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Community Relocation Initiative (CRI)  

Questions and Answers 
 
 
This document provides responses to frequently asked questions related to the management of 
the Community Relocation Initiative (CRI).  The following questions and answers are clustered 
to reflect the order of the CRI process. 
 
 
CRI Eligibility 
 
 
1. What are the requirements for a person to be eligible for the CRI funding? 

 
Participation in CRI is strictly voluntary for individuals living in nursing homes.  Refer to 
DDES memo series 2005-17.  To be eligible for this relocation funding the person must be 
a nursing home resident who meets the following criteria: 
• Person's nursing home care must be funded by Wisconsin Medicaid. 
• Person must have long-term care needs that will last more than one year or have a 

terminal illness. 
• Person is eligible for the CIP II home and community-based waiver, both functionally 

and financially. 
• Person must need waiver-funded long-term care services in order to relocate. 

 
2. I understand that a person needs to be in the nursing home for 100 days before he/she can 

apply for the CIP II Community Relocation Initiative. Is this true? 
 

No. The person does not need to reside in a nursing home for 100 days before accessing 
the CIPII Community Relocation Initiative. The 100 day criterion was added by the 
Legislature but was vetoed by the Governor.  

 
However, this veto included the understanding that if the person applying for CRI was in 
the nursing home fewer than 100 days, there must be assurance that the  person would be 
a long term nursing home resident if it were not for the relocation initiative. Counties 
need to document that the stay is expected to be long term based on the COP Guidelines 
(s. 404.A.1.), the required COP assessment and Long Term Care Functional Screen. 

 
In addition, the person must have nursing home costs that have been paid by Wisconsin 
Medicaid.  The CRI is a “money follows the person” directed program. Therefore, the 
funding for CRI is Wisconsin Medicaid nursing home funding that follows the applicant 
into the community. Any days in the nursing home, where the person’s care is being 
funded fully or in part by Medicare Part A, do not meet this requirement.  
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3. May a person on a Wisconsin county waiting list, who resides in an out of state nursing 
home, access the CRI funding? 

 
The person may not access the CRI funding unless the Wisconsin Medicaid data system 
indicates that Wisconsin Medicaid is paying for that person’s care in that out of state 
nursing home. This also applies to specialty facilities such as The Courage Center. 

 
4. A person is protectively placed in a nursing home in Wisconsin and wants to return to 

community living in another state under protective placement. Can this person use the 
CRI funding to move to the other state? 

 
No.  Any change in placement should occur in accordance with laws in the responsible 
state and needs to be addressed by that state’s Medicaid program. 

 
5. How is residency determined for persons living in Wisconsin nursing homes? 

 
The county of residence for a person living in a nursing home is the county in which the 
nursing home is located. However, if the person has been protectively placed in a nursing 
home, the person’s county of residence is the county that originated the protective 
placement.  

 
6. Our county has protective placement of a person in a nursing home in our neighboring 

county. The person wants to move to a CBRF in our neighboring county. Who is 
responsible to apply for the CRI program? 

 
The person is under protective placement orders by your county and it is your county’s 
responsibility to help the person relocate and apply for the CRI through your county 
agency.  As long as the protective placement order is in place in your county, your county 
is responsible to provide service and follow along for this person should the person 
relocate to a community living arrangement in your neighboring county or other county. 

 
7. Is a person residing in a Traumatic Brain Injury Unit able to access this CRI funding to 

relocate from the TBI unit into the community? 
 
Yes, if the person’s brain injury occurred at age 22 or after as the individual is considered 
“physically disabled.”  If the brain injury occurred prior to age 22, the individual is 
considered “developmentally disabled” and a determination of “No Active Treatment” 
(NAT) must occur.  (For CIP II, an individual will receive a NAT determination if the 
individual’s IQ is 71 or higher.) 
 
Contact Denise Cox in the Developmental Disabilities Services Section in the Bureau of 
Long Term Support to discuss including this person on the Brain Injury Waiver waiting 
list. Her phone is (608) 266-0547.  The person must be on or in the process of being 
considered for the brain injury waiver waiting list before the person will be considered 
for CRI funding.  

