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m Regulations

e DHS 88 — Adult Family Home:
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.qgov/code/admin code/dhs/030/88

» Chapter 50 Wisconsin Statutes:
http://www.leqis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0050.pdf

o DHS 12 - Caregiver Background Checks:
http://docs.leqgis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin code/dhs/001/12

 DHS 13 - Reporting and Investigation of Caregiver Misconduct:
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dhs/001/13

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ What Is an Adult Family Home
7\

(AFH)

 Anplace where 3 or 4 adults not related to the operator
reside and receive care, treatment or services above
the level of room and board.

« Residents cannot receive more than 7 hours of nursing
care per week.

« Authority for the licensing of Adult Family Homes is
based in Chapter 50, Wisconsin Statutes.

« Standards for the operation of an Adult Family Home
are found in Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter
DHS 88.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ Client Groups DHS 88.02(34)

@*

« Developmentally Disabled

e Advanced Age

e Alcohol/Drug Dependent

» Physically Disabled

o Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury

o Terminally Il

e Correctional Clients

e Pregnant Women Who Need Counseling
e Persons with AIDs

Note: If you intend to serve more than one client group you will need to
state in the program statement how they are compatible with each
other and how their diverse needs will be met.
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ﬁ Wisconsin AFH Licensing

Process
 Starting an AFH

o https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/requlations/afh/ope
ningfacility.htm

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assuran5



Wisconsin Department of Health Services

AFH Initial Licensing Checklist
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A completed application includes submission of all the items in Section A, as well as review of the items by an assisted living
surveyor to ensure compliance with applicable regulations.

A. A completed application contains the following:
Completed DQA form F-60945, AFH Initial License Application. Verify that the licensee is 21 years old.

Background check completed by Office of Caregiver Quality on the licensee and all non-residents age 10 and older

Floor plan with room measurements and showing the use of the rooms (no larger than 11 x 17’)
License fee of $171.00

Evidence of financial ability to operate for 60 days [DHS 88.04(3)]

Completed DQA form F-62674A, Assisted Living Facility Model Balance Sheet [DHS 88.03]

Copy of vehicle and home owner or renter insurance coverage [DHS 88.04(4)]
Copy of an program statement [DHS 88.03(2)(b)2]
Certificate of Completion for viewing “Starting an Adult Family Home” webcast, if you are a new provider
. Fire evacuation plan with meeting place [DHS 88.05(4)(d)1]
. Resident rights policy [DHS 88.10(2)]
. Admission/service agreement [DHS 88.06(2)(c)1 — 8]
. House rules and responsibilities
. Resident grievance procedure [DHS 88.710(2)]
. Well water test results, if applicable [DHS 88.05(3)(d)]
. Furnace and chimney inspection results [DHS 88.05(3)(e)]
. Pet vaccinations, if applicable [DHS 88.05(6)]
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ﬂ Background Check
W

e Any individual applicant

O Submit a Back?round_ Information Disclosure (BID) form and
Background Information Disclosure Appendix (BID Appendix)

* Any principal officers or board members of a corporation applying
forlicensure who has regular, direct contact with residents

o Submit a BID and BID Appendix

« Any non-client resident (individuals age 10 and older who are not
residents but live at the facility)
o0 Submit a BID and BID Appendix

Information, forms, and mailing address for the BID and BID
Appendix can be found at:
https.//www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/caregiver/enitity.htm

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6‘? AFH Application Form

« AFH Initial License Application:
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms/f0/f60945.doc

Licensee or designee signature Is required

A licensing fee of $171.00 is charged every two years. The
fee 1s submitted with the application and made payable to
IIDQA.‘I

LICENSING FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE

* Incomplete applications are not accepted

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6‘? AFH Application Form

Initial applications or Change of Ownership applications,
supporting documentation and fees should be submitted to:

 Division of Quality Assurance
Attn: Licensing Associates
P.O. Box 7940
Madison, WI 53707-7940

