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PROGRAM OVERVIEW (CHAPTER 1) 

View History 
  

1.1 BADGERCARE PLUS INTRODUCTION 

  
BadgerCare Plus is a state/federal program that provides health coverage for Wisconsin 
families and individuals living in poverty. BadgerCare Plus replaced the former AFDC-
Medicaid, Healthy Start, and BadgerCare programs. 
  
Potential BadgerCare Plus members will include: 
  

• Children under 19 years of age, 
• Pregnant women, 
• Parents and caretakers of children under 18 and dependent 18 year olds, 
• Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been removed from 
the home and placed in out of home care, 
• Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care 
when they turned 18, and 
• Effective April 1, 2014, adults ages 19-64 who are not receiving Medicare 
and do not have dependent children. 

  
For information on income limits, see Section 16.1 Income and Section 50.1 Federal 
Poverty Level Table. A person is eligible for BadgerCare Plus if he or she meets all 
BadgerCare Plus non-financial and financial requirements. 
  
Documented and undocumented immigrants who are children, parents, or caretakers 
and who are ineligible for BadgerCare Plus solely due to their immigration status may 
be eligible for coverage for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services. 
  
Documented and undocumented immigrants who are pregnant and ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus solely due to their immigration status may be eligible for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
  
Women and men 15 years of age or older may be eligible for limited benefits undeer the 
BadgerCare Plus Family Planning Only Services program. 
  
Women ages 35-65 diagnosed with cervical or breast cancer may be eligible for Well 
Woman Medicaid. See the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook for more information on Well 
Woman Medicaid. 
  
Individuals who are elderly, blind or disabled may be eligible for Medicaid. Medicaid is a 
state/federal program that provides health coverage for Wisconsin residents that are 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/01/1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/meh.htm
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EBD. Medicaid is also known as Medical Assistance, MA, and Title 19. There are 
different subprograms of Medicaid: 

• SSI-related Medicaid 
• MAPP 
• Institutional Long Term Care 
• Home and Community Based Waivers Long Term Care 
• Family Care Long Term Care 
• Partnership Long Term Care 
• PACE: Anyone age 65 or older 
• Katie Beckett 
• Tuberculosis-related Medicaid 
• Medicare Premium Assistance: QMB, SLMB, SLMB+, QDWI 
• Emergency Medicaid 
• SeniorCare 

  
See the Medicaid Handbook for more information about these subprograms. 

1.1.1 Organization of the BadgerCare Plus Handbook 

This handbook outlines eligibility policy for Wisconsin’s BadgerCare Plus program. This 
version documents multiple policy changes that will affect the BadgerCare Plus program 
in 2014 as a result of changes in state law and the federal Affordable Care Act. 
Accordingly, this handbook contains policy for the BadgerCare Plus program that is 
currently in effect and policy that will take effect in 2014. Policy that is time-limited or 
time-dependent will be modified with the appropriate effective date. Policy that is not 
identified as having an effective or end date is currently in place and will continue to 
exist in 2014. 
  
Beginning in 2014, the BadgerCare Plus program will use a different set of eligibility 
rules to determine household size and countable income. This version of the handbook 
addresses two forms of budgeting rules. More information about these budgeting 
methodologies is found in Chapter 2 BadgerCare Plus Group. The new budgeting rules 
that will be applied to applicants and members in 2014 will be referred to as MAGI rules. 
The rules currently in place for BadgerCare Plus will be referred to as non-MAGI rules. 

1.1.2 BadgerCare Plus Health Plan 

The Standard Plan is for adults, parents, or caretakers with household income at or 
below 100 percent of the FPL and children and pregnant women with income at or 
below 300 percent of the FPL (see Section 50.1 Federal Poverty Level Table for FPL 
limits). 
BadgerCare Plus has several limited health plans. These include: 
  

• Family Planning Only Services 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/meh-ebd/
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• BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program, and 
• BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services 

  
Standard plan members may be asked to pay a share of the cost of services. The 
copayment amount ranges from $.50-$3.00 per service. 
  
Beginning February 1, 2014, all new applicants found eligible for BadgerCare Plus will 
be covered under the Standard Plan. Beginning April 1, 2014, all BadgerCare Plus 
members, regardless of when they applied, will receive coverage under the Standard 
Plan. 

1.1.3 Health Care Choice 

It is possible for individuals to qualify for both BadgerCare Plus and EBD Medicaid 
based on financial and non-financial eligibility criteria. 
  
When a person is eligible for both BadgerCare Plus and EBD Medicaid, different rules 
apply based on whether the BadgerCare Plus eligibility is determined under non-MAGI 
or MAGI rules. 
  
When eligibility is determined for such an individual under non-MAGI rules, CARES will 
automatically enroll the individual in the program with the best benefit plan and lowest 
cost share. The individual has the right to request coverage under the program not 
chosen by CARES (see Section 49.1 Health Plan Choice). The change will be effective 
in the next possible payment following Adverse Action, unless the member requests the 
change be effective in the month the request to change the health plan was made. 
  
If CARES is unable to make an automatic choice between BadgerCare Plus and EBD 
Medicaid, a notice requesting the individual make a choice will be generated. Once the 
member has made a choice, the decision remains in effect until: 
  

• The member requests a change, or 
• The member’s benefit under the health plan of his or her choice ends. 
(This includes being placed into an unmet deductible AG.) 

  
When eligibility is determined for such an individual under MAGI rules, federal law 
requires that once an individual has been determined eligible for EBD Medicaid, he or 
she must be enrolled in EBD Medicaid, even if they are also eligible for BadgerCare 
Plus, unless they have a change in circumstances that results in ineligibility for EBD 
Medicaid. The only exception to this policy is pregnant women who are eligible for both 
EBD Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus. In these instances, the pregnant woman will be 
enrolled in the BadgerCare Plus program. 
  
If someone is pending for EBD Medicaid or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD 
Medicaid, the individual is not considered eligible for EBD Medicaid and can enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus. Pending for EBD Medicaid includes, but is not limited to, waiting for 
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an official disability determination from DDB. If an individual enrolled in EBD Medicaid is 
determined ineligible for EBD Medicaid for any reason, including going over the asset 
limit or failing to pay a MAPP premium, he or she can enroll in BadgerCare Plus if he or 
she is still eligible to do so. 

1.1.4 How to Apply 

The following application options are available for anyone who is applying for 
BadgerCare Plus: 
  

1. ACCESS online application at https://access.wisconsin.gov/ 
2. Face-to-face interview at the local county/tribal office 
3. Paper application 
4. Telephone interview 
5. An application submitted to the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. 

  
Click here to view the directory of local county/tribal agencies in Wisconsin or call 1-
800-362-3002. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-02 
Release Date: 05/14/14 
Effective Date: 04/01/14 

https://access.wisconsin.gov/
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/imagencies/index.htm
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NON-FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS (CHAPTERS 2-15) 

2 BadgerCare Plus Group 

View History 

2.1 NONFINANCIAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

The following individuals are non-financially eligible for BadgerCare Plus:  

1. Children under 19, 
2. Pregnant Women, 
3. Parents/caretaker relatives of children under 18 years of age or dependent 18 

year olds, including some parents and caretaker relatives whose children have 
been removed from the home and are in the care of the child welfare system 
(see Chapter 10 Child Welfare Parents), and 

4. Former foster care youth under age 26 who were in out-of-home care when they 
turned 18, and 

5. Effective April 1, 2014, adults ages 19-64, not receiving Medicare, who do not 
meet any of the conditions listed above. 

   
To meet conditions of eligibility, the applicant must:  

1. Be a Wisconsin resident (see Chapter 3 Residence), 
2. Be a U.S. citizen or qualified immigrant (see Chapter 4 Citizen and 
Immigration Status), 

  
Note: This is not a requirement for non qualifying immigrants receiving 
Emergency Services (see Chapter 39 Emergency Services) or women applying 
for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program (see Chapter 41 BadgerCare Plus 
Prenatal Program). 

  
3. Provide documentation of citizenship and identity or immigration status 
(see Section 4.1 U.S. Citizens and Nationals), 
4. Cooperate with establishing medical support and TPL (see Chapter 5 
Medical Support and Third Party Liability), 
5. Sign over to the state his or her rights to payments from a third party for 
medical expenses (see Section 5.2 Medical Support/CSA Cooperation), 
6. Meet BadgerCare Plus SSN requirements (see Chapter 6 Social Security 
Requirements), 
7. Cooperate with verification requests when information is mandatory or 
deemed questionable (see Chapter 9 Verification), 
8. Meet health insurance access and coverage requirements (see Chapter 7 
Health Insurance Access and Coverage Requirements). 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.1hlf.htm
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This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01 
Release Date: 02/07/14 
Effective Date: 02/01/14 

View History 

2.2 COVERAGE GROUP DEFINITIONS 

2.2.1 Parents 
2.2.1.1 Paternity 
2.2.1.2 Joint Placement 
2.2.1.3 Dependent 18 Year Old 

2.2.2 Caretaker Relative 
2.2.3 Child Welfare/Caretakers 
2.2.4 Pregnant Woman 
2.2.5 Former Foster Care Youth (Formerly Known as Youth Exiting Out of Home Care) 
2.2.6 Child 
2.2.7 Childless Adults 
  
The following are the relationships and legal responsibility which determine who is in the 
BadgerCare Plus coverage groups: 

2.2.1 Parents 

A parent is any natural, legally adoptive, or stepmother or stepfather. A parent can be 
any age. There can be more than one parent of a certain gender in a household. To be 
considered a parent of a child under age 19 for BadgerCare Plus purposes, the child 
must be under the care of that individual at least 40 percent of the time. For example, in 
families where parents are divorced, if the child does not live with Parent B at least 40 
percent of the time, Parent B would have his or her eligibility considered under the 
Childless Adults coverage group, rather than the Parents/Caretakers coverage group. 
  
Note: A child under age 19 residing with a parent may not apply separately from his or 
her parent. In addition, the parent must apply as the primary person for the case, unless 
the child filing the application is 18 years old. 

2.2.1.1 Paternity 

When a woman is married at the time that she gives birth, her husband is considered 
the legal father of the child unless a court later determines that someone else is the 
father. 
  
If the parents of the child are not married at the time of the child’s birth, paternity must 
be established in order to determine the parental relationship for the father. Paternity is 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.2hlf.htm
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legally established only by a court order or by a Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment 
form (DPH 5024) signed on or after May 1, 1998, and filed with the state Vital Records 
office. A father’s name on a birth certificate issued in Wisconsin on or after May 1, 1998, 
is evidence that paternity has been established. 
  
The following designations for a father are used in CARES. See the accompanying 
definitions to determine which designation is appropriate for a case. 
  

1. Claimed father 
  

A claimed father is someone claiming to be the father of a child but has not had 
his paternity established. A claimed father is not the father for BadgerCare 
Plus eligibility purposes. His child should be referred to the CSA so that steps to 
establish paternity can be taken. 
  
2. Acknowledged father 

  
An acknowledged father is someone who has not had his paternity adjudicated by 
a court, but has filed a formal paternity claim. An acknowledged father is one who 
fits one of the following criteria: 
  

a. Filed paternity papers prior to May 1, 1998 
b. Has his name on the birth certificate and the certificate is from 
another state or from Wisconsin and for a birth prior to May 1, 1998. 

  
An acknowledged father is considered to be a parent for BadgerCare Plus 
eligibility purposes. However, because there is still no evidence of a formal 
adjudication, refer acknowledged fathers to the CSA so that steps to establish 
paternity may be taken. 

  
3. Legal/adjudicated father 

  
A father who has had his paternity legally established is called the adjudicated 
father. Paternity is legally established by either a court order (adjudication) or by a 
Voluntary Paternity Acknowledgment form signed by the father on or after May 1, 
1998, that is filed with the Wisconsin Vital Records office. 
  
Note: If a father's name appears on a Wisconsin birth certificate for a child born 
after May 1, 1998, it means paternity has been established. Do not refer 
adjudicated fathers to the CSA. 

2.2.1.2 Joint Placement 

When the natural or adoptive parents of a child do not live together and have joint placement 
arrangements for the child (through a mutually agreed upon arrangement or court order), only 
one parent can be determined eligible at a time unless there is reasonably equivalent placement. 
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Reasonably equivalent placement means that the child is residing with each parent at least 40 
percent of the time during a month.  
   
If the child is not residing with both parents at least 40 percent of the time, only the parent with 
the greater percentage of the placement time may apply on behalf of the child and/or for himself 
or herself as the caretaker relative of that child.  
   
If only one parent of a child is applying for BadgerCare Plus and he or she is stating that he or 
she has placement of the child for at least 40 percent of the time, accept the declaration unless it 
is questionable.  
   
If both parents are applying for BadgerCare Plus and claim the child is residing with them, act on 
their BadgerCare Plus cases as follows:  

1. If both parents agree that they have a reasonably equivalent placement 
arrangement, ask under which parent’s case they want the child to be receiving 
BadgerCare Plus benefits and determine eligibility for both parents’ cases. 

2. If either parent disputes that the placement arrangement is reasonably 
equivalent, the eligibility worker must determine the monthly percentage of the 
physical placement based on the court order. If the court order does not show 
reasonably equivalent placement, consider the child to be with the parent he or 
she is residing with during the month in question and deny the other parent’s 
eligibility as a caretaker relative of this child. 

3. If the parents cannot agree on which case the child will receive benefits, put the 
child on the case with the family whose income is at the lower FPL level. 

4. Document your decision in the case record. 

  
In determining eligibility for the parents with equivalent placement, the child is considered to be 
residing in both of their homes. That means the child will be included in the group size for both 
cases and the child’s income will also be counted in both cases.  
   
If reasonably equivalent placement exists (as described above) and both parents apply 
for BadgerCare Plus for the child and the child has access to health insurance where an 
employer pays 80 percent or more of the monthly premium in one home but not the 
other, the child shall remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus on the case with the parent 
who does not have access to health insurance for which the employer pays 80 percent 
or more. 
  
Example 1: Johnny, age 10, lives 50 percent of the time with his mom and 50 
percent of the time with his dad. Both Johnny’s dad and mom have applied for 
BadgerCare Plus. Mom is employed, but does not have access to health insurance 
coverage through her employer. Dad is employed and does have access to a family 
health insurance where his employer pays 81 percent of the monthly premium. 
Johnny can remain eligible on his mom’s case. 
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If reasonably equivalent joint placement exists and both parents apply for BadgerCare 
Plus for the child and the income of either case requires that a premium be paid as 
condition of the child’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility, then the parents can choose in which 
case the child will receive BadgerCare Plus coverage. A premium requirement in one 
case does not preclude eligibility in the other parent’s case where no premium for the 
child would be owed. 
  
Example 2: Billy, age 8, lives 40 percent of the time with his dad and 60 percent of 
the time with his mom. Both parents are applying for BadgerCare Plus. In his 
mother’s case, the family income is 220 percent FPL and in his dad’s case, the family 
income is 180 percent FPL. Billy’s parents decide that Billy will be receiving his 
BadgerCare Plus coverage through Dad's case. 
  
If joint placement exists with a parent who lives in another state, the child must be with 
the Wisconsin parent at least 50 percent of the time in a month to qualify for 
BadgerCare Plus. 

2.2.1.3 Dependent 18 Year Old 

Effective February 1, 2014, when an adult is eligible as a parent or caretaker because 
they are caring for an 18-year-old child, and that child is the only child in the home, the 
child must meet both the following conditions in order for the parent or caretaker to be 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a parent or caretaker of a dependent 18 year old: 

• Be enrolled in high school 
• Be expected to graduate high school before turning 19. 

  
The child does not have to be enrolled full time in high school in order to meet this 
definition of dependent child. 
  
The 18 year old remains eligible as a child until he or she turns 19, regardless of school 
enrollment or expected date of graduation. 

2.2.2 Caretaker Relative 

A caretaker relative is a non-legally responsible relative of the child under his or her 
care. Caretaker relatives and their spouses can be eligible for BadgerCare Plus as 
caretaker relatives. To be considered a caretaker relative of a child in the home, a 
person must first have a qualifying relationship to the child (under age 19) and the child 
must also be under the care of that relative. 
  
Qualifying relationships for caretaker relatives consist of the following: 
  

1. Stepfather or stepmother (when the parent is deceased or 
divorced/separated from the stepparent). 
2. Natural full brother or sister, legally adopted, half- or stepbrother or sister. 
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3. Grandmother or grandfather, aunt or uncle, first cousin, nephew or niece, 
or any preceding generation denoted by the prefix grand-, great-, or great-great, 
and including those through adoption. 
4. Spouse of any of the above and the spouse of a child’s parent, even after 
the marriage ends by death, divorce, or separation. 

  
Annulment of a marriage removes all relationships established by the marriage except 
parent. 
  
A spouse is that person recognized by Wisconsin law as another person’s legal 
husband or wife. Wisconsin does not recognize common law marriage. 
  
Being "under the care” means the caretaker exercises primary responsibility for the 
child’s care and control, including making plans for him or her. Once a child marries, he 
or she can no longer can be considered under the care of a caretaker relative. 
  
In cases where a child resides with both a caretaker relative and a parent, the parent is 
considered the caretaker relative, unless legal custody has been given by a court to the 
caretaker relative. In that situation, the caretaker relative is considered the caretaker 
relative of that child and could be eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Note: A child under age 19 residing with a caretaker relative may not apply as the 
primary person for the relative’s benefits. For both a caretaker relative and a child to be 
included in one case, the caretaker relative must apply for BadgerCare Plus. 

2.2.3 Child Welfare Parents/Caretakers 

For individuals whose eligibility is being determined under non-MAGI rules 
Parents and caretaker relatives whose children have been placed in out of home care 
and who meet the criteria listed in Chapter 10 Child Welfare Parents are still considered 
caretaker relatives of the child. The child is considered temporarily absent from the 
home. The child(ren) is included in the BadgerCare Plus test group and any unearned 
income the child has is budgeted. However, unlike others who are considered 
temporarily absent from the home, a child in a child welfare placement is not eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus in the household that he or she was removed from. 
  
For individuals whose eligibility is being determined under MAGI rules 
Parents and caretakers whose children have been placed in out-of-home care and who 
are having their eligibility determined or renewed will still be considered parents or 
caretakers, as the child will be considered temporarily absent. However, the inclusion of 
the child in the parent’s group will be dependent upon MAGI budgeting rules. If the child 
has been placed with a caretaker relative, the relative will not be considered the primary 
caretaker of the child. If there are no other dependent children in the home, this relative 
would be considered a childless adult for purposes of BadgerCare Plus eligibility. 
Inclusion of the child in the caretaker relative’s group will also be dependent upon MAGI 
rules. See Chapter 10 Child Welfare Parents for more information. 
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2.2.4 Pregnant Woman 

A pregnant woman is nonfinancially eligible for BadgerCare Plus. Marital status has no 
effect on her nonfinancial eligibility. If she is a pregnant minor, she does not have to be 
under the care of or related to the caretaker to be eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 

2.2.5 Former Foster Care Youth (Formerly Known as Youth Exiting 
Out of Home Care) 

This category was formerly referred to as Youth Exiting Out of Home Care. 
  
BadgerCare Plus benefits are available to certain individuals who were in out-of-home 
care, including foster care, court-ordered kinship care, and subsidized guardianship, as 
of their 18th birthday. These individuals are categorically eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
The individual did not have to be in foster care in Wisconsin when he or she was 18 in 
order to be eligible for this coverage group. Through December 31, 2013, FFCY will 
only be eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits until they are age 21. After January 1, 
2014, benefits will be available to all former foster care youth under age 26. See 
Chapter 11 for additional eligibility criteria for FFCY. 

2.2.6 Child 

A child under age 19 is nonfinancially eligible for BadgerCare Plus. Marital status and 
school enrollment status have no effect on his or her nonfinancial eligibility. The child 
does not have to be under the care of or related to the caretaker to be eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Note: A child under age 19 residing with a caretaker relative may not apply as the 
primary person for the relative’s benefits. For both a caretaker relative and a child to be 
included in one case, the caretaker relative must apply for BadgerCare Plus. A child 
under age 19 residing with a parent may not apply separately from his or her parent. In 
addition, the parent must apply as the primary person for the case, unless the child filing 
the application is age 18. Individuals over age 19 must always apply separately from 
their parents or caretakers, irrespective of their living arrangement or tax dependency. 

2.2.7 Childless Adults 

A childless adult is an individual aged 19 to 64 who does not have any dependent 
children under age 19 who reside with them at least 40 percent of the time. Their marital 
status has no effect on their BadgerCare Plus eligibility. In 2013, childless adults are 
covered under BadgerCare Plus through the Core Plan. Enrollment in the Core Plan 
has been closed since 2009. Beginning April 1, 2014, childless adults who are not 
eligible for Medicare will be nonfinancially eligible for regular BadgerCare Plus under the 
Standard Plan. 
  
  



2.3 Test Group 

12 

  
This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 

Release Date: 05/15/2015 
Effective Date: 05/15/2015 

  
View History 

2.3 TEST GROUP 

  
  
The following sections outline how to form BadgerCare Plus test groups under non-
MAGI and MAGI rules. See Section 2.3.3 Applying Non-MAGI Rules Versus MAGI 
Rules for more information about when to apply non-MAGI or MAGI rules to a case. 

2.3.1 The Non-MAGI Test Group 

For BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined using non-MAGI 
budgeting rules, workers should use the following methodology to determine who 
should be included in the member’s household and whose income in that household 
should be counted. 
  
The non-MAGI BadgerCare Plus test group includes the primary person and any 
individuals living in his or her household whose income and/or needs are considered 
when determining financial eligibility. Inclusion in the test group is determined by 
qualifying relationships and legal responsibility. 
  
Anyone in the home who meets the criteria of being in the BadgerCare Plus test group 
is always included in the group regardless of whether or not he or she requested 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
People in the home who do not meet the criteria to be in a BadgerCare Plus test group 
must be excluded. However, they may be included in a BadgerCare Plus test group in 
another case. 
  
The primary person who applies for BadgerCare Plus must meet one of the following 
requirements in order to form a BadgerCare Plus Test Group. The primary person must 
one of the following: 

• A parent residing with his or her child under age 19 or residing with a 
spouse and his or her child who is under age 19 
• A caretaker relative residing with a child in the home who is under age 19, 
or an individual residing with a spouse who is a caretaker relative  of a child in 
the home who is under age 19 
• A pregnant woman, or the spouse of a pregnant woman 
• A Youth under age 26 who was in out-of-home care (e.g., foster care) at 
age 18 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.3hlf.htm
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• A child under age 19 

2.3.1.1 Parents and Caretaker Relatives 

The BadgerCare Plus Test Group for a primary person who is residing with his or her 
own child or with a spouse and the spouse’s child will include the following individuals: 
  

1. The primary person and the primary person’s spouse. 
2. A child under age 19 of the primary person or the primary person’s 
spouse. 
3. A co-parent of a primary person’s child or the co-parent of the spouse’s 
child. 
4. Any spouse of a co-parent. 
5. Any child under age 19 of a co-parent. 
6. The other parent of a co-parent’s child. 
7. A child of the primary person’s child or the spouse’s child. 
8. The spouse of an included child, if that child is a parent, or the spouse is 
under age 19. 
9. The co-parent of an included grandchild. 
10. A child under age 19 who is a qualified relative of, and who is residing 
with, the primary person, the primary person’s spouse or another included adult, 
and 
11. An essential person (2.3.1.2) 

  
If the primary person is a caretaker relative of a child under age 19 or the spouse of a 
caretaker relative of a child under age 19, the BadgerCare Plus Test Group will include 
the following individuals: 
  

1. The caretaker relative, 
2. The caretaker relative's spouse, 
3. The child under age 19 who is under the care of the caretaker relative, 
4. A parent of the child, if the caretaker relative has legal custody of the child, 
and 
5. Any essential person (2.3.1.2). 

  
A parent residing with his or her child under the age of 19 must be in the same 
BadgerCare Plus Test Group. This is true even when the legal custody of the child has 
been transferred to someone living outside of the home. The only exception is when 
someone’s parental rights have been legally terminated. See Chapter 10 for more 
information on Child Welfare Parents. 
  
When an eligible child moves from the home of a parent or caretaker relative to the 
home of another caretaker relative or caretaker relative who applies for BadgerCare 
Plus in the same month, the new caretaker relative can be eligible as of the application 
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date. The child, however, isn't eligible in the new household until the 1st of the month 
after his or her eligibility ends on the previous case. 
  
Joint Placement 
In determining eligibility for the parents with equivalent placement, the child is 
considered to be residing in both of their homes. That means the child will be included 
in the group size for both cases and the child’s income will also be counted in both 
cases. See 2.2.1.2 

2.3.1.2 Essential Person 

Note: This policy ends as of March 31, 2014. 
  
To be included in a BadgerCare Plus test group as an essential person, the designated 
person must: 
  

1. Be related to a BadgerCare Plus test group member, and 
2. Be otherwise nonfinancially eligible, and 

   
Provide at least one of the following to another BadgerCare Plus member: 

a. Child care that enables a caretaker relative to: 
• Work outside the home, full time (30 hours or more a week), 
for pay, 
•  Receive training full time (30 hours or more a week), 

1.  
• Attend HS or GED classes full time (as defined by the 
school). 

  

a.  
b. Care for anyone who is incapacitated. 

  
Consider a caretaker relative incapacitated if, due to physical, emotional, or 
mental impairment, he or she cannot: 

• Work full - time at employment paying at least Federal 
minimum wage, or 
• Perform customary, necessary homemaking activities or 
provide adequate care for his or her children without help from 
other persons. 

  
Only IM agency staff in positions or with authority higher than a first line IM Worker may 
approve, deny, and review any essential person designation. The essential person 
designation must be reviewed at least every six months. 
  
Only a caretaker relative who has a child under his or her care may designate an 
essential person. 
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To designate an essential person, the caretaker relative must submit a Designation of a 
BadgerCare Plus Essential Person form to the IM agency. He or she must document 
the need for each essential person and that the person can provide the essential 
service. 
  
More than one person may be designated as an essential person in the same 
BadgerCare Plus group, but only for different children.  No one, however, may be an 
essential person in more than one BadgerCare Plus group. Also, there can be no 
essential person if there is no born child, as in a Maternity Care case. 

2.3.1.3 Pregnant Women 

If the primary person is: 
  

• a pregnant woman or her spouse, 
• not a parent or a caretaker relative and 
• if under age 19, not residing with a parent or a caretaker relative , 

  
the BadgerCare Plus Test Group will include the pregnant woman and her spouse. 
  
If the pregnant woman is under 19 and residing with a parent or caretaker, the parent or 
caretaker would be the primary person and the BadgerCare Plus Test Group would be 
built around the parent or caretaker. 
  
Also include in the BadgerCare Plus Test Group size each fetus the pregnant woman is 
carrying. Verification of the number of fetuses is not required unless questionable.  If the 
number of fetuses is unknown, add 1 to the group size. If verification is required but 
there is no verification on the number of fetuses, add 1 to the group size. 

2.3.1.4 Children 

If the primary person is a child under age 19, is not a parent or a caretaker relative of a 
child in the home, and is not residing with a parent or caretaker relative, the BadgerCare 
Plus group consists solely of the child and his or her spouse if they are residing 
together. In this situation, the spouse of the child under 19 is not eligible for BadgerCare 
Plus unless he or she is also under age 19 or there are other children in the household 
under the care of either the child who is the primary person or the spouse. 

2.3.1.5 Childless Adults 

Prior to April 1, 2014, childless adults will only be eligible for coverage under the 
BadgerCare Plus Core Plan. The Core Plan assistance group only consists of the 
childless adult and his or her spouse, if the member was married at the time of 
application. 
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2.3.2 MAGI Test Group 

Beginning February 1, 2014, BadgerCare Plus eligibility determinations will use 
Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) rules. MAGI rules are based on the concept of 
an individual’s tax household, not necessarily on the physical household or family 
relationships.   
  
Note: Whether or not someone is a tax filer or is a dependent of a tax filer is based on 
what the individual plans to do for the current calendar year’s taxes, not on what he or 
she is required to do based on IRS tax law. For example, many individuals file taxes 
even though they are under the filing threshold because they want to receive their full 
tax refund or to qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit.  If a member reports that they 
plan to file taxes, we will treat them as a tax filer in the test group, even if they are below 
the threshold for being required to file. 
  
All new applicants with a filing date on or after February 1, 2014 will be tested only 
using MAGI rules. Ongoing beneficiaries will transition to MAGI rules at their next 
scheduled renewal or April 1, 2014, whichever is later. 
  
An ongoing beneficiary is someone who: 
  

• Applied prior to February 1, 2014, 
• Was eligible for March 2014, and 
• Remained eligible under the new income limits after April 1, 2014. 

  
Note: Ongoing cases that had a renewal in January or February of 2014 will transition 
to MAGI rules the next time eligibility is run by the worker for the month of April 2014 or 
later. 

2.3.2.1 Forming the Test Group Using MAGI Tax Filing Rules 

All MAGI groups are based on a “target” individual. Each person who can become 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus on the application will be a target during the eligibility 
determination for a case. 

2.3.2.1.1 Tax Filers 

If the individual is a tax filer and is not being claimed as a dependent by anyone else, 
then the individual’s MAGI group consists of the tax filer, the tax filer’s spouse, and any 
dependents the tax filer is claiming. 
  
In general, a person cannot be claimed as a tax dependent unless that person is a U.S. 
citizen, U.S. resident alien, U.S. national, or a resident of Canada or Mexico. 
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Note: IM agencies are not required to know tax rules and can accept self-attestation 
from applicants and members about their tax dependents, unless it is questionable. 
  
Out-of-the-Home Tax Dependents 
A tax filer is able to claim individuals who live outside of their home as their tax 
dependents. Common examples include college students and other adult children, 
elderly parents, or siblings who do not live with the filer(s). Tax filers can also claim a 
deceased child as his or her tax dependent in the year that the child has died. In these 
instances, the deceased child would be included in the tax filer’s group size, though the 
child would not be eligible for benefits on that application. 
  
Deceased Co-Filers 
It is possible for an individual to file his or her taxes jointly with a deceased spouse for 
the taxable year in which the spouse died. However, unlike deceased tax dependents, 
they will not be included as a household member. 
  
Household Members in the Military 
Deployed military members are still considered part of a tax household. Under MAGI 
rules, the military member’s taxable income will count in the household, and he or she 
will also be included in the household’s group size, as appropriate. If a household 
member is absent due to military activity, he or she may be included in the group size, 
but will not be eligible for assistance on this case. 
  
Married Couples 
Married individuals who are living together are always included in each other’s group 
size, even if they are filing taxes separately. If a married couple is living apart but filing 
jointly, the couple is included in each other’s group size. If the married couple is living 
apart and filing taxes separately, or are not planning to file taxes, do not include them in 
each other’s group size. 

2.3.2.1.2 Tax Dependents 

In general, a tax dependent’s household will be the same as his or her tax filer’s 
household, even if the tax dependent is also a tax filer. 
  
However, if any of the following situations apply, then the tax dependent's eligibility is 
based on MAGI relationship rules: 
  

1. The individual is being claimed as a dependent by a parent outside of the 
home (a non-custodial parent is defined as a parent who is living apart from the 
parent applying for benefits for the child), 

2. The individual is being claimed as a dependent by someone who is not their 
parent; or 

3. The individual lives with both parents and his or her parents are not married filing 
jointly. 
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2.3.2.2 Forming the Test Group Using MAGI Relationship Rules 

Individuals who meet one of the exceptions to the MAGI tax filing rules or who are not 
tax filers or tax dependents will have their eligibility determined using MAGI relationship 
rules. 
  
Under relationship rules, only include individuals who are living in the home with the 
target. If the target individual is under 19, then the target’s group includes the target’s 
parents, the target’s spouse, the target’s siblings under age 19 (including step and half 
siblings), and the target’s children. 
  
If the target individual is over age 19, the target’s group includes the target’s spouse 
and the target’s children under age 19. 

2.3.2.3 MAGI Flowchart 

The following flowchart may assist workers in forming groups under MAGI rules. 
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2.3.3 Applying Non-MAGI Rules Versus MAGI Rules 
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Applications Submitted to the Department of Health Services 
Individuals who apply for BadgerCare Plus prior to February 1, 2014 will have their 
eligibility determined using non-MAGI rules. These individuals will continue to be subject 
to non-MAGI rules until March 31, 2014 or their next regularly scheduled 2014 renewal, 
whichever comes later. 
  
If an individual with eligibility under non-MAGI rules reports a change that makes them 
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus, MAGI information will be collected and their eligibility re-
run under MAGI rules in order to determine if the individual may still be eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Individuals who apply for BadgerCare Plus coverage on or after February 1, 2014 will 
have their eligibility determined under MAGI rules. If they request backdated eligibility 
for a month prior to February 2014, we will use non-MAGI rules for those months. 
  
Applications Submitted to the Federally-Facilitated Marketplace 
Beginning October 1, 2013, individuals can submit applications for Medicaid or CHIP 
coverage to the federally-facilitated marketplace (the Marketplace). If the Marketplace 
determines or assesses individuals as eligible for coverage through BadgerCare Plus or 
EBD Medicaid, the account will be transferred to Wisconsin. 
  
The filing date for applications received from the Marketplace is the date the application 
was submitted to the Marketplace. The 30 day processing time frame begins on the 
date the application is submitted to the IM agency’s inbox. 
  
Effective February 1, 2014, DHS will send accounts of applicants and members found 
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus to the Marketplace for a determination of advanced 
premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions.   

2.3.4 Former Foster Care Youth Eligibility 

Former Foster Care Youth are categorically eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Through December 31, 2013, if the primary person is: 
  

• A former foster care youth, 
• under 21 years old, 

  
then the BadgerCare Plus test group will include the youth and his or her spouse if the 
spouse is also a former foster care youth. 
  
Beginning January 1, 2014, if the primary person is: 
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• a former foster care youth, 
• under age 26, 

  
then the BadgerCare Plus group will include the youth and his or her spouse if the 
spouse is also a former foster care youth. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-02 
Release Date: 08/08/2016 
Effective Date: 08/08/2016 

View History 

2.4 THE BADGERCARE PLUS HOUSEHOLD 

2.4.1 Not Living in the Household 
2.4.2 Temporary Absence 
2.4.3 Students 
  
"Living in the Household” means all individuals residing in or temporarily absent (3.5.1) 
from the same residence.  This includes: 
  

1. People living in the home in a community residential confinement 
program. The Department of Corrections (DOC) electronically monitors them. 
  
2. Huber law prisoners who are released from jail to attend to the needs of 
their families can become eligible for BadgerCare Plus. If the other parent is 
continuously absent, the Huber law prisoner may be the caretaker relative in the 
household if the prisoner:   

  
a. Intends to return to the home, and 
b. Continues to be involved in the planning of the support and care of 
the minor children. 
  

Huber Law prisoners who are released for a purpose other than attending to the 
needs of their families are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
Consider them to be absent parents.   
  

2.4.1 Not Living in the Household 

Do not consider the following to be living in the household regardless of whether non-
MAGI rules or MAGI rules were used to determine a member’s BadgerCare Plus group: 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.4hlf.htm
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1. Inmates of a public institution, even if they are temporarily absent from the 
home with the following exceptions: 
  

a. Pregnant inmates applying for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program. 
b. If an inmate resides outside of a public correctional institution for 
more than 24 hours at any one time, he or she can qualify for BadgerCare 
Plus during that time period if he or she meets all other eligibility criteria. 
For example, if an inmate is admitted as an inpatient to a non-prison 
hospital for 24 hours, that inmate could qualify for Medicaid for that day, if 
otherwise eligible. 
  

2.4.2 Temporary Absence 

A child and that child's parent or caretaker relative can be in the same BadgerCare Plus 
Test Group even when not living together if either is temporarily absent, provided: 
  

1. The continuous absence is expected to be for no more than six months. 
  

The IM agency may approve an extension of a child's temporary absence beyond 
six months when the caretaker relatives meet the Child Welfare Caretakers 
requirements. 
 
and 
  

  
2. The caretaker relative continues to exercise responsibility for the care and 
control of the child. See Chapter 10 for more information about Child Welfare. 

  
The following children are not considered temporarily absent: 

• Children who are inmates of public institutions. (3.6) 
• Children who are placed in an institution for 30 or more days, unless they were 

placed there by a child welfare agency. 
• Children who are placed in an IMD, unless they were placed there by a child 

welfare agency. 

  

2.4.3 Students 

When a child under age 19 who is a student living away from their parent’s home 
applies for BadgerCare Plus, the child and his or her family can determine whether the 
student will be on his or her own case, or a temporarily absent individual included in his 
or her parent’s case. 
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Students over age 19 will need to apply for BadgerCare Plus with their own application. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02 
Release Date: 10/25/13 
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2.5 ASSISTANCE GROUPS 

Because of different BadgerCare Plus group requirements, individuals within the 
BadgerCare Plus test group are placed into a BadgerCare Plus Assistance Group (AG). 
  
Every BadgerCare Plus AG will have at least one potentially eligible member. Besides 
these potentially eligible members, other individuals may be designated as a person 
whose income will be counted when determining financial eligibility. Still others may be 
counted only in the group size. Some individuals on the application will not considered 
at all when determining eligibility. Placement in the BadgerCare Plus AG is dependent 
on age, and relationships to the individual(s) whose eligibility is being determined. 
  
The following are the BadgerCare Plus Assistance Groups for individuals whose 
eligibility is being determined using non-MAGI rules: 
  

AG Description 
BCPY: Former Foster Care Youth 
BCPP: Pregnant women, including those who 

become eligible by meeting a 
deductible , or who are eligible for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 

BCPB Continuously Eligible Newborns 
BCPM Non-pregnant, non-disabled adults in 

extensions who owe a premium. 

BCPN Persons who are caretakers relatives, 
or the spouses of caretakers relatives 
in the home including Child Welfare 
caretakers 

BCPL Children living with caretaker relatives 
BCPC Children under age 19, living alone or 

with a parent or parents 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.5hlf.htm
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BCPA Persons age 19 or older who are 
parents, or stepparents of a child in the 
home, including Child Welfare parents 

BCPD Children who are eligible through 
meeting a deductible 

BCPE Adults and children in Earned Income 
and Child Support Extensions who do 
not owe a premium 

  
The following are the BadgerCare Plus Assistance Groups for individuals whose 
eligibility is being determined using the MAGI rules. These AGs will not be effective until 
February 1, 2014. 
  

AG Description 
MAGY Former Foster Care Youth 
MAGP Pregnant women, including those who are 

eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program and those who become eligible 
after meeting a deductible. 

MAGB Continuously Eligible Newborns 
MAGM Adults in extensions who owe a premium. 

MAGN Persons who are caretakers relatives, or the 
spouses of caretakers relatives in the home, 
including Child Welfare caretakers 

MAGL Children living with non-legally 
responsible relatives 

MAGC Children under age 19, living alone or with 
a parent or parents 

MAGA Persons age 19 or older who are parents, or 
stepparents of a child in the home, 
including Child Welfare parents 

MAGD Children who are eligible through meeting 
a deductible 

MAGE Children and Adults in Earned Income and 
Spousal Support Extensions who do not 
owe a premium 

MAGS Childless adults 
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This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01 
Release Date: 01/30/14 
Effective Date: 01/30/14 

View History 
  

2.6 PARTICIPATION STATUS CODES 

The participation status code for each individual in the BadgerCare Plus assistance 
group indicates whether the individual is eligible, counted or excluded in that assistance 
group. 
  

Status Code Budgeting Rules 
(non-MAGI/ MAGI) 

Description Include in 
the Group 

Size? 
CA Counted 

Adult 
non-MAGI and 

MAGI 
Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
in this AG 

Yes 

CC Counted 
Child 

non-MAGI and 
MAGI 

Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
in this AG 

Yes 

EA Eligible 
Adult 

non-MAGI and 
MAGI 

  

Non-financially 
eligible in this 
BadgerCare Plus 
AG 

Yes 

EC Eligible 
Child 

non-MAGI and 
MAGI 

  

Non-financially 
eligible in this 
BadgerCare Plus 
AG 

Yes 

TC Test 
Child 

non-MAGI Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
solely because 
receives SSI or 
Adoption 
Assistance 

Yes 

TA Test 
Adult 

non-MAGI Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
solely because 
receives SSI or 
1619b 

Yes 

XA Excluded 
Adult 

non-MAGI and 
MAGI 

Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
in this AG 

No 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.6hlf.htm
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XC Excluded 
Child 

non-MAGI and 
MAGI 

Ineligible for 
BadgerCare Plus 
in this AG 

No 
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2.7 GROUP EXAMPLES 

2.7.1 BadgerCare Plus Group Examples using non-MAGI Rules 
2.7.2 BadgerCare Plus Group Examples using MAGI Rules 

2.7.1 BadgerCare Plus Group Examples using non-MAGI Rules 

Example1 
  

 
  
  
Example 2 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.7hlf.htm
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Example 3 
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Example 4 
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Example 5 
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Example 6 
  
  
  
Example 7 
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Example 8 
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2.7.2 BadgerCare Plus Group Examples using MAGI Rules 

Example 1 
Temperance (36) and Seeley (40) are married parents and are not filing taxes. They 
have one daughter, Christine (1). 
  

 
  
Example 2 
Mr. and Mrs. Bennett are married parents filing taxes separately but living together. 
They have two daughters, Jane (18) and Elizabeth (17). Jane’s husband, Charles (20) 
also lives with them. Mr. Bennett is claiming Jane, Elizabeth, and Charles as his tax 
dependents. 
  

 
  
Example 3 
Evie (29) and Derrick (32) are divorced parents. Their son, Neal (8), lives with Evie 80% 
of the time and 20% of the time with Derrick. Per their divorce agreement, this is 
Derrick’s year to claim Neal as his tax dependent. Evie also files taxes. Evie is pregnant 
with her second child. Evie, Derrick, and Neal are all applying for health care. Evie and 
Neal will be on their own application. Derrick will have to apply on a separate 
application. 
  

 
  
Example 4 
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Same as above, except Neal lives 60% of the time with Evie and 40% of the time with 
Derrick, and neither Evie nor Derrick file taxes.   
  

 
  
Example 5 
George (50) and Lucille (40) are married tax filers and are filing jointly. They have three 
tax dependents: Michael (14), Lindsay (14), and Buster (6). Buster is Lucille’s nephew 
who George and Lucille care for. Michael and Lindsay are George and Lucille’s 
children. George and Lucille also care for George’s nephew Tobias (17) but will not 
claim him as a tax dependent. All six individuals are requesting health care. 
  

 
  
Example 6: 
Danny (45) and Vicki (40) are non-married co-parents. They submit a BadgerCare Plus 
application for themselves, Danny’s daughter DJ (22), Vicki’s daughter Stephanie (13) 
Danny and Vicki’s daughter, Michelle (10) and Danny’s brother, Uncle Jesse (40). 
Danny claims DJ and Jesse as his tax dependents, while Vicki claims Stephanie and 
Michelle as her tax dependents. 
  

 
  

Note: Uncle Jesse and DJ will need to file their own applications. 
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Example 7 
Emily is a 52 year old grandmother who cares for her daughter, Lorelai (18) and her 
granddaughter, Rory (2). Emily is the primary caretaker of Rory. Lorelai has graduated 
high school. Nobody files taxes. 
  

 
  
Example 8 
Same example as example 7, except Emily is claiming Lorelai and Rory as her tax 
dependents. 
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2.8 TEST GROUP FINANCIAL RULES 

  

2.8.1 Non-MAGI Income Counting Rules 

Under non-MAGI BadgerCare Plus rules, the income and/or needs of all BadgerCare 
Plus Test Group members will be used to determine financial eligibility for all members 
of the BadgerCare Plus Test Group. 
  

Exception: If a child is living with a caretaker relative, the child’s financial eligibility 
is determined using only the child’s income. The income from the caretaker 
relative and the caretaker relative’s spouse is never used in the child’s eligibility 
determination. Likewise, the child’s income is never used when determining the 
eligibility of the caretaker relative and his or her spouse. In addition, caretaker 
relative and the children living with the caretaker relative do not count each other 
when determining the BadgerCare Plus Test Group sizes. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/02/2.8hlf.htm
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All members in the BadgerCare Plus Test Group will be counted when determining the 
BadgerCare Plus Test Group size even when there is no health care request for a 
member.   
   
The income of all counted adults and children in the BadgerCare Plus Test Group is used when 
determining the financial eligibility for all Test Group members, except the income of SSI 
recipients or other Test Adults or Test Children.  
  
Test Children and Test Adults are included in the group size but their income is not 
counted when determining eligibility for the group. 

2.8.2 MAGI Income Counting Rules 

Within each MAGI assistance group, all counted and eligible individuals’ income is 
counted with one exception: if a group member is a child or tax dependent of a counted 
or eligible member within the same assistance group, his or her income is only counted 
if he or she is “expected to be required” to file a tax return for the current year. If the tax 
dependent or child chooses to file a tax return when he or she is not required to, their 
income will not be counted. Tax dependents’ and children’s income is only counted 
when they are “expected to be required” to file a tax return. 
  
Note: If a child or tax dependent is the only individual in the MAGI group, he or she 
would not have a parent or tax filer eligible or counted in that group. As a result, his or 
her income will always be counted, regardless of whether or not she or he is expected 
to be required to file taxes. NLRR children are an example of children who are the only 
counted or eligible individuals in a MAGI group. 
  
Tax dependents are only required to file a tax return if they have more income than the 
filing thresholds set by the IRS each year. If the child or tax dependent of another 
member in the same AG expects to have less annual taxable income than the amounts 
below, his or her income is not included in the eligible determination for the AG. 
  
The following amounts are effective January 1, 2015: 

• $1,050 per year in taxable unearned income, or 
• $6,300 per year in taxable earned income. 

  
Note: The filing thresholds for tax dependents did not change for 2016. 
  
For expected unearned income, do not count Child Support, Social Security, SSI, 
Workers' Compensation, Veteran’s Benefits, money from another person, or educational 
aid. 
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These income counting rules apply regardless of whether the assistance group was 
formed based on MAGI Tax Filing Rules or MAGI Relationship Rules. 
  
The income of household members who are currently out of the home due to military 
activity will still be counted according to MAGI rules, meaning it may be counted, even 
though the individual will not be eligible on the case. 
  
Example 1: Jack and Jill are married and will be filing a joint tax return. They have two 
children, Mickey (16) and Minnie (12), whom they will claim as tax dependents. Minnie has no 
income, but Mickey works at McDonald’s earning approximately $100 per month. Mickey’s 
annual earned income is expected to be $1200; he is not expected to be required to file a tax 
return at the end of the year. Mickey’s income is not counted. 
  
Example 2: Daisy plans to file taxes this year. She has one tax dependent, her son Donald (16), 
who works part-time at a grocery store. He earns $550 per month; with an annual income of 
$6,600. Based on this income, Donald will be expected to be required to file a tax return. 
Donald’s income is counted. 
  
Example 3: Kelly and Zack are non-married co-parents and have two children, Jessie (17) and 
Albert (14). Albert mows lawns in the summer and makes around $300 for the year. The only 
other income in the household is Zack’s unemployment payment in the amount of $400 per 
month ($4800 per year). Kelly and Zack do not plan to file taxes. Albert is not expected to be 
required to file taxes. The AGs for this case will be based on non-MAGI relationship rules since 
there is no tax filer in the household. Zack’s UI payment will be counted, but Albert’s self-
employment income is not counted because he is not expected to be required to file.   
  
Example 4: Michael (16) and his sister Janet (17) live with their aunt Barb and her two 
children. Barb applies for BadgerCare Plus for herself, her two children and her niece and 
nephew. Barb states she plans to file taxes and will be claiming Michael, Janet, and her two 
children as tax dependents. Barb is self-employed earning about $800/mo. Michael is working 
part-time at Dairy Queen earning approximately $150/month. Michael is not expected to be 
required to files taxes. Janet works part-time at Copp’s and makes $600/mo. She will be 
expected be required to file taxes.  
   
Outcome for Barb  
Barb’s assistance group will consist of herself and all four children since she will be claiming 
them as tax dependents. Michael’s income will not be counted in Barb’s AG because he is not 
expected to be required to file taxes, but Janet’s income will be counted in Barb’s group 
because Janet is expected to be required to file taxes. Barb’s children’s AGs will be the same as 
Barb’s AG.  
   
Outcome for Michael and Janet  
Michael and Janet will both have an assistance group of two (MAGL) since they are 
siblings being claimed as tax dependents by someone living in the home who is not 
their parent. Michael and Janet’s groups are built using MAGI relationship rules. All of 
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Michael’s and Janet’s earned income will be countable when determining their eligibility 
because they are not the children or tax dependents of someone in their group.   
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-02 
Release Date: 08/08/2016 
Effective Date: 01/01/2016 

  

3 Residence 

View History 

3.1 RESIDENCE 

A person must be a Wisconsin resident to be eligible for BadgerCare Plus.  He or she 
must: 
  

1. Be physically present in Wisconsin. There is no minimum requirement for 
the length of time the person has been physically present in Wisconsin. 
Wisconsin residents who are temporarily out of state (see 3.5 Absence from 
Wisconsin), including students going to school in another state, do not have to be 
physically present to apply. However, individuals who are not Wisconsin 
residents and intend to move to Wisconsin must be physically present in 
Wisconsin to apply. 
 
and 
2. Express intent to reside in Wisconsin. (see 3.2 Intent to Reside.). Effective 
January 1, 2014, an individual can also be considered a resident of Wisconsin if 
they are physically present in the State and have entered Wisconsin with a job 
commitment or seeking employment, whether or not they are employed at the 
time of application. 

  
Example 1: John, a student from Wisconsin who is attending college in Minnesota, 
can apply for BadgerCare Plus as a Wisconsin resident. 

  
Example 2: Margie lives in Florida. She is planning to move to Wisconsin in the 
next few months. Margie would not be considered a resident of Wisconsin until she 
is physically present in Wisconsin. 

  
Example 3: This is George's first day in Wisconsin. He states that he intends to 
reside in Wisconsin. For BadgerCare Plus purposes, George is a Wisconsin 
resident. 

  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/03/3.1hlf.htm


3.2 Intent To Reside 

38 

Migrant Farm Worker 
  
A migrant who meets the following conditions is a Wisconsin resident:   
  

1. His or her primary employment in Wisconsin is in the agricultural field or 
cannery work, 
2. He or she is authorized to work in the US, 
3. He or she is not related (immediate family) by blood or marriage to the 
employer (as distinguished from a "crew leader"), and 
4. He or she routinely leaves an established place of residence to travel to 
another locality to accept seasonal or temporary employment. 
  

See 12.3 for Special Migrant Laborer Processing Instructions. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-02 
Release Date: 05/14/14 
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3.2 INTENT TO RESIDE 

The intent to reside requirement applies to any adult age 18 or older who is capable of 
indicating intent.  An adult is incapable of, and thus exempt from, indicating intent when: 
  

1. He or she is judged legally incompetent by a court of record; or 
  
2. His or her I.Q. is 49 or less or he or she has a mental age of 7 or less, 
based on tests acceptable to Wisconsin's Department of Health Services ( DHS 
); or 
  
3. Medical documentation obtained from a physician, psychologist, or other 
person licensed by Wisconsin in the field of developmental disability supports a 
finding that he or she is incapable of indicating intent.   
  

  
“Intent to reside” does not mean an intent to stay permanently or indefinitely in the 
State, nor does it require an intent to reside at a fixed address. 
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3.3 DETERMINING STATE RESIDENCY 

3.3.1 Under Age 21 
3.3.2 Age 21 and Over 

3.3.1 Under Age 21 

Not in an institution  
   
A person under age 21 and not residing in an institution is a Wisconsin resident if he or 
she is: 
  

• Age 18 or under age 18 and emancipated from his or her parents, or 
married, and is: 

1. Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, or 
2. Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job commitment 
or to seek employment. 

  
• Under age 18 and not emancipated from his or her parents and not 
married, and is living in Wisconsin. 

  
Note: For individuals received Medicaid based on receipt of Title IV-E 
assistance or if the individual receives State SSI, see section 3.4. 

  

• Living in another state when Wisconsin or one of its county agencies has legal 
custody of him or her. 

  
• Living here and is eligible based on blindness or disability. 

In an institution 

The residence of a person under age 21 living in a Wisconsin institution when his or her 
parents or legal guardian lives outside of Wisconsin is the state in which the parent or 
legal guardian states the institutionalized person is present, and intends to stay. 
  
If the parents have abandoned him or her and no legal guardian has been appointed, 
his or her residence is the state in which the institution is located, and the person 
making the Medicaid application must reside in the same state. 
  
If he or she is married, his or her residence is the institution's state. 

3.3.2 Age 21 and Over 

Not in an Institution 
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The residence of an individual over age 21 who is not institutionalized is Wisconsin if he 
or she is: 
  

• Living in Wisconsin with the intent to remain living in Wisconsin, or 
• Living in Wisconsin and entered Wisconsin with a job commitment or to 
seek employment. 

  
If he or she is incapable of expressing intent, an individual is a resident if he or she is 
living in Wisconsin. 
  
In an institution 
  
The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent before age 21 is 
determined in the same way as the residence of an institutionalized person under age 
21. 
  
The residence of a person who became incapable of indicating intent at age 21 or older 
is Wisconsin, unless the placement was arranged by another state. 
  
For all others, the person is a Wisconsin resident if he or she intends to reside in 
Wisconsin 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02 
Release Date: 10/25/13 
Effective Date: 10/01/13 

View History 
   

3.4 SPECIAL SITUATIONS 

   

3.4.1 State Supplementary Payment 

The State Supplementary Payment (SSP) is the portion of an SSI payment paid by a state, not by 
the federal government.  A person receiving SSP payments is a resident of the state making the 
SSP payment.  
   

3.4.2 IV-E Children 

Federal financial participation is available under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act to pay for 
all or part of a person's foster care or subsidized adoption.  IV-E eligible children are 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/03/3.4hlf.htm
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categorically eligible for BadgerCare Plus in the state where they reside.    
   
It does not affect any maintenance payments for substitute care.  
   
These cases are certified manually outside of CARES.  

3.4.3 Non IV-E Foster Children 

Wisconsin certifies BadgerCare Plus eligibility for non IV-E foster children living in another 
state when Wisconsin or one of its county/tribal agencies has legal custody of the child.  
   
Non IV-E foster children are automatically eligible for BadgerCare Plus.    
   
These cases are certified for BadgerCare Plus manually outside of CARES.  

3.4.4 Homeless Persons 

A homeless person living in Wisconsin meets the requirement of being physically present in 
Wisconsin.  The agency is responsible for using its own address or some other fixed address for 
purposes of mailing the BadgerCare Plus card to eligible applicants who have no fixed dwelling 
place or mailing address.  
   
   
   

This page last updated in Release Number: 13-02 
Release Date: 10/25/13 
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3.5 ABSENCE FROM WISCONSIN 

  
Once established, Wisconsin residency is retained until : 
  

1. The person notifies states that they no longer intend to reside in 
Wisconsin, 
  
2. Another state determines the person is a resident in that state for 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance , 
  
3. Other information is provided that indicates the person is no longer a 
resident. 

3.5.1 Temporary Absence 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/03/3.5hlf.htm
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Temporary absence ends when another state determines the person is a resident there 
for Medicaid/Medical Assistance purposes. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-02 
Release Date: 11/19/07 
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3.6 INMATES 

3.6.1 General BadgerCare Plus Application Process for Inmates of State Correctional 
Institutions 
3.6.2 BadgerCare Plus Application Process for Inmates with Multiple Inpatient 
Admissions 
3.6.3 Huber Law 
  
An inmate is residing in a public institution on an involuntary basis. For example, a 
prisoner in a jail, prison, or other correctional facility is considered an inmate. A staff 
person voluntarily residing in a public institution is not considered an inmate. An 
individual voluntarily residing in an institution while waiting for other living arrangements 
to be made that are appropriate to the person’s needs is not considered an inmate. An 
individual who is legally confined to his or her home by a monitoring device, such as an 
ankle bracelet, is not considered an inmate for the purposes of BadgerCare Plus. 
Individuals who are inmates of a public institution are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
unless they meet the Huber criteria or the following two exceptions: 

• Prenatal exception: Pregnant women may apply for and enroll in the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program (see Chapter 41 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program) while they are inmates. 
• Inpatient exception: If an inmate resides outside a public correctional 
institution for more than 24 hours at any one time, he or she can qualify for 
BadgerCare Plus during that time period if he or she meets all other eligibility 
criteria. For example, if an inmate of a public institution is admitted as an 
inpatient to a medical institution for 24 hours or more and is otherwise eligible, 
manually certify him or her for BadgerCare Plus from the admission date through 
the discharge date. 

3.6.1 General BadgerCare Plus Application Process for Inmates of 
State Correctional Institutions 

Use the following process for inmates of state correctional institutions: 

1. DOC staff submits an ACCESS application, which will be systematically routed to 
EM CAPO. Superintendents of state correctional facilities (wardens) or their 
designee may sign the application for the inmate. Refer to the Medicaid Eligibility 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/03/3.6hlf.htm
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Handbook, Section 6.9.4 State Correctional Institutions for the list of state 
correctional facilities at which the warden may sign the application. 

2. Process the inmate as a one-person household with a living arrangement of "01- 
Independent (Home/Apt/Trlr)" on the Current Demographics page. 

3. If the individual is eligible, close the case in CARES by changing the Healthcare 
Request page to "N." Suppress CARES-generated notices for Medicaid and any 
program the individual has not requested. Manually certify the individual with the 
appropriate medical status code (see Process Help, Section 81.5 Med Stat Code 
Chart for a list of medical status codes), from the hospital admission date through 
the date of discharge. If the individual has not yet been discharged, certify the 
individual from the date of admission through the estimated discharge date. Send 
a manual positive notice to DOC indicating the dates of eligibility. Also, if the 
individual had not been discharged when you sent the initial positive notice, send 
a manual negative notice with the eligibility end date as soon as that is known. If 
you issue the notice after the discharge date, the effective date of the termination 
and the notice should be the date you mail the notice. The reason for the 
termination should be shown as "Individual is incarcerated." The legal citation 
should read "DHS 103.03(6)." For situations in which an inmate has multiple 
inpatient admissions, see Section 3.6.2 BadgerCare Plus Application Process for 
Inmates with Multiple Inpatient Admissions. 

  
Note: It is not necessary to provide a 10-day notice of termination for Medicaid 
when the reason for termination is the return of the individual to prison. The notice 
is considered timely if it is mailed no later than the termination effective date. 
  
4. If the individual is ineligible, confirm the denial in CARES, and allow 
CARES-generated notices to be sent to the designated DOC staff person. 

3.6.2 BadgerCare Plus Application Process for Inmates with Multiple 
Inpatient Admissions 

Generally, a new application must be submitted for each inpatient admission for an 
inmate even if the inmate has already been verified as Medicaid-eligible for a previous 
inpatient admission. 
  
Exception: If an application is pending and an inmate has multiple inpatient admissions 
prior to the application being approved, then all of those eligibility segments can be 
certified under one application. 
  
Example 1: An inmate enters the hospital on April 5 and is discharged on April 7. An 
application is submitted on April 7. While the application is being processed, the inmate 
re-enters the hospital on April 10 and is discharged on April 15. The application is 
approved on April 16. Both the April 5–7 and April 10–15 inpatient hospital stays can 
be covered under the application submitted on April 7. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/6/meh_6.9_inmates.htm#6_9_4
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm#81.5_Med_Stat_Code_Chart
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm#81.5_Med_Stat_Code_Chart
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Example 2: A pregnant inmate has a pregnancy due date of December 15 and is 
enrolled in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program with an end date of December 
31. The pregnant inmate enters the hospital on December 10 and is discharged on 
December 11. An application is submitted on December 14 because she was admitted 
for the delivery of the baby. The application is approved for the December 10 and 11 
inpatient hospital stays. 
  
For inmates who have already had their eligibility verified and who may have another 
hospital admission at a later point during the year, not all information will need to be 
verified (e.g., citizenship, identification). Income will always have to be verified. Any 
information that needs to be verified will be determined by EM CAPO as the application 
is being processed. 

3.6.3 Huber Law 

Huber Law prisoners who are released from jail for the purpose of attending to the 
needs of their families can become eligible for BadgerCare Plus if they: 

• Intend to return to the home, and 
• Continue to be involved in the planning for the support and care of the 
minor children. 

  
Huber Law prisoners who are released for a purpose other than attending to the needs 
of their families are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus. They should be considered absent 
parents. 
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4 Citizenship and Immigration Status 

View History 

4.1 U.S. CITIZENS AND NATIONALS 

4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act 
4.1.2 Compact of Free Association States 
  
All U.S. citizens and U.S. nationals are entitled to apply for and receive BadgerCare 
Plus if they provide documentation of their citizenship and identity and meet all other 
eligibility requirements. 
  
A U.S. citizen is anyone who: 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/04/4.1hlf.htm
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1. Was born in the United States, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana 
Islands, Puerto Rico, Guam or the U.S. Virgin Islands. 
  
2. Was born to a U.S. citizen who was living abroad. 
  
3. Is a naturalized U.S. citizen. 
  

A U.S. national is anyone who was born in American Samoa (including Swain's Island). 
 The Independent State of Samoa (also known as Western Samoa) is not part of 
American Samoa, therefore individuals from this country are not U.S. nationals. 
  

4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act 

The Child Citizenship Act (CCA) of 2000 amended the Immigration and Naturalization Act 
(INA) to provide derivative citizenship to certain foreign-born children of U.S. citizens. This 
applies to individuals who were under 18 years old on February 27, 2001 and anyone born since 
that date.  The children included in the act are: 
 
 

• Adopted children meeting the two year custody requirement 
• Orphans with a full and final adoption abroad or adoption finalized in the U.S. 
• Biological or legitimated children 
• Certain children born out of wedlock to a mother who naturalizes 

   
The CCA provides that foreign-born children who meet the conditions below automatically 
acquire U.S. citizenship on the date the conditions are met.  They are not required to apply for a 
certificate of naturalization or citizenship to prove U.S. citizenship. These conditions are that the 
child: 
 
 

• Has at least 1 parent who is a U.S. citizen (whether by birth or naturalization), 
• Is under 18 years of age, 
• Has entered the U.S. as a legal immigrant,   
• If adopted, has completed a full and final adoption; and, 
• Lives in the legal and physical custody of the US citizen parent in the U.S. 

  
Adopted children automatically become U.S. citizens if the children meet all the above 
conditions and were: 
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a. Adopted under the age of 16, and has been in the legal custody 
of and has resided with the adopting parent or parents for at least two 
years. 
  
b. Adopted while under the age of 18, and has been in the legal 
custody of and has resided with the adopting parent or parents for at least 
two years and is a sibling of another adopted child who is under 16. 
  
c. Orphans adopted while under the age of 16, who have had their 
adoption and immigration status approved by the USCIS (Form I-171, 
"Notice of Approval of Relative Immigrant Visa Petition”). These children 
need not have lived with the adoptive parents for two years. 
  
d. Orphans adopted under the age of 18, who have had their 
adoption and immigration status approved by the USCIS, and are siblings 
of another adopted child who is under the age of 16. These children need 
not have lived with the adoptive parents for two years. 
  

4.1.2 Compact of Free Association States 

Persons from the Compact of Free Association States are not considered U.S. citizens 
or nationals.  The Compact of Free Association States include the Republic of the 
Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia and the Republic of Palau. 
 Citizens of the Compact of Free Association States (CFAS) have a special status with 
the US that allows them to enter the country, work here and acquire an SSN without 
obtaining an immigration status. They are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus, unless they 
have obtained a qualifying immigration status.  Those CFAS citizens who do not have 
one of the immigration statuses listed in 4.3 may qualify for BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services only.    
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4.2 DOCUMENTING CITIZENSHIP AND IDENTITY 

4.2. Documenting Citizenship and Identity  
4.2.1 Covered Programs 

4.2.1.1 Exempt Populations 
4.2.2 Reserved 
4.2.3 Reserved 
4.2.4 Hierarchy of Documentation 
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4.2.5 Agencies Paying for Documentation 
4.2.6 Policy For Special Populations 
4.2.7 Situations which require Special Documentation Processing 

4.2.7.1 Person Add 
4.2.7.2 Presumptive Eligibility/Express Enrollment (EE) 
4.2.7.3 Individuals Without Verification and Affect on Household Eligibility 
4.2.7.4 Child Citizenship Act 2000 
4.2.7.5 Non-citizens 
4.2.7.6 Individuals in Institutional Care Facilities 

 
The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 requires persons applying for or receiving Medicaid 
(MA), BadgerCare Plus, or Family Planning Only Services (FPOS)  benefits, who have declared 
that they are a U.S. citizen, to provide documentation of their U.S. citizenship and identity.  
   
Agencies must comply with the BadgerCare Plus requirement to document citizenship and 
identity in order for the State to obtain Federal matching funds.  As part of on-going DHS quality 
assurance initiatives, periodic quality control reviews will be done on randomly selected cases 
throughout the state to monitor agency compliance.  Cases will be examined to determine if 
proper documentation was used to verify citizenship/identity and if the proper verification code 
was used.  The Department will work with non-compliant agencies to achieve compliance.  
   
Any document used to establish U.S. citizenship must show either a birthplace in the U.S., or 
that the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen. In addition, any document used to establish identity 
must show identifying information that relates to the person named on the document.  For a list 
of all the allowable documentation, see the Acceptable Citizenship and Identity Documentation.  
   
If an individual has provided proof of citizenship in a state other than WI, the IM worker can 
either request that the individual resubmit the documentation or request and obtain a copy or 
electronic copy of the original documentation reviewed by the other state to keep on file in WI.  
   
Agencies may accept citizenship and identity documents from a woman whose last name has 
changed due to marriage or divorce if the documentation matches in every way with the 
exception of the last name. If there is any doubt, the agency may request that the individual 
provide an official document verifying the change such as a marriage license or divorce decree. 
If an individual has changed his or her first and last name, he or she must produce documentation 
from a court or governing agency documenting the change.  
   
Applicants who are otherwise eligible and are only pending for verification of citizenship and 
identity must be certified for health care benefits, within the normal application processing 
timeframe (30 days from the filing date ), as long as the applicant has notified the worker that he 
or she is taking steps to obtain the necessary documentation or has asked for the worker’s 
assistance to obtain it.  
   
The applicant will have 95 days after the request for verification to provide the requested 
documentation. If the requested verification is not provided by the end of the 95 days, the 
eligibility will be terminated with Adverse Action notice, unless the eligibility worker believes a 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/g68/68.3.htm
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good-faith effort is being made by the applicant/member and the worker chooses to extend the 
good-faith period. This 95 day period applies to applications, reviews and person adds. An 
individual can only receive one 95 day good-faith effort period in his or her lifetime.  
   
Once the citizenship and identity requirement is met, it need not be applied again, even if the 
person loses Medicaid at some point and later re-applies. A person should ordinarily be required 
to submit evidence of citizenship and identification only once, unless other information is 
received causing the evidence to be questionable.  
   
Note: Do not re-verify identity for a person who has had his or her identity verified through the 
signing of a Statement of Identity for Children Under 18 Years of Age, F-10154 (English) 
(Spanish).  
  Documentation submitted by the applicant or member to satisfy the requirement must be 
maintained in the case record.    
   
See Process Help Chapter 68.1 for tools that IM workers can use to assist clients and applicants 
in meeting this requirement.  

4.2.1 Covered Programs 

The citizenship and identity documentation requirement covers all non-exempt applicants and 
members of: 
 
 

• BadgerCare Plus 
  

• Medicaid 
  

• Katie Becket  
 
Note: Eligibility for Katie Becket  is determined by Division of Long Term Care 
staff, therefore they will be ensuring citizenship and identity verification. 
  

• Tuberculosis-related Medicaid (TB MA) and, 
  

• Wisconsin Well Woman Medicaid  
 
Note: TB and WWW Medicaid eligibility is not determined in CWW , therefore it is 
important to ensure that citizenship and identity verification is done only once. 

4.2.1.1 Exempt Populations 

The following populations are exempt from the citizenship and identity documentation 
requirement:    

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10154.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10154s.pdf
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• Anyone currently receiving Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI). 
• Anyone who is currently receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. 
• Anyone currently receiving Medicare. 
• Anyone currently receiving Foster Care (Title IV-E and Non IV-E) 
• Anyone currently receiving Adoption Assistance 
• Anyone applying for or receiving BadgerCare Prenatal Program benefits. 
• Anyone who has ever been eligible for Wisconsin Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus 

as a Continuously Eligible Newborn (CEN) 
  

Former SSI and Medicare Recipients 
States cannot consider individuals who received Medicare or SSI in the past to be exempt. An 
individual is not required to be a citizen to receive these benefits. Since SSA does not share 
information regarding the reason benefits were lost, it is not possible to determine if the 
termination was due to citizenship status or not.  
   
Note: Confirm the receipt of SSI, SSDI, and Medicare through SOLQ or DXSA.  
   
Note: Qualified providers who conduct BadgerCare Plus express enrollment determinations must 
not apply the citizenship and identification documentation requirement to persons seeking 
eligibility through express enrollment.  Persons determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus through 
express enrollment are not subject to the documentation requirement until they file a formal 
application with the local Income Maintenance Agency.  

4.2.2 Reserved 

4.2.3 Reserved 

4.2.4 Hierarchy of Documentation 

The list of valid documents used to verify citizenship and identity is divided into five levels in 
accordance with federal regulations.  Level 1 consists of documents of the highest reliability and 
can prove both citizenship and identity.  Levels 2 through 4 consists of documents that can prove 
citizenship only with Level 2 being the most reliable and Level 4 the least reliable.  Level 5 
consists of documents that can prove identity only.  Applicants and members must provide 
documentation from the highest level available that can be obtained during the reasonable 
opportunity period.  
   
If an individual needs to verify citizenship and/or identity at the point of application or renewal 
he or she should try to fulfill the requirement with proof he or she already has available. If an 
applicant/member contacts the agency, work with him or her to check Documentation Levels 1 
through 5 to determine if anything on the list is readily available to the applicant/member. If an 
applicant/member was born in Wisconsin, use the online Birth Query to verify citizenship.  
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In certain circumstances the agency can authorize payment of documentation for an 
applicant/member.  See the 4.2.5, Agencies Paying for Documentation.  
   
Level 1 - Evidence of Citizenship and Identity    
   
Primary evidence documents both citizenship and identity.  Primary evidence of citizenship and 
identity is the most reliable way to establish that the person is a U.S. citizen.  If an individual 
presents documents from level 1, no other information is required; however, relatively few 
BadgerCare Plus applicants and members may be able to provide documents from this group.  
   