 

Community Relocation Initiative Questions and Answers 
July 2008 

2



Depending on the circumstances and funding availability, the person may be eligible to 
access the CRI funding. In these situations, you should call either Lisa Kelly at (608) 
267-3659 or Sharon Hron at (608) 267-3660 to discuss what may be available.  If the 
person is able to access the CRI funding, the funding will be temporary until the person 
becomes able to access the Brain Injury Waiver, as is currently the policy with regular 
CIP II funding. 

 
8. May a resident of an ICF-MR access CRI? 
 
 No. 
 
9. May a nursing home resident who is developmentally disabled with mental retardation 

but who is over the age of 65 be served by CRI? 
 
Yes, if the mental retardation (and or brain injury) occurred prior to age 22 and the 
individual is currently age 65 or older, the individual is considered “elderly” and may not 
require active treatment.  The individual must meet the definition of the “frail elderly” 
target group and the care plan must address the needs of a frail elderly person and the 
individual must receive a NH level of care on the LTC Functional Screen. 

 
10. May a person with mental health needs access this funding? 

 
Yes, as long as the person is in a waiver allowable target group (a frail elder or a person 
with a physical disability), meets a nursing home level of care on the LTC Functional 
Screen and is financially and functionally eligible for CIP II or COP Waiver.  In addition, 
Wisconsin Medicaid must be paying for the person’s nursing home costs in a skilled 
nursing facility that is not an Institute for Mental Disease (IMD). 
 
Care managers should also consider the Community Opportunities and Recovery (COR) 
waiver for persons in a nursing home who have a serious mental illness.  The COR 
waiver offers a package of services that may better meet the needs of the individual who 
is relocating. 

 
11. Will a person who is residing in a ventilator dependent unit in a hospital be able to 

access this funding? 
 

No. The person must reside in a nursing home.   
 

12. My client is residing in a dedicated inpatient hospice bed in a nursing home and wishes 
to return home. Will he qualify for the CRI funding when he leaves the nursing home? 

 
No.  Every hospice that is providing services to individuals residing in a nursing home 
must have a contract with that nursing home to provide these services.  The nursing home 
and the hospice agency negotiate the daily rate for the hospice service between them.  
Hospice nursing home per diems are paid for by the hospice agency that is paying for the 
hospice service portion of the daily nursing home service rate.  In this rare instance, 
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Medicaid pays only for the room and board portion of the nursing home daily rate. 
Medicaid is not paying the nursing home 100% per diem in this situation. Therefore, 
hospice dedicated beds in nursing homes do not qualify as the type of nursing home stay 
whereby a person may access the CRI program funding. 

 
13. Does the Veteran’s Home in King Wisconsin qualify as an appropriate nursing home to 

access CRI funding? 
 

Four buildings on the campus of the King Veteran’s Home are licensed as a nursing 
home and have Medicaid as their funding source: Ainsworth Hall, MacArthur Hall, Olson 
Hall and Stordock Hall.  The key is whether Medicaid is paying for the individual’s care 
in the nursing home.  Some residents at King may have their daily care rate covered 
through the Veteran’s Administration, not Medicaid. If you have questions, please 
contact Sharon Hron at (608) 267-3660. 
 

14. Does the applicant need to be on the county’s LTS waiting list? 
 

The person does not need to be on the county’s wait list to be served with CRI. However, 
out of fairness to those in a nursing home and on the county’s wait list, the county should 
make efforts to find out if those persons are interested and make plans for them first. 

 
 

15. The county’s current waiting list policy addresses “at imminent risk of entering a nursing 
home.” Should we modify the language? 
 
It may be best to add language and specifically address when funding may be available 
for special purposes such as nursing home relocation. 

 
 
CRI Initial Information and Funding Estimate (form DDE-2678) 
 
16. What is the purpose of the CRI Estimate form? 
 

The CRI Initial Information and Funding Estimate provides information to BLTS 
regarding the amount of CRI funding that may be required to serve the individual upon 
relocation from the nursing home.  BLTS determines whether the estimated community 
care costs and the person’s estimated community Medicaid card costs can be supported 
within available CRI funds, while ensuring required Medicaid savings. 