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



Wisconsin Department of Health Services

AFH Application
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN &
Division of Quality Assurance Wis. Stat. § 50.033(2m) =
F-80945 (07/2015) Page 1 of 4
ADULT FAMILY HOME INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION
e Completion ofthis form is required by Wis. Stat. § 50.033(2m) and Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 88.03(2)(a), (b) and (4)(b). Failure to
complete this form accurately may result in licensure denial and/or delay in processing
NOTE: The licensee is responsible for notifying the Division of Quality Assurance in writing of any change in the information
provided on this application.
s  The following items must be i with this application:
® Program statement * Resident grievance procedure
e Floor plan (w/room dimensions, exits, usage) e Assisted Living Facility Model Balance Sheet (F-62674A)
# Verification of completion of AFH webcast, if a new provider e Resident rights policy
e Fire evacuation plan e Documentation of 80-day operating funds
o  Proof of vehicle and home owners/renters insurance » License fee (non-refundable); check payable to
e Admission/service agreement Division of Quality Assurance
® House rules and responsibilities
* If you have questions regarding the completion of this form, contact the Bureau of Assisted Licensing Associates at
dhsdqaballicensing@dhs.wisconsin.gov
608-266-8482
e Send the completed form with required attachments to
DHS / Division of Quality Assurance
Bureau of Assisted Living
ATTN: Licensing Associates
P.O. Box 7940
Madison, WI 53707-7940
O ves O No Did you submit online or via email forms F-82064 (BID) and form F-82069 (BID Appendix), with the required fee, to the
Office of Caregiver Quality? (Refer to https://dhs.wisconsin.gov/caregiver/enitity.htm.)
O Yes O No Does the licensee currently hold another type of license or certification?
FACILITY INFORMATION
Name — Facility FEIN
Street Address — Facility ‘ City State | Zip Code County d
S
o
Telephone No. — Facility Fax No. — Facility Email Address — Facility .
Page:1 of 4 | Words: 1,308 | < HEEE = = 100% (- { +
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AFH Application
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RESIDENT INFORMATION =
-
Total Resident Capacity | [ All Female 21 Ambulator Does the adult family home have a contract with a county agency or
O All Male Y managed care organization to serve publicly funded individuals?
[ Three [ Four O Both & Non-Ambulatory O Yes O No
Check the box indicating the primary client group(s) you are requesting to serve.
[0 AA - Advanced age [ PD - Physically disabled
O ALZ - Irreversible dementia/Alzheimer’s O PWC - Pregnant women who need counseling
[ DD - Developmentally disabled [ ccC - Correctional clients
[ MH - Emotionally disturbed / mental illness O 71 - Terminally ill
O ADA — Alcohol / drug dependent O TBI - Traumatic brain injury
Days When Residents are NOT in the Facility (List.) Hours When Residents are NOT in the Facility (List.)
LICENSEE INFORMATION (Check only one box.)
Governmental Proprietary Voluntary Non-Profit
O city O Individual [ Corporation
[ County [ Partnership 3 church
[ state [0 Corporation [ Limited Liability Co.
[ Tribal O Limited Liability Co
Name — Licensee [Individual or Corporation (legal entity)] Birth Date — Licensee (MAM/ddiyyy) Name — Owner or President
Mailing Address — Licensee City | State Zip Code
Telephone No. — Licensee Email Address — Licensee
If the licensee currently holds another type of license or certification, identify the type of license or certification from the following list
License Type Certification Type Registration Type
-
O Foster Home (children) 3 Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Program [ Residential Care =
[ Group Foster Home (children) [ Mental Health Program Apartment Complex o
[ Residential Care Center for Children and Youth [ Adult Day Care -
S = P NP S Il tifim il ikl mmm B m e -
Page: 1 of 4 | words: 1,308 | < | Bl|EE = = 100% (— { +
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Wisconsin Department of Health Services

AFH Application
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MONTHLY FEES

Enter the minimum and maximum monthly fees charged for resident care in the spaces below. Include fees paid from all sources
including government, private agencies, residents, and/or resident’s family.

MONTHLY OPERATING EXPENSES

A current balance sheet must be i with this applicati (See DQA form F-62674A, Assisted Living Facility Model Balance
Sheet)

Submit copies of financial documents verifying your ability to operate the facility for 60 days. This amount must be equal to or
more than twice your monthly operating expenses.

