consider the application filed if her
name, address and signature are on the application.

If you are unable to finish processing the application by the end of her PE period,
extend the enrollment period for an additional calendar month. Prior to the last date of
the presumptive eligibility period, complete a paper Medicaid/BadgerCare Plus
Certification form (F-10110, former DES 3070) and send to the fiscal agent or extend
the PE eligibility through the manual certification process in the ForwardHealth portal.
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Enter the extended date for the presumptive eligibility enrollment for the individual and
use the following medical status codes:

For enrollment period extensions to a date up through January 31, 2014:

Med Stat Population

BU Children

Pregnant women eligible under the Standard
BV

Plan

Pregnant women eligible under the Benchmark
BW Plan

Note: Beginning February 1, 2014, all eligible PE women at or below 306% of the FPL
will be eligible under the Standard Plan. Presumptive eligibility for parents, caretakers
and childless adults is not effective until April 1, 2014, so no enrollment period extension
is available to these individuals prior to this date.

For enrollment period extensions to a date after February 1, 2014:

Med Stat Population

Children under age 1 with assistance group

9J income above 200% FPL and at or below 306%
FPL
Children under age 1 with assistance group

70 income above 133% FPL and at or below 200%
FPL

EC Children under age 1 with assistance group

income at or below 133% FPL
Children age 1 through 5 with assistance group

7S income above 156% FPL and at or below 191%
FPL

BU _Children age 1 through 18 with assistance group
income at or below 156% FPL

9E Pregnant women with assistance group income
above 200% FPL and at or below 306% FPL

BV Pregnant women with assistance group income
at or below 200% FPL

PP Parents and caretakers*

PN Childless adults*

* The medical status codes PP and PN are not effective until April 1, 2014.
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Once the full BC+ application is processed, if the individual is found ineligible for BC+,
complete a negative notice (F-16001) to end the PE period. Check box three and
complete the sentence to read: "Your temporary enrollment for pregnant women
benefits will be stopped effective (write in date)”. Under "Explanation of Action," write
the reason BC+ is being denied. Indicate the statutory authority is S. 49.471, Stats.

Mail one copy to the woman and one to the qualified provider. Complete a
Medicaid/BadgerCare Plus Manual Certification form F-10110 (formerly DES 3070),
indicating the EE for pregnant women end date, and send to the fiscal agent . The PE
end date is the day the woman is found ineligible for BC+.

If the individual does not apply for BC+, or applies after the end of the month following
the month in which he or she was determined presumptively eligible, his or her PE
period ends with no extension. Sending a negative notice is not necessary. If the
individual applies after the end of the month following the month he or she was
determined eligible, process the application as you would a standard BC+ application.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date:02/01/14

33-37 RESERVED

RESERVED

259


http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16001.pdf




PROGRAM COVERAGE (CHAPTERS 38-47)

38 COVERED SERVICES

38.1 COVERED SERVICES

A covered service is any health care service that BC+ will pay for an eligible member, if
billed. The Division of Health Care Access and Accountability (DHCAA) enrolls qualified
health care providers and reimburses them for providing BC+ covered services to
eligible BC+ members. Members may receive BC+ services only from enrolled
providers, except in medical emergencies. BC+ reimburses emergency medical
services necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of the health of a
member even when provided by a non-enrolled provider.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

38.2 STANDARD AND BENCHMARK PLANS

38.2.1 Introduction
38.2.2 Copayment

38.2.1 Introduction

Through March 31, 2014, BC+ members can be covered under either the Standard or
Benchmark Plan. The following chart shows a comparison of some of the covered
services and co-payments for each plan. Which plan the member is enrolled in
depends on the member’s status or the countable income used to determine eligibility
for that member.

Services BadgerCare Plus Standard BadgerCare Plus
Plan Benchmark Plan
Chiropractic Full coverage. Full coverage.
Services
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per Co-payment $15 per visit.
service (varies by service
provided).
Dental Full coverage of preventive, Limited coverage of
restorative and palliative preventive, diagnostic, simple
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services.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
service
(varies by service provided).

restorative, periodontics,
surgical procedures for
pregnant women and
children.

Coverage is limited to $750
per enroliment year.

A $200 deductible applies to
all services except preventive
and diagnostic services.

Co-payment is equal to 50%
of allowable fee on all
services as defined by DHS.

Pregnant women are exempt
from deductible and cost-
sharing requirements for
dental services.

Disposable
Medical Supplies
(DMS)

Full coverage.

Co-payment $0.50 to $3.00
per service.

Coverage of diabetic supplies,
ostomy supplies, and other
DMS that are required with
the use of durable medical
equipment (DME).

$0.50 copayment per
prescription for diabetic
supplies. No copayment for
other DMS.

Drugs (See also
38.7 Impact on

Dual Eligible
Individuals)

Comprehensive drug benefit
with coverage of generic and
brand name prescription drugs
and some over-the-counter
(OTC) drugs.

Members are limited to 5
prescriptions per month for
opioid drugs.

Co-payments:
$0.50 for OTC Drugs

$1.00 for Generic Drugs
$3.00 for Brand Name Drugs

Generic drug only formulary
with a few generic OTC
drugs.

Members are limited to 5
prescriptions per month for
opioid drugs.

Co-payment $5 with no limit.

Brand name drugs: Until
March 31, 2014, members will
be automatically enrolled in
the Badger RX Gold Plan.
This is a separate program
administered by Navitus,
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Co-payments are limited to
$12.00 per member, per
provider, per month. OTCs
are excluded from this $12.00
maximum.

which provides for a discount
on the cost of drugs.

Durable Medical
Equipment (DME)

Full coverage.

Co-payment $0.50 to $3.00
per item (varies by item
provided).

Rental items are not subject to
a co-payment.

Full coverage up to $2,500
per enroliment year.

Co-payment $5 per item.

Rental items are not subject
to co-payment but count
toward the $2,500 enroliment
year cap.

The following items do not
count towards the $2,500.00
enrollment year limit:

e Hearing aids, hearing
aid batteries, and
accessories,

« Bone-anchored
hearing aids.

e Cochlear implants

Hearing aid repairs are
subject to the $2,500.00
enrollment year limit.

Health
Screenings for
Children

Full coverage of Health Check
screenings and other services
for individuals under age 21
years.

Co-payment $1 per screening
for those 18, 19 and 20 years
of age.

Full coverage of Health Check
screenings and other services
for individuals under age 21
years.

Co-payment $1 per screening
for those 18, 19 and 20 years
of age.

Hearing Services

Full coverage.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
procedure.

No co-payments for hearing
aid batteries.

Full coverage for members 17
years of age and younger.

$15.00 per visit, regardless of
the number or type of
procedures administered
during one Vvisit.

Home Care
Services (home
health, private

Full coverage.

No co-payment.

Full coverage of home health
services.
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duty nursing and
personal care)

Co-payment $15 per visit.

Coverage is limited to 60
visits per enroliment year.

Private duty nursing and
personal care services are not
covered.

Hospice Full coverage. Full coverage.
No co-payment. No co-payment.
Services limited to 360 days
lifetime.
Hospital - Full coverage. Full coverage.
Inpatient
Co-payment $3 per day with a | Co-payments are as follows:
$75 cap per stay. o $100.00 stay for
medical stays.

e $50.00 copayment per
stay for mental health
and/or substance
abuse treatment.

Hospital - Full coverage. Full coverage.
Outpatient
Co-payment $3 per visit. Co-payment $15 per visit.
Hospital - Full coverage. Full coverage.
Outpatient

Emergency Room

No co-payment.

Co-payment $60 per visit
(waived if member is admitted
to the hospital).

Mental Health and
Substance Abuse
Treatment

Full coverage (not including
room and board).

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
visit

(limited to the first 15 hours or
$500 of services, whichever
comes first, provided per
calendar year).

Co-payment not required
when services are provided in
a hospital setting.

Coverage of this service is
based upon coverage in the
Wisconsin State Employee
Health Plan.

Covered services include
outpatient mental health,
outpatient substance abuse
(including narcotic treatment),
adult mental health day
treatment for adults,
substance abuse day
treatment for adults and
children, child/adolescent
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mental health day treatment,
and inpatient hospital stays
for mental health and
substance abuse.

Services not covered are
crisis intervention, community
support program,
comprehensive community
services, outpatient mental
health services in the home
and community for adults,
community recovery services,
and substance abuse
residential treatment.

Note: No copayments may be
charged for child/adolescent
day treatment services
provided to BadgerCare Plus
Benchmark Plan members.
Child/adolescent day
treatment services are
HealthCheck “Other
Services.”

$10.00 to $15.00 copayment
per visit for all outpatient
hospital services:

o $10.00 per day for all
day treatment services

o $15.00 per visit for
narcotic treatment
services (no
copayment for lab
tests).

o $15.00 per visit for
outpatient mental
health diagnostic
interview exam,
psychotherapy —
individual or group (no
copayment for
electroconvulsive
therapy and
pharmacological
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management).

o $15.00 per visit for
outpatient substance
abuse services.

Nursing Home

Full coverage.

No co-payment.

Full coverage for stays at
skilled nursing homes limited
to 30 days per enroliment
year.

No co-payment.

Physical Therapy
(PT),
Occupational
Therapy (OT) and
Speech Therapy
(ST)

Full coverage.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
provider, per date of service.

Co-payment obligation is
limited to the first 30 hours or
$1,500 whichever occurs first,
during one calendar year (co-
payment limits are calculated
separately for each discipline.)

Full coverage up to 20 visits
per therapy discipline per
enrollment year.

Also covers up to 36 visits per
enrollment year for cardiac
rehabilitation provided by a
physical therapist. The
cardiac rehabilitation visits do
not count towards the 20 PT
visits.

Also covers up to a maximum
of 60 SLP therapy visits over
20-week period following a
bone anchored hearing aid or
cochlear implant surgeries for
members 17 years of age or
younger. These SLP services
do not count towards the 20-
visit limit for SLP.

Co-payment $15 per visit per
provider. There are no
monthly or annual co-
payment limits.

Physician Visits

Full coverage, including
laboratory and radiology.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 co-
payment per service (varies by
service provided).

Llimited to $30 per provider
per calendar year.

Full coverage, including
laboratory and radiology.

Co-payment $15 per visit.

No co-payment for
emergency services,
preventive care, anesthesia or
clozapine management.
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No co-payment for emergency
services, anesthesia or
clozapine management.

Podiatric Services

Full coverage.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
service.

Full coverage.

Co-payment $15 per visit.

Prenatal/Maternity
Care

Full coverage, including
prenatal care coordination and
preventive mental health and
substance abuse screening
and counseling for pregnant
women at risk of mental health
or substance abuse problems.

No co-payment.

Full coverage, including
prenatal care coordination
and preventive mental health
and substance abuse
screening and counseling for
pregnant women at risk of
mental health or substance
abuse problems.

No co-payment.

Reproductive
Health Services

Full coverage, excluding
infertility treatments, surrogate
parenting and related services,
including but not limited to
artificial insemination, and
subsequent obstetrical care as
a non covered service, and the
reversal of voluntary
sterilization.

No co-payment for family
planning services.

Full coverage, excluding
infertility treatments,
surrogate parenting and
related services, including but
not limited to artificial
insemination, and subsequent
obstetrical care as a non
covered service, and the
reversal of voluntary
sterilization.

No co-payment for family
planning services.

Routine Vision

Full coverage including
coverage of eye glasses.

Co-payment $.50 to $3 per
service (varies by service
provided).

Full coverage of one eye
exam per enroliment year,
with refraction.

Co-payment $15 per visit.

Smoking Coverage includes Coverage includes generic
Cessation prescription and over-the- prescription and over-the-
Services counter tobacco cessation counter tobacco cessation
products. products.
Co-payment (see drugs) Co-payment (see drugs)
Transportation Full coverage of emergency Full coverage of emergency

and non-emergency
transportation to and from a
certified provider for a

and non-emergency
transportation to and from a
certified provider for a
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BadgerCare Plus covered covered service.
service.
Copayments are as follows:
Co-payments are: e $50.00 copayment per
e $2 for non-emergency trip for emergency
ambulance trips. transportation by
o $1 per trip for ambulance.
transportation by an e $1.00 copayment per
SMV. trip for transportation
by SMV.
No co-payment for e No copayment for
transportation by common transportation by
carrier or emergency common carrier.
ambulance.

If you or the member has additional questions, contact Member Services at 1-800-362-

3002.

38.2.2 Copayment

A BC+ member may be required to pay a part of the cost of a service. This payment is
called a "co-payment” or "co-pay’.

Through March 31, 2014, the co-payment policy is as follows:

Exempt from Co-payments

Children under age 19 with family income up to 100% of the FPL.

Children under age 6 with family income above 100% up to 150% of the FPL,
except for Continuously Eligible Newborns.

Children ages 1 through 5 who are Tribal members with family income from
185% to 300% of the FPL.

Children ages 6 through 18 who are Tribal members with family income from
150% to 300% of the FPL.

Children under age 19 eligible through Express Enrollment.

Children under age 19 in an institution.

Children under age 19 eligible under a BadgerCare Plus Extension

Pregnant women, except for pregnant girls under age 19 with family incomes
above 300% of the FPL.

Pregnant women eligible through Express Enroliment.

Pregnant women eligible for the prenatal benefit.

Standard Plan - Nominal Co-payments
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Children under age 6 with family income above 150% up to 200% of poverty.
Children ages 6 through 18, with family income above 100% up to 200% of
poverty.

Children under age 19 with family income above 150% of poverty who have met
a deductible.

Parents and caretakers up to 200% of poverty.

Parents and caretakers in BC+ Extensions.

Youths Exiting Out-of-Home Care.

Transitional Grandfathered parents and caretakers.

Members covered under the Standard plan will have co-payments ranging from $0.50 to
$3.00. Providers are required to make a reasonable effort to collect the co-payment but
may not refuse services to a member who fails to make that payment.

Benchmark Plan - Co-payments

Continuously Eligible Newborns with family incomes above 200% of the FPL.
Children under age 19 with family incomes over 200% of the FPL.

Pregnant women under age 19 with family incomes over 300% of the FPL.
Self-employed parents and caretakers with family incomes above 200% of the
FPL.

Members covered under the Benchmark plan may be refused services if the co-
payment is not paid in advance.

Effective April 1, 2014, the co-payment policy is as follows:

Providers are prohibited from collecting co-payment from the following members:

Children in a mandatory coverage category. In Wisconsin, this includes:

o Children in foster care, regardless of age.
Children in adoption assistance, regardless of age.
Children under age one with income up to 150 percent of the FPL.
Children ages 1 through 5 with income up to 185 percent of the FPL.
Children ages 6 through 18 years of age with incomes at or below 133
percent of the FPL.

(o}
(o}
(o}
(o}

Children in the Katie Beckett program, regardless of age.

Children under 19 eligible through Express Enrollment.

Children who are American Indian or Alaska Natives who are enrolled in the
state's CHIP.

American Indians or Alaskan Natives, regardless of age or income level, when
they receive items and services either directly from an Indian health care provider
or through referral under contract health services.

Terminally ill individuals receiving hospice care.
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e Nursing home residents.
e Women enrolled in Wisconsin Well Woman Medicaid.

The following services do not require co-payment:

« Case management services.

« Crisis intervention services.

o Community support program services.

« Emergency services.

e Family planning services, including sterilizations.

e HealthCheck.

e HealthCheck "Other Services."

« Home care services.

e Hospice care services.

e Immunizations.

« Independent laboratory services.

e Injections.

« PDN and PDN services for ventilator-dependent members.

e Pregnancy related services.

o Preventive services with an A or B rating from the U.S. Preventive Services Task
Force.

e School-based services.

e Substance abuse day treatment services.

e Surgical assistance.

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
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38.3 TRANSPORTATION

38.3.1 Ambulance

38.3.2 Specialized Medical Vehicle (SMV)
38.3.3 Common Carrier

38.3.4 Transportation Coordination

Federal regulations require the Medicaid program provide transportation for members who have
no other way to receive a ride to their Medicaid health care appointments. Transportation can be
by ambulance, specialized medical vehicle (SMV) or common carrier.

38.3.1 Ambulance

270



Program Coverage (Chapters 38-47)

Ambulance transportation is a covered service, if it is provided by a BC+ certified ambulance
provider, and the member is suffering from an illness or injury that rules out other forms of
transportation, and only if it is for:

1. Emergency care when immediate medical treatment or examination is needed to
deal with or guard against a worsening of the person’s condition.

2. Non-emergency transportation when use of any other method of transportation is
contraindicated and is authorized in writing by a physician, physician assistant,
nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, or registered nurse.

38.3.2 Specialized Medical Vehicle (SMV)

An SMV is a vehicle equipped with a lift or ramp for loading wheelchairs. The driver of
an SMV must meet driver requirements in accordance with DHS 105.39 Wis. Admin
Code.

SMV transportation is a covered service if provided by a BC+ SMV enrolled provider
and a health care provider has documented why the member’s condition prevents
him/her from using a common carrier or private vehicle

38.3.3 Common Carrier
Common carrier means any mode of transportation other than an ambulance or an SMV.
38.3.4 Transportation Coordination
Non-emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) is coordinated by Department of Health
Services’ NEMT manager, Medical Transportation Management, Inc. (MTM Inc.). As the
NEMT manager, MTM Inc. arranges and pays for rides to covered Medicaid services for
members who have no other way to receive a ride. Rides can include ambulance, SMV
or common carrier transportation depending on a member’s medical and transportation
needs.
The NEMT manager does not coordinate transportation for the following members:

« Members who are residing in a nursing home.

o Members residing in a nursing home have their NEMT services
coordinated by the nursing home.
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e« Members who are enrolled in Family Care.
o Members enrolled in Family Care receive NEMT services from the Family
Care Managed Care Organization (MCO).

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

38.4 HMO ENROLLMENT

38.4.1 Change of Circumstances
38.4.2 Disenrollment
38.4.3 Fiscal Agent Ombuds

Most BC+ members who are eligible for BC+ and reside in a BC+ HMO service area
must enroll in an HMO.

Members may choose their own HMO or work with the HMO Enrollment Specialist to
choose the best one for their needs. They may choose at any time during the
enrollment process. All eligible members of the member’s family must choose the same
HMO. However, individuals within a family may be eligible for an exemption from
enroliment.

This is the enrollment process:

1. Members residing in an HMO service area receive an HMO enrollment packet.
The packet has an enrollment form, a list of available HMOs, instructions on how
to choose an HMO and how to find out if a provider is affiliated with an HMO.

2. If the member lives in an area covered by two or more HMOs, enrollment is
mandatory. In areas with only one available HMO, enrollment is voluntary and
the process stops here.

3. If the member lives in a mandatory area and does not choose and HMO, s/he will
be assigned an HMO. A letter explaining the assignment will be sent to him/her.
S/he will receive another enrollment form and have an opportunity to change the
assigned HMO.

4. S/he will then receive a notice confirming enrollment in the assigned or chosen

HMO for the following month. The member has up to three months to change
HMOs, once enrolled. This is the open enrollment period. After the initial three
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months, the member is locked into the HMO and cannot change for nine months.
If your member has questions about HMO enrollment, s/he should contact the
Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-291-2002.
Exemptions: A member may qualify for an exemption from HMO enroliment if s/he
meets certain criteria, such as a chronic iliness, high-risk third trimester pregnancy, or
continuity of care concerns, etc.
If the member believes s/he has a valid reason for exemption, s/he should call the HMO
Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-291-2002. The number is also in the enroliment
materials s/he receives.
38.4.1 Change of Circumstances

Members who lose BC+ eligibility, but become eligible again may be automatically re-
enrolled in their previous HMO.

If the member’s eligibility is re-established after a Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (
RRP ), s/he will be automatically re-enrolled in the previous HMO, unless the HMO is no
longer accepting reassignments.

After six months, or if the HMO is no longer accepting reassignments or has exceeded
its enroliment level, s/he will receive an enrollment packet, and the enrollment process
will start over.

38.4.2 Disenrollment

Members are automatically disenrolled from the HMO program if:

1. Their medical status code changes to a BC+ subprogram that does not require
enrollment in an HMO.

2. They become eligible for Medicare.
3. They lose eligibility.
4. They move out of the HMO's service area.
Members can be disenrolled by the HMO'’s request in the following situations:
1. They become inmates of a public institution.
2. They need an experimental transplant.

Note: HMO disenrollment is not automatic in these situations.
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Members who move out of the HMO service area receive a new packet showing the
HMO(s) available in the new area and the enrollment process begins again. If no HMO
covers the member’s new area, s/he remains fee-for-service.

38.4.3 Fiscal Agent Ombuds

Members with questions about their rights as HMO members may call 1-800-760-0001
or write:

HMO Ombudsman
P.O. Box 6470
Madison, WI 53791-9823
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38.5 BC+ CARDS

38.5.1 BC+ Cards Introduction
38.5.1.1 BadgerCare Plus & Medicaid Card Image
38.5.1.2 BadgerCare Basic Plan Card Image
38.5.1.3 BadgerCare Core Plan Card Image
38.5.1.4 SeniorCare Card Image
38.5.1.5 Wisconsin Well Woman Program Card Image

38.5.2 Appeals

38.5.3 Homeless

38.5.4 Pharmacy Services Lock-in Program

38.5.5 Temporary Cards

38.5.6. Lost-Stolen Cards

38.5.1 BC+ Cards Introduction

Through March 31, 2014, different ForwardHealth cards are issued to BC+, BC+ Core and BC+
Basic members. These cards are plastic and, depending on the benefit plan, display the words:

¢ ForwardHealth
e ForwardHealth Core Plan
¢ ForwardHealth Basic Plan
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Note: The BadgerCare Core Plan and the BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan end on March
31, 2014.