 
17. Counties are running into problems where nursing homes don’t bill monthly.  They bill 

quarterly or every 6 months instead.  Counties have to wait until billing has occurred so 
that EDS has a record of costs in the nursing home to facilitate approval of community 
plan.  Do you have any thoughts on how to work around this? 

  
When the person is eligible for Medicaid in the nursing home, BLTS will accept a letter 
from the nursing home indicating what the person’s Medicaid per diem is/will be in the 
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nursing home.  We do not want people needlessly waiting in nursing homes to access the 
CRI due to nursing home billing practices and Medicaid payment cycles. 

 
18. No one seems to know how long my client will have his nursing home care covered by 

Medicare before needing to go on Medicaid. When should I send in the CRI estimate 
form? 

 
You should send in the CRI estimate form as soon as you know what the person’s 
community services will be when he leaves the nursing home.  You can continue with the 
transition plans so all is ready when he is ready to move out of the nursing home.  Once 
you know when he will have his nursing home daily rate covered totally by Medicaid, 
please contact either Lisa Kelly (608) 267-3659 or Sharon Hron (608) 267-3660. 
   

19. What does the initial faxed approval of the CRI estimate assure? 
 

Faxed approval of this initial estimate is not a binding approval of funding for the CRI 
program. Faxed approval of this estimate is not an approval of the service plan for the 
person.  In addition, the final written approval for CRI funding may be more or less than 
what the original estimate indicates. 

 
20. I am not able to determine the exact dollar amount of the community Medicaid card 

costs. What should I do? 
 

Indicate on the estimate form the type of service and the amount of days or hours the 
service is needed per week or month. For those Medicaid covered community 
services/items for which you do know the funding amount, please indicate that amount. 
BLTS can access the Medicaid costs for medications. 

 
21. How should the estimate form be completed if the care manager has not yet determined 

how much care will be Medicaid Personal Care (MAPC) and how much will be 
supportive home care or the residential cost? 

 
Fill in the form with your best estimate. Estimate the number of hours and rate.  The 
BLTS cost comparison compares Medicaid nursing home and other card costs to 
community waiver and card costs. At this stage, it would not matter whether the costs are 
MAPC or waiver. However, by the time the final service plan is submitted, these costs 
need to be clearly delineated in the Individual Service Plan (ISP). The CRI award letter is 
based on waiver costs only that are identified in the ISP. 

 
22. The nursing home has recently requested a level of care determination from the state 

(Electronic Data Systems EDS).  However, the nursing home knows what the Medicaid 
daily rate is/will be.  Does the person need to wait in the nursing home until the nursing 
home care level is determined by EDS? 

 
Yes.  If, for some reason, EDS determines the person does not meet a nursing home level 
of care, the person’s nursing home care is not eligible to be paid for by Wisconsin 
Medicaid. The person would consequently not be eligible for CRI. 
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23. Once the nursing home has received an approved nursing home level of care for the 
person, does the person need to remain in the nursing home until Medicaid pays his 
nursing home bill? 

 
No.  Obtain a memo/letter signed by the nursing home administration indicating the 
person’s approved nursing home level of care and what the daily rate is that the nursing 
home is billing Medicaid for that person. The person must have at least one day that will 
be paid in full by Medicaid. Please Fax this document to BLTS along with the person’s 
estimate form. Please consider, however, that a person’s nursing home patient liability 
may cover the cost of a short nursing home stay with no charges being paid by Medicaid. 

 
24. What are the guidelines for completing the CRI Estimate form? 
 
 Please see Attachment A. 
 
25. If a person’s CRI estimate is more expensive than the person’s nursing homes costs, will 

the person’s estimate be approved for the CRI? 
 
Usually. The person could be served if sufficient Medicaid savings have been generated 
by other CRI participants who relocated with community care costs that are less than 
their nursing home care costs.  It is important to submit the person’s CRI estimate form in 
any type of community cost situation.  
 

26. BLTS has a “pending list” of estimates that have been submitted by counties. What does 
this list mean? 
 
The CRI pending list may be implemented when a number of people whose projected 
Medicaid community care costs are considerably higher than their Medicaid nursing 
home care costs.  These individuals will need to wait for Medicaid savings generated 
from other CRI relocations.   