Level 2 - Evidence of Citizenship 
  
Secondary evidence of citizenship is the next most reliable way to establish someone is a US 
citizen.  Many BadgerCare Plus applicants and members will be able to present documents from 
level 2 during the reasonable opportunity period and should be encouraged to do so.  Note, 
however, that a document from this group is evidence of U.S. citizenship only and must be 
accompanied by evidence of identity.  
   
Note: Completing an on-line birth query (level 2 documentation) can be done for all persons 
born in Wisconsin.   Enter tran code MNOS on CARES mainframe screen, hit enter, then F2. 
 There is no cost to the agency to use this method of verification.  
   
Level 3 - Evidence of Citizenship 
  
Third level evidence of U.S. citizenship is acceptable and may be presented by applicants and 
members who are unable to obtain level 1 or level 2 evidence during the reasonable opportunity 
period.  As with level 2 evidence, a document from this group is evidence of U.S. citizenship 
only and must be accompanied by evidence of identity.  
   
Level 4 - Evidence of Citizenship 
  
Fourth level evidence of U.S. citizenship is acceptable evidence of the lowest reliability.  While 
most BadgerCare Plus applicants and members will be able to present documents at this level, 
they should do so only if unable to obtain evidence of citizenship from the other levels during the 
reasonable opportunity period.   As with second and third level evidence, a document from this 
group is evidence of U.S. citizenship only and must be accompanied by evidence of identity.  
   
Level 5 - Evidence of Identity 
   
Level 5 documentation can only be used to verify identity.  Documentation of citizenship from 
levels two through four must be accompanied by evidence of the applicant’s or member’s 
identity from Level 5.  
   
The applicant may provide three or more corroborating documents, such as a marriage license, 
divorce decree, high school or college diploma, property deed/title, death certificate, or employer 
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ID card, to prove identity.  This option can only be used if the applicant submitted level 2 or  3, 
not level 4, citizenship documentation. The applicant may not use a document that was also used 
for citizenship verification.    
   
Naturalized Citizens 
  
Naturalized citizens must provide level 1 or 2 citizenship documentation. The Citizenship 
Affidavit is also available for this population if no document from level 1 or 2 is available. This 
group cannot use level 3 or 4 documentation.  

4.2.5 Agencies Paying for Documentation 

The worker can authorize payment for a birth certificate from the state where the applicant was 
born and/or a WI State ID if an applicant/member: 
   

• Has no documentation from Levels 1-5; 
• Needs either an out of state birth certificate and/or has no identity 

documentation; and 
• Requests financial assistance. 

   
  Note: If a member has obtained and already paid for his or her own documentation and later 
asks the IM agency for reimbursement of those costs, the IM agency should not provide 
reimbursement.  If an individual has requested and paid for documentation before applying but 
does not yet have the documentation, do not confirm program eligibility for this individual. 
 Eligibility can only be granted once the individual receives documentation and provides it to the 
agency. 
   
If an individual was born in Wisconsin and not found in the Wisconsin online birth query, 
agencies may authorize payment for a WI birth certificate to verify citizenship.  
   
IM agencies should pay for a birth certificate or state ID card before using the "Special 
Populations" option (4.2.6).  If there is an opportunity to obtain a document that meets federal 
guidelines then that should be pursued.  
   
However, when an applicant/member lacks any identity documentation needed to apply for a 
birth certificate or lacks any citizenship documentation to be able to apply for an ID card, it is 
appropriate to consider using the Written Affidavit for citizenship and/or "Special Populations 
Policy.  
   
In order to obtain birth certificates or state ID cards for applicants/members, agencies need to 
follow the process outlined in Chapter (68.2.5) of Process Help.  

4.2.6 Policy For Special Populations 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/Process_Help/g68/68.2.htm
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It is expected that all non-exempt individuals requesting or receiving BadgerCare Plus provide 
acceptable documentation to verify citizenship and identity from the federally approved Levels 1 
through 5 at application or review.  However, certain special populations may be particularly 
disadvantaged with regard to providing the required documentation.  For some persons within a 
special population, it will be allowable to accept other documents besides those listed in Levels 
1-5, once it is determined that the person is unable to produce any Level 1-5 documentation.  
   
This policy only applies when it is determined that an individual within a special population is in 
a situation where he or she does not have the ability to obtain citizenship or identity 
documentation from Level 1-5  This policy should be used with discretion and only when an 
individual has no other means of meeting the requirement.    
   
Examples of individuals in special populations include, but are not limited to, persons who: 
 
 

• Are physically or mentally incapacitated and whose condition renders them 
unable to provide necessary documentation. 

• Are chronically homeless and whose living arrangement makes it extremely 
difficult to provide the necessary documentation. 

• Are minors. 
• Have religious beliefs that prevent them from securing the documentation. 

   
There are two ways for individuals in special populations to meet the citizenship and identity 
documentation requirement: 
 
 

1. Present other documents besides those listed in Levels 1-5 to meet the 
requirement as long as the document meets the general documentation 
requirement stated here: 

   
"Any document used to establish U.S. citizenship must show either a birthplace in 
the U.S. or that the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen.  Any document used to 
establish identity must show identifying information that relates to the person 
named on the document.” 

   
Some examples of documents that could be used to establish citizenship for 
special populations as long the document shows a birthplace in the U.S. or that 
the person is otherwise a U.S. citizen are: 

 
 

• Hospital "souvenir” birth certificate 
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• Baptismal certificate 
• Native American documentation 

   
Below are examples of documents that could be used to establish identity for 
special populations as long the document shows some identifying information 
(e.g., name, address, telephone number, etc.) that relates to the individual: 

 
 

• Social Security Card 
• Driver education course completion certificate 
• School record or transcript 
• Credit card with signature 
• Voter registration materials 
• Permanent Resident card 

 
Example 1:  Due to their religious practices, an Amish family is not able to present a birth 
certificate for their child because the child was not born in a traditional hospital setting and 
no record of the child’s birth exists within the state system.  In addition, the child is home 
schooled so there is no school identification card to present for identification verification. 
 However, the family is able to produce a signed letter from their church leader that states 
the child’s birth place and birth date.  This document can be used to satisfy the citizenship 
and identification requirement under the policy for Special Populations. 

     

2. The newly developed Statement of Citizenship and/or Identity for Special 
Populations form (F-10161) can be used to meet the new requirement only when 
no other documentation is available from Levels 1-5 or item #1 above. 

   
This form can be completed by a related or unrelated individual who knows the 
applicant/member, an authorized representative , an IM Agency worker, a worker 
for a housing agency who is aware of the individual’s living situation, a 
BadgerCare Plus provider for a minor, etc.  Additional requirements concerning 
the F-10161 are as follows: 

 
 

• The person completing the form attesting to another person’s citizenship 
must be a US citizen. 
• IM agencies are not required to verify the citizenship of the person signing 
the form. 
• Do not accept a form attesting to the citizenship of another individual when 
you know the person completing the form is not a US citizen. 

  

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10161.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10161.pdf
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Example 2:  A 15 year old minor female applies for the Family Planning Only Services 
program.  She does not have a copy of her birth certificate, but because she was born in 
Wisconsin, the IM worker is able to complete an online birth query to verify her citizenship. 
 The applicant does not have a driver license.  She does not have a school ID because the 
school district in which she lives does not issue a school identification card.  Further, she 
does not have nor is she able to provide any other acceptable document from Levels 1-5.  In 
this case, an F-10161 can be signed by a Family Planning Only Services program provider 
on the behalf of a minor female to verify her identity and meet the federal requirement.   

  
Note: An F-10161 can be signed by the authorized representative of an individual who is not 
able to procure any other documents on his or her own.  
   
While an IM worker is obligated to assist an applicant or member who asks for help in meeting 
the citizenship and identity requirement, this does not necessarily mean the IM worker must sign 
the F-10161.  The signatory to the F-10161 must know and be able to truthfully attest to the 
applicant/member’s citizenship or identity.  If an IM worker can do this for an applicant/member, 
then he or she may sign the form.  
   
Maintain copies of any documents secured under this temporary policy in the case record.  Enter 
Case Comments to document why this policy was used and note whether the F-10161 or another 
document was used to verify citizenship and identity.  
   
Note:  An individual who met the citizenship requirement by using documents obtained under 
the Special Populations policy or by using the F-10161 has complied with the federal 
requirement and is not required to provide other documentation at his/ her next review.  
   
If you are aware of an individual who meets the special population category outlined above and 
whose BadgerCare Plus application has been denied or eligibility has ended because of his or her 
inability to provide acceptable documentation, contact the individual to see if the Special 
Populations policies may be applied.  See Documentation Level 7 Acceptable Citizenship and 
Identity Documentation.  
   

4.2.7 Situations Which Require Special Documentation Processing 

4.2.7.1 Person Add 

A person being added to a case is subject to the verification requirement at the time of his or her 
application.  Inform the applicant of the documentation requirement and give him or her the 
"reasonable opportunity period” to comply.  Do not grant eligibility for the individual until 
he/she has submitted valid documentation.  If documentation is not received timely, deny 
Medicaid for that individual only.  Do not require other non-exempt household members to 
submit citizenship or identification documentation until their next review.  

4.2.7.2 Presumptive Eligibility/Express Enrollment (EE) 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10161.pdf
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/g68/68.3.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/g68/68.3.htm
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Qualified providers who conduct BadgerCare Plus presumptive eligibility/express enrollment 
determinations must not apply the citizenship and identification documentation requirement to 
persons seeking presumptive eligibility.  Persons determined presumptively eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus are not subject to the documentation requirement until they file a formal 
application with the local Income Maintenance agency.    

4.2.7.3 Individuals Without Verification and Affect on Household Eligibility 

IM workers should not delay an individual household member’s eligibility when awaiting 
another household members’ citizenship or identity verification. The individual pending for 
citizenship/identity should be counted as part of the group when determining eligibility for other 
group members.  See Process Help Chapter 68.2 for processing instructions.    

4.2.7.4 Child Citizenship Act 2000 

Certain foreign-born individuals have derivative U.S. citizenship as a result of the Child 
Citizenship Act (CCA).  Within the context of the BadgerCare Plus citizenship verification 
requirement, this means that for any applicant or member claiming citizenship through the CCA, 
IM workers should not request documentation for that person.  In these cases, IM workers need 
to acquire documentation proving the citizenship and identity of at least one U.S. citizen parent. 
 The parent’s U.S. citizenship is the basis for the child receiving derivative citizenship.     
   
For persons who meet the citizenship verification requirement through the means allowed in the 
CCA, this is considered level 2 evidence.  Therefore this counts for citizenship only and the 
individual needs to provide another document to verify identity.  The code <CA> should be used 
in the BadgerCare Plus Citizenship Verification field.      
   
See 4.1.1 Child Citizenship Act of 2000  

4.2.7.5 Non-citizens 

As a reminder, do not request or require citizenship and identity documentation from individuals 
who have not declared that they are citizens.  Non-citizens who apply for IM programs are not 
subject to this policy.  Legal non-citizens are subject to the verification process through SAVE 
and undocumented non-citizens do not have any status that can be verified.  Undocumented non-
citizens can apply for Emergency Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program and should not 
be subject to the citizenship verification policy.  
   
When an individual who had legal non-citizen status subsequently gains US Citizenship, this is 
recorded in SAVE.  Therefore SAVE can be used to verify these individuals' citizenship.  The 
verification result from SAVE will be used to verify these individuals' citizenship.  The 
verification result from SAVE will be "individual is a US Citizen".  Please consult Operations 
Memo 04-10, for instructions on using SAVE.  Use the <SV> code in the Medicaid Citizenship 
verification field when using SAVE for this population.  These individuals do still need proof of 
identity since the SAVE verification is considered to be Level 2 citizenship documentation.  

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/Process_Help/g68/PH_68.2_Verification_codes_and_documentation.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/ops-memos/2004/pdf/04-10.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/ops-memos/2004/pdf/04-10.pdf
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4.2.7.6 Individuals in Institutional Care Facilities 

Disabled individuals in institutional care facilities may have their identity attested to by the 
facility director or administrator when nothing else is available.  Use the Statement of Identity 
for Persons In Institutional Care Facilities (F-10175) for this purpose.  A medical institution can 
be, but is not limited to, skilled nursing facilities (SNF), intermediate care facilities (ICF 
Intermediate Care Facility), institutions for mental disease ( IMD Institute for Mental Disease), 
and hospitals.    
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Immigrants are persons who reside in the U.S., but are not U.S. citizens or nationals. 
The immigrants described below, who apply for BadgerCare Plus and meet all eligibility 
requirements, are entitled to receive BadgerCare Plus benefits. 
  

1. A refugee admitted under INA Section 207. A refugee is a person who 
flees his or her country due to persecution or a well-founded fear of persecution 
because of race, religion, nationality, political opinion, or membership in a social 
group. An immigrant admitted under this refugee status may be eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus even if his or her immigration status later changes. 

  

2. An asylee admitted under INA Section 208. Similar to a refugee, an asylee is a 
person who seeks asylum and is already present in the U.S. when he or she 
requests permission to stay. An immigrant admitted under this asylee status may 
be eligible for BadgerCare Plus even if his or her immigration status later 
changes. 

  

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10175.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/04/4.3hlf.htm
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3. An immigrant whose deportation is withheld under INA Section 243(h) and 
such status was granted prior to April 1, 1997, or an immigrant whose removal is 
withheld under INA Section 241(b)(3) on or after April 1, 1997. An immigrant 
admitted under this status may be eligible for BadgerCare Plus even if his or her 
immigration status later changes. 

  
4. A Cuban/Haitian entrant. An immigrant admitted under this Cuban/Haitian 
entrant status may be eligible for BadgerCare Plus even if his or her immigration 
status later changes. 

  
Haitians paroled into the U.S. through the Haitian Family Reunification Parole 
Program are considered Cuban/Haitian entrants. 

  
5. An American Indian born in Canada who is at least 50 percent American 
Indian by blood or an American Indian born outside the U.S. who is a member of 
a federally recognized Indian tribe. 

  
6. **Lawfully admitted for permanent residence under INA 8 USC 1101 et 
seq. 

  
7. **Paroled into the U.S. under INA Section 212(d)(5). 

  
8. **Granted conditional entry under immigration law in effect before April 1, 
1980 [INA Section 203(a)(7)]. 

  
9. **An immigrant who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in 
the U.S. and meets certain other requirements. 

  
10. **An immigrant whose child has been battered or subjected to extreme 
cruelty in the U.S. and meets certain other requirements. 

  
11. **An immigrant child who resides with a parent who has been battered or 
subjected to extreme cruelty in the U.S. and meets certain other requirements. 

  
12. Victims of a severe form of trafficking in accordance with 107(b)(1) of the 
Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (P.L. 106-386). 

  
**If these immigrants lawfully entered the U.S. on or after August 22, 1996, they must 
also be one of the following: 

a. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and an honorably discharged veteran of the 
U.S. Armed Forces 

b. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and on active duty (other than active duty 
for training) in the U.S. Armed Forces 
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c. Lawfully residing in Wisconsin and the spouse, unmarried dependent 
child, or surviving spouse of a person described in one of the first two 
criteria 

d. An Amerasian 
e. Resided in the U.S. for at least five years since his or her date of entry 

(see Section 4.3.3 Continuous Presence), or 

   
Beginning October 1, 2009, the following no longer have to wait five years to be eligible for full-
benefit Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus:  

• Children younger than 19 years old  
• Young adults younger than 21 years old residing in an IMD  
• Pregnant women who are either: 

o       Lawfully admitted for permanent residence (CARES TCTZ Code #1 in the 
Immigration Status Chart below), 

o       Lawfully present under Section 203(a)(7) (Code #3 in the Immigration 
Status Chart below), 

o       Lawfully present under Section 212(d)(5) (Code #6 in the Immigration 
Status Chart below), or 

o       Who suffer from domestic abuse and are considered to be a battered 
immigrant (Code #16 in the Immigration Status Chart below) 

   
This policy applies to both persons in existing open cases and new applicants. Women 
have the five-year ban lifted when their pregnancy is verified and continues for an 
additional 60 days after the last day of pregnancy and through the end of the month in 
which the 60th day occurs. 
   
In addition, if children younger than 19 years old, young adults younger than 21 years old 
residing in an IMD, and pregnant women who are legally present in the U.S. are under any of the 
non-immigrant statuses listed in the table below, they may also qualify for BadgerCare Plus if 
otherwise eligible.  

USCIS Class of Admission Code or Section of the Federal Law Citation 
Authorizing Class 

Description Class of Admission Code or Section of 
Law Citation 

Aliens currently in temporary resident status 
pursuant to section 210 or 245A of the Act. 

S16, S26, W16, W25, W26, W36 or 
8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(i) 

Aliens currently under Temporary Protected 
Status (TPS)  
pursuant to section 244 of the Act. Child 
accompanying or following to join a K-3 alien. 

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(ii) 

Family Unity beneficiaries pursuant to section 
301 of Pub. L.  

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(iv) 
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101-649. (These are the spouses and 
unmarried children of individuals granted 
temporary or permanent residence under 
Section 210 or 245A above.) 
Aliens currently under Deferred Enforced 
Departure (DED)  
pursuant to a decision made by the President. 

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(v) 

Aliens currently in deferred action status 
pursuant to Service  
Operations Instructions at OI 242.1(a)(22). 

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(vi) 

Aliens who are the spouse or child of a United 
States citizen  
whose visa petition has been approved and 
who have a pending application for adjustment 
of status 

8 CFR 103.12(a)(4)(vii) 

Legal non-immigrants from the Compact of 
Free Association states (Republic of the 
Marshall Islands, the Federated States of 
Micronesia and the Republic of Palau) who are 
considered permanent non-immigrants. 

NA 

An alien who is the fiancée or fiancé of a U.S. 
citizen entering solely to conclude a valid 
marriage contract. 

K-1 

Child of K-1 K-2 
Spouse of a U.S. citizen who is a beneficiary 
of a petition for status as the immediate 
relatives of a U.S. citizen (I-130). 

K-3 

Child accompanying or following to join a K-3 
alien. 

K-4 

Parent of an alien classified SK3 or SN3 N-8 
Child of N-8 or of an alien classified SK1, 
SK2, SK4, SN1, SN2, SN4. 

N-9 

Temporary worker to perform work in 
religious occupations. 

R1 

Spouse and children of R1 R2 
An alien who is in possession of critical 
reliable information concerning a criminal 
organization or enterprise, is willing to supply 
or has supplied such information to Federal or 
State law enforcement authorities or a Federal 
or State court; and whose presence in the 
United States the Attorney General determines 
is essential to the success of an authorized 
criminal investigation or the successful 
prosecution of an individual involved in the 

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S)(i) 
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criminal organization or enterprise 
An alien who the Secretary of State and the 
Attorney General jointly determine is in 
possession of critical reliable information 
concerning a terrorist organization, enterprise, 
or operation; is willing to supply or has 
supplied such information to Federal law 
enforcement authorities or a Federal court; 
will be or has been placed in danger as a result 
of providing such information; and is eligible 
to receive a reward from the State Department. 

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S)(ii) 

An alien who is the spouse, married and 
unmarried sons and daughters, and parents of 
an alien in possession of critical reliable 
information concerning either criminal 
activities or terrorist operations. 

8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(S) 

Individuals who have suffered substantial 
physical or mental abuse as victim of criminal 
activity. 

U-1 

An alien who is the spouse, child, unmarried 
sibling or parent of the victim of the criminal 
activity above. 

U-2, U-3, U-4, U-5 

An alien who are the spouses or children of an 
alien lawfully admitted for permanent 
residence and who have been waiting since at 
least December 2000 for their visa application 
to be approved. 

V-1, V-2, V-3 

   
Immigrants who do not appear in the lists above (e.g., someone with a status of DACA) 
and who apply for BadgerCare Plus and meet all eligibility requirements except for 
citizenship are entitled to receive BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services only (see 
Chapter 39 Emergency Services). 
  
Pregnant immigrants who do not appear in the list above and who apply for BadgerCare 
Plus and meet the eligibility requirements, except for citizenship, are entitled to receive 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program benefits (see Chapter 41 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program) and/or BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services (see Chapter 39 Emergency 
Services). 
  
Immigration status is an individual eligibility requirement. An individual's immigration 
status does not affect the eligibility of the BadgerCare Plus Group. The citizen spouse 
or child of an ineligible immigrant may still be eligible even though the immigrant is not.  
  
Verify immigration status using the procedures in the SAVE Manual.  

4.3.1 Public Charge 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/5/41/41.1.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/5/41/41.1.htm
https://save.uscis.gov/Web/
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The receipt of BadgerCare Plus by an undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrant or 
by the children or spouse for whom the individual is legally responsible does not establish the 
person as a public charge.  
   
Undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrants are considered to be a public charge if, 
while receiving BadgerCare Plus, they are in a medical institution for more than the length of a 
rehabilitative stay.  
   
Undocumented, non-qualifying, or qualifying immigrants concerned about being considered a 
"public charge," should be directed to contact the INS field office to seek clarification of the 
difference between rehabilitative and other types of institutional stays.  

4.3.2 Immigration and Naturalization Service Reporting 

Do not refer an immigrant to INS unless information for administering the BadgerCare Plus 
program is needed (for example, if BadgerCare Plus needs to determine an individual's 
immigration status or an individual’s location for repayment or fraud prosecution).  

4.3.3 Continuous Presence 

Certain non-citizens who arrived in the U.S. on or after August 22, 1996, are subject to a five-
year ban on receiving federal benefits (including BadgerCare Plus and Medicaid), other than 
emergency services. For these immigrants, the five-year ban is calculated beginning on the day 
on which they gain qualified immigrant status. However, certain applicants who alleged an 
arrival date in the U.S. before August 22, 1996, and obtained legal qualified immigrant status 
after August 22, 1996, are not subject to the five-year ban and may be eligible to receive federal 
BadgerCare Plus enrollment. The immigrants described below, who apply for BadgerCare Plus 
and meet all eligibility requirements, are entitled to receive BadgerCare Plus benefits:  

• A non-citizen who arrived in the U.S. before August 22, 1996, in a legal, but non-
qualified, immigration status and changed his or her status to a qualified 
immigrant on or after August 22, 1996. This individual would not be subject to the 
five-year ban if he or she remained continuously present from his or her date or 
arrival in the U.S. until the date he or she gained qualified immigration status.  

• A non-citizen who arrived in the U.S. before August 22, 1996, in undocumented 
status or who overstayed his or her original visa is treated the same as someone 
who arrived and remained in the U.S. with valid immigration documents. 
Therefore, if this individual remained continuously present from his or her date of 
arrival in the U.S. until the date he or she gained qualified immigration status, he 
or she would not be subject to the five-year ban. 

• For those non-citizens who arrived in the U.S. with or without documentation on 
or after August 22, 1996, or for those whose continuous presence cannot be 
verified, the five-year ban applies from the date the individual obtained qualified 
immigrant status. 

https://www.uscis.gov/about-us/find-uscis-office/field-offices/wisconsin
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An individual meets the "continuous presence" test if he or she:  

• Did not have a single absence from the U.S. of more than 30 days, or 
• Did not have a cumulative number of absences totaling more than 90 
days. 

  
To establish continuous presence, require a signed statement from the applicant stating he or she 
was continuously present for the period of time in question. The signed statement will be 
sufficient unless a worker believes the information is fraudulent or further information received 
now indicates that it is questionable.  
   
Below is one example of a signed statement:  
   

I, first and last name, hereby declare that I have continuously resided in the United 
States between the day I arrived in the United States, date here, and the date I 
received qualified alien status, date here.  I have not left the United States in that 
time for any single period of time longer than 30 days or for multiple periods 
totaling more than 90 days. 
  
Applicant/Authorized Representative Signature, Date  

   
Verification 
  
Primary verification is done through SAVE, which is an automated telephone and 
computer database system. A worker processing an application can compare the date 
received from SAVE with the date on the immigration documents presented. The 
primary verification query via SAVE most likely results in returning the latest date of any 
qualified alien status update for an individual, not his or her original date of arrival. The 
only way to obtain an accurate date of arrival for those who do not meet an exemption 
category and who allege a date of arrival prior to August 22, 1996, is through the 
secondary verification procedure. 
  
It may be necessary to complete a secondary verification procedure with USCIS, 
including confirming the date of arrival, in the following situations: 

• The applicant does not fall into any of the categories of non-citizens who 
are exempt from the five-year ban (e.g., refugees, asylees, those with military 
service). 
• An IM worker has made an initial or primary verification inquiry using the 
SAVE database. The information from the inquiry conflicts with information on the 
applicant's immigration documents or what he or she is telling the IM worker. 
• A non citizen applicant tells an IM worker that he or she came to the U.S. 
prior to August 22, 1996. If he or she arrived in a legal or documented status, the 
IM worker needs to verify the date of arrival to ensure that the correct alien 
eligibility rules are being applied. 
• SAVE returns the message "Institute Secondary Verification." 
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• The IM worker finds any questionable information in the initial verification 
process. 

   
The secondary verification procedure is a manual Document Verification Request and 
includes two forms, Form G-845S and Form G-845 Supplement. These two forms must 
be submitted together in order to obtain the accurate U.S. arrival date. When sending 
the forms, include any photocopies of immigration documents presented. Although 
USCIS maintains a sub-office in Milwaukee, this office does not process these requests. 
Send the forms to the following address:  
  
US Citizenship and Immigration Services  
ATTN: Immigration Status Verifier  
10 West Jackson Blvd.  
Chicago, IL 60604  
  
An Immigration Status Verifier will research the alien's records and complete the 
response portion of the verification request.  
  
Note: An applicant who has provided documentation of his or her qualifying immigrant 
status is considered eligible, pending verification from INS.  
  
Consult the SAVE manual for more information.  
   
Undocumented Non-Citizens 
  
In cases in which it is known that the applicant originally arrived in the U.S. in 
undocumented status, do not attempt to verify his or her status with the USCIS. 
Undocumented immigrants do not have any official documentation regarding their date 
of arrival. Therefore, if a worker needs to establish a date of arrival for a qualified 
immigrant who originally arrived as an undocumented immigrant prior to August 22, 
1996, alternative methods need to be used. In such cases, the applicant must provide at 
least one piece of documentation that shows his or her presence in the U.S. prior to 
August 22, 1996. This may include pay stubs, a letter from an employer, lease or rent 
receipts, or a utility bill in the applicant's name.  
 

Example 1: The legal status conferred on a non-citizen by immigration law—Toshi 
entered the U.S. February 2, 2004, with qualified immigrant status. She is applying for 
BadgerCare Plus in February 2008. The IM worker should first determine if she is in one of 
the immigrant categories exempt from the five-year ban. If Toshi is not exempt, then she 
must wait five years before qualifying for BadgerCare Plus. She can be enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus after February 2, 2009. 

 
Example 2: Shariff arrived as a student in June 2002. On June 5, 2006 he was granted 
asylum. The five-year ban does not apply because asylees are exempt from the ban. 
Secondary verification is not necessary. Shariff is eligible to be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus 
if he meets other financial and non-financial criteria. 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/EM/pdf/SAVEManual.pdf
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Example 3: Katrin entered the U.S. March 3, 1995, and gained qualified immigrant status 
June 20, 1995. She is applying for BadgerCare Plus in February 2008. She is a qualified 
immigrant who entered the U.S. prior to August 22, 1996. There is no need to apply the 
five-year ban. She is eligible for BadgerCare Plus if she meets other financial and non-
financial criteria.  

 
Example 4: Juan entered the U.S. as an undocumented immigrant on April 1, 1996. He 
applied for BadgerCare Plus on February 1, 2008. His immigration status changed to lawful 
permanent resident on March 3, 2005. He has signed a self-declaration stating he remained 
continuously present in the U.S. between April 1, 1996, and March 3, 2005. Additionally, 
Juan provided a copy of a lease showing a date prior to August 1996. He is eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus if he meets other financial and non-financial criteria. 

 
Example 5: Elena entered the U.S. on July 15, 1999, on a temporary work visa and obtained 
qualified immigration status on October 31, 2004. She applied for BadgerCare Plus 
February 1, 2008, and has been in the U.S. for over five years. Elena is not in one of the 
immigrant categories exempt from the five-year ban. Therefore, the five-year ban would 
have to be applied since Elena's original entry date is after August 22, 1996. The five-year 
clock starts from the date she obtained qualified immigration status, so she would be able to 
apply for BadgerCare Plus after October 31, 2009. 

 
Example 6: Tomas entered the U.S. on April 8, 1996, on a visitor’s visa. He obtained 
qualified alien status on September 22, 2003. Tomas applied for Medicaid on May 5, 2008. 
The IM worker completed primary verification and USCIS responded with the date of entry 
as September 22, 2003, since that was the last updated date on his status. The IM worker 
needs to confirm with the applicant that this is the original date he arrived in the U.S. Tomas 
explained that he arrived in 1996; therefore, the IM worker needs to conduct secondary 
verification. USCIS responds and confirms that the original date of arrival was April 8, 
1996. Additionally, the IM worker needs to confirm that the applicant was continuously 
present between April 8, 1996, and September 22, 2003. Tomas signs a self-declaration 
confirming this and is found eligible. If the IM worker had used September 22, 2003, as the 
date of entry in CARES, Tomas would have been incorrectly subject to the five-year ban 
and not eligible until September 22, 2008. 

4.3.4 Immigration Status Chart 

CARES 
TCTZ 
Code 

Immigration 
Status 

Arrived 
Before 
August 
22, 1996 

Veteran* 
Arrived 
before 
August 
22, 1996 

Arrived 
on or 
after 
August 
22, 1996 

Veteran* 
Arrived 
on or 
after 
August 
22, 1996 

Children 
under 
age 19 
and 
pregnant 
women; 
Arrived 
on or 



BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

65 

after 
August 
22, 1996 

01 Lawfully 
admitted for 
permanent 
residence 

Eligible Eligible Ineligible 
for 5 
years 

Eligible Effective 
October 
1, 2009 
Eligible 

02 Permanent 
resident 
under color of 
law 
(PRUCOL) 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible 

03 Lawfully 
present under 
Section 
203(a)(7) 

Eligible Eligible Ineligible 
for 5 
years 

Eligible Effective 
October 
1, 2009 
Eligible 

04 Lawfully 
present under 
Section 207(c) 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

05 Lawfully 
present under 
Section 208 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

06 Lawfully 
present under 
Section 
212(d)(5 

Eligible Eligible Ineligible 
for 5 
years 

Eligible Effective 
October 
1, 2009 
Eligible 

07 IRCA (No 
longer valid) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

08 Lawfully 
admitted - 
temporary 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible 

09 Undocumented 
Alien 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible 

10 Illegal 
Immigrant 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible 

11 Cuban/Haitian 
Entrant 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

12 Considered a 
Permanent 
Resident by 
USCIS 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Eligible 

13 Special 
agricultural 
worker under 
Section 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Eligible 
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210(A) 
14 Additional 

special 
agricultural 
worker 
under Section 
210(A) 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Eligible 

15 Withheld 
deportation - 
Section 243(h) 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

16 Battered 
Immigrant 

Eligible Eligible Ineligible 
for 5 
years 

Eligible Effective 
October 
1, 2009 
Eligible 

17 Amerasian Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 
18 Foreign Born 

Native 
American 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

19 Victims of 
Trafficking 

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible 

20 Lawfully 
Residing 

Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Ineligible Eligible 

   
* "Veteran" includes certain veterans and active duty servicemen and women, their 
spouses, dependent children, or certain surviving spouses. 

4.3.5 Iraqis and Afghans With Special Immigrant Status 

Beginning December 19, 2009, Special Immigrants from Iraq or Afghanistan (Class of 
Admission Codes SI-1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8) are to be treated like they are refugees when 
determining their eligibility for BadgerCare Plus for as long as they have this Special 
Immigration status. This policy applies to these immigrants regardless of when they 
received this status. 
  

Class of 
Admission 
Code 

Description CARES Alien 
Registration Status 
Code 

SI1 Nationals of Iraq or Afghanistan 
serving as interpreters with the 
U.S. Armed Forces 

Code 04 

SI2 Spouses of an SI1 Code 04 
SI3 Children of an SI1 Code 04 
SI6 Nationals of Iraq or Afghanistan 

serving as interpreters with the 
U.S. Armed Forces 

Code 04 
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SI7 Spouses of an SI6 Code 04 
SI8 Children of an SI6 Code 04 

4.3.5.1 Counting Refugee-Related Income 

Refugee Cash Assistance Program payments are not counted as income for BadgerCare Plus. 
Refugee Cash Assistance is administered by W-2 agencies and is made available for refugees 
who do not qualify for W-2.  
   
Refugee "Reception and Placement" payments are not counted as income for BadgerCare Plus. 
Reception and Placement payments are made to refugees during the first 30 days after their 
arrival in the U.S. Reception and Placement payments are made by voluntary resettlement 
agencies and may be a direct payment to the refugee individual or family or to a vendor.  

4.3.5.2 Refugee Medical Assistance 

If an individual does not meet the other eligibility requirements for BadgerCare Plus, he or she 
may apply for Refugee Medical Assistance, which is not funded by BadgerCare Plus. Refugee 
Medical Assistance is a separate benefit from BadgerCare Plus but provides the same level of 
benefits. Refugee Medical Assistance is available only in the first eight months after a special 
immigrant’s date of entry. If it is not applied for in that eight-month period, it cannot be applied 
for later. Iraqi immigrants may be eligible for Refugee Medical Assistance for eight months, and 
Afghan immigrants may be eligible for Refugee Medical Assistance for six months.  
   
While W-2 agencies have contractual responsibility for providing Refugee Medical Assistance, 
they need to coordinate with economic support agencies to ensure eligibility for all regular 
BadgerCare Plus subprograms is tested first.  
   
More information about this program is in the Wisconsin Works (W-2) Manual, Section 18.3 
Refugee Medical Assistance.  
   
Note: The federal Medicaid eligibility for all other refugees admitted under Alien 
Status Code 04 remains the same. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-01 
Release Date: 02/15/2016 
Effective Date: 02/15/2016 

5 Medical Support and Third Party Liability 

View History 
   

5.1 Medical Support 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/w2/manual/18/18.3.1_RMA_Overview.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/w2/manual/18/18.3.1_RMA_Overview.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.1hlf.htm
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5.1.1 Recovery of Birth Costs  
5.1.2 Referral to CSA  
   
Medical Support refers to the obligation that a parent has to pay for his or her child’s medical 
care, either through the provision of health insurance coverage or direct payment of medical 
bills.  The Child Support Agency (CSA) is responsible for establishing medical support orders 
for some children receiving BadgerCare Plus who have an absent parent. The CSA is also 
responsible for establishing paternity and establishing medical support obligations for unpaid and 
ongoing medical support (including recovery of birth costs.)  

5.1.1 Recovery of Birth Costs 

When the non marital father of the unborn child is not included in the BadgerCare Plus group at 
the initial eligibility determination he could be held responsible for repayment of birth costs.  
   

5.1.2 Referral to CSA 

The IM agency provides the CSA with information vital to opening medical support cases. The 
IM agency also supplies continuing information, which assists the CSA in providing medical 
support services. At confirmation, CARES automatically sends a referral to the CSA for all 
BadgerCare Plus applications and person adds that include minors eligible under a Medicaid 
(T19) Medical Status Code, unless the referral field on the Absent Parent Page is answered ‘No’. 
The information on the Absent Parent Page must be filled out accurately and to the best of the 
worker’s ability, given that detailed questions about absent parents cannot be asked during the 
application process for health care-only applications. The referral will still be sent to the CSA, 
even if the absent parent’s name is unknown.  
   
Note:  A Referral to Child Support Form (DWSW 3080) only needs to be completed when the 
absent parent page cannot be completed in CWW .  
   
Note: While IM agencies are to continue referring the following individuals who are receiving 
BadgerCare Plus, the CSA’s will be determining on their own, which cases will be provided 
Child Support Services.  Not all BadgerCare Plus members will qualify for free Child Support 
services and be required to cooperate with CSA’s.  
   
   
The following individuals (including minors) for whom BadgerCare Plus is requested or being 
received, must be referred to the local CSA unless an exception is noted: 
 
 

1. Pregnant woman who is unmarried or married and not living with her husband. 
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Pregnant women are not required to cooperate with the CSA during the pregnancy 
and for two months after the end of pregnancy.  The woman's eligibility for 
BadgerCare Plus will continue during this period, regardless of her cooperation. 

   
Exception:  Do not refer pregnant women receiving the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Benefit to CSA. 

 
 

2. Child receiving SSI only if the parent or caretaker relative requests child support 
services for the child.  Do not sanction this parent or caretaker relative if he or 
she does not cooperate with the CSA. 

 
 

3. Non Marital coparents when paternity has not been legally established.   This 
includes a non-marital co-parent even when: 

 
 

a. A Statement of Paternity (IMM, Ch. I, Appendix 29g) has been completed, 
b. Both parents are in the home. 

 
Exception:  Do not refer parents to the CSA when both parents are in the 
home and the father's paternity has been legally established. (Paternity is 
legally established by a court order or by a Voluntary Paternity 
Acknowledgment Form signed on or after May 1, 1998 and filed with the 
Wisconsin Vital Records office.) 
  

Note: If a father's name appears on a Wisconsin Birth Certificate for a child born 
after 5/11/1998, it means paternity has been established. 
  

4. Natural or adoptive parent(s) not living in the household. 
  

Exception:  Do not refer to the CSA when the only reason a parent or stepparent 
is not in the home is because he or she is in the military. 

 
 

5. Married natural parents in the home, but: 
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a. Child was born prior to their marriage, and 
  
b. Paternity was not established by court action, or the birth not legitimized after 
their marriage. 
     
Do not refer the following individuals: 
   

1. Former Foster Care Youths, unless the youth is also the parent of an eligible 
child in the household. 
  

2. Pregnant women eligible under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 

  
  
  
  
  

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-03 
Release Date: 09/05/14 
Effective Date: 09/05/14 

View History 
   

5.2 Medical Support / CSA Cooperation 

5.2.1 Introduction  
5.2.2 Failure to Cooperate  

5.2.1 Introduction 

Unless the person is exempt or has good cause for refusal to cooperate (see 5.3), each applicant 
/member that is referred, must, as a condition of eligibility, cooperate in: 
 
 

1. Establishing the paternity of any child born out of wedlock for whom BadgerCare 
Plus is requested or received, and 

 
 

2. Obtaining medical support for the applicant and for any child for whom 
BadgerCare Plus is requested or received. 

   
Cooperation includes any relevant and necessary action to achieve the above.  As a part of 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.2hlf.htm
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cooperation, the applicant may be required to: 
 
 

1. Provide verbal or written information known to, possessed by, or reasonably 
obtainable by the applicant. 

 
 

2. Appear as a witness at judicial or other hearings or proceedings. 
  

3. Provide information, or attest to the lack of information, under penalty of perjury. 
  

4. Pay to the CSA any court ordered medical support payments received directly 
from the absent parent after support has been assigned. 
  

5. Attend office appointments as well as hearings and scheduled genetic tests. 
  

Note: The applicant or member is only required to cooperate if the child under their care is 
eligible for benefits funded under Title 19 or is eligible for the Medicaid expansion category of 
the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). If the child’s BadgerCare Plus benefit is 
funded through any other source such as Title 21 Separate CHIP or GPR (i.e., state funds) the 
caretaker relative is not required to cooperate and can not be sanctioned for non cooperation. 
 Check the Medical Status codes (See 51.1) to determine funding source.  The CSA will monitor 
the child’s BadgerCare Plus funding source.  

5.2.2 Failure to Cooperate 

The CSA determines if there is non-cooperation for individuals required to cooperate. The IM 
agency determines if good cause exists (see 5.3).  If there is a dispute, the CSA makes the final 
determination of cooperation.  The member remains ineligible until he or she cooperates, 
establishes good cause, or cooperation is no longer required.  
   
The following individuals are not sanctioned for non cooperation: 
 
 

1. Pregnant women, 
  

2. Minors, and 
  

3. Parents or caretaker relatives while the family is in a BadgerCare Plus Extension. 
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For a pregnant woman, failure to cooperate cannot be determined prior to the end of the month in 
which the 60th day after the termination of pregnancy occurs.  
   
Note: If the local CS agency determines that a parent is not cooperating because court ordered 
birth costs are not paid, the parent or caretaker is not sanctioned. 

Example:  Mary, a disabled parent, is applying for BadgerCare Plus for her and her son, 
Michael.  She refuses to cooperate in obtaining medical support for Michael. Mary meets all 
other non-financial and financial criteria for BadgerCare Plus and EBD Medicaid.  
   
Mary is not eligible for EBD Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus, because she will not cooperate 
in obtaining medical support for Michael. Even though Mary has not cooperated in 
obtaining medical support for Michael, he remains eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 

   
   
   
   
   
   

his page last updated in Release Number: 13-02 
Release Date: 10/25/13 
Effective Date: 10/01/13 

View History 
  

5.3 CLAIMING GOOD CAUSE 

  

5.3.1 Claiming Good Cause Introduction 

Any parent or other caretaker relative who is required to cooperate in establishing 
paternity and obtaining medical support may claim good cause. He or she must do the 
following: 

• Specify the circumstance that is the basis for good cause. 
• Corroborate the circumstance according to the evidence requirements in Section 

5.3.5 Evidence. 

5.3.2 Notice 

The IM agency must provide a Good Cause Notice (DWSP 2018) to applicants and 
members whenever a child with an absent parent is part of the BadgerCare Plus 
application or case. The notice describes the right to refuse to cooperate for good cause 
in establishing paternity and securing medical support. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.3hlf.htm
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2018.pdf
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Note: Good Cause Notices are provided automatically through ACCESS when people 
apply or complete renewals online, so the requirement for IM workers to furnish the 
notice directly to them does not apply in these situations. IM agencies must continue to 
mail a Good Cause Notice to people who apply or complete renewals by mail or by 
phone. 
  
The IM worker and the parent or caretaker must sign and date the notice (except for 
when the notice is completed in ACCESS and automatically filed in the ECF). The IM 
worker must then file the original notice in the case record and give the applicant or 
member a copy. The CSA refers anyone who wants to claim good cause back to the IM 
agency for a determination of whether or not good cause exists. 

5.3.3 Good Clause Claim 

The Good Cause Claim form (DWSP 2019) must be provided to any BadgerCare Plus 
parent or caretaker who requests one. It describes the circumstances that support a 
claim and how to document a claim. 
  
The parent or caretaker must sign and date the claim in the presence of an IM worker or 
a notary public. The applicant or member’s signature initiates the claim. 
  
The original copy is filed in the case record, a copy is given to the parent or caretaker, 
and a copy is attached to the referral document when a claim is made at application. 
  
A copy of claims must be sent to the CSA within two days after a claim is signed. When 
the CSA is informed of a claim, they will immediately suspend all activities to establish 
paternity or secure medical support until notified of your final determination. 

5.3.4 Circumstances 

The IM agency must determine whether or not cooperation is against the best interests 
of the child. Cooperation is waived only if one of the following is true: 

• The parent or caretaker’s cooperation is reasonably anticipated to result in 
physical or emotional harm to one of the following: 

o       Child. This means that the child is so emotionally impaired, that his or her 
normal functioning is substantially affected. 

o       Parent or Caretaker. This means the impairment is of such a nature or 
degree that it reduces that person's capacity to adequately care for the 
child.  

• At least one of the following circumstances exists, and it is reasonably 
anticipated that proceeding to establish paternity or secure support or both would 
be detrimental to the child: 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2019.pdf
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o       The child was conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault. 
o       A petition for the child's adoption has been filed with a court. 
o       The parent or caretaker is being assisted by a public or private social 

agency in deciding whether or not to terminate parental rights and this has 
not gone on for more than three months. 

5.3.5 Evidence 

An initial good cause claim may be based only on evidence in existence at the time of 
the claim. There is no limit to the age of the evidence. Once a final determination is 
made, including any fair hearing decision, any subsequent claim must be based on new 
evidence. 
  
The following may be used as evidence: 

• Birth certificates or medical or law enforcement records that indicate that 
the child may have been conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault. 
• Court documents or other records that indicate that a petition for the 
adoption of the child has been filed with a court. 
• Court, medical, criminal, child protective services, social services, 
psychological school, or law enforcement records that indicate the alleged father 
or absent parent might inflict physical or emotional harm on the member or the 
child. 
• Medical records that give the emotional health history and present 
emotional health status of the member or the child. 
• A written statement from a mental health professional indicating a 
diagnosis of or prognosis on the emotional health of the member or the child.  
• A written statement from a public or private social agency that the agency 
is assisting the parent to decide whether or not to terminate parental rights. 
• A sworn statement from someone other than the member with knowledge 
of the circumstance on which the claim is based. 
• Any other supporting or corroborative evidence. 

  
When a claim is based on emotional harm to the child or the member, the IM agency 
must consider all of the following: 

• Person's present emotional state 
• Person's emotional health history 
• Intensity and probable duration of the emotional impairment 
• Degree of cooperation required 
• Extent of the child's involvement in the paternity or the support 
enforcement activity to be undertaken. 

  
If the member submits only one piece of evidence or inclusive evidence, you may refer 
him or her to a mental health professional for a report relating to the claim. 
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When a claim is based on his or her undocumented statement that the child was 
conceived as a result of incest or sexual assault, it should be reviewed as one based on 
emotional harm. 
  
The IM agency must conduct an investigation when a claim is based on anticipated 
physical harm and no evidence is submitted. 
  
The member has 20 days, from the date the claim is signed, to submit evidence. The IM 
agency, with supervisory approval, may determine that more time is needed. 
  
There must be at least one document of evidence, in addition to any sworn statements 
from the member. 
  
The IM agency should encourage the provision of as many types of evidence as 
possible and offer any assistance necessary in obtaining necessary evidence. 
  
When insufficient evidence has been submitted: 

1. The member must be notified, and the specific evidence needed must be 
requested. 
2. The IM agency must advise that person on how to obtain the evidence, 
and  
3. The IM agency must make a reasonable effort to obtain specific 
documents that are not reasonably obtainable without assistance. 

  
If the parent or caretaker continues to refuse to cooperate or the evidence is still 
insufficient, a 10-day notice must be sent informing the parent or caretaker that, if no 
further action is taken within 10 days from the notification date, good cause will not be 
found and that he or she may first: 

• Withdraw the claim and cooperate, or  
• Exclude allowable individuals, or  
• Request a hearing, or  
• Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed. 

  
If no option above has been taken when the 10 days have expired, the IM worker will 
deny BadgerCare Plus to the applicant or disenroll the member from BadgerCare Plus. 
The sanctions remain in effect until there is cooperation or until it is no longer required. 

5.3.6 Investigation 

The IM agency must investigate all claims based on anticipated physical harm both 
when the claim is credible without corroborative evidence and when such evidence is 
not available. 
  
Good cause must be granted when both the member's statement and the investigation 
satisfies the worker that he or she has good cause. 
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Any claim must be investigated when the member's statement, together with any 
corroborative evidence, does not provide a sufficient basis for a determination. 
  
In the course of the investigation, neither the IM agency nor the CSA may contact the 
absent parent or alleged father without first notifying the member of the agency's 
intention. Once notified, the parent or caretaker has 10 days from the notification date to 
do one of the following: 

• Present additional supporting or corroborative evidence of information so 
that contact is unnecessary. 
• Exclude allowable individuals. 
• Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed. 
• Request a hearing. 

  
If the 10 days have expired and no option has been taken, the IM agency will deny 
BadgerCare Plus to the applicant, and the sanctions shall remain in effect until there is 
cooperation or until it is no longer an issue. 

5.3.7 Determination 

The IM staff must determine whether or not there is good cause. This should be done 
within 45 days from the date a claim is signed. The time may be extended if it is 
documented in the case record that additional time is necessary because: 

• The IM agency cannot obtain the information needed to verify the claim 
within the 45 days, or 
• The parent or caretaker does not submit corroborative evidence within 20 
days. 

  
The good cause determination and all evidence submitted should be filed in the case 
record along with a statement on how the determination was reached. 
  
If there is no evidence or verifiable information available that suggests otherwise, it must 
be concluded that an alleged refusal to cooperate was, in fact, a case of cooperation to 
the fullest extent possible. 
  
If the parent or caretaker is cooperating in furnishing evidence and information, do not 
deny, delay, or discontinue BadgerCare Plus pending the determination. 
  
If a fair hearing is requested on a good cause determination, BadgerCare Plus 
certification is continued until the decision is made. 
  
The 45-day period for determining good cause is not used to extend an eligibility 
determination. The 30-day limit on processing an application is still a requirement. 
  
The IM worker must notify the applicant or member in writing of the final determination 
and of the right to a fair hearing and send the CSA a copy. The CSA may also 
participate in any fair hearing. 
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5.3.8 Good Cause Found 

When good cause is granted, the IM worker must direct the CSA to not initiate any or to 
suspend all further case activities. 
  
However, when the CSA's activities, without the member's participation, are reasonably 
anticipated to not result in physical or emotional harm, the IM agency must: 

1. First notify the person of the determination and the proposed directive to 
the CSA to proceed without his or her participation.  

2. The person has 10 days from the notification date to:   
a. Exclude allowable individuals, or 

b. Request a hearing, or 

c. Withdraw the application or request that the case be closed. 

3. At the end of the 10 days, direct the CSA to proceed if no option was 
taken. The CSA may decide to not proceed based on its own assessment. 

  
The IM agency determination to proceed without the member's participation must be in 
writing. Include your findings and the basis for the determination. File it in the case 
record. 

5.3.9 Good Cause Not Found 

When good cause is not granted, the IM agency must notify the parent or caretaker. It 
must be stated in the notice that the parent or caretaker has 10 days from the 
notification date to do one of the following: 

• Cooperate. 
• Exclude allowable individuals. 
• Request a hearing. 
• Withdraw the application. 
• Request that the case be closed. 

  
If the 10 days have expired, no option has been taken, and the member is in non-
cooperations status, the IM agency must terminate the member’s BadgerCare Plus 
eligibility. Sanctions remain in effect until there is cooperation or it is no longer an issue. 
The IM agency will continue to refer the case to the CSA. 

5.3.10 Review 

The IM agency does not have to review determinations based on permanent 
circumstances. Review good cause determinations that were based on circumstances 
subject to change at redetermination and when there is new evidence. 
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The parent or caretaker must be notified when it is determined that good cause no 
longer exists. It must be stated in the notice that he or she has 10 days from the 
notification date to do one of the following: 

• Cooperate. 
• Exclude allowable individuals. 
• Request that the case be closed. 
• Request a hearing. 

  
If the 10 days have expired and no option has been taken, the IM agency must deny the 
individual’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility. The sanctions remain in effect until there is 
cooperation or until it is no longer an issue. 
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5.4 Cooperation Between IM & CSA 

5.4.1 Information 
5.4.2 BadgerCare Plus Discontinued 
5.4.3 Failure to Cooperate   
5.4.4 Fraud 
  
The relationship between the IM agency and the CSA requires ongoing cooperation. 

5.4.1 Information 

The IM agency provides the CSA with information vital to opening medical support 
cases. The IM agency also supplies continuing information, which assists them in 
providing medical support services. Therefore, the CSA may request information from 
the IM agency in addition to that included in the referral and as contained in the case 
record. 
  
CARES automatically shares information with KIDS so it is important to enter the data 
accurately. 

5.4.2 BadgerCare Plus Discontinued 

The CSA is notified through CARES when BadgerCare Plus is discontinued. 
  

5.4.3 Failure to Cooperate   

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.4hlf.htm
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The CSA will determine if non-cooperation occurs. KIDS notifies CARES when an 
individual refuses or fails to cooperate. The IM Agency must then review eligibility. 
  

5.4.4 Fraud 

When the CSA has knowledge of possible fraud, they will refer the case back to the IM 
agency. For example, if in the process of collecting support, the CSA establishes that a 
parent is in fact not absent, the CSA will give that information to the IM agency for 
appropriate action (IMM, Ch. III, Public Assistance Fraud Program). 
  
  
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01 
Release Date: 10/29/07 
Effective Date: 02/01/08 

View History 
  

5.5 Third Party Liability 

5.5.1 TPL Cooperation 
5.5.2 TPL Cooperation Requirements 
5.5.3 TPL Good Cause Claim 
5.5.4 Assignment Process 
  
Third Party Liability (TPL) refers to the obligation that a third party (not Wisconsin 
BadgerCare Plus program or the BadgerCare Plus member), has to pay the bills for a 
BadgerCare Plus member’s medical services.   BadgerCare Plus is the payer of last 
resort for the cost of medical care.  This means that if a BadgerCare Plus member also 
has coverage under a private health insurance plan, that plan is to be billed first for any 
medical services.  BadgerCare Plus then pays any amount remaining after the private 
insurer has paid what they owe, up to the BadgerCare Plus reimbursement rate. 
 Another common example of third party liability is when someone receives an 
insurance settlement resulting from an accident.  If BadgerCare Plus paid for any 
medical services resulting from that accident, the BadgerCare Plus program is to be 
reimbursed the cost of those medical services from the proceeds of the insurance 
settlement.  Third party payers include health insurers, court ordered medical support 
and any other third party that has a legal obligation to pay for medical services. 
  

5.5.1 TPL Cooperation 

All BadgerCare Plus members must assign to the State of Wisconsin their rights to 
payments for medical services from third party payers.  A member complies with this 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.5hlf.htm
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requirement by signing the application form.  The assignment includes all unpaid 
medical support and all ongoing medical support obligations for as long as BadgerCare 
Plus is received.  In addition, BadgerCare Plus members must cooperate in identifying 
and providing information to assist the State in pursuing third parties who may be liable 
to pay for care and services, unless the individual establishes good cause for not 
cooperating.  If a member fails to cooperate with TPL requirements he or she could be 
sanctioned. 
  

5.5.2 TPL Cooperation Requirements 

The BadgerCare Plus member must cooperate in providing TPL information unless he 
or she is exempt or there is good cause for refusing to cooperate.  TPL information 
could include the name and address of an insurance company, insurance policy 
number, and the name and address of the policy owner. 
  
If an adult refuses, without good cause, to provide health insurance information for 
themselves, or anyone for whom they are legally responsible and is receiving 
BadgerCare Plus, the adult is ineligible until he or she cooperates.   
  
 Do not sanction the following for non-cooperation: 
  

1. Minors, including minor caretaker relatives. 
  
2. A parent or caretaker relative requesting child support services for a child 
receiving SSI. 
  
3. Pregnant woman - She may not be sanctioned during the pregnancy, or 
for two months after the pregnancy has ended, if the TPL source is the absent 
parent of her child(ren). 
  

5.5.3 TPL Good Cause Claim 

When good cause is claimed (5.3), the IM agency must review the circumstances and 
decide on whether it is an appropriate claim of good cause.  The appropriate entry on 
the Medical Coverage page in CWW regarding the good cause determination must be 
made, and the reason for the decision must be documented in case comments. 
  
TPL good cause reasons are the same as those for Medical Support. 

5.5.4 Assignment Process 

At application, the Income Maintenance Agency must give a Notice of Assignment 
(DWSW-2477) to each applicant . If the applicant refuses to sign this form, the Income 
Maintenance Agency must complete the lower portion of the form and file it in the case 

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dwsp_2477.pdf
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record.  This must be done no later than at the time of the interview.  The applicant must 
be given a copy of the notice.  Processing a BadgerCare Plus application must not be 
delayed while waiting for the form to be signed.  The member should not be penalized 
for not signing this form.  The original copy must be filed in the case record. 
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5.6 CASUALTY CLAIM PROCESS (SUBROGATION) 

  
Casualty claims are those claims for BadgerCare Plus benefits resulting from an accident or 
injury for which a third party may be liable.  

Example 1: Mike receives treatment for injuries suffered when he was hit by a car. The 
vehicle owner is the third party and may be responsible for reimbursing BadgerCare Plus for 
those benefits. If Mike is working with an attorney or insurance agency to settle the claim, 
he is legally obligated to give notification to the local agency. 

   
BadgerCare Plus members should report any casualty claims before the case is settled. The 
BadgerCare Plus ID number of the BadgerCare Plus member, date of the accident, and the 
insurance company or name of the attorney to bill should be included with the referral.  

5.6.1 Reporting Accident or Injury Claims 

If members are in an accident or are injured and receive a cash award or settlement 
due to the accident or injury and Medicaid (including SSI enrollees) pays for part or all 
of the care, it must be reported. When Medicaid pays for a claim that is related to an 
accident, a letter is sent to the member informing him or her of the requirement to report 
the information. 
  
If a member has hired an attorney or is working with an insurance agency to settle the 
claim, that must also be reported. If a member reports a claim, he or she must report the 
accident or injury case to the Casualty Recovery Unit using one of the following 
methods: 

• Mail: 
  
WI Casualty Recovery—HMS 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.6hlf.htm
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5615 Highpoint Dr., Suite 100 
Irving, TX 75038-9984 
  
• Telephone: 877-391-7471 
• Fax: 469-359-4319 
• Email: wicasualty@h`ms.com 

  
More information can be found at www.wicasualty.com/wi/index.htm. 

  
Note: If the member is enrolled in an HMO or MCO they must also report the accident 
or injury to that organization. 

  
All other Medicaid members should report in person or via phone their local agency and 
any HMO or MCO that may have provided services, before the case is settled. 
Members should include the date of the accident and any insurance/attorney 
information.    
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5.7 Other Health Insurance 

The IM Agency should collect insurance coverage information on both the custodial and 
absent parents and caretakers at application , review, person add, or when insurance 
changes and enter it into the Medical Coverage Page in CWW .  The fiscal agent will 
complete an insurance search and return verified insurance information through the 
CWW / MMIS interface. 
  

5.7.1 Policies Not to Report 

The following policies should not be entered on the Medical Coverage Page in CWW or 
reported to the Fiscal Agency on the Health Insurance Information form (F-10115). 
  

1. HMOs for which the State pays all or part of the premium. 
2. Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plans (HIRSP). 
3. Medicare (enter in CWW on the Medicare Page ). 
4. Indian Health Service ( IHS ).  IHS is the exception to the rule that 
Medicaid is the payer of last resort.  For Native Americans who are Medicaid 
clients, IHS is the payer of last resort. Do not enter these policies on CARES . 
5. Policies that pay benefits only for treatment of accidental injury. 

http://www.wicasualty.com/wi/index.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/05/5.7hlf.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10115.pdf
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6. Policies that may be described as health insurance, but which pay only 
weekly or monthly based on the insured’s disability. 
7. Limited insurance plans that pay only if there is a specific diagnosis, such 
as cancer policy.  Report them only if the person insured has been diagnosed as 
having the disease he or she is insured against and if the benefits are 
assignable. 
8. Life Insurance. 
9. Other types of insurance types that do not cover medical services. 
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6.1 SSN REQUIREMENTS 

BadgerCare Plus applicants must provide a SSN or be willing to apply for one.   
  
If the caretaker relative is unwilling to provide or apply for the SSN of a minor or 18-
year-old, the person who does not have the SSN is ineligible. 
  
Do not require an SSN for: 
  

a. Continuously eligible newborns. 
b. Pre-adoptive infants living in a foster home. 
c. Non-qualifying immigrants receiving emergency services. 
d. Someone without an SSN and may only be issued one for a valid non-
work reason. 
e. Someone who refuses to obtain an SSN because of well-established 
religious objections*. 
f. Tax dependents or tax filers living outside of the home. 
  

“Well-established religious objections” means that the applicant/member: 
  

1. Is a member of a recognized religious sect or division of the sect, and 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/06/6.1hlf.htm
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2. Adheres to the tenets or teachings of the sect or division of the sect and for that 
reason is conscientiously opposed to applying for or using a national 
identification number. 

  
A person who refuses to apply for or use a social security number due to religious 
beliefs must provide verification from a church elder or other officiant that doing so is 
against the church doctrine. 
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7.1 HEALTH INSURANCE CONDITIONS OF ELIGIBILITY 

7.1.1 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility for under Non-MAGI Rules 
7.1.2 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility Under MAGI Rules 

7.1.1 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility under Non-MAGI rules 

To prevent the crowd out of private insurance, BadgerCare Plus benefits may be denied 
or terminated for individuals who have eligibility determined under non-MAGI rules and 
have access to certain employer sponsored health insurance policies when those 
individuals: 
  

1. Are adult parents and caretaker relatives with household income above 
133% of the FPL (through March 31, 2014). 
2. Are infants under age 1 with household incomes over 300% of the FPL, 
children ages 1 through 5 with household incomes over 185% of the FPL and 
children ages 6 through 18 with household incomes over 150% of the FPL, 
3. Are pregnant women eligible under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program at any income level, 
4. Are not in an exempt category (see list below) and, 
5. Do not have a good cause reason for failure to enroll in an employer 
sponsored health insurance plan. 
  

Individuals exempt from the policies related to health insurance access and coverage 
are: 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/07/7.1hlf.htm
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1. Continuously Eligible Newborns, 
2. Children under age 19 who have met a deductible (exempt only during the 
deductible period), 
3. Infants less than 1 year old with household income at or below 300% of 
the FPL, 
4. Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6) with household income at or 
below 185% of the FPL, 
5. Children ages 6 to 18 with household income at or below 150% of the 
FPL, 
6. Former Foster Care Youth (FFCY), 
7. Pregnant women, other than those in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program, 
8. Parents and caretakers who are blind or disabled (including MAPP 
Disabled), as determined by the DDB, or through the Presumptive Disability 
process (MEH 5.9), and 
9. Parents, caretaker relatives, and children who are in an Extension. 

  
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program members are subject to different policies related to 
health insurance coverage. Refer to (7.4.1) (7.5) for the policies regarding the rules for 
current coverage and dropping coverage under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
  
Access to health insurance includes: 
  

1. Past Access. (7.2) 
2. Current Access. (7.3) 
3. Coverage. (7.4) 
4. Dropped Coverage. (7.5) 

   
IM workers are not responsible for determining current or past access to health 
insurance. The process will be done through the EVHI database. See 9.9.6.1. 

7.1.2 Health Insurance Conditions of Eligibility under MAGI rules 

To prevent the crowd out of private insurance, BadgerCare Plus benefits may be denied 
or terminated for individuals who have eligibility determined under MAGI rules and have 
access to certain employer sponsored health insurance policies when those individuals: 
  

1. Are children ages 1 through 5 with household incomes over 191% of the FPL and 
children ages 6 through 18 with household incomes over 156% of the FPL, 
2. Are pregnant women eligible under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program at any income level, 
3. Are not in an exempt category (see list below) and, 
4. Do not have a good cause reason for failure to enroll in an employer 
sponsored health insurance plan. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/5/meh_5.9_presumptive_disability.htm
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Individuals exempt from the policies related to health insurance access and coverage 
are: 

1. Continuously Eligible Newborns, 
2. Children under age 19 who have met a deductible (exempt only during the 
deductible period), 
3. Infants less than 1 year old with household income at or below 306% of 
the FPL, 
4. Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6) with household income at or 
below 191% of the FPL, 
5. Children ages 6 to 18 with household income at or below 156% of the 
FPL, 
6. Former Foster Care Youth, 
7. Pregnant women, other than those in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program, 
8. Parents and caretaker relatives, including those who are blind or disabled 
(including MAPP Disabled), as determined by the DDB, or through the 
Presumptive Disability process (MEH 5.9), 
9. Childless adults, and 
10. Parents, caretaker relatives, and children who are in an Extension. 

  
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program members are subject to different policies related to 
health insurance coverage. Refer to (7.4.1) (7.5) for the policies regarding the rules for 
current coverage and dropping coverage under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
  
Access to health insurance includes: 
  

1. Past Access. (7.2) 
2. Current Access. (7.3) 
3. Coverage. (7.4) 
4. Dropped Coverage. (7.5) 

  
IM workers are not responsible for determining current or past access to health 
insurance. The process will be done through the EVHI database. See 9.9.6.1. 
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7.2.1 Introduction  
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7.2.1.1 The 80 Percent Past Access Test 
7.2.1.2 The 9.5 Percent Past Access Test 

7.2.2 Good Cause for "Past Access Test" under Non-MAGI Rules  
7.2.3 Good Cause for "Past Access Test" under MAGI Rules  

7.2.1 Introduction 

Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Past Access policies in effect:   

• The 80% Past Access Test.   
• The 9.5% Past Access Test. 

  
The 80% Past Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The 9.5% 
test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014. After April 1, 2014, 
parents and caretakers are no longer subject to a Past Access Test. 

7.2.1.1 The 80 Percent Past Access Test 

Children and any BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program members who had access to 
health insurance, including access due to a qualifying event, in the twelve months prior 
to the application or renewal date are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits if the 
access was through the current employer of an adult family member who is currently 
living in the household and, 
   

1. The access was to a HIPAA health insurance plan through a current employer for 
which the employer paid at least 80% of the premium, or through the State of 
Wisconsin’s health care plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount 
contributed by the employer); and   

2. The applicant is a child under age 19 and child is not exempt; and   

3. There is no good cause reason for not signing up for the coverage. 

   
The child or BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program member is ineligible for BadgerCare 
Plus for twelve calendar months from the date the health insurance would have begun. 
  
Example 1: Marilyn applied for BadgerCare Plus in April 2014 for herself and her 
children, ages 10 and 8; they have family income that exceeds 156% of the FPL. She 
could have enrolled in a family health insurance plan through her current employer in 
October 2013, and her employer pays 80% of the premium for that plan. Marilyn didn’t 
sign up because she felt the premiums, co-payments and deductibles would be 
unaffordable. If she had signed up, coverage would have begun in December 2013. 
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Since Marilyn did not sign up for employer-provided coverage within the last twelve 
months when it was available, and she does not have good cause. Her children are 
ineligible for BC + through November 2014, 12 months from the date the coverage 
would have begun, unless they become exempt during that time. Marilyn is not eligible 
because her income is over the 100% FPL limit for the parent and caretaker coverage 
group. 

7.2.1.2 The 9.5% Past Access Test 

Note: The 9.5% Past Access Test will no longer be effective beginning April 1, 2014. 
  
Non-exempt parents and caretakers over age 18 with household incomes over 133% of 
the FPL who had access to health insurance,  including access due to a qualifying 
event, in the twelve months prior to the application or renewal date, are not eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus benefits if the access was through the current employer of an adult 
family member who is currently living in the household and, 
  

• The individual could have enrolled in the employer’s plan under the current 
coverage period at any time in the past 12 months prior to the application or 
renewal date, 

• The cost of coverage for an employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of the 
 monthly household income, and 

• There is no good cause reason for not signing up for the coverage. 

    
When an employed parent or caretaker has been determined to have had past access, 
the individual’s spouse will also be considered to have past access if the employer 
offers a plan that would provide coverage to the spouse, such as employee + spouse or 
employee + family coverage. 
  
Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with household income 
above 150% of the FPL will not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits if they had past 
access to a State Employee’s health care plan, regardless of the amount of the 
premium.  Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretakers with access to state 
employee health insurance, who have household income between 133% and 150% 
FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if the employee-only premiums are not 
more than 9.5% of household income. 
  
Example 2: Joe and his wife, Mary, apply for BadgerCare Plus for themselves and 
their 3 children on July 2, 2012. Their income is 145% of the FPL.  Joe works for ABC 
Company. ABC Company offers an employee-only plan as well as a family plan. Joe’s 
cost for the employee-only plan is less than 9.5% of the household’s countable income. 
The last open enrollment period to sign up for the employer sponsored insurance was 
October 1, 2011 through October 31, 2011. The plan coverage period is January 1, 
2012 through December 31, 2012. 
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Since Joe could have enrolled in the past 12 months and could have had coverage 
under the current coverage period, and the premiums would have been less than 9.5% 
of the family’s income, he is ineligible.  Since the employer offers a family plan that 
would cover Mary, she is also ineligible.  Children under age 19 are not subject to the 
9.5% access tests so the children’s eligibility is not affected. 
  

7.2.2 Good Cause for 80% and 9.5% "Past Access Test" under Non-
MAGI Rules 

Good cause reasons for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 
months prior to application or renewal are: 
   

1. Discontinuation of health insurance benefits by the employer;  
2. During the time period when the employee failed to enroll in the health insurance 

coverage, one or more members of the individual’s family was covered through: 
   

a. A private health insurance policy; or 
b. Medicaid, or BadgerCare Plus; 

   
And no one in the Test Group at that time was eligible for: 
  

• BadgerCare, 
• BadgerCare Plus with a household income above 150% of the FPL, 

• If the failure to enroll occurred on or after July 1, 2012,  BadgerCare 
Plus with  household income above 133% of the FPL, 

• BadgerCare Plus Extension, or 
• BadgerCare Plus as a Pregnant Woman (not including the BadgerCare 

Plus Prenatal Program). 
  

3. The employment ended, or 
4. Any other reason determined by DHS as a good cause reason. Local agencies 
must contact the DHS CARES Call Center for approval before granting good cause for 
any reason not stated above. 
 
  

Example 3: Olivia applied for BadgerCare Plus in January 2012 for herself and her 
children.  Although it was determined that she had access to employer sponsored health 
insurance in August of 2011 (past access), she has a good cause exemption because she and 
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her children were enrolled in BadgerCare Plus from July 2011 through November 2011 and 
the family income at that time was only 120% of the FPL.   

7.2.3 Good Cause for the 80% "Past Access Test" Under MAGI Rules 

Good cause reasons for failure to enroll in an employer sponsored health insurance 
plan in the 12 months prior to application or renewal are: 

1. Discontinuation of health insurance benefits by the employer;  
2. During the time period when the employee failed to enroll in the health insurance 

coverage, one or more members of the individual’s family was covered through: 
    

a. A private health insurance policy; or 
b. Medicaid, or BadgerCare Plus; 

    
And no one in the Test Group at that time was eligible for: 
  

• BadgerCare Plus with an assistance group income above 156% of 
the FPL, 

• BadgerCare Plus Extension, or 
• BadgerCare Plus as a Pregnant Woman (not including the BadgerCare 

Plus Prenatal Program). 
  

3. The employment through which the child is insured ended, or 
4. Any other reason determined by DHS as a good cause reason. Local agencies 
must contact the DHS CARES Call Center for approval before granting good cause for 
any reason not stated above. 
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7.3 CURRENT ACCESS TO HEALTH INSURANCE 

7.3.1 Introduction 

Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Current Access policies in effect:   
• The 80% Current Access Test.   
• The 9.5% Current Access Test. 
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The 80% Current Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The 
9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014. 