Members use the same ForwardHealth card each month to receive services on a fee for service
basis and/or through a managed care organization, if enrolled. Monthly cards are not issued.

Each person in the family who is eligible receives his/her own card for the Benefit Plan for
which they are eligible. Members may have multiple ID cards if they have been in one or more
of the plans listed above.

The cards do not display eligibility dates. Health care providers use the ID number on the front
of the card to bill for services provided to the member.

Members will know if they are eligible, and for which Benefit Plan, based on positive and
negative notices sent from the IM agency. They will also receive separate notices if enrolled in a
Managed Care Organization. Members who receive a notice that they are no longer eligible for
BC+ should keep their ForwardHealth cards. Cards should not be thrown away. If a member
becomes eligible again, s/he will use the same ForwardHealth card originally issued. If members
have questions regarding their eligibility status, they can log into ACCESS> Change My
Benefits or call Member Services at 1-800-362-3002.

38.5.1.1 BadgerCare Plus & Medicaid Card Image

%
Fm@_lth

Sin serving you

9999 9999 9999 9999

I.M. Covered
ID: 1234567890 |

38.5.1.2 BadgerCare Basic Plan Card Image

4 N
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ForwardHealth Basic Plan

0000 0000 0000 0000

ID No. 0000000000
Ima Member

\. J

38.5.1.3 BadgerCare Core Plan Card Image
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38.5.1.4 SeniorCare Card Image
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38.5.1.5 Wisconsin Well Woman Program Card Image
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Misconsin S
Well Woman
Program

0000 0000 0000 0000

ID No. 0000000000
IMA RECIPIENT

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE

For WWWP questions, call 1-800-XXX-XXXX.,

State of Wisconsin Benefit
P.O. Box 6678 1D
Madison, WI 53716-0678

38.5.2 Appeals

Keep a BC+ case in appeal status open if the member makes a request prior to the closure date.
The member can continue to use his/her ForwardHealth card until a decision is made regarding
his/her eligibility.

38.5.3 Homeless

Make ID cards available to homeless BC+ members who have no fixed address or mailing
address. Use your agency address or some other fixed address for delivery.

38.5.4 Pharmacy Services Lock-in Program

Members enrolled in the Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program are assigned to one primary care
provider and one pharmacy to reduce unnecessary physician and pharmacy utilization and to
discourage the non-medical or excessive use of prescription drugs. The Pharmacy Services
Lock-In program applies to members in fee-for-service as well as members enrolled in Medicaid
SSI HMOs and BadgerCare Plus HMOs. Members remain enrolled in the Pharmacy Services
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Lock-In Program for two years and are continuously monitored for their prescription drug usage.
At the end of the two-year enrollment period, an assessment is made to determine if the member
should continue enrollment in the Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program.

The Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program monitors claims for pharmacy services and
prescription drugs specifically. The Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program does not address other
types of member fraud or misuse of benefits, such as misuse of the ForwardHealth identification
card or excessive use of emergency room services.

If a provider suspects that a member is abusing his or her benefits or misusing his or her
ForwardHealth card, providers are required to notify ForwardHealth by calling Provider Services
at (800) 947-9627 or by writing to the following office:

Wisconsin Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
Bureau of Program Integrity

PO Box 309

Madison WI 53701-0309

38.5.5 Temporary Cards

With implementation of the ForwardHealth ID card, temporary ID cards are no longer used or
available for ordering from HP.

38.5.6. Lost-Stolen Cards

If a member needs a replacement card, s/he or an authorized representative , can request a
replacement card by:

1. Going to ACCESS
e Create a MYACCESS Account, then
e Go to your MyACCESS Page and select a new ForwardHealth Card, or

2. Contacting Member Services at 1-800-362-3002.
Workers may also log into the Partner Portal and select "Replacement ID Card Request” under
the Quick Links on the right side of the page.
If the member has multiple benefit ID cards, there will be a choice of which ID card to request.
A new ForwardHealth card will be created the evening of the request and will be sent out the

following business day.

Replacement cards are issued automatically when the card has been returned as undeliverable
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and the member’s address changes.

You cannot request replacement cards using a F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) or
CARES.
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38.6 GOOD FAITH CLAIMS

38.6.1 Definition of Good Faith Claims
38.6.2 Denials

38.6.3 Causes and Resolutions
38.6.4 Process

38.6.5 Instructions

38.6.1 Definition of Good Faith Claims

A Good Faith claim is a claim that has been denied by BC+ with an eligibility-related
Explanation of Benefits (EOB) code. This occurs even though the provider verified eligibility
for the dates of service billed and submitted a correct and complete claim. Providers can
resubmit the claim to HP Enterprise Services to be processed as a Good Faith claim. If the
eligibility file has been updated by the time the claim is resubmitted, it will be paid
automatically. If the file still does not reflect eligibility for the period covered by the claim, HP
Enterprise Services will try to resolve the eligibility discrepancy. If they are unable to resolve it
from the information available, they will contact the IM agency to verify eligibility. The Good
Faith form (F-10111) is used for this purpose. A Good Faith claim cannot be reimbursed until
the HP Enterprise Services member file is updated.

38.6.2 Denials

If a provider receives a claim denial for one of the following reasons on the Remittance Advice,
the provider can resubmit it as a Good Faith claim

R/A Report Denial Reason
Code
029 Medicaid number doesn’t match recipient’s last name.
172 Recipient Medicaid ID number not eligible for dates of
service.
281 Recipient Medicaid ID number is incorrect. Verify and
correct the Medicaid number and resubmit claim.
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614 | Medicaid number doesn’t match recipient’s first name.

38.6.3 Causes and Resolutions
Causes and a Good Faith claim can occur when:

1. A member presents an ID card that is invalid because:
a. You issued a temporary ID card for a prior period or manually determined case
and didn’t update CARES or send HP Enterprise Services an F-10110 (formerly DES
3070) to update the member’s eligibility file. HP Enterprise Services will apply the dates
of eligibility indicated on the card with med stat 71. A letter will be sent to you to confirm
that the member is eligible for the dates on the card. The letter will include instructions
on how to complete an F-10111 and the information that is needed.
b. The provider suspects the member of misusing or abusing a ForwardHealth card
(i.e. using an altered card or a card that belongs to someone else). If the provider
submits a copy of the card and HP Enterprise Services can tell that it was altered, HP
Enterprise Services will contact you to verify that the member was eligible or forward it
to the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability (DHCAA) for review.

2. The member’'s name has changed since the card was issued. HP Enterprise
Services can usually resolve claims that are denied with code "029” and "614”. If
necessary, HP Enterprise Services will contact you to confirm the information.

With the implementation of the ForwardHealth cards, providers are less likely to receive one of
the eligibility-related denials used for Good Faith claims submission. Providers are told to verify
eligibility using the variety of methods available to them through the Eligibility Verification
System (EVS). When the provider verifies the member’s eligibility, they are getting the most
current information available on the ForwardHealth interChange. Therefore, it is unlikely that
they will be told the member is eligible when s/he is not.

The most likely reason a Good Faith situation arises is when a provider sees a temporary paper
ID card issued by the agency. The provider may bill BC+ before the eligibility is updated on
ForwardHealth interChange, or perhaps the eligibility was never sent to ForwardHealth
interChange. In either case, if the member presents a valid temporary BC+ ID card for the dates
of service, and the provider sends a copy of the card with the Good Faith claim, HP Enterprise
Services will update the member’s eligibility file with a good faith segment and pay the claim
immediately.

HP Enterprise Services will then attempt to resolve the discrepancy from information on file or
contact you to confirm eligibility and correct the eligibility segment. If the provider doesn’t send
a copy of the ID card with the claim, HP Enterprise Services must confirm eligibility with you
before the claim can be paid.
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The definition of a 'valid’ card is either a:

1. Forward card that indicates eligibility for the dates of service through the EVS.
2. Atemporary paper card showing dates of eligibility.

38.6.4 Process

HP Enterprise Services initiate claim process by sending you a Good Faith form (F-10111) that
they have partially completed, and one or two letters, depending on what documentation of
eligibility the provider included with their claim. Complete the F-10111 form if this is a new
member (cert. 1) or return a new F-10110 (formerly DES 3070 ) for amended certifications (cert.
3). Send completed F-10111 forms to:

Forward Health iChange
P.O. Box 7636

Madison, WI 53707-7636
Fax: (608) 221-8815

Send completed 3070 forms by:

1. Mail: HP Enterprise Services
P.O. Box 7636
Madison, WI 53707

2. Fax: (608) 221-8815
38.6.5 Instructions

Agency Denial

If the member identified on the Good Faith form was neither eligible nor possessed a valid 1D
card for the dates of service indicated in field six, place an "X” in this box. If you check "Yes”
here, you must also check the reason in the field below.

Recipient Did Not Have ID Card After Date of Service
Place an "X "in this box if you are certain that the member did not possess a valid ID card for the
date of service. In the blank provided, enter the closing date of eligibility.

Recipient Not Eligible

Place an "X” in this box if the member was not eligible for any of the dates of service
shown. If the member was eligible for some of the dates of service, follow the
instructions for completing the Partial Deny box.

Record Not Found
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Place an "X” in this box if the member has never been eligible for BC+ in your agency.

Dates of Services
HP Enterprise Services enters the dates of service for the claim.

Partial Deny

Use this field only if the member had eligibility for some of the dates of service. Enter
the "from” and "to” dates which cover the portion of the dates of service for which the
member did not have eligibility.

Type of Certification
HP Enterprise Services will check one of these boxes:

1. Initial Certification
HP Enterprise Services will place an "X” in this box when the member and BC+ ID
number submitted on the claim cannot be found on the eligibility master file.

2. Amended Certification
HP Enterprise Services will place an "X” in this box when the member is on
interChange, but no eligibility exists for the claimed dates of service.

Agency Number
HP Enterprise Services will enter the three-digit code of the agency they believe may
have certified the member during the dates in question.

Casehead ID Number
HP Enterprise Services will enter the known or suspected interChange case number
(primary person’s SSN + tie-breaker) of the member listed on the provider’s claim.

Action Date
HP Enterprise Services enters the date they completed the Good Faith form.

Medical Status Code

When HP Enterprise Services receives the provider’s claim along with a photocopy of
an ID card, a hard copy response received through EVS or a transaction log number
from the Automated Voice Response (AVR). HP Enterprise Services compares the
dates of service with the dates on the card. If the dates of service fall within the dates of
eligibility for the ID number on the card, HP Enterprise Services enters a "71” medical
status code and pays the claim immediately. HP Enterprise Services then enters the
eligibility dates for the entire month in which services were provided.

If the member was eligible for the entire period of certification shown on the Good Faith
form (E-10111) , remove the "71” medical status code and write in the correct code.
Attach an F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) to add the certification period and appropriate
medical status code for the time when the member was eligible for BC+.

Period of Certification
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If HP Enterprise Services has entered the suspected period of certification to be added
to the member master file, check it for accuracy. Then complete an F-10110 (formerly
DES 3070) and enter the period of certification if the member file does not show
eligibility for the time when the member was eligible or for the time covered by an ID
card issued to the member.

Control Name Year of Birth

HP Enterprise Services will enter the suspected control name and year of birth (YOB)
for the member. This control name must be the first four letters of the member’s last
name. The YOB is the last two digits in the member’s year of birth. Both of these items
must match the information currently in the member’'s HP Enterprise Services file.

Current ID Number
HP Enterprise Services will enter the member’s current ID number.

Date of Birth
HP Enterprise Services completes this field only for initial certifications. Change this
birth date if the date entered is incorrect. Indicate birth date as MM/DD/CCYY.

Signature of Agency Director
Good Faith forms must have an authorized signature for initial certifications.

Worker 1D
On initial certifications, enter the six-digit worker code of the certifying IM worker.
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38.7 IMPACT ON DUAL ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUALS

Individuals who are enrolled in Medicare (Part A and/or B) and are eligible for BadgerCare Plus
under a Title 19 (Medicaid) funded Med Stat Code (51.1), are referred to as Dual Eligible
individuals. Since January 1, 2006, Medicaid does not provide prescription drug coverage for
these individuals. Instead these individuals receive prescription drug coverage through Medicare
Part D.

These Dual Eligible individuals are deemed eligible for "Extra Help” from CMS to help pay for
their Medicare Part D drug costs.

A Medicare Part D Preferred Drug Plan (PDP) card will be issued to them and it must be used
for prescription drugs instead of their Forward Card.

For more information on Medicare Part D, see:
http://www.medicare.gov/navigation/medicare-basics/medicare-benefits/part-d.aspx

284


http://www.medicare.gov/navigation/medicare-basics/medicare-benefits/part-d.aspx

Program Coverage (Chapters 38-47)

This page last updated in Release Number: 11-01
Release Date: 03/29/11
Effective Date: 03/29/11

39 EMERGENCY SERVICES

39.1 EMERGENCY SERVICES INCOME LIMITS

BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services is a limited BC+ benefit for documented
immigrants who have not been in the U.S. for 5 years or more and for undocumented
immigrants.

A citizen is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services even when s/he
cannot produce citizenship and/or identity verification.

Example 1: Jill applies for BadgerCare Plus, declares U.S. citizenship and is asked
to provide documents proving her citizenship and identity. She has a driver license
to prove identity but does not have anything to prove her citizenship. Since
Emergency Services BadgerCare Plus does not require proof of citizenship and
identity as an eligibility requirement, she then asks to be considered for this program.
However, the IM worker cannot process BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services
eligibility for persons declaring to be U.S. citizens. BadgerCare Plus Emergency
Services is reserved for non-qualifying non-citizens.

Because Emergency Services is funded through Title XIX only those who would receive
their BC+ benefits under Title XIX are eligible for BC+ Emergency Services. Therefore,
not everyone who meets the income limits for BC+ qualifies for BC+ Emergency
Services.

An immigrant who only meets the eligibility criteria for the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan is not
eligible for Emergency Services. Immigrants who meet the criteria for BadgerCare Plus under
the childless adults’ coverage group under MAGI rules will also be ineligible for Emergency
Services.

An immigrant who is ineligible for BC+ because of his/her immigration status is eligible for
BC+ Emergency Services coverage if:

1. S/he meets the income limits listed in the chart below and
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2. Meets all other eligibility requirements, except having or applying for an SSN .

BC+ Emergency Services Income Limit Through January 31, 2014

Group Income
Pregnant Women Up to 300%
FPL
Newborns to age 1 Up to 300%
FPL
Children ages 1 - 5 Up to 185%
FPL
Children ages 6 - 18 Up to 150%
FPL
Former Foster Care Youth Any FPL Level
Parents and Caretakers Up to 200%
FPL

BC+ Emergency Services Income Limit Effective February 1, 2014

A 5% income disregard and 1% conversion factor will be applied to the Emergency
Services income limit for pregnant women and children effective January 1, 2014.

Group Income
Pregnant Women Up to 306%
FPL
Newborns to age 1 Up to 306%
FPL
Children ages 1 - 5 Up to 191%
FPL
Children ages 6 - 18 Up to 156%
FPL
Former Foster Care Youth Any FPL Level
Parents and Caretakers Up to 100%
FPL

Note: Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants may be eligible under the BC+ Prenatal
Program.

An emergency means a medical condition (including labor and delivery) that shows
acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the lack of
immediate medical treatment could result in one or more of the following:

1. Serious jeopardy to the patient's health.
2. Serious impairment to bodily functions.
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3. Serious dysfunction of a bodily organ or part.
BC+ Emergency Services covers :
« Only those medical services needed for the treatment of an emergency medical
condition.

« Alllabor and delivery services for eligible non-qualifying immigrants.

See Process Help Chapter 11.1, for BC+ Emergency Services manual application processing.
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39.2 DETERMINING IF AN EMERGENCY EXISTS

39.2.1 Determining Eligibility
39.2.2 Providing Manual Positive Or Negative Notice

It is not the responsibility of the IM agency to determine if the applicant’s condition is or was an
emergency condition and reimbursable under BC+ Emergency Services. The medical provider
submits claims for emergency medical services to the fiscal agent . The fiscal agent then
determines if a condition is an emergency medical condition covered by BC+ Emergency
Services.

39.2.1 Determining Eligibility

It is the IM agency’s responsibility to manually determine if the non-qualifying immigrant meets
all eligibility requirements during the dates of service and to certify if s/he is eligible for
Emergency Services.

Medicaid providers who have treated non-US citizens for emergency services can provide them
with a form verifying that the services provided were to treat an emergency medical condition.
The form is “Certification of Emergency for Non-US Citizens (F-01162). Providers are
instructed to have the patient present this to the local IM agency when applying for assistance.

Note: The F-01162 is not required to certify Emergency Services eligibility.
If a non-qualifying immigrant provides a “Certification of Emergency for Non-U.S. Citizens” at

the time of application , his/her eligibility for BC+ Emergency Services is determined for the
dates of the emergency indicated on the form.
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If a non-qualifying immigrant does not have the form at the time of application, ask him/her for
the dates that s/he received emergency services.

Emergency Services coverage begins at the time of the first treatment for the emergency and
ends when the condition is no longer an emergency.

Determine eligibility of a pregnant immigrant on the date emergency services were provided.
The pregnancy due date is required to determine eligibility for pregnant immigrants. (See 39.3
for Emergency Services certification dates for pregnant women.)

*If a non-qualifying immigrant would only qualify for BC+ if s/he was disabled,
follow disability determination procedures (including presumptive disability) before
certifying Emergency Services eligibility.

Certification of Emergency Services is not done through CARES and must be done manually.
However, all applications should be processed through CARES to determine BC+ eligibility. If
the immigrant does not have an SSN , CARES will assign a pseudo SSN. That pseudo SSN
should be used when submitting the manual certification. When an immigrant is determined
eligible for Emergency Services, complete and submit a manual certification (F-10110 or DES
3070). See Process Help 81.3. The fiscal agent needs a beginning and end date to process
eligibility. In setting the end date, use the last day of the emergency. If that is not known, use
the last day of the month in which the emergency is expected to end. Use the AE medical status
code.

Note: The Federally Facilitated Marketplace will send accounts to State consortia and tribal
agencies for individuals who have been assessed as potentially eligible for BC+ Emergency
Services.

The F-10110 may be submitted to the fiscal agent in the following ways:

1. Mail: Forward Health iChange

P.O. Box 7636
Madison, WI 53707-7636

2. Fax: (608) 221-8815

An individual eligible for BC+ Emergency Services will not receive a ForwardHealth card
because BC+ Emergency Services eligibility ends when the emergency ends.
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However, women determined eligible for the BC+ Prenatal Program will be issued a
ForwardHealth Card, which can also be used to access emergency services under the Emergency
Services coverage group after the BC+ Prenatal Program coverage ends.

39.2.2 Providing Manual Positive Or Negative Notice

The IM agency must provide a manual positive or negative notice regarding the applicant’s
eligibility. Positive notices must provide the dates of eligibility for BC+ Emergency Services.
Negative notices must provide the reason(s) for the denial or termination.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

39.3 EMERGENCY SERVICES FOR PREGNANT WOMEN

A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant may apply for emergency services up to one
calendar month before her due date. Certify an eligible pregnant non-qualifying
immigrant from the date of application , if she applies no more than one calendar month
prior to her due date, through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs
following her due date. Adjust the certification period based on the actual pregnancy
end date, once it is known.

Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be verified.

Example 1: Sara is a pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applying for BC+
Emergency Services. Sara has two weeks until her due date, which is March 3rd.
Certify Sara for BC+ Emergency Services from the date of application through the
end of May.

Example 2: Erica applied for BC+ Emergency Services because she was a pregnant
non-qualifying immigrant on March 13th. Her expected due date is April 5th. Erica is
certified for BC+ Emergency Services from March 13th through the end of June.
Erica delivers her son on March 15th. Her certification period should be adjusted
from March 13th through the end of May.

If a pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applies prior to the calendar month, before her
due date, and she has not received a service, deny her BC+ Emergency Services
eligibility because she has not received a service.
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If a woman applies for BC+ Emergency Services, within three months after her
pregnancy has ended, certify her from the pregnancy end date through the end of the
month in which the 60th day occurs.

Example 3: Vienne miscarries on April 5th, which is more than one month from her
due date of July 15th. Vienne applies on April 6th for BC+ Emergency Services.
Certify Vienne for BC+ Emergency Services from April 5th through the end of June.

Example 4: Guadeloupe was in a car accident and admitted to a Fort Atkinson
Hospital on February 18th. On March 15th, Guadeloupe applied for BC+
Emergency Services for both the February hospital stay and her pregnancy, with a
verified due date of April 15th. Certify Guadalupe for BC+ Emergency Services from
February 18th through the end of June.

An immigrant who gives birth while enrolled in BC+ Emergency Services remains
eligible for emergency services for an additional 60 days after the last day of pregnancy
through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs. The emergency does not
have to be related to the pregnancy.

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
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39.4 NEWBORNS

Babies born to mothers covered under BC+ Emergency Services are BC+ eligible as
continuously eligible newborns, if all other eligibility conditions are met. (Chapter 8.2)

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

39.5 ELIGIBILITY BEGIN DATE FOR NON-QUALIFYING IMMIGRANTS
WHO LOSE ELIGIBILITY FOR THE BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM

A non-qualifying immigrant, who loses eligibility for the BC+ Prenatal Program (Chapter
41) when her pregnancy ends, or for any reason other than moving out of state, is
eligible for BC+ Emergency Services from the date she lost BC+ Prenatal Program
eligibility. Like other pregnant immigrants, these women should have BC + Emergency
Services coverage through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs, following
her due date or the pregnancy end date, if that is known.
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Example 1: A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant is found eligible for the BC+
Prenatal Program. Her expected due date is July 10th. She is terminated effective
April 30th from the BC+ Prenatal Program due to non-payment of the BC premium.