» &1

All Salaries (licensee, caregivers, contract providers, etc.)

Lease or Mortgage

All Other (food, supplies, utilities, insurance, taxes, etc.)

@ || |

TOTAL Monthly Expenses

If income from residents would not be adequate to pay your monthly operating expenses, you must have other sources of funds or income
that may be used to continue the operation of the facility for at least a 60-day period.

Check all other sources of income.

[0 savings or other financial reserves [ Line of credit
[ Purchase contract (county department or managed care organization) 3 Loan

[J Outside employment

[ Other (Specify.)

LICENSEE OWNERSHIP

The licensee owns the: [ Building O Land O Operation
NON RESIDENT INFORMATION

List below the names of all persons, age 10 and older, who live in the facility and are not a resident.

Name Relationship to Licensee | Date of Birth (MAM/dd/yyy)
Last Name + First Name Ml
H | -
Last Name 1 First Name T MI :
E E =]
Last Name + First Name ¢ MI z

Page: 3 of 4 | Words: 1,308 | 9 |
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ﬁ AFH Program Statement
AN

DHS 88.03 (2)b(2)

* A home's program statement shall describe the
number and types of individuals the applicant is
willing to accept into the home and whether the
home is accessible to individuals with mobility
problems. It shall also provide a brief description
of the home, its location, the services available,
who provides them and community resources
avallable to residents who live within the home

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assuranch



6.9 FitQualified DHS 88.03(2)c

An applicant requesting a license shall provide any additional
Information requested by the licensing agency that may assist the
agency In evaluating the applicant or licensee's character or
qualifications. In assessing character and qualifications, the
licensing agency may consider evidence of abuse or fraud,
substantial or repeated violations of applicable or related statutes
and rules in the licensee's operation of or employment in any
service or facility serving adults or children or in the licensee's
care of dependent persons, or a conviction or a pending criminal
charge for a crime substantially related to caring for a dependent
population or the funds or property of adults or minors or
activities of the adult family home.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



g‘? Fit/Qualified DHS 88

e 88.03(3)b7 Prior to issuing an initial license the
licensing agency shall ask the Wisconsin department
of justice to conduct a criminal records check on the
license applicant and on any other adult household
member.

« DHS 88.04(3) A licensee or license applicant, on
request of the licensing agency, shall produce
evidence of financial stability to permit operation of
the home for at least 60 days

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Balance Sheet

@ https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/forms1/f6/f62674a.pdf
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AFH Floor Plan
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ﬂ Bedroom Sizes DHS
AN

88.05(3)(h)5

A resident bedroom may accommodate no more than
2 persons. A resident bedroom shall have a floor area
of at least 60 square feet per resident in shared
bedrooms and 80 square feet in single occupancy
rooms. For a person requiring a wheelchair, the

bedroom space shall be 100 square feet for that
resident

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬁ Common Dining/Living Space
W

DHS 88.05(3)h

» The home shall have space to accommodate all household activities and
members comfortably as follows:

o DHS 88.05(3)(h)1. 1. There shall be large enough common areas with
sufficient furnishings so that all occupants of the home can comfortably
share the space at the same time.

o DHS 88.05(3)(h)2. 2. There shall be sufficient space and equipment in the
Kitchen for the sanitary preparation and storage of food.

o DHS 88.05(3)(h)3. 3. The dining room or other dining area shall be large
enough so that all household members may dine together.

 DHS 88.05(3)(h)4. 4. There shall be at least one bathroom with at least
one sink, stool and shower or tub for every 8 household members and
towel racks with sufficient space for each household member

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6‘? Exiting DHS 88.05(4)c

e The first floor of the home shall have at least 2
means of exiting which provide unobstructed
access to the outside.

e Exits shall be doors.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6.9 Accessibility DHS 88.05(2)

« DHS 88.05(2)(a) (a) If a resident is not able to walk at all or
able to walk only with difficulty, or only with the assistance of
crutches, a cane, or walker or is unable to easily negotiate
stairs without assistance:

 DHS 88.05(2)(a)l. 1. The exits from the home shall be ramped
to grade with a hard surfaced pathway with handrails.