7.3.2 The 80 Percent Current Access Test 

Children and BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program members with access to health 
insurance, including access due to a qualifying event, through an employed family 
member who is currently living in the household are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
benefits if: 
  

1. The access is to a HIPAA health insurance plan through a current 
employer for which the employer pays at least 80% of the premium or the State 
of Wisconsin’s health care plan (regardless of plan type, or premium amount 
contributed by state or local government); and 
2. The applicant/member is a child under age 19 and the child is not exempt; 
and 
3. The coverage would begin within three calendar months following: 

a. The BadgerCare Plus application filing date; or 
b. Annual review month; or 
c. Employment start date 

  
The child or BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program member who could have been covered 
by the health insurance plan are ineligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits. Children under 
19 years of age can become eligible by meeting a deductible. (See Ch. 17) 
  
There are no good cause reasons for not enrolling in a health insurance plan when an 
individual has current access. 
  
Example 1:  Janelle applies for BadgerCare Plus in January for herself and her child. She can 
enroll in a health insurance plan through her employer in March and her employer pays 80% of 
the premium. However, since coverage would not begin until May, Janelle does not have 
"current access” so her child is eligible for BC + until the next eligibility renewal (assuming 
there are no other changes that resulted in ineligibility).  If Janelle’s circumstances remain 
unchanged, her child will be disenrolled at his or her next review because she had "past access”. 
Janelle is not eligible because her income is over the limit for the parent and caretaker coverage 
group. 
  
Example 2: Bill applies for BadgerCare Plus in January for himself and his family. He 
can enroll in family health insurance through his employer and the employer pays 80% 
of the premium.  Coverage would start in April. Bill chooses not to sign up because he 
thinks he will be eligible for BadgerCare Plus. His children are not eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus because Bill can sign up in this month and coverage would begin 
within the next three calendar months. Bill is not eligible because his income is over the 
limit for the parent and caretaker coverage group. 
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7.3.3.The 9.5 Percent Current Access Test 

The 9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014. 
  
For parents and caretakers who are not exempt (See 7.1), an individual with current 
access to employer sponsored health insurance is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus.   An 
individual has current access to employer sponsored insurance if: 

• the individual could enroll in and be covered under the plan in the month for 
which eligibility is being determined, and 

• the cost of coverage for the employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of the 
 monthly household income. 

  
When an employed parent or caretaker has been determined to have current access, 
the individual's spouse will also be considered to have current access if the employer 
offers a plan that provides coverage to the spouse, such as employee + spouse or 
employee + family coverage. 
  
Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with household income 
above 150% of the FPL will not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits if they have 
current access or will have access in the next three months to a State Employee’s 
health care plan, regardless of the amount of the premium. Non-pregnant, non-disabled 
parents and caretaker relatives with access to state employee health insurance, who 
have income between 133% and 150% FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if 
the employee-only premiums are not more than 9.5% of household income. 
   
There are no good cause reasons for not enrolling in a health insurance plan when an 
individual has current access. 
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Beginning July 1, 2012, there are two Current Coverage policies in effect:   

• The 80% Current Coverage Test.   
• The 9.5% Current Coverage Test. 

  
The 80% Current Access Test policies applies to non-exempt children (See 7.1). The 
9.5% test applies to adult parents and caretakers until March 31, 2014. 

7.4.2 The 80% Coverage Test 

Certain children who currently have individual or family health insurance coverage 
through an employed family member currently living in the household AND who meets 
the following criteria are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus: 
  

1. The child is not exempt from access and coverage policies (See 7.1); and 
2. Coverage is provided by an employer; and the employer pays at least 80% of the 

premium or 
3. Coverage is available under the State of Wisconsin employee health plan 

(regardless of plan type, or premium amount contributed by state or local 
government). 

  
Example 1: Dave applies for BadgerCare Plus in March for himself and his family. They have 
income that exceeds 150% of the federal poverty level. He is currently covered by family health 
insurance through his employer and the employer pays 80% of the premium. His children are 
not eligible for BadgerCare Plus because they are currently covered. Dave is not eligible 
because his income is over the income limit for the parent and caretaker coverage group. 
  
Children under 19 years of age who are ineligible due to current coverage can become 
eligible by meeting a deductible. (See Chapter 17) 

7.4.3 The 9.5% Current Coverage Test 

Note: This policy will only be effective until March 31, 2014. 
  
For parents and caretakers who are not exempt (See 7.1), an individual with current 
coverage to employer sponsored health insurance is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus.    
  
An individual has current coverage to employer sponsored insurance if: 

• The individual is covered under the plan in the month for which eligibility is 
being determined, and 
• The cost of coverage for the employee-only plan does not exceed 9.5% of 
the  monthly household income, 

or 
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• Household income is above 150% of the FPL and the coverage is under a 
State Employee’s health care plan, regardless of the amount of the premium.   

  
Note: Non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives with state employee 
health insurance coverage, who have household income between 133% and 150% 
FPL, are only ineligible for BadgerCare Plus if the employee-only premiums are not 
more than 9.5% of household income. 
  

7.4.4 Current Coverage for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 

Pregnant women who are otherwise eligible only for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program because of their inmate or immigration status  are not eligible for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal program if they are covered by any HIPAA  health insurance 
policy. The plan does not have to be employer sponsored. 
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7.6 GOOD CAUSE REASONS FOR DROPPING INSURANCE 
COVERAGE 

Any of the following reasons are considered good cause for dropping insurance 
coverage: 
  

1. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided 
through his or her employer, and the employment ended for a reason other than 
voluntary termination, unless the voluntary termination was a result of the 
incapacitation of the individual or because of an immediate family member’s 
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health condition. 
  
2. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided 
through his or her employer, but the individual changed employers and the new 
employer does not offer health insurance coverage. 
  
3. The individual was covered by a group health plan that was provided 
through his or her employer, and the individual’s employer discontinued health 
plan coverage for all employees. 
  
4. The individual’s coverage terminated due to the death or change in marital 
status of the policy holder. 
  
5.  For BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program applicants or members only: 

a. Her coverage was COBRA continuation coverage and the coverage 
was exhausted in accordance with federal regulations concerning 
COBRA. 
b. The insurance does not pay for pregnancy-related services. 
c. The insurance is owned by someone not residing with the pregnant 
woman and continuation of the coverage is beyond her control. 
d. The insurance only covers services provided in a service area that 
is beyond a reasonable driving distance. 
  

6. Any other reason determined by the department to be a good cause 
reason. 
  

Example: Joanne applies for BadgerCare Plus in June for herself and her family 
after being fired from her job. Although it was determined that she had "dropped 
coverage”, she has a good cause exemption because her employment was 
involuntarily terminated. 

  
When good cause for dropping insurance coverage is approved, begin BadgerCare 
Plus eligibility the day after the last day of the insurance coverage or the application 
date, whichever is later if the applicant applies prior to losing insurance.  If the applicant 
applies after losing insurance, coverage can begin on the day after the last day of 
insurance if they apply in the same month insurance is lost. 
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7.7.1 Introduction 
7.7.2 Cost Effectiveness 
7.7.3 Participation in HIPP 
7.7.4 Cooperation 
  

7.7.1 Introduction 

Wisconsin’s Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program helps BadgerCare 
Plus families pay the employee contribution of their employer sponsored insurance. The 
HIPP program pays the family’s share of the monthly premium, co-insurance, and 
deductibles associated with the family health plan along with any BadgerCare covered 
services not included in the family health plan through fee-for-service (wrap around). 
  
HIPP will be considered for BadgerCare Plus members when it is cost effective to do 
so. 
  
In addition to families with employer sponsored health insurance plans, the following 
BadgerCare Plus families may also be considered for HIPP: 
  

• Farm and other self-employed families  
• Members with Self-funded insurance plans 

  
Access to HIPP coverage will be allowed even if single or "plus one" coverage is the 
only coverage offered by an employer. 
  
Minimum employer contribution requirements will be eliminated and employer-
sponsored insurance (ESI) will be based solely on cost effectiveness. 

7.7.2 Cost Effectiveness 

The HIPP Unit of the fiscal agent determines if it is cost effective to buy the employer’s 
insurance rather than enroll the individual in BadgerCare Plus. 
  
The HIPP Unit will identify the cost of wrapping around the Medicaid services with the 
employer-sponsored plan and then determine cost effectiveness of buy-in on that 
calculation of cost comparability. 
  
This determination will be done on a per person basis. Thus, in any given BadgerCare 
Plus group, it may be cost effective to enroll all BadgerCare Plus members or only 
specific members. For example: it may be cost effective to enroll an adult in HIPP but to 
keep the children in BadgerCare Plus. 

7.7.3 Participation in HIPP 
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Members participating in HIPP are enrolled in BadgerCare Plus as a secondary 
insurance.  If the employer’s health insurance does not cover a service that BadgerCare 
Plus covers, BadgerCare Plus will cover the cost. 

7.7.4 Cooperation 

To remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus, the adult whose employer can provide 
insurance must: 
  

1. Cooperate in providing information necessary to assess cost-
effectiveness, and 
2. Agree to enroll and actually enroll in the employer’s health care plan if the 
plan is determined to be cost-effective. 
  

Parents may no longer be sanctioned for failing to cooperate with the HIPP program. 
This policy applies to both current members and new applicants. 
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7.8.1 Access and Coverage Overview Prior to January 31, 2014 
7.8.2 Access and Coverage Overview for New Applicants on or After February 1, 2014 
7.8.3 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program Access and Coverage Overview 
  
These overviews are intended to be a guide to help determine whether or not a 
BadgerCare Plus member or applicant is subject to the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 

7.8.1 Access and Coverage Overview Prior to January 31, 2014 

To determine whether or not an individual passes BadgerCare Plus insurance access 
and coverage requirements through January 31, 2014, answer the following questions 
for each individual within a BadgerCare Plus group. 
  

1. Is the applicant or member pregnant, disabled, a continuously eligible 
newborn, or a youth exiting out-of-home care? 

• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and 
coverage requirements. 
• If no, continue to question #2. 
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2. Is the member a child younger than 19 years old and currently eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus because a child's 150 percent deductible was met? 

• If yes, the member is not subject to the access and coverage 
requirements during the deductible period. 
• If no, continue to question #3. 

  

3. Is the member in a BadgerCare Plus Extension? 

• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and coverage 
requirements. 

• If no, continue to question #4. 

  

4. Is the applicant or member one of the following:  
a. An infant younger than 1 year old with household income at or 
below 300 percent FPL 
b. A child 1 through 5 years old with household income at or below 
185 percent FPL 
c. A child 6 through 18 years old with household income at or below 
150 percent FPL 

  
• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and 
coverage requirements. 
• If no, continue to question #5. 

  

5. Is this member a child younger than 19 years old? 

• If yes, continue to question #6. 
• If no, continue to question #20. 

  
6. Does the applicant or member have access to health insurance, including 
access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current 
employer of an adult member of the BadgerCare Plus test group? 

• If yes, continue to question #7. 
• If no, continue to question #10. 

  

7. Does the employer pay 80 percent or more of the premium? 

• If yes, continue to question #11. 
• If no, continue to question # 10. 
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8. Is the employer-provided insurance the Wisconsin state employee health plan 
(regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local 
government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #9. 
• If no, continue to question #10. 

  

9. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months after one of the 
following:  

a. The month of BadgerCare Plus application filing date 
b. The annual review month 
c. The employment start date 

  
• If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits. 
• If no, continue to question #10. 

  

10. Did the applicant or member have access to employer-provided health insurance, 
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the 
current employer of an adult in the BadgerCare Plus test group in the 12 months 
prior to the application or review date? 

• If yes, continue to question #11. 
• If no, continue to question #14. 

  

11. Would the employer have paid 80 percent or more of the premium (at any time in 
the last 12 months)? 

• If yes, continue to question #13. 
• If no, continue to question #12. 

  

12. Would the employer-provided insurance be under the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #13. 
• If no, continue to question #14. 

  

13. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an 
employer-sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the 
application (see Section 7.2.1 Introduction)? 
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• If yes, continue to question #14. 
• If no, the applicant is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for 12 months 
from the date the coverage would have begun unless he or she becomes 
exempt from health insurance/access coverage requirements during that 
time. 

  

14. Did the applicant or member lose employer-provided health insurance coverage 
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BadgerCare Plus test group 
member in the three calendar months prior to the application? 

• If yes, continue to question #15. 
• If no, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus insurance 

access and coverage requirements. 

  

15. Did the employer pay 80 percent or more of the premium? 

• If yes, continue to question #17. 
• If no, continue to question #16. 

  

16. Was the employer-provided insurance part of the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #17. 
• If no, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 

  

17. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for dropping the health 
insurance (see Section 7.6 Good Cause Reasons for Dropping Insurance 
Coverage)? 

• If yes, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 
• If no, the applicant or member is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for 
three calendar months following the month in which the insurance 
coverage ended. 

  

18. Is this member's income greater than 133 percent of the FPL? 

• If yes, continue to question #19. 
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• If no, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and 
coverage requirements. 

  

19. Does the applicant or member have access to health insurance, including access 
due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current employer of 
an adult member of the BadgerCare Plus test group? 

• If yes, continue to question #20. 
• If no, continue to question #24. 

  

20. Is the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer 
more than 9.5 percent of the household income in the month for which you are 
determining eligibility? 

• If yes, continue to question #21. 
• If no, continue to question #23. 

  

21. Is the employer-provided insurance the Wisconsin state employee health plan 
(regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local 
government) and is household income over 150 percent of the FPL? 

• If yes, continue to question #22. 
• If no, continue to question #24. 

  

22. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months after one of the 
following:  

a. The month of BadgerCare Plus application filing date 
b. The annual review month 
c. The employment start date 
  

• If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits. 
• If no, continue to question #24. 

  

23. Would the coverage begin in any of the months for which you are determining 
eligibility and are those months immediately after one of the following:  

a. The BadgerCare Plus application filing date 
b. The annual review 
c. The employment start date 

  
• If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits. 
• If no, continue to question #24. 
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24. Did the applicant or member have access to employer-provided health insurance, 
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the 
current employer of an adult in the BadgerCare Plus test group in the twelve 
months prior to the application or review date? 

• If yes, continue to question #25. 
• If no, continue to question #28. 

  

25. Was the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer 
more than 9.5 percent of the household income in the month for which you are 
determining eligibility? 

• If yes, continue to question #26. 
• If no, continue to question #27. 

  

26. Was the employer-provided insurance under the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government) and is the household income over 150 percent of the FPL? 

• If yes, continue to question #27. 
• If no, continue to question #28. 

  

27. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an 
employer-sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the 
application (see Section 7.2.1 Introduction)? 

• If yes, continue to question #28. 
• If no, the applicant is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus 12 months from 
the date the coverage would have begun, unless he or she becomes 
exempt during that time. 

  

28. Did the applicant or member lose employer-provided health insurance coverage 
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BadgerCare Plus test 
group member in the three calendar months prior to the application? 

• If yes, continue to question #29. 
• If no, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 
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29. Was the cost of the premium for an employee-only plan offered by the employer 
more than 9.5 percent of the household income in the month for which you are 
determining eligibility? 

• If yes, continue to question #30. 
• If no, continue to question #31. 

  

30. Was the employer-provided insurance part of the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government) and is the household income over 150 percent of the FPL? 

• If yes, continue to question #31. 
• If no, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 

  

31. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for dropping the health 
insurance (see Section 7.6 Good Cause Reasons for Dropping Insurance 
Coverage)? 

• If yes, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 
• If no, the applicant or member is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for 
three calendar months following the month in which the insurance 
coverage ended. 

7.8.2 Access and Coverage Overview for New Applicants on or After 
February 1, 2014 

To determine whether or not an individual passes BadgerCare Plus insurance access 
and coverage requirements beginning February 1, 2014, answer the following questions 
for each individual within a BadgerCare Plus group. 
  

1. Is the applicant or member pregnant, disabled, a continuously eligible 
newborn, or a youth exiting out-of-home care? 

• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and 
coverage requirements. 
• If no, continue to question #2. 

2. Is the member a child younger than 19 years old and currently eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus because a child's 150 percent deductible was met? 

• If yes, the member is not subject to the access and coverage 
requirements during the deductible period. 
• If no, continue to question #3. 
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3. Is the member in a BadgerCare Plus Extension? 

• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and coverage 
requirements. 

• If no, continue to question #4. 

  

4. Is the applicant or member one of the following:  
a. An infant younger than 1 year old with household income at or below 306 percent 
FPL 
b. A child 1 through 5 years old with household income at or below 191 percent FPL 
c. A child 6 through 18 years old with household income at or below 156 percent 
FPL 

  
• If yes, the applicant or member is not subject to the access and 
coverage requirements. 
• If no, continue to question #5. 

  

5. Is this member a child younger than 19 years old? 

• If yes, continue to question #6. 
• If no, continue to question #9. 

  

6. Does the employer pay 80 percent or more of the premium?  
• If yes, continue to question #8. 
• If no, continue to question # 7. 

  

7. Is the employer-provided insurance the Wisconsin state employee health plan 
(regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local 
government)?  

• If yes, continue to question #8. 
• If no, continue to question #9. 

  

8. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months after one of the 
following:  

a. The month of BadgerCare Plus application filing date 
b. The annual review month 
c. The employment start date 

  
• If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus benefits. 
• If no, continue to question #9. 
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9. Did the applicant or member have access to employer-provided health insurance, 
including access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the 
current employer of an adult in the BadgerCare Plus test group in the twelve 
months prior to the application or review date?  

• If yes, continue to question #10. 
• If no, continue to question #13. 

  

10. Would the employer have paid 80 percent or more of the premium (at any time in 
the last 12 months)?  

• If yes, continue to question #12. 
• If no, continue to question #11. 

  

11. Would the employer-provided insurance be under the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #12. 
• If no, continue to question #13. 

  

12. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an 
employer-sponsored health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to the 
application (see Section 7.2.1 Introduction)?  

• If yes, continue to question #13. 
• If no, the applicant or member is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for 
12 months from the date the coverage would have begun unless he or she 
becomes exempt from health insurance/access coverage requirements 
during that time. 

  

13. Did the applicant or member lose employer-provided health insurance coverage 
provided through an employer or an employer of an adult BadgerCare Plus test 
group member in the three calendar months prior to the application?  

• If yes, continue to question #14. 
• If no, the applicant or member is not subject to the BadgerCare 
Plus insurance/access coverage requirements. 

  

14. Did the employer pay 80 percent or more of the premium? 

• If yes, continue to question #16. 
• If no, continue to question #15. 
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15. Was the employer-provided insurance part of the Wisconsin state employee 
health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or 
local government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #16. 
• If no, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 

  

16. Did the applicant or member have "good cause" for dropping the health 
insurance (see Section 7.6 Good Cause Reasons for Dropping Insurance 
Coverage)? 

• If yes, the applicant or member passes the BadgerCare Plus 
insurance access and coverage requirements. 
• If no, the applicant or member is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for 
three calendar months following the month in which the insurance 
coverage ended. 

7.8.3 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program Insurance Access and 
Coverage Overview 

Use this overview only for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. The 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program is for pregnant women who are not eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus solely due to immigration status or due to being an inmate. 
  

1. Does she have access to health insurance, including access due to a 
qualifying event, through a current employer or the current employer of an adult 
member of the BadgerCare Plus test group? 

• If yes, continue to question #2. 
• If no, continue to question #5. 
  

2.  Does the employer pay 80 percent or more of the premium? 
• If yes, continue to question #4. 
• If no, continue to question #3. 

  
3. Is the employer-provided insurance the Wisconsin state employee health 
plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by state or local 
government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #4. 
• If no, continue to question #5. 

  
4. Would the coverage begin in any of the three calendar months after one of 
the following: 
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a. The month of BadgerCare Plus Prenatal application filing date 
b. The annual review month 
c. The employment start date 

  
• If yes, the applicant is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
benefits. 
• If no, continue to question #5. 
  

5. Did she have access to employer-provided health insurance, including 
access due to a qualifying event, through a current employer or the current 
employer of an adult in the BadgerCare Plus test group in the twelve months 
prior to the application or review date? 

• If yes, continue to question #6. 
• If no, continue to question #9. 
  

6. Would the employer have paid 80 percent or more of the premium (at any 
time in the last 12 months)? 

• If yes, continue to question #8. 
• If no, continue to question #7. 
  

7. Would the employer-provided insurance be under the Wisconsin state 
employee health plan (regardless of plan type or premium amount contributed by 
state or local government)? 

• If yes, continue to question #8. 
• If no, continue to question #9. 
  

8. Did she have "good cause" for failure to enroll in an employer-sponsored 
health insurance plan in the 12 months prior to application (see Section 7.2.1 
Introduction)? 

• If yes, continue to question #9. 
• If no, she is ineligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 12 
months from the date the coverage would have begun unless she 
becomes exempt during that time. 
  

9. Is the woman covered by any HIPAA health insurance policy? 
• If yes, she is ineligible to enroll in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program. 
• If no, continue to question #10. 
  

10. Has the woman lost coverage under a major medical health insurance 
plan that meets the standards of a HIPAA standard plan in the prior three 
calendar months? 

• If yes, continue to question #11. 
• If no, she passes BadgerCare Plus Prenatal insurance access and 
coverage requirements. 
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11. Did she have a "good cause" for losing the major medical health insurance 
which met the standards of a HIPAA standard plan (see Section 7.6 Good Cause 
Reasons for Dropping Insurance Coverage)? 

• If yes, she passes BadgerCare Plus Prenatal insurance access and 
coverage requirements. 
• If no, she is ineligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program for 
three calendar months following the month the insurance coverage ended. 
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8.1 PREGNANT WOMEN 

Note: This chapter does not apply to pregnant women in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program. 
  
A pregnant woman who is enrolled in BadgerCare Plus stays eligible for: 

• The balance of the pregnancy, and 
• An additional 60 days after the last day of pregnancy through the end of 
the month in which the 60th day occurs. 

  
The decision about her eligibility does not need to be made prior to the termination of 
the pregnancy, but the application must be filed before the end of the pregnancy in 
order for her to remain enrolled as a pregnant woman for the 60 days after the 
pregnancy ends. If the application is not filed before the end of the pregnancy and the 
newborn is living with her or she is the caretaker relative of other children under 19, she 
should be tested as a caretaker relative once the pregnancy ends. An application for 
Express Enrollment does not meet this application test. 
  
If a pregnant woman is covered under the Standard Plan at any time during her 
pregnancy, she will remain in the Standard Plan while she is eligible as a pregnant 
woman, regardless of changes in income or other eligibility factors.  
  
A pregnant woman with income over 300 percent of the FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 
306 percent of the FPL (under MAGI rules) at the time of application when her eligibility 
is first determined can become eligible for BadgerCare Plus by meeting a deductible 
(see Section 17.2 Pregnant Women). 
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There are no premiums for pregnant women (see Section 19.1 BadgerCare Plus 
Premiums). 
  
All pregnant women, except those eligible under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program, may have their eligibility backdated to the first of the month up to three 
months prior to the month of application. If a woman is determined to be eligible as a 
pregnant woman for a backdated month, she remains eligible, even if she is over the 
income limit for any subsequent months, as long as she is still pregnant. 
  
Example 1: Barb is pregnant and applied for BadgerCare Plus in December with a three-month 
backdate request. Barb is due in March. Her income was below 306 percent of the FPL for 
September, but over 306 percent for October, November, December, and ongoing. She met all 
of the other eligibility criteria. Since she was determined eligible as a pregnant woman for the 
month of September, the subsequent increase in her income is ignored and she remains eligible 
for BadgerCare Plus through the end of the month, which is 60 days after the pregnancy ends. 
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8.2 CONTINUOUSLY ELIGIBLE NEWBORNS 

Newborn children are automatically eligible for BadgerCare Plus from the date of birth 
through the end of the month in which they turn 1 year old if both the following are true: 
  

1. They are younger than 13 months old. 
2. The natural mother was determined eligible in the state of Wisconsin for 
one of the following programs: 

a. BadgerCare Plus 
b. Other full-benefit Medicaid (see Medicaid Eligibility Handbook 
Section 21.2 Full-Benefit Medicaid) 

c. Emergency Services BadgerCare Plus 
d. Emergency Services Medicaid (see Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Section 

34.1 Emergency Services) 
e. BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program (as a nonqualifying immigrant) 

  
There is no income or resource test for these children while they are eligible under this 
status; therefore, they are not required to provide any income tax filing information in 
order for their BadgerCare Plus eligibility to be determined. 
  
Note: Children born to incarcerated mothers will not be eligible as CENs. In addition, 
children born to pregnant minors with family income over 300 percent FPL who were 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus are not eligible as CENs. This policy only applies through 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/08/8.2hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/meh-ebd/Policy_Files/21/MEH_21.2_Full_Benefit.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/meh-ebd/Policy_Files/21/MEH_21.2_Full_Benefit.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/34/meh_34.1_emergency_services.htm
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March 31, 2014, because children will no longer be eligible above 300 percent FPL as 
of April 1, 2014. The natural mother’s eligibility could have been determined either prior 
to the date of delivery or retroactively to cover the date of delivery. 
  

Example: Sasha gave birth on April 15. On June 15, she applied for BadgerCare 
Plus. Her eligibility was backdated to March 15. Her infant son is eligible as a CEN 
from April 15 through April 30 of the following year, the end of the month in which 
he turns 1 year old. 

  
The newborn child does not receive this automatic eligibility as a CEN if the mother's 
BadgerCare Plus enrollment is a temporary enrollment through the Express Enrollment 
program. 
  
A newborn is not required to reside with his or her mother to be eligible as a CEN. This 
is true even if the newborn is being placed in foster care, adoption, or is residing with a 
caretaker relative. A CEN who no longer resides with his or her mother but still resides 
in Wisconsin should remain eligible as a CEN through the end of the month in which he 
or she turns 1 year old. 
  
Through March 31, 2014, the child will be covered under either the Standard or the Benchmark 
Plan, depending on the plan the mother was covered by at the time of the baby’s birth. Effective 
April 1, 2014, all infants eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a CEN will be covered under the 
Standard Plan. If the child is enrolled in BadgerCare Plus on or after February 1, 2014, the child 
will be covered under the Standard Plan upon enrollment.  If the child is covered by the 
Benchmark plan prior to February 1, 2014, the child will transition to the Standard plan effective 
April 1, 2014.  
   
Anyone who has ever been eligible as a CEN under Wisconsin Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus is 
exempt from the citizenship and identity documentation requirements.  
   
The CEN will not have to pay premiums and is not subject to the health insurance 
access/coverage requirements. 
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Proof of certain information is required to determine eligibility for BadgerCare Plus. 
 Mandatory (9.9) and questionable (9.10) items must be verified at application , renewal, 
person addition or deletion, or when there is a change in circumstance that affects 
eligibility or benefit level. One time only verification items do not need to be re-verified. 
  
Verification means to establish the accuracy of verbal or written statements made by, or 
about a group's circumstances.   Case files or case comments must include 
documentation for any information required to be verified to determine eligibility or 
benefit levels. 
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9.2 Application 

The time period for processing an application  for BadgerCare Plus is 30 days from the 
date the agency receives the application. For paper applications, this is the date a 
signed valid application is delivered to the agency or the next business day if it is 
delivered after the agency’s regularly scheduled business hours. For phone 
applications, this is the date a valid signature is received by the agency. For electronic 
applications from ACCESS or the Marketplace, this is the next business day if the 
application is delivered after 4:30 p.m., on a weekend, or on a holiday.    
  
Eligibility should not be denied for failure to provide the required verification until the 
later of: 
  

• 10th day after requesting verification, or the 
• 30th day after the application filing date. 
  

Advise the applicant of the specific verification required. Give the applicant a minimum 
of 10 calendar days to provide any necessary verification. 
  
If verification is requested more than ten days prior to the 30th day, the applicant must 
still be allowed 30 days from the application filing date to provide the required 
verification. 
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9.3 Eligibility Renewals 

The group's eligibility should not be denied for failure to provide the required verification 
until the 10th day after requesting verification or the end of the renewal month 
whichever is later.   
  

Example 1: Fred’s eligibility renewal is due in April.  He submits a mail-in renewal 
form on April 10th.  The eligibility worker requests verification of his income on April 
11th.  If the verification is not submitted by April 30th, his eligibility will end on April 
30th. 

  
Example 2: Shannon’s eligibility renewal was due in June. At Adverse Action in 
June a notice was sent to Shannon to let her know her BadgerCare Plus eligibility 
would end June 30th because she had not yet completed her renewal.  A telephone 
interview was conducted on June 30th.  A request for verification, with a July 10th 
due date, was sent to Shannon. Because the required verification (including 
signature) was not submitted by July 10th, her eligibility beginning July 1st was 
denied. 

  
Note: After an individual transitions to MAGI rules, requested verification turned in within 
90 days of the renewal due date should be processed as timely. See Process Help 4.6. 
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9.4 Changes 

When a change is reported that requires verification, the member must be notified in 
writing of the specific verification required and allowed a minimum of ten days to provide 
it. 
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9.5 Documentation 

Documentation includes putting an original or copy of a piece of evidence in the case 
record. 
  
Documentation also includes adding notations to case comments when copying is not 
possible.  Notations must include enough information to verify eligibility, ineligibility, 
benefit level, and coverage group determinations. 
  
All documentation must be in sufficient detail to permit a reviewer to determine the 
reasonableness and accuracy of the determination. 
  
Documentation should include enough data to describe the nature and source of the 
information should any follow up be required.  All documentation should be date 
stamped. 
  
Document in the case comments: 

1. Collateral contacts. 
2. Observations in home visits. 
3. Explanations of conversations. 
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9.6 Collateral contacts 

Collateral contacts consists of oral confirmations of circumstances by persons other 
than food unit (FS) or group (BadgerCare Plus) members.  A collateral contact may be 
made either in person or over the telephone. 
  
While performing a collateral contact: 
  

1. Do not disclose that an individual has applied for public assistance. 
  
2. Do not disclose more information than is absolutely necessary to get the 
information being sought.   
  
3. Do not disclose any information supplied by the applicant . 
  
4. Do not suggest that the applicant is suspected of any wrongdoing. 
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9.6.1 Documenting Verbal Statements and Collateral Contacts 

Documentation of collateral contacts must include: 
  

1. Name of collateral contact, 
2. Title of Individual, 
3. Organization the individual is affiliated with, 
4. Address ( if no phone, or information obtained in person), 
5. Significance to household, 
6. Date(s) of contact(s) and when pertinent information was obtained. 
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9.7 Release of information 

Someone’s written release to get information from a verification source is needed only 
when the source requires it.   
  
When a source requires a written release: 
  

1. The requirement must be explained to the member. 
  
2. The individual, his or her spouse, or another appropriate adult in the 
household must sign the necessary release form(s).  The forms that may be used 
are CARES -generated or alternate pre-printed application forms. 
  

Benefits should be denied, discontinued or reduced only when: 
  

1. The missing verification is necessary to determine eligibility, and 
2. The individual is unwilling or unable to provide the verification directly, and 
3. The source requires a release, and 
4. The individual, his or her spouse or another appropriate adult in the 
household refuses to sign the release, and 
5. The release is the only way the verification can be obtained. 
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9.8 General Rules 

  
1. Avoid over-verification (requiring excessive pieces of evidence for any one 
item or requesting verification that is not needed to determine eligibility).  Do not 
require additional verification once the accuracy of a written or verbal statement 
has been established. 
  
2. Do not verify information already verified unless there is reason to believe 
the information is fraudulent or differs from more recent information.  If fraud is 
suspected, determine if a referral for fraud or for front-end verification should be 
made (9.10.1). 
  
3. Do not exclusively require one particular type of verification when various 
types are adequate and available. 
  
4. Verification need not be presented in person.  Verification may be 
submitted by mail, fax, e-mail, or through another electronic device or through an 
authorized representative . 
  
5. Do not target special groups or persons on the basis of race, religion, 
national origin or migrant status for special verification requirements. 
  
6. Do not require the member to sign a release form (either blanket or 
specialized) when the member provides required verification. 
  
7. Do not require verification of information that is not used to determine 
eligibility. 

  
Except for verification of access to employer sponsored health insurance (9.9.6), the 
member has primary responsibility for providing verification and resolving questionable 
information.  However, the IM worker must use all available data exchanges to verify 
information rather than requiring the applicant to provide it, unless the information from 
the data source is not reasonably compatible with what the applicant or member has 
reported (see Chapter 9.12 Reasonable Compatibility).   
  
Assist the member in obtaining verification if he or she requests help or has difficulty in 
obtaining it. 
  
Use the best information available to process the application or change within the time 
limit and issue benefits when the following two conditions exist: 
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1. The applicant/member does not have the power to produce verification, 
and 
  
2. Information is not obtainable timely even with your assistance. 
  

Do not deny eligibility in this situation, but continue in your attempts to obtain 
verification.  When you have received the verification, you may need to adjust or 
recover benefits based on the new information.  Explain this to the applicant/member 
when requesting verification. 
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9.9 Mandatory Verification Items 

9.9.1 Social Security Number 
9.9.1.1 Newborns  
9.9.1.2 BC + Emergency Services 
9.9.1.3 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 

9.9.2 Immigrant Status 
9.9.3 Pregnancy 
9.9.4 Medical Expenses 
9.9.5 Power of Attorney and Guardianship 
9.9.6 Access to Employer-Sponsored Health Insurance 

9.9.6.1 Employer Verification of Health Insurance (EVHI) database 
9.9.6.2 Other Forms of Health Insurance Access Verification 

9.9.7 Tribal Membership 
9.9.8 Pre-Tax Deductions 
9.9.9 MAGI Tax Deductions 
  
The following items must be verified for BadgerCare Plus: 
  

1. SSN (9.9.1) 
2. Citizenship and identity  (Chapter 4.2) 
3. Immigrant status (9.9.2) 
4. Pregnancy, if eligibility is based on the pregnancy (9.9.3) 

  
Note: Effective January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be 
verified. 
  

5. Medical expenses (for deductibles only) (9.9.4) 
6. Documentation for Power of Attorney and Guardianship (9.9.5) 
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7. Migrant worker’s eligibility in another state (12.3) 
8. Income 
9. Health insurance access (9.9.6) 
10. Health insurance coverage (Chapter 7) 
11. Family re-unification plan for child welfare parents (Chapter 10) 
12. The placement status of a FFCY (Chapter 11) on his or her 18th birthday 
13. Tribal membership or Native American descent (9.9.7) 
14. Pre-tax deductions (9.9.8) 
15. MAGI Tax deductions (9.9.9) 

  
Unless determined questionable, self-declaration is acceptable for all other items. 
  
Do not request income verification from health care applicants and members unless the 
information cannot be obtained through an electronic data source, or information from 
the data source is not reasonably compatible with what the applicant or member has 
reported (see section 9.12 Reasonable Compatibility). 

9.9.1 Social Security Number 

Social security numbers (SSNs) need to be furnished for household members 
requesting BadgerCare Plus unless they are exempt from the SSN requirement (see 
6.1). SSNs are not required from non-applicants, including outside of the home tax 
dependents and co-filers. 
  
An applicant is not required to provide a document or Social Security card.  He or she 
only needs to provide a number, which is verified through the CARES SSN validation 
process. 
  
If the SSN validation process returns a mismatch record, the member must provide the 
Social Security card or another official government document with the SSN displayed.  If 
an applicant does not yet have an SSN he or she must be willing to apply for one. 
  
Assist the member in applying for an SSN for any group member who doesn’t have one 
(IMM, Ch. I, Part C). 
  
Do not deny benefits pending issuance of an SSN if you have any documentation that 
an SSN application was made. At the next renewal, check to see if an SSN has been 
issued. 
  
The member should be informed if the SSN validation process indicates another 
individual is using the same SSN.  The member should contact the Social Security 
Administration and request they conduct an investigation. The IM worker can not 
provide the member with any information that would identify the individual who is using 
the member's SSN. 
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If the Social Security Administration finds that the SSN has been used fraudulently it 
may: 
  

1. Recommend further action be taken. 
  

and/or 
  
2. Provide the member with the information on the fraudulent action so that 
the member may pursue action through the legal system. 
  

Verify the SSN only once.   

9.9.1.1 Newborns  

A parent of a newborn may begin an SSN application on the newborn’s behalf while still 
in the hospital. 
  
Do not require an SSN to be furnished or applied for on behalf of a newborn determined 
continuously eligible (8.2) for BC +.  Accept the mother’s statement about the existence 
and residence of the newborn. 
  

9.9.1.2 BC + Emergency Services 

Do not require or verify SSNs of members who receive BadgerCare Plus Emergency 
Services only (Chapter 39). 

9.9.1.3 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 

Women applying for the BadgerCare Plus PP do not need to apply for or provide an 
SSN.  See 41.1 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal. 

9.9.2 Immigrant Status 

A member who indicates he or she is not a citizen must provide an official government 
document that lists his or her immigrant registration number.  Verification of the 
individual’s immigration status is done through the Systematic Alien Verification for 
Entitlement (SAVE) system.  Women applying for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
(Chapter 41) and persons applying for Emergency Services (Chapter 39) who do not 
provide proof of immigration status can still qualify for those benefits.   
  
An immigrant that presents documentation of his or her immigrant status and meets all 
other eligibility criteria is eligible while any secondary verification of immigrant status is 
taking place.    
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Do not re-verify immigrant status unless the member reports a change in citizenship or 
immigrant status.   

9.9.3 Pregnancy 

Verification of pregnancy is only required until December 31, 2013. Beginning January 
1, 2014, verification is no longer required for pregnancy unless the worker has 
information that contradicts the applicant or member’s statement. 
  
Through December 31, 2013, if a woman wants to be considered pregnant for the 
BadgerCare Plus pregnant women group or the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
(Chapter 39) eligibility determination, documentation from a health care professional 
attesting to the pregnancy is required.  Fetus count and the expected pregnancy end 
date are not mandatory verification items. 
  
When pregnancy must be verified, acceptable verification sources for pregnancy are: 
  

1. Physician's statement. 
2. Physician assistant's statement. 
3. Licensed nurse practitioner's statement. 
4. A written statement from a registered nurse (RN) working: 

  
a. In a Healthy Birth Identification of Pregnancy Project (EDP). 
b. In a Publicly funded family planning project. 
c. As a Certified Nurse Midwife. 

  
5. A valid BadgerCare Plus Temporary Enrollment card. 

  
Note: After January 2014, if pregnancy must be verified, the IM worker will no 
longer be able to use a BadgerCare Plus Temporary Enrollment card as a source 
of verification, as pregnancy will not be verified for Temporary Enrollment for 
Pregnant Women. 

9.9.4 Medical Expenses 

Medical expenses used to meet a deductible must be verified. The expense amount, 
any third party liability amount and date of service must all be verified. 

9.9.5 Power of Attorney and Guardianship 

Verify power of attorney and any guardianship type as specified by the court.  Ask for 
any documentation regarding durable power of attorney or court-ordered guardianship.   

9.9.6 Access to Employer-Sponsored Health Insurance 
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Verification of access to health insurance is required at the following times, unless the 
individual has already verified health insurance access within the last 12 months with 
the same employer: 
  

1. BadgerCare Plus Application and Renewal. 
2. Person Add - if adult (age 18 or over) is employed and part of the 
BadgerCare Plus test group. 
3. When an adult (age 18 or over) in the BadgerCare Plus test group gets a 
new job. 
4. When a change is processed causing total household income to exceed 
the following FPL thresholds: 

• Infants less than 1 year old, 300% of the FPL, 
1.  

• Children ages 1 through 5 (up to age 6), 185% of the FPL, 
• Children ages 6 to 18, 150% of the FPL, 
• Parents and caretakers, 133% of the FPL, and 
• Parents and caretakers with access to a Wisconsin state 
employee’s health insurance plan, 150 % of the FPL 

  
Note: Because of changes in income limits, the reporting requirements listed above for 
parents and caretakers are only effective until March 31, 2014. 
  
Note: Verification of access to insurance when parents’ and caretakers’ household 
income exceeds 133% is applied beginning July 1, 2012, when one of the following 
occurs: 

• A new application or program request is submitted, 
• New employment is reported, 
• The next review/renewal is completed, or 
• A parent or caretaker with employment is added to the assistance group. 

9.9.6.1 Employer Verification of Health Insurance (EVHI) Database 

It is not the client’s responsibility to verify access to employer-sponsored health 
insurance. For the majority of BadgerCare Plus applicants and members the EVHI 
database will be used to verify insurance access. Information gathered from employers 
is stored in the database. The verification will be returned based on the employer details 
entered on the employment page. It will be critical for Income Maintenance workers to 
enter the correct FEIN number and all other employment details for each employment 
sequence so that all employers are correctly identified in the EVHI database.   
  
If the employment details are not complete enough to verify access, the applicant will be 
sent a letter from the State requesting more information and the case will pend. 
  

Example 1: Mary’s employer has verified that permanent full-time employees have 
access to health insurance, however temporary employees do not.  Mary did not 
indicate whether she is a permanent or temporary employee. Since that information 
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is necessary to verify access to health insurance using the database, she will be 
sent a letter requesting the information. 

  
If the employer has not provided information about the health insurance they offer to 
their employees, the BadgerCare Plus eligibility will pend and a request will be sent 
from the State to the employer requesting that the information be provided. 
  
BadgerCare Plus eligibility can pend up to the end of the 30 day application processing 
period.  At that point, regardless of whether the employer has responded or not, 
eligibility must be confirmed.  If the employer has not responded assume there is not 
access to employer sponsored health insurance. 
  
BadgerCare Plus will not be terminated or denied due to an employer failure to respond 
to a request for verification of health insurance access.  If BadgerCare Plus eligibility 
begins and an employer later responds to the verification request indicating that health 
insurance access is available to the employee, BadgerCare Plus eligibility will be 
terminated with adequate notice of adverse action .  There will be no overpayment 
liability for the applicant. 

9.9.6.2 Other Forms of Health Insurance Access Verification 

Other types of verification can be used to document access to employer sponsored 
health insurance. If a BadgerCare Plus applicant or member needs medical services, 
agencies may use other contacts with employers in these situations to speed the 
verification process. Other forms of verification include: 
  

• EVF-H form 
• Employer statement 
• Collateral Contact with the employer   

9.9.7 Tribal Membership 

Tribal members are exempt from paying BadgerCare Plus premiums and may be 
exempt for certain benefit co-payments.  Effective January 1, 2014, tribal members 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus will also be exempt from co-pays. 
  
To receive these exemptions, verification of tribal membership or descent from a tribal 
member is required.  Verification may be done with a: 
  

• Tribal Enrollment Card 
• Written verification or a document issued by the tribe indicating tribal affiliation 
• Certificate of degree of Indian blood issue by BIA 
• Tribal census document 
• Medical record card or similar documentation that specifies an individual is an 

Indian that is issued by an Indian Health Care provider. 
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9.9.8 Pre-Tax Deductions 

Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim pre-tax 
deductions in order to determine their MAGI taxable income. In order to claim a pre-tax 
deduction, verification of the amount is required. Verification sources such as pay stubs 
or other documentation from the individual’s employer can serve as acceptable 
documentation. See 16.3.2 for list of pre-tax deductions. 
  

9.9.9 MAGI Tax Deductions 

Individuals whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules can claim certain tax 
deductions from the IRS 1040 Form, regardless of whether or not the individual files 
taxes. Individuals who claim such deductions must provide proof that the expense is or 
was incurred. See 16.3.3 for a list of tax deductions. 
  
Forms of verification for MAGI tax deductions could include: 

• Receipts, 
• Bank statements, 
• Check stubs, or 
• Previous years’ tax forms. 
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9.10 QUESTIONABLE ITEMS 

Information is questionable for BadgerCare Plus when: 
  

1. There are inconsistencies in the group’s oral or written statements. 
2. There are inconsistencies between the group’s claims and collateral contacts, 

documents, or prior records. 
3. The member or his or her representative is unsure of the accuracy of his 
or her own statements. 
4. The member has been convicted of Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus fraud or 
has legally acknowledged his or her guilt of member fraud. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/09/9.10hlf.htm
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5. The member is a minor who reports that he or she is living alone. This 
does not apply to minors applying solely for Family Planning Services. 
6. The information provided is unclear or vague. 
7. CARES Worker Web (CWW) determines the case meets an automated 
Error Prone Profile. 

9.10.1 Front End Verification 

Front-End verification (FEV) is intensive verification of a case by a special unit or 
worker. Refer a group for FEV only when its characteristics meet a designated profile. 
See 12.3 FEV Case Application of the Income Maintenance Manual. 
  
  
  

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-03 
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9.11 Processing Time frame 

9.11.1 Verification Receipt Date  
9.11.2 Positive Actions  
9.11.3 Delay  
9.11.4 Negative Actions  
  

9.11.1 Verification Receipt Date 

The verification receipt date is the day verification is delivered to the appropriate Income 
Maintenance agency or the next business day if verification is delivered after the 
agency's regularly scheduled business hours. 
  
Income Maintenance agencies must stamp the receipt date on each piece of verification 
received. 

9.11.2 Positive Actions 

Begin or continue benefits when: 
  

1. The member provides requested verification within the specified time limits 
and is otherwise eligible. 
  
2. Requested verification is mandatory, but the member does not have the 
power to produce the verification and he or she is otherwise eligible. In this 
situation, the agency must also make an effort to obtain the verification (9.8). 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/09/9.11hlf.htm
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9.11.3 Delay 

Notify the member when the agency is not able to process the application within 30 
days when: 
  

1. Verification is needed, and    
  
2. The member/applicant has the power to produce the verification, and 
  
3. The minimum time period allowed for producing the verification has not 
passed, and 
  
4.  Additional time is needed to produce the verification. 
  

CARES provides a verification checklist, to notify the member of the reason for the 
delay, the specific verification required, and the date the verification is due. 
  

9.11.4 Negative Actions 

Deny or reduce benefits when all of the following are true: 
  

1. The member has the power to produce the verification. 
  
2. The time allowed to produce the verification has passed. 
  
3. The member has been given adequate notice of the verification required. 
  
4. You need the requested verification to determine current eligibility.  Do not 
deny current eligibility because a member does not verify some past 
circumstance not affecting current eligibility. 
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9.12 Reasonable Compatibility for Health Care 
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9.12.1 Programs for Which Reasonable Compatibility Will Apply 
9.12.2 Reasonable Compatibility Thresholds 
9.12.3 Reasonable Compatibility Test 
9.12.4 Determining a Data Exchange-Based Income Amount for the Reasonable 
Compatibility Test 
9.12.5 Use of Equifax Data for Verification of Income 
  
Agencies may not request verification from health care applicants and members unless 
the information cannot be obtained through an electronic data source, or information 
from the data source is not “reasonably compatible” with what the applicant has 
reported. Information from the data source is “reasonably compatible” if it results in the 
same eligibility outcome as member-reported information: 
  

• If both the electronic data source and the member-reported information put the 
individual’s total countable income below a given income threshold, the two data 
sources are considered to be reasonably compatible and further verification may 
not be requested or required. 

• If the electronic data source puts the individual’s total countable income above a 
given income threshold, but the member-reported information puts the 
individual’s total countable income below that same threshold, the two data 
sources are not reasonably compatible and further verification is required as a 
condition of eligibility. 

• If the member reports income that is above a given threshold, the member-
reported income information will be used to deny or terminate health care 
benefits, regardless of what the outcome would be using information from the 
electronic data source. In this scenario, verification is not required. 

  
The reasonable compatibility test will only be applied to job earnings that have not 
otherwise been verified (for example, as part of another program’s verification process). 
 It can only be applied when earnings information is available through the State Wage 
Information Collection Agency (SWICA) or through Equifax from the Federal Data 
Services Hub (FDSH). 
  
Unearned income (as defined in Chapter 16.5) will continue to be verified as outlined in 
this chapter and in the Process Help Manual, Chapter 44.  If there is an electronic data 
source available to use for verifying a type of unearned income, it should be used as 
verification for that income. If no data source is available, the applicant or member must 
provide verification of the unearned income. 
  
Self-employment and in-kind job income will continue to be verified as outlined in 
Process Help Section 16.4.4 and Chapter 16.2. 

9.12.1 Programs for Which Reasonable Compatibility Will Apply 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/ph.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/ph.htm
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The reasonable compatibility test will be performed as part of any eligibility 
determination for the following categories of BadgerCare Plus: 
  

• BadgerCare Plus based on MAGI rules, with the exception of deductibles 
• Family Planning Only Services (FPOS) based on MAGI rules 

  
Populations not subject to an income test (for example, Former Foster Care Youth) will 
not have a reasonable compatibility test. 

9.12.2 Reasonable Compatibility Thresholds 

The reasonable compatibility test will apply to each AG for which earned income is 
reported, has not been already been verified, and for which SWICA and/or Equifax data 
is available. Because different AGs are subject to different income thresholds, the 
following thresholds will be used by population to determine whether reported 
information is reasonably compatible. In some cases, the threshold will be a FPL 
percent, while in others it will be a fixed dollar amount. 
  
Note: Because different thresholds are used for different populations, individual 
members of a household or a given AG may pass the reasonable compatibility test 
while others do not. 
  
Population Threshold(s) 
Adults (MAGS, MAGA and 
MAGN) 100% FPL 

Adults in Extensions with a 
premium 

Premium thresholds: 
133, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200, 
210, 220, 230, 
240, 250, 260, 270, 280, 290, and 
300% FPL 

Children – under age 1 306% FPL 

Children – ages 1 through 5 

191% FPL  
Premium thresholds (unless the child is 
exempt):  
201, 231, 241, 251, 261, 271, 281, 291, 
and 301% FPL 
306% FPL 

Children – ages 6 through 
18 

133% FPL  
156% FPL  
Premium thresholds (unless the child is 
exempt): 
201, 231, 241, 251, 261, 271, 281, 291, 
and 301% FPL 
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306% FPL 
Pregnant women 306% FPL 
FPOS 306% FPL 
  
For populations with multiple thresholds, the lowest threshold that is higher than the 
reported income is used. 
  

Example 1: Fatima is in an extension and reports earnings for a total monthly 
income of 141% FPL. The reasonable compatibility test would be based on the next 
highest threshold listed above, which is 150% FPL. 

  
Example 2: Marty and Jen have two sons, Alex (age 9) and Warren (age 4). They 
apply for BadgerCare Plus and report that Marty has earnings of $3,750/month. 
Equifax data is not available. SWICA reports that Marty has earnings of 
$3,955/month. For a group size of 4, the reported household income is 189% FPL, 
while the household income based on SWICA data is 199% FPL. As parents, Marty 
and Jen are ineligible for BadgerCare Plus based on their reported income of 189% 
FPL. Each child is subject to a reasonable compatibility test based on the next 
highest relevant threshold for his age group. 
  
For Alex, at age 9, the reasonable compatibility threshold is 201% FPL. The 
household’s income based on both the reported income and SWICA are below this 
threshold, so the reasonable compatibility standard is met and no further verification 
is required for Alex. 
  
For Warren, at age 4, the reasonable compatibility threshold is 191% FPL (the 
threshold for T19 vs. T21 funding of BadgerCare Plus benefits). The household’s 
income based on reported income is below this threshold, while the household’s 
income based on SWICA is above this threshold. As a result, the amounts are not 
reasonably compatible and verification must be provided in order for Warren to 
become eligible. 
  
If the family provides paystubs that show actual monthly income of more than 200% 
FPL, both children would be subject to a premium based on the income verified by 
paystubs. 

9.12.3 Reasonable Compatibility Test 

The reasonable compatibility test is based on whether using member-reported 
information about earnings and information about earnings from data exchanges results 
in the same eligibility outcome when all other countable income is taken into account. 
  
Reasonable compatibility will first be tested based on the household’s total countable 
income as reported to the agency or verified through other sources. This test will 
determine whether the member is required to provide verification of earnings. 
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If the member-reported earnings amount is not reasonably compatible (based on the 
household’s total reported income), verification of earnings will be required at the same 
time that verification is required for unearned income, self-employment, and/or tax 
deductions. 
  
A second verification request will be required if the initial test leads to a determination of 
reasonable compatibility but the earnings are no longer reasonably compatible after 
other income types or deductions have been verified. 
  
If earnings are determined to be reasonably compatible, the amount reported by the 
member should be used to determine eligibility and premium amounts for health care. 
  
If the earnings are later verified (for example, because verification is required for 
another program), the verified earnings should then be used to determine eligibility and 
premium amounts for health care.   
  
In this situation, members are not liable for overpayments because the initial 
determination was based on income that was reasonably compatible with a data 
exchange. 
  
Note: For simplicity, the examples below include households with earned income as the 
only source of income. It is important to remember that reasonable compatibility is 
based on the individual’s total countable income, not just his or her earned income 
amount. 
  

Example 3: Joe is a single childless adult with an income limit of $980.83 for 
BadgerCare Plus. He reports that his earnings are $500/month. Equifax is not 
available for his employment. SWICA reports that his quarterly earnings are $2,700, 
for a monthly amount of $830.77. Because his income is below the income 
threshold using either amount, his reported information is considered to be 
reasonably compatible with the SWICA reported income, and the agency must use 
the $500 amount he reported without requesting additional verification. 

  
Example 4: Lon is a single childless adult with an income limit of $980.83 for 
BadgerCare Plus. He reports that his earnings are $900/month. Equifax reports that 
he is paid twice a month at $510.50 per month, for a monthly amount of $1021.00. 
Because there is a difference in the eligibility outcome when applying the Equifax 
reported income, his reported information is not considered to be reasonably 
compatible, and the agency must request additional verification. 

  
Example 5: Melanie is a single childless adult with an income limit of $980.83 for 
BadgerCare Plus. She reports that her earnings are $1,200/month. CARES will 
base the denial on this reported income amount, regardless of the income amount 
from SWICA or Equifax. 
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Example 6: Michelle applies for BadgerCare Plus for herself and her two children. 
She reports that she started a job last month and is earning $1,400/month. Because 
the job is new, neither SWICA nor Equifax data is available. Since these data 
exchanges are not available, the reasonable compatibility test will not be 
performed, and Michelle will be required to verify her earnings using paystubs, an 
EVF-E form, or other documentation. 

  
Example 7: Katie is a single childless adult with an income limit of $980.83 for 
BadgerCare Plus. She applies for FS and BadgerCare Plus. She reports that her 
earnings are $800/month. Equifax data is not available. SWICA reports that her 
quarterly earnings are $2550, for a monthly amount of $784.62. Because she is 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus using either amount, her reported information is 
considered to be reasonably compatible. The agency must use her reported income 
for BadgerCare Plus, and based on this amount, she would be made eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Her FS eligibility, however, will pend for verification of her earnings. If she returns 
her paystubs and they show income of $990/month, this information would replace 
the member-reported information and her health care benefits would be terminated. 
If she failed to provide the requested verification, her FS benefits would be denied 
but she would continue to remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 

9.12.4 Determining a Data Exchange-Based Income Amount for the Reasonable 
Compatibility Test 

The following rules will be used to determine the data exchange information that will be 
used for the reasonable compatibility test: 
  

• If Equifax data is available for a given employment, CWW will apply a reasonable 
compatibility test for health care using the member-reported information and the 
data available from Equifax. 

• If data from both Equifax and SWICA are available, only Equifax data will be 
used in the reasonable compatibility test. 

• If Equifax data is not available, the system will use SWICA data if it is available 
as the basis of the reasonable compatibility test. 

  
If SWICA data is used, CARES will divide the most recent quarterly SWICA wages by 
13 and multiply by four (4)  to determine a monthly amount for use in the test. 
  
If Equifax data is used, the following rules will determine the monthly amount for use in 
the test: 
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• For months for which the system is able to confirm that all paycheck information 
has been received from Equifax, the actual income amount reported by Equifax 
for that month will be used. 

• For months for which the system cannot confirm that all paycheck information 
has been received, the system will base the monthly amount on the most recent 
paycheck. 

o If the member is paid weekly, the most recent paycheck will be multiplied 
by four. 

o If the member is paid biweekly or semi-monthly, the most recent paycheck 
will be multiplied by two. 

o If the member is paid monthly, the most recent paycheck amount will be 
used. 

9.12.5 Use of Equifax Data for Verification of Income 

Agencies may not consider Equifax data to be the final “verified” income amount unless 
the Equifax data is the same as what the member reported.  Agencies may not deny or 
terminate health care benefits based on earned income data received from Equifax 
without giving the applicant or member an opportunity to verify their reported earned 
income amount. 
  
If the reported wage amount is the same as the Equifax wage amount, workers may 
consider the reported wage amount to be verified and use the verification code of “DE – 
Data Exchange”. If the worker is completing intake during a telephonic application for 
health care and/or an interview for FoodShare or Child Care, the worker should view the 
Equifax information during the interview and ask the member if the Equifax-reported 
amount is correct. If the member agrees that the Equifax-reported amount is accurate, 
the worker should use the Equifax-reported amount and a verification code of “DE – 
Data Exchange.” Because the wage has already been verified, the reasonable 
compatibility test will not be triggered for this employment. 
  
If the worker is completing intake outside of an interview, and there is a discrepancy 
between what the member has reported and what Equifax provides, the worker must 
enter the member-reported information with a verification code of either ? or Q?.  For 
health care programs, this will trigger a reasonable compatibility test. For other 
programs, this will cause the case to pend for verification of the member-reported 
amount. 
  
If the member fails to provide verification and does not contact the agency, FoodShare, 
Child Care and/or W-2 will fail for lack of verification.  Health care will fail for any 
member whose reported income is not reasonably compatible and who failed to provide 
requested verification. 
  
However, if the member reports that he or she is unable to obtain the requested 
verification, the worker should assist the member in obtaining verification (see Chapter 
9.8). If the applicant and/or worker have made reasonable efforts to obtain verification 
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and are not able to do so, then the agency should determine the income amount based 
on “best available” information, and then document how this amount was determined. . 
  
Note: The same policies for use of Equifax data apply when a member is reporting a 
change in income. Equifax data can be used for verification if it is the same as what the 
member has reported. If it is not the same, health care will apply a reasonable 
compatibility test to determine whether further verification is required. 
  

Example 8: Ryan applies online for himself, his wife, and their child, with a request 
for health care, Child Care and FoodShare. He reports earnings of $9.55/hour at 30 
hours/week from his job at Walmart on the application. The agency does not 
process the application until the interview for Child Care and FoodShare. During the 
interview, FDSH is queried for Equifax data and the worker sees that the most 
recent weekly paycheck amount was for an hourly rate of $9.55/hour but for 33 
hours/week, for a paycheck of $315.15. The worker then confirms with Ryan that 
this amount is correct, enters this amount on the employment page and uses DE as 
the verification code. Because this information has been reported by the member 
and verified using Equifax data from the FDSH, it is considered verified for all 
programs and the reasonable compatibility test is not invoked. 

  
Example 9: Mindy applies online for herself and her 2-year-old twins, with a request 
for health care, Child Care and FoodShare. She reports $400/week in earnings 
from her job at Subway. When the worker processes the application for health care 
(prior to completing the interview for FoodShare and Child Care), the worker finds 
that Equifax data is available from the FDSH and that her most recent weekly 
paycheck is $490. Because the member-reported and the FDSH-reported amount 
are different, the worker enters a Q? on the Employment page and runs eligibility. 
FoodShare and Child Care both pend for interview. 
  
Because the employment amount has not yet been verified, a reasonable 
compatibility test is invoked for health care. For a group size of three (3), the 
reported household income is $1600/month, or 97% FPL, while the household 
income based on FDSH data is $1960/month, or 119% FPL. 
  

• For Mindy’s eligibility as a parent, the reasonable compatibility threshold is 
100% FPL. The household’s income based on reported income is below this 
threshold, while the household’s income based on FDSH is above this 
threshold. As a result, the amounts are not reasonably compatible. 
Verification must be provided in order for Mindy to become eligible. 

• For the twins, at age 2, the reasonable compatibility threshold is 191% FPL 
and no verification is needed. The household’s income based on both the 
reported income and FDSH are below this threshold, so the reasonable 
compatibility standard is met and no further verification is required for the 
twins. 



10.1 Child Welfare Parent or Caretaker Relative 

132 

  
When the worker completes the Food Share / Child Care interview, the worker asks 
Mindy whether the information provided by Equifax is correct. Mindy confirms that it 
is. The worker can then use the amount provided by Equifax on the employment 
page and changes the verification to DE. When eligibility is re-run for all programs, 
the employment is considered verified and no further verification is needed. 

  
Example 10: Same as example 2, except that during the interview, Mindy tells the 
worker that her hours have changed and that her weekly pay is $400 and not $490. 
The worker should leave the Q? as the verification code for the employment and 
issue a verification checklist. 
  

• If Mindy provides verification, the worker should use this to verify the income 
per current process. 

• If Mindy fails to provide verification and does not contact the agency, the 
employment record will be marked as NV, and she will be denied for health 
care for lack of verification, although her children will continue to remain 
open because they were reasonably compatible. Both FoodShare and Child 
Care will fail due to failure to provide requested verification.   

• If Mindy contacts the agency to say that she has not been able to obtain 
verification, the agency must assist with obtaining verification. If verification 
cannot be obtained, the worker should determine her income based on the 
“best available” information and document how this was determined in case 
comments. 

  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
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10 Child Welfare Parents 

View History 
  

10.1 CHILD WELFARE PARENT OR CARETAKER RELATIVE 

Qualifying parents and caretaker relatives of children who have been temporarily 
removed from the home and are in the care of the child welfare system may be eligible 
for BadgerCare Plus benefits if they meet all the following requirements:  

• Their child was living with them at the time the child welfare agency removed the 
child and placed him or her in: 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/10/10.1hlf.htm
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o       Foster care (both IV-E and non IV-E). 
o       Court-ordered Kinship Care. 
o       Another living arrangement. 

  
Note: If child welfare is involved and the child welfare agency has established a 
permanency plan for the child under authority of Wis. Stat. § 48.38 or 938.38, 
other living arrangements for the children meet this criteria. For example, a child 
may be placed with grandparents who are not eligible for Kinship Care or a child 
may be placed with the other parent. 
  

• The parent or caretaker relative is cooperating with a permanency plan, the goal 
of which is family reunification. Cooperation is always presumed unless the court 
has determined that reunification will no longer be the permanency goal. 

• The caretaker relative meets all other BadgerCare Plus financial and non-
financial requirements. 

  
Note: Children are not considered to be in the care of the child welfare system if they 
are an inmate in a public institution, such as a Type 1 Juvenile Correctional Institution. 
  
The parent or caretaker relative who meets the above requirements is considered 
caring for a child who has been temporarily removed from the home. The parent or 
caretaker relative did not have to be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus at the time of removal, 
but the child did have to live with the parent or caretaker. Even though the child’s 
eligibility is not determined on the caretaker relative's case, the child is included in the 
group size in the eligibility determination, and any unearned income the child has is 
budgeted under non-MAGI rules. 
  
If the child welfare system places a child with a Kinship Care relative, the Kinship Care 
relative may qualify for BadgerCare Plus as the caretaker relative of the child even if the 
Child Welfare parent/caretaker is also determined eligible as the caretaker relative of 
this child. 
  
See Process Help Chapter 14 Processing a Child Welfare Parents and Caretaker 
Relative (CWPC) Case for information on processing the child welfare parent or 
caretaker relative cases. 
  
The parent or caretaker relative who meets the above requirements is considered 
caring for a child who is temporarily absent. The parent or caretaker relative did not 
have to be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus at the time of removal, but the child did have to 
live with the parent or caretaker. The parent will continue to be considered a parent or 
caretaker for purposes of BadgerCare Plus eligibility under MAGI rules. However, the 
child may not always be included in the parent’s MAGI group (see Chapter 2 
BadgerCare Plus Group on the MAGI methodology). 
  

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/a14/14.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/a14/14.htm
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If the child welfare system places a child with a Kinship Care relative, the Kinship Care 
relative is no longer considered a caretaker relative (if the parent is enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus as a child welfare parent under the policy described above). Instead, 
the Kinship Care relative may qualify for BadgerCare Plus as a childless adult. If the 
parent is not enrolled as a child welfare parent, the Kinship Care relative may enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus as a caretaker relative. 
  
Example 1: Stacy’s child, Jared, was placed in Kinship Care with Stacy’s mom Laura, who is 
55 years old. Stacy files taxes but will not be claiming Jared as her tax dependent. Laura will 
claim Jared as her tax dependent. There are no other children, tax filers, or tax dependents in 
either Stacy’s or Laura’s households. If they both apply for BadgerCare Plus and meet all 
financial and non-financial requirements, Stacy will be eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a parent 
with a group size of one and Laura as a childless adult with a group size of two. 
  
Example 2: Ben’s daughter, Megan, was placed in Kinship Care with her grandfather James, 
who is 60 years old. Ben does not file taxes. James does file taxes and will claim Megan as his 
dependent that year. There are no other children, tax filers, or tax dependents in either Ben’s or 
James’s households. If they both apply for BadgerCare Plus and meet all financial and non-
financial requirements, Ben will be eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a parent with a group size of 
two and James as a childless adult with a group size of two. 
  
Example 3: Consider the details of Example 2, except James is now 66 years old. 
Under this example, James would not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus because he is a 
childless adult over 65 years old. He may, however, be eligible for EBD Medicaid. 
  
Example 4: Christopher’s son, Braden, was placed in Kinship Care with Christopher’s 
sister, Vicki. Christopher is claiming Braden as a tax dependent but is not applying for 
BadgerCare Plus. If Vicki meets all financial and non-financial requirements, Vicki 
would be eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a caretaker relative with a group size of one. 
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11 Foster Care Medicaid 

View History 
  

11.1 OUT-OF-HOME CARE (FOSTER CARE) 

11.1.1 Foster Care Medicaid Certification 
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11.1.2 Foster Care Medicaid Disenrollment 
  
Children or youth placed into any of the following placements are categorically eligible 
for Foster Care Medicaid: 

• Foster Care (either IV-E or non-IV-E) 
• Subsidized guardianship 
• Court-ordered Kinship Care 

   
Eligibility determinations for Foster Care Medicaid are not the responsibility of the IM agency. 
Child welfare agencies determine eligibility for Foster Care Medicaid when a child has been 
removed from the home and enters an out-of-home care placement, often referred to as Foster 
Care.  

11.1.1 Foster Care Medicaid Certification 

Eligibility for Foster Care Medicaid begins on the date the child or youth enters out-of-
home care. Paper documentation is not required when certifying children placed in out-
of-home care. 
  
Foster Care Medicaid must be certified for no longer than 12 months. Children or youth 
certified for Foster Care Medicaid through eWiSACWIS who remain in placement during 
the 12th month of eligibility will have their Foster Care Medicaid administratively 
renewed based on their placement. Children or youth certified for Foster Care Medicaid 
through other means should be certified for no longer than 12 months and re-certified if 
the child or youth is still eligible. 

11.1.2 Foster Care Medicaid Disenrollment 

When a child is discharged from out-of-home care, Foster Care Medicaid eligibility must 
be maintained until one of the following occurs: 

• The child is determined eligible for another category of Medicaid or BadgerCare 
Plus. 

• The child is determined ineligible for all categories of Medicaid and BadgerCare 
Plus. 

• The child or family failed to provide the required information to complete an 
eligibility determination or chooses not to pursue other Medicaid benefits. 

• The child dies or leaves Wisconsin. 

  
When the child or youth is discharged from out-of-home care, the child welfare agency 
will extend Foster Care Medicaid eligibility under the Foster Care medical status code 
for an additional three months. During this time, IM agencies are expected to 
redetermine the child or youth’s health care eligibility with assistance from the child 
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welfare agencies, when needed. Child welfare agencies and IM agencies should set up 
a formal communication process to ensure IM agencies are made aware of all children 
leaving the Foster Care system, and provided with information necessary to 
redetermine eligibility. 
  
To help facilitate communication between child welfare and IM agencies, EM CAPO will 
review a biweekly report of children or youth discharged from out-of-home care. EM 
CAPO will then research the child or youth’s eligibility history in CARES. 
  
If the child is returning to a household with an open health care benefit in CARES, EM 
CAPO will complete the Child or Youth Discharge from Out-of-Home Care Change 
Report (F-01665) and scan the form to the CARES case to alert workers of a household 
change. 
  
If the IM agency does not have sufficient information to redetermine Medicaid eligibility, 
the agency must request needed information from the individual or family. Once the IM 
agency has enough information, it must determine eligibility for the youth or child as of 
the date the child returned to the home. If the youth or child is determined eligible, a 
Notice of Decision must be sent. 
  
If the individual or family does not comply with a request for information after 30 days or 
if the youth or child is determined ineligible, a Notice of Decision must be sent denying 
BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid eligibility for the appropriate reasons. In addition, the IM 
agency must send a manual negative Notice of Decision specifically terminating 
eligibility for Foster Care Medicaid. The manual notice must be mailed at least 10 days 
before the Foster Care Medicaid end date. The end date can be found on the Child or 
Youth Discharge from Out-of-Home Care Change Report.  
  
If the child is not returning to a household with an open health care benefit in CARES, 
EM CAPO will send the Important Information About Foster Care Medicaid letter (F-
01661 or F-01661A) and a copy of the BadgerCare Plus Application (F-10182). The 
family or youth will need to apply for health care benefits. If no application is submitted, 
Foster Care Medicaid will end after the three-month extension period. The IM agency 
will not have to take any further action concerning health care benefits for the child or 
youth. 
  
If an application is submitted before Foster Care Medicaid ends, the IM agency must 
process the application like any other health care application. If the agency is unable to 
make an eligibility decision prior to the end date of the Foster Care Medicaid, the IM 
agency needs to manually extend the Foster Care Medicaid eligibility an additional 
month and issue a manual positive Notice of Decision. 
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11.2 FORMER FOSTER CARE YOUTH 

Until December 31, 2013, the age limit for the FFCY coverage group is 21 years old. 
 Effective January 1, 2014, the age limit is 26 years old. 
  
Youths who were in foster care, subsidized guardianships, or court-ordered Kinship 
Care on their 18th birthday qualify for a special status under BadgerCare Plus when 
they leave out-of-home care if all the following conditions are met: 
  

1. The youth was receiving foster care (either IV-E or non-IV-E), subsidized 
guardianship, or court-ordered Kinship Care on the date that he or she turned 18 
years old. It does not matter what state he or she was residing in when he or she 
turned 18 years old. 
2. The youth is one of the following: 

• Younger than 21 years old prior to December 31, 2013 
• Younger than 26 years old on or after January 1, 2014 

3. The youth meets the following BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria: 

2.  
a. Is no longer receiving foster care benefits (which includes 
subsidized guardianships and court-ordered Kinship Care) but was 
receiving the benefits on his or her 18th birthday. Verification of the 
placement status on his or her 18th birthday is required. 
b. Provides a SSN or cooperates in applying for one. 
c. Is a U.S. citizen or national or is a qualifying immigrant. 
d. Provides verification of U.S. citizenship and identity or qualifying 
immigration status or makes a good faith effort to obtain it. 
e. Cooperates with child support enforcement agencies in obtaining 
medical support (if a parent). 
f. Cooperates with TPL requirements. 
g. Physically resides in Wisconsin and intends to reside in the state. 

h. Is not an inmate. 