CARES will send the fiscal agent a record terminating her BC+ on April 30th, and
send a record to certify her as eligible for BC+ Emergency Services from May 1st
through September 30th.

Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants who are not found eligible for the BC Prenatal
Program should have BC+ Emergency Services eligibility determined according to the
instructions in 39.3.

Example 2: A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applies on January 15th. Her
expected due date is May 10th. She is denied BC+ Prenatal Program eligibility due
to access to health insurance through her employer. To receive Emergency
Services, she must re-apply no earlier than April 10th. BC+ Emergency Services
eligibility continues through the end of the month following the 60th day after the
pregnancy ends.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

39.6 BC+ DEDUCTIBLE

Immigrants who apply for Emergency Services and who are under 19 years of age and
ineligible due to access to health insurance or who are pregnant and have countable
household income over 300% of the FPL, may become eligible for BC+ Emergency
Services through a BC+ deductible . If, on the date s/he applies and s/he meets all
other eligibility criteria, apply the same deductible policies to him/her as any other

applicant . (Chapter 17)

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

40 FAMILY PLANNING ONLY SERVICES (FPOS)

40.1 FAMILY PLANNING ONLY SERVICES PROGRAM

BC+ Family Planning Only Services program (FPOS) provides limited benefits for family
planning services for women and men with income at or below 300% of the FPL (under non-
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MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules) and who are:
1. Of child bearing age (defined as 15 years or older), and
2. Not enrolled in BC+ or receiving other full benefit Medicaid.
For more information about income disregards under MAGI rules, see 16.1.2.

Individuals who are eligible for (FPOS) may be eligible to receive more than one limited benefit
program.

These include:

1. Tuberculosis-related (MEH 25.7)
2. Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (MEH 32.2)

3. Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (MEH 32.3).

In certain circumstances, women enrolled in FPOS may be eligible for the Wisconsin Well
Woman Medicaid plan. (See MEH chapter 36)”

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

40.2 FPOS PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE)

40.2.1 Introduction
40.2.2 Qualified Providers
40.2.3 IM Aqgency

40.2.1 Introduction
FPOS temporary enrollment through a presumptive eligibility determination provides family
planning services beginning on the day that a qualified provider determines that the individual

has income at or below 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules),
and is:

1. Of child bearing age (defined as 15 years or older), and
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2. A Wisconsin resident, and
3. Not enrolled in BC+ or receiving full benefit Medicaid,
4. One of the following:

For individuals under 19:
« U.S. Citizen, or
o Lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for the amount of
time the person is lawfully present in the U.S.).

For individuals age 19 and older:
« U.S. Citizen;
o Lawfully residing in the United Status under one of the eligible immigration
statuses/situations listed in section 4.3.4.
For more information about income disregards under MAGI rules, see 16.1.2.

The qualified provider should refer non-citizens to the Income Maintenance Agency (IM) for a
BC+ eligibility determination.

FPOS PE extends from the date that an individual is determined eligible by the qualified
provider through either:

1. The last day of the month following the month in which s/he was determined
presumptively eligible, or

2. If the individual applies for FPOS by the end of the month following the month in

which s/he was found presumptively eligible, the enrollment period ends the day
on which the agency determines his/her eligibility.

FPOS PE can only be received once within a rolling 12-month period.

40.2.2 Qualified Providers
Quialified providers are certified by the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

(DHCAA). A qualified provider determines if an individual is temporarily enrolled for FPOS. If
the member is eligible, the qualified provider will:

1. Complete and sign the Presumptive Eligibility for FPOS form (E-10119).
2. Complete the temporary ID card (F-10119) and give it to the member. The

certification dates are from the date FPOS PE is determined through the end of
the month following the month in which the determination is made.
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3. Explain that the duration of a FPOS presumptive eligibility period depends on
when the member applies for BC+ and ongoing FPOS benefits through the local

IM agency.

a. If the member applies for ongoing FPOS by the end of the month following
the month in which s/he was determined eligible for FPOS PE, the
ongoing FPOS period begins the first of the month in which the member
applied and is found eligible. The FPOS presumptive eligibility period
ends the day before the members ongoing FPOS period begins.

Example 1: Amber applied for FPOS PE on September 19th. She is temporarily enrolled
through October 31st.

Amber applied for ongoing FPOS on November 2nd and was found eligible. Amber’s
ongoing FPOS begins November 1st, and ends October 31st of the following year. Amber did
not request a three month backdate.

b. If the member does not apply by the end of the second month following
the month in which s/he was determined eligible for FPOS PE, the FPOS
presumptive eligibility period ends the last day of the second month
following the month in which the member was determined eligible for
FPOS PE.

Example 2: Brenda applied for FPOS PE on April 3, 2011. Her FPOS PE continues through
May 31, 2011. Brenda does not apply for ongoing FPOS until August 15, 2011 and is found
eligible. Brenda requests a backdate of the FPOS for three months and is found eligible. Her
FPOS is backdated to May 1, 2011.

4. Send a copy of the completed F-10119 to the fiscal agent within five days of
completion.

40.2.3 IM Agency

If an individual applies for ongoing FPOS at the IM agency on or before the last day of the FPOS
presumptive eligibility period:

1. Verify the member is presumptively by checking ForwardHealth interChange for
a medical status code of PF.
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2. Consider the application filed if the member's name, address and signature are
on the application.

3. If you are unable to finish processing the application, by the end of the FPOS

presumptive eligibility period, submit an F-10110 to extend the FPOS
presumptive eligibility period for an additional calendar month.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

40.3 FPOS APPLICATION

Eligibility for FPOS begins on the first of the month of application , if all non-financial (40.4)
and financial (40.5) eligibility requirements are met. FPOS may be backdated up to three
months from the month of application

This page last updated in Release Number: 10-05
Release Date: 12/15/10
Effective Date: 12/15/10

40.4 FPOS NON-FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

The following are FPOS specific non-financial requirements:

1. Of child bearing age (defined as 15 years or older).
2. Not be enrolled in BC+ or receiving other full benefit Medicaid.

3. Meet all BC+ non-financial criteria (See Section 2.1) with the exceptions listed
below:
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e Anindividual applying for or receiving BC+ FPOS is not

e subject to the health insurance access or coverage policies.

« Anindividual applying for or receiving BC+ FPOS is not required to
cooperate with Medical Support, unless s/he is also applying for or
receiving BC+ for any child for whom s/he is the caretaker relative .

« Anindividual applying for or receiving BC+ FPOS is not required to
cooperate with Third Party Liability (TPL), unless s/he is also applying for
or receiving BC+ for any child for whom s/he is the caretaker relative.

« Any individual applying for or receiving FPOS who refuses to cooperate
with MSL or TPL requirements when s/he has a child in the home who is
receiving BC+ or Medicaid, is ineligible for FPOS unless s/he is under 19 or
has Good Cause.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

40.5 FPOS FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

40.5.1 Financial Eligibility Requirements Specific to FPOS
40.5.2 Income Under MAGI Rules

40.5.1 Financial Eligibility Requirements Specific to FPOS

The following specific financial eligibility requirements apply to FPOS members,
regardless of the methodology used to determine his or her FPOS income:

1. Countable income calculated in the application month is used to determine the
member's financial eligibility for the entire 12-month eligibility period. Income
changes do not need to be reported until the next review.

2. Any change in income or household size reported after confirmation for FPOS
during the 12-month eligibility period is only applied if it results in enrollment in
BC+ with no premium or eligibility for other full benefit Medicaid.

3. All changes in income or household composition that result in enroliment in BC+
with no premium or eligibility for other full benefit Medicaid will result in FPOS
closure prior to the 12th month.

4. All changes in income will be applied at the 12-month FPOS eligibility renewal.

40.5.2 Income Under MAGI Rules

Because FPOS eligibility is determined based on a group size of one, the applicant’s
taxable earned and unearned income is the only income that should be used when
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calculating their income for purposes of FPOS eligibility under MAGI rules. When a child
under 19 is applying, their parents’ income is not included in his or her eligibility
determination. If a married individual is applying for FPOS coverage, do not include the
income of the spouse, even if he or she is living with his or her spouse.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

40.6 FPOS GROUP

40.6.1 Fetus

40.6.2 Children 18 Years of Age
40.6.3 FPOS Group under MAGI Rules
40.6.4 Transitioning to MAGI Rules

40.6.1 Fetus

For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, increase the FPOS group by one for each fetus a pregnant
woman in the FPOS group is carrying.

Example: Samantha and Howard are married, and have two minor daughters,
Shannon and Colleen. Shannon is pregnant. Samantha is only requesting FPOS for
herself, and is requesting BC+ for her two daughters.

Shannon and Colleen are found eligible for BC+. In building the FPOS group, Shannon,
Shannon’s fetus, and Colleen are counted children. Howard is part of the FPOS group,
because he is legally responsible for Samantha. The FPOS group size is five for
Samantha.

40.6.2 Children 18 years of Age

For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, children under 19 who are applying for FPOS are a group of
one, unless s/he is married and/or has children. Parents are not included in the group.

40.6.3 FPOS Group under MAGI Rules
For all individuals, including children under 19, whose eligibility for FPOS is determined
under MAGI rules, the group size of the applicant will always be one, regardless of

his/her marital status, pregnancy status, and whether or not s/he has children or tax
dependents.
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40.6.4 Transitioning to MAGI Rules

Current FPOS members whose eligibility for the program is based on non-MAGI rules
will transition to MAGI rules in the same manner as BC+ members: on March 31, 2014
or their regularly scheduled 2014 renewal, whichever is later.

All applicants to the FPOS program who apply on or after February 1, 2014 will have his
or her eligibility determined under MAGI rules.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

40.7 FPOS PROGRAM CHOICE

An individual applying for both BC+ and FPOS may request at any time to discontinue
enrollment in BC+ in order to receive only FPOS. Change the health care request on the program
request page to "No” in order to receive the FPOS.

An individual applying for both BC+ and FPOS is not given a choice at the time of confirmation
if s/he meets the eligibility for both benefits. S/he will be enrolled in BC+.

An individual found to be eligible for a deductible may also be eligible for FPOS benefits during
a deductible period. The member may receive FPOS benefits until s/he has met a deductible. The
member can report any out-of-pocket medical bills incurred while s/he is receiving services
through FPOS, in order to meet a deductible. Once a deductible has been met, s/he is receiving
full-benefit BC+/ MA, and is no longer eligible for FPOS. However, s/he will continue to receive
the same family planning services through BC+/MA.

Example: Theresa is an 18-year-old woman applying for MA, BC+ and FPOS for herself and
for BC+ for her daughter Sara (age three). She is found to be eligible for BC+ with a premium
or a deductible. If Theresa chooses BC+, she is required to pay a premium but would be able
to receive family planning services through BC+ as well as having coverage for her whole
family. If she chooses the deductible, she can receive family planning-related services
through FPOS until her deductible has been met.

TThis page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

40.8 FPOS CHANGES

Members receiving FPOS only are not required to report changes in income or household
composition during the 12-month certification period . However, FPOS members are still
required to report all other changes that would result in ineligibility such as moving out of state,
incarceration, etc. within 10 days of the change.

Changes reported in household composition or income resulting in ineligibility will not affect
FPOS benefits for the remainder of the 12-month certification period. Eligibility is put into an
extension phase until the end of the 12-month certification period or until the member reports an
income decrease that is again below the FPOS income limit.

Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the member’s eligibility is
determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS assistance groups will only include the
member in the household composition, regardless of his or her living arrangement.

Changes reported in income or household composition resulting in eligibility for BC+ should be
applied. If there is a request for BC+ on file, s/he will be found eligible for BC+. At that time,
FPOS will end.

FPOS eligibility terminates when an member loses non-financial eligibility. Terminate
eligibility, using adverse action logic, when she:

=

Moves out of state.

2. Is 19 years or over and is no longer cooperating with TPL, MSL, or Social
Security Number (SSN) requirements.

3. Enrolls in BC+ or becomes eligible for other full benefit Medicaid.

4. Becomes an inmate of a public institution.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

40.9 FPOS BC+ EXTENSION PHASE

An FPOS member enters into a FPOS extension phase if a change is reported at any time during
the 12-month certification period in income or household composition that results in income
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that exceeds the FPOS income limit.

The extension continues until the renewal date that was originally set for the FPOS
eligibility.

Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the member’s
eligibility is determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS assistance groups will
only include the member in the household composition, regardless of his or her living
arrangement.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

40.10 FPOS REVIEWS AND RECERTIFICATIONS

A renewal/recertification (Chapter 26) is required every 12 months, after an initial eligibility
determination. At the time of the FPOS renewal, income and household composition are again
tested against the FPOS eligibility criteria.

If a member completes a renewal for another program of assistance at any time during the 12
month FPOS certification period and the information collected from that renewal indicates that
she still meets FPOS eligibility requirements, the FPOS renewal date will be set 12 months from
that renewal date.

If a member completes a renewal for another program of assistance at any time before the 12th
month of FPOS eligibility ends, and no longer meets the FPOS eligibility requirements, s/he will
enter into an FPOS extension phase. S/he will be required to complete a renewal at the end of the
original 12-month certification period. If at this renewal, s/he is found to still have income in
excess of the FPOS limit, eligibility for FPOS ends.

Through December 31, 2013, FPOS cases can be selected for administrative renewal (26.1.2).
These cases must meet all the following criteria to be selected for this process:

e No child in household turning 18 in current or next month
o Countable income of individuals age 18 and above at or below 275% of the FPL.

Administrative renewals for FPOS case will not be allowed in 2014.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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40.11 FPOS CONFIDENTIALITY

Members applying for or receiving FPOS benefits will have all of the confidentiality protections
as other BC+ applicants, as well as the following additional confidentiality protections:

1. If requested, member can have written communication sent to an alternate

address instead of the home address.

Minors are not referred to child support.
Eligibility information regarding minors who apply independently for FPOS is kept
confidential from parents or guardians, unless the member gives clear consent

for release of the information.

w N

This page last updated in Release Number: 10-05
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41 BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM

41.1 BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM
The BC+ Prenatal Program ( BC+PP ) provides coverage for women who:

« Meet the non-financial and financial eligibility requirements for BC+ outside of
incarceration or immigration status

« Have verified pregnancies, and
« Are not eligible for BC+ because they are either inmates of a public institution or

Non-qualifying immigrants.

Note: Pregnancy will no longer be verified for the BC+ Prenatal Program beginning on
January 1, 2014. Only verify pregnancy if the worker has information that contradicts the
member or applicant’s self-declared information.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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41.2 BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY
REQUIREMENTS

Pregnant women (or when applicable, her assistance group), must meet the following
BC+ eligibility requirements to qualify for the BC+PP :

1.

2.

4.

The applicant’s net countable income must not exceed 300% of the FPL (under
non-MAGI rules) or 306% of the FPL (under MAGI rules).

The applicant must not have current or past access to an employer’s health
insurance benefit where the employer pays 80% or more of the premium cost or
to any State of Wisconsin health insurance plan.

The applicant must provide any required verifications.

Note: For eligibility beginning on or after January 1, 2014, pregnancy will only be
verified if the worker has information that contradicts the applicant’s self-declared
information.

The applicant must not have health insurance coverage (Chapter 7) through any
HIPAA standard plan now or in the three calendar months prior to the BC+
Prenatal request.

41.2.1 Unique Aspects of BC+ Prenatal Program

1.

2.

oo
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Providing an SSN is not an eligibility requirement for either inmates or non-
qualifying immigrants applying for the BC+PP.

Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is not an eligibility requirement for
this program.

Unlike regular BC+ which locks in eligibility throughout the pregnancy, BC+PP
eligibility may be terminated with timely notice for failure to meet any of the BC+
eligibility requirements listed in 41.1.

There is no Presumptive Eligibility for the BC+PP. Eligibility for the BC+ Prenatal
Program may only be determined by the IM agencies.

There is no 3-month backdating option available for Prenatal Program members.
Unlike BC+ for Pregnant Women, Prenatal Program members are not eligible for
the 60-day pregnancy extension, but are eligible for Emergency Services during
that time.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
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41.3 BC+ PRENATAL POLICY FOR NON-QUALIFYING
IMMIGRANTS

1. For immigrants who are legally present in the United States, verify immigration

status through normal SAVE procedures in order to determine eligibility for BC+.
If SAVE verifies the pregnant woman is a non-qualifying immigrant, proceed with
determining eligibility for the BC+ Prenatal Program.

2. For immigrants who do not have legal immigration status, do not request SAVE
verification and continue with the determination of eligibility for the BC+ Prenatal
Program.

3. A non-qualifying immigrant whose immigration status changes while she is
pregnant and receiving BC+ Prenatal benefits must have her eligibility re-
determined using the new immigration status. If her new status makes her
eligible for BC+ for Pregnant Women, she is no longer eligible for the BC+
Prenatal Program.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/24/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

41.4 BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM POLICY FOR INMATES

1. Inmates will always be considered to be residing in the county where the jail or
prison facility is located.

2. Aninmate who is released from jail or prison while receiving BC+PP must have
her eligibility re-determined based on her new circumstances. Once released
from an institution, she is no longer eligible for the BC+PP.

Note: When a BC+PP member notifies the IM agency that she has become a citizen or

gualifying immigrant, or is released from prison or jail, CARES will redetermine BC+
eligibility based on the new information.

This page last updated in Release Number: 08-03
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Release Date: 03/11/08
Effective Date : 03/11/08

41.5 BC+ PRENATAL PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY BEGIN DATE

BC+ Prenatal Program eligibility begins no sooner than the first of the month in which a
valid application is received. For applicants whose eligibility is beginning prior to
December 31, 2013, the pregnancy must be verified before eligibility can begin.

Example: An application for BC+PP is received on October 20, 2013. The agency
does not receive a verification of the pregnancy until November 5th. BC+PP is
denied for October due to lack of pregnancy verification in that month. If the woman
is otherwise eligible for BC+PP, eligibility may begin on November 1st.

Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants who are not eligible for the BC+PP should have
Emergency Services eligibility determined according to policy in (Chapter 39).

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

41.6 BC+ PRENATAL ELIGIBILITY END DATE

BC+PP eligibility ends when the pregnancy ends. Benefits will continue through the end
of the month following timely notice requirements.

Non-qualifying immigrants who lose eligibility for the BC+PP when their pregnancy
ends, for any reason other than moving out of state, are eligible for Emergency Services
(Chapter 39) from the time they lose BC+PP eligibility.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

41.7 DETERMINING BC+ PRENATAL GROUP

41.7.1 The BC+ Prenatal Group through January, 31, 2014
41.7.2 The BC+ Prenatal Group after February 1, 2014

41.7.1 The BC+ Prenatal Group through January 31, 2014
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For individuals who applied prior to January 31, 2014, continue to form the BC+
Prenatal group according to the following rules:

1.

If a pregnant woman is in a household where her spouse or her children are
eligible, or applying for BC+, she is to be included in the BC+ group with the
other non-financially eligible members of her family. Include the number of
verified fetuses when determining the BC+ group size. If the number is not
verified, always count one fetus.

Pregnant inmates must always be considered to be living alone. If the inmate is
married while incarcerated, consider her to be separated (ignore the spouse)
when determining eligibility. The pregnant inmate’s BC+ group size will always
include herself and the number of fetuses she is carrying.

Note: Women in the Huber program who are eligible for BC+ are not eligible for
the BC+ Prenatal Program.

3. Pregnant Non-qualifying immigrants who have no other born children in the home

will have their financial eligibility determined in the same way as pregnant women
applying for BC+. The BC+ group size will only include the woman, the fetuses
and her spouse. If the pregnant immigrant is a minor living with her parent(s),
the parent(s) will be included in the BC+ Test Group.

BC+ Prenatal Program Group Examples

Household Test Participation Status
Group
Size
Mom and fetus 2 EA
Mom and fetus, 2 EA XA
boyfriend/alleged
father
Mom and fetus, 3 EA CA
spouse
Mom and fetus, 4 EA EA EC
father, and child-
in-common
eligible for BC
Minor Mom and 4 EC EA EA
fetus and Minor’'s
parents (2)

41.7.2 The BC+ Prenatal Group After February 1, 2014
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Effective February 1, 2014, all new applicants for the BC+ Prenatal Program will have
their eligibility determined under MAGI rules. Follow the rules outlined in Chapter 2 in
order to form group size.

Beginning January 1, 2014, pregnancy, the number of fetuses, and the due date are not
required to be verified unless the worker has information that contradicts the applicant’s
self-declared information. The effective begin date for the BC+ Prenatal Program is the
first of the month in which they apply and are otherwise eligible.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

41.8 BC+PP BENEFIT INFORMATION

Women determined eligible for the BC+PP receive a ForwardHealth Card, which can
also be used to access emergency services under BC+ Emergency Services only after
BC+ ends.

BC+PP and BC+ Emergency Services members will not be enrolled in an HMO.
Services will only be provided on a fee-for-service basis.

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01
Release Date: 10/29/07
Effective Date: 02/01/08

43 BADGERCARE PLUS CORE PLAN

43.1 CORE PLAN INTRODUCTION
Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014

The BadgerCare Plus Core Plan provides limited healthcare benefits to certain adults
without dependent children. The adults without dependent children population consists
of individuals and married couples who are:

o Between the ages of 19 and 64

e Not pregnant, or qualified for any other Medicaid, Medicare or SCHIP program

« May have children, but either their minor children are not currently living with
them (40 percent of the time) or those children living with them are 19 years of
age or older.
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The BC+ Core Plan will be ending on March 31, 2014. Core Plan members with AG
income at or below 100% FPL will be transitioned to the BC+ Childless Adults coverage
group without have to reapply. Coverage for Core Plan members with AG income over
100% of the FPL will be terminated effective March 31, 2014. These individuals may be
eligible to receive advanced premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions available
through the Federally-facilitated Marketplace.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/07/14

43.2 CORE PLAN ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
In order to enroll in the Core Plan, an individual must meet all of the following criteria:

Income
e Have gross income below 200% of the FPL
o No asset test

Age
o Be atleast 19 but no more than 64 years of age

Dependents
o Does not have any children under age 19 under his/her care (2.2).

e Is not pregnant. Exception: a Core Plan member who becomes pregnant
remains enrolled in the Core Plan until she has provided pregnancy verification
and becomes eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Standard or Benchmark Plan.