 DHS 88.05(2)(a)2. 2. All entrance and exit doors and interior
doors serving all common living areas and all bathrooms and
bedrooms used by a resident not able to walk at all shall have a
clear opening of at least 32 inches.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6.9 Accessibility DHS 88.05(2)

 DHS 88.05(2)(a)3. 3. Toilet and bathing facilities used by a resident not able
to walk at all shall have enough space to provide a turning radius for the
resident's wheelchair and provide accessibility appropriate to the resident's
needs.

 DHS 88.05(2)(b) (b) Grab bars shall be provided for toilet and bath fixtures
In those bathing and toilet facilities used by residents not able to walk at all
or only with difficulty, or by other residents with physical limitations that
make transferring difficult.

 DHS 88.05(2)(c) (c) If any resident has either manual strength or dexterity
limitations, the home shall have levered handles on all doors, bathroom
water fixtures and other devices normally used by that resident if these can
be replaced and if replacement is readily achievable.

o DHS 88.05(2)(d) (d) Any resident who is unable to easily negotiate stairs
without assistance shall have his or her bedroom, toilet and bathing facilities
and all common living areas on the first floor

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6‘? Homelike DHS 88.05(1)

* LOCATION AND ACCESS TO THE COMMUNITY. An adult
family home shall be located so that residents can
easily get to community activities and supportive
services by walking or by means of convenient
private or public transportation, or the licensee shall
ensure that residents receive the assistance necessary
to enable them to get to those activities and services.
The home shall be located in a residential area which
IS typical of residential areas in that community

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6.9 Fire Safety DHS 88.05(4)

 Fire extinguishers. Every adult family home shall be equipped with
one or more fire extinguishers on each floor. Each required fire
extinguisher shall have a minimum 2A, 10-B-C rating. All required
fire extinguishers shall be mounted. A fire extinguisher is required at
the head of each stairway and in or near the kitchen except that a
single fire extinguisher located in close proximity to the kitchen and
the head of a stairway may be used to meet the requirement for an
extinguisher at each location. Each required fire extinguisher shall
be maintained in readily usable condition and shall be inspected
annually by an authorized dealer or the local fire department and
have an attached tag showing the date of the last dealer or fire
department inspection.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



6.9 Fire Safety DHS 88.05(4)

« DHS 88.05(4)(b)1.1. Every adult family home shall be equipped with one
or more single station battery operated, electrically interconnected or radio
signal emitting smoke detectors on each floor level. Required smoke
detectors shall be located in each habitable room except the kitchen and
bathroom and specifically in the following locations: at the head of each
open stairway, at the door leading to every enclosed stairway, on the ceiling
of the living room or family room, on the ceiling of each sleeping room and
In the basement.

« DHS 88.05(4)(b)2. 2. The licensee shall maintain each required smoke
detector in working condition and test each smoke detector monthly to
make sure that it is operating. If a unit is found to be not operating, the
licensee shall immediately replace the battery or have the unit repaired or
replaced.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ Fire Safety Evacuation Plan
@

DHS 88.05(4)d

 DHS 88.05(4)(d)2.a.a. The licensee shall review the fire safety evacuation
plan with each new resident immediately following placement and shall
evaluate the resident using a form provided by the department to determine
whether the resident is able to evacuate the home without any help within 2
minutes.

o DHS 88.05(4)(d)2.b. b. Each resident shall be evaluated annually for
evacuation time, using the department's form. All service providers who work
on the premises shall be made aware of each resident having an evacuation
time of more than 2 minutes.

o DHS 88.05(4)(d)2.c. c. The licensee shall conduct semi-annual fire drills with
all household members with written documentation of the date and
evacuation time for each drill maintained by the home.

I ——————————
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Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Admission Agreement
@ DHS 88.06(2)c

Shall include the names of the parties to the agreement.
DHS 88.06(2)(c)2. 2. The services that will be provided and a description of each.

DHS 88.06(2)(c)3. 3. Charges for room and board and services and any other applicable
expenses, and the amount of the security deposit, if any.