  
There is no income or resource test for these youths while they are eligible under this 
status; therefore, they are not required to provide any income tax filing information in 
order for their BadgerCare Plus eligibility to be determined. 
  
Note: If a FFCY is included in another household member’s AG, his or her tax filing 
information may be needed to determine eligibility for those household members. 
  
In addition, they are not subject to the BadgerCare Plus insurance access or coverage 
policies and are not required to pay any premiums for themselves. Regardless of 
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income, they are eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan unless they are found 
otherwise ineligible or until the end of the month in which one of the following occurs: 

• They turn 21 years old (prior to December 31, 2013). 

• They turn 26 years old (on or after January 1, 2014). 

  
A 12 month recertification renewal is required to continue eligibility. 
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12.1 MIGRANT WORKERS 

When determining a migrant family’s eligibility for BadgerCare Plus use the appropriate 
rules as outlined in Chapter 2, depending on whether budgeting using non-MAGI rules 
or MAGI rules. 
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12.2 Migrant Worker Definition 

A "Migrant worker” is a person who: 
  

1. Temporarily leaves his or her principal place of residence (outside of 
Wisconsin) and 
  
2. Comes to Wisconsin for not more than ten months per year in order to 
accept seasonal employment in the planting, cultivating, raising, harvesting, 
handling, drying, packing, packaging, processing, freezing, grading or storing of 
any agricultural or horticultural commodity in its unmanufactured state. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/12/12.1hlf.htm
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"Migrant worker” does not include the following: 
  

1. A person who is employed only by a state resident if the resident or the 
resident’s spouse is related to the person as the child, parent, grandchild, 
grandparent, brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or the spouse of any 
such relative. 
  
2. A student who is enrolled in or, during the past six months has been 
enrolled, in any school, college or university unless the student is a member of a 
family or household which contains a migrant worker. 
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12.3 Simplified Application 

Migrant workers and their families can have their eligibility for BadgerCare Plus 
determined using a simplified application process if they: 
  

1. Have current Medicaid eligibility from another state.  ("Current Medicaid 
eligibility” means eligibility that includes at least months one and two of the 
application process.) Or had Medicaid/BadgerCare Plus eligibility in Wisconsin 
that was certified through months one and two of the application and that ended 
only because the family left Wisconsin. 
  
2. And have the same members or fewer in the case as there were when the 
case had coverage in the other state. 
  

 The simplified application procedure is as follows: 
  

1. For applicants with current Medicaid eligibility from another state, verify 
the eligibility and the end date.  Verify with a copy of the out-of-state Medicaid 
card or by contacting the other state. 
  
2. For applicants previously eligible in Wisconsin, determine the closure code 
and renewal date. 
  
3. Determine if the same members, or fewer, are in the case compared to 
when the group was eligible in the other state. 
  
4. Collect all non-financial information. 
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5. Do not collect any financial information. 
  
6. Certify BadgerCare Plus benefits for the migrant family. 

  
Example 1:  A migrant family consisting of Dad, Mom, and their three children 
come to Wisconsin.  On July 3, Dad applies for BadgerCare Plus in Wisconsin for 
his family. 
  
The family has current Medicaid eligibility from Texas with a certification period 
ending on November 30.  That is, eligibility extends beyond application months one 
and two. 
  
The household has the same five members listed on the Medicaid card. 
  
Because the  two conditions described in 12.2 are met, the case should be 
processed using the simplified application procedure. 

  
  

Example 2:  The same migrant family comes in for the November review. Verify all 
mandatory and questionable verification items.  The family is determined eligible 
through October 31 of the following year. 
  
The family leaves Wisconsin in December.  BadgerCare Plus closes for failure to 
reside in the state.  The next March, the family returns.  There have been no non-
financial changes and no changes in household composition.  The family should be 
processed with the simplified application procedure because their case closed only 
for failure to reside in Wisconsin. 

12.3.1 Renewal dates for simplified application 

For migrant families that have been certified through the migrant simplified application 
process, the first renewal coincides with the date out-of-state eligibility ends.  The next 
renewal is 12 months from the first renewal 
  

See example 1 above.  The renewal date should be set for November since that is 
the last month of the certification period for the Texas Medicaid. 
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If migrant workers and their families have no current  BadgerCare Plus/Medicaid 
eligibility in Wisconsin or another state, or if there are additional family members who 
were not eligible in the prior state of residence, process the case as a regular 
BadgerCare Plus application, with the following exception: 
  
Use annualized earned income. "Annualized earned income” is a prospective monthly 
estimate of earned income based on the estimated total gross annual earnings divided 
by 12. Annualized income can be based on the past 12 months of the migrant family’s 
income if it is anticipated that last year’s income is the best estimate of the current 
year’s prospective income. 
  
Renewal dates for regular applications 
  
For migrant families that have been certified through the regular application process, the 
first renewal is 12 months from the month of application. 
  

12.4.1 Renewals 

Offer the following three renewal choices for migrant families:    
  

1. Mail. 
  
2. Phone. 
  
3. Face-to-face interview. 

  
 See Chapter 26 for information on renewals. 
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FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS (CHAPTERS 16-24) 

16 Income 

View History 

16.1 INCOME 

  

16.1.1 Income Limits 

Population 
Income Limit for 

Existing members 
through 

March 31, 2014 

Income Limit for 
New Applications as 
of February 1, 2014 

Income Limits 
for all Members 

effective 
April 1, 2014 

Pregnant Women 300% FPL* (non-MAGI 
rules) 

306% FPL (MAGI 
rules) 

300% FPL (non-
MAGI rules) 

306% FPL (MAGI 
rules) 

Children under 19* No Limit No Limit 

300% FPL (non-
MAGI rules) 

306% FPL (MAGI 
rules) 

Parents/Caretaker 
Relatives 200% FPL 100% FPL 100% FPL 

Childless Adults 200% FPL N/A 100% FPL 

Family Planning 
Only Services 

300% FPL (non-MAGI 
rules) 

306% FPL (MAGI 
rules) 

300% FPL (non-
MAGI rules) 

306% FPL (MAGI 
rules) 

  
*Children and pregnant women with income above the limit can become eligible by 
meeting a deductible. 
  
See Chapter 50.1 for the most recent Federal Poverty Level limits. 
  
The income limits under MAGI rules listed above include the following income 
disregards. 
  

• Children, pregnant women and individuals eligible under Family Planning 
Only Services will be allowed an income disregard equal to 5% of the FPL in 
addition to a conversion factor adjustment equal to 1% of the FPL. While the 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/16/16.1.htm


16.1 Income 

144 

income limit remains 300% FPL, CWW will actually test against an income limit 
of 306% FPL once the income disregard and conversion factor are included. 
• Parents, caretakers and childless adults already have the income 
disregard included in the income limit of 100% FPL. CWW will test against an 
income limit of 100% FPL. 

  
Note: Other effective income limits for children under MAGI rules will also reflect the 
addition of the 6% disregard with the exception that the income thresholds for children’s 
premiums will only be increased by 1%. 

16.1.2 Income Under Non-MAGI Rules 

In general, all available gross income is counted when determining BadgerCare Plus 
eligibility under non-MAGI rules for existing BadgerCare Plus members with a filing date 
prior to February 1, 2014. See unavailable income below for exceptions to this rule. 
  
Gross income is the total income before any amounts are subtracted or withheld (i.e. 
taxes, garnishments, repayment amounts, etc.) 
  
Net income is the amount of income after deductions are withheld. 
  
Available income. Income is available when: 
  

1. It is actually available, and  
2. The person has a legal interest in it, and  
3. The person has the legal ability to make it available for support and 
maintenance. 

  
An example of an income source that someone can make available is unemployment 
compensation. 
  
When it is known that a member of the group is eligible for income or an increased 
amount of income: 
  

1. If the amount is known, count the income as if the person is receiving it. 
 If the amount is unknown, ignore the income. 
  

Example 1: Ms. M. is entitled to Worker’s compensation benefits of $430. However, 
she declined a $100 increase offered by the insurance company, and the amount of 
her check remains at $430.  Since the full entitlement amount is known, the 
available income is $530. 

  
Unavailable Income: Income is unavailable when it will not be available for 31 days or 
more. The person must document that it will not be available for 31 days or more. 
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Unavailability is documented by a letter from the source of the income stating when the 
person will receive the benefit. Thus, if he or she has just applied for benefits, the 
income would not be counted. The income is not ignored; it is just not counted until it 
becomes available. Schedule an eligibility review for no later than the 60th day. 
All taxable income is counted when determining BadgerCare Plus eligibility under MAGI 
rules. Social Security income is also counted under MAGI rules. See 16.2 for the list of 
income that is not counted. These rules apply to families that are filing taxes and those 
who are not. 

16.1.3 Income Under MAGI Rules 

All taxable income is counted when determining BadgerCare Plus eligibility under MAGI 
 rules. Social Security income is also counted under MAGI rules. See 16.2 for the list of 
income that is not counted. These rules apply to families that are filing taxes and those 
who are not. 
  
Within a MAGI group, income will be counted as detailed in Chapter 2. For any member 
whose income is budgeted for their assistance group, income under the countable 
income types listed in 16.4 and 16.5 will be counted and deductions under the types 
listed in 16.3 will be allowed. See Chapter 2 for determining the assistance group size. 
  
All MAGI group members’ income is counted with one exception: If a group member is 
the child or tax dependent of another group member, his or her income is only counted 
if he or she is “expected to be required” to file a tax return for the current year. See 
section 2.8.2 for more information. 
  
If a member’s income is budgeted for his or her assistance group, his or her deductions 
will be counted for that group. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint 
tax return with his or her spouse, the individual’s deductions may offset the spouse’s 
income even if the individual has no income. 
  
Note: The availability of income does not affect whether or not the income is counted 
under MAGI rules. 
  
When it is known that a member of the group is eligible for income or an increased 
amount of income: 
  

1. If the amount is known, count the income as if the person is receiving it. 
2. If the amount is unknown, ignore the income. 

  
Example 2: Ms. M. is entitled to Unemployment compensation benefits of $430. 
However, she declined a $100 increase offered by unemployment compensation, 
and the amount of her check remains at $430.  Since the full entitlement amount is 
known, the available income is $530. 
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16.1.4 Gap Filling 

Due to differences between the eligibility rules used by the Marketplace for Advanced 
Premium Tax Credits (APTC) and the eligibility rules used when counting income for 
BadgerCare Plus, the Marketplace may find someone to be below 100% FPL based on 
their annual income, while BadgerCare Plus may find someone to be above 100% FPL 
based on their current monthly income. Because of this difference in eligibility rules, the 
individual is eligible for neither BadgerCare Plus nor APTCs. If applicants were left in 
this eligibility “gap”, then only option available is to pay for the full cost of private health 
insurance through the Marketplace. To prevent this from happening, we must enroll 
these individuals based on a monthly equivalent of their expected annual income under 
a process called “gap filling”. 

16.1.4.1 Processing Application for Individuals Eligible Under Gap Filling Rules 

Local agencies should contact the DHS CARES Call Center when an individual has 
applied at the Marketplace and has received a notice indicating that they can purchase 
health insurance but cannot get an APTC, and has also been denied BadgerCare Plus 
because of monthly income above 100% FPL. 
  
The CARES Call Center will confirm whether the individual meets the criteria for gap 
filling certification. If so, the CARES Call Center will add a case comment to CWW. EM 
CAPO will then manually certify the member, track his or her individual enrollment 
outside of CWW, and serve as the point of contact for that member’s eligibility under 
gap filling rules. The EM CAPO will send a notice of decision informing the individual of 
his or her eligibility and change reporting rules. Changes for that individual will be 
reported to and processed by the EM CAPO while he or she is eligible under gap filling 
rules. 
  
The case itself will remain with the consortium, which will manage eligibility for other 
programs or individuals who may be open as part of that case. 

16.1.4.2 Processing Renewals for Individuals Eligible Under Gap Filling Rules 

Because the Marketplace considers annual income on a calendar-year basis, the 
manual gap-filling certification will last until the end of the calendar year. Approximately 
45 days prior to the end of the year, members will receive a notice from EM CAPO 
advising them that their eligibility is ending and directing them to return to the 
Marketplace (or, if appropriate, reapply for BadgerCare Plus). A gap-filling member can 
also lose eligibility during the certification period if: 
  

• He or she moves out of state; or, 
• He or she has expected annual income of more than 100% FPL. 

16.1.4.3 Eligible Under Another Category of BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid 
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EM CAPO will end the gap-filling certification if the member has become eligible in 
another category of BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid. 
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16.2 Income Types Not Counted 

1. Adoption Assistance 
2. Agent Orange Settlement Fund 
3. Combat Pay 
4. Other Military Pay 
5. Crime Victim Restitution Program 
6. Disaster and Emergency Assistance 
7. Earned Income (non-MAGI only) 
8. Foster Care 
9. Individual Development Account 
10. Jury Duty Payments (non-MAGI only) 
11. Kinship Care 
12. Life insurance policy dividends 
13. Nutrition Benefits 
14. Payments to Native Americans 
15. Payments to Nazi Victims 
16. Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (PL 101-426) 
17. Refugee Cash Assistance 
18. Refugee "Reception and Placement" 
19. Reimbursements 
20. Relocation Payments 
21. Repayments 
22. Special Programs 
23. Spinal Bifida Child 
24. Susan Walker Payments 
25. Student Financial Aids 
26. Stipends from the University of Wisconsin Upward Bound Program 
27. Tax Refunds (Income and EITC) 
28. Unpredictable Income 
29. Veterans Benefits 
30. Wartime Relocation of Citizens 
31. Workforce Investment Act Unearned Income 

32. W-2 Payments 
33. General Relief and Charity 
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34. SSI 
35. Interest and Dividend income (non-MAGI only) 
36. Lump Sum Payments (non-MAGI only) 
37. Property Settlements 
38. Subsidized Guardianship 
39. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 

40. Child Support 
41. Gifts 

42. Money from another person 
43. Inheritances, Bequests, and Devises 

44. Workers' Compensation 

   
The following types of income are not included in the countable income when determining 
eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.  
 
 

1. Adoption Assistance. 
  

2. Agent Orange Settlement Fund. Do not count payments received from the 
Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established in settling In Re 
"Agent Orange" Product Liability Litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E.D.N.Y.). This is 
retroactive to January 1, 1989. Do not count these payments for as long as they 
are identified separately. 
  

3. Combat Pay. Do not count combat zone pay that goes to the household that is in 
excess of the military person's pre-deployment pay. The exclusion lasts while the 
military person is deployed to the combat area. 

   
If the amount of military pay from the deployed absent family member is equal to 
or less than the amount the household was receiving prior to deployment, count all 
of the income to the household. Any portion of the military pay that exceeds the 
amount the household was receiving prior to deployment to a designated combat 
zone should not be counted when determining the household’s income. 
  

Example 1: John's wife Bonnie and their daughter have an open BadgerCare Plus case. John 
is in the military stationed overseas; his monthly income is $1,000. John sends his wife 
$1,000 every month.  
   
When John is deployed to a combat zone his pay is increased to $1,300 a month, which is 
deposited into a joint account. Because the $300 is combat zone pay, it is not counted in the 
determination. The pre-combat pay of $1,000 is budgeted as unearned income for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
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4. Other Military Pay. Do not count income received for the following 
purposes: 

• Living allowances 
o Basic Allowance for Housing 
o Basic Allowance for Subsistence 
o Housing and cost-of-living allowances abroad paid by the 
U.S. government or by a foreign government 
o Overseas Housing Allowance 

• Death allowances 
• Family allowances 
• Moving allowances 
• Travel allowances 
• Professional education allowances 
• ROTC educational and subsistence closure benefit allowances 
• Uniform allowances 

  
  
Note: Military pay can be verified using the Leave and Earnings Statement 
received by active duty personnel. 
  

5. Crime Victim Restitution Program payments received from a state-established 
fund to aid victims of a crime. 
  

6. Disaster and Emergency Assistance payments made by federal, state, county, 
and local agencies and other disaster assistance organizations. 
  

7. Earned Income of individuals younger than 18 years old.   

For cases under non-MAGI rules, disregard the income until the month following 
the month in which the person turns 18 years old. 
  
For cases under MAGI rules, see Section 2.8.2 MAGI Income Counting Rules for 
information about counting income. 
  
8. Foster Care. 
  

9. Individual Development Account payments that are made in the form of 
matching funds to buy a home, start a business, or to complete post-secondary 
education.   
  

10. Jury Duty Payments. Count any portion of a jury payment that is over and 
above expenses as earned income for the month in which it is received. 
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For cases under non-MAGI rules, count any portion of a jury payment that is over 
and above expenses as earned income for the month in which it is received. 

  
For cases under MAGI rules, count all jury duty payments as earned income for 
the month in which it is received if the payments are not turned over to the 
individual’s employer. Amounts received separately as reimbursements or 
allowances for travel to and from the courthouse, meals, and lodging during jury 
duty are not countable. 

  

11. Kinship Care. 
  
12. Life Insurance policy dividends. 
  

13. Nutrition Benefits received from the following:  
a. Emergency Food and Shelter National Board.  
b. Federal Emergency Management Assistance.  
c. FoodShare allotment.  
d. Home produce for household consumption.  
e. National School Lunch Act.  
f. Supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966.  
g. Title VII, Nutrition Program for the Elderly, of the Older Americans Act of 

1965.  
h. USDA Child Care Food Program.  
i. USDA-donated food and other emergency food.  
j. WIC—the supplemental food program for women, infants, and children. 

  
14. Payments to Native Americans from: 

a. Distributions from Alaska Native Corporations and Settlement 
Trusts, including: 

• Menominee Indian Bond interest payments.  
• All judgment payments to tribes through the Indian Claims 

Commission or Court of Claims.  
• Payments under the Alaskan Native Claims Settlement Act.  
• Payments under the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Fund.  
• Payments under PL 93-124 to the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe, 

except under non-MAGI rules, individual shares over $2,000.  
• Payments under PL 93-134 to the Maricopa Ak-Chin Indian 

Community, Navajo Tribe, Coast Indian Community of the Resighini 
Rancheria, Stillaguamish Tribe, Pueblo of Taos Tribe, Walker River 
Paiute Tribe, and White Earth Band of the Minnesota Chippewa 
Tribe, except under non-MAGI rules, individual shares over 
$2,000.  

• Payments under PL 94-114 to the Bad River Band and Lac Courte 
Oreilles Band of Chippewa Indians and the Stockbridge Munsee 
Indian Community of Mohicans.  
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• Payments under PL 96-318 to the Delaware Tribe of Kansas and of 
Idaho.  

• Payments under PL 96-420 to the Houlton Band of Muliseet 
Indians, the Passamoquoddy, and Penobscot.  

• For EBD Medicaid cases, under PL 98-64, disregard all Indian 
judgment funds held in trust by the Secretary of the Interior for an 
Indian tribe and distributed on an individual basis to members of the 
tribe. Also disregard interest and investment income from these 
funds.  

• Payments under PL 99-346, Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of 
Michigan. 

• Payments under PL 99-377 to the Mille Lacs, Leech Lake, and 
White Earth, Minnesota reservations.  

• Payments under PL 101-41, Puyallup Tribe of Indians Settlement 
Act of 1989.  

• Payments under the Distribution of Judgment Funds Act of 1987 to 
the Cow Creek Band, Umpqua Tribe.  

• Payments under the Distribution of Indian Judgment to the Crow 
Creek and Lower Brule Sioux except individual shares over $2,000. 
• Payments under the settlement of the Cobell v. Salazar 
class-action trust case. 

  

b. Other Exempt Tribal Payments 
 
Disregard non-gaming tribal income from the following sources: 

• Distributions and payments from rents, leases, rights of way, 
royalties, usage rights, or natural resource extraction and harvest 
from: 

o Rights of ownership or possession in any lands held in trust, 
subject to federal restrictions, located within the most recent 
boundaries of a prior federal reservation, or otherwise under 
the supervision of the Secretary of the Interior; or  

o Federally-protected rights regarding off-reservation hunting, 
fishing, gathering, or usage of natural resources  

• Distributions resulting from real property ownership interests related 
to natural resources and improvements: 

o Located on or near a reservation or within the most recent 
boundaries of a prior federal reservation; or 
o Resulting from the exercise of federally-protected 
rights relating to such real property ownership interests 

  
c. Payments to tribal members from gaming revenue: 
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• Under non-MAGI rules, disregard the first $500 of the 
monthly income from Tribal Per Capita payments from gaming 
revenue. If the payments are received less than monthly, prorate 
the gross payment amount over the months it is intended to cover 
and disregard $500 from the monthly amount. 
• Under MAGI rules, all of the income form Tribal Per Capita 
payments from gaming revenue are counted income. 

15. Payments to Nazi Victims made under PL 103-286 to victims of Nazi 
persecution. 

16. Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (PL 101-426) payments to persons to 
compensate injury or death due to exposure to radiation from nuclear testing ($50,000) 
and uranium mining ($100,000). The federal Department of Justice reviews the claims 
and makes the payments. If the affected person is dead, payments are made to his or 
her surviving spouse, children, parents, or grandparents. This is retroactive to October 
15, 1990. Do not count these payments for as long as they are identified separately. 
  
17. Refugee Cash Assistance program payments. The Refugee Cash Assistance 
program is administered by W-2 agencies and is made available for refugees who do 
not qualify for W-2. 
  
18. Refugee "Reception and Placement" payments made to refugees during the 
first 30 days after their arrival in the U.S. Reception and Placement payments are made 
by voluntary resettlement agencies and may be a direct payment to the refugee 
individual/family or to a vendor. 
  
19. Reimbursements for out-of-pocket expenses that an assistance group member 
has incurred and/or paid.  However, reimbursements for normal household living 
expenses (rent, clothing, or food eaten at home) are counted. 
  

Examples of reimbursements that are not counted:  

a. For job- or training-related expenses. The expenses may be for travel, 
food, uniforms, and transportation to and from the job or training site. This 
includes travel expenses of migrant workers.  

b. For volunteers' out-of-pocket expenses incurred during their work.  
c. Medical or dependent care reimbursements.  
d. Reimbursement from the Indianhead Community Action Agency 

(Ladysmith) under its JUMP Start Program for start-up costs to set up an 
in-home child care business in the person's home. 

e. Reimbursements received from the Social Services Block Grant Program 
for expenses in purchasing Social Services Block Grant services (for 
example, transportation, chore services, and child care services). 

   



BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

153 

The reimbursement payment should not be more than the person’s actual out-
of-pocket expenses. If it is more, count the excess amount as unearned 
income. 
  

20. Relocation Payments. Under Wis. Stat. § 32.19, relocation payments are 
available to displaced persons. The following are examples of costs that the 
relocation payments are intended to cover: moving expenses and replacement 
housing and property transfer expenses. Do not count the amounts paid by any 
governmental agency or organization listed in Wis. Stat. § 32.02. Do not count 
Title II, Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act 
payments. Its purpose is to treat people displaced by federal and federally aided 
programs fairly so that they do not suffer disproportionate injuries as a result of 
programs designed for the public's benefit. 
  

Do not count Experimental Housing Allowance Program payments. Its purpose is 
to study housing supply. Test areas, which include Brown County, were selected 
throughout the United States, and contracts were entered into prior to January 1, 
1975.  A sample of families was selected to receive monthly housing allowance 
payments. 
  

21. Repayments of money the member has received from an economic support 
program and must give back because of a program error or violation. Since he or 
she is not entitled to the money, he or she must repay it; therefore it should not 
be counted as income to the member. 

   
Do not count the following repayments: 

• Money withheld from an economic assistance check due to a prior 
overpayment. 

• Money from a particular income source that is voluntarily or involuntarily 
paid to repay a prior overpayment received from that same source of 
income. 

   
If money from a particular income source is mixed with money from other 
types of income, disregard only an amount up to the amount of the current 
payment from the particular source. 
  

Example 2: Richard receives $50 a month from the VA and $250 from Social Security. The 
income from the two sources is added together to equal $300. If the VA overpays Richard 
by $200, he can only pay back the $50 a month he receives from the VA. If he repays more, 
for instance, $75 a month, only $50 should be disregarded. 
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• Social Security income used to repay an overpayment previously received 
from the Social Security Administration, whether SSA or SSI. 
  

22. Special Programs income received from any of the following:  
a. Active Corp. of Executives. 
b. Wages paid by the Census Bureau for temporary employment related to 

Census 2010. 
c. Emergency Fuel Assistance. 
d. Foster Grandparents Program. 
e. Governmental rent or housing subsidy, including reimbursements due to 

federal regulatory changes in computing HUD housing rent. 
f. Homestead Tax Credit. 
g. Low Income Energy Assistance Program. 
h. Programs funded under Title V of the Older Americans Act of 1965 (see 

Section 16.4.1 #5), except wages or salaries, which are counted as 
earned income.   

i. Retired Senior Volunteer Program. 
j. Service Corp. of Retired Executives. 
k. University Year for Action Program. 
l. Under non-MAGI rules, income from Volunteers in Service to America is 

not counted. Under MAGI rules, earnings and cash benefits from 
Volunteers in Service to America are counted. 

m. Wisconsin's Family Support Program (Wis. Stat. § 46.985).  This program 
funds the unique needs of severely disabled children. They may be a 
vendor or a money payment. 
  

23. Spinal Bifida Child (PL 104-204) payments to any child of a Vietnam veteran for 
any disability resulting from the child's spinal bifida. 
  

24. Susan Walker Payments received from the class action settlement of Susan 
Walker vs. Bayer Corporation. These payments are to hemophiliacs who 
contracted the HIV virus from contaminated blood products. 
  

25. Student Financial Aids.  
 
Under non-MAGI rules, student financial aids are not counted as income 
regardless of source. This includes student loans, grants, scholarships and work 
study, and any financial assistance provided by a public or private organization 
for the purpose of obtaining an education. Disregard the full amount of student 
financial aids, including any amounts earmarked for living expenses. Count 
income from an internship or assistantship that is not part of work study or 
another student aid as earned income. 

  
Example 3: Clark is a journalism student. The University School of Journalism has 
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arranged an internship for him to work 10 hours a week at The Daily Planet. The newspaper 
pays him $30 a week. This income is counted as earned income when determining Clark's 
eligibility. 

 
Under MAGI rules, work study income and any income from an internship or 
assistantship should be counted as earned income. Grants, scholarships, 
fellowships, and any additional financial assistance provided by public or private 
organizations that exceed the cost of tuition, books, and mandatory fees are 
counted as unearned income and should be prorated over the period of time they 
are intended to cover. Student loans are not counted as income regardless of 
what the loan is used to pay for. 
  

Example 4: Mary was awarded a scholarship for $3,500 in July that is intended to cover her 
fall semester (September through December). Her tuition and course related expenses are 
$3,250 for the semester. The $250 that exceeds the amount of tuition and course-related 
expenses will be prorated over the four-month period from September through December at 
$62.50 in unearned income each month ($250/4 months = $62.50/month). 

  
The following types of grants, scholarships, and fellowships are counted as 
income: 

• Pell Grants 
• Robert Byrd Honors scholarships 
• Any grants, scholarships, or fellowships received from the college 
or university as part of a financial aid package 
• Any grants, scholarships, or fellowships provided by public or 
private organizations 

  
The following educational aid types are not counted as income: 

• Loans, including Stafford Loans and Perkins Loans 
• AmeriCorps or HealthCorps grant 
• Bureau of Indian Affairs grant 
• GI Bill/Veterans benefits 
• ROTC benefits 
  

Note: These income types will not be considered when determining if grants, 
scholarships, and fellowships exceed the cost of tuition, books and mandatory 
feeds. 

  
The following expense types will be used to offset income from grants, 
scholarships, fellowships, and other financial aid: 

• Tuition 
• Required books, supplies, or equipment 
• Mandatory fees 
  

The following expense types will not be allowed to offset income from grants, 
scholarships, or other financial aid: 
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• Room 
• Board (meals or meal plans) 
• Personal expenses 
• Transportation and parking 
• Loan fees 
• Health insurance costs 

  

26. Stipends from the University of Wisconsin Upward Bound Program paid to 
high school students to encourage low income students to further their education. 
  

27. Tax Refunds (Income and EITC). 
  

28. Unpredictable Income, which is unpredictable, irregular, and has no 
appreciable effect on ongoing need. 
  

29. Veterans Benefits.  
 
Under non-MAGI rules, count veterans benefits as unearned income. Do not 
count VA allowances for unusual medical expenses that are received by a 
veteran, their surviving spouse, or dependent. Do not count aid and attendance 
and housebound allowances received by veterans, spouses of disabled veterans, 
and surviving spouses. For institutionalized and community waiver cases, do not 
count these allowances in eligibility and post-eligibility determinations, except for 
residents of the State Veterans Home at King. 
  
Under MAGI rules, do not count any veterans' benefits paid under any law, 
regulation, or administrative practice administered by the VA. The following 
amounts paid to veterans or their families are not countable:  

• Education, training, and subsistence allowances. (i.e., GI Bill benefits) 
• Disability compensation and pension payments for disabilities paid 
either to veterans or their families. 
• Grants for homes designed for wheelchair living. 
• Grants for motor vehicles for veterans who lost their sight or the 
use of their limbs. 
• Veterans' insurance proceeds and dividends paid either to veterans 
or their beneficiaries, including the proceeds of a veteran's endowment 
policy paid before death. 
• Interest on insurance dividends left on deposit with the VA. 
• Benefits under a dependent care assistance program. 
• The death gratuity paid to a survivor of a member of the Armed 
Forces who died after September 10, 2001. 
• Payments made under the compensated work therapy program. 
• Any bonus payment by a state or political subdivision because of 
service in a combat zone. 
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Do not count VA allowances for unusual medical expenses that are received by a 
veteran, their surviving spouse, or dependent. Do not count aid and attendance 
and housebound allowances received by veterans, spouses of disabled veterans, 
and surviving spouses. For institutionalized and community waiver cases, do not 
count these allowances in eligibility and post-eligibility determinations, except for 
residents of the State Veterans Home at King. 

  

30. Wartime Relocation of Citizens (PL 100-383) restitution payments made to 
individual Japanese-Americans (or their survivors) and Aleuts who were interned 
or relocated during World War II. 
  

31. Workforce Investment Act Unearned Income paid to any adult or minor 
participating in the Workforce Investment Act, including:  

a. "Need-based payments" paid to persons as allowances to enable them to 
participate in a training program.  

b. "Compensation in lieu of wages" paid to persons in "tryout 
employment." This is arranged when private for-profit opportunities are not 
available and is generally limited to persons younger than 22 years 
old. Ask any applicant younger than 23 years old, or the local Workforce 
Investment Act staff if he or she is participating in "tryout employment."  If 
he or she is, count this as unearned income.    

c. "Payments for supportive services" paid to persons in training programs 
who are not able to pay for training-related expenses (e.g., transportation, 
health care, child care, meals). 
  

32. W-2 Payments for W-2 Transition, Custodial Parent of an Infant, At Risk 
Pregnancy, and Community Service Jobs. Do not disregard payments for Trial 
Employment Match Program or Transform Milwaukee Jobs. 
  

33. General Relief and Charity. 

  
34. SSI. 

   
SSI is not counted income for BadgerCare Plus. The following is a brief list of the 
potential codes for SSI. 

• SI - SSI/Supplemental Security Income 
• SISE - SSI-E/Supplemental Security Income - Expenditure 
• SISS - State Supplemental Security Income 

  
35. Interest and Dividend Income. 

Under non-MAGI rules, interest and dividend income is not counted income for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
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Under MAGI rules, interest and dividend income is counted as unearned income. 

  
36. Lump Sums Payments. 

Under non-MAGI rules, lump sum payments (rather than recurring payments) from 
such sources as insurance policies, inheritance, sale of property, Railroad 
Retirement, Unemployment Compensation benefits, and retroactive corrective 
financial aid payments are counted as an asset when received. There is no asset 
test for BadgerCare Plus (see Section 20.1 Assets). The payment can be either 
unearned or earned income. However, do not include payments that are included 
in farm or self-employment income. 

  
Under MAGI rules, count lump sum payments (if the payment is otherwise a 
countable income type) in the month received. 

  

37. Property Settlement.  

Money received as a property settlement is always an asset, regardless of 
whether it is paid in one payment or installments. It is never income. 

  

38. Subsidized Guardianship Payments.  

Subsidized guardianship payments are not counted for BadgerCare Plus.   
  

39. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.  

Disregard the one time payments of $250 sent to SSI, veterans, Railroad 
Retirement, and Social Security recipients as a result of the American Recovery 
and Reinvestment Act of 2009. 

  
Effective February 1, 2009, disregard the $25 per week temporary supplement 
benefits from Unemployment Compensation. 

  
40. Child Support. 

Under non-MAGI rules, count child support income as unearned income. 
  
Under MAGI rules, do not count child support income. If a household is receiving 
family support, divide the payment by the number of members in the household. 
The amount of the payment allocated to the child(ren) is considered child support 
and is disregarded. Count the amount of the payment allocated to the adult(s) as 
alimony/spousal support unless the divorce/separation order by the court 
designates the spousal support payments as being non-taxable. If the spousal 
support payments are non-taxable, they are exempt under MAGI rules (see 
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Process Help 62.2.6 Entering Child Support Income on an Unearned Income 
Page). 
  

Example 5: Morgan receives $500/month in family support for herself and her three children, 
Kyra (age 15), Kevin (age 9), and Katie (age 7). $500/4 people = $125/person. Disregard the 
amount allocated to the children ($125 x 3 children = $375). Count $125/month as income for 
Morgan. 
  

41. Gifts. 
A gift is something a person receives, is not repayment for goods or services the 
person provided, and is not given because of a legal obligation on the giver’s part. 
To be a gift, something must be given irrevocably (that is, the donor relinquishes 
all control). 
  
Under non-MAGI rules, count monetary gifts over $30 a calendar quarter. A 
calendar quarter is three consecutive months beginning with January, April, July, 
or October. 
 
Under MAGI rules, do not count the value of a gift as income. 
  

Example 6: Marco’s grandmother gave him $1,600 to help pay for his classes at a local 
technical college. Marco’s eligibility is determined using MAGI rules. Do not count this $1,600 
as income. 
  

42. Money from another person is money a person receives that is not 
repayment for goods or services the person provided and is not given because of 
a legal obligation on the giver’s part. Money from another person is not a loan. 

  
Under non-MAGI rules, count money from another person if the amount is over 
$30 a calendar quarter. A calendar quarter is three consecutive months beginning 
with January, April, July, or October. 

  
Under MAGI rules, do not count money from another person as income (see 43. 
for policies regarding money received from another person through an inheritance, 
bequest, or devise).  

  
Example 7: Mimi receives $500 each month from her parents. She is not expected to 
pay back this money. Mimi’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility is determined using MAGI 
rules. The $500 is not counted as income for BadgerCare Plus eligibility. 
  

Note: If money received from another person is in exchange for goods or services 
(such as an informal arrangement in which someone rents a room in his or her 
house) and if the payment is regular and predictable, it should be counted under 
both MAGI and non-MAGI rules. See Section 16.4.3.1 Income Sources for 
information on counting rental income. 

https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/g62/62.2.htm#62_2_6
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/g62/62.2.htm#62_2_6
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Example 8: Jeremy pays Micah $300 each month to live in a room in Micah’s house. Micah 
and Jeremy do not have a formal lease agreement, but the payment is regular and predictable. 
Count the $300/month as income for BadgerCare Plus eligibility. 
  

43. Inheritances, Bequests, and Devises. 
  

An inheritance is property received from someone who is deceased without a valid 
will. A bequest is personal property received from someone who is deceased, as 
directed by that decedent’s will. A devise is real property received from someone 
who is deceased, as directed by that decedent’s will. 
  
Inheritances, bequests, and devises are generally not taxable, and, as a result, 
the value of the inheritance, bequest, or devise is generally not counted as income 
under MAGI rules. 
  
However, there are a few forms of inheritances or bequests that may be taxable. 
For example, distributions from an inherited pension are usually taxable to the 
beneficiary if the distributions would have been taxable if the deceased were still 
living. 
  
In addition, income generated from an inheritance, bequest, or devise is usually 
taxable. 
  
For inheritances, bequests, and devises that are taxable, the income should be 
counted only in the month it was received if it was received as a lump sum. If the 
payments are regular and predictable, they should be prorated (unless they are 
received monthly) and counted accordingly. 
  

Example 9: Roger’s aunt passed away, and Roger inherited her rental house. It is worth 
$100,000. The house is occupied by tenants who pay $800/month in rent. At the time of the 
deed transfer, the tenants owed $3,200 in back rent. The value of the $100,000 property is not 
taxable, but if the tenants pay Roger the $3,200 in back rent, that income is taxable and would 
be counted under MAGI rules in the month it was received. If they pay Roger $800/month on an 
ongoing basis, this income would also be taxable and would be counted based on MAGI rules 
regarding rental income. 
  

Note: Income from the sale of inherited property is taxable if the property is sold 
for more than the fair market value on either the date of the decedent’s death or 
on the alternate valuation date. In Example 9, if Roger were to sell the rental 
house for $150,000, the $50,000 gain would be taxable. If Roger receives income 
from the sale in a lump sum, this income would only be counted in the month it 
was received. 
  

Example 10: Darcy inherited her husband’s $150,000 life insurance policy. In most cases, life 
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insurance policies are not taxable when they are inherited, so the $150,000 should not be 
counted as income. However, Darcy receives an ongoing interest payment of $1,200/month 
from the policy. This amount is taxable and would be counted as unearned income. 

  
Income generated by an inheritance, bequest, or devise includes situations in 
which someone is the beneficiary of a trust or estate, and the trust or estate holds 
assets that are generating income. If the trust or estate distributes income to the 
beneficiary, the beneficiary is responsible for paying taxes on that income. 
  

Example 11: Keisha is the beneficiary of a trust. Land was given to the trust, and it generates 
interest that is distributed to Keisha as the beneficiary. Count this interest as unearned income. 

  
44. Workers' Compensation. 

  
Under non-MAGI rules, count workers' compensation benefits as unearned 
income. 
  
Under MAGI rules, do not count workers' compensation benefits. This includes 
workers' compensation benefits received as a settlement. 

  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-01 
Release Date: 02/15/2016 
Effective Date: 02/15/2016 

  
View History 

  

16.3 INCOME DEDUCTIONS 

  

16.3.1 Support Payments 

Under non-MAGI rules, deduct the amount of court ordered support a BadgerCare Plus 
applicant/member is obligated to pay for the support or maintenance of another person. 
 Non- court ordered payments are not deducted. Under MAGI rules, child support 
payments will not be allowed as an income deduction. 
  
The income deduction for a monthly court ordered support expense is the amount that 
the member is "obligated" to pay as stipulated in the court order. The court ordered 
obligated amount is allowed even if actual payments are not being made. The deduction 
can only be made from the income of the person with the court ordered obligation. Do 
not allow payments for arrearages and annual receipt and disbursement (R & D) 
expenses. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/16/16.3hlf.htm
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Actual payments may be deducted for court ordered lying in costs (for the costs of the 
birth of the child).  Unlike monthly court ordered expenses, actual payments for lying in 
costs are frequently paid at various times and are usually not tied to a regular payment 
schedule. 
  
Note: If the court order stipulates that the individual must pay a monthly amount toward 
lying in costs, allow the court ordered monthly amount (obligated amount) as an income 
deduction.  If the member is required to pay lying in costs, but no specific monthly 
amount is ordered, allow actual payments for lying in costs as an income deduction. 

16.3.2 Pre-Tax Deductions 

Under MAGI rules, pre-tax deductions will be allowed if the payments are taken out of 
the individual’s paycheck on a pre-tax basis. Examples include but are not limited to: 
  

1. Health Insurance premium payments, including pre-tax premium 
payments for medical, dental or vision plans 

2. Health Savings Account (including flexible spending accounts) contributions 
3. Retirement contributions 
4. Parking & Transit costs 
5. Child Care Savings Account contributions 
6. Group Life Insurance premium payments 

16.3.3 Tax Deductions 

Under MAGI rules, monthly expenses related to tax deductions from page one of the 
IRS Form 1040 will be allowed as income deductions for the current year, even if the 
individual does not plan on filing taxes. If the expense is not incurred on a monthly 
basis, it will be prorated and counted as a monthly expense. 
  
Most of these deductions are not common, and they do not include itemized tax 
deductions, like charitable contributions or mortgage interest. 
  
In addition, a few deductions have caps, as noted in detail below.  If an individual 
reports and verifies a monthly expense that is more than the monthly cap, the deduction 
will be the amount of the cap. 
  

1. Student Loan Interest. Interest on a loan taken to pay for school expenses for 
the following persons at the time the loan was taken out: 

• His or her spouse; 
• His or her child under age 19; or 
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• His or her child under age 24 who was a student, lived with the individual 
for more than half a year, did not provide more than half of his or her own 
support for that year, and did not earn more than $3,900 during that year. 

 
Do not count interest on a loan used for anything besides paying for education or 
if a relative or employer gave the loan. 
  
This deduction is capped at a monthly amount of $208. 
 

2. Higher Education Expenses. Includes tuition and amounts paid for books or 
fees, but only if those amounts are required to be paid to the institution as a 
condition of enrollment or attendance. This deduction may not be claimed for 
expenses that were paid with tax-free educational assistance. Grants and 
scholarships used for tuition and fees are generally non-taxable, therefore this 
deduction cannot be claimed for the portion of tuition and fees that were paid for 
with grants and scholarships. This is capped at a monthly amount of $333. 

3. Self-employment Tax Deduction. Applies to individuals who are self-employed, 
who owe self-employment tax, and who are able to deduct a portion of the self-
employment tax they pay. Only deduct the portion that the person can deduct on 
their tax return (as calculated on Schedule SE), not the entire amount of self-
employment tax that is paid. 

4. Spousal Support, Alimony or Maintenance. The amount paid for court ordered 
spousal support, alimony or maintenance or payments under Section 71 for a 
current or prior spouse as a result of a legal separation or divorce. Do not deduct 
more than the court ordered amount. Do not allow any deduction if the court 
order designates the payments as being non-taxable. 

5. Teachers’ Tax-Deductible Expenses. Applies to K-12 teachers who have up to 
$250 in out-of-pocket work expenses (expenses not paid for by the employer). 
This is capped at a monthly amount of $21. 

6. Self-employed SEP, Simple or Qualified Plan Contributions. Examples of 
these plans include:  

• Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) Plan 
• Savings Incentive Match Plan For Employees (SIMPLE) 
• Qualified Plan Contributions 

7. Penalties for Early Withdrawal of Funds. Penalties to a bank or financial 
institution for withdrawing funds early from a savings account where money must 
be left in the account for a fixed period of time, such as a time saving account, 
certificate of deposit (CD) or an annuity. 
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8. Performing Artists Tax-deductible Expenses. Applies to performing 
artists who have out-of-pocket business expenses not paid by the employer and 
meet the following criteria: 

• Worked for at least two employers who each paid at least $200; 
• Did not earn more than $16,000 for his or her work in the current 
year; and 
• Out-of-pocket expenses were more than 10% of his or her 
earnings. 

9. Military Reserve Members’ Tax-deductible Expenses. Applies to travel 
expenses for members of the Armed Forces Reserve who travel more than 100 
miles away from home to perform work for the Armed Forces Reserve. 

10. Out-of-pocket Costs for a Job-related Move. Applies to individuals who paid 
out-of-pocket expenses for a job-related move and meets the following criteria:  

• The move must be for a job-related reason, such as starting a new 
job, and 
• The new job must be at least 50 miles farther from the individual’s 
old home than the old home was from the individual’s old job or must be at 
least 50 miles from the old home if the individual did not have a job before. 

11. Loss from Sale of Business Property. Applies to self-employed individuals that 
had a loss from the sale or exchange of property that they owned for their 
business. 

12. Individual Retirement Account (IRA) Contributions. Applies to individuals who 
had income from a job and made contributions to an individual retirement 
account (IRA). Also applies to self-employed individuals who made contributions 
to an IRA they set up themselves. 

13. Fee-based Official Tax-deductible Expenses. Applies to individuals who are 
fee-based officials and have out-of-pocket business expenses. Examples of fee-
based officials include chaplains, county commissioners, judges, justices of the 
peace, sheriffs, constables, registrars of deeds or building inspectors. 

14. Domestic Production Activities Deduction. Applies to self-employed 
individuals who led the production of things like property, electricity, natural gas, 
or potable water, as long as these things were produced in the United States. 
This also applies to individuals who invented or created software, recordings, or 
films in the United States. 
 
Note: This deduction is not common. 

15. Health Savings Account Deduction. Applies to contributions made to a health 
savings account for someone enrolled in a high-deductible health plan, as 
specified on Form 8889. Contributions made by employers, through roll-overs, or 
through distributions from Individual Retirement Accounts are not deductible. 
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16. Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction. Applies to self-employed 
individuals who are paying premiums for a medical, dental or long-term care plan 
established under their business that covers them, their spouse, and/or their 
dependents. 

17. Allowable Write-in Expenses. These deductions include:  
• Contributions to Archer MSAs 

• Deductions attributable to rents and royalties 
• Certain deductions of life tenants and income beneficiaries of 
property 
• Jury duty pay given to the employer because the juror was paid a 
salary during duty 
• Reforestation expenses 
• Costs involving discrimination suits 
• Attorney fees relating to awards to whistleblowers 
• Contributions to section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans. 
• Contributions by certain chaplains to section 403(b) plans 

  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-02 
Release Date: 08/08/2016 
Effective Date: 08/08/2016 

View History 
   

16.4 EARNED INCOME 

  
Earned income is income from gainful employment.  
  
Under non-MAGI rules, earned income for individuals younger than 18 years old is not 
counted. The gross earned income before any deductions are taken out is counted. 
  
Under MAGI rules, earned income after pre-tax deductions will be counted. See Section 
16.3.2 Pre-Tax Deductions for more information on pre-tax deductions. 
 

1. Contractual Income. 
 
This provision applies primarily to teachers and other school employees. 

  
When an employed BadgerCare Plus group member is paid under a contract, 
either written or verbal, rather than on an hourly or piecework basis, the income is 
prorated over the period of the contract. For example, if the contract is for 18 
months, the income is prorated over 18 months no matter the number of 
installments made in paying the income. The income is prorated even if one of the 
following is true: 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/16/16.4hlf.htm
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a. There are predetermined vacation periods 
b. He or she will only be paid during work periods 
c. He or she will be paid only at the end of the work period, season, 

semester, or school year 

  

2. Income In-Kind. 
 
Count in-kind benefits as earned income if they are all of the following: 

a. Regular 
b. Predictable 
c. Received in return for a service or product 

  
Do not count the following: 

a.  
a. Meals and lodging for armed services members 
b. In-kind services that do not meet all three of the above criteria 

  
b. To determine the value of in-kind benefits, use the prevailing wage (but 
not less than the minimum wage) in the community for the type of work the 
person does to earn the benefits. 
  

3. Wage Advances. 
 
Count advances on wages as earned income in the month received. 

  

4. Severance Pay. 
 
Count severance pay as earned income in the month of receipt. Count severance 
pay that has been deferred at the employee’s request or through a mutual 
agreement with his or her employer as earned income when he or she would 
have received the amount had it not been deferred. 

  
5. Workers' Compensation. 
 
Under non-MAGI rules, count workers' compensation as earned income. 
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Under MAGI rules, do not count workers' compensation as earned income. 

16.4.1 Specially Treated Wages 

1. Income Received by Members of a Religious Order. 
 
Under non-MAGI rules, count any compensation that a member of a religious 
order receives as earned income if the compensation is for gainful employment, 
even if the compensation is turned back over to the order. Count any 
compensation that a member of a religious order receives, not related to gainful 
employment, as unearned income even if the compensation is turned over to the 
order. 
 
Under MAGI rules,if a person is a member of a religious order and has taken a 
vow of poverty, do not count any compensation that a member of a religious 
order receives if the compensation is turned back over to the order. 

  
2. Housing Allowances for Members of the Clergy. 
 
Under MAGI rules, do not count any housing or housing utility allowances that 
are received as compensation for services as an ordained, licensed, or 
commissioned minister as income. 

  
3. Jury Duty Payments. 
 
Under non-MAGI rules, count any portion of a jury payment that is over and 
above expenses as earned income. 

  
Under MAGI rules, count all jury duty payments as earned income for the month in 
which it is received if the payments are not turned over to the individual’s 
employer. Amounts received separately as reimbursements or allowances for 
travel to and from the courthouse, meals, and lodging during jury duty are not 
countable. 
  

4. AmeriCorps. 

  
Under non-MAGI rules, disregard any benefit whether cash or in-kind, including 
but not limited to living allowance payments, stipends, food and shelter, clothing 
allowance, and educational awards or payments in lieu of educational awards. 
Disregard any child care allowance to the extent it was used to meet child care 
expenses to participate in AmeriCorps. Disregard any basic health insurance 
policy, child care services, auxiliary aid, and services to people with disabilities 
and the national service. 
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Under MAGI rules, earnings or cash benefits received through AmeriCorps, 
including VISTA, will be counted as earned income. Educational awards received 
from AmeriCorps are not counted as income. 
  

5. Title V—Older Americans Act of 1965. 

  
Count only wages and salaries paid to individuals as a result of their participation 
in a program funded under Title V of the Older Americans Act of 1965 as earned 
income. 
  
These programs include, but are not limited to the following: 

a. Green Thumb. 
b. Experience Works. 
c. The National Urban League. 
d. National Senior Citizens Education and Research Center (Senior Aides). 
e. National Indian Council on Aging. 
f. U.S.D.A. Forest Service. 
g. WISE. 
h. Community service employment programs, such as the Older Americans 

Community Service Program. 

   
Identify programs funded under Title V of the Older Americans Act using 
documents provided by the member, contacts with the provider, or a local council 
on aging. 
  
Do not count reimbursements (see Section 16.2 #19 Reimbursements). 

16.4.2 Room and Board Income 

Under non-MAGI rules, calculate the net amount by deducting one of the following from the 
gross amount received from each roomer or boarder: $15 roomer only, $111 Boarder only, $126 
roomer and boarder.  
   
Under MAGI rules, these deductions are no longer used if this income is reported as room and 
board income. If room and board income is reported as self-employment income, see Section 
16.4.3 Self-Employment Income for more information on counting self-employment income.  

16.4.3 Self-Employment Income 

Self-employment income is income derived directly from one's own business rather than as an 
employee with a specified salary or wages from an employer. "Business" means an occupation, 
work, or trade in which a person is engaged as a means of livelihood.  
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16.4.3.1 Business Operations 

A business is operating when it is ready to function in its specific purpose. The period of 
operation begins when the business first opens and generally continues uninterrupted up to the 
present. A business is operating even if there are no sales and no work is being performed. Thus 
a seasonal business operates in the off season unless there has been a significant change in 
circumstances.  
   
A business is not operating when it cannot function in its specific purpose. For instance, if a 
mechanic cannot work for four months because of an illness or injury, he may claim his business 
was not in operation for those months.  

16.4.3.2 Identifying Farms and Other Businesses 

Self-employment is identified according to the following criteria:  

1. Organization. A farm or other business is organized in one of three ways:  

• A sole proprietorship, which is an unincorporated business owned by one 
person. 

• A partnership, which exists when two or more persons associate to 
conduct business. Each person contributes money, property, labor, or 
skills and expects to share in the profits and losses. Partnerships are 
unincorporated. 

• A corporation is a legal entity authorized by a state to operate under the 
rules of the entity's charter. There may be one or more owners. A 
corporation differs from the other forms because a corporation:  

o Is taxed as a separate entity rather than the owners being 
taxed as individuals, and 
o Provides only limited liability. Each owner’s loss is limited to 
their investment in the corporation while the owners of 
unincorporated business are also personally liable. 

  
2. IRS Tax Forms. A self-employed person who earns more than $400 net 
income must file an end-of-year return. A person who will owe more than $400 in 
taxes at the end of the year must file quarterly estimates.  

   
IRS tax forms for reporting self-employment income are listed below. 

• Form 1065—Partnership 
• Form 1120—Corporation 
• Form 1120S—S Corporation 
• Form 4562—Depreciation and Amortization 
• Form 1040—Sole Proprietorship 

o Schedule C ( Form 1040 )—Business (non-farm) 
o Schedule E ( Form 1040 )—Rental and Royalty 
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o Schedule F ( Form 1040 )—Farm Income 
o Schedule SE ( Form 1040 )—Social Security Self-
Employment 

  

3. Employee Status. A person is an employee if he or she is under the direct "wield 
and control" of an employer. The employer has the right to control the method 
and result of the employee's service. A self-employed person earns income 
directly from his or her own business, and:  

a. Does not have federal income tax and FICA payments withheld from a 
paycheck. 

   
Note: A babysitter who works in someone else's home is considered an 
employee of that household even if the individual employing him or her does 
not withhold taxes or FICA. 

   

b. Does not complete a W-4 for an employer. 
c. Is not covered by employer liability insurance or workers' compensation. 
d. Is responsible for his or her own work schedule. 

  
Examples of self-employment are: 

a. Businesses that receive income regularly (for example, daily, weekly, or 
monthly): 

i.Merchant. 
ii.Small business. 
iii.Commercial boarding house owner or operator. 
iv.Owner of rental property. 

b. Service businesses that receive income frequently and possibly 
sporadically: 

i.Craft persons. 
ii.Repair persons. 
iii.Franchise holders. 
iv.Subcontractors. 
v.Sellers of blood and plasma. 
vi.Commission sales persons (such as door-to-door delivery). 

c. Businesses that receive income seasonally: 
i.Summer- or tourist-oriented business. 
ii.Seasonal farmers (custom machine operators). 
iii.Migrant farm worker crew leaders. 
iv.Fishers, trappers, or hunters. 
v.Roofers. 
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d. Farming, including income from cultivating the soil or raising or 
harvesting any agricultural commodities. It may be earned from full-time, 
part-time, or hobby farming. 

16.4.3.3 Income Sources 

Self-employment income sources are:  

1. Business. Income from operating a business. 

  

2. Capital Gains. Business income from selling securities and other property is 
counted. Under non-MAGI rules, personal capital gains are not counted as 
income. Under MAGI rules, personal capital gains and ordinary gains or losses 
are counted as unearned income. See Section 16.5 Other Income for more 
information. 

  

3. Rental. Rental income is rent received from properties owned or controlled. 
Rental income is either earned or unearned. It is earned only if the owner actively 
manages the property on an average of 20 or more hours per week. It is 
unearned when the owner reports it to the IRS as other than self-employment 
income. 

Use "net" rental income in the eligibility determination. "Net" rental income means 
gross rental receipts minus business expenses. 
  
When a Medicaid group member reports rental income to the IRS as self-
employment income, see 3A Reported to IRS as Self-Employment Income. 
  
If he or she does not report it as self-employment income, add "net rent" to any 
other unearned income on the appropriate worksheet. Determine "net rent" as 
detailed in 3B Rental Income Not Reported as Self-Employment Income. 
  
3A Reported to IRS as Self-Employment Income 

   
When the owner is not an occupant, net rental income is the rent payment 
received minus the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other verified 
operational costs. 

   
When a life estate holder moves off the property and the property is rented, net 
rental income is the rent payment received minus taxes, insurance, and 
operational costs. The operational costs are the same as the costs the holder was 
liable for when living on the property. 
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When the owner lives in one of the units of a multiple unit dwelling and does not 
file taxes for the rental income, compute net rental income as follows: 

1. Add the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other operational 
costs common to the entire operation. 

2. Multiply the number of rental units by the total in step 1. 
3. Divide the result in step 2 by the total number of units to get the 

proportionate share. 
4. Add the proportionate share to any operational costs paid that are unique 

to any rental unit. This equals total expenses. 
5. Subtract total expenses from the total rent payments to get net rent. 

   
3B Rental Income Not Reported as Self-Employment Income 
  
When a BadgerCare Plus group member reports rental income to the IRS as self-
employment income, see 3A. 
  
If he or she does not report it as self-employment income, add "net rent" to any 
other unearned income on the appropriate worksheet. Determine "net rent" as 
follows: 

1. When the owner is not an occupant, "net rent" is the rent payment 
received minus the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other 
verifiable operational costs. Operational costs include ordinary and 
necessary expenses such as insurance, taxes, advertising for tenants, 
and repairs. Repairs include such expenses as repainting, fixing gutters or 
floors, plastering, and replacing broken windows. 

   
Capital expenditures are not deductible from gross rent. A capital 
expenditure is an expense for an addition or increase in the value of the 
property. It would include improvements such as finishing a basement; 
adding a room; putting up a fence; putting in new plumbing, wiring, or 
cabinets; or paving a driveway. 

   
If an institutionalized person has excess operational costs above the monthly 
rental income, carry the excess costs over into later months until they are 
offset completely by rental income. The carryover should only be done until 
the end of the year in which the expenses were incurred. 

  
When a life estate holder moves off the property and the property is rented, 
count the net rental income the holder is entitled to receive. Net rental 
income is the gross rental income minus taxes, insurance, and other 
operational costs. The operational costs are the same as the costs the 
holder was liable for when living on the property. 
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2. When he or she receives income from a duplex, triplex, etc. and lives in 
one of the units, determine "net rent" as follows:  

a. Add the interest portion of the mortgage payment and other 
verifiable operational costs common to the entire operation. 

b. Multiply the number of rental units by the total in "a." 
c. Divide the result in "b." by the total number of units. This is the 

proportionate share. 
d. Add the proportionate share, "c.," to any operational costs paid by 

the member that are unique to any rental unit. The result is the total 
member expense. 
e. Subtract the total member expense, "d.," from the total rent 
payments to get "net rent." 

  

4. Royalties. 

  
Royalty income is unearned income received for granting the use of property 
owned or controlled. Examples are patents, copyrighted materials, or a natural 
resource. The right to income is often expressed as a percentage of receipts from 
using the property or as an amount per unit produced. See Section 16.5 Other 
Income for more information on counting royalty income. 

16.4.3.4 Calculating BadgerCare Plus Self-Employment Income 

Calculate BadgerCare Plus income in one of the following ways:  

• Using IRS tax forms (Section 16.4.3.2.1 IRS Tax Forms) completed for the 
previous year 

• Anticipating earnings (Section 16.4.3.2.4 Anticipating Earnings) 

16.4.3.4.1 IRS Tax Forms 

IM workers do not fill out any IRS tax forms (or the Self-Employment Income Report form, F-
00107). This is the responsibility of the applicant or member. IRS tax forms must be signed by 
the applicant or member.  
   
Consult IRS tax forms only if all of the following are true:  

• The business was in operation at least one full month during the previous tax 
year. 

• The business has been in operation six or more months at the time of the 
application. 

• The person does not claim a change in circumstances since the previous year. 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F00107.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F00107.pdf
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If all three conditions are not met, use anticipated earnings (Section 16.4.3.2.4 Anticipating 
Earnings).  

16.4.3.4.2 Worksheets 

If you decide to use IRS tax forms, use them together with the self-employment income 
worksheets, which identify net income and depreciation by line on the IRS tax forms.  
   
For each operation, select the worksheet you need, and, using the provided tax forms and/or 
schedule, complete the worksheet.  

1. Sole Proprietor—Farm and Other Business (F-16037, and F-16037A) 

a. IRS Schedule C (Form 1040)—Non-farm Business Income 
b. IRS Schedule E (Form 1040)—Rental and Royalty Income 
c. IRS Schedule F (Form 1040)—Farm Income 
d. IRS Form 4797—Capital & Ordinary Gains 

2. Partnership (F-16036) 

a. IRS Form 1065—Partnership Income 
b. IRS Schedule K-1 ( Form 1065 )—Partner's Share of Income 

3. Corporation (F-16034) 

IRS Form 1120—Corporation Income 

4. Subchapter S Corporation (F-16035)  
a. IRS Form 1120S—Small Business Corporation Income 
b. IRS Schedule K-1 (Form 1120S—Shareholder's Share of Income) 

  

Next, divide IM income by the number of months that the business was in operation during the 
previous tax year.  
   
The result is monthly IM income. Add this to the fiscal test group's other earned and unearned 
income. If monthly IM income is a loss, add zero to the non-self-employment income.  
   
When a household has more than one self-employment operation, the losses of one may be used 
to offset the profits of another. Under MAGI rules, losses from self-employment can be used to 
offset other income types. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint tax return 
with his or her spouse, losses from self-employment may offset the spouse’s income.  
   
Each self-employment operation (Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Corporation, S Corporation) 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16037.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16037a.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16036.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16034.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16035.pdf
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requires its own Self-Employment page in CWW. However, if an individual owns multiple 
businesses within one self-employment operation—for example, a sole-proprietor operation with 
eight different rental buildings—combine the results of each worksheet (each rental building) 
into one monthly IM income amount before adding that total to any other income listed in the 
case (e.g., wages or Social Security).  
   
Remember that while a salary or wage paid to a test group member is an allowable business 
expense, you must count it as earned income to the payee.  

16.4.3.4.3 Depreciation, Depletion, and Disallowed Expenses 

Under MAGI rules, countable self-employment income will be the same as the net self-
employment taxable income. Depreciation and depletion expenses are allowable expenses.  
  
The following expenses are disallowed expenses for BadgerCare Plus: 

• Charitable donations 
• Work-related personal expenses, such as transportation to and from work 
• Employer work-related personal expenses, such as pensions, employee 
benefit and retirement programs, and/or profit sharing expenses. (Business 
expenses for employees’ pensions, benefits, retirement programs, and profit 
sharing expenses are allowable, but the work-related personal expenses of the 
employer are not.) 
• Principal portion of mortgage payment 

  
Note: Disallowed expenses are added back into an individual’s gross income on the 
BadgerCare Plus Budget page. 

16.4.3.4.4 Anticipating Earnings 

If past circumstances do not represent present circumstances, calculate self-employment income 
based on anticipated earnings. A change in circumstances is any change that can be expected to 
affect income over time. It is the person's responsibility to report changes.  
   
The date of an income change is the date you agree that a change occurred. You must also judge 
whether the person's report was timely to decide if the case was over or underpaid. Changes are 
then effective according to the normal prospective budgeting cycle. Do not recover payments 
made before the agreed on date.  
   
The following are other instances when you would use anticipated earnings:  

1. The business was not operating at least one full month during the previous tax 
year. 

2. The business was not operating six or more months at the time of the interview. 
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The following are examples of changed circumstances: 

• The owner sold or simply closed down the business. 
• The owner sold a part of his business (e.g., one of two retail stores). 
• The owner is ill or injured and will be unable to operate the business for a 

period of time. 
• A plumber gets the contract on a new apartment complex. The job will take 

nine months, and his or her income will increase. 
• A farmer suffers unusual crop loss due to the weather or other 

circumstances. 
• There is a substantial cost increase for a particular material such that there 

will be less profit per unit sold. 
• Sales, for an unknown reason, are consistently below previous levels. The 

relevant period may vary depending on the type of business (consider 
normal sales fluctuations). 

  
The Self-Employment Income Report form (F-00107) simplifies reporting income and expenses 
when earnings must be anticipated. It is modeled after IRS Form 1040, Schedule C, and can be 
used to report income for any type of business with any form of organization. However, some, 
especially farm operators, may find it easier to complete the IRS tax form when income and 
expense items are more complex.  
   
To compute anticipated earnings, the person must complete a Self-Employment Income Report 
form for those months of operation since the change in circumstances occurred following the 
guidelines below (remember, the beginning of a business is a change in circumstances). He or 
she may complete the Self-Employment Income Report form for each month separately or 
combine the months on one Self-Employment Income Report form.  
   
When a new self-employment business is reported or when a change in circumstance occurs and 
the past circumstances no longer represent the present, recalculate self-employment income:  

1. When two or more months of actual self-employment information is available, 
calculate a monthly self-employment net income average using all of the actual 
income information beginning from the date self-employment began or the date 
of the significant change. See Example 1 below. 

2. When at least one full month but less than two full months of actual self-
employment income information is available, calculate a monthly net income 
average using the actual net income received in any partial month of operation, 
the one full month of operation, and an estimate of net income for the next 
month. See Example 2 below. 

3. When there is less than one full month of actual income information available, 
calculate a monthly net self-employment income average using the actual net 
income received in the partial month (since the change in circumstance occurred) 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F00107.pdf
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and estimated income and expenses for the next two months. See Example 3 
below. 

   
Use the average until the person's next review or if a significant change in circumstances is 
reported between reviews.  
  

Example 1: Bonnie applies for FoodShare and BadgerCare Plus on April 5, 2016. She 
reports that she started self-employment in January 2016. The agency uses a Self-
Employment Income Report form for January, February, and March to determine the 
prospective self-employment income estimate for Bonnie’s BadgerCare Plus and FoodShare 
certification period (April 2016-March 2017).  
   
On Bonnie’s September SMRF, no change in self-employment income is reported, and the 
worker continues to use the average determined at the time of application. 

   
Example 2: Ricardo is applying for FoodShare and BadgerCare Plus eligibility on February 
5. He started self-employment on December 15 of the previous year. To calculate his 
prospective self-employment income, he completes a Self-Employment Income Report form 
for December, January, and February including his actual and expected income and 
expenses for three months. The worker divides this total by three to determine an anticipated 
monthly average income amount. This amount is used until a change in self-employment is 
reported or until Ricardo completes a new application or a review. 

  
Example 3: Jenny is a BadgerCare Plus and Child Care member who has been self-
employed as a hair dresser since 2011. Jenny’s BadgerCare Plus and Child Care certification 
period is December 2015 to November 2016. The worker used Jenny’s 2014 tax return to 
establish a monthly income amount.  
   
In March 2016, Jenny reports that she has been unable to work since breaking her arm on 
February 17. She is not sure when she will be able to return to work, but it will not be until 
at least May. The worker has Jenny complete a Self-Employment Income Report form for 
February 17-February 28 (actual income since the change in circumstance occurred) and for 
March and April using the best estimate of income to establish her prospective self-
employment income. The worker will use these three months to determine a prospective 
self-employment income estimate for the remainder of the certification period. Jenny does 
not need to submit any additional Self-Employment Income Report forms. 

   
Use the anticipated earnings amount until the person completes an IRS tax form or reports a 
change in circumstances.  

16.4.4 Verification 

Self-employment income is not available through data exchange and is therefore questionable 
(see Section 9.10 Questionable Items). Completed and signed IRS tax forms (see Section 
16.4.3.2.1 IRS Tax Forms) are sufficient verification of farm and self-employment income. If 
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anticipated earnings are used, a completed and signed Self-Employment Income Report form is 
sufficient verification.  
   
It is not necessary to collect copies of supportive items such as receipts from sales and 
purchases. However, you can require verification when the information given is in question. 
Document the reason for the request.  

16.4.4.1 Self-Employment Hours 

Count the time a self-employed person puts in on business-related activities involving planning, 
selling, advertising, and management along with time put in on production of goods and 
providing of services as hours of work.  
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16.5 OTHER INCOME 

1. Unemployment Compensation (UC) 
2. Child Support 
3. Social Security Benefits 
4. Federal Match Grants for Refugees 
5. Gifts 
6. Money From Another Person 
7. Land Contract 
8. Loans 
9. Profit Sharing 
10. Retirement Benefits 
11. Sick Benefits 
12. Trusts 
13. Gambling Winnings 
14. Royalties 
15. Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses 
16. Student Financial Aids 

  
Other income is any payment that the member receives from sources other than 
employment.  Unless it is disregarded income, count the gross payment in the person’s 
income total. 
  
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/16/16.5hlf.htm


BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

179 

1. Unemployment Compensation (UC) - Count UC that is intercepted to 
collect child support as if the UC beneficiary actually received the intercepted 
dollars.   
  
2. Child Support 
 Under non-MAGI rules, count child support income as unearned income. 
 
Under MAGI rules, do not count child support income. If a household is receiving 
family support, divide the payment by the number of members in the household. 
The amount of the payment allocated to the child(ren) is considered child support 
and is disregarded. Count the amount of the payment allocated to the adult(s) as 
alimony/spousal support unless the divorce/separation order by the court 
designates the spousal support payments as being non-taxable.  If the spousal 
support payments are non-taxable, they are exempt under MAGI rules. 
3. Social Security Benefits - Count Social Security Benefits as unearned 
income in the month received. 
 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is not counted (16.2.33). 
  

The following is a brief list of the potential codes that should be used in coding 
Social Security income types: 

  
SSDC - Social Security Disabled Child 
SSDI - Social Security Disability/Wage Earner 
SSDW - Social Security Disability/Wife 
SSRE - Social Security Retirement 
SSSC - Social Security Surviving Child 
SSSS - Social Security Surviving Spouse 
SSWW - Social Security Disabled Widow(er) 

 
Under MAGI rules, although Social Security Benefits are not taxable, they must 
be counted as unearned income. However, Social Security Benefits are not 
considered when determining if an individual is “expected to be required” to file a 
tax return for the current year. See section 2.7.2 for more information. 
4. Federal Match Grants for Refugees - Some refugee resettlement 
agencies have grants available for refugees for their second, third, and fourth 
month after arrival in the U.S. These are cash grants and can vary in the amount 
issued. Under non-MAGI rules, count these payments as unearned income. 
Under MAGI rules, do not count this income. 
  
5. Gifts - A gift is something a person receives which is not repayment for 
goods or services the person provided and is not given because of a legal 
obligation on the giver’s part.  To be a gift, something must be given irrevocably 
(that is, the donor relinquishes all control). 
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Under non-MAGI rules, count Monetary gifts over $30 a calendar quarter.  A 
Calendar quarter is three consecutive months beginning with January, April, July 
or October. 
 
Under MAGI rules, do not count the value of property received as a gift as income. 
Count a gift as income in the month received if it meets either of the following 
criteria: 

• Income from a bequest, devise or inheritance 
• Income generated from property given to a trust if the income is paid, 
credited or distributed to the individual 

  
Example 1: Keisha is the beneficiary of a trust. Land was given to the trust, and it generates 
interest that is distributed to Keisha as the beneficiary. Count this interest as unearned income. 

  
6. Money from Another Person is money a person receives which is not 
repayment for goods or services the person provided and is not given because of 
a legal obligation on the giver’s part. This is not a loan. 

  
Under non-MAGI rules, count money from another person if the amount is over 
$30 a calendar quarter. A Calendar quarter is three consecutive months beginning 
with January, April, July or October. 