Citizenship/ldentity
e Must provide verification, including documentation, of US citizenship or qualifying
immigrant status (4.2) and social security number (or proof of application for a
SSN) (9.9.1)

Residency
e Must be a Wisconsin resident

Other Programs
o Isineligible for the BadgerCare Plus Standard or Benchmark plan, or any full
benefit Medicaid plan
« Is not entitled to Medicare.
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Is not disabled. Exception: a disabled individual who is not yet entitled to
Medicare benefits can be enrolled in the Core Plan if s/he has an unmet EBD
Medicaid deductible or was determined ineligible for EBD Medicaid due to
excess assets.

Individuals can be dually enrolled in the Core Plan and Family Planning Only
Services and Tuberculosis (TB) Medicaid but cannot be entitled to Medicare
benefits under any part.

Health Insurance

Does not have access to health insurance through a current employer in the
month of application or subsequent three months, regardless of the amount of
employer contribution toward the premium.

Did not have access to health insurance through a current employer in the past
12 months, regardless of the amount of employer contribution toward the
premium, unless there is a good cause reason for not signing up.

Is not currently covered by a health insurance policy (through employer or
individual policy).

Has not been covered by a health insurance policy for the past 12 months,
unless individual has a good cause reason for losing the coverage.

Note: During the transition period of January to March 2014, Core Plan members are
permitted to maintain their Core Plan coverage even if they have enrolled in private
health insurance.

Application requirements

Must complete a health needs assessment at application and annual renewal;
Must pay a non-refundable, annual application fee. The fee is waived for
homeless individuals. "Homeless” is defined according to HUD standards ( See
43.4.2.1 Waiver of Application Fee )

To remain enrolled in the Core Plan, individuals must obtain a comprehensive
physical exam within the first 12 month certification period, unless there is a good
cause reason for not doing so.

Must pay required monthly premiums (see 43.7.3)

Married couples apply with one application and pay one annual non-refundable renewal

fee.

This page last updated in Release Number: 12-02
Release Date: 10/05/12
Effective Date: 07/01/12

43.3 RESERVED
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This page last updated in Release Number: 12-02
Release Date: 10/05/12
Effective Date: 07/01/12

43.4 CORE PLAN APPLICATION

43.4.1 How to Apply
43.4.2 Processing Fee
43.4.2.1 Waiver of Processing Fee
43.4.2.2 Methods of Payment
43.4.2.3 Medicaid Certified Provider Processing Fee Policy
43.4.2.4 Community Based Organization Payment Options for the Processing Fee
43.4.2.5 Screening
43.4.2.6 Processing Fee as a Medical Expense

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
43.4.1 How to Apply
BadgerCare Plus Core Plan applications can be submitted online, in person, or by phone.

To enroll in the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan, applicants will be asked to complete these steps:

Complete the request online at access.wisconsin.gov , by phone or in person.
Take a short survey about their health,

Pay a $60 non-refundable processing fee, and

Mail or fax proof of income and other information provided to:

PwpNPE

Milwaukee County:
MDPU

PO Box 05676
Milwaukee WI 53205
Fax: 1-888-409-1979

Balance of State:
CDPU
PO Box 5234

Janesville, WI 53547-5234
Fax: 1-855-293-1822
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NOTE: This PO Box is only for verification and other correspondence. Application fees should
be sent to:

DHS
PO Box 93735
Milwaukee, WI 53293-0735

There is no mail-in application option for Core Plan applicants.

43.4.2 Processing Fee

A non-refundable processing fee is required before an application for the Core Plan can be
processed, unless the fee is waived because the applicant /member is homeless or a tribal
member. The applicant/member has 30 calendar days from the day the initial or renewal request
for Core Plan is submitted to pay the fee. If the fee is not paid within 30 calendar days, the
application will be withdrawn and will not be processed.

Unmarried individuals residing together will each have their own application (1 fee per
application required), married couples should apply on the same application (1 fee required).

If a partial payment is submitted, the remaining amount must be paid by the 30th calendar day
after the application was submitted or the application will be withdrawn. The partial fee payment
will not be refunded.

The processing fee will be applied to the payment of a Core member’s premiums if the member
has a household income over 133% of the FPL and is thus required to pay premiums as a
condition of eligibility.

The current fee amount for all Core Plan applications is $60.

Effective September 28, 2013, Core Plan applicants and/or members completing a renewal will
no longer be required to pay the $60 processing fee or complete the HNA.

43.4.2.1 Waiver of Processing Fee
Homeless
The processing fee is waived for applicants who meet the federal Housing and Urban

Development (HUD) definition of homeless:

A homeless individual lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence;
and s/he has a primary nighttime residence that is:
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e A publicly supervised or privately operated shelter designed to provide
temporary living accommodations (including welfare hotels, congregate
shelter and transitional housing for the mentally ill);

e An institution that provides a temporary residence for individuals intended
to be institutionalized or an inpatient facility for mental health and/or
substance abuse; or

« A public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular
sleeping accommodation for human beings.

Tribal Members

The processing fee is waived for tribal members, the son or daughter of a tribal member, the
grandson or granddaughter of a tribal member, or anyone otherwise eligible to receive Indian
Health Services.

43.4.2.2 Methods of Payment
The processing fee may be paid by:

1. Credit card via ACCESS

2. Electronic check via ACCESS

3. Sending, check, credit card information, or money order to the DHS lockbox with
an appropriate payment slip.

Checks and money orders should be mailed to the lockbox at:

DHS
P.O. Box 93735
Milwaukee, WI 53293-0735

NOTE: THIS P.O. BOX IS ACTUALLY A LOCKBOX. IT IS ONLY FOR PROCESSING
FEES. VERIFICATION AND OTHER CORRESPONDENCE SHOULD BE SENT TO:

Milwaukee County:
MDPU
PO Box 05676
Milwaukee WI 53205
Fax: 1-888-409-1979

Balance of State:
CDPU
PO Box 5234
Janesville, WI 53547-5234
Fax: 1-855-293-1822
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If a fee is returned for any reason (NSF, unsigned, foreign currency) prior to the time the
application or renewal has been processed, the application or renewal will not be
processed until the full fee is paid.

If a fee is returned for any reason after enrollment, the member will be contacted and given
another chance to pay the fee. If the fee is still not paid, the enroliment will be terminated with
timely notice and any benefits received during the enrollment period are considered a
recoverable overpayment.

43.4.2.3 Medicaid Certified Provider Processing Fee Policy

Medicaid certified providers cannot pay enrollment fees on behalf of individual BadgerCare Plus
Core Plan members. An offer by a Medicaid certified provider to pay a fee on behalf of a
prospective Medicaid member may violate federal laws against kickbacks. These laws are
federal criminal statutes that are interpreted and enforced by federal agencies such as the United
States Department of Justice and the Department of Health and Human Services; Office of
Inspector General. Organizations that are not Medicaid-certified providers may pay an
enrollment fee on behalf of prospective Medicaid members according to the following
procedures.

43.4.2.4 Community Based Organization Payment Options for the Processing Fee

Community based organizations may pay the annual, non-refundable $60 processing fee for the
BC+ Plus Core Plan on behalf of one or more applicants. Medicaid certified providers cannot
pay the processing fee on behalf of specific members.

The following payment options are available:

1. Pay online using credit/debit card or electronic check using ACCESS and the
ePayment system

« If a community based organization is assisting the individual complete
their ACCESS application for BC+ Core Plan and wished to pay the
processing fee immediately following the electronic signature and
completion of the HNA, the organization could use their credit card, debit
card or electronic check using the ePayment system.

« If they wish to pay using a credit/debit card or electronic check and the
applicant is no longer at the organization, they would use Option 2 below.

2. Pay by phone using credit/debit card or electronic check
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If a community based organization would like to pay the processing fee for
one or more BC+ Core Plan applicants using a credit/debit card or
electronic check and are paying at a different time than the ACCESS
application was submitted, they will need to call Member Services to make
the payment(s).
e The community based organization will need to provide the following
information:
o First and Last Name of each Applicant/Member
o ACCESS Tracking Number for each applicant or the CARES Case
Number for each member

o Credit/Debit Card or Electronic Check Information
o Member Services will need to process each transaction separately. The
ePayment System will currently not allow an amount greater than $60.00.

Note: The payment cannot be processed unless the applicant has electronically
signed and submitted their ACCESS BC+ Core Plan application.

3. Pay by mail via check or money order
« If the community based organization wishes to pay the processing fee for
one or more BC+ Core Plan applicants via the mail, they will complete
these steps:

o Retrieve and complete the Payment Form which is available on the
web at: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/FO/F00623.pdf

o The form will require the organization to type in the first and last
name and the CARES Case Number for each applicant.

o If they cannot print the form, they can also call the local agency and
request a form to be mailed to them.

Note: Handwritten forms are not searchable in the US Bank tracking
system.

« Send one check or money order for the entire amount along with the
completed form to the lock box for entry.

o The form will have instructions for making out the check or money
order and the address of the lock box.

o The lock box has instructions to deposit the check or money order
and split the payment evenly to each applicant. If the amount is not
enough, each applicant will be short and a partial fee letter will be
mailed to each applicant.

43.4.2.5 Screening
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All applicants will receive a pre-screening to determine potential eligibility for the Core Plan
before the processing fee is collected. If an applicant does not appear to meet all eligibility
requirements, s/he will be notified of that fact and discouraged from paying the processing fee.
Written documentation of the reason why s/he does not qualify based on information provided
will be made available if requested to access charitable care and community programs.

43.4.2.6 Processing Fee as a Medical Expense

The processing fee is considered a medical expense for FoodShare and can also be used toward
meeting a Medicaid deductible.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

43.5 CORE PLAN ENROLLMENT BEGIN DATES

43.5.1 Filing Date

43.5.2 Enrollment Date
43.5.2.1 Retroactive Eligibility/Backdating
43.5.2.2 Late Processing

43.5.3 Certification Period

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
43.5.1 Filing Date

The filing date for a Core Plan application is established only when an application with a name,
address and valid signature is submitted and the application processing fee is paid (whichever is
later).

The signature can be provided electronically through the phone or by using the online ACCESS
Apply for Benefits tool. See Chapter 25.5 for the policy regarding valid signatures.

For all applications and renewals, a notice of decision must be issued within 30 calendar days
after the filing date. If an application is not processed with sufficient time to allow the applicant
10 calendar days to provide verification, the processing timeframe must be extended. An
extension can be granted, in 10 day increments, to allow the applicant additional time to provide
requested verification.

Notification must be provided for any delays that extend the application processing beyond the
30-day processing period.
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Note: The EBD Medicaid application filing date can be used as the Core Plan filing date, if:

« A Core Plan application is received and the application fee is paid within 30 days
after the EBD Medicaid denial notice is issued; and
« All required verification is submitted prior to the deadline.

If the applicant is eligible to enroll in the Core Plan, s/he can also choose a later coverage begin
date. This option affords a longer certification period for individuals who did not incur any
medical expenses while the EBD Medicaid application was being processed.

Example 1: Virginia applies for EBD Medicaid on September 1st. On September 30th, her
EBD Medicaid application is processed and it is determined that her income is over the
program limits for EBD Medicaid. A six month deductible (September through February) is
established. She contacts the ESC to apply for the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan on October
15th and pays her application fee on October 25th. She submitted all required verification
timely.

When Virginia’s Core Plan application is approved on November 20th, her enrollment in the
Core Plan is approved to begin on October 15th, since that is the date her Core Plan
enrollment would have begun if she had applied for the Core Plan and paid the application fee
on September 1st. The October 15th enrollment date takes into consideration the 30 days
allowed for processing the application had the agency received the application and the fee on
September 1st.

Example 2: Bill applies for EBD Medicaid on September 25th. On November 30th, DDB
issued a decision that he is not disabled. He decides to appeal the decision. He seeks Core
Plan coverage by calling the IM agency and pays the application fee on December 23rd. Bill
meets the Core Plan eligibility criteria and is eligible to enroll effective November 1st since
that is the date his Core Plan enrollment would have begun if he had applied for the Core Plan
and paid the application fee on September 25th. The November 1st enrollment date takes into
consideration the 30 days allowed for processing the application had the IM agency received
the application and the fee on September 25th.

However, Bill can choose to enroll in the Core Plan effective November 15th, December 1st,
December 15th, or January 1st. The choice will depend on whether medical expenses were
incurred during that time versus a longer certification period.

43.5.2 Enrollment Date

Enrollment in the Core Plan begins on the next available enrollment period (always the 1st or the
15th of the month) after:
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« All eligibility requirements have been met; and
« Eligibility has been confirmed and transmitted.

Eligibility must be confirmed at least two business days prior to the next enrollment period in
order for enrollment in the Core Plan to occur on that date. If eligibility is timely confirmed after
the cut-off date, enrollment begins on the next available 1st or 15th enrollment date.

Example 3: Phil applied for Core Plan on June 15th and his eligibility was timely confirmed
on July 14th. Enrollment begins on August 1st because enrollment was confirmed after the
cutoff date and there are not two business days before the next enrollment period.

43.5.2.1 Retroactive Eligibility/Backdating

There is no retroactive eligibility or backdating allowed in the Core Plan, unless an agency delay
in application processing would otherwise result in a loss of coverage, or a member with income
below 133% of the FPL was disenrolled for failure to verify income and later verifies the income
for the back months was below 133% of the FPL. (See 43.11.3)

43.5.2.2 Late Processing

Core Plan enrollment will never occur retroactively. Coverage will be granted retroactively
when:

e Solely due to agency delay, enrollment in the Core Plan is confirmed after the 30
day application processing period; and
e The enrollment date was actually impacted by the agency delay.

Example 4: Dawn applied for Core Plan on June 10th and due to agency delay, her
eligibility was confirmed on July 28th. Enrollment begins August 1st. If the application
had been processed timely, her enrollment would have begun on July 15th.
Retroactive coverage will be granted from July 15th through July 31st.

Example 5: Phil applied for Core Plan on June 15th and his eligibility was confirmed
on July 28th. Enrollment begins August 1st. Although there was an agency delay,
had the agency confirmed the case timely by July 14, enroliment would have begun
on August 1st. Retroactive coverage is not granted

43.5.3 Certification Period
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Once enrollment has been confirmed, the certification period is continuous for 12 calendar
months unless the individual:

e Turns age 65;

« Moves out of the state of Wisconsin;

e s admitted to an Institution for Mental Disease (IMD);

e Becomes incarcerated;

e Becomes eligible for Medicare;

e Meets the non-financial criteria for BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid (pregnancy,
children in the home, disability, etc.)

e Attains health insurance coverage

Changes in income and/or marital status do not affect a member’s eligibility during the 12 month
certification period. This policy ends when the Core Plan ends on March 31. 2014.

New Spouse

If a member gets married during the 12 month certification period and the new spouse applies for
the Core Plan, an application fee (43.4.2) and Health Needs Assessment (43.6.3) is not required
for the new spouse. The new spouse’s application for Core Plan is treated as a "person add”
(Process Help 3.2) and a separate eligibility determination is done for the new spouse.

The financial eligibility for the new spouse is based on both spouses’ income as of the new
spouse’s application date. If eligible, the new spouse is enrolled in the same HMO (if
applicable) as the current member throughout the duration of the certification period for the
current member. The review date for the new spouse is aligned with the current member’s
review date.

If the new spouse is not eligible, the current member remains enrolled until the end of the 12
month certification period. At that time a review must be completed to determine if the couple is
eligible taking into account all the income in the household.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

43.6 CORE PLAN NON-FINANCIAL

43.6.1 BC+ Non-Financial

43.6.2 Age
43.6.3 Health Insurance Coverage
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43.6.4 Health Insurance Access
43.6.5 Verification

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
43.6.1 BC+ Non-Financial

The Core Plan member must meet the existing BadgerCare Plus requirements
including:

Providing an SSN (6.1),

State residency (3.1),

US Citizenship (4.1;.4.2) or Qualifying Immigrant Status (4.3)
Subrogation settlements or payouts (5.6).

Cooperation with child support requirement does not apply to Core Plan members.
Note: The Emergency Services Plan is not available under the Core Plan.

In addition, the Core Plan member must also meet the following non-financial criteria.
43.6.2 Age

The member must be at least 19 but no more than 64 years of age.

43.6.3 Health Insurance Coverage

Health insurance coverage is defined as medical care (provided directly, through
insurance or reimbursement or otherwise) under any hospital or medical service policy
or certificate, hospital or medical services plan contract, or HMO contract offered by a
health insurance issuer.

Health insurance coverage includes group health insurance coverage, individual health
insurance coverage and short-term, limited duration insurance. For the purposes of this
policy, health insurance does not include County General Assistance Medical
Programs, Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plan (HIRSP), Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus,
Indian Health Program or other public health care programs for the uninsured.

Current Coverage
An individual is ineligible for the Core Plan if s/he is currently covered by a health
insurance plan.

Past Coverage

An individual is ineligible for the Core Plan if s/he has been covered by a health
insurance plan in the previous 12 months, unless a good cause reason exists.

318



Program Coverage (Chapters 38-47)

Good cause reasons for losing past coverage:

The 12-month waiting period does not apply if the applicant/member has good cause for
losing the insurance. Good cause reasons for losing coverage in the 12 months prior to
the application date are:

e Health insurance was lost during the 12 month period for employment related
reasons, including:

o Involuntary termination of employment;

o Voluntary termination due to the incapacitation or health condition of the
individual or that of an immediate family member. An immediate family
member is defined as a spouse, child or parent;

o Employer discontinued health plan coverage for all employees.

o Coverage was lost due to the death or change in marital status of the policy
holder;

e The Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) coverage
continuation period expired during the 12 month period.

43.6.4 Health Insurance Access

Current or past access to employer sponsored insurance through a current employer of
the applicant/member, the applicant/member’s spouse or the applicant/member’s parent
can affect eligibility for the Core Plan.

Insurance is considered "employer sponsored” only if the employer contributes some
amount to the cost of the insurance. If the employer pays no portion of the premium it is
not considered employer sponsored.

Current Access

An individual with access to employer sponsored health insurance through a current
employer or his/her spouse’s or parent’s employer is ineligible, regardless of the amount
of the employer contribution. Current access means the coverage would begin:

e Within the month of application, or
e In the three months following the month of application.

There is no good cause for not signing up when the applicant or member has current
access to insurance.

Past Access

An individual who had access to employer sponsored insurance through his/her current
employer (or his/her spouse’s or parent’s current employer) in the past 12 months is
ineligible, regardless of the amount of the employer contribution, unless there is a good
cause reason for not signing up for the insurance. The good cause reason only applies
at the time of application. There will be no good cause reasons granted at renewal if the
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member did not sign up for the employer sponsored insurance while he/she was
enrolled in the Core Plan.

Good cause reasons for past access at application
The good cause reasons for not signing up for employer insurance in the past 12
months are:

« The individual was enrolled in a public health care benefit at the time s/he could
have signed up for the employer sponsored plan. Public health care benefit
includes the Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plan (HIRSP) (the temporary high
risk pool is also considered HIRSP for purposes of the waiting period),
BadgerCare Plus Standard or Benchmark Plan, Medicaid, the Veteran’s
Administration (VA) or other public health care program for the uninsured.

e The individual tried to sign up for an employer sponsored plan but was denied
coverage for pre-existing conditions.

43.6.5 Verification
See the Verification Chapter 9.1 for general rules and definitions for verification.
The following verification is required for the Core Plan:

Earned and Unearned Income (16.1)

Social Security Number and date of birth (9.9.1)

US citizenship and identity (4.2) or immigration status (9.9.2)

Health Insurance Access (43.6.6)

Health Insurance Coverage (43.6.5)

Good Cause for not signing up for insurance (access) and for losing insurance
coverage (43.6.6)

7. Eligibility in another state (migrant workers) (12.3)

8. Documentation of Power of Attorney and Guardianship (9.9.5) (if applicable)

O0AWNE

Verification Methods
Verification will be obtained using data exchange resources to the fullest extent possible
as follows:

Earned and Unearned Income
Verification of current wages needs to be provided by the applicant /member.

Information about income from the following sources can generally be obtained
systematically:

Child Support income (court ordered and received in WI)

Social Security Disability Insurance

Unemployment Insurance

Veterans Administration
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Income Changes

Core Plan members are required to report and verify income changes during the 12
month certification period. Increases in income over 200% of the FPL do not affect a
Core Plan member’s eligibility during the certification period, but changes may increase
or decrease the premium amount. Core members who fail to verify income changes
during the 12 month certification period will be disenrolled (See 43.8.1.1) if requested
verification is not submitted

Social Security Number and Date of Birth
Proof from the applicant is requested only if the information s/he provided does not
match records available through the Social Security Administration

US citizenship or Immigration Status

Proof from the applicant is requested only if the required documentation cannot be
obtained through the Wisconsin DHS Vital Records (Birth Query), the Social Security
Administration (SSA) and Department of Transportation/Division of Motor Vehicles

Health Insurance Access
Employer Verification of Health Insurance (EVHI) system

Health Insurance Coverage
Information will be self-declared at application , but will be verified through the Third
Party Liability (TPL) process within several months after enrollment.