DHS 88.06(2)(c)4. 4. The frequency, amount, source and method of payment.
DHS 88.06(2)(c)5. 5. The policy on refunds.
DHS 88.06(2)(c)6. 6. How personal funds will be handled.

DHS 88.06(2)(c)7. 7. Conditions for transfer or discharge and the assistance a licensee
will provide in relocating a resident.

DHS 88.06(2)(c)8. 8. A statement indicating that the resident rights and grievance
procedures have been explained and copies provided to the resident and the resident's
guardian or designated representative, if any.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



Wisconsin Department of Health Services

ﬂ Grievance Procedure
@a> DHS 88.10(5)

The grievance procedure of the adult family
home shall be established in accordance with
ch. DHS 94. If a resident is placed or funded

by a county agency, t
procedure under s. D

ne county grievance

HS 94.29 shall be used.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance
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ﬂ Rights of Residents
“»

 Rights of residents living in AFHSs are
specified In:
o DHS 88.10
o DHS 94
o Chapter 51.61, Wisconsin Statutes
o Chapter 54, 55, 155 and 304, Wisconsin Statutes

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



g‘? Licensee Qualifications

e Must be at least 21 years old

* Must be physically, emotionally and mentally
capable of providing care for residents

* Must be responsible, mature and of reputable
character

* Must have the capacity to successfully provide
care for adult residents as identified in the
program statement (i.e., training, education or
experience in the provision of care for vulnerable
adults)

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



Wisconsin Department of Health Services

ﬂ Licensee Responsibilities
@

* The licensee shall ensure the home and its operation
comply with Chapter DHS 88 and all other laws
governing the home and its operation.

 [fany resident is in need of continuous care, the licensee
or a service provider must be present and awake at all
times.

« A copy of Chapter DHS 88 shall be in the home at all
times and available for review.

« The licensee may not permit the existence of a condition
In the home which places the health, safety or welfare of
a resident at risk or harm.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ Service Provider
AN

Qualifications

» Must be responsible, mature and of reputable character.

e Must be at least 18 years old.

* Must have the capacity to successfully provide care for
residents as identified in the program statement (i.e., training,
education or experience in the provision of care for
vulnerable adults)

NOTE: “Service Provider” is defined in DHS 88 as a person
who provides direct care or supervision of a resident of the
AFH, either as an employee of the licensee or as a volunteer.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ |_icensee & Service Provider
b

Required Training

» The licensee and all staff shall complete 15 hours of training related to
health, safety and welfare of residents, resident rights and treatment, fire
safety and first aid. This training must be completed prior to or within 6
months after employment.

» The licensee and all staff shall complete 8 hours of training related to the
health, safety, welfare, rights and treatment of residents every year.

e Training requirements for adult family home service providers and
licensees and sources of training acceptable to the Department (DQA
Memo 12-014):

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dga/memos/12-014.pdf
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6‘? Resident Assessment & Planning

 The licensee shall obtain information from a
prospective resident to determine whether the
person’s needs can be met.

* The pre-admission assessment shall include an
evaluation of the person’s needs and abilities in the
areas of Activities of Daily Living (ADLs),
medications, health, level of supervision required and
recreational and social interests.

NOTE: Activities of Daily Living include dressing,
eating, bathing, grooming, toileting, mobility,
ambulation and social activities.

Promoting Regulatory Compliance Division of Quality Assurance



ﬂ AFH Licensing Process
anw

» Review of application materials plus fees
« Background check completed on applicant
 Licensing visit scheduled and completed

*Notification of approval or denial of licensure will be issued
within 70 days of receipt of a complete application and the
onsite Visit.

[DENIED] N@
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Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Assisted Living Resources

e Division of Quality Assurance (DQA) Consultant List
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/regulations/consultantlist.pdf

o Assisted Living Public Directories
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/guide/assisted-living. htm

e  DQA Numbered Memorandums
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dga/memos/index.htm

 Family Care (General Information) and link to Managed Care Organizations (MCOs)
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/familycare/background.htm

*  Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) — Starting a Business in
Wisconsin

http:/ /inwisconsin.com/

I ——————————
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