  
Under MAGI rules, count money from another person as income in the month 
received only if it meets either of the following criteria: 

• Income from a bequest, devise or inheritance 
• Income generated from property given to a trust if the income is paid, 
credited or distributed to the individual 

  
Example 2: Mimi receives $500 each month from her parents. She is not expected to 
pay back this money. Mimi’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility is determined using MAGI 
rules. The $500 is not counted as income for BadgerCare Plus eligibility. 
  

Note: If the money is received from another person in exchange for goods or 
services (such as an informal arrangement in which someone rents a room in his 
or her house), and if the payment is regular and predictable, it should be counted 
under both MAGI and non-MAGI rules. See Chapter 16.4.3.1 for information on 
counting rental income. 

  
Example 3: Jeremy pays Micah $300 each month to live in a room in Micah’s house. Micah 
and Jeremy do not have a formal lease agreement, but the payment is regular and predictable. 
Count the $300/month as income for BadgerCare Plus eligibility. 
  

7. Land Contract - Count any portion of monthly payments received that are 
considered interest from a land contract as unearned income. Do not count the 
principal as income, because it is the conversion of one asset form to another. 
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 Deduct from the gross amount any expenses the person is required to pay by 
the terms of the contract. 
  

If the income is received less often than monthly, prorate the income to a monthly 
amount.  Do not begin budgeting this monthly amount until the person first 
receives a payment after becoming eligible. 
  

Example 4: Bob receives land contract payments from Farmer Brown twice a year, 
one $500 payment in March and another $500 payment in September.   
  
If Bob is applying in February prorate the land contract payments Bob receives after 
he becomes eligible. In March when Bob receives a $500 land contract payment, 
divide the total income ($500) by the frequency of the payments (six months) to get 
the budgeted income amount of $83.33 per month ($500/6 months = $83.33). Begin 
budgeting this amount in March. 

  
8. Loans - If an BadgerCare Plus member makes a loan (except a land 
contract), treat the repayments as follows: 

  
a. Count the interest as unearned income in the month received.  In 
the months following the month the interest payment was received, count 
the interest payment as an asset. 

  
b. Do not count any repayments toward the principal of the loan, 
whether it is a full payment, a partial payment, or an installment payment, 
as an asset. 
  

If an AG member receives a loan and it is available for current living 
expenses, count it as an asset.  Do this even if there is a repayment 
agreement.  If it is not available for current living expenses, disregard it. 
  

9. Profit Sharing - Count profit sharing income as unearned income in the 
month received. Tax-deferred contributions made to a profit-sharing plan are not 
taxable and are not counted as income. 
  
10. Retirement Benefits - Retirement benefits include work-related plans for 
providing income when employment ends (e.g. pension disability or retirement 
plans administered by an employer or union). 

  
Other examples of retirement funds include accounts owned by the individual, 
such as Individual Retirement Accounts (IRA) and plans for self-employed 
individuals, sometimes referred to as KEOGH plans. 
  
Under non-MAGI rules, periodic payments made from a work-related retirement 
benefit plan should be counted as income in the month of receipt. Payments from 
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an ineligible spouse’s work related pension account are also counted as income to 
the ineligible spouse. 
  
Any periodic payments from individually owned accounts (e.g., IRA) should not be 
counted as income in the month of receipt.  They are considered the same as 
withdrawals from an applicant’s savings account.   

  
Consider IRAs, Keoghs, or other retirement funds that are completely cashed in 
as a conversion from one asset form to another.   BadgerCare Plus does not 
count assets in eligibility determinations. 
  
Under MAGI rules, count the taxable portion of any retirement distribution as 
unearned income. 
  
11. Sick Benefits - 
Under non-MAGI rules, count Sick benefits received from an insurance policy 
such as an income continuation policy as unearned income. 
Under MAGI rules, count sick benefits received from an insurance policy if the 
individual’s employer contributed or paid for the benefit. Do not count the 
following: 

• Reimbursement for medical care; 
• Payments for loss of a member or bodily function, or permanent 
disfigurement; or 
• Amounts computed with reference to the injury but not with respect 
to the individual’s absence from work. 

12. Trusts - A trust is any arrangement in which a person (the "grantor”) 
transfers property to another person with the intention that that person (the 
"trustee”) hold, manage, or administer the property for the benefit of the grantor 
or of someone designated by the grantor (the "beneficiary”). 

  
The term "trust” includes any legal instrument or device or arrangement which, 
even though not called a trust under state law, has the same attributes as a trust. 
That is, the grantor transfers property to the trustee and the grantor's intention is 
that the trustee holds, manages, or administers the property for the benefit of the 
grantor or of the beneficiary. 

  
The grantor can be: 

  
a. The BadgerCare Plus member. 
  
b. The spouse of the BadgerCare Plus member. 
  
c. A person, including a court or administrative body, with legal authority to act in 
place of or on behalf of the member or the member’s spouse.  This includes a power of 
attorney or guardian. 
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d. A person, including a court or an administrative body, acting at the direction or 
upon the request of the member or the member’s spouse.  This includes relatives, 
friends, volunteers or authorized representatives. 
  

All regular payments, including dividends and interest, made under the terms of 
the trust, from the trust to the beneficiary are unearned income to the beneficiary. 
Dividends and interest income are counted even if they are tax exempt.   
  
13. Gambling Winnings 
Under non-MAGI rules, gambling winnings are counted as unearned income in 
the month of receipt. Gambling losses cannot be used to offset the winnings. 
 
Under MAGI rules, count gambling winnings that are regular and predictable as 
income. Gambling losses cannot be used to offset other types of income. 
14. Royalties - Count Royalty income is as unearned income. Royalties are 
payments received for granting the use of property owned or controlled. 
Examples are patents, copyrighted materials or a natural resource. The right to 
income is often expressed as a percentage of receipts from using the property or 
as an amount per unit produced. 
15. Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses 
Under non-MAGI rules, do not count personal capital and ordinary gains or 
losses. 
 
Under MAGI rules, if personal capital gains are regular and predictable, count as 
unearned income. Personal capital losses can be used to offset the individual’s 
other income types. In situations where an individual is planning to file a joint tax 
return with his or her spouse, personal capital losses may offset the spouse’s 
income. 
16. Student Financial Aids 
Work study income and any income from an internship or assistantship should be 
counted as earned income. Grants, scholarships, fellowships and any additional 
financial assistance provided by public or private organizations that exceed the 
cost of tuition, books and mandatory fees are counted as unearned income and 
should be pro-rated over the period of time they are intended to cover. Student 
loans are not counted as income irrespective of what the loan is used to pay for. 

Example 5: Mary was awarded a scholarship for $3,500 in July that is intended to cover her 
fall semester (September through December). Her tuition and course related expenses are 
$3,250 for the semester. The $250 that exceeds the amount of tuition and course-related 
expenses will be pro-rated over the four month period from September through December at 
$62.50 in unearned income each month ($250/4 months = $62.50/month). 

  
Types of grants, scholarships and fellowships counted as income include: 

• Pell Grants, 
• Robert Byrd Honors scholarships, 
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• Any grants, scholarships or fellowships received from the college or 
university as part of a financial aid package, 

• Any grants, scholarships or fellowships provided by public or 
private organizations. 

  
The following educational aid types are not counted as income and will not 
be considered when determining if grants, scholarships, and fellowships 
exceed the cost of tuition, books, and mandatory fees: 

• Loans, including Stafford Loans and Perkins Loans, 
• AmeriCorps or HealthCorps grant, 
• Bureau of Indian Affairs grant, 
• GI Bill/Veterans benefits, 
• ROTC benefits. 

  
The following expense types will be used to offset income from grants, 
scholarships, fellowships and other financial aid: 

• Tuition, 
• Required books, supplies or equipment, 
• Mandatory fees 

  
The following expense types will not be allowed to offset income from 
grants, scholarships or other financial aid: 

• Room, 
• Board (meals or meal plans), 
• Personal expenses, 
• Transportation and parking, 
• Loan fees, 
• Health insurance costs. 

  
Note: When an applicant or member is enrolled in job-related classes or 
training, and the tuition is reimbursed by the applicant's or member’s 
employer, this may be considered reimbursement for job- or training-related 
expenses (as defined in Section 16.2 Income Types Not Counted). As long 
as the reimbursement is not more than the cost of the class or training, it 
does not need to be budgeted as educational aid. 
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16.6 FLUCTUATING INCOME 

If the amount or frequency of regularly received income is known, average the income 
over the period between payments.  If neither the amount nor the frequency is 
predictable, do not average; count income only for the month in which it is received. 
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16.7 Prorating Income 

Income received on a yearly basis or less often than monthly, that is predictable in both 
amount and frequency, must be converted to a monthly amount or prorated. 
  
Prorate means "to distribute proportionately." 
  

Example 1:  Sally receives a $1,500 royalty payment quarterly.  This payment 
should be prorated for the months between payments.  $1,500 is distributed over 
three months by dividing the amount of money by the number of months between 
payments.  The prorated amount is $1,500/3= $500 a month. 

  
Prorating is applied to a member’s income when the income is received less often than 
monthly.  By prorating, income is distributed evenly over the number of months between 
payments 
  
When an assistance group applies, do not count the prorated income until it is received. 
  

Example 2:  Joe receives semi-annual land contract installments of $900.  This 
equals a monthly income of $150 ($900 prorated over six months).  He becomes 
eligible in May.  He receives payments in January and July each year.  Do not 
budget any prorated income until July, the first month of receipt after Joe becomes 
eligible. 

  
If the group becomes ineligible and reapplies before they receive the next installment, 
use the same prorated amount as before. 
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16.8 Migrant Worker's Income 

Use annualized earned income for migrant worker’s income.  “Annualized earned 
income” is a prospective monthly estimate of earned income based on the estimated 
total gross annual earnings divided by 12.  Annualized income can be based on the past 
12 months of the migrant family’s income if it is anticipated that last year’s income is the 
best estimate of the current year’s prospective income. 
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Release Date: 10/29/07 
Effective Date: 02/01/08 

17 Deductibles 

View History 
  

17.1 DEDUCTIBLES 

Through March 31, 2014 children (under age 19) with income above 150% of the FPL 
who have access to insurance can qualify for BadgerCare Plus by meeting a deductible. 
  
Effective April 1, 2014, children (under age 19) with income over 300% FPL (non-MAGI 
rules) or 306% (MAGI rules) may become eligible for BadgerCare Plus by meeting a 
deductible. Children with income over 150% FPL (non-MAGI rules) or 156% FPL (MAGI 
rules) who are denied BadgerCare Plus solely due to access to health insurance may 
also become eligible for BadgerCare Plus by meeting a deductible. The deductible 
amount is calculated for a six-month period using the amount of income that exceeds 
150% FPL. 
  
Pregnant women with incomes above 300% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL 
(under MAGI rules) can qualify for BadgerCare Plus by meeting a deductible. The 
deductible amount is calculated for a six month period using the amount of income that 
exceeds 300% FPL for pregnant women. The deductible is met by incurring medical 
expenses that equal the deductible amount. 
  
Note: When determining the deductible amount under MAGI rules, only the income of 
the member, the member’s spouse, and if the member is under age 19, the member’s 
parents should be considered. If a sibling’s or tax dependent’s income has been 
counted as part of the applicant’s regular MAGI assistance group, it should be excluded 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/16/16.8hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/17/17.1hlf.htm
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for purposes of calculating the deductible. Do not change the group size for the MAGI 
assistance group. 
  
  

his page last updated in Release Number: 14-01 
Release Date: 02/07/14 
Effective Date: 02/01/14 

View History 
  

17.2 PREGNANT WOMEN 

17.2.1 Introduction 
17.2.2 Deductible Period 
17.2.3 Calculating the Deductible Amount 

17.2.1 Introduction 

The deductible amount for a pregnant woman is the amount of countable income above 
300% FPL for a six month period. To meet the deductible she or other family members 
included in the BadgerCare Plus group must incur medical bills equal to her deductible 
amount. If she applied prior to February 1, 2014, when the deductible is met she will be 
covered under the Benchmark plan through March 31, 2014 with no premium until two 
months after giving birth. Effective February 1, 2014, all pregnant women who are 
applying for BadgerCare Plus, including those eligible through deductibles, will be 
covered under the Standard Plan. 
  
Note:  For eligibility regarding BadgerCare Prenatal for inmates of a public institution or 
non-qualifying immigrants , see 41.2 for that specific policy. 
  
Note:  If there is more than one pregnant woman in the BadgerCare Plus group, all of 
them become eligible when a deductible is met. 
  
Through March 31, 2014, a self-employed pregnant woman with assistance group 
income over 300% FPL, who is also the parent or caretaker relative of a child, does not 
have to meet a deductible. She is eligible with no premium under the Benchmark plan. 
 If she is not the parent or caretaker relative of a born child, she would have to meet a 
deductible to become eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Beginning April 1, 2014, a pregnant woman with assistance group income over 300% 
FPL must meet a deductible to become eligible for BadgerCare Plus, regardless of if 
she is self-employed or a parent or caretaker of born children. She will be eligible for 
coverage under the Standard Plan once she meets the deductible. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/17/17.2hlf.htm
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Effective January 1, 2014, a pregnant minor with family income over 300% FPL (under 
non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules) has the option to either prepay the 
pregnancy deductible or to wait to meet the deductible. 
  
If the pregnant woman applies after the birth of her baby and becomes eligible by 
meeting a deductible in the back dated months, she is only eligible as a pregnant 
woman until the end of the month she gives birth. 
  

Example: Janet applies for BadgerCare Plus in July and requests a BadgerCare 
Plus deductible period from April through September.  She gave birth on June 30th. 
 Janet paid the full deductible amount, so is certified from April 1st through June 
30th.  She should be tested as a caretaker relative effective July 1st if she is living 
with the newborn or any other child under her care. 
  
Note: Effective April 1, 2014, if Janet has no children living with her, she can also 
be tested for BadgerCare Plus eligibility as a childless adult. 

  

17.2.2 Deductible Period 

The pregnant woman can choose to begin the BadgerCare Plus deductible period as 
early as three months prior to the month of application , and as late as the month of 
application. 
  
A pregnant woman can choose a BadgerCare Plus deductible period which includes a 
month in which, if he or she had applied, he or she would have been ineligible for a non-
financial reason.  Although excess income is still calculated over a six month period, the 
individual can only be certified for BadgerCare Plus during the dates when he or she 
was non-financially eligible. 
  

Example 1: Luanne applied for BadgerCare Plus on June 1st and requests a 
BadgerCare Plus deductible period from April through September. She gave birth 
on June 2nd and gave the baby up for adoption.  Luanne paid the full deductible 
amount, so is certified from April 1st through June 30th. 

  
A new deductible period can be established at any time before the current deductible 
has been met. 
  

Example 2: Julie is pregnant and due November 15th.  She applied for BadgerCare 
Plus April 1st and a deductible period was set up for April through September. She 
did not incur enough expenses to meet the deductible.  In July, Julie’s income 
decreased and she requested a new deductible period from July through 
November. Because she had not met the original deductible, the new deductible 
period could be established. 
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A pregnant woman who is ineligible for excess income in some backdate months, but 
has no excess income in others, does not have to choose to have a BadgerCare Plus 
deductible.  She can choose to be certified in the months she is eligible and to accept 
the ineligibility of the other months when she had excess income. 
  

Example 3: Rachel is pregnant and applied for BadgerCare Plus in July.  She had 
no income and did not expect any income in the future.  She was eligible in July. 
 She also requested BadgerCare Plus eligibility for April to cover some medical 
expenses she had in April.  In April and May she had income in excess of 300% of 
the FPL.  In June she would have been eligible because she had no income. 
  
In April and May her income was over 300% of FPL by $200 a month.  She has 2 
choices: 
  

1. Choose a BadgerCare Plus deductible period of April through 
September.  After meeting the BadgerCare Plus deductible of $400 she 
would be certified for BadgerCare Plus from April through September or 60 
days past the birth of her baby, with no premium. 

  
2. Not choose a BadgerCare Plus deductible period.  She would not 
have to meet a BadgerCare Plus deductible. She could be certified 
immediately for June through 60 days past the birth of her baby but would 
have to forego BadgerCare Plus for May and June because of the excess 
income in May and June. 

  

17.2.3 Calculating the Deductible Amount 

To calculate the dollar amount of the BadgerCare Plus deductible for a pregnant woman 
under non-MAGI rules: 
  

1. Determine the BadgerCare Plus deductible period 
2. Find the BadgerCare Plus group's total countable income for each month 
in the deductible period. 
3. Compare the total income of each month with 300% FPL. If a month's 
income is less than or equal to 300% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more 
than the income limit, find the excess income by subtracting the income limit from 
the income of that month. 
4. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. 
 The result is the pregnant woman’s BadgerCare Plus deductible amount. 

  
When calculating a deductible amount for backdated months, use the actual, not 
prospective, income received in the backdated months. 
  
To calculate the dollar amount of the BadgerCare Plus deductible for a pregnant woman 
under MAGI  rules: 
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1. Determine the BadgerCare Plus deductible period 
2. Find the BadgerCare Plus group's total countable income for each month 
in the deductible period. 
3. If the assistance group's total countable income include the income of 
someone other than the pregnant woman, her spouse, or if she under age 19, 
her parents, subtract the income of that person, but do not change the group size 
of the AG. 
4. Compare the total income of each month with 300% FPL. If a month's 
income is less than or equal to 300% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more 
than the income limit, find the excess income by subtracting the income limit from 
the income of that month. 
5. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. 
 The result is the pregnant woman’s BadgerCare Plus deductible amount. 

  
When calculating a deductible amount for backdated months, use the actual, not 
prospective, income received in the backdated months. 
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17.3 CHILDREN UNDER 19 

17.3.1 Deductible Period 
17.3.2 Calculating the Deductible Amount 
  
The deductible amount for a child under 19 is the amount of countable income above 
150% FPL for a 6 month period. 
  
Under MAGI rules, to meet the deductible, the child or his or her parents included in the 
child’s BadgerCare Plus group must incur medical bills equal to the deductible amount. 
Deductible-based eligibility is not extended to other children or members of the original 
assistance group. The parents’ medical expenses may be used for meeting the 
deductible of more than one child are a time. 
  
Under non-MAGI rules, to meet the deductible, the child or other family members 
included in the BadgerCare Plus group must incur medical bills equal to the deductible 
amount.  Once the deductible is met, the child and all other children under 19 in the 
BadgerCare Plus group will be covered under the Standard plan without a premium, for 
the remainder of the deductible period. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/17/17.3hlf.htm
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17.3.1 Deductible Period 

The child under 19 can choose to begin the BadgerCare Plus deductible period as early 
as three months prior to the month of application and as late as the month of 
application. 
  

Example 1: On November 1, 2014 John’s mother and step-father apply for 
BadgerCare Plus for themselves, John and John’s two step-brothers. The family’s 
countable income is above 150% FPL. John’s mother has employer sponsored 
insurance that covers her and John. John is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus due to 
the insurance access. John’s step-brothers are eligible for BadgerCare Plus with a 
premium. Because the health insurance does not cover all of John’s medical 
expenses, in December John’s mother requests a deductible for John. The 
deductible period is December through May. John has medical bills that will meet 
the deductible as of January 1st. John will be covered under the standard plan with 
no premium from January through May. 

  
The BadgerCare Plus deductible period for a child can include a month in which, if he or 
she had applied, he or she would have been ineligible for a non-financial reason other 
than health insurance access or coverage.  Although excess income is still calculated 
over a six month period, the child can only be certified for BadgerCare Plus during the 
dates when he or she met all non-financial criteria other than health insurance access or 
coverage. 
  
A new deductible period can be established at any time before the current deductible 
has been met. 

17.3.2 Calculating the Deductible Amount 

To calculate the dollar amount of the BadgerCare Plus deductible for children under age 
19 under non-MAGI rules. 
  

1. Determine the BadgerCare Plus deductible period. 
  
2. Find the BadgerCare Plus group's total countable income for each month 
in the deductible period. 
  
3. Compare the total income of each month with 150% FPL. If a month's 
income is less than or equal to 150% FPL, ignore it.  If a month's income is more 
than the income limit (150% FPL), find the excess income by subtracting the 
income limit from the income of that month.  The child could choose to drop the 
deductible for months his or her income decreases and the child is eligible to 
enroll in BadgerCare Plus. If the child chooses to drop the deductible, the 6-
month deductible period is interrupted and the deductible lapses. If the income 
later increases to above 150%, the child would need to start a new deductible 
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period. 
  
4. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. 
 The result is the child’s BadgerCare Plus deductible amount. 

  
  
To calculate the dollar amount of the BadgerCare Plus deductible for a child under 
MAGI rules: 
  

1. Determine the BadgerCare Plus deductible period. 
2. Find the child’s assistance group's total countable income for each month 
in the deductible period. 
3. If the assistance group’s total countable income includes the income of 
someone other than the child, the child’s parents, or, if married, the child’s 
spouse, subtract the income of that person, but do not change the group size of 
the AG. 
4. Compare the total income of each month with 150% FPL. If a month's 
income is less than or equal to 150% FPL, ignore it. If a month's income is more 
than the income limit (150% FPL), find the excess income by subtracting the 
income limit from the income of that month. The child could choose to drop the 
deductible for months his or her income decreases so that the child is eligible to 
enroll in BadgerCare Plus. 
5. Add together the excess income of the months in the deductible period. 
The result is the child’s BadgerCare Plus deductible amount. 

  
Example 1: John, age 14, is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus because his assistance 
group's  income is over 150% of the FPL and he is covered under his mother’s 
employer sponsored health insurance plan.  The household’s size is 5.  Their income 
is $3466.25 per month, which is $366.25 over the 150% FPL for a group size of 5. 
 John’s six month deductible amount is $2197.50. (366.25*6=2197.50) 

  
Example 2: Mark, age 5, is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus because his assistance group's 
income is over 306% of the FPL. The household is made up of Mark’s mother, who earns 
$4,000/month and his brother, age 17, who earns $1,500/month and whose income is counted 
because he is expected to be required to file taxes. Mark’s assistance group’s income is $5,500 
per month, which is $3,026 over the 150% FPL for a group size of 3. However, because Mark’s 
brother is not his parent or spouse, we must exclude his income from the deductible calculation. 
This reduces the excess income to $1,526. John’s six month deductible amount is $9,156 
($1,526*6=$9,126). 
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17.4 MEETING THE DEDUCTIBLE 

  
The BadgerCare Plus member or group meets the deductible by incurring medical or 
remedial costs that equal the dollar amount of the deductible. The countable costs are 
added together. When they are equal to or greater than the amount of the deductible, 
the pregnant woman or child under 19 can be certified for BadgerCare Plus through the 
end of the deductible period. 
  
Note: Under MAGI rules, the deductible is built on an individual basis. To meet the 
deductible, the member and his or her parents in the BadgerCare Plus group must incur 
medical bills equal to the deductible amount. The parent’s medical expenses may be 
used for meeting the deductible of more than one child at a time, but deductible-based 
eligibility is not extended to other children or members of the original assistance group. 
  
If an expense was applied to a prior deductible but did not result in BadgerCare Plus 
certification, it can be applied to a later deductible, as long as it still meets the criteria 
listed in Section 17.4.1. 

17.4.1 When Expenses Can Be Counted Toward a Deductible 

To be counted toward the deductible, a medical or remedial expense must meet all of 
the following conditions: 
  

1. Be incurred by the member, his or her spouse (if applicable), or, if the 
member is younger than 19 years old, his or her parents. 

  
Expenses may also be counted if incurred for someone the member is legally 
responsible for if that person's bills could be counted toward the member's 
deductible. The medical bill may be used even if the person is no longer living or 
no longer in the current BadgerCare Plus group. 
  

Example 1: Sally's spouse, Michael, died in April. In September, Sally requests that 
a medical bill incurred for Michael be used toward her deductible. Sally is still legally 
responsible for the bill. The bill can be used to meet the deductible as long as it did 
not result in a BadgerCare Plus certification in an earlier period. 

  
2. Meet the Definition of Medical or Remedial expense described in 17.4.2. 
  
3. Meet one of the following four conditions: 
  

a. Still be owed to the medical service provider sometime during the 
current deductible period.   

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/17/17.4hlf.htm
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Expenses which have been "deferred” by the provider are considered a 
countable cost still owed to the provider and can be used to meet a 
BadgerCare Plus deductible.    

  
• The deferred charge should be viewed as an incurred 
expense that remains an unpaid obligation for the member. 
  
• If only a portion of the deferred charge was used to meet a 
prior deductible, any remaining balance can be used to meet future 
deductibles. 

  
•  Because many deferred charge situations involve very high 
costs for the services provided, it is extremely important to 
document in Case Comments which portion of the deferred charges 
are used to meet previous deductibles, and any remaining balance 
that can be used to meet current or future deductibles. 
  

Example 2: In May, Helen resided in an Institute for Mental Disease (IMD) and 
incurred a $14,000 bill. In October, Helen becomes pregnant and applies for 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Helen turned in the bill for the stay in the IMD which shows the amount as 'deferred 
charges’ which means the member would never be billed for the charges, but if he 
or she happens to come into a windfall of money (lottery or inheritance), they will 
change the status of those charges to current and try to collect the debt. 
  
Helen can use this "deferred" charge toward her deductible.    

  
Example 3: Lestat’s parent applies for BadgerCare Plus in July 2008. A 
 BadgerCare Plus deductible of $700 is calculated for him.  In January 2003, he had 
a blood transfusion. The bill for the transfusion was $800. The bill was never paid. 
Lestat can use the unpaid bill to meet his BadgerCare Plus deductible, but must 
provide documentation to show that the charges are currently owed. The remaining 
$100 can be applied to the next deductible period, as long as it is still owed. 

  
b. Paid or written off sometime during the current deductible period. 
 Medical bills written off through bankruptcy proceedings are not allowed 
as a medical expense to meet a deductible. 

  
Example 4: Estelle applies for BadgerCare Plus in March. A deductible period is 
set up for March through August.  In April, she had a two-year-old medical bill of 
$300 written off.  She can apply the $300 toward the March - August deductible 
because it was written off during the deductible period. 
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c. Paid or written off sometime during the deductible period that 
immediately precedes and borders on the current deductible period. 
 These bills can be used even if they were paid after the person met the 
deductible in the prior period.   
  

Example 5: Jeffrey is in his second deductible period. He did not meet his 
deductible in the prior period, which borders on the current period.  He has a bill 
that was written off in the prior period.  He can apply this bill to his current 
deductible. 

  
Example 6: Malcolm is in his second deductible period which began March 1, 
2007.  He did not meet his deductible in the prior deductible period, which 
immediately preceded the current deductible period.  He has a medical bill that he 
paid in February 2006.  He may not apply this toward his current deductible. 

  
Example 7: Norah is in her second deductible period which began in September. 
 In June, Norah met her deductible and was certified for BadgerCare Plus.  After 
certification, and before the prior deductible period ended in August , Norah paid for 
medical services that were not BadgerCare Plus covered services.  Norah can 
apply these paid bills to the deductible period that began in September. 

  
d. Paid or written off some time during the three months prior to the 
date of application. This expense can only be used for the first deductible 
period.  Balances cannot be carried forward to future deductible periods. 

  
Example 8: Julie applies for BadgerCare Plus in August.  Her deductible for the 
period from August through January is $1500.  On May 10th she paid off a $2000 
outstanding medical bill.  She can use that expense to meet her deductible because 
it was paid in the three months prior to the date of her application.  The remaining 
$500 cannot be applied to future deductible periods. 

  

17.4.2 Countable Expenses 

1. Medical expenses. Medical expenses are costs for services or goods that 
have been prescribed or provided by a professional medical practitioner (licensed 
in Wisconsin or another state) regardless of whether the services or goods are 
covered by BadgerCare Plus.  Medical expenses for services or prescriptions 
acquired outside of the U.S. may be counted toward a deductible if a licensed 
medical practitioner or pharmacy provided the service or drug. 

  
Some examples of medical expenses are deductibles, copayments and premiums 
for BadgerCare Plus, Medicare, private health insurance; and bills for medical 
services that are not covered by the Wisconsin BadgerCare Plus program. When 
determining the countable medical expenses under MAGI rules, health insurance 
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premiums that are counted as pre-tax deductions from income cannot also be 
counted toward a deductible as a medical expense.   

  
Note: MMIS data may be used to calculate BadgerCare Plus copayments from 
the previous deductible period. 
  
2. Remedial expenses. Remedial expenses are costs for services or goods 
that are provided for the purpose of relieving, remedying or reducing a medical or 
health condition. Some examples of remedial expenses are: 

  
a. Case management. 
  
b. Day care. 
  
c. Housing modifications for accessibility. 

  
d. Respite care. 

  
e. Supportive home care. 
  

Supportive Home Care is necessary assistance to help people meet their 
daily living needs, ensure adequate functioning in their home, and safely 
access their community.  Services may include: 

  
• Assistance with activities of daily living 
• Attendant care 
• Supervision 
• Reporting changes in the member’s condition,   
• Assistance with medication and medical procedures which 
are normally self-administered, or 
• The extension of therapy services, ambulation and exercise. 
• Tasks associated with routine household upkeep, including 
general housekeeping chores, lawn mowing, snow removal, 
changing storm or screen windows and other household services 
that are essential to the member’s safety, well being and care at 
home. 

  
f. Transportation. 
  
g. Community Based Residential Facility (CBRF), Adult Family/Foster 
Home (AFH), Residential Care Apartment Complex (RCAC), and all other 
community substitute care setting program costs not including room and 
board expenses. 

  
Remedial expenses do not include housing or room and board expenses. 
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3. Ambulance service and other medical transportation including attendant 
services 

  
4. Medical insurance premiums paid by a member of the BadgerCare Plus 
Group.  These insurance premiums include disease specific and per diem 
hospital and nursing home insurance payments.  Do not allow accidental 
insurance policy premiums as a countable cost.    

  
Note: Unlike other expenses listed in this section that may not be applied toward a 
deductible until they are incurred, count medical insurance premiums from the first 
day of the deductible period, if the premium will be coming due anytime during the 
current deductible period.   

  
5. Medical bills paid by a party who is not legally liable to pay them can be 
counted against a deductible...   

   
Examples of parties that pay medical bills when not legally liable include, but are 
not limited to: Churches, fraternal organizations, Children's Special Health Needs 
Unit of the Division of Public Health, Veterans Administration and the AIDS Drug 
Assistance Program (ADAP). 

  
6. The cost of medical services received at a Hill-Burton facility.  The Hill-
Burton Act was enacted by Congress to provide federal assistance for the 
construction and modernization of health care facilities.  Medical facilities which 
receive Hill-Burton assistance must provide without charge a reasonable volume 
of services to persons unable to pay for those services. 

  
7. In-kind payments.  These are services or goods supplied to the provider in 
lieu of cash.  Self declaration of the bill being satisfied is adequate verification. 

  
8. Medical or remedial expenses that are paid or will be paid  by a state, 
county, city or township administered program that meets the conditions detailed 
in  # 1 through 7 above. 

  
Examples include: 

  
• General Assistance 
• Community Options Program 
• AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP) 

  
Example 1: Jenna receives a medical service which will be paid by ADAP. When 
Jenna becomes pregnant and applies for BadgerCare Plus she has a deductible to 
meet.  This medical bill that has not been paid can be used immediately because it 
will be paid by the state administered ADAP program. 

  
Example 2: Sally received a medical service in January which was paid by the 
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state administered; state funded Community Options Program in the same month. 
 In February Sally applies for BadgerCare Plus for herself and her son, James. 
 Sally has access to health insurance so James must meet a deductible. Since the 
medical bill was paid by COP within three months of Sally's BadgerCare Plus 
application it can be used to meet James’ BadgerCare Plus deductible. 

  
9. Medical or remedial expenses that have been paid or will be paid by 
Indian Health Services that meet the conditions detailed in (17.4.2) 

  
Example 3: On January 1, Michael received a medical service which will be paid by 
Indian Health Services.  When Michael applies for BadgerCare Plus on January 10 
he has to meet a deductible.  The bill for the January 1 medical services may be 
used immediately because it will be paid by the Indian Health Services program. 

  
Example 4: Charlie received a medical service in January which was paid by Indian 
Health Services in the same month.  In February Charlie’s mother applies for 
BadgerCare Plus.  Charlie has to meet a deductible.  Since the bill was paid by 
Indian Health Services within three months of Charlie's BadgerCare Plus 
application, it can be used to meet Charlie's BadgerCare Plus deductible. 

  

17.4.3 Expenses That Cannot Be Counted Toward a Deductible 

Do not count the following toward the deductible: 
  

1. Medical bills written off through bankruptcy. 
2. Medical services payable or paid for by a third party who is legally liable 
for the bill.  This includes bills that will be paid or have been paid by BadgerCare 
Plus, Medicare or other Insurance.   

  
Example 1: The costs of medical services provided to an incarcerated person are 
not allowed as expenses to meet a deductible.  The incarcerating authority is the 
legally liable third party.   

  
3. A bill cannot be used if it has been used to meet a prior deductible.  If only 
a portion of an unpaid bill was used to meet a prior deductible, any remaining 
balance that was not applied to the prior deductible, may be applied to a 
subsequent deductible period as long as it is still owed or meets criteria in 
(17.4.1). 
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17.5 ORDER OF BILL DEDUCTION 

When applying medical bills to the deductible , start with the earliest service date.  If 
more than one bill has the same service date, use the bill with the highest amount first, 
then the next highest and so on down to the lowest bill with that same service date. 

17.5.1 Hospital Bills 

Hospitals do not always itemize the cost of their services according to the day and time 
of day the patient received the services.  It is sometimes difficult to know when the 
patient met the deductible. 
  
For this reason, if the patient’s hospital bill for one continuous stay in the hospital is 
equal to or above the deductible amount on the date of admission, the first day of 
admission is the date of service for the entire bill.  The hospital bill is applied to the 
deductible first before counting any other medical costs that were incurred during the 
hospital stay. 
  

Example: Linda submits a $2,000 bill toward her deductible, for hospitalization from 
July 12th through July 14th.  She also submits a physician bill for $2,500 with a date 
of service of July 12th.  Apply the $2,000 hospital bill to the deductible first. 

17.5.2 Pregnancy Fees 

Many providers charge a flat fee for pregnancy related services.  The single-fee 
includes all prenatal care, office visits, delivery, and postnatal care. 
  
The entire "global” pregnancy fee is counted as an expense as of the date an 
agreement was signed. 
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Anyone can prepay a BadgerCare Plus deductible for him or herself or for someone 
else.  It can be paid in installments or all at once.  A prepaid deductible may be 
refunded if the member requests a refund of the prepayment prior to the begin date of 
the corresponding deductible period. 
  
Instruct the member to make the payment payable to the local Income Maintenance 
Agency.  Report the receipt on the Community Aids Reporting System (CARS) on Line 
909. 
  
With the payment, include: 
  

1. Documentation that the payment is voluntary. 
2. The member’s name and BadgerCare Plus ID number.  

17.6.1 Insufficient Funds 

If the deductible is paid with a check that is returned for insufficient funds, discontinue 
the person's eligibility, determine if an overpayment occurred and if so, establish a claim 
for benefit recovery.   

17.6.2 Payment of Entire Deductible Amount 

If the entire deductible amount is paid at any point during the deductible period, 
eligibility begins on the first date of the deductible period.   
  

Example:  Laura’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st.  The 
total deductible amount is $1,000.  Laura submits payment of $1,000 on August 
15th.  Laura’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility begins on March 1st. 

17.6.3 Combination of Payment and Incurred Expenses 

If the deductible is met through a combination of payment and incurred medical 
expenses, count the incurred medical expenses first.  Eligibility, by paying the remaining 
deductible amount, can begin no earlier than the last date of incurred medical expense 
within the deductible period. 
  

Example: Gloria’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st.  The 
total BadgerCare Plus deductible amount is $1,800.  Gloria submits a medical bill 
with a March 8th date of service for $800.  On July 15th, she submits payment of 
$1,000.  Gloria’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility begins March 8th.  A BadgerCare Plus 
Remaining Deductible Update (F-10109) must be submitted to identify the provider 
of service on March 8th and the $800 member share amount. 

17.6.4 Combination of Payment and Outstanding Expenses 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10109.pdf
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If the deductible is met through a combination of payment and outstanding medical 
expenses (incurred prior to the beginning of the deductible period), eligibility begins on 
the first date of the deductible period. 
  

Example: Roberta’s deductible period is from March 1st through August 31st.  The 
total BadgerCare Plus deductible amount is $1,500.  She submits an outstanding 
bill from January 10th for $500.  On August 15th, she submits payment of $1,000. 
 Roberta’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility begins March 1st 

  
Enter the first date of the deductible period on AGTM as the date the payment was 
received. 

17.6.5 Calculation Errors 

If any portion of the deductible is paid and you find the amount was wrong due to 
agency error, refund the paid amount that was incorrect and report the refund on CARS. 
 If the error was caused by an applicant /member error, see (28.2) for determining the 
overpayment amount. 
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17.7 REMAINING DEDUCTIBLE   

When the member receives a medical bill that is equal to or greater than the amount he 
or she still owes on the deductible , he or she can be certified for BadgerCare Plus. 
 However, he or she is still responsible for the part of the bill that equals the deductible. 
 BadgerCare Plus will consider the remainder of the bill for payment. See  (Process 
Help Chapter 19 Deductibles). 
  
A BadgerCare Plus Remaining Deductible Update (F-10109) must be sent to the fiscal 
agency indicating the amount of the bill that the member owes.  The Fiscal Agent 
subtracts this amount from the bill and BadgerCare Plus pays the rest. 
  
Fill out the BadgerCare Plus Remaining Deductible Update (F-10109) only if: 
  

1. A BadgerCare Plus certified provider has provided the billed services. 
  

2. The person, having met the deductible, is being certified.  If he or she is 
not being certified, BadgerCare Plus will not pay any of the bill. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/17/17.7hlf.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/Process_Help/b19/19a.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10109.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10109.pdf
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The date of the bill is the date the deductible was met.  Since the member is not eligible 
until he or she has met the deductible, he or she still owes for all bills prior to that date. 
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17.8 CHANGES IN INCOME 

Once the deductible has been met, changes in income do not affect the group’s 
eligibility for the remainder of the deductible period. 
  
If there are income changes reported during the BadgerCare Plus deductible period but 
prior to meeting the deductible, recalculate the BadgerCare Plus deductible amount. 
  

1. Add together the monthly excess income of the months of the BadgerCare 
Plus deductible period that have already gone by. 

  
2. Using prospective net income, find the excess income of the months in the 
deductible period after the month when income changed. 
  
3. Add the results of #1, #2 and #3. 
  

Example 1:  Cicely, a pregnant woman with income over 300% FPL, applied for 
BadgerCare Plus in July.  She had excess income of $20 a month.  Her 
BadgerCare Plus deductible was $120.  On October 8th, she reports a pay increase 
of $10 a month. The change is effective for November. The BadgerCare Plus 
deductible amount is recalculated by: 
  

1. Adding together the excess income of months July through October. 
 The result is $80. 
  
2. Calculating her November excess income.  The result is excess 
income of $30. 
  
3. Prospective excess income for December is $30. 
  
4. Cicely's new BadgerCare Plus deductible amount is:  $80 + $30 + $30 
= $140. 
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If the income change results in lower excess income in the month of change, the 
applicant can choose to: 
  

1. Recalculate the current BadgerCare Plus deductible, or 
  

2. Create a new deductible period. 
 
  

Example 2: Mary, a pregnant woman, goes from full time to part time employment 
in the fourth month of her BadgerCare Plus deductible period.  She still has excess 
income, but it is lower than in the previous three months.  She can choose either to 
recalculate her BadgerCare Plus deductible to a lower amount or to start a new 
deductible period. 
  
If she chooses to start a new deductible period, she will forfeit any eligibility she 
might have acquired in the previous deductible period if she had met the previous 
deductible. 

  
If the income change results in no excess income the applicant has an additional 
choice: 
  

1. Recalculate the deductible. 
  

2. Create a new deductible period. 
  

3. Begin eligibility immediately. 
  

  
This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01 

Release Date: 10/29/07 
Effective Date: 02/01/08 

View History 
  

17.9 NON-FINANCIAL CHANGES 

17.9.1 Non-Financial Changes Introduction  
17.9.2 Group Size Changes  
17.9.3 Death  

17.9.1 Non-Financial Changes Introduction 

If there is a change in non-financial eligibility during the deductible period, discontinue 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility for those persons who have become non-financially 
ineligible. 
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If a child enters the BadgerCare Plus group after the deductible for another child in the 
group has been met, that child will also be eligible for the remainder of the deductible 
period. 
  
If an adult caretaker relative who is EBD, or is medically verified as pregnant, enters the 
BadgerCare Plus group, his or her name will appear on the BadgerCare Plus card for 
the remainder of the deductible period.   
  
If a member loses non-financial eligibility and regains it during the same deductible 
period, the member may choose: 
  

• To continue with the current deductible period. 
OR 

• To reapply and establish a new deductible period if his or her income still 
exceeds the appropriate BadgerCare Plus income limit. 
  

17.9.2 Group Size Changes 

When the group size is different on the last day of the month from what it was on the 
last day of the previous month, and the deductible is not met, you must recalculate the 
deductible.  Compare the new group's countable monthly income with the new group's 
FPL limit.  If there is excess monthly income, recalculate the deductible in the same way 
as for income changes. 

17.9.3 Death 

If the member dies during the deductible period, and is not already certified, look at all 
countable expenses prior to death.  If those countable expenses meet the deductible, 
certify the person.  The time period for the deductible remains six months.  All months 
that remain of the six-month deductible period from the point the member dies, are 
considered to have $0 income.  The deductible amount should be recalculated.  If the 
deductible was met, eligibility will be the point from which eligibility was determined to 
have been met through the date of death.   
  
If the member prepays the deductible and dies after the deductible period starts, the 
deductible is non-refundable.  If the member prepays and dies before the deductible 
period starts, the deductible pre-payment is refundable. 
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17.10 LATE REPORTS OF CHANGES 

If the member turns in late reports on income changes or medical costs, recalculate the 
deductible as of the date the change took place or the medical cost was incurred.  See 
what would have been the deductible had he or she reported the changes and the 
medical costs as they occurred.  If the medical bills would have met the deductible for 
any past date, begin BadgerCare Plus certification on that date. 
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18.1 EXTENSIONS 

18.1.1 Introduction 

A BadgerCare Plus extension is a period of eligibility given to a person when the assistance 
group's income increases above 100 percent FPL either due to an increase in earned income, 
child support income, and/or spousal support; and otherwise meets the BadgerCare Plus 
eligibility criteria for persons with incomes below 100 percent FPL.  

• Non-MAGI BadgerCare Plus individuals (parents/caretakers, pregnant women, 
and children) can enter an extension when the assistance group’s earned 
income, child support, or both increases above 100 percent FPL. 

• A parent/caretaker relative or pregnant woman whose eligibility is determined 
using MAGI rules can enter an Extension due to an increase above 100 percent 
FPL in the assistance group’s earned income, spousal support, or both. The 
children, stepchildren, and NLRR children of the parent/caretaker will also enter 
the Extension at this time, provided they are under age 19, living with the 
parent/caretakers, and meet the income requirements outlined in section 18.1.3. 

   
BadgerCare Plus members eligible as childless adults are not eligible for an Extension.  
   
If a family is moving out of the State of Wisconsin at the time of the income increase, they 
would not be eligible for the Extension.  
   

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/18/18.1hlf.htm
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A family can enter into an Extension as long as verification and the premium payment, if 
applicable, are provided by the due date given.  
  
In late renewal situations, the renewal must have been submitted in the month the 
renewal is due in order for this policy to apply. 
 

Example 1: The Brown family’s health care renewal is due July 31. The renewal is 
submitted to the agency on July 25. The agency processes the renewal on July 28 and 
requests verification due August 7. The Brown family provides check stubs for the parents’ 
incomes on August 4. The agency determines that the Brown family’s income is now over 
133 percent of the FPL, so the parents owe a premium. Because BadgerCare Plus already 
closed on July 31, a premium is due before the case can re-open. The Brown family has 10 
days to pay the premium. The case pends for the premium on August 5, and the premium is 
due August 14. The Brown family must provide all requested verification by August 7 and 
pay their premium by August 14 in order for the family to enter into an Extension. 

   
While on the Extension, the member is covered under the Standard Plan and is not subject to the 
insurance access and coverage requirements. For example, having access to employer health 
insurance when the family income increases from 80 percent to 175 percent FPL will not make 
them ineligible for the Extension.  
   
Non-exempt adults are subject to premiums while in an Extension (see 19.1) with the exception 
of adults whose income is at or below 133 percent FPL during the first 6 calendar months of their 
Extension. Starting April 1, 2014, the RRP for adults who fail to pay a premium will be 3 months 
(See 19.11). For RRPs that began prior to April 1, 2014, if the adult member has served at least 3 
months in an RRP, the RRP may be ended.  
   
Former Foster Care Youth, tested under MAGI rules, no longer qualify for Extensions when they 
have a natural or adoptive child in the household and that child meets the criteria for an 
Extension.  
   
The BadgerCare Plus Extensions last four months when the income goes above 100 
percent FPL solely due to an increase in spousal support. 
   
Note: Extensions will not be granted to anyone in the household if the household fails to verify 
the income that would trigger the extension unless all the parents/caretakers in the Extension are 
exempt from paying premiums because they are disabled, a tribal member or pregnant.  

Example 2: Mom, Dad, and children are open for MAGA and MAGC. Mom and Dad are 
not tribal members or disabled. They report a new job with income over 100 percent of the 
FPL. They fail to verify the income by the due date given. No one in the household is 
entitled to an Extension. 

18.1.2 Pregnant Women 



BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

207 

A pregnant woman tested under non-MAGI rules who is not a parent or caretaker relative of a 
child during her pregnancy, can only become eligible for an Extension if she was enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus, with income at or below 100 percent of the FPL, for 3 months once her 
pregnancy reaches the 8th month. Look back 60 days from her due date or the date the pregnancy 
ended to determine the 8th month.  If she was a parent or caretaker relative and enrolled with 
income at or below 100 percent FPL in 3 of the past 6 months she would be eligible for an 
Extension. 

Example 3: June, a single woman with no children under her care, was pregnant with a due 
date of September 8th.  She applied for and was enrolled in BadgerCare Plus effective 
March 1st.  Her income was below 100 percent of the FPL for the entire time she was 
enrolled.  She gave birth on September 8th and reported the birth and her marriage to the 
father of the baby to her worker.  His income put the countable household income over 100 
percent of the FPL.  Since the eighth month of her pregnancy was July (September 8th 
minus 60 days), she was enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income less than 100 percent for 
three months (July, August and September), beginning with the 8th month of her pregnancy. 
 She is eligible for a 12 month BadgerCare Plus Extension. 

 
Example 4: Judith and her 2 children have been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income 
below 100 percent FPL since January.  In March, she reported that she was pregnant with a 
due date of October 5th.  On August 10th, Judith reported she received a raise which caused 
her countable household income to exceed 100 percent FPL. Since she was enrolled with 
income at or below 100 percent FPL for 3 out of the past 6 months, she and her children are 
eligible for an Extension.  Since Judith is eligible as a pregnant woman, she will retain that 
status in the Standard Plan with no premium until the end of the month 60 days after the 
pregnancy ends.  At that time she will be put into the Extension with her children. 

   
Beginning January 1, 2014, a pregnant woman whose eligibility is tested under MAGI rules will 
be able to enter an Extension if she was eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a pregnant woman or a 
parent or caretaker relative at any time during the pregnancy with income at or below 100 
percent FPL in 3 of the past 6 months. In most cases, her continuous eligibility as a pregnant 
woman will take precedence over the Extension, but the Extension will be maintained and will 
result in eligibility if the pregnancy and postpartum period end prior to the end of the Extension.  

18.1.3 Children 

Under most circumstances, the end of an Extension will apply to all of the members of 
the BadgerCare Plus Test group. For example, when the household income decreases 
to 100 percent FPL or less, the Extension will end for both parents and children. Only 
when an Extension ends for a parent for failure to pay a required premium will  the 
Extension be continued for the child. All dependent children, stepchildren and NLRR 
children who are eligible under MAGI rules and whose parent or caretaker becomes 
eligible for an Extension under MAGI rules will be eligible for the same Extension 
provided that they are eligible for BadgerCare Plus in the month prior to the start of the 
Extension and: 

• Have AG income under 306 percent FPL and are under age 1 
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• Have AG income under 191 percent FPL and are age 1 through age 5 
• Have AG income under 156 percent FPL and are age 6 through age 18 

  
Conditions: 

1. Children do not have to be eligible for BadgerCare Plus for 3 of the past 6 
months. 
2. The child’s AG income does not have to be below 100 percent FPL at the 
time the Extension starts. 
3. CENs are not eligible for Extensions. 
4. A child who is currently in an Extension is not eligible for a new extension. 
5. If a parent’s income decreases below 100 percent FPL the child’s 
extension continues. If the parent fails to verify income changes during the 
Extension period (but verifies it after the Extension has been established), the 
child’s Extension will continue. 
6. Once a child is in an Extension, the child does not lose the extension for 
any reason except for death, moving out of Wisconsin, or turning 19 while in an 
earned income Extension. 

  
Note: If a child is in an unexpired Extension and a parent qualifies for a new Extension, 
the child’s Extension will continue to stay in the original Extension eligibility category 
until it expires. The child is not eligible for the new Extension. 
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18.2 INCREASE IN EARNINGS/DECREASE IN GROUP SIZE 
EXTENSIONS 

18.2.1 Earned Income Extensions Under Non-MAGI Rules 
18.2.2 Earned Income Extensions under MAGI Rules 
18.3 Supplemental Security Income Exception 

18.2.1 Earned Income Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules 

To receive a BadgerCare Plus Extension due to an increase in earnings, a person 
whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules must meet all of the following 
requirements: 

1. The income increase that caused the countable income to exceed 100 
percent FPL must be due solely to one of the following: 
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a. Increased earnings 
b. Increased earnings along with other income (changed or 
unchanged) 
c. A decrease in group size 

2. He or she must be a BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 
100 percent FPL at the time the income increased to over 100 percent FPL. This 
also applies to a decrease in group size. 
3. The parent, caretaker, or pregnant woman must have been enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus with income that was at or below 100 percent FPL for at least 
three of the six months immediately preceding the month in which the income 
went above 100 percent FPL. 
4. He or she must otherwise meet the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100 percent FPL. 
5. He or she verified his or her income unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium. 

  
Example 1: Mary and her two children had been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with 
income below 100 percent FPL since January. Her husband Denny moved back 
into the house in June. When Denny was added to the case with his additional 
earned income, the group’s countable income went over 100 percent FPL. Because 
Mary and the two children were enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income below 100 
percent FPL for three of the prior six months at the time the income went above 100 
percent, they are eligible for a 12-month BadgerCare Plus Extension. Denny is not 
included in the Extension because he was not enrolled in BadgerCare Plus at the 
time the income increased. 

18.2.2 Earned Income Extensions under MAGI Rules 

To receive a BadgerCare Plus Extension due to an increase in earnings, a parent, 
caretaker, or pregnant woman under MAGI rules must meet all of the following 
requirements: 

1. The income increase which caused the countable income for his or her 
BadgerCare Plus AG to exceed 100 percent FPL must be due solely to one of 
the following: 

a. Increased earnings (of anyone in the same AG) 
b. Increased earnings along with other income (changed or 
unchanged) 

2. He or she must be a BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 
100 percent FPL at the time the income increased to over 100 percent FPL. 
3. The parent, caretaker, or pregnant woman must have been enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus with income that was at or below 100 percent FPL for at least 
three of the six months immediately preceding the month in which the income 
went above 100 percent FPL. 
4. He or she must otherwise meet the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100 percent FPL. 
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5. He or she verified his or her income unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium because he or she and any co-parent or spouse in the AG are 
disabled, a tribal member, or pregnant. (This policy applies to all adults in the 
AG. Unless they are all exempt from paying a premium, income must be 
verified.) 

  
Note: These requirements do not apply to children eligible under MAGI rules (see 
Section 18.1.3 Children). 
  

Example 2: Jane lives with her two teenage children and Dave, the non-marital co-
parent of the two children. Jane is claiming both children on her taxes and her 
income for her MAGA AG of three is 90 percent FPL. Dave’s MAGA AG consists 
only of himself, and he is eligible for BadgerCare Plus with income of 95 percent 
FPL. The children-in-common are eligible in a MAGC AG group of four, with both 
parents as counted adults in their AG and their group’s income is 121 percent FPL. 
Jane was enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income below 100 percent FPL for 
three of the prior six months. In June, her earned income increased to 120 percent 
FPL. She is eligible for a 12-month BadgerCare Plus Extension. Dave is not 
included in the Extension because he was not a counted member of Jane’s AG. 
The children are eligible for a 12-month Extension because they were eligible in 
June when Jane’s income rose above 100 percent and their own AG’s income was 
below 156 percent FPL at the time. 

18.2.3 Supplemental Security Income Exception 

A person who was eligible for SSI benefits may be eligible for a BadgerCare Plus 
Extension if he or she loses SSI and would have been eligible for BadgerCare Plus with 
countable income at or below 100 percent if he or she had not been an SSI recipient. 
  

Example 3: Mary is receiving SSI. Her two children are enrolled in BadgerCare 
Plus with countable income at or below 100 percent FPL. Mary started a job and 
her earnings put her above the SSI income limit. Her earned income also caused 
the BadgerCare Plus countable income to exceed 100 percent FPL. Both Mary and 
her two children are eligible for a 12-month BadgerCare Plus Extension. 

  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-02 
Release Date: 09/02/2015 
Effective Date: 09/02/2015 

View History 
  

18.3 INCREASE IN CHILD SUPPORT OR SPOUSAL INCOME 
EXTENSIONS 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/18/18.3hlf.htm


BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

211 

18.3.1 Support Extensions Under Non-MAGI Rules 
18.3.1.1 Four Month Extension under Non-MAGI Rules 
18.3.1.2 Twelve Month Extension under Non-MAGI Rules 

18.3.2 Support Extensions Under MAGI Rules 
18.3.2.1 Four Month Extensions under MAGI Rules 
18.3.2.2 Twelve Month Extensions under MAGI Rules 

  

18.3.1 Support Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules 

For assistance groups (AG) under non-MAGI rules, if a BadgerCare Plus member’s 
countable income increases above 100% FPL and all or part of the excess income 
consists of child support income, grant an Extension of either 4 or 12 months depending 
on the case circumstances. 

18.3.1.1 Four Month Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules 

The 4 month Extension applies only if: 
  

1. The income increase which caused the countable income to exceed 100% 
FPL must be due solely to: 

  
a. Increased child support income or, 
b. Increased child support income along with other unearned income 
(changed or unchanged). 

  
2. There has been no increase in earned income. 

  
3. He or she must be a BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 
100% FPL, at the time the income increased to over 100% FPL. 

  
4. At least 1 member of the AG must have been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus 
with income that was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months 
immediately preceding the month in which the income went above 100% FPL. 

  
5. He or she must otherwise meet the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100% FPL, and 

  
6. He or she verified his or her income, unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium. 

  

18.3.1.2 Twelve Month Extensions under Non-MAGI Rules 

The 12 month BadgerCare Plus Extension applies only if: 
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1. Earned income increased but child support income remained the same or 
both earned income and child support income increased. 
2. He or she is a BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 100% 
FPL, at the time the income increased to over 100% FPL. 
3. At least 1 member of the AG has been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with 
income that was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately 
preceding the month in which the income went above 100% FPL, and 
4. He or she otherwise meets the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100% FPL. 
5. He or she verified his or her income, unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium. 

18.3.2 Support Extensions under MAGI Rules 

For AGs using MAGI rules, if a parent, caretaker, or pregnant woman’s countable 
income increases above 100% FPL and all or part of the excess income consists of 
spousal support income, grant an Extension of either 4 months or 12 months depending 
on the case circumstances. 

18.3.2.1 Four Month Extensions under MAGI Rules 

The 4 month Extension only applies if: 
  

1. The income increase which caused the countable income to exceed 100% 
FPL must be due solely to: 

  
a. Increased spousal support income, or 
b. Increased spousal support income along with other unearned 
income (changed or unchanged). 

  
2. There has been no increase in earned income. 

  
3. He or she is an eligible BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 
100% FPL, at the time the income increased to over 100% FPL. 
4. He or she must have been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income that 
was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding 
the month in which the income went above 100% FPL. 
5. He or she otherwise meets the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100% FPL 
6. He or she verified his or her income, unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium. 

  

18.3.2.2 Twelve Month Extensions under MAGI Rules 

The 12 month BadgerCare Plus Extension applies only if: 
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1. Earned income increased but child support income remained the same or 
both earned income and child support income increased. 
2. He or she is a BadgerCare Plus member with income at or below 100% 
FPL, at the time the income increased to over 100% FPL. 
3. He or she must have been enrolled in BadgerCare Plus with income that 
was at or below 100% FPL for at least 3 of the 6 months immediately preceding 
the month in which the income went above 100% FPL, and 
4. He or she otherwise meets the BadgerCare Plus eligibility criteria for 
persons with income below 100% FPL. 
5. He or she verified his or her income, unless he or she is exempt from 
paying a premium. 
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18.4 INCOME CHANGES DURING THE EXTENSION 

During an Extension, a group or individual’s income may decrease to an amount at or 
below 100% FPL for the group size and then increase again to exceed the 100% FPL. 
 When the income decreases, the individual will be removed from the Extension and 
placed in regular BadgerCare Plus.  The remaining months of the Extension will 
continue to run in the background.  If the individual’s countable income again increases 
above the 100% FPL, he or she would be eligible under the previous Extension for any 
remaining months.  If the individual is eligible for a new Extension when the income 
again increases, because he or she meets all of the criteria above, choose the 
Extension which gives the longest coverage, and cancel the other. 
  

Example 1: A BadgerCare Plus group with a 12-month Extension from January 
through December has a decrease in income in February that puts them back 
below 100% FPL.  The Extension continues to run while the group is on regular 
BadgerCare Plus.  In October the group’s countable income again increases to 
above 100% FPL, this time due to an increase in Child Support income.  They are 
now eligible for a four-month child support Extension which would run from 
November through February.  Since the four month Extension would be longer than 
the current extension, apply the new four-month Extension. 
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18.5 LOSING AN EXTENSION 

18.5.1 Introduction 
18.5.2 Leaving Wisconsin 

18.5.1 Introduction 

A BadgerCare Plus member loses an Extension if one or more of following happens: 
  

1. He or she fails to cooperate in providing third party health insurance 
coverage (TPL).  Children under 19 are exempt from any penalty for not 
cooperating with this requirement. 

  
2. All children under the parent's or caretaker relative’s care have either left 
the household or turned 19 and the Extension was based on an increase in 
earned income. 
3. A child in an earned income Extension turns 19. 
4. He or she fails to provide verification of income and at least one 
parent/caretaker in the extension AG is not disabled, a tribal member, or 
pregnant.  Only the non-disabled, non-tribal, non-pregnant parents/caretakers 
are ineligible for failure to provide verification.  The other members of the family 
in the extension remain eligible for the duration of the Extension. 

  
5. He or she fails to pay a premium or quits BadgerCare Plus (See 19.11). 
Only the parents/caretakers that owed the premium (those in the BCPM AG) are 
put into a restrictive re-enrollment period.  The other members of the family in the 
Extension remain eligible for the duration of the Extension. 

  
Note: Under MAGI rules, children in a support Extension who turn 19 do not lose the 
extension just for turning 19. Similarly a parent or caretaker relative in a support 
Extension just because all of the children under his or her care either left the home or 
turned 19. 
  
Note: An assistance group does not need to maintain employment in order to maintain 
an earned income Extension, irrespective of whether the assistance group is tested 
under MAGI or non-MAGI rules. 
  
If a condition necessary for an Extension is lost, the Extension is not regained solely by 
recovering the lost condition. 
  
Example 1:  A group has an Extension and the parent fails to provide verification of earnings. 
 The parent loses eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.  The children in the Extension remain eligible 
for the duration of the Extension.  The parent does not regain the Extension if she later provides 
verification of income. 
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18.5.2 Leaving Wisconsin 

If a BadgerCare Plus member is eligible for an Extension and moves out of Wisconsin, 
he or she loses the Extension.  He or she can regain the Extension if he or she returns 
and becomes a Wisconsin resident again during any month in the original Extension 
period. 
  
Example 3:  Earl, a Wisconsin resident, received a 12-month Extension beginning January 1, 
2008.  He moved out of state, thus losing his Extension.  On May 1, 2008, he moved back to 
Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident again.  He regained the Extension at the time he 
moved back to Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident.   
  
If the time period of the Extension expires while the person is out of state, he or she 
does not regain the Extension. 
  
Example 4:  Gloria, a Wisconsin resident received a 12-month Extension beginning January 1, 
2008.  She moved out of state, thus losing her Extension.  In February 2009, she moved back to 
Wisconsin and became a Wisconsin resident again.  She does not regain the Extension because 
the time period has expired. 
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19.1 BADGERCARE PLUS PREMIUMS 

Note: Premium policies for BadgerCare Plus Core members are found in the archived 
PDF version of Chapter 43. 
   
The following individuals must pay a premium to become or remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
unless exempt: 
 
 

1. Children in families with income over 200% FPL (under non-MAGI rules) 
or 201% (under MAGI rules), 
2. Parents, stepparents and caretaker relatives with income over 100% FPL 
in a BadgerCare Plus Extension that starts on or after April 1, 2014, 
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3. Through March 31, 2014, parents, stepparents and caretaker relatives 
with income over 133% through 200% of the FPL, 

4. Through March 31, 2014, self-employed parents, stepparents and caretaker 
relatives with income above 200% of the FPL before subtracting the depreciation 
but below 200% of the FPL after subtracting the depreciation. 

  
Note: Effective with BadgerCare Plus Extensions that begin on or after April 1, 2014, 
parents, stepparents and caretaker relatives with income between 100% and 133% FPL 
in a BadgerCare Plus Extension will be subject to premiums starting in the seventh 
calendar month of their Extension. October 2014 is the first month for which premiums 
will be charged for non-exempt adults in an Extension with income at or below 133% 
FPL. 
  
If a member’s income changes during their Extension, he or she will only be exempt 
from premiums if he or she is in the first six calendar months of that Extension, and if his 
or her income is at or below 133% FPL.   
  

• If the member has an increase in income that puts his or her income 
above 133% FPL, he or she will be subject to premiums, even if he or she is still 
in the first six calendar months of the Extension. 
• If the member’s income subsequently decreases to below 133% FPL, he 
or she will be exempt from premiums as long as he or she is in the first six 
months of the Extension. 
• If the member’s income drops below 100% FPL, he or she will be enrolled 
in regular BadgerCare Plus and is no longer subject to a premium. 
• If the member’s income drops below 100% FPL, then later increases and 
the member qualifies for a new Extension, a new six-month premium exemption 
will begin with the new Extension. 
• If the member’s income drops below 100% FPL, then later increases and 
the member does not qualify for a new Extension, the member will be re-enrolled 
in the previous Extension and the original six-month time frame for exempting 
premiums will apply. 

  
Example 1: Jane starts a 12-month Extension in June, when her income increases from 90% 
FPL to 110% FPL. If Jane’s income remains below 133% FPL, she will owe a premium 
beginning in December, the seventh month of her Extension. 
  
Example 2: Jane starts a 12-month Extension in June, when her income increases from 90% 
FPL to 110% FPL. On August 5th, she reports she received a raise, and her income goes up to 
155% FPL. Jane owes a premium starting in September. If her income stays above 133% FPL 
through November, she will continue to owe a premium, even though she is in the first six 
months of her Extension. She will owe a premium, irrespective of whether her income is above 
or below 133% FPL, for December through May. 
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Example 3: Joe starts a 12-month Extension in May, when his income increases from 90% FPL 
to 110% FPL. On June 3rd, he reports he received a raise, and his income goes up to 155% FPL. 
In July, he will owe a premium. In August, he reports a reduction in hours, bringing his income 
down to 120% FPL starting in the month of August. He will not owe a premium in August, 
September or October, but starting with the month of November, his six-month exemption is 
over, so he will start paying premiums again. 
  
Example 4: Jim starts a 12-month Extension in August, when his income increases from 90% 
FPL to 140% FPL. He owes a premium. He reports a reduction in hours effective December, 
which brings his income down to 120% FPL. He will not owe a premium in December or 
January, but starting in February, his six-month exemption is over, so he will start paying 
premiums again. 
  
The following individuals are exempt from the requirement to pay a premium: 
 
 

1. All pregnant women and pregnant minors, 
2. Pregnant women under age 19 with income at or below 300% of the FPL, 
3. Former Foster Care Youth.  (Chapter 11), 
4. Children who have met a BadgerCare Plus deductible, during the remainder of 

the deductible period, 
5. Children in a BadgerCare Plus Extension, 

6. Children who are not in an Extension but whose parents are in an 
Extension and paying a premium, 

7. Adult parents and caretakers  who are blind or disabled or MAPP Disabled, as 
determined by the Disability Determination Bureau (DDB) or through the 
presumptive disability process (MEH, 5.9), 
8. Adults with assistance group income at or below 100% FPL, 

9. All children under age 1 including Continuously Eligible Newborns (Chapter 8.2) , 
10. American Indian or Alaskan Native Tribal members, the son or daughter of a 

tribal member, the grandson or granddaughter of a tribal member, or anyone 
otherwise eligible to receive Indian Health Services. 

  
Note: Persons who are members of families receiving BadgerCare Plus benefits, but who are 
individually certified for EBD Medicaid, Well Woman Care, Family Planning Only Services or 
Emergency Services, are not charged a BadgerCare Plus premium.  
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19.2 Premium Calculations 

19.2.1 Premium Calculations for Non-MAGI Households 
19.2.2 Premium Calculations Effective January 1, 2014 

19.2.2.1 Children's Premiums Using MAGI Rules 
19.2.2.3 Adults' Premiums Using MAGI Rules 

19.2.1 Premium Calculations for Non-MAGI Households 

Note: The following policy applies to all BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is 
determined under non-MAGI rules. 
  
Under BadgerCare Plus, premiums for children are initially calculated on an individual 
basis and then a total for the case is determined. Premiums for adults are based on a 
percentage of the household income and the amount is the same regardless of the 
number of adults covered by the premium CARES will calculate the premium for each 
case.  The general rules for calculating the premium amounts are as follows: 
  

1. The minimum monthly premium amount for children is $10 per person. 
  
2. For children with a family income above 300% of the FPL, the individual 
premium shall not exceed the full per member per month cost of coverage for a 
child. 
  
3. For non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives, including 
those in BadgerCare Plus Extensions with a family income above 133% of the 
FPL, premiums will be calculated based on a sliding scale, ranging from 3% of 
countable household income for individuals above 133% of the FPL to 9.5% of 
household countable income for individuals at or above 300% of the FPL. 
Premiums for adults will be calculated based on actual household income and 
rounded to the nearest dollar.  See 48.1 for premium ranges based on family size 
and income. 
  
4. Through March 31, 2014, for self-employed parents, stepparents and 
caretaker relatives, with incomes above 200% of the FPL before subtracting the 
depreciation but below 200% of the FPL after subtracting the depreciation, the 
caretaker relative's share of the premium shall be 5% of the family’s net income, 
before subtracting depreciation from the self-employment income. 
5. Through March 31, 2014, for families with income over 300% of the FPL, if 
at least one member of the case is eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a self-
employed adult or as a grandfathered individual, the combined total of all family 
members’ premiums will be either the total of all children’s premiums, or 5% of 
the family’s income, whichever amount is greater.  One exception is for families 
that include a child living with a caretaker relative.  If the only BadgerCare Plus 
eligible members are children under 19, the 5% cap does not apply and the 
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family owes the per member per month premiums for the children. 
  
6. Through March 31, 2014, for families with income below 300% of the FPL, 
where only children owe a premium or self-employed parents/caretakers owe the 
5% premiums, the combined total of all family members’ premiums will be 
rounded down to the nearest whole dollar amount. 
  
7. Through March 31, 2014, For families with income at or above 300% of 
the FPL, premium amounts for cases where only children owe a premium and 
the 5% premiums for self-employed parents/caretakers will not be rounded.  
8. For pregnant women under age 19 with income over 300% of the FPL, the 
individual premium shall not exceed the full per member per month cost of 
coverage for a child with a family income of 300% of the FPL. 
  
  

Pregnant women may sometimes fall into one of the other premium groups.  In those 
cases, the following rules apply: 
  

1. Pregnant minors with income between 200% and 300% of the FPL are not 
charged a premium. 
  
2. Pregnant minors with income over 300% of the FPL are charged the 
child’s premium rate. 
  
3. Pregnant parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with income between 
133% and 200% of the FPL are not charged a premium. 
  
4. Pregnant self-employed parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with 
income between 200% and 300 % of the FPL are not charged a premium. 
  
5. Pregnant parents, stepparents or caretaker relatives with self-employment 
income above 300% FPL are not charged a premium and do not have to meet a 
deductible. 

  
The premium for the BadgerCare Plus group is the total of the individually calculated 
premiums for the children included in the group.  For example, a household with three 
children and family income between 200% and 210% of the FPL will owe $30, or $10 
per eligible child in the family. 
  
Premiums for adults with household income less than or equal to 200% of FPL or in an 
extension are based on a percentage of the household income and the amount is the 
same regardless of the number of adults covered by the premium.    

19.2.2 Premium Calculations for MAGI Households 



19.1 BadgerCare Plus Premiums 

220 

The basic approach for determining premiums remains the same for MAGI households: 
premiums for children are initially calculated on an individual basis and then a total for 
the case is determined, while premiums for adults in Extensions are based on a 
percentage of the adult’s assistance group income.However, there are some significant 
differences to premium amount calculations under MAGI rules.  CARES will calculate 
the premium for each case, but the general rules for calculating the premium amounts 
are explained below for children and adults. 
  

19.2.2.1 Children's Premiums using MAGI Rules 

1. The minimum monthly premium amount for children is $10 per person. 
2. The maximum monthly premium for a child with income above 301% up to 306% 

FPL is $97.53. 
3. Each child’s premium amount will be based on their AG’s size and income. 

Under MAGI rules, it is possible for different children within the same household 
to have different amounts of income counted and to have a different AG sizes. 
For this reason, each child’s AG is evaluated separately to determine that AG’s 
income and group size, which is the basis for determining the FPL percentage of 
that child’s income. That FPL percentage, in turn, will determine whether a child 
potentially owes a premium and the amount of the premium. 