 
 
Application for CRI 
 
27. What documents are required in the CRI application? 
 

Follow the same application requirements as for a CIP II application packet.  The only 
additional required document in the CRI application is the BLTS approved estimate form 
which should be placed on the top of the CRI application for TMG to immediately 
identify that the packet is a CRI application. If you include a cover letter with the service 
packet, include a statement in the cover letter that the submitted plan is for the CRI 
program. 
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28. What if my client does not leave the nursing home on the anticipated discharge date? 
 

If the relocation is delayed, the county may need to update the COP assessment and Long 
Term Care Functional Screen to be in compliance. If the person chooses to relocate to a 
different living arrangement than originally planned, the ISP should be updated to reflect 
the new services and change in costs. The care manager should alert BLTS and TMG 
when an anticipated relocation is delayed. 

 
29. How is transportation paid for a person to visit a relocation site if the person decides to 

remain in the nursing home? 
 
The care manager can collaborate with the nursing home discharge planner who may be 
able to provide the transportation as part of discharge planning. Families may be able to 
help. Contact the county’s aging office or regional Independent Living Center to ask for 
available transportation or volunteers. 
 

30. Does a care manager ask about divestment as part of the assessment? 
 

Typically the county income maintenance (IM) worker who determines the nursing home 
Medicaid eligibility will ask about divestment. Since there may have been financial 
changes in the interim, such as the person’s home being sold and those assets divested, it 
may be wise to ask again. Also, financial eligibility is required to be determined annually. 
Partner with your IM staff on this question. 

 
31. How is the start date determined for CRI relocations? 

 
The start date for CRI relocations is determined the same way as any other person 
applying for waiver funding. The effective date of eligibility (or start date) is the date a 
new applicant becomes eligible for CRI funding. It is the first day services may be billed 
to the waiver program. 

 
The service plan packet is reviewed for four conditions to determine the effective date. 
The effective date is the first date upon which all four of the following conditions are 
met: 

• The date the individual meets all the criteria to be eligible for Medicaid. 
• The date the initial service plan is developed with the participant. This can be 

the date the care manager first started to discuss a plan of care with the 
participant, which may be earlier than the date the ISP was typed or signed. 
This date must be prior to the date the person relocated from the nursing 
home.  

• The date listed as the Screen Completion Date on the Long Term Care 
Functional Screen (completed by a certified screener). 

• The date the individual first resides in a waiver allowable setting. 
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32. The nursing home resident I am working with intends to move to an apartment. He has no 
belongings. The CRI estimate has been approved and included a listing of start up costs. 
As the person moves and the listed start up costs are incurred, how do they get paid? 
 
Once the person’s service plan has been approved by TMG and the final BLTS funding 
approval letter has been completed, effective the day the person leaves the nursing home 
you may bill on HSRS for reimbursement for these items. For those items that are 
covered by CRI funding, you bill CIP II. If you have requested one time COP relocation 
funding for COP eligible items and BLTS has approved funding for these, you bill COP 
for these items. See HSRS for coding information. 
 
Also see the Medicaid Waivers Manual, Relocation Related Services, SPC 106.01 and 
106.03 starting on page IV-102.  Also, review housing assistance for rent, SPC 106.02. 

 
33. Is there one time COP funding available for relocation costs? 
 

Yes, there is limited one time COP relocation funding available for those one time items a 
person may need in order to relocate from the nursing home that are not covered by 
Medicaid or the Medicaid waiver. Items such as clothing, groceries to stock the pantry 
and a TV and/or radio may be considered as a one time COP relocation cost. 
 
Also, COP one time relocation funding could be made available to help the person with 
room and board or rent for the first 2 to 3 months in the community, while the person 
applies for and receives community Supplemental Security Income (SSI). 
 
Remember that using 100% COP funds requires a six month Wisconsin residency.   

 
34. What funds can be used in an RCAC? 
 

CRI is appropriate to be used in an RCAC up to the allowable daily maximum. (For 
2008, see DLTC Memo Series 2007-22, November 2007)  However, COP is not available 
for use in an RCAC. 
  

35. Is there ongoing COP funding available at the State level for individuals who do not 
have enough income to support their room and board expenses in a substitute living 
arrangement? 