Good Cause for Losing Health Insurance

Employer dropped coverage: EVHI

o Health condition of self/family: Provided by the applicant

o Life changing event: Provided by the applicant

o Involuntary Termination: UC Date Exchange or provided by the applicant

@]

Good Cause for Access to Health Insurance
o Enrollment in BC+/Medicaid: CARES, CWW oriC
o Pre-existing Condition: Provided by the applicant

Eligibility in Another State (Migrant Workers)
See chapter 9.9.

Documentation of Power of Attorney and Guardianship (if applicable)
Verification needs to be provided by the applicant/member

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
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Effective Date: 10/01/13

43.7 CORE PLAN FINANCIAL

43.7.1 Core Plan Group
43.7.2 Income and Resources
43.7.3 Premiums
43.7.3.1 Core Plan Premiums
43.7.3.2 Premium Calculations
43.7.3.3 Premium Payment Methods
43.7.3.4 Initial Payments
43.7.3.5 On-Going Payment
43.7.3.6 Advance Payments
43.7.3.7 Non-Payment
43.7.3.7.1 Non-Payment Introduction
43.7.3.7.2 Insufficient Funds
43.7.3.7.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment
43.7.3.8 Late Payments
43.7.3.9 Premium Changes
43.7.3.9.1 Decreased premium amount
43.7.3.9.2 Increased premium amount
43.7.3.9.2.1 Person adds:
43.7.3.9.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add))
43.7.3.10 Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP)
43.7.3.10.1 Reapplying
43.7.3.10.2 Quitting BC+
43.7.3.10.3 Good Cause for Quitting BC+

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014

43.7.1 Core Plan Group

The "Fiscal Test Group” (FTG) for Core Plan applicants and members includes only the
applicant /member and his or her spouse. The Core Plan FTG is never more than two.
If both spouses are applying, each is tested in his or her own Core Plan assistance
group (2.4), with the other spouse as a counted or test adult or child in the group. (2.5)

Eligibility for two adults who are living together, but not married, is determined on
separate cases with each case a FTG of 1.

43.7.2 Income and Resources
In order to qualify for the Core Plan, an applicant or member’s gross monthly income

must not exceed 200% of the FPL for the FTG size (1 or 2). See Chapter 16 for types
of income that are counted or not counted and instructions on how to budget income.

322



Program Coverage (Chapters 38-47)

Spenddown
An applicant cannot 'spend down’ or meet a deductible to become eligible.

Deductions
There are no income deductions allowed for the Core Plan.

Unlike the BadgerCare Plus Benchmark Plan, depreciation is not an allowed expense
when calculating income for self-employed Core Plan applicants and members.

Resource/Asset limit
There is no asset limit for the Core Plan.

43.7.3 Premiums

43.7.3.1 Core Plan Premiums
43.7.3.2 Premium Calculations
43.7.3.3 Premium Payment Methods
43.7.3.4 Initial Payments
43.7.3.5 On-Going Payment
43.7.3.6 Advance Payments
43.7.3.7 Non-Payment
43.7.3.7.1 Non-Payment Introduction
43.7.3.7.2 Insufficient Funds
43.7.3.7.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment
43.7.3.8 Late Payments
43.7.3.9 Premium Changes
43.7.3.9.1 Decreased premium amount
43.7.3.9.2 Increased premium amount
43.7.3.9.2.1 Person adds:
43.7.3.9.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add))
43.7.3.10 Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP)
43.7.3.10.1 Reapplying
43.7.3.10.2 Quitting BC+
43.7.3.10.3 Good Cause for Quitting BC+

43.7.3.1 Core Plan Premiums

The following individuals must pay a premium to become or remain eligible for BC+
Core Plan:

« Members with income above 133% of the FPL are required to pay monthly

premiums as a condition of enrollment and continued eligibility unless exempt.

The following individuals are exempt from the requirement to pay a premium:
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« Members who are blind or disabled, as determined by the Disability
Determination Bureau (DDB), through the presumptive disability process (MEH,
5.9) or MAPP Disabled

« Tribal members, the son or daughter of a tribal member, the grandson or
granddaughter of a tribal member or anyone eligible to receive Indian Health
Services.

43.7.3.2 Premium Calculations

Premiums will be calculated based on a sliding scale, ranging from 3% of countable
household income for individuals with incomes above 133% of the FPL to 9.5% of
household countable income for individuals at or above 300% of the FPL.

Premiums are calculated based on the household net countable income, multiplied by
the premium rate for their FPL level, and rounded to the nearest dollar. See section
48.1.2 for premium ranges based on family size and income. The premium amounts
are the same regardless of the number of eligible Core Plan members in the case.

Example 1: George reports having monthly income of $1,500 per month. For a family size of
1, that income is at 161% of the FPL. The premium rate for incomes between 160 and 169.99%
of the FPL is 4.5%. To determine the amount of the premium, multiply $1,500 times 4.5%. The
result is $67.50. After rounding to the nearest dollar, George’s Core Plan premium will be $68
per month.

43.7.3.3 Premium Payment Methods

Payment methods include:
1. Direct payment by check or money order.
2. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

3. Wage withholding from each paycheck received.

Members will be sent a premium coupon monthly to use to submit a check or money
order by mail.

IM agencies are responsible for providing members with the Wage Withholding (E-
13025) and EFT (F-13026) forms upon request. The completed forms must be mailed
to the address listed on the form. Direct premium payments must be made until the
fiscal agent informs the household that the EFT or wage withholding has been set up.

NOTE: Unlike the processing fee, credit cards may not be used to pay premiums.

324


http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F13025.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F13025.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F13026.pdf

Program Coverage (Chapters 38-47)

43.7.3.4 Initial Payments

Note: The $60 processing fee for Core Plan renewals will no longer be collected for
renewals completed on or after September 28, 2013, regardless of the month the
renewal is due. The below policy will only apply to renewals completed prior to
September 28, 2013.

Payment of the Core Plan premium is a condition of eligibility. For non-exempt Core
Plan members who must pay a $60 non-refundable processing fee at the time of
application and renewal, the following policy applies to the initial premiums.

If applicants are required to pay a premium, the processing fee will be applied to the first
month’s premium.

On or after July 1, 2012,if a member owes a premium at the time of renewal, the
processing fee will be applied to the next monthly premium owed.

No additional premium will be owed for the month that the processing fee was applied. If
the premium owed is less than $60, a refund of the difference will be issued to the
member.

The $60 processing fee will be applied to the premium only in cases where income is
above 133% of the FPL at the time of application or renewal. If someone’s income in
subsequent months of eligibility increases above 133% of the FPL and they are then
required to pay a premium, no adjustment will be made.

Homeless persons who are exempt from paying the processing fee but are required to
pay a premium must pay their initial premium before being enrolled in the Core Plan.

The Income Maintenance agency is responsible for collecting the initial payments at
application and recording the payment in CARES Worker Web. Acceptable payment
types include: check (personal, cashiers, travelers, etc.) or a money order. Checks must
be made out to “BadgerCare Plus”.

A BadgerCare Plus Premium Information/Payment form (E-10139) must be sent to the
fiscal agent along with the payment.The CARES case number must be included on the
form (E-10139) and on the check. Mail the initial Core Plan premium payment (check or
money order) and completed form directly to the BC+ lockbox at:

BC+

c/o Wisconsin Department of Health Services
Box 93187

Milwaukee, WI 53293-0187

The eligibility policy and timeframe procedures for premium payments are as follows:
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1. Initial eligibility date and confirmation occur in the month of application.

When an application is processed in the same month it was received, and a
premium for the initial month of eligibility is not due because the processing
fee will be used to pay it, the premium for the second month of eligibility
must be paid in advance before an individual can be enrolled in Core Plan.

Example 2: Lisa applied for the Core Plan on January 5th. On January 11th, the worker
determined that Lisa met eligibility requirements and could enroll effective January 15th. The
processing fee paid for the January premium. However, Lisa must pay her February premium
before her eligibility could be confirmed.

2. Renewal confirmation and enrollment occurs after the renewal month.

When a renewal is submitted after the renewal month, the member will have
a gap in enrollment that may resume by the 15th day of the 13th month. The
premium for the initial partial month of eligibility is not due because the
processing fee will be used to pay it. The member will receive a payment slip
for the premium amount for the next month through the mail. S/he must pay
the premium due for the month by the tenth of the benefit month to remain
eligible for the Core Plan.

Note: Premiums are not prorated for partial months of eligibility.

Example 3: Linda turned in her renewal on June 5th. On June 11th, the worker determined that
Linda met eligibility requirements and confirmed her eligibility allowing her to reenroll
effective June 15th. The processing fee paid for the June premium. A payment slip for Linda’s
July premium was mailed on June 20th with payment due by July 10th.

3. Eligibility begins in a future month.

When an application is processed but eligibility does not begin until a future
month, the processing fee will pay for the first future month of eligibility. The
member will receive a payment slip for the the following month’s premium
amount through the mail. S/he must pay the premium due for the month by
the tenth of the benefit month to remain eligible for Core Plan.

Example 4: Arnie applied for Core Plan on April 12th. He was determined to be
eligible and enrolled in the Core Plan beginning May 1st. The $60 processing fee will
pay for the May premium. A payment slip for Arnie’s June premium was mailed on May
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20th with payment due by June 10th.
43.7.3.5 On-going Payment

Core Plan premiums are due on the tenth of the benefit month, regardless of which
payment method is chosen.

1. For members who have chosen "direct pay" as their payment method, the fiscal
agent sends out the Core Plan premium payment slips on the 20th of the month
before the benefit month.

2. Electronic funds transfer occurs on the third business day of the benefit month.

43.7.3.6 Advance Payments

Advance payments of premiums (further than the next month) are not permitted for
Core Plan members.

43.7.3.7 Non-Payment

43.7.3.7.1 Non-Payment Introduction

43.7.3.7.2 Insufficient Funds
43.7.3.7.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment

43.7.3.7.1 Non-Payment Introduction

The failure to pay a premium does not affect the eligibility of any person in the
household who does not have a premium obligation. If an individual with a premium
obligation fails to pay the premium by adverse action of the benefit month, Core Plan
will close for those individuals who owed a premium and those individual(s) are not
eligible for 12 calendar months following the date on which their coverage terminated,
unless there was good cause.

The total premium for a case must be paid to avoid being considered late or unpaid.

43.7.3.7.2 Insufficient Funds

If a Core Plan member pays the monthly premium through EFT or direct payment by
check, and the payment is rejected for insufficient funds it is considered a non-payment
and the Core Plan eligibility will terminate. A restrictive re-enrollment (See 43.7.3.10)
will be applied unless there is good cause (See 43.7.3.7.3). The RRP begins with the
first month after closure. If an overpayment occurred, a benefit recovery claim should
be established.
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43.7.3.7.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment

Do not apply an RRP for non-payment if good cause exists. Good cause reasons for
not paying the Core Plan premium are:

Problems with the financial institution.
CARES problem.

Local agency problem.

Wage withholding problem.

Fair hearing decision.

agrwnE

The member must still pay the arrears before eligibility will begin again.

43.7.3.8 Late Payments

Late payments impact eligibility differently, depending on when the late payment is
received. Members must pay the overdue payment(s) that resulted in case closure, but
do not have to pay the premium owed for the following month, unless the late payment
is made after the start of the next benefit month.

Example 5: If a premium was owed for September, but is not paid until October, the premiums
for both September and October must be paid before eligibility is restored.

The case will remain open for the benefit month even if no payment is received by the
due date. The Core Plan will close at the end of the benefit month if no payment is
received by adverse action. If the member pays between adverse action of the benefit
month and the last day of the benefit month, eligibility can be restored effective the first
of the next month.

Example 6: Adverse action is September 16th. Jim’s September premium was due September
10th. Jim has not paid his September premium by September 16th. He pays on September 26th.
The case closed effective September 30th. Eligibility for October will be restored and Jim will
be enrolled October 1. He is not required to pay the October premium until October 10th.

If the member pays the owed premium any time in the month after the benefit month,
eligibility can be restored. If s’lhe owes a premium for the following month, s/he must
pay that premium before CARES will restore eligibility for Core Plan. The member must
pay the IM agency directly (not the Fiscal Agent).

Example 7: Adverse action is September 16th. His case closed on September 30th.
Jim finally pays on October 10th. Jim must pay both the premiums for September and
October before eligibility can be restored. Jim is eligible effective October 1.
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If a late payment is received by the end of the month following the benefit month the
Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP) (See 43.7.3.10) must be deleted and the
member re-enrolled back to the disenrollment date.

Example 8: Jim has not paid his September premium by September 16th. His case closed on
September 30th. He finally pays on October 26th. Jim must pay the premium for September
and October before eligibility can be restored back to October 1. The November premium is not
due until November 10th and does not have to be paid in advance.

If the member pays in the second month after the benefit month, it's considered a non-
payment and the RRP stands.

43.7.3.9 Premium Changes

43.7.3.9.1 Decreased Premium Amount
43.7.3.9.2 Increased Premium Amount
43.7.3.9.2.1 Person Adds
43.7.3.9.2.2 Effective Dates of Premium Increase (Person Add)

43.7.3.9.1 Decreased Premium Amount

When a change is reported that results in a lower premium amount, it is effective during
the month in which the change occurred or the month in which it was reported,
whichever is later. The fiscal agent will refund any excess premium that was paid.

43.7.3.9.2 Increased Premium Amount

A 10-day notice must be given to the member when the group is required to pay a
premium for the first time or is required to pay a higher premium. The increase is
effective the following month if Core Plan eligibility is confirmed before adverse action.
If the change is confirmed after adverse action, the increase is not effective until the
month after the following month.

Example 9: Jessica has Core Plan with a premium. She reports a change in income to her
worker on August 23rd that results in a higher premium amount. Jessica’s premium amount will
increase effective October 1st. She will receive the coupon for the new premium amount at the
end of September.

43.7.3.9.2.1 Person Adds

If the person add will cause an increase in the premium, CARES will not allow eligibility
confirmation if the notice requirement cannot be met.
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43.7.3.9.2.2 Effective Dates of Premium Increase (Person Add)

1. If the person was added to the case before adverse action, the increase is
effective the next month.

2. If the person was added to the case after adverse action, the increase is not
effective until the second month.

Example 10: Rachel’s husband Mike moved back into the home on June 1st. She reported the
change on June 6th and the agency processed the change on June 10th (before adverse action).
Inclusion of Mike’s income resulted in a premium increase. Mike’s eligibility begins on June
1st but the premium increase is effective July 1st.

Example 11: Ann got married to Dan on December 12th and reported it on the 22nd (after
adverse action). The agency acted to process the change on the same day. Inclusion of Dan’s
income resulted in a premium increase. Dan’s eligibility begins December 1st but the premium
increase is not effective until February 1st

43.7.3.10 Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP)
43.7.3.10.1 Reapplying

43.7.3.10.2 Quitting BC+
43.7.3.10.3 Good Cause for Quitting BC+

A member for whom a premium is owed for the current month who leaves Core Plan by
quitting or not paying a premium may be subject to a restrictive re-enroliment period. A
restrictive re-enrollment period (RRP) means the member cannot re-enroll in Core Plan
for a certain number of months from the termination date while their income remains
high enough to owe a premium, unless they meet a good cause exemption. For adult
Core Plan members, the RRP is 12 months. Individuals who do not make the premium
payment by adverse action of the month in which the premium is due will close at the
end of the month the premium is due and be put in the RRP beginning the following
month. If the premium is paid by the last day of the month following the premium due
month, the RRP will be lifted and eligibility restored back to the first day of that month.

For Core Plan members who are married, the premium is for both members, unless one
is exempt. Nonpayment of the premium puts both non-exempt members into an RRP.
If one member is exempt from paying a premium, then one member in a household
may be in an RRP while the exempt spouse is still eligible for Core Plan.

RRPs will be tracked separately for BadgerCare Plus for Families and the Core Plan. If
an individual who is under an RRP due to no-payment of premiums for Core Plan
becomes eligible for BadgerCare Plus for Families, the Core Plan RRP will not affect
eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.

Core Plan RRPs do not affect eligibility for BC+ effective April 1, 2014.
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43.7.3.10.1 Reapplying

An individual who applies for Core Plan before the end of the RRP is ineligible, as long
as his or her income is high enough to require a premium. If the household income
drops to the point where the individual in an RRP no longer owes premiums, s/he may
again become eligible for Core Plan. If the income rises and the member again owes a
premium, the individual is still in the RRP and they are again ineligible for Core Plan.

Example 12: Jackie is open for Core Plan. Jackie’s premium is $70. She fails to pay the August
premium so Jackie is in a RRP from September through the following August. In December,
Jackie reports a decrease in income and the net income is now at 120% of the FPL. The change
was effective in December. Beginning December 1, Jackie is again eligible for Core Plan
without a premium. In addition, because her income is below the premium threshold (133% of
FPL), she is not required to pay her arrears first.

Example 13: Same example as the last one, except Jackie reports in June that the family’s
income in increased back up to 155% of the FPL. Since the RRP lasted until August 31, Jackie
is ineligible for Core Plan for the months of July and August. If her income remains above
133%, she may not reenroll until the end of the RRP on September 1.

The individual must serve the full twelve month penalty period. Eligibility may begin
again in month thirteen.

43.7.3.10.2 Quitting Core Plan

In order for Core Plan to be cost-effective, premium-paying members will not be able to
pick and choose when they want to pay premiums and receive Core Plan benefits.
Therefore, if a premium-paying member decides to quit the program, they will remain
ineligible for 12 months or until their income drops below the premium threshold,
whichever happens first.

An RRP will not apply if a member requests to quit Core Plan prior to when an initial
premium would be owed. If the request is not made in time to terminate eligibility with
timely notice, the member is still entitled to the benefit and is not required to pay the
premium. However, any arrears must be paid before they can again be eligible with a
premium, unless the Core Plan group has not been required to pay premiums for 12
months.

If the request to quit Core Plan is made in the premium benefit month, an RRP will be
applied if the premium is not paid by Adverse Action of the benefit month unless there is
a good cause

Example 14: The member had an income increase which resulted in a November premium.
Previously s/he did not owe a premium. S/he tells the worker October 20th, (after Adverse
Action), that s/he does not want Core Plan for November. Since the member does not owe a
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premium in October, s/he does not receive an RRP, even though s/he will receive an additional
month of Core Plan in November. (It is too late to close Core Plan for November.)

For this same case, if the member did not tell the worker until November 2nd that they do not
want Core Plan for November, s/he receives an RRP beginning in December because s/he owed
a premium in the current month (November).

Note: If s/he does not pay the November premium, s/he will have to pay it before s/he
can be eligible for Core Plan with a premium again

43.7.3.10.3 Good Cause for Quitting Core Plan

Do not apply the RRP for quitting Core Plan in the current month when a member
voluntarily quits because health insurance became available for the individual.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

43.8 CORE PLAN DISENROLLMENT

43.8.1 Change Reporting Requirements
43.8.1.1 Income Changes

43.8.2 Redetermination of Eligibility

43.8.3 Core Plan Ending

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
43.8.1 Change Reporting Requirements

There are changes that result in the termination of enroliment in the Core Plan. If these
items are not reported within ten calendar days, the member is liable for payments that
are made on his/her behalf for any months during which s/he was ineligible.

Members must report within ten calendar days if s/he:

1. Moves out of the state of Wisconsin;

2. Becomes institutionalized or incarcerated,;

3. Has a child under 19 under his/her care who moves into the home for more than
40% of the time;

4. Becomes pregnant; or

5. Attains health insurance coverage.
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In addition, members are strongly encouraged to report any change in address. While
address changes within the state of Wisconsin do not impact eligibility, a current
address is important to facilitate member communication and access to care.

43.8.1.1 Income Changes

Changes in income that occur after enrollment do not impact Core Plan eligibility but
may cause a change in the premium status of the case or the amount of a current
premium.

Core Plan members who are not exempt from premiums must report income changes
when the total monthly gross income for the household exceeds the following
percentages of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) for their group size.

133% FPL
150% FPL
185% FPL
200% FPL
250% FPL
300% FPL
350% FPL
400% FPL

The income change must be reported by the 10th of the month following the month in
which the total household income exceeded its previous threshold.

Core Plan members are required to verify income changes during the 12 month
certification period. Core members who fail to verify income changes during the
12 month certification period will be disenrolled.

43.8.2 Redetermination of Eligibility

A redetermination of eligibility must be done when a change in non-financial
circumstance is reported, in order to assess the individual's eligibility for BadgerCare
Plus or Medicaid programs.

43.8.3 Core Plan Ending

The BC+ Core Plan is ending effective March 31, 2014. Core Plan members at or below

100% FPL will be transitioned to the new BC+ childless adults category and those over
100% FPL will be referred to the Marketplace.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

43.9 CORE PLAN RENEWALS
Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014

All Core Plan members must complete a renewal by the last day of the 12-month certification
period in order to stay enrolled without any lapse in coverage. In order to avoid any lapse in
enrollment, a complete renewal must be submitted by the 5th of the month. If a renewal is
submitted in the 13th month, the member can re-enroll as long as all requirements are met by the
last day of the 13th month or 10 days after requesting verification and/or the fee payment
whichever is later. When a renewal is submitted in the 13th month the member will have a gap
in enrollment. The new enrollment date will be the next 1st or 15th of the month after all
eligibility requirements are met and eligibility has been confirmed.

A complete renewal consists of:

« Providing updated information by phone, in person, or through ACCESS

e Processing fee (to be applied to the Core member’s premiums if above 133% of
the FPL at the time of renewal)

e Health needs assessment

If the renewal request is not received by the 5th of the renewal month there may be a delay
and/or loss of coverage. If the request is received after the 5th but before the last day of the
renewal month, the request is processed and all eligibility actions completed by the agency
timely (within 10 calendar days), enroliment resumes on the first day of the next available
enrollment period after confirmation.