4. The premium for the BadgerCare Plus group is the total of the individually 
calculated premiums combined, not to exceed 5% cap. 
5. The cap will be 5% of the income of the assistance group with the highest 
income (in terms of dollar amount) in the case.  (See 19.3.) 

19.2.2.2 Adults' Premiums using MAGI Rules 

1. For non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretaker relatives in BadgerCare 
Plus Extensions with a family income above 133% of the FPL, premiums will be 
calculated based on a sliding scale, ranging from 3% of countable income for 
individuals above 133% of the FPL to 9.5% of countable income for individuals at 
or above 300% of the FPL. 

2. Premiums for adults in extensions will be calculated based on actual income and 
rounded to the nearest dollar. See 48.1 for premium ranges based on family size 
and income. When a child is pulled into an adult’s extension, the child does not 
owe a premium. 

3. Adults in an extension who are married filing jointly, or who are married but not 
filing taxes, will have a combined premium. Adults in an extension who are 
married filing separately or are non-marital co-parents will have premiums 
calculated on an individual basis. 

  
Note: Pregnant minors are not charged a premium. 
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19.3 Premium Limits 

For all BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI 
rules, families with incomes at or below 300% of the FPL will never have to pay in 
excess of 5% of the family income for their total premiums. 
  
The 5% caps will be calculated for income ranges of 10% of the FPL.  For example, the 
5% cap would be the same for a family with income at 211% of the FPL as it would be 
for a family with an income at 218% of the FPL. 
  
Exceptions to this policy are: 
  

1. Children living with caretaker relatives exception: Unlike children living 
with their parents, eligibility for children living with caretaker relatives is 
determined separately from their caretaker relatives and from other children living 
with the caretaker relative.  The amount of their premium is based solely on their 
income.  The 5% cap on the child living with a caretaker relative premium is 
calculated separately from the caps on the premiums for other children living with 
caretaker relative in the household and from the cap on the premium for the 
caretaker relative and the caretaker relative’s immediate family. 
  
2. Exception for children and self-employed parents with incomes over 300% 
of the FPL:  Usually the 5% premium owed for self-employed parents will not 
exceed the amount of the per member per month (PMPM) cost of the children’s 
premiums.  However, some larger families with more than five children will have 
PMPM costs greater than 5% of the family’s income.  For those families, collect 
the full PMPM per cost for those children even though it exceeds the 5% limit. 
 For those families, no additional premium amount will be owed for the self-
employed parents. 
  
3. Adults with incomes over 180% of the FPL in a BadgerCare Plus 
Extension. 

  
4. Adults with incomes over 180% of the FPL up to 200% of the FPL. 

  
For all BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, 
children with assistance group income above 201.00% of the FPL will be required to 
pay premiums. The total premium amount for the household is the total of the 
individually calculated premiums, not to exceed a 5% cap. The cap will be 5% of the 
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income of the assistance group with the highest income (in terms of dollar amount) in 
the case.) 
  
The 5% cap methodology for children with premiums will be effective as soon as one 
child on the case who is subject to premiums has his or her eligibility determined using 
MAGI rules. 
  
Example: Susan and Alan are non-marital co-parents caring for four children: Susan’s son, 
Aaron (15); Alan’s daughters Rachel (12) and Hannah (11); and Susan and Alan’s son Jacob (9). 
Alan claims Rachel and Hannah as his two tax dependents, while Susan claims Aaron and Jacob. 
Susan earns $2500/month as a waitress, and Alan earns $4500/month as a computer analyst. 
None of the children have income. All four children are eligible for BadgerCare Plus.  
   

 
   
Aaron does not have a premium, Rachel and Hannah have $55 premiums, and Jacob has a 
premium of $44. In this example, 5% of the income of the assistance group with the highest 
income is 5% of Jacob’s MAGI group, or 5% of $7000/month, or $350. Altogether, the 
household’s monthly premiums are $154. The household will pay $154 in premiums for their 
children’s coverage. 
  
Parents and caretakers in Extensions will pay premiums based on the sliding scale 
discussed above, without a 5% cap applied. Non-exempt children with incomes above 
201% of the FPL will not be required to pay premiums when the adults in the household 
are paying premiums in an Extension. If the parents enter a restrictive re-enrollment 
period (RRP) for failure to pay a premium or are otherwise ineligible, non-exempt 
children with income above 201% will be required to pay a premium. 
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19.4 Premium Payment Methods 

Upon request from the member, the fiscal agent (1-888-907-4455) will provide members 
with instructions for choosing their preferred payment method from the list below.   
  
Approved payment methods include: 
  

1. Direct payment by check or money order. 
2. Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). 
3. Wage withholding from each paycheck received. 

  
Agencies are responsible to provide members with the Wage Withholding (F-13025) 
and EFT (F-13026) forms upon request, to facilitate the choice of payment method other 
than direct payment.  Instruct the member to mail the completed forms to the address 
listed on the forms once he or she has chosen a payment method.  Direct premium 
payments must be made until the fiscal agent informs the family the EFT and wage 
withholding has been set up. 
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19.5 INITIAL PAYMENTS 

Payment of the BadgerCare Plus premium is a non-financial condition of eligibility. Initial 
premium payments must be made before eligibility is confirmed and the members are enrolled. 
The first month is free if no one in the BadgerCare Plus group was eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
or Medicaid in the previous month, and the BadgerCare Plus AG has not received a free month 
in the previous 12 months. Consider someone with an unmet deductible as not being eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus.  
   
The Income Maintenance agency is responsible for collecting the initial payments and recording 
the payment in CWW . Acceptable payment types include: check (personal, cashiers, travelers, 
etc.) or a money order. Check must be issued to BadgerCare Plus.   
   
A BadgerCare Plus Premium Information/Payment form (F-10139) must be sent to the fiscal 
agent along with the payment. The BadgerCare Plus AG CARES case number must be included 
on the form (F-10139) and on the check. The BadgerCare Plus Premium Information/Payment 
form (F-10139) can be found at http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf or go to the 
CARES mainframe manual standard letter CNSL NCBP009901. Mail the initial BadgerCare 
Plus premium payment (check or money order) and completed form directly to the BadgerCare 
Plus lockbox at:  
   

BadgerCare Plus 
c/o Wisconsin Department of Health Services 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F13025.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F13026.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/19/19.5hlf.htm
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10139.pdf
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Box 93187 
Milwaukee, WI 53293-0187   

   
The eligibility policy and time frame procedures for premium payments are as follows: 
 
 

1. Initial eligibility date and confirmation occur in the month of application.   

   
When an application is processed in the same month it was received, and a 
premium for the initial month of eligibility is not due because they are eligible for a 
free month, the premium for the second month of eligibility must be paid in 
advance before a family can be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus. 
  

Example 1: Lisa and her family applied for BadgerCare Plus on January 25th. On January 
31st, the worker determined that the family met eligibility requirements effective January 
1st.  Since the family had not been previously eligible for BadgerCare Plus, a premium for 
January was not assessed since they were eligible for the free month. However, Lisa had to 
pay the February premium for her family before their eligibility could be confirmed. 

 
 

2. Eligibility begins in the month of application - confirmation occurs in a future 
month. 

   
When an application is not processed within the 30-day application processing 
period and the family is eligible for a free month, the family must pay both the 
second and third months’ premium before enrollment. CARES requires that 
premiums for both the second and third months be paid before confirmation when 
eligibility is processed any time in the third month. 
  

Example 2: Cheryl and her family applied for BadgerCare Plus on March 25th. No one in 
her family was eligible for BadgerCare Plus in the previous month.  At Cheryl’s request, the 
IM worker extended the 30-day processing time period by ten days for additional 
verification. The application for BadgerCare Plus was processed on May 2nd, but the family 
was determined eligible effective March 1st. A premium is not due for March because it is a 
free month. However, Cheryl had to pay the premium amount for April and May before 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility could be confirmed. 

 
 

3. Eligibility begins in a future month, but application is processed in the month of 
application. 
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When an application is processed within 30 days but eligibility does not begin until 
a future month, the free month is the first future month of eligibility.  The family will 
receive an invoice for the premium amount through the mail.  He or she must pay 
the premium due for the second month by the tenth of the benefit month to remain 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 

 
Example:  Arnie and his family applied for BadgerCare Plus on April 12th.  He and his 
family were determined to be eligible for BadgerCare Plus beginning May 1st.  A premium 
is not assessed for May.  A coupon for Arnie’s June premium was mailed on May 20th with 
payment due by June 10th. 
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19.6 On-going Payment 

BadgerCare Plus premiums are due on the tenth of the benefit month, regardless of 
which payment method is chosen. 
  

1. For families who have chosen "direct pay" as their payment method, the 
fiscal agent sends out the BadgerCare Plus premium coupons on the 20th of the 
month before the benefit month.   
  
2. Electronic funds transfer occurs on the third business day of the benefit 
month. 

  
This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01 
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19.7 Advance Payments 

Through December 31, 2013, payments can be made in advance (further than the next 
month), but the payment cannot exceed the current certification period . 
  
If paying in advance, the payments must be the full amount of subsequent month’s 
premiums (no partial month payments).  If the income amount changes, the premium 
amount will be recalculated and the member will be notified through CARES that his or 
her premium amount has changed.  If the premium amount has decreased, the fiscal 
agent will refund any excess premium that was paid.  If the premium amount has 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/19/19.6hlf.htm
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increased and the premium coupon has not been sent for that month, the member will 
receive a coupon with the new premium amount.  If the premium coupons have already 
been sent, the member will need to pay the additional amount owed.  The member will 
not receive a coupon for the difference that is owed. 
  
Effective January 1, 2014, premium payments can no longer be made in advance. 

19.7.1 Refunds 

Contact the BadgerCare Plus Unit at 1-888-907-4455 to issue a refund if the premium 
was paid in advance and the premium is for a month in which the: 
  

1. Individual/family was ineligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  

2. The group’s countable income decreased and they no longer owe a 
premium, if the income change was reported timely. 

  
3. A lower premium amount is due to a change in circumstances which was 
in effect for the entire month as long as the change was reported within ten days 
of the date it occurred.  The lower premium amount due is the first day of the 
month in which the change was reported.  A refund for the difference will be 
issued. 

  
Example: A child without any income is added to the BadgerCare Plus group. 
 Based on the group's income compared to the new group size, a premium is no 
longer owed.  The fiscal agent will refund the premium that was paid in advance. 
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19.8 Non-Payment 

  
19.8.1 Non-Payment Introduction  
19.8.2 Insufficient Funds  
19.8.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment  

19.8.1 Non-Payment Introduction 

The failure to pay a premium does not affect the eligibility of any person in the 
household who does not have a premium obligation.  If an individual or family with a 
premium obligation fails to pay the premium by adverse action of the benefit month, BC 
+ will close for those individuals who owed a premium. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/19/19.8hlf.htm
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• Children under age 19 

o Effective with RRPs beginning January 1, 2014 (for failure to pay 
December 2013 premiums), children under age 19 who do not pay their 
premiums will not be eligible for BadgerCare Plus for 3 calendar months, 
unless there is good cause (see 19.8.3). See 19.11 for more information. 
o Through December 31, 2013, children were not eligible for 6 
calendar months following the date on which their coverage terminated for 
failure to pay premiums, unless there was good cause. However, effective 
April 1, 2014, any RRPs that began prior to January 1, 2014 were updated 
in CARES to set the RRP end date to no later than 3 months after the 
RRP started. 

• Adults age and older 
o Beginning April 1, 2014, adults who fail to pay a premium will not be 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus for 3 calendar months following the date on 
which their coverage terminated, unless there was good cause. See 19.11 
for more information. 
o Through March 31, 2014, adults are not eligible for BadgerCare 
Plus for 12 calendar months following the date on which their coverage 
terminated, unless there was good cause. However, if the adult member 
has served at least 3 months in an RRP as of April 1, 2014, the RRP may 
be lifted and the member may re-enroll at their request. 

  
For more information on how RRPs can be lifted and BadgerCare Plus eligibility 
reinstated, see 19.11. 
  
The total family premium for a case must be paid to avoid being considered late or 
unpaid.  No partial premium payments will be accepted. 

19.8.2 Insufficient Funds 

If a BadgerCare Plus member pays the monthly premium through EFT or direct 
payment by check, and the payment is rejected for insufficient funds it is considered a 
non-payment and the BadgerCare Plus eligibility will terminate.  A restrictive re-
enrollment (see 19.11) will be applied unless there is good cause (19.8.2).  The RRP 
begins with the first month after closure.  If an overpayment occurred, a benefit recovery 
claim should be established. 

19.8.3 Good Cause for Non-Payment 

Do not apply an RRP for non-payment if good cause exists.  Good cause reasons for 
not paying the BC premium are: 
  

1. Problems with the financial institution. 
2. CARES problem. 
3. Local agency problem. 
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4. Wage withholding problem. 
5. Fair hearing decision. 

  
The member must still pay the arrears before eligibility will begin again. 
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19.9 Late Payments 

The case will remain open for the benefit month even if no payment is received by the 
due date.  It will close at the end of the benefit month if no payment is received by 
adverse action in the benefit month. 
  
If the member pays between adverse action of the benefit month and the last day of the 
benefit month, eligibility can be restored.   
  

Example: Adverse action is September 16th.  Jim’s September premium was due 
September 10th.  Jim has not paid his September premium by September 16th.  He 
pays on September 26th. The case closed effective September 30th.  Eligibility for 
October will be restored.  He is not required to pay the October premium until 
October 10th.   

  
Note: An individual’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility can be reinstated during an RRP if the 
individual pays the owed premiums. For information about payments made during the 
RRP, see 19.11. 
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19.10 Premium Changes 

19.10.1 Decreased premium amount  
19.10.2 Increased premium amount  

19.10.2.1 Person adds 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/19/19.9hlf.htm
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19.10.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add) 
19.10.2.3 Effective dates of premium increase (other than person adds) 

19.10.1 Decreased premium amount 

When a change is reported that results in a lower premium amount, it is effective during the 
month in which the change occurred or the month in which it was reported, whichever is later. 
 The fiscal agent will refund any excess premium that was paid.    

19.10.2 Increased premium amount 

You must give a 10-day notice to the member when the group is required to pay a premium for 
the first time or is required to pay a higher premium.  The increase is effective the following 
month if BadgerCare Plus eligibility is confirmed before adverse action .  If the change is 
confirmed after adverse action, the increase is not effective until the month after the following 
month. 

Example 1: Jessica has BadgerCare Plus with a premium for her and her family. 
 She reports a change in income to her worker on April 23rd that results in a 
higher premium amount.  Jessica’s premium amount will increase effective June 
1st.  She will receive the coupon for the new premium amount at the end of May. 

19.10.2.1 Person adds: 

If the person add will cause an increase in the premium, CARES will not allow eligibility 
confirmation if the notice requirement cannot be met.  Certify eligibility for new members 
through the FowardHealth Portal. If unable to certify through the ForwardHealth Portal, 
complete and return the F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) for the days that cannot be confirmed in 
CARES. See Process Help 81. 
 
 

• Mail: 

ForwardHealth iChange  
P.O. Box 7636    
Madison, WI 53707-7636 
Fax: (608) 221-8815 

 
 

• Fax: (608) 221-8815 

19.10.2.2 Effective dates of premium increase (Person Add) 

https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/Default.aspx
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm
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1. If the person was added to the case before adverse action, the increase is 
effective the next month.   
  

2. If the person was added to the case after adverse action, the increase is not 
effective until the second month. 
 
  

Example 2: Rachel’s husband Mike moved back into the home on June 1st.  She reported 
the change on June 6th and the agency processed the change on June 10th (before adverse 
action).  Inclusion of Mike’s income resulted in a premium increase.  The increase is 
effective July 1st.  Certify Mike’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility effective June 6th by sending 
in a F-10110 for the dates between June 6th and June 30th. 

     
Example 3: Ann moved back to her parent’s home on December 12th and reported it on the 
22nd (after adverse action).  The agency acted to process the change on the same day. 
 Inclusion of Ann’s income resulted in a premium increase.  The premium increase is not 
effective until February 1st.  Certify Ann’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility effective December 
22nd by submitting an F-10110 for the dates between December 22nd and January 31st. 

   

19.10.2.3 Effective dates of premium increase (other than person adds) 

A delay in the effective date of premium increases must also be done in certain ongoing 
cases that may or may not include a person add.  These are cases where a change 
results in an assistance group opening up and has new or increased premiums for a 
month (or months) that cannot be confirmed in CARES. In these situations, the member 
is not responsible for a premium payment (or a premium increase) for the month or 
months that cannot be confirmed in CARES. The first premium (or increased premium) 
for which the family must pay is the one for the month for which eligibility can be 
confirmed. 
  
The following situations qualify for this treatment: 

• Through March 31, 2014, a case reports a decrease in income from above 200% 
to below 200% FPL and the parents are now eligible with a premium. 

• A person is added to a case that has not paid the premium for another member. 
• A person becomes eligible for BadgerCare Plus for any non-financial reason 

except late payment of the previous month’s premium, failure to verify a reported 
change that resulted in the premium increase, or failure to complete a renewal. 

• Cases where the Call Center is unable to get premiums adjusted on the 
interChange system. 
• Effective April 1, 2014, a case reports a decrease in income from above 
300% to below 300% and the child(ren) are now eligible with a premium. 

  

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10110.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10110.pdf
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In a situation where other members in the AG or in another BadgerCare Plus AG may 
owe a premium, treat their premium separately from the newly eligible members and/or 
AG. Through March 31, 2014, a family that owes a small premium for the children but 
then has an income decrease to below 200% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) that 
causes the parents to be eligible for a larger premium. With the income change, the 
children no longer owe a premium. If the premium was already paid for the children, that 
amount must be refunded. If the premium was not paid, the children should not be 
sanctioned for non-payment since they no longer owe a premium. 
  
Example 4:  June and Ward Cleaver are receiving BadgerCare Plus for their two sons, 
Wally and Theodore. The family income is 205% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), 
and they are paying $20 in monthly premiums for the boys. On March 25, Ward reports 
a decrease in wages and the family’s income is now 191% of the FPL. This makes 
June and Ward eligible for BadgerCare Plus with a premium. When the IM worker runs 
eligibility for May, the new BadgerCare Plus premium amount is $213. CARES will not 
allow the worker to confirm eligibility for March or April because their premium is higher 
than the $20 amount that had already been confirmed for the children. The worker 
needs to: 
  

1. Confirm BadgerCare Plus eligibility in CARES for May, 
2. Do an online or manual certification of BadgerCare Plus eligibility for Mr. and 

Mrs. Cleaver for the months of March and April. No premium is owed for the 
parents for those months, and 

3. Issue a manual Positive Notice of Decision to the family for those two months. 

  
In addition, since the sons are no longer required to pay a premium and are now 
eligible for the Standard Plan, the worker must also update their medical status code 
using the online or manual F-10110. Once the medical status is updated in iC to a non-
premium status, HP will automatically refund the $20.00 premium that was paid. 
  
Example 5: Mary and Tom apply for BadgerCare Plus on May 1, 2014 for their son, Sam, and 
Mary’s daughter, Sara. Mary and Tom are not married and both plan to file taxes. Mary claims 
Sara as a dependent and Tom claims Sam. Sara’s AG income is 208%, so she has a $10 
premium. Sam’s AG income is at 310%, so he is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus. The case is 
confirmed on May 15, 2014 with Sara’s eligibility beginning May 1, 2014. On June 1st, Tom 
reports his income decreased in late March, resulting in Sam’s AG income to decrease to 265%. 
Sam would now be eligible with a $44 premium. Because CARES will not allow the worker to 
confirm the increase in premium for June, Sam will not be required to pay a premium until July 
1, 2014, although he will be eligible as of June 1, 2014. Sara is still required to pay her $10 June 
premium, and the combined premium of $54 will be effective July 1, 2014. 
  
  
  
  

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10110.pdf
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19.11 BadgerCare Plus Restrictive Re-enrollment Period (RRP) 

19.11.1 Restrictive Re-Enrollment Period (RRP) Introduction 
19.11.2 Reapplying 
  

19.11.1 Restrictive Re-Enrollment Period (RRP) Introduction 

A member for whom a premium is owed for the current month who leaves BadgerCare 
Plus by not paying a premium may be subject to a restrictive re-enrollment period. A 
restrictive re-enrollment period (RRP) means the member cannot re-enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus for a certain number of months from the termination date while their 
income remains high enough to owe a premium, unless they pay the premiums owed, 
meet a good cause exemption or the RRP is lifted. Effective January 1, 2014, children 
can make late premium payments at any time during their 3 month RRP. Effective April 
1, 2014, adults can make late premium payments at any time during their 3 month RRP. 
  
Members must pay the overdue payment(s) that resulted in case closure, but do not 
have to pay the premium owed for the following month, unless the late payment is made 
after the benefit month. 
  

Example 1: If a premium was owed for September, but is not paid until November, 
the premiums for September, October and November must be paid in order for 
eligibility to be restored for those months. 

  
If the member owes a premium for a month during the RRP, he or she must pay all 
owed premiums before CARES will restore eligibility for BadgerCare Plus. The member 
must pay the IM agency directly (not the Fiscal Agent). You can check with the Fiscal 
Agent to see if a premium has already been collected for that month. 
  

Example 2: Adverse action is September 16th. Jim has not paid his September 
premium by September 16th. He finally pays on October 26th. His case closed on 
September 30th. Jim must pay both the premiums for September and October 
before eligibility can be restored. The November premium is not due until November 
10th and does not have to be paid in advance. 

  
Members whose income decreases to an amount that would not require a premium will 
be removed from the RRP and re-enrolled in BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Children under age 19 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/19/19.11hlf.htm
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• RRPs beginning on or after January 1, 2014, are set for 3 months. 
• RRPs beginning prior to January 1, 2014, lasted for 6 months. 
• However, any RRPs that began prior to January 1, 2014 were updated in 
CARES to set the RRP end date to March 31, 2014, as children are no longer 
required to be in a 6 month RRP. 

  
Note: The RRPs impacted by the update to set the RRP end to March 31, 2014, are 
limited to RRPs that began in November 2013 or December 2013. 
  
The child can become eligible for BadgerCare Plus again at any time during the three 
month RRP if he or she pays all owed premiums. The child’s eligibility will be restored 
back to the beginning of the RRP. If the individual serves the full three month penalty 
period, he or she will become eligible for BadgerCare Plus again (without paying any 
owed premiums) on the first of the following month after the RRP ends, if he or she 
continues to meet the program eligibility criteria. 
  

Example 3: Kayla (age 10) had a premium of $10 and failed to pay her May 
premium. Her BadgerCare Plus benefits ended May 31 and she was put into a 
three month RRP from June 1 to August 31. Eligibility can be re-determined in 
September OR Kayla could re-enroll prior to September if she pays all owed 
premiums. 

  
Effective April 1, 2014, any RRPs for children that began prior to January 1, 2014 were 
updated in CARES to set the RRP end date to no later than 3 months after the RRP 
started. If eligibility is subsequently re-run for an open case, the child’s eligibility will re-
open. However, if the case has been closed for more than 30 days, the household must 
reapply in order to regain BadgerCare Plus benefits for the child. 
  
Adults age 19 and older 

• RRPs beginning on or after April 1, 2014, are set for 3 months. 
• RRPs beginning prior to April 1, 2014, lasted for 12 months. However, 
effective April 1, 2014, if the adult member has served at least three months in an 
RRP as of April 1, 2014, the RRP may be ended at the member’s request. 

  
An adult can become eligible for the remainder of the Extension again at any time 
during the three month RRP if he or she pays all owed premiums. The adult’s eligibility 
will be restored back to the beginning of the RRP. If the individual serves the full three 
month penalty period, he or she can become eligible for the remainder of the Extension 
(without paying any owed premiums) if he or she requests to re-enroll for the remainder 
of his or her Extension and if he or she continues to meet the program eligibility criteria. 
  
After the RRP has been served, eligibility can be reinstated as of any month after the 
end of the RRP until the end of the Extension.  For example, if an RRP ends June 30 for 
an Extension that runs through December, a member could request in November to be 
reinstated starting July 1.  However, members must pay owed premiums for any months 
of coverage, and the months of eligibility must be consecutive. So using the same 
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example, the member could not request to be reinstated for July, September, October 
and November, but not August. 
  

Example 4: Joyce (age 29) is an adult in an Extension. She fails to pay the June 
premium, so she is in a 3 month RRP for July, August and September. In August, 
Joyce pays her owed premiums for June, July and August. Joyce’s eligibility is 
restored back to the beginning of the RRP. 

  
Example 5: Tina (age 45) did not pay the September premium while in an 
Extension. Tina will be in a 3 month RRP for October, November and December. 
Tina contacted the IM agency in January, after she served the full 3 month RRP 
and requested to re-enroll in BadgerCare Plus. As long as there are still months left 
in the Extension and she continues to meet the program eligibility criteria, Tina can 
re-enroll starting January without paying any owed premiums from the RRP. Tina 
would not be able to re-enroll for October, November and December. If Tina had 
contacted the agency in April, she would be able to choose whether to reinstate her 
enrollment starting in January, February or March, but she would not be able to 
choose to be covered only in February and then start coverage again in April. 

  
Effective April 1, 2014, the 3 month RRP length will also apply to RRPs that started prior 
to April 1, 2014. If the adult member has served at least three months in an RRP as of 
April 1, 2014, the member can be re-enrolled in the remainder of the extension at his or 
her request. 
  

Example 6: Chelsey fails to pay her October 2013 BCPA premium and is put in a 
12 month RRP from November 1, 2013 to October 31, 2014. As of April 1, 2014, 
she has already served at least three months of her RRP. Chelsey contacts her IM 
agency to request that the RRP be ended and that she be reenrolled in BadgerCare 
Plus. The agency may reenroll Chelsey effective April 1. 

  
One member in a household may be in an RRP while other members in the same 
household are still eligible for BadgerCare Plus or ineligible under a separate RRP.  For 
example, children in the same household as a member on RRP may remain eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus if no premium obligation was owed for the children.   
  

19.11.2 Reapplying 

An individual who applies for BadgerCare Plus before the end of the RRP and whose 
assistance group’s income is above the premium limit may be eligible for BadgerCare 
Plus for the remainder of the existing extension if he or she pays owed premiums. If the 
individual’s assistance group’s income is below the premium threshold, he or she can 
become eligible for BadgerCare Plus without paying owed premiums. 
  

Example 7: Jackie, John and their three children are open for BadgerCare Plus. 
Jackie and John are in an Extension and have a premium. The children are eligible 
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without a premium. They fail to pay the June premium so Jackie and John are in a 
RRP from July through September. The children are still eligible. In August, Jackie 
and John reapply for BadgerCare Plus and report a decrease in income to 95% 
FPL. Beginning August 1, Jackie and John are again eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
without a premium. In addition, because their income is below the premium 
threshold, they are not required to pay their owed premiums first. 
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20.1 ASSETS 

There is no asset limit for BadgerCare Plus. 
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CHAPTER 21-24 (RESERVED) 

  
This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01 

Release Date: 10/29/07 
Effective Date : 02/01/08 

  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/20/20.1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/21/21.1hlf.htm
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PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION (CHAPTERS 25-37) 

25 Application 

View History 
  

25.1 APPLICATION 

Anyone has the right to apply for BadgerCare Plus; however, people younger than 18 
years old must have a parent, caretaker relative, or a legal guardian apply for 
BadgerCare Plus on his or her behalf unless he or she is living independently. In 
situations where a legal guardian, parent, or caretaker is absent, an adult acting 
responsibly may apply on behalf of a person who is younger than 18 years old. 
  
The applicant may be assisted by any person he or she chooses in completing an 
application. 
  
Note: Individuals less than 18 years of age have the right to apply for BadgerCare Plus 
and Family Planning Only Services on his or her own behalf. 
  
Encourage anyone who expresses interest in applying to file an application as soon as 
possible. When an application is requested: 
  

1. Suggest the applicant use the ACCESS online application at the following 
site: https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/; or  
2. Mail the paper application form; or  
3. Schedule a telephone or face-to-face interview.  

  
Provide any information, instruction and/or materials needed to complete the application 
process.  Provide a Notice of Assignment:  Child Support, Family Support, Maintenance 
and Medical Support form (DWSP-2477) and Good Cause Claim form (DWSP-2019) to 
each applicant with children applying for BadgerCare Plus or to anyone that requests 
either of these. 
  
Refer requests for applications and other outreach materials from groups and persons 
involved in outreach efforts to: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/customerhelp/ 
  
Note: An application can be filed on behalf of a deceased person.  If the application is 
filed within the same calendar month as the date of death or within the 3 months after 
the date of death, the application should be processed as if the applicant were alive.  If 
the application is filed more than 4 months after the date of death, he or she is not 
eligible. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.1hlf.htm
https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2477.pdf
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms/pdf/dcf_f_dwsp2019.pdf
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/em/customerhelp/
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25.2 Application Types/Methods 

BadgerCare Plus applicants have the choice of one of the following application 
methods: 
  

1. ACCESS https://access.wisconsin.gov/. 
2. Mail-In using the BadgerCare Plus Application Packet (F-10182). 
3. Telephone Interview. 
4. Face-to-Face Interview. 
5. Use of the paper or online application available through the Marketplace 
6. Telephone application with the Marketplace 
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25.3 Where to Apply 

25.3.1 Where to Apply Introduction 
25.3.2 Intercounty Placements  
25.3.3 Applications Outside Wisconsin  
25.3.4 Applications Received from the Federal Marketplace  

25.3.1 Where to Apply Introduction 

The applicant must apply in the county in which he or she resides. 
  
The agency (county/tribe or consortia) of the applicant’s county of residence should 
process the individual’s application. 
  
The applicant’s county of residence at the time of admission must receive and process 
applications for persons in these state institutions: 
  

1. Northern, Central, and Southern Centers. 
2. Winnebago and Mendota Mental Health Institutes. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.2hlf.htm
https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10182.pdf
http://marketplace.cms.gov/getofficialresources/publications-and-articles/marketplace-application-for-family.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.3hlf.htm
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forwardhealth/imagency/index.htm
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3. The University of Wisconsin Hospital. 
   
When an applicant contacts the wrong agency, redirect him or her to the consortium or 
tribal agency responsible for processing the application immediately. Anytime an 
application is received in the wrong consortium or tribal agency, it must be date 
stamped and redirected to the agency responsible for processing that application no 
later than the next business day.  The filing date remains the date originally received by 
the wrong consortium or tribal agency. 

25.3.2 Intercounty Placements 

When a county 51.42 board, 51.437 board, human services department or social 
services department places a person in a congregate care facility that is located in 
another county, the placing county remains responsible for determining and reviewing 
the applicant’s BadgerCare Plus eligibility.  A congregate care facility is a: 
  

1. Child care institution. 
2. Group home. 
3. Foster home. 
4. Nursing home. 
5. Adult Family Home ( AFH ). 
6. Community Based Residential Facility ( CBRF ). 
7. Any other like facility. 

  
The placing county may request the assistance of the receiving county in completing 
applications for persons who are not enrolled in BadgerCare Plus and renewals for 
BadgerCare Plus members.  The receiving county must then forward the information to 
the placing county.  The placing county remains responsible for determining the 
applicant’s eligibility.  If the placing county requests assistance from the receiving 
county, the placing county must provide the other agency with: 
  

1. The applicant’s name, age, and SSN . 
2. The date of placement. 
3. The applicant’s current BadgerCare Plus status. 
4. The name and address of the congregate care facility in which the 
applicant has been placed. 
5. The name of the county and agency making the placement. 

  
When there is a dispute about responsibility, the social or human services department 
of the receiving county may initiate referral to the Department of Health Services' Area 
Administration office for resolution.  Pending a decision, the county where the person is 
physically present must process the application, any changes and renewals. 

25.3.3 Applications Outside Wisconsin 
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Generally, an application should not be taken for a resident of Wisconsin when he or 
she is living outside of Wisconsin.  An exception is when a Wisconsin resident becomes 
ill or injured outside of the state or is taken out of the state for medical treatment.  In this 
case, the application may be taken, using Wisconsin’s application forms (25.1), by the 
public welfare agency in the other state.  The forms should  be forwarded to the welfare 
agency in the other state.  The Wisconsin IM agency determines eligibility when the 
forms are returned. 

25.3.4 Applications Received from the Federal Marketplace 

The Federally-faciliated Marketplace (the Marketplace or the Exchange) will begin 
sending applications to DHS through an account transfer process for individuals the 
Markeplace assesses as potentially eligible for BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid. Such 
applications are considered full applications for all "insurance affordability programs" 
including BadgerCare Plus and should be appropriately processed. The 30 day 
processing requirement begins on the day that the account is received by the local 
agency or the next business day if received after normal operating hours or on 
weekends or holidays. If eligible, the individual's benefits will begin on the first day of the 
month the application was filed at the Marketplace, not the date that the application was 
received by the agency. If the individual requests backdating, their eligibility will be 
backdated for up to three months from the first day of the month the application was 
filed at the Marketplace. 
  
If a paper application from the Marketplace is mailed to a consortium or tribal agency, 
the IM worker should consider that application as an application for BadgerCare Plus 
and/or Medicaid and process it. 
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25.4 VALID APPLICATION 

A valid application for BadgerCare Plus must include the applicant’s: 
  

1. Name, and 
2. Address, and a 
3. Signature in the Rights and Responsibilities section of one of the following 
forms: 

• Wisconsin Medicaid for the Elderly, Blind and Disabled Application / 
Review Packet (F-10101), 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.4hlf.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10101.pdf
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• Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and Family Planning Services 
Registration Application (F-10129), 
• BadgerCare Plus Application Packet (F-10182), 
• BadgerCare Plus Supplement to FoodShare Wisconsin Application 
(F-10138) or an electronic signature in ACCESS, 
• Application for Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs from the 
Federally-facilitated Marketplace 
• Telephonic signature in CARES 
• Electronic signature in CARES 
• Electronic signature in an account transfer from the Marketplace. 

  
The date the BadgerCare Plus paper or ACCESS application received by the IM agency 
with the applicant’s name, address and a valid signature (25.5) is the filing date . 
 Applications must be processed within 30 days of the filing date.  (See 25.7) 
  
For applications assessed as Medicaid eligible that were filed at the Marketplace and 
subsequently determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus or the Medicaid, the filing date for 
the BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid coverage will be the date the application was 
submitted to the Marketplace. Marketplace-referred applications must be processed 
within 30 days of the date the Marketplace application was received by the consortium 
or agency. For additional information about the filing date, see 25.6. 
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25.5 VALID SIGNATURE 

25.5.1 Witnessing the Signature 
25.5.2 Telephone Signature Requirements 
  
The applicant or the applicant's caretaker relative must sign (using his or her own 
signature): 
  

1. The paper application form, 
2. The signature page of the CAF (telephone or face to face) or 
3. The ACCESS application form with an electronic signature.   
4. The online or paper Application for Health Coverage & Help Paying Costs 
from the Federally-facilitated Marketplace. 

  
Except when: 
  

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10129.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10182.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10138.pdf
https://marketplace.cms.gov/applications-and-forms/marketplace-application-for-family.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.5hlf.htm
https://marketplace.cms.gov/applications-and-forms/marketplace-application-for-family.pdf
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1. A guardian signs for him or her.  When an application is submitted with a 
signature of someone claiming to be the applicant’s guardian, obtain a copy of 
the document that designates the signer of the application as the guardian.  From 
the documents provided, ensure that the individual claiming to be the applicant’s 
guardian can file an application on his or her behalf.  File the copy of the 
document in the case record. 

  
Your agency’s social services department determines the need for a guardian or 
conservator (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 19.0.0).  Determine the guardian type specified by 
the court. 

  
Only the person designated as the guardian of the estate (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 
19.2.0), guardian of the person and the estate, or guardian in general may sign 
the application.  You may not require a conservator (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 19.4.0) or 
guardian of the person (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 19.1.0) to sign the application. 
  
2. An authorized representative signs for the applicant. The applicant may 
authorize someone to represent him or her (IMM, Ch. I, Part A, 18.3.0). An 
authorized representative must be an individual, not an organization. 

  
If the applicant wishes to authorize someone to represent him or her when 
applying by mail, instruct him or her to complete the authorized representative 
section of the application form. 

  
If the applicant needs to appoint an authorized representative when applying by 
telephone or in person, instruct the applicant to complete the Authorization of 
Representative form (F-10126).   
  
An authorized representative is responsible for submitting the signed application 
(completed insofar as able) and any required documents. 

  
When appointing an authorized representative, someone other than the 
authorized representative must witness the applicant’s signature.  If the applicant 
signs with a mark, two witness signatures are required. 
  
When a Marketplace application is processed by the agency and an applicant has 
appointed an authorized representative in the application, the agency must honor 
this appointment of an authorized representative. 
  
3. The applicant’s durable power of attorney (§ 243.07, Wis. Stats.) signs the 
application.  A durable power of attorney is a person to whom the applicant has 
given power of attorney authority and agrees that the authority will continue even 
if the applicant later becomes disabled or otherwise incapacitated. 

  
When a submitted application is signed by someone claiming to be the applicant’s 
durable power of attorney: 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10126.pdf
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a. Obtain a copy of the document the applicant used to designate the 
signer of the application as the durable power of attorney. 

  
b. Review the document for a reference that indicates the power of 
attorney authority continues notwithstanding any subsequent disability or 
incapacity of the applicant. 

  
Do not consider the application properly signed unless both of these conditions 
are met.  File a copy of the document in the case record.  An individual's Durable 
Power of Attorney may appoint an authorized representative for purposes of 
making a BadgerCare Plus application, if authorized on the power of attorney 
form.  The Durable Power of Attorney form will specify what authority is granted.   

  
The appointment of a Durable Power of Attorney does not prevent an individual 
from filing his or her own application for BadgerCare Plus, nor does it prevent the 
individual from granting authority to someone else to apply for public assistance 
on his or her behalf. 

  
4. Someone acting responsibly for the individual signs the form on behalf of 
the individual, if the individual is incompetent or incapacitated. 

   
Example:  Carl is in a coma in the hospital.  Sherry, a nurse who works at the 
hospital, can apply for BadgerCare Plus on Carl’s behalf. 

 
 

5. A superintendent of a state mental health institution or center for the 
developmentally disabled signs on behalf of a patient.   

  
6. A warden signs the application for an applicant that is an inmate of a state 
correctional institution that is out for more than 24 hours . 
  
7. The director of a county social or human services department delegates, 
in writing (retain a copy of this written authorization), to the superintendent of the 
county psychiatric institution the authority to sign and witness an application for 
residents of the institution.   

  
The social or human services director may end the delegation when there’s 
reason to believe that the delegated authority is not being carried out properly. 

  

25.5.1 Witnessing the Signature 

The signatures of two witnesses are required when the application is signed with a 
mark. 
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An agency staff person is not required to witness the signature of a mail-in, online or 
telephone application. 
   
Note: This does not affect the State of Wisconsin’s ability to prosecute for fraud nor does it 
prevent the BadgerCare Plus program from recovering benefits provided incorrectly due to an 
applicant or member’s misstatement or omission of fact.  
   

25.5.2 Telephone Signature Requirements 

1. An audio recording of the following: 

• Key information provided by the household during the telephone interview; 
• Signature statement that includes: 

i. Rights and responsibilities; 
ii. Attestation to the accuracy and completeness of information provided; 
iii. Attestation to the identity of individual signing the application; 
iv. Release of information. 

 
 

2. Store the audio recording in the electronic case file (ECF). 

3. Send a written summary of the information provided during the interview.  Include 
a cover letter that outlines the applicant or member’s responsibility to review the 
information provided and notify the agency within ten calendar days if any errors 
are noted. 

4. Store a copy of the written summary and cover letter in the electronic case file 
(ECF). 

   
Note: Applications that are submitted through ACCESS or transferred from the Marketplace are 
signed electronically, so an additional signature (telephone or pen-and-paper) is not needed.  
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25.6 FILING DATE 
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For health care applications submitted to a local agency, the filing date is the day a 
signed, valid application or registration form is delivered to the IM agency. 
  
The filing date on an ACCESS application for health care is the date that the application 
is submitted electronically, regardless of the time of day it was submitted. The filing date 
on an application received from the Marketplace is the application date listed on the 
Marketplace application. 
  
When an application is submitted by mail or fax, record the date that the IM agency 
received the valid application form or the next business day if the application is received 
after the agency's regularly scheduled business hours. 
  
When a request for assistance is made by phone, the filing date is not set until a valid 
signature is received by the agency. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-01 
Release Date: 02/15/2016 
Effective Date: 02/15/2016 

View History 
  

25.7  TIME FRAMES 

25.7.1 Time Frames Introduction 

All applications received by an agency must be processed and eligibility approved or 
denied as soon as possible but no later than 30 calendar days from: 
  

• The filing date for applications submitted directly to the local tribal or consortium 
agency, 

OR 

• The date the local agency received the application(s) from the Marketplace. 

  
This includes issuing a notice of decision. 
  
IM workers should not delay eligibility for an individual in a household when waiting for 
another household member's citizenship or identity verification. The individual pending 
for citizenship/identity should be counted as part of the group when determining 
eligibility for other group members. (See  2.2) 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/27.7hlf.htm
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Extend the 30-day processing time up to an additional 10 days, if you are waiting for the 
applicant to provide additional information.   CARES will issue a pending notice 
indicating the reason for the delay when appropriate entries are made on the 
Verification Due Page. 
  
Deny the application for failure to provide information or verification, if: 
  

1. Requested information or verification is required by program policy to 
determine eligibility (Chapter 9), and 
  
2. The applicant had the power to produce the information or verification, 
within the period, but failed to do so, and 
  
3. The applicant had a minimum of 10 days to produce the verification.   

  
Example 1: A signed application was received on March 15th.  The worker 
processed the application on April 7th and requested verification.  Verification was 
due April 17th, but was not received by that date.  Even though the end of the 30-
day application processing period was April 13th, the application should not have 
been denied until April 18th to allow at least 10 days to provide verification. 

  
If the agency fails to take action (positive or negative) during the 30-day processing 
period, and the applicant is subsequently found eligible, determine eligibility using the 
original filing date. 

  
Example 2: A signed application was received on May 15th.  The first day of the 
30-day period was May 16th.  The end of the 30-day period would have been June 
14th.  The application was approved on June 20th, and the applicant is determined 
eligible beginning May 1st. 

  
Example 3: A signed application was submitted to the Marketplace on March 2nd. 
The Marketplace assessed the individual as potentially eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
and transferred the individual’s account to the agency on March 5th. The first day of 
the 30-day period for processing requirements was March 6th. The end of the 30-
day period would have been April 4th. The application was approved on March 
31st, and the applicant is determined eligible beginning March 1st. 

25.7.2 Changes 

Changes that occur between the filing date and the confirmation date should be used in 
the initial eligibility determination. 
  
For changes that occur after the confirmation date, follow the adequate and timely 
notice requirements outlined in the Income Maintenance Manual, Section 3.2 Adverse 
Action and Appeal Rights.   
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/imm/policyfiles/3/3-2.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/imm/policyfiles/3/3-2.htm


BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

247 
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25.8 BEGIN DATES 

25.8.1 Backdated Eligibility  
25.8.1.1 BadgerCare Plus Family Planning Only Services 
25.8.1.2 Pregnant Women 

   
BadgerCare Plus eligibility begins the first day of the month in which the valid application is 
submitted and all eligibility requirements are met, with the following exceptions.  Those begin 
dates are the date a valid application is submitted, all eligibility requirements are met, and: 
 
 

1. Deductible - The date the deductible was met. 
2. Inmates - The date the member is no longer an inmate of a public institution. See 

Section 3.6 for more information on exceptions. 
3. Newborn - The date the child was born.    
4. Person Adds - The date the person moved into the household. 
5. BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program - The first of the month in which a completed 

application is received and the pregnancy is verified. 

Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program will only be verified if the worker has information that contradicts 
the individual’s self-declaration. 

1. Recent Moves - The date the member moved to Wisconsin. 
2. Insurance Coverage ends with good cause - The begin date for BadgerCare Plus 

is the date following the coverage end date. 

25.8.1 Backdated Eligibility 

All pregnant women, except those eligible under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal program, may 
have their eligibility backdated to the first of the month, up to three calendar months prior to the 
month of application.  
   
All former foster care youth that meet the criteria in Chapter 11 may have their eligibility 
backdated to the first of the month, up to three calendar months prior to the month of application.  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/25/25.8hfl.htm
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All disabled adults may have their eligibility backdated to the first of the month, up to three 
calendar months prior to the month of application.  
   
Children determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus are eligible for the following periods of 
backdated eligibility: 

• Infants less than 1 year old may have their eligibility backdated up to the 
first of the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any 
of the months in which their family income was at or below 300% FPL (under 
non-MAGI rules) OR at or below 306% FPL (under MAGI rules), 
• Children ages 1 through 5 may have their eligibility backdated up to the 
first of the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any 
of the months in which their family income was at or below 185% FPL (under 
non-MAGI rules) OR at or below 191% FPL (under MAGI rules), and 
• Children ages 6 through 18 may have their eligibility backdated up to the 
first of the month, three calendar months prior to the month of application for any 
of the months in which their family income was at or below 150% FPL prior to 
December 31, 2013 (under non-MAGI rules) OR at or below 156% FPL (under 
MAGI rules). 

  
All non-pregnant, non-disabled parents and caretakers may have their eligibility 
backdated up to the first of the month, three calendar months prior to the month of 
application for any of the months in which their family income was: 

• At or below 133% FPL, for new applications submitted prior to February 1, 
2014 

OR 
• At or below 100% FPL, for new applications submitted after February 1, 
2014. 

   
Childless adults with assistance group income under 100% FPL will be eligible for backdating 
beginning in 2014. However, retroactive coverage cannot begin prior to April 1, 2014. As a 
result, a childless adult could not be eligible for the full three calendar months period of 
backdating until July 1, 2014.  
   
If certifying for retroactive BadgerCare Plus, do not go back further than the first of the month, 
three months prior to the application month.  Certify the person for any backdate month in which 
he or she would have been eligible had he or she applied in that month.  In the case of children, 
certify the person for any backdate month in which he or she would have been eligible had he or 
she applied in that month and in which their assistance group income was at or below the 
appropriate FPL level for their age group.  
   
A backdate request can be made at any time, except in the case where the member is already 
enrolled and backdating the member’s eligibility would result in a deductible for the backdated 
period.  
   
If a member has incurred a bill from a BadgerCare Plus certified provider during a backdate 
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period, instruct the member to contact the provider to inform them to bill BadgerCare Plus.  The 
member may be eligible to receive a refund, up to the amount already paid to the provider. 

Example 1:  Mary who is pregnant with an August due date, applied for BadgerCare Plus 
on April 6th, and was found eligible.  At the time of application, Mary did not request a 
backdate.    
   
In September Mary is billed for a doctor’s appointment she had at the end of February. 
 Mary can ask to have her eligibility backdated through February.  She meets all non-
financial and financial eligibility criteria in the months of February and March.  Her worker 
certifies her for BadgerCare Plus for both months. 

   
Example 2:  Jess applied for BadgerCare Plus on May 2, 2014 and was found eligible as a 
childless adult, with coverage beginning May 1, 2014. At the time of application, Jess 
requested three months of backdated coverage, through February 1, 2014. Because Jess is 
eligible as a childless adult and coverage cannot be backdated for childless adults prior to 
April 1, 2014, Jess will only receive backdated coverage in April 2014. 

25.8.1.1 BadgerCare Plus Family Planning Services   

Eligibility for FPOS begins on the first of the month of application, if all non-financial (40.4) 
and financial (40.5) eligibility requirements are met.  FPOS may be backdated up to three 
months from the month of application.  

25.8.1.2 Pregnant Women 

Except those women eligible only under the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program, backdate a 
pregnant woman to whichever is more recent: 
 
 

1. The first of the month in which the pregnancy began. 

 
 

2. The first of the month, three months prior to the month of application.  If a woman 
was pregnant before the date of her application, backdate her BadgerCare Plus 
even though she is not pregnant on the date of application.  Do not, however, 
continue her eligibility as a pregnant woman beyond the end of the pregnancy. 
 Before backdating her BadgerCare Plus, verify that she has met all the eligibility 
requirements during the backdated period. 

   
See (41.5) for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal eligibility begin date policy.  
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25.9 Denials and Terminations 

25.9.1 Termination 
25.9.2 Denial 

25.9.1 Termination 

If less than a calendar month has passed since a member’s enrollment has been 
terminated, the applicant can provide the necessary information to reopen BadgerCare 
Plus without filing a new application . 
  
If more than a calendar month has passed since a member’s enrollment was 
terminated, the applicant must file a new application to reopen his or her BadgerCare 
Plus. 
  
Starting with renewals due March 31, 2014, if a case is determined under MAGI rules 
and is closed at renewal due to failure to complete the renewal, including providing 
verification for that renewal, the individual can be reopened for BadgerCare Plus without 
filing a new application if he or she provides the necessary information within 90 days of 
the renewal date. 

25.9.2 Denial 

If less than 30 days has passed since the client's eligibility was denied, allow the client 
to re-sign and date the application or page one of the CAF to set a new filing date . 
  
If more than 30 days has passed since a client's eligibility was denied and the client is 
not open for any other program, the client must file a new application to reopen his or 
her Medicaid. 
  
If the client is open for any other program of assistance, do not require him or her to re-
sign his or her application or sign a new application. 
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26 Renewal 

View History 

26.1 RENEWALS 

26.1.1 Renewals Introduction  
26.1.2 Three-Month Late Renewals  

26.1.2.1 Verification Requirements for Late Renewals 
26.1.2.2 Gaps in Coverage 

26.1.3 Administrative Renewals  

26.1.1 Renewals Introduction 

A renewal is the process during which you reexamine all eligibility factors subject to change and 
decide if eligibility continues. The group’s continued eligibility depends on its timely completion 
of a renewal. Each renewal results in a determination to continue or discontinue eligibility.  
   
The first required eligibility renewal for a BadgerCare Plus case is 12 months from the 
certification month, except for: 
 

1. CENS - The renewal date is 12 months from the date of birth. 
  

2. Pregnant women -The renewal date is two calendar months after the date the 
pregnancy ends. 
  

Note: Women in the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program lose eligibility on the date 
the pregnancy ends.  However, they are automatically eligible for emergency 
services for two months after eligibility for BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
ends (Chapter 41.6). 

3. Deductibles -  A renewal is not scheduled for a case that did not meet its 
deductible , unless someone in the case was open for BadgerCare Plus.  For 
cases that did meet the deductible, the renewal date is six months from the start 
of the deductible period. 

   
Note: For manually certified BadgerCare Plus cases, make sure the member receives a timely 
notice of when the renewal is due.  
   
Agency Option 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/26/26.1hlf.htm
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For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules, the agency may review 
any case at any other time when the agency can justify the need. Examples include: 
 

•  Loss of contact 
•  Member request 

   
Note: Shortening certification periods in an attempt to balance agency workload is not 
permissible.  
   
BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined using MAGI rules are 
required to complete a renewal no earlier or no later than 12 months from their 
certification period. Individuals whose benefits are time-limited, such as CENs or 
pregnant women, will not be required to do a renewal at the end of their time limited 
benefit if the individual is on a case with other open BadgerCare Plus assistance 
groups. 
  
Once individuals’ BadgerCare Plus eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, workers 
can complete an early renewal only if the member requests an early renewal. Once the 
member requests an early renewal, the renewal must be completed. 

26.1.2 Three-Month Late Renewals 

26.1.2.1 Verification Requirements for Late Renewals 
26.1.2.2 Gaps in Coverage 
  

Most health care renewals received within three months of the renewal month can be 
processed as a late renewal instead of requiring a new application. This policy applies 
to the following subprograms: 
  

• BadgerCare Plus. 
• Family Planning Only Services (FPOS). 
• Elderly, Blind or Disabled Medicaid (EBD MA). 
• Home and Community Based Waivers (HCBW). 
• Institutional Medicaid. 
• Medicaid Purchase Plan (MAPP). 
• Medicare Savings Programs (QMB/SMLB/SLMB+/QDWI). 

  
The policy applies to members receiving health care benefits based on a met 
deductible, but not to members with an unmet deductible. 
  
Late renewals are only permitted for individuals whose eligibility has ended because of 
lack of renewal, and not for other reasons. Members whose health care benefits are 
closed for more than three months because of lack of renewal must reapply. 
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Agencies should consider late submission of an online or paper renewal form, or a late 
renewal request by phone or in person, to be a valid request for health care. The new 
certification period should be set based on the receipt date of the signed renewal. If 
verification is required during the completion of a late renewal, the member will have 10 
days to provide it. 
  

Example 1: Jenny’s renewal is due on January 31, 2015. She submits an online 
renewal via ACCESS on March 15, 2015. If the renewal is processed on the same 
day, and verification is requested, the verification will be due on March 25, 2015. If 
she provides verification on or before this due date and meets all other eligibility 
criteria for BadgerCare Plus, her eligibility and certification period will start on March 
1, 2015. Her next renewal will be due February 28, 2016. 

  
Note: The three-month period starts from the month the renewal was due. It does not 
restart when a late renewal has been submitted. If Jenny submits her renewal on March 
15 but does not provide verification until May, she will need to reapply after the three-
month period that started with her January renewal date. 
  

26.1.2.1 Verification Requirements for Late Renewals 

If the BadgerCare Plus renewal was completed timely, but requested verifications were 
not provided as part of the renewal, BadgerCare Plus can reopen without a new 
application if these verifications are submitted within three months of the renewal 
month. The submission of the renewal-related verifications is considered a request for 
health care. Only the missing verifications must be provided. However, the verifications 
must include information for the current month of eligibility. If verification is submitted for 
a past month, a new Verification Checklist (VCL) must be generated to request the 
current verification, allowing 10 days to submit the verification. 
  
For EBD Medicaid, the member must provide the missing verification and verify assets 
for the current month if there was a gap in coverage. 
  

Example 2: Jenny’s renewal is due on January 31, 2015. She completes her 
renewal on January 20, 2015, and a VCL is generated requesting income 
verification for the 30 days prior to January 20. Jenny does not submit the 
requested verification, and her BadgerCare Plus eligibility is terminated as of 
January 31, 2015. On April 27, 2015, she submits her paystubs for April 10 and 
April 24. If she meets the eligibility criteria for BadgerCare Plus, her certification 
period will start on April 1, 2015, and her next renewal will be due March 31, 2016. 
If she had submitted the verification of her income for January, a new VCL should 
be generated asking for verification of her current income for April. 

26.1.2.2 Gaps in Coverage 
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If a member has a gap in coverage because of his or her late renewal, he or she may 
request coverage of the past months in which the gap occurred. Backdated coverage 
under the late renewal policy is available to all BadgerCare Plus members who meet 
program rules, including children who would not otherwise qualify for backdated 
coverage because their income is too high (see Chapter 25.8.1). However, this does not 
change the rules for backdating at application. 
  
If a member requests coverage for past months during a late renewal, he or she must 
provide all necessary information and verifications for those months (including 
verification of income for all months requested) and must pay any required premiums to 
be covered for those months. 

26.1.3 Administrative Renewals 

Administrative Renewals through December 31, 2013  
An administrative renewal is an extension of program eligibility for certain low-risk cases based 
on the information in CARES as of the month prior to the renewal month. Cases selected for 
administrative renewal are cases that are highly unlikely to lose eligibility at renewal due to 
increases in income or assets.  
   
The extension of program eligibility under an administrative renewal is based on the information 
in CWW as of the month prior to the month a full renewal would otherwise have been due. An 
administrative renewal case will not receive an eligibility renewal notice and is not required to 
provide the IM agency with any additional information in order to have program eligibility 
continued.  
   
Administrative renewal cases remain subject to change reporting requirements. The 
administrative renewal notice identifies program specific change reporting requirements, as well 
as the potential consequences for not reporting changes timely. Changes reported for a case that 
has undergone an administrative renewal should be processed under existing policy.  
   
BadgerCare Plus cases selected for administrative renewal must meet all the following criteria: 
 
 

• No child in household turning 18 in current or next month 
• Countable income at or below 75% FPL 
• No premium 
• No open FoodShare, Child Care or W-2 

   
Through December 31, 2013, Family Planning Only Services (FPOS) cases selected for 
administrative renewal must meet all the following criteria:  
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• No child in household turning 18 in current or next month 
• Countable income of individuals age 18 and older at or below 275% FPL 

   
Open for Multiple Programs 
If the case is open for MSP and BadgerCare Plus (BCP) or FPOS, the case may be selected for 
administrative renewal if the BCP/FPOS renewal is due and the case meets all the selection 
criteria listed above. If the MSP renewal is due but not the BCP/FPOS renewal, or the case does 
not meet all the selection criteria listed above, the case will not be selected for administrative 
renewal.  
   
Continuous Eligibility 
To be selected for an administrative renewal, the case must be open and currently eligible with 
continuous program eligibility for at least the twelve month period prior to the month in which 
the case is being considered for an administrative renewal. Additionally, the case must have had 
at least one full regular renewal.  
   
Alternate Years 
Cases will not be selected for administrative renewal if the last renewal requirement was met 
through an administrative renewal. Administrative renewals will be done every other year. The 
exceptions to this rule are: 
 

• HCBW or MLTC members who are Group A due to their eligibility for SSI or 
1619b. 

• Family Planning Only Services cases where the only eligible case member is 
under 18 and will not turn age 18 in the current or next month. 

   
Persons meeting these criteria may be selected for administrative renewal annually as long as the 
detailed selection criteria are met.  
   
Schedule 
Administrative renewal case selection will occur prior to sending the regular renewal notices. 
Any cases not selected for an administrative renewal will be sent the regular renewal notice.  
   
Renewal Mode 
Cases in renewal mode will not be selected for administrative renewal.  
   
CARES 
CWW will automatically: 
 

• Select cases subject to administrative renewal, 
• Determine the continued eligibility, and 
• Notify the member of the administrative renewal and eligibility determination. 
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Worker intervention is not necessary to complete the administrative renewal process.  
Cases selected for Administrative Renewal will run through a batch eligibility process. Cases 
that have a pending or fail status after running through the batch eligibility process will not 
continue through the Administrative Renewal process and will be set for regular renewal.  
   
Cases that are passing after eligibility batch run will go through the administrative renewal 
confirmation process.  
   
During the confirmation process: 
 

• Case level renewal dates are set. 
• A case comment is added indicating that the case has gone through an 

Administrative Renewal. 
• The Application/Review Interview Details page will display 'Admin Renewal’. 
• The Notice of Decision process is triggered and will generate an administrative 

renewal letter. The letter will be stored in the ECF. 
• The Enrollment and Benefit brochure is sent to the customer. 

   
Administrative Renewals Effective January 1, 2014  
Effective January 1, 2014, administrative renewals will be suspended for BadgerCare Plus and 
FPOS cases.  
   
   

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
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26.2 Choice of REnewal 

The member has the choice of the following methods for any BC + renewal: 
 
 

1. Face-to-Face Interview. 
2. Mail-In (paper application or pre-printed renewal packet). 
3. Telephone Interview. 
4. ACCESS ( https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/ ) 
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26.3 Renewal Processing 

A BadgerCare Plus eligibility renewal notice is generated in the 2nd week of the 11th 
month of the certification period. Do not schedule a renewal until after adverse action in 
the month prior to the month of renewal.   
  

Example 1: CARES sends out the renewal letter the 2nd week of July for a review 
due in August. Do not schedule the renewal for a date prior to adverse action in 
July. 

  
Do not require a new Authorized Representative form at renewal, if the person signing 
the renewal is the Authorized Representative on file. If the renewal is not completed by 
the end of the certification period, the case will close. The closure notice is generated 
through CARES, at adverse action in the renewal month.   
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27.1 CHANGES REPORTED DURING THE APPLICATION 
PROCESSING PERIOD 

For applications, changes that occur between the filing date and confirmation date must 
be reported and considered in the eligibility determination. Changes that are reported 
after certification must be acted on in the same manner as any other reported change. 
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27.2 NON- FINANCIAL CHANGE REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 
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BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules must 
report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after occurrence: 
  

• Address 
• Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the 
pregnancy of a BadgerCare Plus member 
• Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.) 
• Change in marital status 

  
BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules must 
report the following non-financial changes within 10 days after occurrence: 
  

• Address 
• Household composition, including pregnancy and changes to the 
pregnancy of a BadgerCare Plus member 
• Living arrangement (e.g. institutionalization, incarceration, etc.) 
• Change in marital status 
• Change in insurance coverage 
• Change in expected tax filing status 
• Change in tax dependents 
• No longer receiving a tax-related deduction 
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27.3 INCOME CHANGE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules must 
report income changes when their total monthly gross income exceeds the following 
percentages of the FPL for their group size.   
  

• 100% FPL 
• 133% FPL 
• 150% FPL 
• 185% FPL 
• 200% FPL 
• 250% FPL 
• 300% FPL 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/27/27.3hlf.htm
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• 350% FPL 
• 400% FPL 

  
BadgerCare Plus members whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules, income 
changes must be reported when the total monthly income of the assistance group with 
the highest monthly income amount exceeds the following FPL percentages for their 
assistance group size: 

• 100% FPL 
• 133% FPL 
• 156% FPL 
• 191% FPL 
• 200% FPL 
• 250% FPL 
• 306% FPL 
• 350% FPL 
• 400% FPL 

  
The income change must be reported by the 10th of the month following the month in 
which the total income exceeded its previous threshold. 
  
Adults in a BadgerCare Plus Extension who are required to pay a premium must also 
report and verify income changes during the extension certification period. Eligibility for 
adult members who would be required to pay premiums will be terminated for failure to 
submit requested verification. Effective April 1, 2014, all non-exempt parents and 
caretakers in BadgerCare Plus Extensions will be required to pay a premium. However, 
parents and caretakers with income between 100 and 133% FPL will not be subject to 
premiums until the seventh calendar month of their extension. 
  
The CARES notice will indicate the dollar amount associated with each FPL level, for 
the BadgerCare Plus group size. 
  

Example 1: Sally’s countable family income has been at 80% of the FPL since she 
applied in January.  In June her income increased to 107%, so she must report the 
change by July 10th. 

  
Example 2: Heidi’s countable family income is 128% of the FPL.  In September it 
increased to 164% of the FPL.  Heidi must report this change by October 10th. 

  
Example 3: Steve’s countable family income is 265% of the FPL.  In December it 
increased to 411% of the FPL.  Steve must report this change by January 10th. 
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Effective Date: 02/01/14 
View History 

27.4 OTHER REPORTED CHANGES 

Any other change that is reported or becomes known to the agency (i.e., through data 
exchange) must be acted upon. 
  
  
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 07-01 
Release Date: 10/29/07 
Effective Date: 02/01/08 

View History 

27.5 CHANGE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR 
BADGERCARE PLUS FAMILY PLANNING ONLY SERVICES 
MEMBERS: 

There are only two changes that BadgerCare Plus Family Planning Only Services 
members need to report during the certification period: 
  

• Address or 
• Living arrangement (e.g. incarceration, institutionalization) 

  
These changes must be reported within ten days of occurrence. 
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27.6 CHANGE REPORTING METHODS 

Members can report changes using one of the following methods: 

• ACCESS 
• Mail or fax the Information Change Report (F-10183) 
• Call their agency 
• Go to their agency 
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28 Corrective Action 
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28.1 OVERPAYMENTS 

An “overpayment” occurs when BadgerCare Plus benefits are paid for someone who 
was not eligible for them or when BadgerCare Plus premium calculations are incorrect. 
The amount of recovery may not exceed the amount of the BadgerCare Plus benefits 
incorrectly provided. Some examples of how overpayments occur are: 
  

1. Concealing or not reporting income. 
2. Failure to report a change in income. 
3. Providing misinformation at the time of application regarding any 
information that would affect eligibility. 

  
Note: Overpayments can only be recovered if the member failed to report a change for 
which they were notified they were required to report. 
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28.2 RECOVERABLE OVERPAYMENTS 

Initiate recovery for a BadgerCare Plus overpayment, if the incorrect payment resulted 
from one of the following: 
  

1. Applicant/Member Error 
  

Applicant/Member error exists when an applicant, member or any other person 
responsible for giving information on the member’s behalf unintentionally 
misstates (financial or non-financial) facts, which results in the member receiving a 
benefit that he or she is not entitled to or more benefits than he or she is entitled 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/28/28.1hlf.htm
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to.  Failure to report non-financial facts that impact eligibility or cost share amounts 
is a recoverable overpayment. 

  
Applicant/Member error occurs when there is a: 

  
a. Misstatement or omission of facts by a member, or any other 
person responsible for giving information on the member’s behalf at a 
BC + application or review. 

or 
b. Failure on the part of the member, or any person responsible 
for giving information on the member’s behalf, to report required 
changes in financial (27.3) (income, expenses, etc.) or non-financial 
(27.2) information that affects eligibility, premium, patient liability or 
cost share amounts. 

  
An overpayment occurs if the change would have adversely affected eligibility, the 
benefit plan or the premium amount. 
  

Example 1: Joe and his family were determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus with a 
$100.00 total group premium in July.  In November, Joe’s worker learned that Joe 
had received a raise September 1st that Joe was required to report by October 
10th.  The amount of the new family income increased the premium amount to 
$130.00.  The worker entered the new income in CARES and confirmed the 
increase in the premium amount for December. 
  
What can now be recovered? 
  
Because Joe did not report the increase in income to his worker, the premium 
amount for November is incorrect.  The overpayment amount would be the 
difference between the correct premium for November and the premium amount 
that was paid. 

  
Example 2: Sally was determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan in 
January.  In May, the worker discovered that at application Sally had not reported 
the income from a part time job.  The unreported income would have put Sally into 
the Benchmark Plan with a $30.00 premium.  The worker entered the income in 
CARES and confirmed the premium and the change from the Standard plan to the 
Benchmark plan effective June 1st. 
  
What can now be recovered? 
  
The overpayment for the months of January through May is the $30.00 per month 
premium amount plus the difference in the co-pays and deductible amounts for 
services that she should have paid under the Benchmark plan. 

  
Example 3: John and his family were determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus in 
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June.  John accepted a new job in South Carolina and the family moved out of state 
on July 20th.  Since they were no longer residents of Wisconsin, they were no 
longer eligible for BadgerCare Plus.  However, because their move to South 
Carolina was not reported, capitation payments continued to be made for John and 
his family until the worker closed the case effective December 31st. 
  
What can now be recovered? 
  
Giving 10 days to report and following AA logic, the case would have closed August 
31.  Fee-For-Service claims and/or HMO capitation payments for September, 
October, November and December are recoverable. 

  
Example 4: Susan was determined eligible for BadgerCare Plus in January.  She 
was pregnant with a due date of August 15th.  On February 3rd, she miscarried but 
did not report this change to her worker.  Her BadgerCare Plus eligibility continued 
until the worker closed the case effective October 31st.  Once she was no longer 
pregnant, she would only have remained eligible for an additional 60 days after the 
last day of pregnancy through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs. 
 Susan was not eligible for the months May through October. 
  
What can now be recovered? 
  
The change should have been reported in February.  Allowing for the 2 month 
extension, BadgerCare Plus should have closed April 30.  The overpayment 
amount is the amount of the Fee-For-Service claims and the capitation payment 
made for her from May through October. 

  
2. Fraud 

  
Fraud is also known as Intentional Program Violation (IPV). 

  
Fraud exists when an applicant, member or any other person responsible for 
giving information on the member's behalf does any of the following: 

  
1. Intentionally makes or causes to be made a false statement or 
representation of fact in an application for a benefit or payment. 
  
2. Intentionally makes or causes to be made a false statement or 
representation of a fact for use in determining rights to benefits or 
payments. 

  
3. Having knowledge of an event affecting initial or continued right to a 
benefit or payment and intentionally failing to disclose such event. 

  
4. Having made application to receive a benefit or payment and 
intentionally uses any or all of the benefit or payment for something other 
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than the intended use and benefit of such persons listed on the 
application. 

  
If there is a suspicion that fraud has occurred, see 28.6 for information about 
referral to the District Attorney (DA). 

  
3. Member Loss of an Appeal 
  

Benefits a member receives as a result of a fair hearing request order can be 
recovered, if the member loses the appeal. 

  
A member may choose to continue to receive benefits pending an appeal 
decision.  If the appeal decision is that the member was ineligible, the benefits 
received while awaiting the decision can be recovered.  If an appeal results in an 
increased patient liability, cost share,or premium, recover the difference between 
the initial amount and the new amount. 
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28.3 NON-RECOVERABLE OVERPAYMENTS 

Do not initiate recovery for a BadgerCare Plus overpayment if it resulted from a non-
member error, including the following situations: 
  

1. The member reported the change timely, but the case could not be closed 
or the benefit reduced due to the 10-day notice requirement. 
2. Agency error (keying error, math error, failure to act on a reported change, 
etc). 
3. Normal prospective budgeting projections based on best available 
information. 

  
Example: Susan and her daughter Kathy are open for BadgerCare Plus. Susan 
reported a change in income on April 1st. The worker did not process the change 
until April 28th, so it was not effective until June 1st. There is no overpayment for 
May since the change was reported timely, but not acted on by the worker until after 
adverse action. 
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28.4 OVERPAYMENT CALCULATION 

28.4.1 Overpayment Period 

Misstatement or Omission of Fact 
  
If the overpayment is a result of a misstatement or omission of fact during an initial 
BadgerCare Plus application or review, determine the period for which the benefits were 
determined incorrectly and determine the appropriate overpayment amount (28.4.2). 
  
Failure to Report 
  
For ineligible cases, if the overpayment is a result of failure to report a required change, 
calculate the date the change should have been reported and which month the case 
would have closed or been adversely affected if the change had been reported timely. 
  
Fraud/IPV 
  
For ineligible cases, if the overpayment was the result of fraud, determine the date the 
fraudulent act occurred.  The period of ineligibility should begin the date the case would 
have closed or been adversely affected allowing for proper notice.  If an overpayment 
exists, but the case is still being investigated for fraud, establish the claim so collection 
can begin promptly.  Prosecution should not delay recovery of a claim. 
  
The ineligible period should begin with the application month. 

28.4.2 Overpayment Amount 

Use the actual income that was reported or required to be reported in determining if an 
overpayment has occurred. The amount of recovery may not exceed the amount of the 
BadgerCare Plus benefits incorrectly provided. 
  
If the case was ineligible for BadgerCare Plus, recover the amount of medical claims 
paid by the state and/or the capitation rate.  Use the ForwardHealth interChange data 
from the Total Benefits Paid by Medicaid Report(s). Deduct any amount paid in 
premiums (for each month in which an overpayment occurred) from the overpayment 
amount. 
  