 
No. There is no on-going COP for room and board or for other on-going non-waiver 
allowable costs.  There has been no increase in COP in the State budget so counties will 
have to use existing allocations or arrange for services in locations that will not need 
additional COP funding. 
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36. How can a county access relocation start up funds that are not covered under Medicaid, 

Medicare or CIP II? 
 

Please, review SPC code 106.03 (Housing Start Up) and SPC code 112.56 (Housing 
Modifications) in the Waiver manual to verify that the items in question cannot by funded 
using CIP II.  Include an itemized list in the service plan packet along with the 
justification or explanation that neither Medicaid nor Medicare nor CIP II will fund the 
item.  If approved, the amount for the items that are not covered by other funding sources 
will be included in the BLTS funding approval letter as COP one time relocation funds. 
 

37. Do I include start up costs, adaptive equipment and home modifications as part of the 
CRI per diem on the ISP? 

 
 No.  Include these items on the ISP as “one time costs” under CRI.  
 
38. Should the county wait for the final approval of the service plan packet by TMG and 

final approval of the CRI funding by BLTS before the person may relocate? 
 

Yes. It is advisable to wait until the service plan and funding are fully approved.  
Approval of the estimate amount is not the final approval for the funding or for program 
eligibility. If the person moves before the service plan and funding are fully approved, 
funding could be jeopardized if the person is found not eligible or the person’s proposed 
care plan is determined to be unsafe. 

 
Nursing Home Patient Liability and Discharge From the Nursing Home 
 
39. What is a person’s nursing home patient liability and what happens to the liability 

amount when a person leaves a nursing home? 
 

Under Wisconsin Medicaid eligibility, a person, residing in a nursing home and receiving 
Wisconsin Medicaid, may be required to pay a monthly patient liability amount to the 
nursing home.  This patient liability offsets a portion of the cost that the nursing home 
bills to Medicaid.  The amount of this patient liability is determined by the county 
Income Maintenance worker.  Each Medicaid nursing home resident is allowed a $45.00 
monthly personal needs allowance 49.45(7)(a), Wis. Stats. and other person specific 
deductibles, before the final monthly patient liability amount is determined.  

 
When an individual leaves a nursing home to return to community living, prior to 
the last day of the discharge month, there is no patient liability amount for the 
nursing home to collect from the individual, as directed in the Wisconsin Medicaid 
Eligibility Handbook at http://www.emhandbooks.wi.gov/meh-edb/  

 
Recently (2007), the Department issued a Patient Liability memorandum to all county 
Income Maintenance personnel to re-emphasize this procedure.  Income Maintenance 
personnel are directed to decrease the patient liability for the calendar month of discharge 
to zero. 

Community Relocation Initiative Questions and Answers 
July 2008 

9



 
In order for this process to occur in a timely manner, it is imperative that the County Care 
Manager and the Income Maintenance worker keep each other fully informed of the 
month of the person’s proposed discharge date from the nursing home. 

 
 
Presumptive Disability 
  
40. May a nursing home resident, who has a “presumptive disability”, relocate to the 

community under CRI and have his care paid until his disability status is officially 
determined? 

 
If the presumptive disability is affirmed by the Disability Determination Bureau (DDB) 
and the person is determined “disabled”, then, of course, the person continues to be 
served.  
 
However, if DDB determines that the person is not disabled after all, then the waiver 
services must be terminated with proper notice. The person may appeal and waiver 
services will remain in place until the appeal is finalized. There is no over payment 
assessed for the services provided while the person was deemed “presumptively 
disabled.”  For policies related to presumptive disability see the Medicaid Waiver 
Manual. 

 
 
Care Management 
 
41. When and how may I bill for Transitional Care Management SPC 604.04? 
 

SPC 604.04 cannot be opened prior to the CRI start date for services, which is the date 
the person left the nursing home.  Assessment and planning costs are totaled and entered 
on the start date to SPC 604.04 and then closed that first day.  The on-going care 
management, SPC 604.00, will begin that day also.  Don’t forget to enter the total units. 

 
You will also open an assessment and plan (603.01 and 603.02) under the COP (LTS 
code “7”) but you will have zero costs for COP. The units under COP and the units under 
SPC 604.04 should be the same. 

