
USDA Nondiscrimination Statement
In accordance with Federal civil rights law and 
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights 
regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, 
offices, and employees, and institutions participating 
in or administering USDA programs are prohibited 
from discriminating based on race, color, national 
origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political 
beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights 
activity in any program or activity conducted or 
funded by USDA.

Persons with disabilities who require alternative 
means of communication for program information 
(e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign 
Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or 
local) where they applied for benefits.  Individuals who 
are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities 
may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service 
at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program information 
may be made available in languages other than 
English.

To file a program complaint of discrimination, 
complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint 
Form, (AD-3027) found online at: https://www.ascr.
usda.gov/how-file-program-discrimination-complaint, 
and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to 
USDA and provide in the letter all of the information 
requested in the form. To request a copy of the 
complaint form, call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your 
completed form or letter to USDA by: 

(1)	 mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture
	 Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
	 1400 Independence Avenue, SW
	 Washington, D.C. 20250-9410;

(2)	 fax: (202) 690-7442; or 

(3)	 email: program.intake@usda.gov.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.
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Work Requirement for Adults Ages 18 
Through 49
If you are age 18 through 49 and do not have 
any children under age 18 living in your home, 
you may need to meet a work requirement to 
keep getting FoodShare benefits unless you 
are exempt. When you apply, you will be told 
if you need to meet the work requirement or 
if you are considered exempt. You may also be 
asked to provide proof.

You can meet the work requirement by:
•	 Working at least 80 hours each month.
•	 Taking part in the FoodShare

Employment and Training (FSET) program at 
least 80 hours each month.

•	 Taking part in another allowable work
program, such as Wisconsin Works (W-2), 
or certain programs under the Workforce 
Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) at 
least 80 hours each month. 

•	 Working and taking part in an 
allowable work program for a combined 
total of at least 80 hours each month.

FoodShare Employment and Training  
Program
The FSET program offers FoodShare members 
free services to build job skills and find 
employment. If you need help finding a job, 
need to meet the work requirement, or are 
currently working and want to increase your 
skills, FSET may be able to help you. 
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Questions?
Contact your agency with any questions you 
have. To get the address or phone number 
for your agency, call Member Services at 
1-800-363-3002 or go to 
dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/
resources.htm. 
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What is FoodShare Wisconsin?
FoodShare Wisconsin, also known as SNAP 
(which stands for Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program), helps people with limited 
income buy the food they need for good 
health.

Who can get FoodShare benefits?
The following people may be able to get 
FoodShare benefits:
•• Senior citizens
•• Families
•• Qualifying immigrants 
•• Single adults
•• People with disabilities

Even if you cannot get FoodShare benefits 
because you are not a U.S. citizen, your family 
members born in the United States may be 
able to get benefits.

How much income can I have and still be 
eligible?
You may be able to enroll in FoodShare if all of 
your family’s income is under the FoodShare 
limit. You will need to list all of your family’s 
income.

Some examples of income are:
•	 Job income/wages.
•	 Self-employment income.
•	 Disability income.
•	 Social Security income.
•	 Veterans benefits.
•	 Unemployment Insurance.

How much will I get?
The amount of FoodShare benefits you get is 
based on your income and household size.

Before you apply, you can see if you may be 
eligible to get benefits by going to access.wi.gov 
and clicking on “Am I Eligible?” This tool can 
tell you if you may be able to get benefits and 
how much. It is not an application, so you will 
still need to apply to get benefits.

What can I buy with FoodShare benefits?
You can use your benefits to buy food such as:
•	 Breads and cereals.
•	 Fruits and vegetables.
•	 Dairy products.
•	 Meats, fish, and poultry.
•	 Plants and seeds to grow food for your 

family to eat.

You cannot use your benefits to buy items 
such as:
•	 Nonfood items (pet foods, paper products, 

soaps, household supplies, grooming items, 
toothpaste, cosmetics, etc.).

•	 Beer, wine, liquor, cigarettes, or tobacco.
•	 Food that will be eaten in the store.
•	 Hot foods (for example, food that is cooked 

at the store and sold hot).

How do I use my benefits to buy food?
FoodShare benefits come on a plastic card 
called the Wisconsin QUEST card. You use this 
card just like a debit card.

Where can I use the QUEST card?
You can use the QUEST card at most grocery 
stores and convenience stores that have the 
QUEST® sign. 

Other places you may be able to use your 
benefits are:
•	 Some farmers markets.
•	 Group meal sites for senior citizens.
•	 Meals-on-Wheels.

How can I apply for FoodShare?
To apply for FoodShare, you can complete an 
application:
•	 Online – Go to access.wi.gov.
•	 By phone or in person – Contact your

local agency.
•	 By mail – Go to dhs.wisconsin.gov/

forwardhealth/resources.htm for the 
application, or contact your agency. Mail or 
fax the completed application to:

If you live in Milwaukee County:
MDPU
PO Box 05676
Milwaukee, WI 53205
Fax: 1-888-409-1979

If you do not live in Milwaukee County:
CDPU
PO Box 5234
Janesville, WI 53547
Fax: 1-855-293-1822

Once you have submitted your application, 
you will need to have an interview with an 
agency worker either by phone or in person.

Will I have to give my Social Security 
number?
Everyone who applies for FoodShare must 
give his or her Social Security number. If you 
do not have a Social Security number, you will 
need to apply for one in order to apply for 
FoodShare.
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