Example 1: Angie’s request for renewal was due July 5th. She submitted her request on July
25th. The agency processed the request on July 30th and requested verification of income.
The verification was turned in on August 2nd. The agency processed the verification and
confirmed the Core Plan eligibility on August 10th. Angie’s enroliment in the Core Plan
began August 15th. She had a gap in coverage from August 1st through August 14th.

Example 2: Alyssa’s request for renewal was due August 5th. She submitted her request on
August 31st. The agency processed the request on September 8th and requested verification
of income. Alyssa returned the verification on September 17th. The ESC updated the
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verification information and confirmed the Core Plan eligibility on October 3rd. Because the
ESC did not process her verification timely, eligibility for the Core Plan will go back to
October 1st. She will have a gap in coverage from September 1 through September 30.

Example 3: John’s Core Plan Renewal was due on 4/30/11. On 5/7/11 he submitted an
online renewal. He paid the application processing fee and completed his HNA on 5/10/11.
Verification of income was requested on 5/11/11 and he submitted all verification on
5/17/11. The Core plan was confirmed on 5/27/11. His new enrollment date is 6/1/11. John
has a gap in enrollment from 5/1/11 through 5/31/11.

Example 4: Margaret’s Core Plan Renewal was due on 4/30/11. She submitted her online
renewal on 5/30/11. A request for the fee payment was sent on 5/30 with a due date of
6/9/11. Margaret paid her fee and completed her HNA on 6/6/11. A request for verification
of income was sent on 6/7/11. She submitted the verification on 6/16/11. Her Core plan
enrollment was confirmed on 6/18/11. Her new enrollment date is 7/1/11. Margaret has a
gap in coverage from 5/1/11 through 6/30/11.

This page last updated in Release Number: 12-02
Release Date: 10/05/12
Effective Date: 07/01/12

43.10 CORE PLAN ENROLLMENT CAP (WAITLIST)
Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014

Core Plan applications received after 5:00 P.M. on October 9, 2009, will not be
processed. A Waitlist was established on October 9, 2009 because the total number of
applications received is greater than the amount of funding available. The Waitlist will
end as of September 28, 2013. Individuals on the Waitlist, regardless of their household
income, will need to reapply for coverage, either through BC+ or the Marketplace, for
eligibility beginning April 1, 2014.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

43.11 CORE PLAN RE-ENROLLMENT

43.11.1 Members Eligible for Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus
43.11.2 Members with Private Insurance
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43.11.3 Members with Late Verifications
43.11.4 Members with Late Premium Payments
43.11.5 Members with Restrictive Reenrollment Periods

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014
43.11.1 Members Eligible for Medicaid or Badgercare Plus

If a member is disenrolled from the Core Plan because s/he becomes eligible for
Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus Standard or Benchmark plan and the eligibility for that
program ends during the 12 months for which the Core Plan had been certified, s/he
can re-enroll in the Core Plan for the remainder of that 12 month period without paying a
$60 processing fee as long as s/he continues to meet the non-financial requirements for
the Core Plan (not pregnant, not caring for children under 19 living in the household, not
entitled to Medicare, etc).

Example 1: John Smith is enrolled in the Core Plan and renewed his coverage in March 2010.
His certification period is 4/1/10 - 3/31/11. In early June 2010, he is found presumptively
disabled and enrolled in Medicaid. His Core Plan coverage ends July 1, 2010. In September
2010, the Social Security Administration denies his disability claim and his Medicaid eligibility
ends October 1, 2010. John Smith can re-enroll for 10/1/10 - 3/31/11 without having to pay a
$60 application processing fee.

Example 2: June Smith enrolled in the Core Plan on September 15, 2009. Her Core plan
coverage ends September 30, 2010. In April 2009 Jane is determined disabled and eligible for
Medicaid. In July 2009 Jane turns 65, begins receiving her Social Security Retirement benefit
and becomes entitled to Medicare. Her increased income puts her over the income limit for
Medicaid and she is on an unmet deductible. Jane can’t re-enroll for the Core Plan even though
she lost her Medicaid eligibility within the 12 months of the Core Plan certification because she
no longer meets the non-financial requirements for the Core Plan.

Example 3: Mary Smith’s Core Plan certification period is October 1, 2009 through September
30, 2010. In May 2010, Mary’s children moved back to her household and she became eligible
for BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan with a premium. Because she failed to pay her July 2010
premium, her BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan closed effective July 31, 2010 and a six month
RRP was imposed. Because Mary’s children are still living in her household she does not meet
the non-financial requirements for the Core Plan and can’t re-enroll.

If the disenrolled Core Plan member’s eligibility for Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus (for
families or pregnant women) ends within 12 months after the Core Plan certification
period ended, s/he can reapply for the Core Plan and bypass the waitlist as long as all
the steps are completed and s/he continues to meet the non-financial requirements for
the Core Plan.

Example 4: Jane Smith is enrolled in the Core Plan. Her current certification period is for
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7/1/09 - 6/30/10. In May, Jane Smith reports a pregnancy, the pregnancy is verified and
BadgerCare Plus for pregnant women opens 6/1/10 and her Core Plan coverage ends. In August,
she reports she is no longer pregnant due to a miscarriage. Because this is past the end of her
12-month Core Plan certification period (7/1/09 - 6/30/10), she can reapply for the Core Plan
(including paying the $60 application processing fee) and bypass the waitlist.

Example 5: Julie Smith’s Core Plan certification period is 8/1/09 - 7/31/10. She is determined
disabled in June, 2010 and is enrolled in Medicaid and disenrolled from the Core Plan. In
August 2011, she received an increase in her SSDI payment and her income now exceeded the
income limit for SSI Medicaid. She is on an unmet deductible and not yet eligible for Medicare.
Because her Medicaid eligibility was terminated more than 12 months after her Core Plan 12-
month certification period would have ended, she must reapply to get back on the Core Plan and
cannot bypass the waitlist.

43.11.2 Members with Private Insurance

If a Core member is disenrolled because s/he gains private health insurance coverage
or access and then loses the coverage or access for a " good cause " reason during the
12 months for which Core had been certified, s/he can re-enroll in the Core Plan for the
remainder of that 12 month period without paying a $60 application processing fee.

If the disenrolled Core member’s coverage or access ends for a "good cause” reason
within 12 months after the Core certification period ended, s/he can reapply for Core
and bypass the waitlist as long as all the steps (including payment of the $60 fee) are
completed.

43.11.3 Members with Late Verifications

If a Core Plan member is disenrolled due to failure to provide verification of a reported
change in income, s/he can reenroll in the Core Plan if the verification is provided no
later than in the calendar month following the termination. The Core member is to be
reenrolled in the next enroliment period after providing the verification. An exception to
this rule exists for persons with incomes at or below 133% of the FPL.

Core Plan members with incomes at or below 133% of the FPL are not subject to the
ongoing income verification requirements (43.7.2) If a Core Plan member is disenrolled
for failure to provide verification of income and s/he later verifies that his/her income
was below 133% of the FPL at the time the verification was requested, s/he is to be
reenrolled in the Core Plan back to the date s/he was disenrolled. This reenrollment
should take place even if the verification is provided after the calendar month following
the disenrollment.
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After a member has provided requested verification, reenroll the member for the
remainder of their 12 month period without paying another $60 application processing
fee.

43.11.4 Members with Late Premium Payments

If a Core member is disenrolled due to non-payment of the required premium, the
member can reenroll in the Core Plan if they pay their premium by the end of the
calendar month following the disenrollment. The Core member is to be reenrolled back
to the date of disenrollment. If the Core member does not pay his or her premium, the
member will enter a 12-month restrictive re-enrollment period.

43.11.5 Members with Restrictive Reenrollment Periods

If a Core member is disenrolled due to non-payment of the required premium or due to
quitting (43.7.3.10) and is in a restrictive reenrollment period, the member can reenroll
in the Core Plan and not be put on the waitlist, if the member’s income falls to 133% of
the FPL or less. The Core member is to be reenrolled in the next enrollment period after
providing verification of his/her income.

If a Core member has completed a 12-month restrictive reenrollment period the member
can reenroll in the Core Plan and not be put on the waitlist.

This page last updated in Release Number: 12-02
Release Date: 10/05/12
Effective Date: 07/01/12

43.12 CORE PLAN COVERED SERVICES

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014

Co-payments are the only cost sharing requirement for services covered under the Core
Plan. There are no premiums in the Core Plan. There are two income tiers for the

purposes of co-payment charges.

Co-payments are waived for everyone for preventive services. For other services, the
co-payment amount varies according to FPL level (below or above 100% FPL).

Covered services and co-payment information can be found on the BadgerCare Plus
Covered Services Comparison Chart (PDF) on the ForwardHealth Provider Home Page.
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45 BC+ BASIC PLAN
45.1 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC PLAN INTRODUCTION
45.1.1 Introduction

45.1.2 BC+ Basic Enrollment Ending
45.1.3 BC+ Basic Plan Ending

Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.

45.1.1 Introduction

Wisconsin’s BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan (Basic Plan) was implemented July 1, 2010 as a self-
funded plan intended to provide BadgerCare Plus Core Plan Waitlist members with access to

limited health care benefits until space became available in the Core Plan.

As a self-funded plan the administrative and benefit costs must be paid through premium
collections from members.

45.1.2 BC+ Basic Enrollment Ending

Because revenue collected through premium payments were not sufficient to cover the cost of
the program, effective March 19, 2011, new enroliment in the Basic Plan closed.

If a member loses Basic Plan coverage for any reason, such as non-payment of premium,

339



BC+ Handbook Release 14-01

eligibility for other health care coverage, failure to supply verification, etc., s’/he will not be
allowed to re-enroll.

45.1.3 BC+ Basic Plan Ending

Due to the restructuring of the BadgerCare Plus program effective April 1, 2014, the
BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan will be ending on March 31, 2014. Members enrolled in the
Basic Plan will be given timely notice of termination of their coverage and may apply for
BadgerCare Plus or for advanced premium tax credits and cost sharing reductions
available through the Marketplace.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

45.2 CORE PLAN WAITLIST BYPASS ENDING
Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.

Although DHS has federal authority to allow Basic Plan members with certain
medical conditions to bypass the Core Plan waitlist and apply for coverage, the
DHS is not required to do so. Enroliment in the Core Plan through the Waitlist
Bypass program ended effective March 19, 2011.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

45.3 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC ENROLLMENT PROCESS

45.3.1 Ongoing Coverage
45.3.2 Restrictive Re-Enrollment Period (RRP)

New enrollment in the BC+ Basic program ended effective March 19, 2011. See 45.1.2
Enrollment Ending.

Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.
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45.3.1 Ongoing Coverage

In order to stay enrolled in the Basic Plan, members must submit a $325 monthly premium
payment by the 5th of each month for the next month’s coverage. A payment slip will be mailed
to the member on or around the 20th of the month before their next premium payment is due.
The member can make their ongoing premium payment by credit card, debit card, electronic
check, personal check, cashier check, certified check or money order. See 45.7 BadgerCare Plus
Basic Premium Payments.

If using ACCESS, the member will be able to pay his/her BC+ Basic plan premium from the
20th of the current month to the 10th of the next month. The payment must be received before
the 15th in order to remain eligible for the next month.

45.3.2 Restrictive Re-Enrollment Period (RRP)

Effective March 19, 2011, there is no longer a Restrictive Re-Enrollment Period. If a member
loses Basic Plan coverage for any reason, such as non-payment of premium, eligibility for other
health care coverage, failure to supply verification, etc., s/he will not be allowed to re-enroll.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

45.4 RESERVED

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/24/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

45.5 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC ENROLLMENT TERMINATION
Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.

Enrollment in the Basic Plan will be terminated if an individual:

Fails to pay his/her monthly premium;

Obtains health insurance;

Has income that exceeds 200% FPL

Becomes eligible for BC+ (Core, Benchmark or Standard), Medicaid, or
Medicare;
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e Turns 65 years of age;
o Dies; or
« Moves out of state.

If it is determined that a Basic Plan enrollee no longer meets the Core Plan criteria (e.g. income
is verified to be over 200% of the FPL) eligibility for the Basic Plan will be terminated and s/he
will also be removed from the Core Plan Waitlist.

Individuals may submit a written statement to DHS requesting an administrative review
of the action leading to the denial or discontinuation of Basic Plan coverage. The written
request must be filed within 60 calendar days after the coverage denial or
discontinuation. The individual must request an administrative review by DHS before
starting any action in court relating to the coverage denial or discontinuation (Wis. Stat.
849.67(7)).

The written request should be sent to the following address:

State of Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability

Attn: EM CAPO Unit—BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan Administrative Review
PO Box 309

Madison, WI 53701-0309

In order to ensure the correct Basic Plan case is identified, it is recommended that the
individual submitting the request for administrative review includes his/her name,
address, telephone number, and Basic Plan Account Number or Medicaid ID along with
a brief statement on the reason the individual disagrees with the action to deny or
discontinue Basic Plan coverage and a copy of any written notice the individual received
related to the denial or discontinuation.

Please note, the BC+ Basic Plan is ending effective March 31, 2014 and that
termination of coverage due to the end of the Basic Plan cannot be appealed. See
45.1.3 BC+ Basic Plan Ending.

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

45.6 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC VERIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.
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Verification of income and health insurance coverage is required for the Basic Plan.
The Bureau of Enroliment Policy and Systems will use automated data exchanges to
verify income and identify discrepancies or inconsistencies between the information
provided by the enrollee and the third party source which could impact eligibility. A
discrepancy report will be generated on a regular basis. Customers will be required to
provide verification of income or health insurance coverage when a discrepancy that
may impact eligibility exists.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

45.7 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC PREMIUM PAYMENTS

45.7.1 Online Payments
45.7.2 Phone Payments
45.7.3 Payments By Malil

Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.
45.7.1 Online Payments

The ACCESS online payment tool can be used to make the initial and ongoing monthly
premium payments. The online payment tool cannot be used to set up automatic
withdrawals or payments for multiple months. See ACCESS handbook chapter 10.7.
BC+ Basic members will be unable to pay Basic premiums online after November 16,
2013.

45.7.2 Phone Payments

Members can pay their premium over the phone by calling the BC+ Basic Plan
Processing Unit at 1-800-291-2002, option 2. Designated BC+ Basic Plan Processing
Unit staff will assist Member who call to pay a BC+ Basic Plan premium.

45.7.3 Payments by Mail

If the person wishes to make their premium payment by mail, they will send the
payment slip along with their payment to the PO Box address on the payment slip. The
person can use the payment slip to pay by check, money order, cashier’s check,
certified check, cash (not mentioned or encouraged but needs to be accepted if sent) or
credit/debit card information can be entered.
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This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/01/13

45.8 BADGERCARE PLUS BASIC PLAN COVERED SERVICES
Note: The BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan ends on March 31, 2014.

Copayments and covered services can be found in the Basic Plan Enrollment and
Benefits (P-00148).

This page last updated in Release Number: 10-02
Release Date: 10/15/07
Effective Date: 01/01/08

42, 46-47 RESERVED
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TABLES (CHAPTERS 48-52)
48 PREMIUMS

48.1 BC+ PREMIUM TABLES

48.1.1 Premiums for Children
48.1.2 Premiums for Adults
48.1.3 Premiums for Adult Caretaker Families with Self Employment Income

48.1.1 Premiums for Children

Under non-MAGI rules, group premiums (the total of the premiums of the children in the
group) will be capped at 5% of the group’s countable household income for families with
incomes at or below 300% of the FPL.

The below table outlines the premium amounts for children whose income is determined
under non-MAGI rules.

?zg;: 210% 220% 230% 240% 250% 260% 270% 280% 290% | 300%

FPL Income Range to to to to to to to to to and

20;:9% 219.99% | 229.99% | 239.99% | 249.99% | 259.99% | 269.99% | 279.99% | 289.99% | 299.99% | above

Premium Amounts 510 510 $10 §15 §23 S34 Sa4 $55 $68 582 $97.53

Under MAGI rules, non-exempt children whose BadgerCare Plus eligibility is
determined under MAGI rules and with an assistance group income above 201% of the
FPL will be required to pay premiums. Each child’s premium will be based on their own
assistance group’s size and income. The 5% cap for the cost of total household
premiums for children will continue to apply. The cap will be 5% of the income of the
premium paying assistance group with the highest countable income amount. The total
household’s premiums will be determined based on the combined amount of all
children’s premiums or the 5% cap, whichever amount is less. See sections 19.2 and
19.3 for more information on premium caps.

The below table outlines the premium amounts for children whose income is determined
under MAGI rules.

22:;: 211% 221% 231% 241% 251% 261% 271% 281% 291% 301%

FPL Income Range to to to to to to to to to to

21(;099% 220.99% | 230.99% | 240.99% | 250.99% | 260.99% | 270.99% | 280.99% | 290.99% | 300.99% |306.00%

Premium Amounts $10 $10 $10 $15 523 $34 S44 $55 $68 $82 $97.53
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Note: Children in extensions are not required to pay premiums (see section 19.1). Ifa
parent in the household is in an extension, the children are exempt from paying
premiums regardless of their income.

48.1.2 Premiums for Adults

The tables below provide the range of premiums for adults in BadgerCare Plus and the
Core Plan based on family size and income level. The amounts listed for households
with incomes over 200% of the FPL apply to families in a BadgerCare Plus Extension
and to Core Plan members whose income increases after their renewal approval.

Note: The BC+ Core Plan ends March 31, 2014. (see Chapter 43).

BC+ parents, caretakers and childless adults with income at or below 100% FPL are not
required to pay premiums. Non-exempt parents and caretakers in an extension with
income above 133% FPL are required to pay premiums. Effective with extensions that
begin on or after April 1, 2014, non-exempt parents and caretakers in an extension with
income between 100 and 133% FPL are required to pay premiums starting in the
seventh calendar month of their extension.

Click the link below to find the premiums for different family sizes.

Family Size 1 Family Size 6
Family Size 2 Family Size 7
Family Size 3 Family Size 8
Family Size 4 Family Size 9
Family Size 5 Family Size 10
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Fg?;:y FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r:;:m Monthly Premium Range
133.01 - 139.99% $1,293.43 - 1,361.49 3.0% $39 - 41
140% - 149.99% $1,361.50 - 1,458.74 3.9% $48 - 51
150% - 159.99% $1,458.75 - 1,555.99 4.0% $58 -62
160% - 169.99% $1,556.00 - 1,653.24 4 5% $70-74
170% - 179.99% $1,653.25-1,750.49 4.9% $81-86
180% - 189.99% $1,750.50 - 1,847.74 54% $95 - 100
190% - 199.99% $1,847.75-1,944.99 5.8% $107 - 113
200% - 209.99% $1,94500-2,042.24 6.3% $123-129
210% - 219.99% | $2,04225-2,139.49 6.7% $137-143
1 220% - 229.99% $2,139.50 - 2,236.74 7.0% $150 - 157
230% - 239.99% $2,236.75-2,333.99 T7.4% $166 - 173
240% - 249.99% $2,334.00 - 2,431.24 1.7% $180 - 187
250% - 259.99% $2,431.25-2 52849 8.1% $197 - 205
260% - 269.99% $252850-2,62574 8.3% $210-218
270% - 279.99% $2,625.75-2,722.99 8.6% $226 - 234
280% - 289.99% $2,723.00 - 2,820.24 8.9% $242 - 251
290% - 299.99% $2,82025-2 917 49 9.2% $259 - 268
300%+ $2,917 .50+ 9.5% $277+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

Fg?;:y FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r:tl:m Monthly Premium Range
133.01 - 139.99% $1,743.41-1,835.16 3.0% $52-55
140% - 149.99% $1,835.17 - 1,966.24 35% $64 - 69
150% - 159.99% $1,966.25 - 2,097 .32 4.0% $79 -84
160% - 169.99% | $2,097.33-2,228 41 | 4.5% $94 - 100
170% - 179.99% $2,228.42 - 2,359.49 4.9% $109-116
180% - 189.99% $2,359.50 - 2,490.57 H4% $127 -134
190% - 199.99% $2,490.58 - 2,621.66 5.8% $144 - 152
200% - 209.99% $2,621.67 -2,752.74 6.3% $165-173
210% - 219.99% $2,752.75 - 2,883.82 6.7% $184 - 193
= 220% - 229.99% $2,883.83-3,014.91 7.0% $202-211
230% - 239.99% $3,014.92 - 3,14599 7.4% $223-233
240% - 249.99% $3,146.00 - 3,277.07 7.7% $242 - 252
250% - 259.99% $3,277.08 - 3,408.16 8.1% $265 - 276
260% - 269.99% $3,408.17 - 3,539.24 8.3% $283 - 294
270% - 279.99% $3,539.25-3,670.32 8.6% $304 - 316
280% - 289.99% $3,670.33 - 3,801.41 8.9% $327 - 338
2909% - 299.99% $3,801.42-3,93249 9.2% $350 - 362
300%+ $3,932 50+ 9.5% $374+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.
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Fg?z:y FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r;'ltl:m Monthly Premium Range