 
  
42. I understand that a county can bill transitional care management to the CRI waiver 

provided the costs are billed to the waiver after the person relocates.  What if something 
happens and the relocation fails? Does the county eat the cost of the assessment and 
plan? 
 
Assessment and plan costs incurred while the person was in the nursing home can be 
billed to the CRI waiver after the person relocates. See Waiver Manual, page IV-27, SPC 
604.04 Care Management. If, after the assessment and plan have been completed, the 
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person does not relocate, the completed COP assessment and plan can be billed to the 
county’s allocation for COP assessments and plans.  If these allocations have been fully 
expended, then costs may be covered by the administrative allowance in COP. Medicaid 
Targeted Case Management can not be billed while a person is in an institution. 

 
43. Can care management be the only service provided? 
 

Yes, to assist with the care management of Medicaid card services that are long term care 
related. 

 
44. We have a CRI recipient who is also a Community Support Program (CSP) client.  Can 

we bill SPC 604.04 Transitional Care Management time or do we have to bill the initial 
assessment and plan to Medicaid Targeted Case Management as we normally would due 
to CSP? 

 
The CIPII Waiver has authority to fund relocation related care management which 
includes the initial assessment and planning. And “yes” the same hours cannot also be 
billed to Target Case Management and are usually different from the CSP or 
Comprehensive Community Services (CCS) benefit. 

  
It is only after the person becomes a CRI participant that the regular SPC 604 for ongoing 
care management is not allowed as then the service is similar to CCS and CSP and we do 
not want to be double billing Medicaid. This applies to Medicaid certified CCS and CSP 
only. 

  
Service Plan Cost Decrease or Increase 
 
45. What is the process to inform BLTS of decreases in service plan costs after services have 

begun? 
 
Counties do not need to inform BLTS when the care plan costs decrease after services 
have begun. Counties should either use that money for others who relocated under the 
initiative whose care plan costs increase or not use it. BLTS will be monitoring HSRS 
expenses reported and the individual’s Medicaid card costs to ensure that the initiative’s 
fiscal projections are met. 

 
46. What is the process to inform BLTS of increases in service plan costs after services have 

begun? 
 
There is no need to inform BLTS. Counties are encouraged to manage these increases 
within existing CRI funds. Additional community relocation funding will not be made 
available for provider rate increases. However, if the person has a substantial change in 
their care needs and the county does not have any available CRI funding, the Department 
may be able to provide additional CRI funding if there are available uncommitted savings 
from other relocations. To inquire, contact Lisa Kelly at (608) 267-3659. 
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47. The county has been notified that the rate for a CBRF will be increasing the first of the 
year. Will CRI provide added reimbursement to the county for those individuals in this 
CBRF who are funded by CRI? 
 
 No. 
 

48. Do “increases” include cost of living increases for staff wages? 
 
The Department will not make CRI funding available for this purpose. However, the 
county may use any of its own available CRI funding. 

 
 
Reporting 
 
49. Which CARS profile will CRI funding be reported on? 
 

Waiver expenses associated with CRI participants are to be reported on CARS profile 
368. This profile will allocate to 369 (non-federal portion of expenses) and 370 (federal 
portion of expenses).  All federal funds will be paid.  If the non-federal portion of the 
expenses exceeds the non-federal contract, expenses in excess of the contract limit will 
roll to the county BCA (basic county allocation – profile 561).  

 
50. Is the “waiver start date” the day the waiver was approved? 

  
Yes, and this date is the first date that costs may be billed to CRI for services provided 
prior to the person leaving the nursing home. The CRI approval date is the date the 
person left the nursing home. 

  
51. How do we code these relocations on HSRS? 

 
Counties must report costs on HSRS for Community Relocation participants using LTS 
code “N” (field 26) and enter an “N” under type of movement  
(field 13). 

 
52. Will the CRI person’s HSRS code always remain with that person? 
 

When the funding rolls over to CIP II base funding, counties will change the LTS code 
for individuals who relocated under CRI.  The new LTS code will be a “2” or a “3” (CIP 
II or COP-W, county’s choice). The person will retain the same episode number; this will 
allow the Department to see the history of services for the individual. 