If the case is still eligible for BadgerCare Plus for the time frame in question, but there 
was an increase in the premium, recover the difference between the premiums paid and 
the amount owed for each month in question. To determine the difference, determine 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/28/28.4hlf.htm


28.4 Overpayment Calculation 

266 

the premium amount owed and view the premium amount paid on CARES screen 
AGPT. 
  
The overpayment amount is the difference between the premium paid and premium 
owed even if the premium that was paid was $0. 
  

Example:  Tom and his family became eligible for BadgerCare Plus in June 2008, 
without a premium.  In his application Tom failed to disclose income from a second 
job which would have resulted in $100 per month group premium.  All individuals in 
the group remained eligible for BadgerCare Plus.  This new information was 
discovered in July 2008. 
  
Overpayment Calculation 
   $100 premium owed for June 
+ $100 premium owed for July 
    $200 Total premium owed 
-     $ 0  premium paid 
     $200 Overpayment 

  
If the unreported information would have placed the individual in the Benchmark plan 
instead of the Standard plan, the overpayment amount would be the difference in the 
co-pays and deductibles for the services provided. 
  
If a member error increases a deductible amount before the deductible is met, there is 
no overpayment.  Recalculate eligibility and notify the member of the new deductible 
amount. 
  
If the member met the incorrect deductible and BadgerCare Plus paid for services after 
the deductible had been met, there is an overpayment.  Recover the difference between 
the correct deductible amount and the previous deductible amount or the amount of 
claims over the six month period (whichever is less). 
  
If the member was ineligible for the deductible, determine the overpayment amount.  If 
the member prepaid his or her deductible, deduct any amount he or she paid toward the 
deductible from the overpayment amount. 

28.4.3 Overpayments for Individuals Eligible for Family Planning Only 
Services 

If an individual or case was ineligible for Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus but would have 
been eligible for FPOS , the calculation of the BC +overpayment amount is as follows: 
  

1. If the incorrect/overpaid FPOS costs were “fee for service” medical claims 
paid by the state, recover the amount of benefits that were actually paid by the 
state minus any BadgerCare Plus premiums which the member may have paid 
and the amount of any actual FPOS services that were provided. 
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2. If the incorrect /overpaid BadgerCare Plus benefits were paid by an HMO, 
recover the HMO capitation rate paid by the state minus any premiums which the 
member may have paid and the “average” monthly cost of the FPOS. 

28.4 4 Determining Liable Individual 

Except for minors, collect overpayments from the BadgerCare Plus member, even if the 
member has authorized a representative to complete the application or review for him or 
her. 
  
If a minor received BadgerCare Plus in error, make the claim against the minor’s 
parent(s) or legally responsible relative, if the parent or legally responsible relative was 
living with the minor at the time of the overpayment. 
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28.5 MEMBER NOTICE 

Notify the member or the member’s representative of the period of ineligibility, the 
reason for his or her ineligibility, the amounts incorrectly paid, and request arrangement 
of repayment within a specified period of time. 
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28.6 REFER TO DISTRICT ATTORNEY 

See IMM Chapter 11 Program Fraud Overview for referral criteria when fraud is 
suspected. The agency may refer the case to the Department of Health Services (DHS) 
Office of the Inspector General (OIG) where fraudulent activity by the member is 
suspected.  If the investigation reveals a member may have committed fraud, refer the 
case to the district attorney, corporation counsel for investigation, or OIG. The district 
attorney or corporation counsel may prosecute for fraud under civil liability statutes. The 
agency may seek recovery through an order for restitution by the court of jurisdiction in 
which the member or former member is being prosecuted for fraud. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/28/28.5hlf.htm
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28.7 FAIR HEARING 

The IM agency’s decision concerning ineligibility and amounts owed may be appealed 
through a fair hearing.  During the appeal process the agency may take no further 
recovery actions pending a decision.   
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28.8 AGENCY RETENTION 

The IM agency can retain 15 percent of the payments recovered (see Income 
Maintenance Manual Section 13.8 Local Agency Retention Portion of Claims). 
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28.9 RESTORATION OF BENEFITS 

  
If it is determined that a member’s benefits have been incorrectly denied or terminated, restore 
his or her BadgerCare Plus from the date of the incorrect denial or termination through the time 
period that he or she would have remained eligible.  
   
If the member was incorrectly denied or terminated for BadgerCare Plus with a premium 
obligation, allow the member to pick which months he or she would like to receive benefits. 
 Collect all premiums owed for those prior months before certifying the member for the months 
he or she chose.  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/28/28.7hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/28/28.8hlf.htm
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BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

269 

   
If a member already paid for a BadgerCare Plus covered service, inform the member that he or 
she will need to contact his or her provider to bill BadgerCare Plus for services provided during 
that time.  A BadgerCare Plus provider must refund the amount that BadgerCare Plus will 
reimburse for the service.  The provider may choose to refund up to the full amount billed to the 
member, but that decision is entirely optional.  

28.9.1 Premiums 

If it is determined that a premium amount was incorrectly calculated for BadgerCare Plus and 
would result in a refund for the member, determine the correct premium amount for each month 
in which it was incorrect and report the error to the fiscal agent's BadgerCare Plus Unit.  The 
fiscal agent will refund the amount of the premium the member overpaid.  The report can be 
made either by: 
 
 

1. Telephone:  1 (888) 907-4455 or 
2. Fax: (608) 251-1513 

   
When submitting a fax, write "Attn: BadgerCare Plus Premium Refunds”.  
   
When reporting the refund to the BadgerCare Plus Unit, include the: 
 
 

1. The member’s Social Security Number. 
2. Months for which a refund needs to be issued. 
3. New premium amount. 
4. Old premium amount. 

   
Indicate whether there is a hardship situation that requires the refund to be processed more 
quickly.  
   
Occasionally, a BadgerCare Plus member is certified for retroactive Katie Beckett or SSI 
eligibility for a period of time in which they were also certified for BadgerCare Plus.  If the 
BadgerCare Plus member paid a premium during this time frame, they are entitled to a refund of 
any BadgerCare Plus premiums that they paid during the retroactive Katie Beckett or SSI 
certification period .  
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29 Notices and Fair Hearings 

View History 

29.1 NOTICES 

A notice must be either mailed or sent electronically at least 10 days prior to a negative 
action, such as a termination of benefits or an increase in premium. 
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29.2 FAIR HEARINGS 

Members have the right to a fair hearing, timely case decisions, and accurate notices of 
decision. See Chapter 3 of the IMM for specifics. 
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30.1 AFFIRMATIVE ACTION AND CIVIL RIGHTS 

The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, requires a person with impaired sensory, manual or 
speaking skills have an opportunity to participate in programs equivalent to those 
afforded non-disabled persons. 
  
Assistance must be provided to all BadgerCare Plus members to assure effective 
communication.  This includes certified interpreters for deaf persons and translators for 
non-English speaking persons. See the Wisconsin BadgerCare Plus Enrollment  and 
Benefits brochure (P-00079). 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/29/29.1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/29/29.2hlf.htm
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The Civil Rights Act of 1964 requires that applicants for public assistance have an equal 
opportunity to participate regardless of race, color, or national origin. 
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31.1 INTERAGENCY TRANSFER 

A case transfer occurs when the primary person receiving benefits from a county or 
tribal Income Maintenance agency for a particular month, applies for aid from another 
Income Maintenance agency for the same or next month. The primary person must be a 
member of a currently open BadgerCare Plus, Child Care, EBD Medicaid, Food Share, 
or W2 Assistance Group or one that has been closed for less than a calendar month. 
  
The agency to which the member reports the move must collect information about the 
changes, for example, the new address. If the agency does not have sufficient 
information about the changed circumstances, it must request information from the 
member, according to the BadgerCare Plus verification policy (Chapter 9). 
  
The renewal date will remain the same after case transfer. 
  
Do not require a renewal or new application for case transfers, except in the following 
programs: 
  

• Community Waivers (EBD-MEH Chapter 28.1) 
• Family Care (EBD-MEH Chapter 29.1) 
• Deductible Met (EBD-MEH Chapter 24.2) 

  
See 6.1 of the Process Help for information on how to process case transfers. 
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32.1 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE) FOR CHILDREN 

32.1.1 Eligible Children for PE 
32.1.2 Qualified Entities 
  
Note: Wisconsin’s presumptive eligibility programs are known by multiple terms: Express 
Enrollment, Temporary Enrollment, and Presumptive Eligibility. Express Enrollment (EE) is the 
online application in ACCESS for making PE determinations. Presumptive Eligibility (PE) is 
the determination of whether an applicant is eligible to temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus 
(BadgerCare Plus) or Family Planning Only Services (FPOS). Temporary Enrollment (TE) is 
when an applicant has been found eligible to temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus or FPOS. 
All such policy in this handbook will be collectively referred to as Presumptive Eligibility.  

32.1.1 Eligible Children for PE 

Children can be presumptively eligible for BadgerCare Plus if they meet the following financial 
and non-financial criteria: 
    

1. Under age 19 (Minors under age 18 must apply with a parent/guardian) 
2. A U.S. citizen or lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for the 

amount of time the person is lawfully present in the US) and 
3. Through January 31, 2014: 

1.  
• If the child is younger than age 1, the family’s gross income must 
be at or below 300% of the Federal Poverty Level. 
• If the child is age 1 through 5, the family’s gross income must be at 
or below 185 % of the Federal Poverty Level. 
• If the child is age 6 through 18, the family’s gross income must be 
at or below 150 % of the Federal Poverty Level. 

  
4. Effective February 1, 2014 

• If the child is younger than age 1, the child’s assistance group's 
(AGs) income must be at or below 306% of the Federal Poverty Level 
(FPL). 
• If the child is age 1 through 5, the child’s AGs income must be at or 
below 191 % of the FPL. 
• If the child is age 6 through 18, the child’s AGs income must be at 
or below 156% of the FPL. 

  
Note: See section 16.1.2 for additional information on MAGI income disregards. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/32/32.1hlf.htm
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PE can begin on the day on which a qualified entity determines that the child meets the 
criteria listed above by completing an application for a PE determination through 
ACCESS for Partners and Providers (APP). 
  
A child is allowed to have only one period of PE in a 12 month period. 

32.1.2 Qualified Entities 

Qualified entities that can be certified by ForwardHealth to temporarily enroll children in 
BadgerCare Plus through the Express Enrollment program include: 
  

1. Medicaid (MA) Providers. 
2. Head Start (HS) programs. 
3. Authorized Child Care (CC) providers.   
4. WIC agencies. 
5. Faith-based organizations such as the YMCA. 
6. Certain Community-based organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club. 
7. Authorized agencies offering emergency food and shelter. 
8. Elementary and secondary schools. 
9. Qualified Hospitals 
10. Any other entity the state so deems as approved by the Secretary. 

    
Once certified by the fiscal agent to enroll children through the presumptive eligibility 
category, the qualified entity will: 
  

1. Complete an online PE application through ACCESS for Partners and 
Providers designed for PE determinations. 
  
2. Provide a temporary BadgerCare Plus card for the child if he or she meets 
the non-financial and financial criteria for PE. 
  
3. Provide a denial notice to the child if he or she does not meet the 
requirements for PE. 
  
4. Advise the applicant that a ForwardHealth card will replace the temporary 
card and provide BadgerCare Plus benefits for up to two months. (The card will 
be received within 3-5 business days.) 
  
5. Stress the importance of applying through the local agency for ongoing 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility. In addition, they will advise applicants that they may 
apply for BadgerCare Plus via the Internet through the ACCESS web site, over 
the telephone, through the mail or in person. 
  

If an application is made for BadgerCare Plus at the local IM agency by the end of the 
month following the month in which the child was determined presumptively eligible, the 
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enrollment period ends the day on which the agency completes processing the 
BadgerCare Plus application, regardless of the result of the eligibility determination. 
  
If a full BadgerCare Plus application is not submitted by the end of the month following 
the month in which the child was temporarily enrolled, the PE period ends the last day 
of the month following the month in which the child was enrolled. 
  

Example: Joe Green applied for BadgerCare Plus PE for his son Jim on February 
4th at the Center Street Boys Club. Jim was found presumptively eligible for 
 BadgerCare Plus from February 4th through March 31st. Joe submits a 
BadgerCare Plus ACCESS application to the local IM agency on February 10th. 
The agency completes processing the application on March 1st. Jim is found 
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus for February and March and the application is 
denied. A notice is sent to Joe informing him Jim is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
and his BadgerCare Plus presumptive eligibility is terminated effective March 1st. 
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32.2 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE) FOR PREGNANT 
WOMEN 

32.2.1 Eligible Pregnant Women for PE 
32.2.2 Qualified Entities 
  
Note: Wisconsin’s presumptive eligibility programs are known by multiple terms: 
Express Enrollment, Temporary Enrollment, and Presumptive Eligibility. Express 
Enrollment (EE) is the online application in ACCESS for making PE determinations. 
Presumptive Eligibility (PE) is the determination of whether an applicant is eligible to 
temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus (BadgerCare Plus) or Family Planning Only 
Services (FPOS). Temporary Enrollment (TE) is when an applicant has been found 
eligible to temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus or FPOS. All such policy in this 
handbook will be collectively referred to as Presumptive Eligibility.  

32.2.1 Eligible Pregnant Women for PE 

A Medicaid qualified entity certified by ForwardHealth can temporarily enroll a pregnant 
woman in BadgerCare Plus through the Express Enrollment program. 
  
BadgerCare Plus Express Enrollment (EE) for pregnant women provides pregnancy 
related out patient care, including pharmacy services, to pregnant women who are 
presumptively eligible for BadgerCare Plus by meeting the following financial and non-
financial criteria: 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/32/32.2hlf.htm
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1. Currently pregnant, 
2. A U.S. Citizen or lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for 
the amount of time the person is lawfully present in the U.S.), and 
3. Through January 31, 2014, 

• Family income at or below 300% of FPL  
  

4. Effective February 1, 2014, 

• Has AG income at or below 306% of the FPL, and 
• Has not been found presumptively eligible for BadgerCare Plus through 
EE for Pregnant Women at any time during her current pregnancy. 

  
Through January 31, 2014, if the pregnant woman’s income is at or below 200% of the 
FPL, she will be eligible for prenatal services under the Standard Plan, if it is between 
201% and 300% of the FPL, she will be eligible for prenatal services under the 
Benchmark Plan. Beginning February 1, 2014, she will be eligible for out-patient 
services under the Standard Plan, regardless of her income  at or below 306% of the 
FPL. 

32.2.2 Qualified Entities 

The qualified entity will:   
  

1. Medically verify the pregnancy. 
 
Note: Pregnancy will no longer be required to be verified for PE effective 
February 1, 2014. 

2. Complete a BadgerCare Plus PE for Pregnant Women application . 
3. Provide a temporary BadgerCare Plus card if she meets the non-financial 
and financial criteria for PE. 
4. Provide a denial notice if she does not meet the requirements for PE. 
5. Advise the applicant that a ForwardHealth Card will replace the temporary 
card and provide prenatal services through BadgerCare Plus for up to two 
months.  (The new card will be received within 3-5 business days.) 
6. Stress the importance of applying through the local agency for ongoing 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility. And, advise that the application can be submitted 
through https://access.wisconsin.gov/, over the telephone, through the mail or in 
person. 
  

The qualified entity will also: 
  

1. Submit the completed PE application form to the fiscal agent. 

https://access.wisconsin.gov/
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2. When circumstances allow, assist the woman in completing and 
submitting the BadgerCare Plus application with the IM agency. 

  
If she applies for ongoing BadgerCare Plus by the end of the month following the month 
in which she was found presumptively eligible, the enrollment period ends the day on 
which the agency determines her eligibility, regardless of the result of the determination. 
  
If she does not apply by the end of the month following the month in which she was 
enrolled through PE for pregnant women, the PE period ends the last day of the month 
following the month in which she was determined eligible for PE for pregnant women. 
  

Example: Sandra was enrolled in BadgerCare Plus through the EE for Pregnant 
Women Program from January 10th through February 28th. She applied for 
ongoing BadgerCare Plus eligibility through the IM agency on January 15th and 
was found eligible effective January 1st. Her PE will end because the BadgerCare 
Plus eligibility will retroactively cover her with full benefits. 
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32.3 PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY FOR ADULTS 

32.3.1 Eligible Adults for PE 
32.3.2 Qualified Entities 
  
Note: Wisconsin’s presumptive eligibility programs are known by multiple terms: 
Express Enrollment, Temporary Enrollment, and Presumptive Eligibility. Express 
Enrollment (EE) is the online application in ACCESS for making PE determinations. 
Presumptive Eligibility (PE) is the determination of whether an applicant is eligible to 
temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus (BadgerCare Plus) or Family Planning Only 
Services (FPOS). Temporary Enrollment (TE) is when an applicant has been found 
eligible to temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus or FPOS. All such policy in this 
handbook will be collectively referred to as Presumptive Eligibility. 

32.3.1 Eligible Adults for PE 

Adults (parents, caretakers and childless adults) can be found presumptively eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus if they meet the following financial and non-financial criteria: 
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1. Has assistance group income at or below 100% of the FPL, and 
2. Is one of the following: 

• U.S. Citizen, 
• Lawfully residing in the United States for at least 5 years, 
• Lawfully residing in the United States and a refugee or is seeking asylum, 
• From Cuba or Haiti and is lawfully residing in the United States, or 
• Lawfully residing in the United States under one of the eligible immigration 
statuses listed in section 4.3.4. 

  
Adults will be limited to one PE period within a rolling 12-month period, starting with the 
effective date of the initial PE period. Qualified hospitals are required to assist 
applicants with the completion of the full BadgerCare Plus application. 
  
Note: Please see the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook (MEH) Chapter 36.2.2.1 for 
information on PE under the Wisconsin Well Women  Medicaid (WWMA) program for 
women under age 65 with breast or cervical cancer. 

32.3.2 Qualified Entities 

Qualified hospitals certified by ForwardHealth can make presumptive eligibility 
determinations for adults. 
  
Qualified hospitals will be allowed to make PE determinations for patients who are 
inmates of public correctional institutions that are not state correctional facilities (e.g., 
county jails) as long as those patients are expected to remain in the hospital for 24 
hours or more. The PE determination process for these patients will be the same as for 
other patients. Patients who are inmates of a state correctional facility are not eligible for 
Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus through the hospital PE process. 
  
If an application is made for BadgerCare Plus at the local agency by the end of the 
month following the month in which the individual was determined presumptively 
eligible, the enrollment period ends the day on which the agency completes processing 
the BadgerCare Plus application, regardless of the result of the eligibility determination. 
  
  
If a BadgerCare Plus application is not submitted by the end of the month following the 
month in which the individual was temporarily enrolled, the PE period ends the last day 
of the month following the month in which the individual was enrolled. 
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32.4 AT THE IM AGENCY 

  
If an individual who has been determined presumptively eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
applies for full BadgerCare Plus at the IM agency on or before the last day of the PE 
period: 
  

• Verify the individual is temporarily enrolled by checking his or her 
temporary BadgerCare Plus ID card or MMIS. 
• Assist him or her in filing the application. Consider the application filed if 
his or her name, address and signature are on the application. 

  
If you are unable to finish processing the application by the end of her PE period, 
extend the enrollment period for an additional calendar month. Prior to the last date of 
the PE period, complete a paper Medicaid/BadgerCare Plus Certification form (F-10110, 
former DES 3070) and send to the fiscal agent or extend the PE eligibility through the 
manual certification process in the ForwardHealth portal. Enter the extended date for 
the PE enrollment for the individual and use the following medical status codes: 
  

For enrollment period extensions to a date up through January 31, 2014: 
  
Med Stat Population 
BU Children 

BV Pregnant women eligible under the Standard 
Plan 

BW Pregnant women eligible under the Benchmark 
Plan 

  
Note: Beginning February 1, 2014, all eligible PE women at or below 306% of the FPL 
will be eligible under the Standard Plan. PE for parents, caretakers and childless adults 
is not effective until April 1, 2014, so no enrollment period extension is available to 
these individuals prior to this date. 
  

For enrollment period extensions to a date after February 1, 2014: 
  
Med Stat Population 

9J Children under age 1 with AG income above 
200% FPL and at or below 306% FPL 

7Q Children under age 1 with AG income above 
133% FPL and at or below 200% FPL 

EC Children under age 1 with AG income at or 
below 133% FPL 

7S Children age 1 through 5 with AG income above 
156% FPL and at or below 191% FPL 

https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/Default.aspx
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BU Children age 1 through 18 with AG income at or 
below 156% FPL 

9E Pregnant women with AG income above 200% 
FPL and at or below 306% FPL 

BV Pregnant women with AG income at or below 
200% FPL 

PP Parents and caretakers* 
PN Childless adults* 

  
* The medical status codes PP and PN are not effective until April 1, 2014. 
  
Once the full BadgerCare Plus application is processed, if the individual is found 
ineligible for BadgerCare Plus, complete a negative notice (F-16001) to end the PE 
period.  Check box three and complete the sentence to read:  "Your temporary 
enrollment for pregnant women benefits will be stopped effective (write in date)".  Under 
"Explanation of Action," write the reason BadgerCare Plus is being denied.  Indicate the 
statutory authority is S. 49.471, Stats. 
  
Mail one copy to the woman and one to the qualified provider.  Complete a 
Medicaid/BadgerCare Plus Manual Certification form F-10110 (formerly DES 3070), 
indicating the EE for pregnant women end date, and send to the fiscal agent . The PE 
end date is the day the woman is found ineligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  
If the individual does not apply for BadgerCare Plus, or applies after the end of the 
month following the month in which he or she was determined presumptively eligible, 
his or her PE period ends with no extension. Sending a negative notice is not 
necessary. If the individual applies after the end of the month following the month he or 
she was determined eligible, process the application as you would a standard 
BadgerCare Plus application. 
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01 
Release Date: 09/05/14 
Effective Date:02/01/14 

View History 

32.5 QUALIFIED HOSPITALS FOR PRESUMPTIVE 
ELIGIBILITY (PE) 

Qualified hospitals are certified by ForwardHealth to make PE determinations. Qualified 
hospitals can make PE determinations for the following populations: 
  

• Children 
• Pregnant women 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F16001.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/32/32.5hlf.htm
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• Individuals applying for FPOS 
• Parents and caretakers 
• Childless adults 
• Women under age 65 with breast or cervical cancer 

  
Only qualified hospitals are allowed to make PE determinations for parents, caretakers 
and childless adults. Other types of providers or partners are not allowed to made PE 
determinations for these populations. 
  
Qualified hospitals will be allowed to make PE determinations for patients who are 
inmates of public correctional institutions that are not state correctional facilities (e.g., 
county jails) as long as those patients are expected to remain in the hospital for 24 
hours or more. The PE determination process for these patients will be the same as for 
other patients. Patients who are inmates of a state correctional facility are not eligible for 
Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus through the hospital PE process. 
  
For the purposes of PE, a “hospital” is defined as an inpatient hospital facility or an 
outpatient hospital facility located within the four walls of an inpatient hospital facility, 
consistent with the definition of “hospital” for the purpose of billing Medicaid. These 
facilities are enrolled in Wisconsin Medicaid as Provider Type 01 or Provider Type 58. 
  
Becoming a qualified hospital for PE is a straightforward process and there is no cost 
for this designation. Hospitals will be required to notify ForwardHealth of their interest in 
becoming a qualified hospital for PE via the ForwardHealth Portal: forwardhealth.wi.gov. 
  
Qualified hospitals engaging in the PE process are subject to standards on assisting the 
patient with also submitting a BadgerCare Plus application for ongoing coverage after 
the PE period ends. For patients determined eligible for PE for FPOS, qualified 
hospitals are subject to standards on assisting the patient with submitting a BadgerCare 
Plus application or a FPOS application. 
  
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-03 
Release Date: 09/05/14 
Effective Date: 04/01/14 
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32.6 EXPRESS ENROLLMENT PROCESS IN ACCESS 

Refer to ACCESS Handbook Chapter 12 for more information on determining 
presumptive eligibility for BadgerCare Plus using the Express Enrollment process in 
ACCESS. 
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 14-03 

https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/
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Release Date: 09/05/14 
Effective Date: 09/28/14 

33 Estate Recovery 

View History 

33.1 ESTATE RECOVERY PROGRAM DEFINITION 

The state seeks repayment of certain correctly paid home health and long-term care 
benefits received by BadgerCare Plus members by: 
  

1. Liens against  property after the death of a member, 
2. Claims against estates, and 
3. Affidavits. 

  
A lien is never filed against the home of a BadgerCare Plus member during his or her 
lifetime, even if the member is living in a nursing home or institutionalized in an inpatient 
hospital. 
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
Release Date: 05/15/2015 
Effective Date: 05/15/2015 

  
View History 

33.2 RECOVERABLE SERVICES 

Not all services provided by BadgerCare Plus are recoverable.  Recoverability depends 
on what was provided and the member’s age when he or she received the benefit. 
  
The following are services for which ERP may seek recovery: 

1. All BadgerCare Plus services received on or after age 55 while living in a nursing 
home 

2. All BadgerCare Plus services received on or after age 55 while institutionalized in 
an inpatient hospital. 

3. Home health care services received by members age 55 or older on or after July 
1, 1995 consisting of:  

a. Skilled nursing services. 
b. Home health aide services. 
c. Home health therapy and speech pathology services. 
d. Private duty nursing services. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/33/33.1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/33/33.2hlf.htm
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e. Personal care services received by members 55 or older on or after April 
1, 2000. 

4. All home and community-based waiver services Community Options Program 
(COP) Waiver, CIP 1A, CIP 1B, CIP II, Brain Injury Waiver, Community 
Opportunities and Recovery and Community Supported Living Arrangements 
received by members age 55 or older between July 1, 1995 and July 31, 2014 
and:  

a. Prescription/legend drugs received by waiver participants. 
b. Benefits paid associated with a waiver participant’s inpatient hospital stay. 

  

These include inpatient services that are billed separately by providers and 
Services that are non-covered hospital services. 

5. Family Care services received by members age 55 or older between February 1, 
2000 and July 31, 2014 and:  

a. Prescription/legend drugs received by waiver participants. 
b. Benefits paid associated with a waiver participant’s inpatient hospital stay. 

 This includes inpatient services that are billed separately by providers and 
that are non-covered hospital services. 

6. All Family Care Partnership services received by members age 55 and older 
while residing in a nursing home or while institutionalized in an inpatient hospital 
on or after March 1, 2009. All Family Care Partnership home and community-
based waiver services, prescription/legend drugs and benefits associated with an 
inpatient hospital stay that are received by members age 55 or older between 
March 1, 2009 and July 31, 2014. 

7. All Include, Respect, I, Self-Direct (IRIS) services, prescription/legend drugs and 
benefits associated with an inpatient hospital stay that are received by members 
age 55 or older before July 31, 2014. 

8. All BadgerCare Plus services received by members age 55 or older participating 
in a long-term care program on or after August 1, 2014. Long-term care 
programs include all home and community-based waiver programs [including 
COP-W, CIP 1A, CIP 1B, CIP II, Brain Injury Waiver, Community Opportunities 
and Recovery, Community Supported Living Arrangements, FamilyCare, 
FamilyCare Partnership, IRIS and the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly (PACE)].  The capitation payment made to the Managed Care 
Organization on or after August 1, 2014 will be recovered for members receiving 
long-term care program services through managed care. 

  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
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33.3 ESTATE CLAIMS 

33.3.1 Waiver of Estate Claim 
33.3.2 Notice of Hardship Waiver Rights 
33.3.3 Administrative Hearings: Hardship Waivers 
33.3.4 Personal Representative’s Report 
33.3.5 Home as Part of the Estate 
33.3.6 Affidavits in Small Sum Estates and Non-Probate Property 
33.3.7 Patient Fund Account 
33.3.8 Native Americans 
33.3.9 Reparation Payments to Individuals 
33.3.10 Voluntary Recovery (ERP) 
  
DHS recovers BadgerCare Plus benefit costs from the member’s estate or from the 
member’s surviving spouse’s estate. 
Recovery from a member’s surviving spouse’s estate will be limited to 50% of the 
marital property that the member had an interest in immediately prior to death. 
  
When DHS learns of the death of a member or a member’s surviving spouse, it files a 
claim in probate court in the amount of BadgerCare Plus recoverable benefits. 
  
The probate court will not allow a claim on the estate to be paid if any of the following 
survives the member: 

1. A spouse. 
2. A child, if the child is:  

a. Under age 21, or 
b. Blind, or 
c. Disabled. 

  
Do not negotiate a settlement, accept any funds, or sign any release for estate 
claims that have been filed by DHS.  ERP staff should be notified if a claim is filed 
by the county against an estate for recovery of overpayments or incorrect 
BadgerCare Plus benefits, for those 55 years of age or older. 
  
Refer any questions about specific estate claims to the ERP staff. 

33.3.1 Waiver of Estate Claim 

An heir or beneficiary of the deceased member’s estate or co-owner or beneficiary of a 
member’s non-probate property may apply for a waiver of an estate claim filed by ERP. 
To be successful, the person applying for the waiver must show one of these three 
hardships exist: 
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1. The waiver applicant would become or remain eligible for AFDC, SSI , 
FoodShare or Medicaid if ERP pursued the estate claim. 

2. The deceased member’s real property is part of the waiver applicant’s business 
(for example, a farm) and the ERP recovery claim would affect the property and 
result in the waiver applicant’s loss of his or her means of livelihood. 

3. The waiver applicant is receiving general relief or veteran’s benefits based on 
need under §45.40(1m) Wis. Stats. 

  
The waiver application must be made in writing within 45 days after the day: 

1. ERP mailed its recovery claim to the probate court or its affidavit to the heir, 
beneficiary or co-owner or 

2. ERP mailed its notice of waiver rights, whichever is latest. 

  
The waiver application must include these points: 

1. Relationship of the waiver applicant to the deceased member. 
2. The hardship under which the waiver is requested. 

  
ERP staff must issue a written decision granting or denying the waiver request within 90 
days after the waiver application is received by ERP.  In determining its decision, ERP 
must consider all information provided to it within 60 days of its receipt of the waiver 
application. 

33.3.2 Notice of Hardship Waiver Rights 

ERP will provide notice of the waiver provisions to the person handling the deceased 
member's estate.  If ERP is not able to determine who that person is, the notice will be 
included with the claim when ERP files it with the claim court. 
  
The person handling the estate is then responsible for notifying the decedent’s heirs 
and beneficiaries of the waiver provisions. 
  
ERP will provide notice of the waiver provisions to co-owners and beneficiaries of the 
member’s non-probate property. 

33.3.3 Administrative Hearings: Hardship Waivers 

If a waiver application is denied, the waiver applicant may request an administrative 
hearing.  ERP staff will attend the hearing to defend their denial of the hardship waiver. 
  
The hearing request must be made within 45 days of the date the ERP decision was 
mailed. 
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The hearing request must: 

1. Be made in writing. 
2. Identify the basis for contesting the ERP decision. 
3. Be made to the Division of Hearings and Appeals (DHA) at: 

  
Department of Administration 
Division of Hearings and Appeals 
P.O. Box 7875 
Madison, WI 53707-7875 

  
The date the request is received at DHA is used to determine the timeliness of the 
request. 
  
ERP staff will maintain DHS’ claim in the estate pending the administrative hearing 
decision.  If collections are made and the waiver is ultimately approved, those funds will 
be returned. 
  
To introduce evidence at a hearing not previously provided to DHS, the applicant must 
mail that evidence to DHS with a postmark at least seven working days before the 
hearing date. 

33.3.4 Personal Representative’s Notice 

The personal representative of the estate of a BadgerCare Plus member or the estate of 
a member's surviving spouse must notify DHS that the estate is being probated 
[§859.07(2), Wis. Stats.]. The notification must be by certified mail and include the date 
by which claims against the estate must be filed. 

33.3.5 Real Property as Part of the Estate 

When real property is part of the estate, ERP may file a lien equal to the BadgerCare 
Plus payments even if one of these persons is alive: 

1. The spouse. 
2. A child under age 21. 
3. A disabled or blind child of any age. 

  
Recovery through the lien will not be enforced as long as any of these persons meet the 
criteria and is alive. 
  

Example 1: Mr. A dies. A claim on his estate is filed and the estate includes real 
property. His spouse is deceased and he has no blind or disabled child. He has a 
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child, age 19. This child lives outside Mr. A’s home. A lien is placed on the real 
property but cannot be enforced because the minor child is still alive. The child later 
turns 21. As there is then no living spouse, child under 21, or disabled or blind child, 
the lien can be enforced. 

  
DHS will take a lien in full or partial settlement of an estate claim against the portion of 
an estate that is a home if: 

1. A child, of any age of the deceased member:  
a. Resides in the member’s home, and 
b. That child resided in that home for at least 24 months before the member 

entered the nursing home, hospital, or received home and community-
based waiver services, and 

c. That child provided care that delayed the member’s move to the nursing 
home, hospital, or his or her receipt of home and community-based waiver 
services. 

2. A sibling of the deceased member:  
a. Resides in the member’s home, and 
b. Resided in that home for at least 12 months before the date the member 

entered a nursing home, hospital, or received home and community-based 
services. 

  
The lien filed in one of these two instances will be payable at the death of the caretaker 
child or sibling or when the property is transferred, whichever comes first. 
  
However, if the caretaker child or sibling sells the home covered by the DHS lien, and 
uses the sale proceeds to buy another home to be used as that child’s or sibling’s 
primary residence, then: 

1. DHS will transfer the lien to the new home if the amount of the caretaker child or 
sibling’s payment or down payment for the new home is equal to or greater than 
the proceeds from the original home. 

2. If the down payment on the new home is less than the proceeds from the sale of 
the original home, DHS will recover the amount of the proceeds above the down 
payment, but no greater than the lien amount.  If there is an amount in the lien 
still not satisfied, DHS will file a lien for the remaining amount on the new home. 

33.3.6 Affidavits in Small Sum Estates and Non-Probate Property 

Heirs, guardians and trustees of revocable trusts created by a deceased 
BADGERCARE PLUS member must notify ERP before transferring any of the 
deceased’s property through a Transfer by Affidavit ($50,000 and under) (§867.03, Wis. 
Stats.). The heir, guardian or trustee must send a copy of the affidavit to ERP by 
certified mail, return receipt requested. Examples of property include bank accounts 
(savings or checking); postal savings; credit union or building and loan shares; contents 
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of safe deposit boxes; savings bonds; stocks and other securities; promissory notes and 
mortgages which are payable to the applicant/recipient and negotiable; real estate; etc. 
  
If an heir, guardian or trustee transfers the deceased’s property, ERP will send an 
affidavit to the heir, guardian or trustee to recover any funds remaining after burial and 
estate administration costs have been paid. Funeral costs are limited to those expenses 
connected with the funeral service and burial. A marker for the grave is considered a 
burial cost. Memorials and/or donations to churches, organizations, persons, or 
institutions are not considered burial costs. 
  
ERP will also send its affidavit to the co-owners and/or beneficiaries of a member’s non-
probate property. Non-probate property is property that passes outside an individual’s 
estate. This means that non-probate property does not go through probate before it is 
transferred to those who inherit it. Non-probate property subject to recovery includes, 
but is not limited to, life estates, property held in joint tenancy, life insurance proceeds, 
property held in revocable trusts, and property that is payable-on-death or transfer-on-
death to a beneficiary. 
  
Co-owners and beneficiaries of a member’s non-probate property have the right to 
request a fair hearing as on the value of the member’s interest in the property. 
  
The value of the member’s interest for jointly owned property is the percentage interest 
attributed to the member when Medicaid eligibility was determined or, if not determined 
at eligibility, the fractional interest the member had in the property at his or her death. 
For life estate interests, the value is the percentage of ownership based on the 
member’s age at the date of death, according to the life estate tables used for Medicaid 
eligibility. 
  
The value of the property is the fair market value. Fair market value is the price a willing 
buyer would pay to a willing seller for purchase of the property. It is the co-owners’ or 
beneficiaries’ responsibility to establish that value through a credible method like an 
appraisal by a licensed appraiser. 
  
ERP staff will attend the fair hearing to present DHS’ position on the value of the 
property. 
  
Real property of a BadgerCare Plus member, whether non-probate or transferred by 
affidavit, is subject to a lien if the state’s claim cannot be satisfied through other assets. 
  
DHS may not enforce the lien while any of the following survive: 

1. Spouse, 
2. Child who is:  

a. Under age 21, or 
b. Blind, or 
c. Disabled. 
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ERP will recover any funds that remain from a burial trust after costs have been paid. 
  
Direct specific questions about questionable allowable costs to ERP staff. 

33.3.7 Patient Fund Account 

Nursing homes are required to notify ERP when a BadgerCare Plus member dies with 
money left in his or her nursing home patient fund account if he or she has no surviving 
spouse or minor or disabled child. 
  
ERP will claim from the nursing home any funds remaining in the patient account after 
payment of funeral and burial expenses and outstanding debts from the last month of 
illness that are not chargeable to BadgerCare Plus. 

33.3.8 Native Americans 

Native Americans: Income, Resources and Property Exempt from BadgerCare 
Plus Estate Recovery 
  
The following income, resources, and property are exempt from BadgerCare Plus estate 
recovery: 

1. Certain income and resources (such as interests in and income derived from 
Tribal land and other  resources currently held  in trust status  and  judgment 
funds from the Indian Claims Commission and the U.S. Claims Court) that are 
exempt from BadgerCare Plus estate recovery by other laws and regulations; 

2. Ownership interest in trust or non-trust property, including real property  and 
 improvements:  

a. Located on a reservation (any federally recognized Indian Tribe’s 
reservation, Pueblo, or Colony, including  former  reservations  in 
Oklahoma, Alaska Native regions established by Alaska Native Claims 
Settlement Act and Indian allotments) or near a reservation  as designated 
and approved by the Bureau of Indian Affairs of the U.S. Department of 
the Interior; or 

b. For any federally -recognized Tribe not described in (a), located within the 
most recent boundaries of a prior Federal reservation. 

c. Protection of non-trust property described in (a) and (b) is limited to 
circumstances when it passes from an Indian (as defined in section 4 of 
the Indian Health Care Improvement Act) to one or more relatives (by 
blood,  adoption, or marriage),  including Indians not  enrolled as members 
of a Tribe and non-Indians, such  as  spouses and step-children, that their 
culture would nevertheless protect as family members;  to a Tribe or Tribal 
organization; and/or to one or more Indians;   

3. Income left as a remainder in an estate derived from property protected in 2 
above, that was either collected by an Indian, or by a Tribe or Tribal organization 
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and distributed to Indian(s), as long as the individual can clearly trace it as 
coming from the protected property. 

4. Ownership interests  left as a remainder in an estate in rents, leases, royalties, or 
usage rights related to natural resources (including extraction of natural 
resources or harvesting of timber, other plants and plant products, animals, fish, 
and shellfish) resulting from the exercise of Federally-protected rights, and 
income either collected by an Indian, or by a Tribe or Tribal organization and 
distributed to Indian(s) derived from these sources as long as the  individual  can 
clearly trace it as coming from protected sources; and 

5. Ownership interests in or usage rights to items not covered by 1-4 above that 
have unique religious, spiritual, traditional, and/or cultural significance or rights 
that support subsistence or a traditional life style according to applicable Tribal 
law or custom 

  
Native Americans: Income, Resources and Property Not Exempt from BadgerCare 
Plus Estate Recovery 
  
The following income, resources and property from the estates of Native Americans are 
not exempt from estate recovery: 

1. Ownership interests in assets and property, both real and personal, that are not 
described in items 1-5 above. 

2. Any income and assets left as a remainder in an estate that do not derive from 
protected property or sources in items 1-5. 

33.3.9  Reparation Payments to Individuals 

Government reparation payments to special populations are exempt from BadgerCare 
Plus estate recovery. 

33.3.10  Voluntary Recovery (ERP) 

When a member age 55 or older wishes to pay an amount to Medicaid to maintain 
Medicaid eligibility, prepay a Medicaid deductible, or reduce a potential claim in an 
estate, forward the payment to ERP.  First check, BVCI to make sure there is not an 
outstanding Medicaid claim for an overpayment since the money should be applied to 
an overpayment first.  Voluntary payments, except for prepayment of a deductible may 
only be up to the amount of Medicaid paid to date.  
  
The check or money order should be made payable to DHS. 
  
Mail the payment to: 
  

Estate Recovery 
313 Blettner Blvd 
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Madison WI 
53714-2405 

  
With the payment, include: 

1. Documentation that the payment is voluntary. 
2. The member’s name and Medicaid ID number. 
3. Name and address of the person who should receive the receipt. 

  
These refunds will be credited to the member and will be used to offset any claim that 
may be filed in the member’s estate. 
  
Incentive payments of 5% will be paid to the IM Agency for refunds. 
  
Advise heirs and beneficiaries of deceased members who wish to make a voluntary 
refund to call ERP staff. 
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
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33.4 MATCH SYSTEM 

ERP maintains the Estate Recovery Database. Information you submit on the Estate 
Recovery Disclosure Form is on the database. 
  
The database is compared to the death record files of the Division of Health Care 
Access and Accountability, Vital Records and State Registrar Section. 
  
When a match shows a BadgerCare Plus member or his or her surviving spouse has 
died, a report record is produced.  ERP staff checks the report against  new probate 
proceedings listed on the Wisconsin Circuit Court Access website. This is a back up to 
the requirement that DHS be notified of the last date for filing claims. 
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33.5 NOTIFY MEMBERS 
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Provide a copy of the Wisconsin Estate Recovery Program Handbook (P-13032) to 
every BadgerCare Plus member 54 1/2 years old or older  at application and review. 
 Have each member or his or her representative read the notice of liability on the 
application form ("Recovery of BadgerCare Plus”).  He or she acknowledges 
understanding of this notice when signing the application. 
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33.6 DISCLOSURE FORM 

Complete an Estate Recovery Program Disclosure Form whenever a BadgerCare Plus 
member becomes 55 years old. 
  
Do this even if he or she has zero assets. 
  
Complete the form with information about the member, his or her spouse, and his or her 
children that are blind, disabled, or under age 21. 
  
Attach a legible copy of the latest property tax bill or a copy of the property deed for any 
real property reported if possible. This may give ERP staff the property’s legal 
description needed to file a lien. 
  
Attach a legible copy of any documents relating to trusts created by the member or the 
member’s spouse. 
  
Request the member or his or her agent to sign the completed form.  If he or she will not 
sign the form: 

1. Sign the form at the "Member Signature” line. 
2. Note near your signature that you reviewed the data with the person or his or her 

agent.  Indicate:  
a. That he or she did or did not agree the data was accurate. 
b. The reason he or she did not sign.   

  
In a mail-in application situation, document if the form was not returned or was returned 
without a signature. 
  
Send the completed form to the ERP. File a copy in the case record. 
  
You need not update this form unless there is a substantial change in circumstances 
(for example, an inheritance). 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/33/33.6hlf.htm


33.7 Estate Recovery Program (ERP) 

292 
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33.7 ESTATE RECOVERY PROGRAM (ERP) 

The ERP address is: 
  

Estate Recovery Program Section 
Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 
P.O. Box 309 
Madison, WI 53701-0309 

  
For general information regarding ERP, refer members to Member Services at 1-800-
362-3002. 
  
Direct case-specific questions about: 

1. Estate recovery disclosure forms and liens to the  Estate Recovery Specialist, 
(608) 264-6755. 

2. For small estates of $50,000 or less, provide the phone number of the "Affidavit 
Help Line,” (608) 264-6756, to heirs of deceased members who have questions 
about ERP.  The Help Line provides recorded messages that answer the most 
frequently asked questions regarding small sum estates.  It also provides the 
caller with an opportunity to either leave a message or talk to ERP staff. 

3. Tribal inquiries should be re-directed to the ERP Section Chief, (608) 261-7831. 
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33.8 INCENTIVE PAYMENTS 

DHS will return to local agencies 5% of collections made through a lien, voluntary 
payments and probated estate recoveries.  We will pay this incentive to the last agency 
certifying the member for BadgerCare Plus.   
  
The payments are discretionary. DHS will make them based on compliance with 
program requirements. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/33/33.7hlf.htm
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33.9 OTHER PROGRAMS 

ERP also recovers for Medicaid, the Community Options Program (COP), Wisconsin 
Chronic Disease Program (WCDP), Medicaid and non-Medicaid Family Care. 
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
Release Date: 05/15/2015 
Effective Date: 05/15/2015 

  

34-37 Reserved 

RESERVED 

  
  
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/33/33.9hlf.htm
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PROGRAM COVERAGE (CHAPTERS 38-47) 

38 Covered Services 

View History 
  

38.1 COVERED SERVICES 

A covered service is any health care service that BadgerCare Plus will pay for an 
eligible member, if billed. The Division of Health Care Access and Accountability 
(DHCAA) enrolls qualified health care providers and reimburses them for providing 
BadgerCare Plus covered services to eligible BadgerCare Plus members. Members 
may receive BadgerCare Plus services only from enrolled providers, except in medical 
emergencies.  BadgerCare Plus reimburses emergency medical services necessary to 
prevent the death or serious impairment of the health of a member even when provided 
by a non-enrolled provider. 
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38.2 STANDARD PLAN 

38.2.1 Introduction 
38.2.2 Copayment 

38.2.1 Introduction 

Effective April 1, 2014, all BadgerCare Plus members are covered under the Standard 
Plan. The following chart shows some of the covered services and co-payments under 
the Standard Plan. 
  

Services BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan 
Chiropractic Services Full coverage. 

  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per service (varies by service 
provided). 

Dental Full coverage of preventive, restorative and palliative 
services. 
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.2hlf.htm
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Co-payment $.50 to $3 per service 
(varies by service provided). 

Disposable Medical 
Supplies (DMS) 

Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $0.50 to $3.00 per service. 

Drugs  (See also 38.7 
Impact on Dual Eligible 
Individuals) 

Comprehensive drug benefit with coverage of 
generic and brand name prescription drugs and 
some over-the-counter (OTC) drugs.   
  
Members are limited to 5 prescriptions per month for 
opioid drugs. 
  
Co-payments: 
  
$0.50 for OTC Drugs 
$1.00 for Generic Drugs 
$3.00 for Brand Name Drugs 
 
Co-payments are limited to $12.00 per member, per 
provider, per month.  OTCs are excluded from this 
$12.00 maximum. 

Durable Medical 
Equipment (DME) 

Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $0.50 to $3.00 per item (varies by item 
provided). 
  
Rental items are not subject to a co-payment. 

Health Screenings for 
Children 

Full coverage of Health Check screenings and other 
services for individuals under age 21 years. 
  
Co-payment $1 per screening for those 18, 19 and 
20 years of age. 

Hearing Services Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per procedure. 
  
No co-payments for hearing aid batteries. 

Home Care Services 
(home health, private 
duty nursing and 
personal care) 

Full coverage. 
  
No co-payment. 

Hospice Full coverage. 
  
No co-payment. 

Hospital - Inpatient Full coverage. 
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Co-payment $3 per day with a $75 cap per stay. 

Hospital - Outpatient Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $3 per visit. 

Hospital - Outpatient 
Emergency Room 

Full coverage. 
  
No co-payment. 

Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse 
Treatment 

Full coverage (not including room and board). 
  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per visit 
(limited to the first 15 hours or $500 of services, 
whichever comes first, provided per calendar year). 
  
Co-payment not required when services are provided 
in a hospital setting. 

Nursing Home Full coverage. 
  
No co-payment. 
  

Physical Therapy (PT), 
Occupational Therapy 
(OT) and Speech 
Therapy (ST) 

Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per provider, per date of 
service. 
  
Co-payment obligation is limited to the first 30 hours 
or $1,500 whichever occurs first, during one 
calendar year (co-payment limits are calculated 
separately for each discipline.) 

Physician Visits Full coverage, including laboratory and radiology. 
  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 co-payment per service 
(varies by service provided). 
  
Llimited to $30 per provider per calendar year. 
  
No co-payment for emergency services, anesthesia 
or clozapine management. 

Podiatric Services Full coverage. 
  
Co-payment $.50  to $3 per service. 

Prenatal/Maternity Care Full coverage, including prenatal care coordination 
and preventive mental health and substance abuse 
screening and counseling for pregnant women at risk 
of mental health or substance abuse problems. 
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No co-payment. 

Reproductive Health 
Services 

Full coverage, excluding infertility treatments, 
surrogate parenting and related services, including 
but not limited to artificial insemination, and 
subsequent obstetrical care as a non covered 
service, and the reversal of voluntary sterilization.   
  
No co-payment for family planning services. 

Routine Vision Full coverage including coverage of eye glasses. 
  
Co-payment $.50 to $3 per service (varies by service 
provided). 

Smoking Cessation 
Services 

Coverage includes prescription and over-the-counter 
tobacco cessation products.   
  
Co-payment (see drugs) 

Transportation Full coverage of emergency and non-emergency 
transportation to and from a certified provider for a 
BadgerCare Plus covered service. 
  
Co-payments are: 

• $2 for non-emergency ambulance trips. 
• $1 per trip for transportation by an 
SMV. 

  
No co-payment for transportation by common carrier 
or emergency ambulance. 

  
If you or the member has additional questions, contact Member Services at 1-800-362-
3002. 

38.2.2 Copayment 

A BadgerCare Plus member may be required to pay a part of the cost of a service. This 
payment is called a "co-payment” or "co-pay”. 
  
Through March 31, 2014, the co-payment policy is as follows: 
  
Exempt from Co-payments 
  

• Children under age 19 with family income up to 100% of the FPL. 
• Children under age 6 with family income above 100% up to 150% of the 
FPL, except for Continuously Eligible Newborns. 
• Children ages 1 through 5 who are Tribal members with family income 
from 185% to 300% of the FPL. 
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• Children ages 6 through 18 who are Tribal members with family income 
from 150% to 300% of the FPL. 
• Children under age 19 eligible through Express Enrollment. 
• Children under age 19 in an institution. 
• Children under age 19 eligible under a BadgerCare Plus Extension 
• Pregnant women, except for pregnant girls under age 19 with family 
incomes above 300% of the FPL. 
• Pregnant women eligible through Express Enrollment. 
• Pregnant women eligible for the prenatal benefit. 

  
Standard Plan -  Nominal Co-payments 
  

• Continuously Eligible Newborns with family incomes above 100% up to 
200% of poverty. 
• Children under age 6 with family income above 150% up to 200% of 
poverty. 
• Children ages 6 through 18, with family income above 100% up to 200% 
of poverty. 
• Children under age 19 with family income above 150% of poverty who 
have met a deductible. 
• Parents and caretakers up to 200% of poverty. 
• Parents and caretakers in BadgerCare Plus Extensions. 
• Youths Exiting Out-of-Home Care. 
• Transitional Grandfathered parents and caretakers. 

  
Members covered under the Standard plan will have co-payments ranging from $0.50 to 
$3.00.  Providers are required to make a reasonable effort to collect the co-payment but 
may not refuse services to a member who fails to make that payment. 
  
Effective April 1, 2014, the co-payment policy is as follows: 
  
Providers are prohibited from collecting co-payment from the following members: 
  

• Children in a mandatory coverage category. In Wisconsin, this includes: 
o Children in foster care, regardless of age. 

o Children in adoption assistance, regardless of age. 
o Children under age one with income up to 150 percent of the FPL. 
o Children ages 1 through 5 with income up to 185 percent of the 
FPL. 
o Children ages 6 through 18 years of age with incomes at or below 
133 percent of the FPL. 

• Children in the Katie Beckett program, regardless of age. 
• Children under 19 eligible through Express Enrollment. 
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• Children who are American Indian or Alaska Natives who are enrolled in the 
state's CHIP. 
• American Indians or Alaskan Natives, regardless of age or income level, 
when they receive items and services either directly from an Indian health care 
provider or through referral under contract health services. 
• Terminally ill individuals receiving hospice care. 
• Nursing home residents. 
• Women enrolled in Wisconsin Well Woman Medicaid. 

  
The following services do not require co-payment: 
  

• Case management services. 
• Crisis intervention services. 
• Community support program services. 
• Emergency services. 
• Family planning services, including sterilizations. 
• HealthCheck. 
• HealthCheck "Other Services." 
• Home care services. 
• Hospice care services. 
• Immunizations. 
• Independent laboratory services. 
• Injections. 
• PDN and PDN services for ventilator-dependent members. 
• Pregnancy related services. 
• Preventive services with an A or B rating from the U.S. Preventive 
Services Task Force. 
• School-based services. 
• Substance abuse day treatment services. 
• Surgical assistance. 
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38.3 TRANSPORTATION 

38.3.1 Ambulance 
38.3.2 Specialized Medical Vehicle (SMV)  
38.3.3 Common Carrier  
38.3.4 Transportation Coordination  
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Federal regulations require the Medicaid program provide transportation for members who have 
no other way to receive a ride to their Medicaid health care appointments. Transportation can be 
by ambulance, specialized medical vehicle (SMV) or common carrier.  

38.3.1 Ambulance 

Ambulance transportation is a covered service, if it is provided by a BadgerCare Plus certified 
ambulance provider, and the member is suffering from an illness or injury that rules out other 
forms of transportation, and only if it is for: 
 
 

1. Emergency care when immediate medical treatment or examination is needed to 
deal with or guard against a worsening of the person’s condition.   

2. Non-emergency transportation when use of any other method of transportation is 
contraindicated and is authorized in writing by a physician, physician assistant, 
nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, or registered nurse. 

38.3.2 Specialized Medical Vehicle (SMV) 

An SMV is a vehicle equipped with a lift or ramp for loading wheelchairs.  The driver of 
an SMV must meet driver requirements in accordance with DHS 105.39 Wis. Admin 
Code. 
   
SMV transportation is a covered service if provided by a BadgerCare Plus SMV enrolled 
provider and a health care provider has documented why the member’s condition 
prevents him or her from using a common carrier or private vehicle 

38.3.3 Common Carrier 

Common carrier means any mode of transportation other than an ambulance or an SMV.  

38.3.4 Transportation Coordination 

Non-emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) is coordinated by Department of Health 
Services’ NEMT manager, Medical Transportation Management, Inc. (MTM Inc.). As the 
NEMT manager, MTM Inc. arranges and pays for rides to covered Medicaid services for 
members who have no other way to receive a ride. Rides can include ambulance, SMV 
or common carrier transportation depending on a member’s medical and transportation 
needs. 
  
The NEMT manager does not coordinate transportation for the following members: 
  

http://docs.legis.wi.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/101/105/39
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/101/105/39
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• Members who are residing in a nursing home. 
o Members residing in a nursing home have their NEMT services 

coordinated by the nursing home. 

  

• Members who are enrolled in Family Care. 
o Members enrolled in Family Care receive NEMT services from the Family 

Care Managed Care Organization (MCO). 
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38.4 HMO ENROLLMENT 

38.4.1 Change of Circumstances 
38.4.2 Disenrollment 
38.4.3 Fiscal Agent Ombuds 
  
Most BadgerCare Plus members who are eligible for BadgerCare Plus and reside in a 
BadgerCare Plus HMO service area must enroll in an HMO. 
  
Members may choose their own HMO or work with the HMO Enrollment Specialist to 
choose the best one for their needs.  They may choose at any time during the 
enrollment process.  All eligible members of the member’s family must choose the same 
HMO.  However, individuals within a family may be eligible for an exemption from 
enrollment. 
  
This is the enrollment process: 
  

1. Members residing in an HMO service area receive an HMO enrollment 
packet.  The packet has an enrollment form, a list of available HMOs, instructions 
on how to choose an HMO and how to find out if a provider is affiliated with an 
HMO. 

  
2. If the member lives in an area covered by two or more HMOs, enrollment 
is mandatory. In areas with only one available HMO, enrollment is voluntary and 
 the process stops here. 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.4hlf.htm
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3. If the member lives in a mandatory area and does not choose and HMO, 
he or she will be assigned an HMO.  A letter explaining the assignment will be 
sent to him or her.  He or she will receive another enrollment form and have an 
opportunity to change the assigned HMO. 

  
4. He or she will then receive a notice confirming enrollment in the assigned 
or chosen HMO for the following month.  The member has up to three months to 
change HMOs, once enrolled.  This is the open enrollment period.  After the 
initial three months, the member is locked into the HMO and cannot change for 
nine months.  If your member has questions about HMO enrollment, he or she 
should contact the Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-291-2002. 

  
Exemptions:  A member may qualify for an exemption from HMO enrollment if he or 
she meets certain criteria, such as a chronic illness, high-risk third trimester pregnancy, 
or continuity of care concerns, etc. 
  
If the member believes he or she has a valid reason for exemption, he or she should 
call the HMO Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-291-2002.  The number is also in the 
enrollment materials he or she receives. 

38.4.1 Change of Circumstances 

Members who lose BadgerCare Plus eligibility, but become eligible again may be 
automatically re-enrolled in their previous HMO. 
  
If the member’s eligibility is re-established after a Restrictive Re-enrollment Period ( 
RRP ), he or she will be automatically re-enrolled in the previous HMO, unless the HMO 
is no longer accepting reassignments. 
  
After six months, or if the HMO is no longer accepting reassignments or has exceeded 
its enrollment level, he or she will receive an enrollment packet, and the enrollment 
process will start over. 

38.4.2 Disenrollment 

Members are automatically disenrolled from the HMO program if: 
  

1. Their medical status code changes to a BadgerCare Plus subprogram that 
does not require enrollment in an HMO. 

  
2. They become eligible for Medicare. 

  
3. They lose eligibility. 

  
4. They move out of the HMO’s service area. 
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Members can be disenrolled by the HMO’s request in the following situations: 
  

1. They become inmates of a public institution. 
2. They need an experimental transplant. 

  
Note: HMO disenrollment is not automatic in these situations. 
  
Members who move out of the HMO service area receive a new packet showing the 
HMO(s) available in the new area and the enrollment process begins again.  If no HMO 
covers the member’s new area, he or she remains fee-for-service.   

38.4.3 Fiscal Agent Ombuds 

Members with questions about their rights as HMO members may call 1-800-760-0001 
or write: 
  
HMO Ombudsman 
P.O. Box 6470 
Madison, WI  53791-9823 
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38.5 BADGERCARE PLUS CARDS 

38.5.1 BadgerCare Plus Cards Introduction  
38.5.1.1 BadgerCare Plus & Medicaid Card Image 
38.5.1.2 SeniorCare Card Image 
38.5.1.3 Wisconsin Well Woman Program Card Image 

38.5.2 Appeals  
38.5.3 Homeless  
38.5.4 Pharmacy Services Lock-in Program  
38.5.5 Temporary Cards  
38.5.6. Lost-Stolen Cards  

38.5.1 BadgerCare Plus Cards Introduction 

All BadgerCare Plus members are issued ForwardHealth cards. These cards are plastic and 
display the words: ForwardHealth.  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.5hlf.htm
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Note: Members who were previously enrolled in the BadgerCare Core Plan or the 
BadgerCare Plus Basic Plan received cards with the program names listed. These 
programs ended on March 31, 2014. 
   
Members use the same ForwardHealth card each month to receive services on a fee for service 
basis and/or through a managed care organization, if enrolled.  Monthly cards are not issued.  
   
Each person in the family who is eligible receives his or her own card for the Benefit Plan for 
which they are eligible.  Members may have multiple ID cards if they have been in one or more 
of the plans listed above.     
   
The cards do not display eligibility dates.  Health care providers use the ID number on the front 
of the card to bill for services provided to the member.  
   
Members will know if they are eligible, and for which Benefit Plan, based on positive and 
negative notices sent from the IM agency.  They will also receive separate notices if enrolled in a 
Managed Care Organization.  Members who receive a notice that they are no longer eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus should keep their ForwardHealth cards.  Cards should not be thrown away.  If a 
member becomes eligible again, he or she will use the same ForwardHealth card originally 
issued.  If members have questions regarding their eligibility status, they can log into ACCESS> 
Change My Benefits or call Member Services at 1-800-362-3002.    

38.5.1.1 BadgerCare Plus & Medicaid Card Image 

  

 
   

38.5.1.2 SeniorCare Card Image 

https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/


38.5 BadgerCare Plus Cards 

306 

 

38.5.1.3 Wisconsin Well Woman Program Card Image 
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38.5.2 Appeals 

Keep a BadgerCare Plus case in appeal status open if the member makes a request prior to the 
closure date.  The member can continue to use his or her ForwardHealth card until a decision is 
made regarding his or her eligibility.  

38.5.3 Homeless 

Make ID cards available to homeless BadgerCare Plus members who have no fixed address or 
mailing address.  Use your agency address or some other fixed address for delivery.  
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38.5.4 Pharmacy Services Lock-in Program 

Members enrolled in the Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program are assigned to one primary care 
provider and one pharmacy to reduce unnecessary physician and pharmacy utilization and to 
discourage the non-medical or excessive use of prescription drugs.  The Pharmacy Services 
Lock-In program applies to members in fee-for-service as well as members enrolled in Medicaid 
SSI HMOs and BadgerCare Plus HMOs. Members remain enrolled in the Pharmacy Services 
Lock-In Program for two years and are continuously monitored for their prescription drug usage. 
At the end of the two-year enrollment period, an assessment is made to determine if the member 
should continue enrollment in the Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program.  
   
The Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program monitors claims for pharmacy services and 
prescription drugs specifically. The Pharmacy Services Lock-In Program does not address other 
types of member fraud or misuse of benefits, such as misuse of the ForwardHealth identification 
card or excessive use of emergency room services.  
   
If a provider suspects that a member is abusing his or her benefits or misusing his or her 
ForwardHealth card, providers are required to notify ForwardHealth by calling Provider Services 
at (800) 947-9627 or by writing to the following office:    
   
Wisconsin Division of Health Care Access and Accountability  
Bureau of Program Integrity    
PO Box 309    
Madison WI  53701-0309  

38.5.5 Temporary Cards 

With implementation of the ForwardHealth ID card, temporary ID cards are no longer used or 
available for ordering from HP.  

38.5.6. Lost-Stolen Cards 

If a member needs a replacement card, he or she or an authorized representative , can request a 
replacement card by:  

1. Going to ACCESS  
• Create a MyACCESS Account, then 
• Go to your MyACCESS Page and select a new ForwardHealth Card, or 

 
 

2. Contacting Member Services at 1-800-362-3002.   

   
Workers may also log into the Partner Portal and select "Replacement ID Card Request” under 

https://access.wisconsin.gov/access/
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/ah/policy/1/1.2.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/ah/policy/4/4.9.htm
https://www.forwardhealth.wi.gov/WIPortal/
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the Quick Links on the right side of the page.  
   
If the member has multiple benefit ID cards, there will be a choice of which ID card to request. 
 A new ForwardHealth card will be created the evening of the request and will be sent out the 
following business day.    
   
Replacement cards are issued automatically when the card has been returned as undeliverable 
and the member’s address changes.    
   
You cannot request replacement cards using a F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) or 
CARES. 
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38.6 GOOD FAITH CLAIMS 

38.6.1 Definition of Good Faith Claims 
38.6.2 Denials 
38.6.3 Causes and Resolutions 
38.6.4 Process 
38.6.5 Instructions 

38.6.1 Definition of Good Faith Claims 

A Good Faith claim is a claim that has been denied by BadgerCare Plus with an eligibility-
related Explanation of Benefits (EOB) code.  This occurs even though the provider verified 
eligibility for the dates of service billed and submitted a correct and complete claim.  Providers 
can resubmit the claim to HP Enterprise Services to be processed as a Good Faith claim.  If the 
eligibility file has been updated by the time the claim is resubmitted, it will be paid 
automatically.  If the file still does not reflect eligibility for the period covered by the claim, HP 
Enterprise Services will try to resolve the eligibility discrepancy.  If they are unable to resolve it 
from the information available, they will contact the IM agency to verify eligibility.  The Good 
Faith form (F-10111) is used for this purpose.  A Good Faith claim cannot be reimbursed until 
the HP Enterprise Services member file is updated.  

38.6.2 Denials 

If a provider receives a claim denial for one of the following reasons on the Remittance Advice, 
the provider can resubmit it as a Good Faith claim 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.6hlf.htm
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
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R/A Report Denial 
Code 

Reason 

029 Medicaid number doesn’t match recipient’s last name. 
172 Recipient Medicaid ID number not eligible for dates of 

service. 
281 Recipient Medicaid ID number is incorrect.  Verify and 

correct the Medicaid number and resubmit claim. 
614 Medicaid number doesn’t match recipient’s first name. 

   

38.6.3 Causes and Resolutions 

Causes and a Good Faith claim can occur when:  

1. A member presents an ID card that is invalid because:  
a. You issued a temporary ID card for a prior period or manually determined case 
and didn’t update CARES or send HP Enterprise Services an F-10110 (formerly DES 
3070) to update the member’s eligibility file.  HP Enterprise Services will apply the dates 
of eligibility indicated on the card with med stat 71.  A letter will be sent to you to confirm 
that the member is eligible for the dates on the card.  The letter will include instructions 
on how to complete an F-10111 and the information that is needed. 
b. The provider suspects the member of misusing or abusing a ForwardHealth card 
(i.e. using an altered card or a card that belongs to someone else).  If the provider 
submits a copy of the card and HP Enterprise Services can tell that it was altered, HP 
Enterprise Services will contact you to verify that the member was eligible or forward it 
to the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability (DHCAA) for review. 
 
 

2. The member’s name has changed since the card was issued.  HP Enterprise 
Services can usually resolve claims that are denied with code "029” and "614”.  If 
necessary, HP Enterprise Services will contact you to confirm the information. 

   
With the implementation of the ForwardHealth cards, providers are less likely to receive one of 
the eligibility-related denials used for Good Faith claims submission.  Providers are told to verify 
eligibility using the variety of methods available to them through the Eligibility Verification 
System (EVS).  When the provider verifies the member’s eligibility, they are getting the most 
current information available on the ForwardHealth interChange.  Therefore, it is unlikely that 
they will be told the member is eligible when he or she is not.  
   
The most likely reason a Good Faith situation arises is when a provider sees a temporary paper 
ID card issued by the agency.  The provider may bill BadgerCare Plus before the eligibility is 
updated on ForwardHealth interChange, or perhaps the eligibility was never sent to 
ForwardHealth interChange.  In either case, if the member presents a valid temporary 
BadgerCare Plus ID card for the dates of service, and the provider sends a copy of the card with 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
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the Good Faith claim, HP Enterprise Services will update the member’s eligibility file with a 
good faith segment and pay the claim immediately.  
   
HP Enterprise Services will then attempt to resolve the discrepancy from information on file or 
contact you to confirm eligibility and correct the eligibility segment.  If the provider doesn’t send 
a copy of the ID card with the claim, HP Enterprise Services must confirm eligibility with you 
before the claim can be paid.    
   
The definition of a 'valid’ card is either a:  

1. Forward card that indicates eligibility for the dates of service through the EVS. 
2. A temporary paper card showing dates of eligibility. 

38.6.4 Process 

HP Enterprise Services initiate claim process by sending you a Good Faith form (F-10111) that 
they have partially completed, and one or two letters, depending on what documentation of 
eligibility the provider included with their claim.  Complete the F-10111 form if this is a new 
member (cert. 1) or return a new F-10110 (formerly DES 3070 ) for amended certifications (cert. 
3).  Send completed F-10111 forms to:  
   

Forward Health iChange 
P.O. Box 7636 
Madison, WI 53707-7636 
Fax: (608) 221-8815 

   
Send completed 3070 forms by: 
 
 

1. Mail:  HP Enterprise Services 
P.O. Box 7636 
Madison, WI 53707 

 
 

2. Fax: (608) 221-8815 

38.6.5 Instructions 

Agency Denial 
If the member identified on the Good Faith form was neither eligible nor possessed a valid ID 
card for the dates of service indicated in field six, place an "X” in this box.  If you check "Yes” 
here, you must also check the reason in the field below.  
   
Recipient Did Not Have ID Card After Date of Service 
Place an "X "in this box if you are certain that the member did not possess a valid ID card for the 
date of service.  In the blank provided, enter the closing date of eligibility.  

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
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Recipient Not Eligible 
Place an "X” in this box if the member was not eligible for any of the dates of service 
shown.  If the member was eligible for some of the dates of service, follow the 
instructions for completing the Partial Deny box. 
  
Record Not Found 
Place an "X” in this box if the member has never been eligible for BadgerCare Plus in 
your agency. 
  
Dates of Services 
HP Enterprise Services enters the dates of service for the claim. 
  
Partial Deny 
Use this field only if the member had eligibility for some of the dates of service.  Enter 
the "from” and "to” dates which cover the portion of the dates of service for which the 
member did not have eligibility. 
  
Type of Certification 
HP Enterprise Services will check one of these boxes: 
  

1. Initial Certification 
HP Enterprise Services will place an "X” in this box when the member and 
BadgerCare Plus ID number submitted on the claim cannot be found on the 
eligibility master file. 
2. Amended Certification 

HP Enterprise Services will place an "X” in this box when the member is on 
interChange, but no eligibility exists for the claimed dates of service. 

  
Agency Number 
HP Enterprise Services will enter the three-digit code of the agency they believe may 
have certified the member during the dates in question. 
  
Casehead ID Number 
HP Enterprise Services will enter the known or suspected interChange case number 
(primary person’s SSN + tie-breaker) of the member listed on the provider’s claim.   
  
Action Date 
HP Enterprise Services enters the date they completed the Good Faith form. 
  
Medical Status Code 
When HP Enterprise Services receives the provider’s claim along with a photocopy of 
an ID card, a hard copy response received through EVS or a transaction log number 
from the Automated Voice Response (AVR).  HP Enterprise Services compares the 
dates of service with the dates on the card.  If the dates of service fall within the dates of 
eligibility for the ID number on the card, HP Enterprise Services enters a "71” medical 
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status code and pays the claim immediately.  HP Enterprise Services then enters the 
eligibility dates for the entire month in which services were provided. 
  
If the member was eligible for the entire period of certification shown on the Good Faith 
form (F-10111) , remove the "71” medical status code and write in the correct code. 
 Attach an F-10110 (formerly DES 3070) to add the certification period and appropriate 
medical status code for the time when the member was eligible for BadgerCare Plus. 
  
Period of Certification 
If HP Enterprise Services has entered the suspected period of certification to be added 
to the member master file, check it for accuracy.  Then complete an F-10110 (formerly 
DES 3070) and enter the period of certification if the member file does not show 
eligibility for the time when the member was eligible or for the time covered by an ID 
card issued to the member. 
  
Control Name Year of Birth 
HP Enterprise Services will enter the suspected control name and year of birth (YOB) 
for the member.  This control name must be the first four letters of the member’s last 
name.  The YOB is the last two digits in the member’s year of birth.  Both of these items 
must match the information currently in the member’s HP Enterprise Services file. 
  