133.01 - 139.99% $2,193.39 - 2 308.82 3.0% $66 - 69

140% - 149.99% $2,308.83-2 47374 3.5% $81 - 87

150% - 159.99% $2,473.75 - 2,638.66 4.0% $99 - 106

160% - 169.99% $2,638.67 - 2,803.57 4.5% $119-126

170% - 179.99% $2,803.58 - 2,968 .49 4.9% $137 - 145

180% - 189.99% $2,968.50 - 3,133.41 5.4% $160 - 169

190% - 199.99% $3,133.42-3,298 32 5.8% $182-191

200% - 209.99% $3,298.33 - 3,463.24 6.3% $208 - 218

3 210% - 219.99% $3,463.25-3,628.16 6.7% $232-243

220% - 229.99% $3,628.17 - 3,793.07 7.0% $254 - 266

230% - 239.99% $3,793.08 - 3,957.99 7.4% $281 - 293

240% - 249.99% $3,958.00 - 4,122 91 T.7% $305 - 317

250% - 259.99% $4,122.92 - 4,287.82 8.1% $334 - 347

260% - 269.99% $4,287.83-4,45274 8.3% $356 - 370

270% - 279.99% $4 452 75 - 4 617 66 8.6% $383 - 397

280% - 289.99% $4 61767 - 478257 8.9% $411 - 426

290% - 299 .99% $4 78258 - 4 947 49 9.2% $440 - 455
300%+ | $4,947 50+ | 95% | $470+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

Fgril;‘laly FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r:tl:m Monthly Premium Range

133.01 - 139.99% $2,64338-278249 | 3.0% $79- 83

140% - 149.99% | $2,78250-298124 | 35% | $97 - 104

150% - 159.99% $2,981.25-3,179.99 | 4.0% $119-127

160% - 169.99% $3,180.00 - 3,378.74 | 4.5% $143 - 152

170% - 179.99% $3,37875-3,57749 | 4.9% $166 - 175

180% - 189.99% $3,577.50-3,776.24 | 54% $193 - 204

190% - 199.99% | $3,77625-397499 | 58% | $219 - 231

200% - 209.99% $3,97500-4,17374 | 6.3% $250 - 263

210% - 219.99% $4,17375-4,37249 | 6.7% $280 - 293

4 220% - 229.99% $4,37250-4,57124 | 7.0% $306 - 320

230% - 239.99% $4,571.25-4,769.99 | 7.4% $338 - 353

240% - 249.99% $4,770.00-4,96874 | 7.7% $367 - 383

250% - 259.99% $4,968.75-5,16749 | 8.1% $402 - 419

260% - 269.99% $5,167.50 - 5,366.24 | 8.3% $429 - 445

270% - 279.99% $5,366.25 - 5,564.99 | 8.6% $461 - 479

280% - 289.99% $5,565.00-5,763.74 | 8.9% $495 - 513

290% - 299.99% $5,763.75- 596249 | 92% $530 - 549
300%+ $5,962 50+ 9.5% $566+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.
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Fgrizlely FPL % Monthly Income Pr;':t':m Monthly Premium Range

133.01 - 139.99% $3,093.36 - 3,256.16 3.0% $93 - 98

140% - 149.99% $3,256.17 - 3,488.74 3.5% $114 - 122

150% - 159.99% | $3,488.75-3,721.32 | 4.0% $140 - 149

160% - 169.99% $3,721.33 - 3,953.91 4 5% $167 - 178

170% - 179.99% $3,953.92 -4 186.49 4.9% $194 - 205

180% - 189.99% $4,186.50 - 4 419.07 54% $226 - 239

190% - 199.99% $4,419.08 - 4,651.66 5.8% $256 - 270

200% - 209.99% | $4 65167 - 4,884 24 | 6.3% $293 - 308

5 210% - 219.99% $4,884.25-5116.82 6.7% $327 - 343

220% - 229 .99% $5,116.83 - 5,349 41 7.0% $358 - 374

230% - 239.99% $5,349.42 - 5 581.99 7.4% $3096 - 413

240% - 249 99% $5,582.00 - 5,814 57 7.1% $430 - 448

250% - 259.99% | $5,814.58 - 6,047.16 | 8.1% $471 - 490

260% - 269.99% $6,047 17 - 6,279.74 8.3% $502 - 521

270% - 279.99% $6,279.75 - 6,512.32 8.6% $540 - 560

280% - 289.99% $6,512.33 - 6,744 .91 8.9% $580 - 600

290% - 299 99% $6,744 92 - 6,977 49 9.2% $621 - 642
300%+ | $6,977 50+ | 95% $663+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

F;ir;:y FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r:tl:m Monthly Premium Range
133.01-139.99% | $3,543.34-3729.82 | 3.0% $106 - 112
140% - 149.99% | $3,729.83-3996.24 | 35% | $131-140
150% - 159.99% | $3,996.25-426266 | 4.0% | $160 - 171
160% - 169.99% $4,262.67 -4,529.07 | 4.5% $192 - 204
170% - 179.99% $4,529.08-4,79549 | 4.9% $222 - 235
180% - 189.99% $4,795.50-5,061.91 | 5.4% $259 - 273
190% - 199.99% $5,061.92-5,328.32 | 5.8% $294 - 309
200% - 209.99% $5,328.33-5,594.74 | 6.3% $336 - 352
5 210% - 219.99% $5,504.75-5861.16 | 6.7% $375 - 393
220% - 229.99% $5,861.17 - 6,127.57 | 7.0% $410 - 429
230% - 239.99% $6,127.56 -6,393.99 | 7.4% $453 - 473
240% - 249.99% $6,394.00 - 6,660.41 | 7.7% $492 - 513
250% - 259.99% $6,660.42 -6,926.82 | 8.1% $539 - 561
260% - 269.99% $6,926.83-7,193.24 | 8.3% $575 - 597
270% - 279.99% $7,193.25-7,459.66 | 8.6% $619 - 642
280% - 289.99% $7,45967 -7,726.07 | 8.9% $664 - 688
290% -299.99% | $7,726.08-7,99249 | 92% | $711-735
300%-+ | $7,992 50+ | 95% | $759+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.
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ng::y FPL % Monthly Income Pr;r;ntl:m Monthly Premium Range
133.01 - 139.99% $3,99333-420349 | 3.0% $120-126
140% - 149.99% $4203.50-4,503.74 | 35% $147 - 158
150% - 159.99% $4,503.75-4,803.99 | 4.0% $180- 192
160% - 169.99% $4.80400-5104.24 | 45% $216 - 230
170% - 179.99% | $5,104.25-540449 | 49% $250 - 265
180% - 189.99% | $5404.50-5,704.74 | 54% $292 - 308
190% - 199.99% $5,704.75-6,004.99 | 5.8% $331-348
200% - 209.99% $6,005.00 - 6,305.24 | 6.3% $378 - 397
210% - 219.99% $6,305.25-6,60549 | 6.7% $422 - 443
7 220% - 229.99% $6,605.50 - 6,905.74 7.0% $462 - 483
230% - 239.99% $6,905.75-7,20599 | T7.4% $511-533
240% - 249.99% $7,206.00-7,506.24 | T.7% $555-578
250% - 259.99% $7,50625-7,80649 | 8.1% $608 - 632
260% - 269.99% $7,806.50-8,106.74 | 8.3% $648-673
270% - 279.99% $8,106.75-8,406.99 | 8.6% $697 - 723
280% - 289.99% $8,407.00 - 8,707.24 | 8.9% $748-775
290% - 299.99% $8,707.25-9,00749 | 9.2% $801 - 829
300%+ $9,007.50+ 9.5% $856+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

Fg'iggv FPL % Monthly Income Pr;':t':m Monthly Premium Range
133.01 - 139.99% $4,443.31-4,677.16 | 3.0% $133-140
140% - 149.99% $4,677.17-5,011.24 | 3.5% $164 - 175
150% - 159.99% $5,011.25-5,345.32 | 4.0% $200 - 214
160% - 169.99% $5,345.33 - 5,679.41 4.5% $241-256
170% - 179.99% $5,679.42-6,01349 | 4.9% $278 - 295
180% - 189.99% $6,013.50-6,34757 | 54% $325- 343
190% - 199.99% $6,34758-6,68166 | 5.8% $368 - 388
200% - 209.99% $6,68167-7,015.74 | 6.3% $421 - 442
210% - 219.99% $7.01575-7,34982 | 6.7% $470 - 492
8 220% - 229.99% $7,349.83 - 7,683.91 7.0% $514 - 538
230% - 239.99% $7,683.92-8017.99 | 74% $569 - 593
240% - 249.99% $8,018.00 - 8,352.07 | 7.7% $617 - 643
250% - 259.99% $8,352.08 - 8,686.16 | 8.1% $677 - 704
260% - 269.99% | $8,686.17-9,02024 | 8.3% $721-749
270%-27999% | $9,02025-9,354.32 | 86% $776 - 804
280% - 289.99% $9,354 33 - 9,688 41 8.9% $833 - 862
290% - 299.99% $9688.42-10,02249| 92% $891-922
300%+ $10,022 50+ 9.5% $952+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.
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Fg?;gy FPL % Monthly Income Pr;':t':m Monthly Premium Range
133.01 - 139.99% $4,893.29 - 5,150.82 3.0% $147 - 155
140% - 149.99% $5,15083-5518.74 3.5% $180- 193
150% - 159.99% $5,518.75 - 5,886.66 4.0% $221-235
160% - 169.99% $5,886.67 - 6,254 57 4.5% $265 - 281
170% - 179.99% $6,254 58 - 6,622 .49 4.9% $306 - 325
180% - 189.99% $6,622.50 - 6,990 .41 54% $358 - 377
190% - 199.99% $6,99042 - 7,356 32 5.8% $405 - 427
200% - 209.99% $7,35833-7,726.24 6.3% $464 - 487
210% - 219.99% $7,726.25-8,094.16 6.7% $518 - 542
2 220% - 229.99% $8,094.17 - 8,462.07 7.0% $567 - 592
230% - 239.99% $8,462.08 - 8,829.99 7.4% $626 - 653
240% - 249.99% $8,830.00 - 9,197 91 T.7% $680 - 708
250% - 259.99% $9,197.92 - 9 565.82 8.1% $745-775
260% - 269.99% $9,56583-9,933.74 8.3% $794 - 825
270% - 279.99% $9,933.75-10,30166 | 8.6% $854 - 886
280% - 289.99% $10,301.67 - 10,669.57 | 8.9% $917 - 950
290% - 299.99% $10,669.58 - 11,03749 | 9.2% $982 - 1,015
300%+ $11,037 50+ 9.5% $1,049+

For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

times .095 and round to the

F;ir;'l:y FPL % Monthly Income Pr::t':m Monthly Premium Range

133.01 - 139.99% $5,343.28 - 5,624 49 3.0% $160 - 169
140% - 149.99% $5,624 .50 - 6,026.24 3.5% $197 - 211
150% - 159.99% $6,026.25 - 6,427 99 4.0% $241 - 257
160% - 169.99% $6,428.00 - 6,829.74 4.5% $289 - 307
170% - 179.99% $6,829.75-7,231.49 4.9% $335-354
180% - 189.99% $7,23150-7,633.24 54% $391-412
190% - 199.99% | $7,633.25-8,034 99 | 5.8% $443 - 466
200% - 209.99% | $8,035.00 - 8,436.74 | 6.3% $506 - 532

10 210% - 219.99% $8,436.75 - 8,838.49 6.7% $565 - 592
220% - 229.99% $8,838.50 - 9,240.24 7.0% $619 - 647
230% - 239.99% $9,240.25 - 9,641.99 7.4% $684 -714
240% - 249.99% $9,642.00-10,043.74 | 7.7% $742-773
250% - 259.99% $10,043.75-10,44549| 81% $814 - 846
260% - 269.99% $10,44550 - 10,84724 | 8.3% $867 - 900
270% - 279.99% $10,84725-1124899| B8.6% $933 - 967
280% - 289.99% $11,24900-11,65074| 8.9% $1,001-1,037
290% - 299.99% $11,650.75-12,05249| 92% $1,072-1,109

300%+ $12,052 50+ 9.5% $1,145+
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For incomes over 300% FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round to the
nearest dollar to get the premium amount.

48.1.3 Premiums for Adult Caretaker Families with Self Employment Income

The table includes premium amounts set at 5% of the countable household income for
groups with self employment income at or below 200% after subtracting depreciation
but above 200% and below 300% when the depreciation is included.

Families with self-employment income below 200% after subtracting depreciation but
above 300% when including depreciation will pay either the 5% premium amount or the
combined premiums for the children, whichever is greater.

Note: These amounts only apply to self-employed parents and caretakers who applied
prior to February 1, 2014 and have their eligibility determined under non-MAGI rules.
Self-employment parents and caretakers who apply on or after February 1, 2014 will
have their eligibility determined under MAGI rules, which considers depreciation to be
an allowable expense. Eligibility ends March 31, 2014, for self-employed parents and
caretakers with incomes over 100% of the FPL.

Group | 200- 210- 220- 230- 240- 250- 260- 270- 280- 290-
Size | 210% | 220% | 230% 240% | 250% | 260% | 270% | 280% | 290% | 300% | 300%

1 97.00 | 102.00 | 106.00 | 111.00 | 116.00 | 121.00 | 126.00 | 131.00 | 136.00 | 141.00 | 145.00

2 131.00 | 137.00 | 144.00 | 150.00 | 157.00 | 163.00 | 170.00 | 176.00 | 183.00 | 190.00 | 196.00

3 164.00 | 173.00 | 181.00 | 189.00 | 197.00 | 206.00 | 214.00 | 222.00 | 230.00 | 239.00 | 247.00

198.00 | 208.00 | 218.00 | 228.00 | 238.00 | 248.00 | 258.00 | 268.00 | 278.00 | 288.00 | 298.00

232.00 | 244.00 | 255.00 | 267.00 | 279.00 | 290.00 | 302.00 | 313.00 | 325.00 | 337.00 | 348.00

[= IR B

266.00 | 279.00 | 293.00 | 306.00 | 319.00 | 333.00 | 346.00 | 359.00 | 372.00 | 386.00 | 399.00

7 300.00 | 315.00 | 330.00 | 345.00 | 360.00 | 375.00 | 390.00 | 405.00 | 420.00 | 435.00 | 450.00

8 334.00 | 350.00 | 367.00 | 384.00 | 400.00 | 417.00 | 434.00 | 451.00 | 467.00 | 484.00 | 501.00

9 367.00 | 386.00 | 404.00 | 423.00 | 441.00 | 459.00 | 478.00 | 496.00 | 515.00 | 533.00 | 551.00

10 401.00 | 421.00 | 441.00 | 462.00 | 482.00 | 502.00 | 522.00 | 542.00 | 562.00 | 582.00 | 602.00

11 435.00 | 457.00 | 479.00 | 500.00 | 522.00 | 544.00 | 566.00 | 588.00 | 609.00 | 631.00 | 653.00

12 469.00 | 492.00 | 516.00 | 539.00 | 563.00 | 586.00 | 610.00 | 633.00 | 657.00 | 680.00 | 704.00

13 503.00 | 528.00 | 553.00 | 578.00 | 603.00 | 629.00 | 654.00 | 679.00 | 704.00 | 729.00 | 754.00

14 537.00 | 563.00 | 590.00 | 617.00 | 644.00 | 671.00 | 698.00 | 725.00 | 751.00 | 778.00 | 805.00
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49 HEALTH CARE CHOICE

49.1 HEALTH CARE CHOICE

For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules:

EBD Eligibility BC+ Eligibility || System Choice
MS/NS/MAPP w/no premium No premium EBD
MS/NS/MAPP w/no premium Premium EBD
MS/NS/MAPP w/o premium BC+ Deductible EBD
MAPP w/premium No premium BC+
NS Deductible No premium BC+

MAPP w/premium

Standard Plan with Premium

The program with the lesser
premium

MAPP w/premium

Benchmark Plan with Premium

EBD

NS Deductible Premium Member Choice
MAPP Premium Deductible Member Choice
NS Deductible Deductible Member Choice

Note: The BadgerCare Benchmark plan ends on March 31, 2014.
For individuals whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules:

Once an individual has been determined eligible for EBD MA, s/he must be enrolled in
EBD MA, even if they are also eligible for BC+, unless they have a change in
circumstances that results in ineligibility for EBD MA. The only exception to this policy is
pregnant women who are eligible for both EBD MA and BC+. In these instances, the
pregnant woman will be enrolled in BC+.

If someone is pending for EBD MA or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD MA, the
individual is not considered eligible for EBD MA and can enroll in BC+. Pending for EBD
MA includes, but is not limited to, waiting for a disability determination from DDB or not
eligible for Medicare. If an individual enrolled in EBD MA becomes ineligible for EBD MA
for any reason, including going over the asset limit or failure to pay a MAPP premium,
s/he can enroll in BC+ if s/he is still eligible to do so.
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50 FPL TABLE

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
Effective Date: 02/01/14

50.1 FEDERAL POVERTY LEVEL (FPL) TABLE

group |Annual| 100% 120% 133% 135% 150% 156% 160%
size FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL
1 $11,670] $972.50 | $1,167.00| $1,293.43| $1,312.88| $1,458.75]$1,517.10] $1,556.00
2 15,730 $1,310.83[ $1,573.00 | $1,743.41 | $1,769.63 | $1,966.25 | $2,044.90 | $2,097.33
3 19,790 [$1,649.17[$1,979.00 | $2,193.39 | $2,226.38 | $2,473.75] $2,572.70 | $2,638.67
4 23,850 1$1,987.50] $2,385.00 | $2,643.38| $2,683.13 | $2,981.25 [ $3,100.50 | $3,180.00
5 27,910 1$2,325.83] $2,791.00 | $3,093.36 | $3,139.88 | $3,488.75 | $3,628.30 | $3,721.33
6 31,970 1$2,664.17] $3,197.00 | $3,543.34 | $3,596.63 | $3,996.25 [ $4,156.10 | $4,262.67
7 36,030 [$3,002.50] $3,603.00 | $3,993.33 | $4,053.38 | $4,503.75 | $4,683.90 | $4,804.00
8 40,090 |$3,340.83] $4,009.00 | $4,443.31 | $4,510.13| $5,011.25[ $5,211.70 | $5,345.33
9 44,150 1$3,679.17 $4,415.00 | $4,893.29 | $4,966.88 | $5,518.75 | $5,739.50 | $5,886.67
10 48,210 1$4,017.50] $4,821.00 | $5,343.28 | $5,423.63 | $6,026.25 | $6,267.30 | $6,428.00
11 52,270 |$4,355.83] $5,227.00 | $5,793.26 | $5,880.38 | $6,533.75 | $6,795.10 | $6,969.33
12 56,330 |$4,694.17] $5,633.00 | $6,243.24 | $6,337.13| $7,041.25 [ $7,322.90| $7,510.67
13 60,390 |$5,032.50] $6,039.00 | $6,693.23 | $6,793.88 | $7,548.75 [ $7,850.70 | $8,052.00
14 64,450 [$5,370.83] $6,445.00 | $7,143.21 | $7,250.63 | $8,056.25 | $8,378.50 | $8,593.33
15 68,510 [$5,709.17] $6,851.00 | $7,593.19 | $7,707.38 | $8,563.75 | $8,906.30 | $9,134.67
16 72,570 1$6,047.50 $7,257.00 | $8,043.18| $8,164.13| $9,071.25 [ $9,434.10| $9,676.00
17 76,630 |$6,385.83] $7,663.00 | $8,493.16 | $8,620.88 | $9,578.75 [ $9,961.90 [$10,217.33
18 80,690 |$6,724.17| $8,069.00 | $8,943.14 | $9,077.63 |$10,086.25[{$10,489.70[$10,758.67
19 84,750 |$7,062.50] $8,475.00 | $9,393.13 | $9,534.38 |$10,593.75{$11,017.50{$11,300.00
20 88,810 |$7,400.83] $8,881.00 | $9,843.11 ] $9,991.13|$11,101.25{$11,545.30{$11,841.33
21 92,870 [$7,739.17] $9,287.00 |$10,293.09|$10,447.88|$11,608.75/$12,073.10{$12,382.67
22 96,930 |$8,077.50] $9,693.00 |$10,743.08]$10,904.63|]$12,116.25/$12,600.90[$12,924.00
23 100,990[$8,415.83[$10,099.00[$11,193.06{$11,361.38[$12,623.75[$13,128.70{$13,465.33
24 105,050[$8,754.17[$10,505.00[$11,643.04{$11,818.13|$13,131.25$13,656.50{$14,006.67
each
additional| $4,060 | $338.33 | $406.00 | $449.98 | $456.75 | $507.50 | $527.80 | $541.33
person
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group 185% 191% 200% 201% 240% 250% 300% 306% |
size FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL FPL
1 $1,799.131%$1,857.48$1,945.00 | $1,954.73 | $2,334.00 | $2,431.25| $2,917.50 $2,975.8|
2 $2,425.041%$2,503.69 | $2,621.67 | $2,634.78 | $3,146.00 | $3,277.08 | $3,932.50 $4,011.1|
3 $3,050.96 | $3,149.91 | $3,298.33 | $3,314.83 | $3,958.00 | $4,122.92 | $4,947.50 $5,046.4|
4 $3,676.88%$3,796.13 | $3,975.00 | $3,994.88 | $4,770.00 | $4,968.75 | $5,962.50 $6,081.7I
5 $4,302.79 | $4,442.34 | $4,651.67 | $4,674.93 | $5,582.00 | $5,814.58 | $6,977.50 $7,117.0|
6 $4,928.71$5,088.56 | $5,328.33 | $5,354.98 | $6,394.00 | $6,660.42 | $7,992.50 $8’152'3.
7 $5,554.63 | $5,734.78 | $6,005.00 | $6,035.03 | $7,206.00 | $7,506.25 | $9,007.50 $9,187.6|
8 $6,180.54 | $6,380.99 | $6,681.67 | $6,715.08 | $8,018.00 | $8,352.08 $10,022.50$10,222.§
9 $6,806.46 | $7,027.21 | $7,358.33 | $7,395.13 | $8,830.00 | $9,197.92 $11,037.50$11,258.;
10 $7,432.38%$7,673.43 | $8,035.00 | $8,075.18 | $9,642.00 $10,043.75$12,052.50$12,293.5
11 $8,058.291$8,319.64 | $8,711.67 | $8,755.23 $10,454.00$10,889.58$13,067.50$13,328.§
12 $8,684.21 | $8,965.86 | $9,388.33 | $9,435.28 $11,266.00$11,735.42$14,082.50$14,364.q
13 $9,310.13$9,612.08 $10,065.00$10,115.33$12,078.00$12,581.25$15,097.50$15,399.{
14 $9,936.04 $10,258.29$10,741.67$10,795.38$12,890.00$13,427.08$16,112.50$16,434.7|
15 $10,561.96$10,904.51$11,418.33$11,475.43$13,702.00$14,272.92$17,127.50$17,470.§
16 $11,187.88$11,550.73$12,095.00$12,155.48$14,514.00$15,118.75$18,142.50$18,505.§
17 $11,813.79$12,196.94$12,771.67$12,835.53$15,326.00$15,964.58$19,157.50$19,540.§
18 $12,439.71$12,843.16$13,448.33$13,515.58$16,138.00$16,810.42$20,172.50$20,575.§
19 $13,065.63$13,489.38$14,125.00$14,195.63$16,950.00$17,656.25$21,187.50$21,611.;
20 $13,691.54$14,135.59$14,801.67$14,875.68$17,762.00$18,502.08$22,202.50$22,646.5
21 $14,317.46$14,781.81$15,478.33$15,555.73$18,574.00$19,347.92$23,217.50$23,681.§
22 $14,943.38$15,428.03$16,155.00$16,235.78$19,386.00$20,193.75$24,232.50$24,717.q
23 $15,569.29$16,074.24$16,831.67$16,915.83$20,198.00$21,039.58$25,247.50$25,752.{
24 $16,195.21$16,720.46$17,508.33$17,595.88$21,010.00$21,885.42$26,262.50$26,787.}
each
additional|] $625.92 | $646.22 | $676.67 | $680.05 | $812.00 | $845.83 |$1,015.00|%$1,035.3
person

A Federal Poverty Level Calculator can be found at
http://www.needymeds.org/indices/FPL _Calculator.html.