Current ID Number 
HP Enterprise Services will enter the member’s current ID number. 
  
Date of Birth 
HP Enterprise Services completes this field only for initial certifications.  Change this 
birth date if the date entered is incorrect.  Indicate birth date as MM/DD/CCYY. 
  
Signature of Agency Director 
Good Faith forms must have an authorized signature for initial certifications. 
  
Worker ID 
On initial certifications, enter the six-digit worker code of the certifying IM worker. 
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 38.7 IMPACT ON DUAL ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUALS 

Individuals who are enrolled in Medicare (Part A and/or B) and are eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
under a Title 19 (Medicaid) funded Med Stat Code (51.1), are referred to as Dual Eligible 
individuals.  Since January 1, 2006, Medicaid does not provide prescription drug coverage for 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F1/F10111.pdf
http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/38/38.7hlf.htm
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these individuals.  Instead these individuals receive prescription drug coverage through Medicare 
Part D.  
   
These Dual Eligible individuals are deemed eligible for "Extra Help” from CMS to help pay for 
their Medicare Part D drug costs.  
   
 A Medicare Part D Preferred Drug Plan (PDP) card will be issued to them and it must be used 
for prescription drugs instead of their Forward Card.  
   
For more information on Medicare Part D, see:  
http://www.medicare.gov/navigation/medicare-basics/medicare-benefits/part-d.aspx  
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BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services is a limited BadgerCare Plus benefit for 
documented immigrants who have not been in the U.S. for 5 years or more and for 
undocumented immigrants. 
  
A citizen is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services even when he or she 
cannot produce citizenship and/or identity verification. 
  

Example 1: Jill applies for BadgerCare Plus, declares U.S. citizenship and is asked 
to provide documents proving her citizenship and identity.  She has a driver license 
to prove identity but does not have anything to prove her citizenship.  Since 
Emergency Services BadgerCare Plus does not require proof of citizenship and 
identity as an eligibility requirement, she then asks to be considered for this 
program.  However, the IM worker cannot process BadgerCare Plus Emergency 
Services eligibility for persons declaring to be U.S. citizens.  BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services is reserved for non-qualifying non-citizens. 

  
Because Emergency Services is funded through Title XIX only those who would receive 
their BadgerCare Plus benefits under Title XIX are eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services.  Therefore, not everyone who meets the income limits for 
BadgerCare Plus qualifies for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services. 
  
Prior to April 2014, an immigrant who only met the eligibility criteria for the BadgerCare Plus 
Core Plan was not eligible for Emergency Services. Starting April 2014, immigrants who only 
meet the criteria for BadgerCare Plus under the childless adults’ coverage group under MAGI 
rules will also be ineligible for Emergency Services.  
   
An immigrant who is ineligible for BadgerCare Plus because of his or her immigration status is 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services coverage if: 
 
 

1. He or she meets the income limits listed in the chart below and 
2. Meets all other eligibility requirements, except having or applying for an SSN . 

  
BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services Income Limit Through January 31, 2014 
  

Group Income 
Pregnant Women Up to 300% FPL 
Newborns to age 1 Up to 300% FPL 
Children ages 1 - 5 Up to 185% FPL 
Children ages 6 - 18 Up to 150% FPL 
Former Foster Care Youth Any FPL Level 
Parents and Caretakers Up to 200% FPL 
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BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services Income Limit Effective February 1, 2014 
  
A 5% income disregard and 1% conversion factor will be applied to the Emergency 
Services income limit for pregnant women and children effective January 1, 2014. 
  

Group Income 
Pregnant Women Up to 306% FPL 
Newborns to age 1 Up to 306% FPL 
Children ages 1 - 5 Up to 191% FPL 
Children ages 6 - 18 Up to 156% FPL 
Former Foster Care Youth Any FPL Level 
Parents and Caretakers Up to 100% FPL 
  
Note:  Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants may be eligible under the BadgerCare Plus 
Prenatal Program. 
  
An emergency means a medical condition (including labor and delivery) that shows 
acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the lack of 
immediate medical treatment could result in one or more of the following: 
  

1. Serious jeopardy to the patient's health. 
2. Serious impairment to bodily functions. 
3. Serious dysfunction of a bodily organ or part. 

  
BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services covers : 
  

• Only those medical services needed for the treatment of an emergency 
medical condition. 
• All labor and delivery services for eligible non-qualifying immigrants. 

  
See Process Help Chapter 11.1, for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services manual application 
processing.  
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It is not the responsibility of the IM agency to determine if the applicant’s condition is or was an 
emergency condition and reimbursable under BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services.  The 
medical provider submits claims for emergency medical services to the fiscal agent .  The fiscal 
agent then determines if a condition is an emergency medical condition covered by BadgerCare 
Plus Emergency Services.  

39.2.1 Determining Eligibility 

It is the IM agency’s responsibility to manually determine if the non-qualifying immigrant meets 
all eligibility requirements during the dates of service and to certify if he or she is eligible for 
Emergency Services.  
   
Medicaid providers who have treated non-US citizens for emergency services can provide them 
with a form verifying that the services provided were to treat an emergency medical condition. 
 The form is “Certification of Emergency for Non-US Citizens (F-01162).  Providers are 
instructed to have the patient present this to the local IM agency when applying for assistance.  
   
Note: The F-01162 is not required to certify Emergency Services eligibility.  
   
If a non-qualifying immigrant provides a “Certification of Emergency for Non-U.S. Citizens” at 
the time of application , his or her eligibility for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services is 
determined for the dates of the emergency indicated on the form.  
   
If a non-qualifying immigrant does not have the form at the time of application, ask him or her 
for the dates that he or she received emergency services.  
   
Emergency Services coverage begins at the time of the first treatment for the emergency and 
ends when the condition is no longer an emergency.    
   
Determine eligibility of a pregnant immigrant on the date emergency services were provided. 
 The pregnancy due date is required to determine eligibility for pregnant immigrants.  (See 39.3 
for Emergency Services certification dates for pregnant women.)  
   

*If a non-qualifying immigrant would only qualify for BadgerCare Plus if he or she 
was disabled, follow disability determination procedures (including presumptive 
disability) before certifying Emergency Services eligibility. 
  

Certification of Emergency Services is not done through CARES and must be done manually. 
 However, all applications should be processed through CARES to determine BadgerCare Plus 
eligibility.  If the immigrant does not have an SSN , CARES will assign a pseudo SSN.  That 
pseudo SSN should be used when submitting the manual certification.  When an immigrant is 
determined eligible for Emergency Services, complete and submit a manual certification (F-
10110 or DES 3070). See Process Help 81.3. The fiscal agent needs a beginning and end date to 
process eligibility.  In setting the end date, use the last day of the emergency.  If that is not 
known, use the last day of the month in which the emergency is expected to end.  Use the AE 

http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F01162.pdf
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/F0/F01162.pdf
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm#81_3
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medical status code.  
   
Note: The Federally Facilitated Marketplace will send accounts to State consortia and tribal 
agencies for individuals who have been assessed as potentially eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services.  
   
The F-10110 may be submitted to the fiscal agent in the following ways: 
 
 

1. Mail: Forward Health iChange 

P.O. Box 7636 
Madison, WI 53707-7636 
  

 
 

2. Fax: (608) 221-8815 
  

An individual eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services will not receive a 
ForwardHealth card because BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services eligibility ends when the 
emergency ends.  
   
However, women determined eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program will be issued a 
ForwardHealth Card, which can also be used to access emergency services under the Emergency 
Services coverage group after the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program coverage ends.  

39.2.2 Providing Manual Positive or Negative Notice 

The IM agency must provide a manual positive or negative notice regarding the applicant’s 
eligibility.  Positive notices must provide the dates of eligibility for BadgerCare Plus Emergency 
Services.  Negative notices must provide the reason(s) for the denial or termination.  
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A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant may apply for emergency services up to one 
calendar month before her due date.  Certify an eligible pregnant non-qualifying 
immigrant from the date of application , if she applies no more than one calendar month 
prior to her due date, through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs 
following her due date.  Adjust the certification period based on the actual pregnancy 
end date, once it is known. 
  
Note: As of January 1, 2014, pregnancy is no longer required to be verified. 
  

Example 1: Sara is a pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applying for BadgerCare 
Plus Emergency Services.  Sara has two weeks until her due date, which is March 
3rd.  Certify Sara for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services from the date of 
application through the end of May. 

  
Example 2: Erica applied for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services because she 
was a pregnant non-qualifying immigrant on March 13th.  Her expected due date is 
April 5th.  Erica is certified for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services from March 
13th through the end of June.  Erica delivers her son on March 15th.  Her 
certification period should be adjusted from March 13th through the end of May. 

  
If a pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applies prior to the calendar month, before her 
due date, and she has not received a service, deny her BadgerCare Plus Emergency 
Services eligibility because she has not received a service. 
  
If a woman applies for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services, within three months after 
her pregnancy has ended, certify her from the pregnancy end date through the end of 
the month in which the 60th day occurs. 
  

Example 3: Vienne miscarries on April 5th, which is more than one month from her 
due date of July 15th.  Vienne applies on April 6th for BadgerCare Plus Emergency 
Services.  Certify Vienne for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services from April 5th 
through the end of June. 

  
Example 4: Guadeloupe was in a car accident and admitted to a Fort Atkinson 
Hospital on February 18th.  On March 15th,  Guadeloupe applied for BadgerCare 
Plus Emergency Services for both the February hospital stay and her pregnancy, 
with a verified due date of April 15th.  Certify Guadalupe for BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services from February 18th through the end of June. 

  
An immigrant who gives birth while enrolled in BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services 
remains eligible for emergency services for an additional 60 days after the last day of 
pregnancy through the end of the month in which the 60th day occurs.  The emergency 
does not have to be related to the pregnancy.   
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39.4 NEWBORNS 

Babies born to mothers covered under BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services are 
BadgerCare Plus eligible as continuously eligible newborns, if all other eligibility 
conditions are met.  (Chapter 8.2) 
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39.5 ELIGIBILITY BEGIN DATE FOR NON-QUALIFYING 
IMMIGRANTS WHO LOSE ELIGIBILITY FOR THE 
BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM 

A non-qualifying immigrant, who loses eligibility for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program (Chapter 41) when her pregnancy ends, or for any reason other than moving 
out of state, is eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services from the date she lost 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program eligibility.  Like other pregnant immigrants, these 
women should have BC + Emergency Services coverage through the end of the month 
in which the 60th day occurs, following her due date or the pregnancy end date, if that is 
known. 
  

Example 1: A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant is found eligible for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program.  Her expected due date is July 10th.  She is 
terminated effective April 30th from the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program due to 
non-payment of the BC premium.   CARES will send the fiscal agent a record 
terminating her BadgerCare Plus on April 30th, and send a record to certify her as 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services from May 1st through September 
30th. 

  
Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants who are not found eligible for the BC Prenatal 
Program should have BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services eligibility determined 
according to the instructions in 39.3. 
  

Example 2: A pregnant non-qualifying immigrant applies on January 15th.  Her 
expected due date is May 10th.  She is denied BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/39/39.3.htm
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BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

321 

eligibility due to access to health insurance through her employer.  To receive 
Emergency Services, she must re-apply no earlier than April 10th.  BadgerCare 
Plus Emergency Services eligibility continues through the end of the month 
following the 60th day after the pregnancy ends. 
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39.6 BADGERCARE PLUS DEDUCTIBLE 

Immigrants who apply for Emergency Services and who are under 19 years of age and 
ineligible due to access to health insurance or who are pregnant and have countable 
household income over 300% of the FPL, may become eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
Emergency Services through a BadgerCare Plus deductible. If, on the date he or she 
applies and he or she meets all other eligibility criteria, apply the same deductible 
policies to him or her as any other applicant. (Chapter 17) 
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40.1 FAMILY PLANNING ONLY SERVICES PROGRAM 

BadgerCare Plus Family Planning Only Services program (FPOS) provides limited benefits for 
family planning services for women and men with income at or below 300% of the FPL (under 
non-MAGI rules) or 306% FPL (under MAGI rules) and who are: 
 
 

1. Of child bearing or reproductive age, and 
2. Not enrolled in BadgerCare Plus or receiving other full benefit Medicaid. 

  
For more information about income disregards under MAGI rules, see 16.1.2. 
  
Individuals who are eligible for (FPOS) may be eligible to receive more than one limited benefit 
program.  
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These include:   
 

1. Tuberculosis-related (MEH 25.7) 

2. Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (MEH 32.2) 

3. Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (MEH 32.3). 

   
In certain circumstances, women enrolled in FPOS may be eligible for the Wisconsin Well 
Woman Medicaid plan.  (See MEH chapter 36)”    
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40.2 FPOS PRESUMPTIVE ELIGIBILITY (PE) 

40.2.1 Introduction  
40.2.2 Qualified Entities  
40.2.3 IM Agency  
40.2.4 Express Enrollment Process in ACCESS  

40.2.1 Introduction 

Note: Wisconsin’s presumptive eligibility programs are known by multiple terms: 
Express Enrollment, Temporary Enrollment, and Presumptive Eligibility. Express 
Enrollment (EE) is the online application in ACCESS for making PE determinations. 
Presumptive Eligibility (PE) is the determination of whether an applicant is eligible to 
temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus (BadgerCare Plus) or Family Planning Only 
Services (FPOS). Temporary Enrollment (TE) is when an applicant has been found 
eligible to temporarily enroll in BadgerCare Plus or FPOS. All such policy in this 
handbook will be collectively referred to as Presumptive Eligibility. 
  
FPOS temporary enrollment through a PE determination provides family planning services 
beginning on the day that a qualified provider determines that the individual has income at 306% 
FPL, and is: 
 
 

1. Of child bearing or reproductive age, and 
2. A Wisconsin resident, and 

http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/25/meh_25.7_tuberculosis.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/32/meh_32.2_qmb.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/meh-ebd/policy_files/32/meh_32.2_qmb.htm
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3. Not enrolled in BadgerCare Plus or receiving full benefit Medicaid, 
4. One of the following: 

  
For individuals under 19: 

• U.S. Citizen, or 
• Lawfully present in the United States (no requirement for the amount of 
time the person is lawfully present in the U.S.). 

  
For individuals age 19 and older: 

• U.S. Citizen; 
• Lawfully residing in the United Status under one of the eligible immigration 
statuses/situations listed in section 4.3.4. 

  
For more information about income disregards under MAGI rules, see 16.1.2.  
   
The qualified entity should refer non-citizens to the Income Maintenance Agency (IM) for a 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility determination.    
   
FPOS PE extends from the date that an individual is determined eligible by the qualified 
provider through either:  

1. The last day of the month following the month in which he or she was determined 
presumptively eligible, or   

2. If the individual applies for FPOS by the end of the month following the month in 
which he or she was found presumptively eligible, the enrollment period ends the 
day on which the agency determines his or her eligibility. 

   
FPOS PE can only be received once within a rolling 12-month period.  

40.2.2 Qualified Entities 

Qualified entities are certified ForwardHealth to make PE determinations. A qualified entity 
determines if an individual is eligible to temporarily enroll in FPOS. If the individual is eligible, 
the qualified entity will: 
 
 

1. Complete and sign the Temporary Enrollment for FPOS form (F-10119). 
Beginning September 28, 2014, qualified entities will be able to make PE 
determinations for FPOS using the Express Enrollment process in ACCESS. See 
ACCESS Handbook Chapter 12.” 

2. Complete the temporary ID card (F-10119) and give it to the member.  The 
certification dates are from the date FPOS PE is determined through the end of 
the month following the month in which the determination is made. 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/PrintFormsOnline.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/ah/ah.htm
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/PrintFormsOnline.htm
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3. Explain that the duration of a FPOS PE period depends on when the member 
applies for BadgerCare Plus and ongoing FPOS benefits through the local IM 
agency. 

a. If the member applies for ongoing FPOS by the end of the month following 
the month in which he or she was determined eligible for FPOS PE, the 
ongoing FPOS period begins the first of the month in which the member 
applied and is found eligible.  The FPOS PE period ends the day before 
the members ongoing FPOS period begins. 
  

Example 1: Amber applied for FPOS PE on September 19th.  She is temporarily enrolled 
through October 31st.  
   
Amber applied for ongoing FPOS on November 2nd and was found eligible.  Amber’s 
ongoing FPOS begins November 1st, and ends October 31st of the following year. Amber 
did not request a three month backdate. 

 
 

b. If the member does not apply by the end of the second month following 
the month in which he or she was  determined eligible for FPOS PE, the 
FPOS PE period ends the last day of the second month following the 
month in which the member was determined eligible for FPOS PE. 
  

Example 2: Brenda applied for FPOS PE on April 3, 2011. Her FPOS PE continues through 
May 31, 2011.  Brenda does not apply for ongoing FPOS until August 15, 2011 and is found 
eligible. Brenda requests a backdate of the FPOS for  three months and is found eligible. 
Her FPOS is backdated to May 1, 2011. 

 
 

4. Send a copy of the completed F-10119 to the fiscal agent within five days of 
completion. 

40.2.3 IM Agency 

If an individual applies for ongoing FPOS at the IM agency on or before the last day of the FPOS 
PE period: 
   

1. Verify the member is presumptively by checking ForwardHealth interChange for 
a medical status code of PF. 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/PrintFormsOnline.htm
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2. Consider the application filed if the member's name, address and signature are 
on the application. 

3. If you are unable to finish processing the application, by the end of the FPOS 
PE period, submit an F-10110 to extend the FPOS PE period for an additional 
calendar month. 

40.2.4 Express Enrollment Process in ACCESS 

Refer to ACCESS Handbook Chapter 12 for more information on determining 
presumptive eligibility for BadgerCare Plus using the Express Enrollment process in 
ACCESS. 
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40.3 FPOS APPLICATION 

Eligibility for FPOS begins on the first of the month of application , if all non-financial (40.4) 
and financial (40.5) eligibility requirements are met.  FPOS may be backdated up to three 
months from the month of application  
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The following are FPOS specific non-financial requirements: 
 
 

1. Of child bearing or reproductive age, 
2. A Wisconsin resident, and 

3. Not be enrolled in BadgerCare Plus or receiving other full benefit Medicaid. 
4. One of the following: 

For individuals under age 19: 
• Lawfully residing in the United States (no requirement for the amount of 
time the person is lawfully present in the U.S.). 

For non-pregnant individuals age 19 and older: 
• U.S. Citizen; or 
• Lawfully residing in the United States under one of the eligible immigration 
statuses/situations listed in section 4.3.4. 

5. Meet all BadgerCare Plus non-financial criteria (See Section 2.1) with the 
exceptions listed below: 

• An individual applying for or receiving BadgerCare Plus FPOS is not 
subject to the health insurance access or coverage policies. 

• An individual applying for or receiving BadgerCare Plus FPOS is not 
required to cooperate with Medical Support, unless he or she is also 
applying for or receiving BadgerCare Plus for any child for whom he or 
she is the caretaker relative . 

• An individual applying for or receiving BadgerCare Plus FPOS is not 
required to cooperate with Third Party Liability (TPL), unless he or she is 
also applying for or receiving BadgerCare Plus for any child for whom he 
or she is the caretaker relative. 

• Any individual applying for or receiving FPOS who refuses to cooperate 
with MSL or TPL requirements when he or she has a child in the home who 
is receiving BadgerCare Plus or Medicaid, is ineligible for FPOS unless he 
or she is under 19 or has Good Cause. 
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40.5.1 Financial Eligibility Requirements Specific to FPOS 

The following specific financial eligibility requirements apply to FPOS members, 
regardless of the methodology used to determine his or her FPOS income: 
  

1. Countable income calculated in the application month is used to determine the 
member's financial eligibility for the entire 12-month eligibility period. Income 
changes do not need to be reported until the next review. 

2. Any change in income or household size reported after confirmation for FPOS 
during the 12-month eligibility period is only applied if it results in enrollment in 
BadgerCare Plus with no premium or eligibility for other full benefit Medicaid. 

3. All changes in income or household composition that result in enrollment in 
BadgerCare Plus with no premium or eligibility for other full benefit Medicaid will 
result in FPOS closure prior to the 12th month. 

4. All changes in income will be applied at the 12-month FPOS eligibility renewal. 

40.5.2 Income Under MAGI Rules 

Because FPOS eligibility is determined based on a group size of one, the applicant’s 
taxable earned and unearned income is the only income that should be used when 
calculating their income for purposes of FPOS eligibility under MAGI rules. When a child 
under 19 is applying, their parents’ income is not included in his or her eligibility 
determination. If a married individual is applying for FPOS coverage, do not include the 
income of the spouse, even if he or she is living with his or her spouse. 
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40.6 FPOS GROUP   
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For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, increase the FPOS group by one for each fetus a pregnant 
woman in the FPOS group is carrying. 

Example: Samantha and Howard are married, and have two minor daughters, 
Shannon and Colleen. Shannon is pregnant. Samantha is only requesting FPOS for 
herself, and is requesting BadgerCare Plus for her two daughters. 
  
Shannon and Colleen are found eligible for BadgerCare Plus. In building the FPOS 
group, Shannon, Shannon’s fetus, and Colleen are counted children. Howard is part of 
the FPOS group, because he is legally responsible for Samantha. The FPOS group 
size is five for Samantha. 

40.6.2 Children 18 years of Age 

For non-MAGI based FPOS groups, children under 19 who are applying for FPOS are a group of 
one, unless he or she is married and/or has children. Parents are not included in the group.  

40.6.3 FPOS Group under MAGI Rules 

For all individuals, including children under 19, whose eligibility for FPOS is determined 
under MAGI rules, the group size of the applicant will always be one, regardless of his 
or her marital status, pregnancy status, and whether or not he or she has children or tax 
dependents. 
  

40.6.4 Transitioning to MAGI Rules 

Current FPOS members whose eligibility for the program is based on non-MAGI rules 
will transition to MAGI rules in the same manner as BadgerCare Plus members: on 
March 31, 2014 or their regularly scheduled 2014 renewal, whichever is later. 
  
All applicants to the FPOS program who apply on or after February 1, 2014 will have his 
or her eligibility determined under MAGI rules. 
  
   
   
   
   

  
This page last updated in Release Number: 14-01 

Release Date: 02/07/14 
Effective Date: 02/01/14 

View History 

40.7 FPOS PROGRAM CHOICE   

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/40/40.7hlf.htm


BadgerCare Plus Eligibility Handbook Release 16-02 

329 

An individual applying for both BadgerCare Plus and FPOS may request at any time to 
discontinue enrollment in BadgerCare Plus in order to receive only FPOS. Change the health 
care request on the program request page to "No” in order to receive the FPOS.  
   
An individual applying for both BadgerCare Plus and FPOS is not given a choice at the time of 
confirmation if he or she meets the eligibility for both benefits. He or she will be enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus.  
   
An individual found to be eligible for a deductible may also be eligible for FPOS benefits during 
a deductible period. The member may receive FPOS benefits until he or she has met a 
deductible. The member can report any out-of-pocket medical bills incurred while he or she is 
receiving services through FPOS, in order to meet a deductible. Once a deductible has been met, 
he or she is receiving full-benefit BadgerCare Plus/ Medicaid, and is no longer eligible for 
FPOS. However, he or she will continue to receive the same family planning services through 
BadgerCare Plus/Medicaid. 

Example: Theresa is an 18-year-old woman applying for Medicaid, BadgerCare Plus and 
FPOS for herself and for BadgerCare Plus for her daughter Sara (age three). She is found to 
be eligible for BadgerCare Plus with a premium or a deductible.  If Theresa chooses 
BadgerCare Plus, she is required to pay a premium but would be able to receive family 
planning services through BadgerCare Plus as well as having coverage for her whole family. 
 If she chooses the deductible, she can receive family planning-related services through 
FPOS until her deductible has been met. 
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40.8 FPOS CHANGES 

Members receiving FPOS only are not required to report changes in income or household 
composition during the 12-month certification period.  However, FPOS members are still 
required to report all other changes that would result in ineligibility such as moving out of state, 
incarceration, etc. within 10 days of the change.  
   
Changes reported in household composition or income resulting in ineligibility will not affect 
FPOS benefits for the remainder of the 12-month certification period. Eligibility is put into an 
extension phase until the end of the 12-month certification period or until the member reports an 
income decrease that is again below the FPOS income limit.  
   
Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the member’s eligibility is 
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determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS assistance groups will only include the 
member in the household composition, regardless of his or her living arrangement.  
   
Changes reported in income or household composition resulting in eligibility for BadgerCare 
Plus should be applied.  If there is a request for BadgerCare Plus on file, he or she will be found 
eligible for BadgerCare Plus.  At that time, FPOS will end.  
   
FPOS eligibility terminates when a member loses non-financial eligibility. Terminate eligibility, 
using adverse action logic, when she: 
 

1. Moves out of state. 
2. Is 19 years or over and is no longer cooperating with TPL, Medical Support, or 

Social Security Number (SSN) requirements. 
3. Enrolls in BadgerCare Plus or becomes eligible for other full benefit Medicaid. 
4. Becomes an inmate of a public institution. 
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40.9 FPOS BADGERCARE PLUS EXTENSION PHASE 

An FPOS member enters into a FPOS extension phase if a change is reported at any time during 
the 12-month certification period in income or household composition that results in income that 
exceeds the FPOS income limit.  
   
The extension continues until the renewal date that was originally set for the FPOS 
eligibility. 
  
Note: Household composition changes will not affect eligibility when the member’s 
eligibility is determined using MAGI rules in 2014, as all FPOS assistance groups will 
only include the member in the household composition, regardless of his or her living 
arrangement. 
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40.10 FPOS REVIEWS AND RECERTIFICATIONS 

A renewal/recertification (Chapter 26) is required every 12 months, after an initial eligibility 
determination.  At the time of the FPOS renewal, income and household composition are again 
tested against the FPOS eligibility criteria.  
   
If a member completes a renewal for another program of assistance at any time during the 12 
month FPOS certification period and the information collected from that renewal indicates that 
she still meets FPOS eligibility requirements, the FPOS renewal date will be set 12 months from 
that renewal date.  
   
If a member completes a renewal for another program of assistance at any time before the 12th 
month of FPOS eligibility ends, and no longer meets the FPOS eligibility requirements, he or she 
will enter into an FPOS extension phase. He or she will be required to complete a renewal at the 
end of the original 12-month certification period.  If at this renewal, he or she is found to still 
have income in excess of the FPOS limit, eligibility for FPOS ends.  
   
Through December 31, 2013, FPOS cases can be selected for administrative renewal (26.1.2). 
These cases must meet all the following criteria to be selected for this process: 
 
 

• No child in household turning 18 in current or next month 
• Countable income of individuals age 18 and above at or below 275% of the FPL. 

   
Administrative renewals for FPOS case will not be allowed in 2014.  
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Members applying for or receiving FPOS benefits will have all of the confidentiality protections 
as other BadgerCare Plus applicants, as well as the following additional confidentiality 
protections: 
 
 

1. If requested, member can have written communication sent to an alternate 
address instead of the home address. 

2. Minors are not referred to child support. 
3. Eligibility information regarding minors who apply independently for FPOS is kept 

confidential from parents or guardians, unless the member gives clear consent 
for release of the information. 
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41 BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
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41.1 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM 

The BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program provides coverage for women who: 
• Meet the non-financial and financial eligibility requirements for 
BadgerCare Plus outside of incarceration or immigration status 
• Have verified pregnancies, and 
• Are not eligible for BadgerCare Plus because they are either inmates of a 
public institution or Non-qualifying immigrants. 

  
Note: Pregnancy will no longer be verified for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
beginning on January 1, 2014. Only verify pregnancy if the worker has information that 
contradicts the member or applicant’s self-declared information. 
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41.2 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM 
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

Pregnant women (or when applicable, their assistance group), must meet the following 
BadgerCare Plus eligibility requirements to qualify for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program: 
  

1. The applicant’s net countable income must not exceed 300% of the FPL 
(under non-MAGI rules) or 306% of the FPL (under MAGI rules). 
2. The applicant must not have current or past access to an employer’s 
health insurance benefit where the employer pays 80% or more of the premium 
cost or to any State of Wisconsin health insurance plan. 
3. The applicant must provide any required verifications. 

  
Note: For eligibility beginning on or after January 1, 2014, pregnancy will only be 
verified if the worker has information that contradicts the applicant’s self-declared 
information. 
  
4. The applicant must not have health insurance coverage (Chapter 7) 
through any HIPAA standard plan now or in the three calendar months prior to 
the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal request. 

41.2.1 Unique Aspects of BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 

1. Providing an SSN is not an eligibility requirement for either inmates or 
non-qualifying immigrants applying for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
2. Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is not an eligibility 
requirement for this program. 
3. Unlike regular BadgerCare Plus which locks in eligibility throughout the 
pregnancy, BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program eligibility may be terminated with 
timely notice for failure to meet any of the BadgerCare Plus eligibility 
requirements listed in 41.1. 
4. There is no Presumptive Eligibility for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program. Eligibility for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program may only be 
determined by the IM agencies. 
5. There is no 3-month backdating option available for Prenatal Program 
members. 
6. Unlike BadgerCare Plus for Pregnant Women, Prenatal Program 
members are not eligible for the 60-day pregnancy extension, but are eligible for 
Emergency Services during that time. 
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41.3 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL POLICY FOR NON-
QUALIFYING IMMIGRANTS 

1. For immigrants who are legally present in the United States, verify 
immigration status through normal SAVE procedures in order to determine 
eligibility for BadgerCare Plus.  If SAVE verifies the pregnant woman is a non-
qualifying immigrant, proceed with determining eligibility for the BadgerCare Plus 
Prenatal Program. 
2. For immigrants who do not have legal immigration status, do not request 
SAVE verification and continue with the determination of eligibility for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
3. A non-qualifying immigrant whose immigration status changes while she is 
pregnant and receiving BadgerCare Plus Prenatal benefits must have her 
eligibility re-determined using the new immigration status.  If her new status 
makes her eligible for BadgerCare Plus for Pregnant Women, she is no longer 
eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
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41.4 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM POLICY 
FOR INMATES 

1. Inmates will always be considered to be residing in the county where the 
jail or prison facility is located. 

  
2. An inmate who is released from jail or prison while receiving BadgerCare 
Plus Prenatal Program must have her eligibility re-determined based on her new 
circumstances. Once released from an institution, she is no longer eligible for the 
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 
  

Note: When a BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program member notifies the IM agency that 
she has become a citizen or qualifying immigrant, or is released from prison or jail, 
CARES will redetermine BadgerCare Plus eligibility based on the new information. 
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41.5 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM 
ELIGIBILITY BEGIN DATE 

BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program eligibility begins no sooner than the first of the 
month in which a valid application is received. For applicants whose eligibility is 
beginning prior to December 31, 2013, the pregnancy must be verified before eligibility 
can begin. 
  

Example: An application for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program is received on 
October 20, 2013.  The agency does not receive a verification of the pregnancy 
until November 5th. BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program is denied for October due 
to lack of pregnancy verification in that month.  If the woman is otherwise eligible for 
the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program, eligibility may begin on November 1st. 

  
Pregnant non-qualifying immigrants who are not eligible for the BadgerCare Plus 
Prenatal Program should have Emergency Services eligibility determined according to 
policy in (Chapter 39). 
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41.6 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL ELIGIBILITY END 
DATE 

BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program eligibility ends when the pregnancy ends. Benefits 
will continue through the end of the month following timely notice requirements. 
  
Non-qualifying immigrants who lose eligibility for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program 
when their pregnancy ends, for any reason other than moving out of state, are eligible 
for Emergency Services (Chapter 39) from the time they lose BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program eligibility. 
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41.7 DETERMINING BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL 
GROUP 

41.7.1 The BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Group through January, 31, 2014 
41.7.2 The BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Group after February 1, 2014 
  

41.7.1 The BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Group through January 31, 2014 

For individuals who applied prior to January 31, 2014, continue to form the BadgerCare 
Plus Prenatal group according to the following rules: 
  

1. If a pregnant woman is in a household where her spouse or her children 
are eligible, or applying for BadgerCare Plus, she is to be included in the 
BadgerCare Plus group with the other non-financially eligible members of her 
family. Include the number of verified fetuses when determining the BadgerCare 
Plus group size.  If the number is not verified, always count one fetus. 

  
2. Pregnant inmates must always be considered to be living alone. If the 
inmate is married while incarcerated, consider her to be separated (ignore the 
spouse) when determining eligibility. The pregnant inmate’s BadgerCare Plus 
group size will always include herself and the number of fetuses she is carrying. 

  
Note: Women in the Huber program who are eligible for BadgerCare Plus are not 
eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program. 

  
3. Pregnant Non-qualifying immigrants who have no other born children in 
the home will have their financial eligibility determined in the same way as 
pregnant women applying for BadgerCare Plus. The BadgerCare Plus group size 
will only include the woman, the fetuses and her spouse. If the pregnant 
immigrant is a minor living with her parent(s), the parent(s) will be included in the 
BadgerCare Plus Test Group. 

  
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program Group Examples 
  

Household Test Group 
Size 

Participation Status 

Mom and fetus 2 EA 
Mom and fetus, 
boyfriend/alleged 
father 

2 EA XA 

Mom and fetus, 3 EA CA 
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spouse 
Mom and fetus, 
father, and child-
in-common 
eligible for BC 

4 EA 
  

EA 
  

EC 

Minor Mom and 
fetus and Minor’s 
parents (2) 

4 EC EA 
  

EA 
  

  

41.7.2 The BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Group After February 1, 2014 

Effective February 1, 2014, all new applicants for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program will have their eligibility determined under MAGI rules. Follow the rules outlined 
in Chapter 2 in order to form group size. 
  
Beginning January 1, 2014, pregnancy, the number of fetuses, and the due date are not 
required to be verified unless the worker has information that contradicts the applicant’s 
self-declared information. The effective begin date for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal 
Program is the first of the month in which they apply and are otherwise eligible. 
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41.8 BADGERCARE PLUS PRENATAL PROGRAM BENEFIT 
INFORMATION 

Women determined eligible for the BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program receive a 
ForwardHealth card, which can also be used to access emergency services under 
BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services only after BadgerCare Plus ends. 
  
BadgerCare Plus Prenatal Program and BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services 
members will not be enrolled in an HMO. Services will only be provided on a fee-for-
service basis. 
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42.0 LONG-TERM CARE FOR CHILDLESS ADULTS 

Institutionalized childless adults who do not meet the eligibility criteria for EBD Medicaid 
but are eligible for BadgerCare Plus under the MAGI rules are eligible to have their LTC 
services covered by BadgerCare Plus if they are functionally eligible. "Institutionalized" 
means the individual has resided in a medical institution for 30 or more consecutive 
days or is likely to reside in a medical institution for 30 or more consecutive days. 

42.1 Long-term Care Eligibility Requirements for Childless Adults 
Eligible for BadgerCare Plus 

In order to be eligible to have their LTC services covered by BadgerCare Plus while 
they are institutionalized,  childless adults need to meet the following requirements: 

• They do not meet the eligibility criteria for EBD Medicaid. This includes any of the 
following: 

o They do not meet the asset test for EBD Medicaid. 
o They do not meet the income test for EBD Medicaid. 
o They fail to provide or verify asset information or any other information 

needed to determine EBD Medicaid eligibility. 
o They have not yet been determined disabled. 
o They have not yet been determined presumptively disabled. 

• They are eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a childless adult. 
• They have not divested in order to qualify for receipt of LTC services. 

Institutionalized childless adults who divest are not eligible for LTC services 
although they remain eligible for Medicaid services. 

• They disclose information about any annuities purchased on or after January 1, 
2009, in which they or their community spouse have an interest. 

• They designate the state of Wisconsin as the remainder beneficiary of any 
annuities purchased or created on or after January 1, 2009. 

• If they own their own home, the equity interest in the home must not exceed 
$750,000 (see the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Section 16.8.1.4 Home Equity 
over $750,000.00) in order to receive LTC services. 

• They assign to the state of Wisconsin their rights to payments from a nursing 
home, hospital, or LTC insurance policy and send any payments to the state of 
Wisconsin that they received from a nursing home, hospital, or LTC insurance 
carrier while receiving BadgerCare Plus. 
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42.2 PATIENT LIABILITY, ESTATE RECOVERY, AND OTHER 
POLICIES FOR CHILDLESS ADULTS ELIGIBLE FOR 
BADGERCARE PLUS WHILE IN LONG-TERM CARE 

The following conditions apply to any childless adult who is eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
under the MAGI rules while institutionalized: 

• The individual does not have any nursing home patient liability. 
• The individual is still subject to regular copayments for medical services unless 

his or her net countable income is equal to $0. 
• The individual is exempt from HMO enrollment unless he or she is enrolled in a 

Family Care MCO, in which case, the individual can continue to be enrolled in the 
Family Care MCO. 

• The individual is not subject to an asset limit. 
• The individual is not subject to having a lien put on his or her home (see the 

Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Section 22.1.4 Liens). 
• The LTC services the individual receives are not subject to estate recovery (see 

the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook Section 22.1.2 Recoverable Services) unless 
the individual is 55 years old or older. 
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42.3 INSTITUTIONALIZED INDIVIDUALS DETERMINED 
ELIGIBLE FOR ELDERLY, BLIND, OR DISABLED MEDICAID 

The conditions outlined in Section 42.2 Patient Liability, Estate Recovery, and Other 
Policies for Childless Adults Eligible for BadgerCare Plus While in Long-term Care only 
apply to institutionalized individuals while they remain eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a 
childless adult. When an institutionalized individual has been determined eligible for 
EBD Medicaid, he or she is not eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a childless adult. When 
an individual becomes eligible for LTC under EBD Medicaid rules, he or she is subject 
to regular estate recovery rules and will have to pay the monthly nursing home patient 
liability. If the individual later becomes ineligible for EBD Medicaid, he or she may again 
become eligible for BadgerCare Plus under MAGI rules. 
  

Example 1: Andrew is institutionalized and is eligible for BadgerCare Plus as a 
childless adult under the MAGI rules. BadgerCare Plus covers his LTC services. 
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Andrew starts receiving Medicare on August 1, so he is no longer eligible for 
BadgerCare Plus as a childless adult as of August 1. To continue receiving 
coverage for LTC services, Andrew would have to meet all regular EBD Medicaid 
eligibility criteria. He would then be subject to regular estate recovery rules and 
patient liability. 

  
Example 2: Jana is an institutionalized childless adult eligible for BadgerCare Plus 
and is waiting on a disability determination. She will receive coverage for LTC 
services under BadgerCare Plus until the agency receives and processes the 
disability determination. Once this happens, if she meets all other criteria for EBD 
Medicaid (including providing asset information and meeting the asset test), she will 
begin receiving coverage of LTC services under EBD Medicaid. However, if Jana 
still does not meet all of the eligibility criteria for EBD Medicaid (for example, 
because she fails to verify assets), she will continue to receive coverage for LTC 
services under BadgerCare Plus as long as she continues to meet all of the 
eligibility criteria for BadgerCare Plus. 
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43.1 BADGERCARE PLUS CORE PLAN 

The BadgerCare Plus Core Plan ended on March 31, 2014. This entire chapter has 
been removed. To see policy history about the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan, refer to 
Chapter 43 in the archived PDF versions of the BadgerCare Plus Handbook prior to 
Release 14-02. 
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TABLES (CHAPTERS 48-52) 

48 Premiums 

View History 

48.1 BADGERCARE PLUS PREMIUM TABLES 

48.1.1 Premiums for Children 

Under MAGI rules, non-exempt children whose BadgerCare Plus eligibility is 
determined under MAGI rules and with an assistance group income above 201 percent 
of the FPL will be required to pay premiums. Each child’s premium will be based on his 
or her own assistance group’s size and income. The five percent cap for the cost of total 
household premiums for children will continue to apply. The cap will be five percent of 
the income of the premium paying assistance group with the highest countable income 
amount. The total household’s premiums will be determined based on the combined 
amount of all children’s premiums or the five percent cap, whichever amount is less. 
See Section 19.2 Premium Calculations and Section 19.3 Premium Limits for more 
information on premium caps. 
  
The below table outlines the premium amounts for children whose income is determined 
under MAGI rules. 
  

 
  
Note: Children in extensions are not required to pay premiums (see Section 19.1 
BadgerCare Plus Premiums). If a parent in the household is in an extension, the 
children are exempt from paying premiums regardless of their income. 

48.1.2 Premiums for Adults 

The tables below provide the range of premiums for adults in BadgerCare Plus based 
on family size and income level. The amounts listed for households with incomes over 
200 percent of the FPL apply to families in a BadgerCare Plus Extension and to 
members whose income increases after their renewal approval. 
  
BadgerCare Plus parents, caretakers, and childless adults with income at or below 100 
percent of the FPL are not required to pay premiums. Non-exempt parents and 
caretakers in an extension with income above 133 percent of the FPL are required to 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/48/48.1hlf.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/3/19/19.2.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/3/19/19.3.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/3/19/19.1.htm
http://www.emhandbooks.wisconsin.gov/bcplus/policyfiles/3/19/19.1.htm


48.1 BadgerCare Plus Premium Tables 

344 

pay premiums. Effective with extensions that begin on or after April 1, 2014, non-
exempt parents and caretakers in an extension with income between 100 and 133 
percent of the FPL are required to pay premiums starting in the seventh calendar month 
of their extension. 
  
Click the link below to see the premiums for different assistance groups. 
  
Family Size 1 
Family Size 2 
Family Size 3 
Family Size 4 
Family Size 5 

Family Size 6 
Family Size 7 
Family Size 8 
Family Size 9 
Family Size 10 

  
  

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income 
Premium 

Rate 
Monthly 
Premium 

Range 

1 

100.01–
133% 

$990.01–
1,316.70 

2.0% $20–26 

133.01–
139.99% 

$1,316.71–
1,385.99 

3.0% $40–42 

140–
149.99% 

$1,386.00–
1,484.99 

3.5% $49–52 

150–
159.99% 

$1,485.00–
1,583.99 

4.0% $59–63 

160–
169.99% 

$1,584.00–
1,682.99 

4.5% $71–76 

170–
179.99% 

$1,683.00–
1,781.99 

4.9% $82–87 

180–
189.99% 

$1,782.00–
1,880.99 

5.4% $96–102 

190–
199.99% 

$1,881.00–
1,979.99 

5.8% $109–
115 

200–
209.99% 

$1,980.00–
2,078.99 

6.3% $125–
131 

210–
219.99% 

$2,079.00–
2,177.99 

6.7% $139–
146 

220–
229.99% 

$2,178.00–
2,276.99 

7.0% $152–
159 

230–
239.99% 

$2,277.00–
2,375.99 

7.4% $168–
176 

240–
249.99% 

$2,376.00–
2,474.99 

7.7% $183–
191 

250–
259.99% 

$2,475.00–
2,573.99 

8.1% $200–
208 
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260–
269.99% 

$2,574.00–
2,672.99 

8.3% $214–
222 

270–
279.99% 

$2,673.00–
2,771.99 

8.6% $230–
238 

280–
289.99% 

$2,772.00–
2,870.99 

8.9% $247–
256 

290–
299.99% 

$2,871.00–
2,969.99 

9.2% $264–
273 

300%+ $2,970.00+ 9.5% $282+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
  
  

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate 
Monthly 
Premium 

Range 

2 

100.01–
133% 

$1,335.01–
1,775.55 2.0% $27–36 

133.01–
139.99% 

$1,775.56–
1,868.99 3.0% $53–56 

140–
149.99% 

$1,869.00–
2,002.49 3.5% $65–70 

150–
159.99% 

$2,002.50–
2,135.99 4.0% $80–85 

160–
169.99% 

$2,136.00–
2,269.49 4.5% $96–102 

170–
179.99% 

$2,269.50–
2,402.99 4.9% $111–118 

180–
189.99% 

$2,403.00–
2,536.49 5.4% $130–137 

190–
199.99% 

$2,536.50–
2,669.99 5.8% $147–155 

200–
209.99% 

$2,670.00–
2,803.49 6.3% $168–177 

210–
219.99% 

$2,803.50–
2,936.99 6.7% $188–197 

220–
229.99% 

$2,937.00–
3,070.49 7.0% $206–215 

230–
239.99% 

$3,070.50–
3,203.99 7.4% $227–237 

240–
249.99% 

$3,204.00–
3,337.49 7.7% $247–257 

250– $3,337.50– 8.1% $270–281 
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259.99% 3,470.99 
260–

269.99% 
$3,471.00–
3,604.49 8.3% $288–299 

270–
279.99% 

$3,604.50–
3,737.99 8.6% $310–321 

280–
289.99% 

$3,738.00–
3,871.49 8.9% $333–345 

290–
299.99% 

$3,871.50–
4,004.99 9.2% $356–368 

300%+ $4,005.00+ 9.5% $380+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
  
  
Family 

Size FPL% Monthly 
Income Premium Rate Monthly 

Premium Range 

3 

100.01–
133% 

$1,680.01–
2,234.40 

2.0% $34–45 

133.01–
139.99% 

$2,234.41–
2,351.99 

3.0% $67–71 

140–
149.99% 

$2,352.00–
2,519.99 

3.5% $82–88 

150–
159.99% 

$2,520.00–
2,687.99 

4.0% $101–108 

160–
169.99% 

$2,688.00–
2,855.99 

4.5% $121–129 

170–
179.99% 

$2,856.00–
3,023.99 

4.9% $140–148 

180–
189.99% 

$3,024.00–
3,191.99 

5.4% $163–172 

190–
199.99% 

$3,192.00–
3,359.99 

5.8% $185–195 

200–
209.99% 

$3,360.00–
3,527.99 

6.3% $212–222 

210–
219.99% 

$3,528.00–
3,695.99 

6.7% $236–248 

220–
229.99% 

$3,696.00–
3,863.99 

7.0% $259–270 

230–
239.99% 

$3,864.00–
4,031.99 

7.4% $286–298 

240–
249.99% 

$4,032.00–
4,199.99 

7.7% $310–323 

250– $4,200.00– 8.1% $340–354 
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259.99% 4,367.99 
260–

269.99% 
$4,368.00–
4,535.99 

8.3% $363–376 

270–
279.99% 

$4,536.00–
4,703.99 

8.6% $390–405 

280–
289.99% 

$4,704.00–
4,871.99 

8.9% $419–434 

290–
299.99% 

$4,872.00–
5,039.99 

9.2% $448–464 

300%+ $5,040.00+ 9.5% $479+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
  
  
Family 

Size FPL% Monthly 
Income Premium Rate Monthly 

Premium Range 

4 

100.01–
133% 

$2,025.01–
2,693.25 

2.0% $41–54 

133.01–
139.99% 

$2,693.26–
2,834.99 

3.0% $81–85 

140–
149.99% 

$2,835.00–
3,037.49 

3.5% $99–106 

150–
159.99% 

$3,037.50–
3,239.99 

4.0% $122–130 

160–
169.99% 

$3,240.00–
3,442.49 

4.5% $146–155 

170–
179.99% 

$3,442.50–
3,644.99 

4.9% $169–179 

180–
189.99% 

$3,645.00–
3,847.49 

5.4% $197–208 

190–
199.99% 

$3,847.50–
4,049.99 

5.8% $223–235 

200–
209.99% 

$4,050.00–
4,252.49 

6.3% $255–268 

210–
219.99% 

$4,252.50–
4,454.99 

6.7% $285–298 

220–
229.99% 

$4,455.00–
4,657.49 

7.0% $312–326 

230–
239.99% 

$4,657.50–
4,859.99 

7.4% $345–360 

240–
249.99% 

$4,860.00–
5,062.49 

7.7% $374–390 

250– $5,062.50– 8.1% $410–426 
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259.99% 5,264.99 
260–

269.99% 
$5,265.00–
5,467.49 

8.3% $437–454 

270–
279.99% 

$5,467.50–
5,669.99 

8.6% $470–488 

280% - 
289.99% 

$5,670.00–
5,872.49 

8.9% $505–523 

290% - 
299.99% 

$5,872.50–
6,074.99 

9.2% $540–559 

300%+ $6,075.00+ 9.5% $577+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
   
   

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

5 

100.01–
133% 

$2,370.01–
3,152.10 

2.0% $47–63 

133.01–
139.99% 

$3,152.11–
3,317.99 

3.0% $95–100 

140–
149.99% 

$3,318.00–
3,554.99 

3.5% $116–124 

150–
159.99% 

$3,555.00–
3,791.99 

4.0% $142–152 

160–
169.99% 

$3,792.00–
4,028.99 

4.5% $171–181 

170–
179.99% 

$4,029.00–
4,265.99 

4.9% $197–209 

180–
189.99% 

$4,266.00–
4,502.99 

5.4% $230–243 

190–
199.99% 

$4,503.00–
4,739.99 

5.8% $261–275 

200–
209.99% 

$4,740.00–
4,976.99 

6.3% $299–314 

210–
219.99% 

$4,977.00–
5,213.99 

6.7% $333–349 

220–
229.99% 

$5,214.00–
5,450.99 

7.0% $365–382 

230–
239.99% 

$5,451.00–
5,687.99 

7.4% $403–421 

240–
249.99% 

$5,688.00–
5,924.99 

7.7% $438–456 

250– $5,925.00– 8.1% $480–499 
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259.99% 6,161.99 
260–

269.99% 
$6,162.00–
6,398.99 

8.3% $511–531 

270–
279.99% 

$6,399.00–
6,635.99 

8.6% $550–571 

280–
289.99% 

$6,636.00–
6,872.99 

8.9% $591–612 

290–
299.99% 

$6,873.00–
7,109.99 

9.2% $632–654 

300%+ $7,110.00+ 9.5% $675+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
   
   

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

6 

100.01–
133% 

$2,715.01–
3,610.95 

2.0% $54–72 

133.01–
139.99% 

$3,610.96–
3,800.99 

3.0% $108–114 

140–
149.99% 

$3,801.00–
4,072.49 

3.5% $133–143 

150–
159.99% 

$4,072.50–
4,343.99 

4.0% $163–174 

160–
169.99% 

$4,344.00–
4,615.49 

4.5% $195–208 

170–
179.99% 

$4,615.50–
4,886.99 

4.9% $226–239 

180–
189.99% 

$4,887.00–
5,158.49 

5.4% $264–279 

190–
199.99% 

$5,158.50–
5,429.99 

5.8% $299–315 

200–
209.99% 

$5,430.00–
5,701.49 

6.3% $342–359 

210–
219.99% 

$5,701.50–
5,972.99 

6.7% $382–400 

220–
229.99% 

$5,973.00–
6,244.49 

7.0% $418–437 

230–
239.99% 

$6,244.50–
6,515.99 

7.4% $462–482 

240–
249.99% 

$6,516.00–
6,787.49 

7.7% $502–523 

250– $6,787.50– 8.1% $550–572 
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259.99% 7,058.99 
260–

269.99% 
$7,059.00–
7,330.49 

8.3% $586–608 

270–
279.99% 

$7,330.50–
7,601.99 

8.6% $630–654 

280–
289.99% 

$7,602.00–
7,873.49 

8.9% $677–701 

290–
299.99% 

$7,873.50–
8,144.99 

9.2% $724–749 

300%+ $8,145.00+ 9.5% $774+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
   
   

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

7 

100.01–
133% 

$3,060.84–
4,070.91 

2.0% $61–81 

133.01–
139.99% 

$4,070.92–
4,285.16 

3.0% $122–129 

140–
149.99% 

$4,285.17–
4,591.24 

3.5% $150–161 

150–
159.99% 

$4,591.25–
4,897.32 

4.0% $184–196 

160–
169.99% 

$4,897.33–
5,203.41 

4.5% $220–234 

170–
179.99% 

$5,203.42–
5,509.49 

4.9% $255–270 

180–
189.99% 

$5,509.50–
5,815.57 

5.4% $298–314 

190–
199.99% 

$5,815.58–
6,121.66 

5.8% $337–355 

200–
209.99% 

$6,121.67–
6,427.74 

6.3% $386–405 

210–
219.99% 

$6,427.75–
6,733.82 

6.7% $431–451 

220–
229.99% 

$6,733.83–
7,039.91 

7.0% $471–493 

230–
239.99% 

$7,039.92–
7,345.99 

7.4% $521–544 

240–
249.99% 

$7,346.00–
7,652.07 

7.7% $566–589 

250– $7,652.08– 8.1% $620–645 
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259.99% 7,958.16 
260–

269.99% 
$7,958.17–
8,264.24 

8.3% $661–686 

270–
279.99% 

$8,264.25–
8,570.32 

8.6% $711–737 

280–
289.99% 

$8,570.33–
8,876.41 

8.9% $763–790 

290–
299.99% 

$8,876.42–
9,182.49 

9.2% $817–845 

300%+  $9,182.50+  9.5% $872+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
   
   

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

8 

100.01–
133% 

$3,407.51–
4,531.98 

2.0% $68–91 

133.01–
139.99% 

$4,531.99–
4,770.49 

3.0% $136–143 

140–
149.99% 

$4,770.50–
5,111.24 

3.5% $167–179 

150–
159.99% 

$5,111.25–
5,451.99 

4.0% $204–218 

160–
169.99% 

$5,452.00–
5,792.74 

4.5% $245–261 

170–
179.99% 

$5,792.75–
6,133.49 

4.9% $284–301 

180–
189.99% 

$6,133.50–
6,474.24 

5.4% $331–350 

190–
199.99% 

$6,474.25–
6,814.99 

5.8% $376–395 

200–
209.99% 

$6,815.00–
7,155.74 

6.3% $429–451 

210–
219.99% 

$7,155.75–
7,496.49 

6.7% $479–502 

220–
229.99% 

$7,496.50–
7,837.24 

7.0% $525–549 

230–
239.99% 

$7,837.25–
8,177.99 

7.4% $580–605 

240–
249.99% 

$8,178.00–
8,518.74 

7.7% $630–656 

250– $8,518.75– 8.1% $690–718 
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259.99% 8,859.49 
260–

269.99% 
$8,859.50–
9,200.24 

8.3% $735–764 

270–
279.99% 

$9,200.25–
9,540.99 

8.6% $791–821 

280–
289.99% 

$9,541.00–
9,881.74 

8.9% $849–879 

290–
299.99% 

$9,881.75–
10,222.49 

9.2% $909–940 

300%+  $10,222.50+  9.5% $971+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
   
   

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

9 

100.01–
133% 

$3,754.18–
4,993.04 

2.0% $75–100 

133.01–
139.99% 

$4,993.05–
5,255.82 

3.0% $150–158 

140–
149.99% 

$5,255.83–
5,631.24 

3.5% $184–197 

150–
159.99% 

$5,631.25–
6,006.66 

4.0% $225–240 

160–
169.99% 

$6,006.67–
6,382.07 

4.5% $270–287 

170–
179.99% 

$6,382.08–
6,757.49 

4.9% $313–331 

180–
189.99% 

$6,757.50–
7,132.91 

5.4% $365–385 

190–
199.99% 

$7,132.92–
7,508.32 

5.8% $414–435 

200–
209.99% 

$7,508.33–
7,883.74 

6.3% $473–497 

210–
219.99% 

$7,883.75–
8,259.16 

6.7% $528–553 

220–
229.99% 

$8,259.17–
8,634.57 

7.0% $578–604 

230–
239.99% 

$8,634.58–
9,009.99 

7.4% $639–667 

240–
249.99% 

$9,010.00–
9,385.41 

7.7% $694–723 

250– $9,385.42– 8.1% $760–791 
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259.99% 9,760.82 
260–

269.99% 
$9,760.83–
10,136.24 

8.3% $810–841 

270–
279.99% 

$10,136.25–
10,511.66 

8.6% $872–904 

280–
289.99% 

$10,511.67–
10,887.07 

8.9% $936–969 

290–
299.99% 

$10,887.08–
11,262.49 

9.2% $1,002–1,036 

300%+  $11,262.50+  9.5% $1,070+ 
   
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 
  
  

Family 
Size FPL% Monthly 

Income Premium Rate Monthly 
Premium Range 

10 

100.01–
133% 

$4,100.84–
5,454.11 

2.0% $82–109 

133.01–
139.99% 

$5,454.12–
5,741.16 

3.0% $164–172 

140–
149.99% 

$5,741.17–
6,151.24 

3.5% $201–215 

150–
159.99% 

$6,151.25–
6,561.32 

4.0% $246–262 

160–
169.99% 

$6,561.33–
6,971.41 

4.5% $295–314 

170–
179.99% 

$6,971.42–
7,381.49 

4.9% $342–362 

180–
189.99% 

$7,381.50–
7,791.57 

5.4% $399–421 

190–
199.99% 

$7,791.58–
8,201.66 

5.8% $452–476 

200–
209.99% 

$8,201.67–
8,611.74 

6.3% $517–543 

210–
219.99% 

$8,611.75–
9,021.82 

6.7% $577–604 

220–
229.99% 

$9,021.83–
9,431.91 

7.0% $632–660 

230–
239.99% 

$9,431.92–
9,841.99 

7.4% $698–728 

240–
249.99% 

$9,842.00–
10,252.07 

7.7% $758–789 

250– $10,252.08– 8.1% $830–864 
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259.99% 10,662.16 
260–

269.99% 
$10,662.17–
11,072.24 

8.3% $885–919 

270–
279.99% 

$11,072.25–
11,482.32 

8.6% $952–987 

280–
289.99% 

$11,482.33–
11,892.41 

8.9% $1,022–1,058 

290–
299.99% 

$11,892.42–
12,302.49 

9.2% $1,094–1,132 

300%+  $12,302.50+  9.5% $1,169+ 
  
For incomes over 300 percent of the FPL, multiply the net income times .095 and round 
to the nearest dollar to get the premium amount. 

48.1.3 Five Percent Premium Caps for Children 

The table below displays the five percent caps of BadgerCare Plus premiums for 
children in certain households with incomes above 201 percent and below 306 percent 
of the FPL. Families will pay the combined premiums for the children or an amount 
equal to five percent of the family’s countable income, whichever is less. For example, a 
family with five children and an income of 295 percent of the FPL would ordinarily owe 
premiums amounting to five times $82, which equals $410. However, if the children’s 
AG size, including the parent, is six, the five percent cap found in the table below is 
$395. That is the maximum premium amount that the family should be charged for that 
month. 
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49 Health Care Choice 

View History 

49.1 HEALTH CARE CHOICE 

For individuals whose eligibility is determined under non-MAGI rules: 
  

EBD Eligibility BadgerCare 
Plus Eligibility 

     

 System Choice 

MS/NS/MAPP w/no premium No premium EBD 
MS/NS/MAPP w/no premium Premium EBD 

MS/NS/MAPP w/o premium BadgerCare Plus Deductible EBD 

MAPP w/premium No premium BadgerCare Plus 

NS Deductible No premium BadgerCare Plus 

MAPP w/premium Standard Plan with Premium The program with the lesser 
premium 

MAPP w/premium Benchmark Plan with Premium  EBD 

NS Deductible Premium Member Choice 

MAPP Premium Deductible Member Choice 

NS Deductible Deductible Member Choice 

  
Note: The BadgerCare Benchmark plan ended on March 31, 2014. 
  
For individuals whose eligibility is determined under MAGI rules: 
  
Once an individual has been determined eligible for EBD Medicaid, he or she must be 
enrolled in EBD Medicaid, even if they are also eligible for BadgerCare Plus, unless 
they have a change in circumstances that results in ineligibility for EBD Medicaid. The 
only exception to this policy is pregnant women who are eligible for both EBD Medicaid 
and BadgerCare Plus. In these instances, the pregnant woman will be enrolled in 
BadgerCare Plus. 
  
If someone is pending for EBD Medicaid or if they have an unmet deductible for EBD 
Medicaid, the individual is not considered eligible for EBD Medicaid and can enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus. Pending for EBD Medicaid includes, but is not limited to, waiting for a 
disability determination from DDB or not eligible for Medicare. If an individual enrolled in 
EBD Medicaid becomes ineligible for EBD Medicaid for any reason, including going 
over the asset limit or failure to pay a MAPP premium, he or she can enroll in 
BadgerCare Plus if he or she is still eligible to do so.   
  

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/49/49.1hlf.htm
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50.1 FEDERAL POVERTY LEVEL TABLE 
Group 
Size 

Annual 
FPL 100% FPL 133% FPL 150% FPL 156% FPL 191% FPL 201% FPL 300% FPL 306% FPL 

1 $11,880 $990.00 $1,316.70 $1,485.00 $1,544.40 $1,890.90 $1,989.90 $2,970.00 $3,029.40 
2 16,020 $1,335.00 $1,775.55 $2,002.50 $2,082.60 $2,549.85 $2,683.35 $4,005.00 $4,085.10 
3 20,160 $1,680.00 $2,234.40 $2,520.00 $2,620.80 $3,208.80 $3,376.80 $5,040.00 $5,140.80 
4 24,300 $2,025.00 $2,693.25 $3,037.50 $3,159.00 $3,867.75 $4,070.25 $6,075.00 $6,196.50 
5 28,440 $2,370.00 $3,152.10 $3,555.00 $3,697.20 $4,526.70 $4,763.70 $7,110.00 $7,252.20 
6 32,580 $2,715.00 $3,610.95 $4,072.50 $4,235.40 $5,185.65 $5,457.15 $8,145.00 $8,307.90 
7 36,730 $3,060.83 $4,070.91 $4,591.25 $4,774.90 $5,846.19 $6,152.28 $9,182.50 $9,366.15 
8 40,890 $3,407.50 $4,531.98 $5,111.25 $5,315.70 $6,508.33 $6,849.08 $10,222.50 $10,426.95 
9 45,050 $3,754.17 $4,993.04 $5,631.25 $5,856.50 $7,170.46 $7,545.88 $11,262.50 $11,487.75 

10 49,210 $4,100.83 $5,454.11 $6,151.25 $6,397.30 $7,832.59 $8,242.68 $12,302.50 $12,548.55 
11 53,370 $4,447.50 $5,915.18 $6,671.25 $6,938.10 $8,494.73 $8,939.48 $13,342.50 $13,609.35 
12 57,530 $4,794.17 $6,376.24 $7,191.25 $7,478.90 $9,156.86 $9,636.28 $14,382.50 $14,670.15 
13 61,690 $5,140.83 $6,837.31 $7,711.25 $8,019.70 $9,818.99 $10,333.08 $15,422.50 $15,730.95 
14 65,850 $5,487.50 $7,298.38 $8,231.25 $8,560.50 $10,481.13 $11,029.88 $16,462.50 $16,791.75 
15 70,010 $5,834.17 $7,759.44 $8,751.25 $9,101.30 $11,143.26 $11,726.68 $17,502.50 $17,852.55 
16 74,170 $6,180.83 $8,220.51 $9,271.25 $9,642.10 $11,805.39 $12,423.48 $18,542.50 $18,913.35 
17 78,330 $6,527.50 $8,681.58 $9,791.25 $10,182.90 $12,467.53 $13,120.28 $19,582.50 $19,974.15 
18 82,490 $6,874.17 $9,142.64 $10,311.25 $10,723.70 $13,129.66 $13,817.08 $20,622.50 $21,034.95 

each 
additional 

person 
$4,160 $346.67 $461.07 $520.00 $540.80 $662.13 $696.80 $1,040.00 $1,060.80 

  

BadgerCare 
Plus 
Extensions 
Trigger 
BadgerCare 
Plus Adults 
Limit 

BadgerCare 
Plus 
Extension 
Six-Month 
Premium 
Limit 

BadgerCare 
Plus Child 
Deductible 
Limit 

BadgerCare 
Plus Limit 
for Children 
6–18 Years 
Old Subject 
to Access, 
Backdating, 
and PE 

BadgerCare 
Plus Limit 
for Children 
1–5 Years 
Old Subject 
to Access, 
Backdating, 
and PE 

BadgerCare 
Plus 
Children 
Premiums 
Limit 

BadgerCare 
Plus 
Pregnant 
Women 
Deductible 
Limit 

BadgerCare 
Plus Pregnant 
Women 
Children/FPOS 
Limit 

  
An FPL calculator can be found at www.safetyweb.org/fpl.php. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 16-01 
Release Date: 02/15/2016 
Effective Date: 02/01/2016 
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51 BadgerCare Plus Medical Status Codes 

View History 

51.1 BADGERCARE PLUS MEDICAL STATUS CODES 

For a complete list of Medical Status Codes see Process Help Chapter 81 Forward Health 
iChange  
  
The following Medical Status Codes are in effect April 1, 2014 for all BadgerCare Plus 
members. 
  
Med Stat Description Income 

(FPL) 
BadgerCare 

Plus Plan 
Subject 

to Co-Pay 
Premium Funding 

BA Pregnant Woman >0 - 100% Standard No No T19 

AB Pregnant Woman >100 - 200% Standard No No T19 

9C Pregnant Woman >200 - 300% Standard No No T19 

9M Pregnant Woman 
Deductible 

> 300% Standard No No T19 

9D Pregnant minor 
under age 19 

>200 - 300% Standard No No T19 

BS Pregnant non-
qualifying 
immigrant 

0 - 200% Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

9A Pregnant non-
qualifying 
immigrant 

>200 - 300% Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

BX Pregnant Inmate 0 - 200% Standard No No State 
Funded 

9B Pregnant Inmate >200 - 300% Standard No No State 
Funded 

N1 CEN - Mom on T19 
on DOB 

0 - 100% Standard No No T19 

N4 CEN - Mom on T19 
on DOB 

>100 - 133% Standard No No T19 

7V CEN - Mom on T19 
on DOB 

>133 - 150% Standard No No T19 

7W CEN - Mom on T19 
on DOB 

>150 - 200% Standard Yes No T19 

9H CEN - Mom on T19 
on DOB 

>200% Standard Yes No T19 

BE Child under age 19 0 - 100% Standard No No T19 

http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/bcplus/history/historylistingfiles/51/51.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm
https://prd.cares.wisconsin.gov/help/ph/process_help/h81/81.htm
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BJ Child under age 6 >100 - 133% Standard No No T19 

7J Child under age 6 >133 - 150% Standard No No T19 

7N Child < age 1 >150 - 200% Standard Yes No T19 

9F Child < age 1 >200 - 250% Standard Yes No T19 

9G Child < age 1 >250% - 
300% 

Standard Yes No T19 

7F Child age 1 
through 5 

>150 - 185% Standard No No T19 

C3 Child age 1 
through 5 

>185 - 200% Standard Yes No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

TF Child age 1 
through 5 who is a 
tribal member 

>185% - 
200% 

Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

9U Child age 6 
through 18 

>100 - 133% Standard No No T19 

99 Child age 6 
through 18 

>133 - 150% Standard Yes No T19 

BG Child age 6 
through 18 

>150 - 200% Standard Yes No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

TG Child age 6 
through 18 who is 
a tribal member 

>150% - 
200% 

Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

9K Child age 1 
through 18 

>200 - 250% Standard Yes Yes T21 Separate 
CHIP 

T8 Child age 1 
through 18 who is 
a tribal member 

>200 - 250% Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

9L Child age 1 
through 18 

>250 - 300% Standard Yes Yes T21 Separate 
CHIP 

T9 Child age 1 
through 18 who is 
a tribal member 

>250 - 300% Standard No No T21 Separate 
CHIP 

9N Child, under age 
19 deductible 

> 150% Standard Yes No T19 

NC Child under age 19 
Residing in a 
medical institution. 

<200% Standard No No T19 

9Z 12-month 
BadgerCare Plus 
Transitional Benefit 
Child <19 

N/A Standard Yes No T21 
Separate 

CHIP 

9Y Adult (Parent or 
Caretaker) 

0% Standard No No T19 

BL Parents/Caretakers >0 - 100% Standard Yes No T19 

BY Youths exiting out 
of home care up to 

N/A Standard Yes No T19 
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age 21 

9Q Former Foster 
Care Youth, up to 
age 26 

N/A Standard Yes No T19 

9W Childless Adults 0% Standard No No T19 

9X Transitional 
Childless Adults 

0% Standard No No T19 

9P Childless Adults >0 - 100% Standard Yes No T19 

9V Transitional 
Childless Adults 

>0 - 100% Standard Yes No T19 

9R Earnings 
Extension – 12 Mo 
(Adults) 

> 133% Standard Yes Yes T19 

JM Earnings 
Extension, 
Disabled Adult 
(effective July 1, 
2014) 

> 100% Standard Yes No T19 

JJ Child/Spousal 
Support Extension, 
Disabled Adult 
(effective July 1, 
2014) 

> 100% Standard Yes No T19 

JC Earnings 
Extension, Non-
disabled Adult 
(effective July 1, 
2014) 

> 100%, < 
133% 

Standard Yes Yes** T19 

JL Child/Spousal 
Support Extension, 
Non-disabled Adult 
(effective July 1, 
2014) 

> 100%, < 
133% 

Standard Yes No T19 

9S Child Support 
Extension – 4 Mo 
(Adults) 

> 133% Standard Yes Yes T19 

X8 Earnings extension 
- 12 Mo, child 
under 19 

>100% Standard No No T19 

X9 Child/Spousal 
Support extension 
- 4 Mo, child under 
19 

>100% Standard No No T19 

BU Presumptive 
eligibility for a Child 
age 1-18 

0 - 150% Standard No No T19 

7S Presumptive 
eligibility for a Child 
ages 1 through 5 

>150 - 185% Standard No No T19 
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EC Presumptive 
eligibility for a Child 
<age 1 

0 - 133% Standard No No T19 

7Q Presumptive 
eligibility for a Child 
<age 1 

>133 -200% Standard No No T19 

9J Presumptive 
eligibility for a Child 
<age 1 

>200 - 300% Standard No No T19 

BV Presumptive 
eligibility for a 
Pregnant Woman 

0 - 200% Standard No No T19 

9E Presumptive 
eligibility for a 
Pregnant Woman 

>200 - 300% Standard No No T19 

PP Presumptive 
eligibility for 
parents/caretakers 

0 – 100% Standard No No T19 

PN Presumptive 
eligibility for 
childless adults 

0 – 100% Standard No No T19 

AE* Alien; 
Emergency-
Services-Only 

<300% Emergency-
Service-Only 

N/A No T19 

FS Family Planning 
Services 

<300% FPS Services 
Only 

N/A No T19 

  
  
*See BadgerCare Plus Emergency Services Income Limits in 39.1. 
**Premiums only for months 7 to 12 extension. 
  
  
  

This page last updated in Release Number: 15-01 
Release Date: 05/15/2015 
Effective Date: 05/15/2015 

  

52 Core Plan Health Insurance 

View History 

52.1 CORE PLAN HEALTH INSURANCE 

The BadgerCare Plus Core Plan ended on March 31, 2014. To see previously covered 
services under the BadgerCare Plus Core Plan, select "View History" in the upper right 
hand corner for more information. 
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