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02
Release Date: 10/25/13
Effective Date: 10/25/13
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51 BC+ MEDICAL STATUS CODES

51.1 BADGERCARE PLUS MEDICAL STATUS CODES

For a complete list of Medical Status Codes see Process Help Chapter 81 Forward Health

iChange
The following Medical Status Codes are in effect through January 31, 2014 for BadgerCare Plus
members:
Med Description Income (FPL) | BC+ Plan [Subject to Premium [Funding
Stat Co-Pay
BA [Pregnant Woman >0 - 100% Standard No No T19
AB [Pregnant Woman >100 - 200% | Standard No No T19
BB [Pregnant Woman >200 - 250% | Benchmark No No T19
7E [Pregnant Woman >250 - 300% | Benchmark No No T19
PS |Pregnant Woman Deductible > 300% Benchmark No No State
Funded
PM |Pregnant minor under age 19 >300% Benchmark Yes Yes State
Funded
TP [Pregnant minor under age 19 >200 - 300% | Benchmark No No T19
who is a tribal member
7X  [Non-qualifying pregnant alien >250 - 300% | Benchmark No No T21
Separate
CHIP
BE [Child under age 19 0-100% Standard No No T19
BJ [Child under age 6 >100 - 133% | Standard No No T19
BF [Child age 6 through 18 >100 - 150% Standard Yes No T21
7N [Child <age 1 >150 - 200% | Standard Yes No T19
7P [Child <age 1l >200 - 250% | Benchmark Yes Yes T19
7F [Child age 1 through 5 >150-185% | Standard No No T19
C3 [Child age 1 through 5 >185 - 200% | Standard Yes No T21
Separate
CHIP
7J  [Child under age 6 >133-150% | Standard No No T19
BG [Child age 6 through 18 >150 - 200% | Standard Yes No T21
Separate
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CHIP
BH [Child age 1 through 18 >200 - 250% | Benchmark Yes Yes T21
Separate
CHIP
7Z [Child age 1 through 18 who is a | >250 - 300% | Benchmark No No T21
tribal member Separate
CHIP
TC [Child age 1 through 18 who isa | >200 - 250% | Benchmark No No T21
tribal member Separate
CHIP
TF [Child age 1 through 5 who is a >185% - Standard >No No T21
tribal member 200% Separate
CHIP
TG [Child age 6 through 18 who is a >150% - Standard No No T21
tribal member 200% Separate
CHIP
7H [Child under age 1 >250% - Benchmark Yes Yes T19
300%
7G [Child age 1 through 18 >250% - Benchmark Yes Yes T21
300% Separate
CHIP
7Y [Child under age 19 > 300% Benchmark Yes Yes State
Funded
7K [Child, under age 19 deductible > 150% Standard Yes No State
Funded
BL [ Parents/Caretakers >0 - 100% Standard Yes No T19
BM | Caretakers >100-133% | Standard Yes No T19
8B Caretakers >133 - 150% | Standard Yes Yes T19
7L Caretakers >150 - 200% | Standard Yes Yes T19
8H Disabled Caretakers >133% Standard Yes No T19
1B | Parents >100 - 133% | Standard Yes No T19
8A | Parents >133-150% | Standard Yes Yes T19
8G | Disabled Parents >133% Standard Yes No T19
7B [Parents >150 - 200% | Standard Yes Yes T19
B8 [Parents/Caretakers/Eligible for >150 - 200% | Standard Yes Yes T19
Community Waivers
7M [Caretakers (Self employed & >200% Benchmark Yes Yes T19
Farmers)
7C |Parents (Self employed & >200% Benchmark Yes Yes T19
Farmers)
BY [|Youths exiting out of home care N/A Standard Yes No T19
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BP [Transitional 0 - 130% Standard Yes No T19
Grandfathering (Prev. elig.
under MA or BC up to 130%)
BQ [Transitional >130-150% | Standard Yes No T19
Grandfathering (Prev. elig.
under BC with income >130 -
150%)
BR [Transitional >150 - 200% | Standard Yes Yes T19
Grandfathering (Prev. elig.
under BC with income >150% -
200% )
B9 [Transitional >150 - 200% | Standard Yes Yes T19
Grandfathering (Prev. elig.
under BC with income >150% -
200%) Eligible for Community
\Waivers
BS |Nonqualifying Pregnant Alien 0 -200% Standard No No T21
Separate
CHIP
BT [Nonqualifying Pregnant Alien >200 - 250% | Benchmark No No T21
Separate
CHIP
BX |Pregnant Inmate 0 - 200% Standard No No State
Funded
Bz [Pregnant Inmate >200 - 300% | Benchmark No No State
Funded
BU [Express Enroliment for a Child 0-150% Standard No No T19
age 1-18
7S | Express Enrollment for a Child | >150 - 185% | Standard No No T19
ages 1 through 5
EC | Express Enrollment for a Child 0-133% Standard No No T19
<age 1
7Q | Express Enrollment for a Child | >133 -200% Standard No No T19
<agel
7T | Express Enrollment for a Child | >200 - 300% | Benchmark No No T19
<agel
CU [ Childless Adults CORE Plan 0 - 100% CORE Yes No T19
Benefit
Plan
8C | Childless Adults CORE Plan > 100-133% CORE Yes No T19
Benefit
Plan
8D | Childless Adults CORE Plan > 133-200% CORE Yes Yes T19
Benefit
Plan
8L Childless Adults CORE Plan - >133% CORE Yes No T19
Disabled Adults Benefit
Plan
XA | Childless Adults Basic Plan 0 -200% Basic Yes Yes State
Benefit Funded
Plan
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BV [Express Enrollment for a 0 -200% Standard No No T19
Pregnant Woman
BW [Express Enroliment for a >200 - 250% | Benchmark No No T19
Pregnant Woman
7R [Express Enrollment for a >250 - 300% | Benchmark No No T19
Pregnant Woman
N1 [CEN - Mom in SP or MA on DOB| 0 - 100% Standard No No T19
N4 |CEN - Mom in SP or MA on DOB| >100 - 133% | Standard No No T19
7V | CEN - Mom in SP or MA on >133-150% | Standard No No T19
DOB
7W | CEN - Mom in SP or MA on >150 - 200% | Standard Yes No T19
DOB
7U [CEN - mom in BMP on DOB >200% Benchmark Yes No T19
NC [Child under age 19 Residing in a <200% Standard No No T19
medical institution.
X6 | Earnings Extension - 12 Mo >100-133% | Standard Yes No T19
8E | Earnings Extension — 12 Mo >133% Standard Yes Yes T19
(Adults)
8J Earnings Extension — 12 Mo >133% Standard Yes No T19
(Disabled Adults)
X7 | Child Support Extension - 4 >100-133% | Standard Yes No T19
Mo
8F | Child Support Extension — 4 >133% Standard Yes Yes T19
Mo (Adults)
8K | Child Support Extension — 4 >133% Standard Yes No T19
Mo (Disabled Adults)
X8 [Earnings extension - 12 mo, >100% Standard No No T19
child under 19
X9 [Earnings extension - 4 mo, child >100% Standard No No T19
under 19
AE* JAlien; <300% Emergency- N/A No T19
Emergency-Services-Only Service-Only
FS [Family Planning Services <300% FPS N/A No T19
Services
Only

* See BC+ Emergency Services Income Limits in 39.1

With implementation of MAGI, starting February 1, 2014, the following new med stat
codes will be added and applied to households eligible under MAGI rules .

Med
Stat

Description

Income
(FPL)

to Co-

BC+ Plan [Subject [Premium [Funding
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9A |Pregnant non-qualifying >200 - | Standard No No T21
immigrant 300% Separate
CHIP
9B |Pregnant Inmate >200 - | Standard No No State
300% Funded
9C |Pregnant Woman >200 - | Standard No No T19
300%
9D |Pregnant Minor < 19 >200 - | Standard No No T19
300%
9F (Child <1 > 200 - | Standard Yes Yes T19
250%
9G [Child <1 > 250 - | Standard Yes Yes T19
300%
9H [Continuously Eligible >200% | Standard No Yes T19
Newborn (CEN)
9K [Child, 1-18 >200 - | Standard Yes Yes T21
250% Separate
CHIP
9L [Child, 1-18 >250 - | Standard Yes Yes T21
300% Separate
CHIP
9M [Pregnant woman, >300% | Standard No No T19
deductible
9N [Child <19, deductible >150% | Standard Yes No T19
9P [Childless Adult (CLA) 0-100% | Standard | Yes No T19
9Q [|Former Foster Care Youth, N/A Standard Yes No T19
Up to age 26
9U [Child, 6 - 18, >100 - | Standard No No T19
133%
99 [Child, 6 - 18 >133 - | Stnadard Yes No T19
153%
9V [Transitional Childless Adult] 0-100% [ Standard | Yes No T19
T8 [Child 1-18, tribal member >200 — | Standard No No T21
250% Separate
CHIP
T9 [Child 1-18, tribal member >250 — | Standard No No T21
300% Separate
CHIP
9W [Childless Adult 0% Standard No No T19
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9X [Transitional Childless Adult 0% Standard No No T19

9Y [Adult (Parent or Caretaker) 0% Standard No No T19

9Z [12 mo CHIP extension, N/A Standard Yes No T21
Child <19 Separate

CHIP

9R [Extensions — 12 mo >133% | Standard Yes Yes T19
earned income increase

9S [Extenstions — 4 mo >133% | Standard Yes Yes T19
Spousal support increase

PN |PE for childless adults 0-100% | Standard No No T19

PP [PE for parents/caretakers | 0-100% | Standard No No T19

9E [EE for pregnant women  P>200-300%| Standard No No T19

9J [EE for child, <1 >200 — | Standard No No T19

300%

9T [Tower Automotive Group N/A Standard Yes Yes Program

(TAG), adults Revenue

The following medical status codes will be eliminated effective April 1, 2014, once
Benchmark and Core Plans are eliminated and BadgerCare Plus income levels are

reduced:

[Med Stat Description BC+ Plan
BF [Child, 6-18, >100 — 150% Standard
BP [Trans grndfather, to 130% Standard
BQ [Trans grndfather, >130-150% Standard
BR [Trans grndfather, >150-200% Standard
1B [|Parents >100 — 130% Standard
7B  |Parents >150 — 200% Standard
7K  [Child, <19, ded, >150% BC+ SP Standard
7L  [Caretakers >150-200% Standard
8A |Parents >133 - 150% Standard
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8B [Caretakers >133 - 150% Standard
8E [Earnings extension - 12 mo, p/c >133% Standard
8F  [Child sup extension - 4 mo, p/c >133% Standard
8G [Disabled parents >133% Standard
8H [Disabled caretakers >133% Standard
8J [Earnings ext - 12 mo, disabled p/c >133% Standard
8K  [Child sup ext - 4 mo, disabled p/c >133% Standard
B8 [|Parent/caretaker, SP/waiver >150 - 200% Standard
BM [Caretakers >100 - 130% Standard
7E  |Pregnant woman >250 - 300% Benchmark
7G  [Child, ages 1-18, >250 - 300% Benchmark
7H  [Child, age < 1, >250 - 300% Benchmark
7P  [Child, Age < 1, >200 - 250% Benchmark
7U [ICEN >200% Benchmark
7X  |Pregnant immigrant >250 - 300% Benchmark
7Y [Child >300% Benchmark
7Z [Child, ages 1-18, tribal member >250 - Benchmark
300%
BB |Pregnant woman >200 - 250% Benchmark
BH [Child, 1-18 >200 - 250% Benchmark
BT |Pregnant immigrant >200 - 250% Benchmark
BZ |Pregnant inmate >200 - 300% Benchmark
PM  [Pregnant minor, <19 >300% Benchmark
PS |Pregnant woman - deductible >300% Benchmark
TC [Child, 1-18, tribal member >200 - 250% Benchmark
TP  [Pregnant minor, < 19, tribal member >200 Benchmark

- 300%
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7C |Parents (Self Employed/Farmers) >200% Benchmark
7M  [Caretakers (Self Employed/Farmers) Benchmark
>200%
CU [Childless Adult (CLA), 0-100% CORE Benefit Plan
GT [Transitional Childless Adult CORE Benefit Plan
8C [Childless Adult Waiver >100 - 133% CORE Benefit Plan
8D [Childless Adult Waiver > 133% CORE Benefit Plan
8L |Disabled Childless Adult > 133% CORE Benefit Plan
XA Basic Plan Basic Benefit Plan
HC [child, ages 1-5 HIRSP KIDS ONLY, >150 Standard for Drugs,
- 185% Benchmark for all other
services
HG hild, ages 1-5 HIRSP KIDS ONLY, >150 Standard for Drugs,
- 185% Benchmark for all other
services
HI  [child, ages 6-18 HIRSP KIDS ONLY, Standard for Drugs,
>150 - 200% Benchmark for all other
services
7T  [EE for child, age < 1, >200 - 300% Benchmark
7R [EE for Pregnant woman >250 - 300% Benchmark
BW |EE for Pregnant woman >200 - 250% Benchmark
T1 HCTC, adults Health Care Tax Credit
T2 [Tower Automotive Grp (TAG), adults Benchmark
T3 HCTC, child <19 Health Care Tax Credit

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01
Release Date: 02/07/14
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The following table gives examples of what is, and what is not, considered health
insurance for the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan.

The BadgerCare Plus Core Plan ends on March 31, 2014. See Chapter 43 for more

information.
Type of Other Name Considered | Description
Insurance
Major Medical HIPAA Yes These are:
Insurance Standard e Any group health care plan that provides

Plan medical care to covered individuals
and/or their dependents. (Medical care
means it pays towards diagnosis, cure,
mitigation (moderation), treatment or
prevention of disease.) and/or

e Policies that pay for a doctor's services in
either an in-patient or outpatient setting.

e The amount or type of benefits paid (co-
insurance, deductibles, caps, etc) the
plan pays do not matter if it meets the
above criteria.

No If the health care plan is limited to a single type
of covered service or only accessible in a very
defined circumstance. Plans limited to accident,
disability, vision, long term care or dental are not
examples of Major Medical Insurance.

AARP Yes AARP Essential Premier Health Insurance is
major medical insurance for people 50-64. Itis
advertised as premier-level, major medical
health insurance plan similar to plans offered by
many companies to their employees. It's the
only major medical health insurance program
exclusively for AARP members.

No AARP vision and dental only plans

Also, these plans are currently unavailable for
new members, but somebody may have one of
them from an earlier time:

« AARP Essential Health Insurance

e AARP Essential Plus Health Insurance

e AARP Hospital Indemnity Insurance

AFLAC No According to www.aflac.com the following
Insurance options are available:
e Accident

e Cancer/Specified Disease
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Dental

Hospital Confinement Indemnity
Hospital Confinement Sickness Indemnity
Hospital Intensive Care

Life

Long-Term Care

Lump Sum Cancer

Lump Sum Critical lliness
Short-Term Disability

Specified Health Event

Vision

These are limited policies that are not major
medical insurance.

COBRA

Consolidated
Omnibus
Budget
Reconciliation
Act

Yes

When an individual involuntarily loses a job and
had insurance through the employer, s/he can
take COBRA insurance by paying 100% cost of
the premium. Individuals with COBRA
insurance, are ineligible for Core Plan.

There are subsidies available through federal
government to help pay COBRA premiums.

If COBRA is exhausted (i.e., a person paid for it
for 18 months and is no longer able to
participate, he or she is eligible for Core Plan
without waiting 12 months.

If a person drops COBRA, they have to wait 12
months or to the end of 18 months of COBRA
expiration, whichever is sooner.

Contract Health
Services

CHS

No

Indian decent people can get medical services
based on their financial and medical needs.
Services are prioritized based on available
funds and severity of medical needs.

Flexible
Spending
Account

FSA

No

Employee Reimbursement Account Program
(State Employees) No Flexible Spending
Accounts (FSA) allow employees to set aside
pre-taxed income for routine medical expenses.
FSA accounts can be used for reimbursement
of any medically related cost that is not covered
by your health care plan.

FSA accounts are owned by employees and
have "use it or lose it by the end of the year”
rule.
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High HDHP Yes Yes A high deductible plan has a deductible of
Deductible at least $1,150 for self-only coverage and
Health Plan $2,300 for family coverage.

The maximum annual out-of-pocket amount for
high deductible individual coverage is $5,800
and $11,600 for family coverage.

The maximum annual HSA contribution for an
eligible individual with self-only coverage is
$3,000 and $5,950 for family coverage in 2009.

Health HRA No Personal Care Accounts No Health insurance
Reimbursement plans that reimburse employees for qualified
Arrangements medical expenses.

HRAs allow funds to be placed in a special
account to reimburse employees for out-of-
pocket medical expenses that they may incur.
Employer owns the account and money in the

account.
Health Savings HSA No An HSA is a tax-advantaged savings and
Accounts investment plan, similar to an IRA. Funds

contributed to the HSA remain in the account
from year to year, and are not subject to any
"use it or lose it" provisions.

Indemnity Fee-for- Yes Under an indemnity health care plan, a plan
Insurance Service member can choose any provider and the
Traditional insurance company will pay a percentage (or set
Health dollar amount) of the medical expenses incurred
Insurance by the member.
plan
Limited Scope No e Coverage only for accident (including
Insurance accidental death and dismemberment).

o Disability income insurance.

o Liability insurance, including general
liability insurance and automobile liability
insurance.

o Coverage issued as a supplement to
liability insurance.

e Workers' compensation or similar
insurance.

e Automobile medical payment insurance.

o Credit-only insurance (for example,
mortgage insurance).

o Coverage for on-site medical clinics.

« Limited scope dental or vision benefits
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that are sold under a separate policy or
rider and that are limited in scope to a
narrow range or type of benefits that are
generally excluded from
hospital/medical/surgical benefits
packages.

State/Federal

No

These programs are not considered major
medical insurance for Core applicants:
e GAMP (General Assistance Medical
Program)
e HIRSP (Health Insurance Risk Sharing
Plan),
e Medicaid
o BadgerCare+
e Well Woman Program
e Well Woman Medicaid
e Wisconsin Chronic Disease Program
e Family Planning Only Services
« State or federal veteran benefits (free or
low cost care for veterans who do not
have insurance)

Student Health
Plan available
through a
college/
university

SHIP

Yes

Many colleges and universities offer insurance
plans for students and their dependents. For
example, University of Wisconsin in Madison
offers Student Health Insurance Plan
(http://www.uhs.wisc.edu/home.jsp?cat_id=116),
which is a comprehensive, major medical
insurance.

No

If college/university insurance only covers
specific check-ups or just family planning
services and does not offer hospital or medical
service policies or certificates, it is not major
medical insurance. Usually student health
insurance options can be found on
college/university web site.

Tribal
Programs

Indian Health
Services

No

Tribal Health Services

TRICARE

CHAMPUS

Yes

TRICARE is the health care program serving
active duty service members, National Guard
and Reserve members, retirees, their families,
survivors and certain former spouses worldwide.

TRICARE covers most inpatient and outpatient
care that is medically necessary and considered
proven. However, there are special rules or
limits on certain types of care, while other types
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of care are not covered at all.

Other Public
Health Care
Programs

Charity Care

Community
Health Clinics

Affinity Care

Helping
Hands
(Aurora
Health Care)

Community
Care for the
Uninsured
(Dean Care)

Patient
Assistance
Program
(Marshfield)

No

Programs such as Marshfield plan that allows
individuals to pay discounted fees for services.

A list of community health clinics (federally
qualified health centers) is available at::
dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/pdf/clinics.pdf

Note: If an individual has lost employment and you don’t know if it was for "reasons
beyond their control”, ask if s/he is receiving Unemployment Compensation/Insurance.
If yes, s/he should be given good cause (chapter 43.6).
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