 
53. Will counties need to track CRI participants separately? 

  
CRI expenses must be tracked and reported separately from CIP II. 
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54. How long does a waiver participant need to be in a nursing home before the person 
should be closed on HSRS? 

   
Current COP-W/CIP II procedures apply. The person’s SPC’s should be closed after 30 
days of residency in the nursing home. The county should hold the episode open for 90 
days per current policy to allow for the potential of a short term nursing home stay. 
However, if the county has held the episode open for the 90 days, closes it and then later 
the person seeks to relocate, the county can request CRI funding again. 
 

 CRI Funding  
 
55. At what point in time does the CRI funding roll into the county CIP II base?  
 

As of 1/1/08, all CRI funding for persons who relocated prior to 7/1/07 and who were in 
the community for at least 180 days was moved to a county’s CIP II base.  Counties 
received a memo on June 16, 2008 with additional information regarding changing these 
people on HSRS.  For relocations that occur between July 1, 2007 and June 30, 2009, 
funding will continue to be in the CRI budget until January 1, 2010 or until a county joins 
Family Care.   

 
56. If a person relocates in May 2008 receives CRI funding, will the person’s cost roll into 

the county’s CIP II allocation in July or January 2009? 
 
No – the funds would not roll to a county’s CIP II fund until January 1, 2010 or, if the 
county joins Family Care prior to that date, will follow the person to the Family Care 
budget.   

 
57. How will the CRI funding affect a county’s CIP II average? 
 

When CRI funding rolls into regular CIP II funding beginning in contract year 2008, 
counties will be able to average all of their CIP II per diems and spend out their contract.  
If this CIP II average exceeds the CIP II per diem (currently $41.86) an approved 
variance is not required unless a county’s combined CIP II and COP-W average exceeds 
the CIP II average.  See also DDES numbered memo 2006-03, February 25, 2006.  
 

58. In “regular” CIP II funding as long as the average daily rate for all clients is $41.86 a 
day or less, the county receives full funding.  If the county has only one client receiving 
the CRI  funding with an initial care plan of $73.99 per day, will we only receive the 
$73.99 per day or will the person be included in the “regular” CIP II funding and be 
averaged with them? 
 
The county will receive the relocation funding, $73.99 in this example, until the CRI is 
combined with the regular CIP II allocation. This amount will then roll into CIP II at the 
end of the biennium.  Prior to the date the CRI funding rolls to the county base, there can 
be no combining of CIP II and the CRI funding for an individual. 
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59. Can a county use the CRI funding for other more expensive individuals in the COP-W 
and switch them into the CRI funding? 
 
No. Once a person is on CRI, he/she must stay on that funding (no switching) until the 
county’s CRI funding is combined with regular CIP II.  Only then it will be possible to 
switch clients between CRI funding (at that point CRI funding has become CIP II) and 
COP-W. 

 
60. Will the county receive a letter or contract amendment when a relocated person 

terminates before 180 days? 
 

We do not send the county a letter when a person leaves the program but do update the 
county’s CRI contract several times a year to reflect any changes, including new 
relocations, rate changes, moves between counties and when a person leaves the program. 

 
 
CRI Diversions  
 
61. What care plan amount is considered to be available after the 180 days? The original 

per diem or what actually is being spent? 
 

If the relocated person leaves the program after 180 days, the county continues to retain 
the original per-diem to be used for a diversion determined to be at high risk of entering a 
nursing home (in accordance with criteria in DDES Memo Series 2006-08 issued May 
2006). 

 
If the relocated individual leaves the program for whatever reason after 180 days, the 
county may access this person’s funding for a person on the waiting list who meets the 
special CRI high risk criteria.  When this situation occurs, the county will enter the high 
risk person’s expenses on HSRS using the long term support code “N” in field 26 and a 
“D” for field 13 – diversion. 

 
62. My client was close to being on the CRI program for the 180 days required for the funds 

to revert back to my county. However, his lasts days were in the nursing home where he 
passed away. Will his funding be available to the county? 

 
No.  If the CRI person is residing in a waiver allowable setting and is receiving CRI 
services for 180 days or more and passes away, then the county would be entitled to the 
CRI funds.  An in patient nursing home or hospital is not a waiver allowable setting. 

  
63. A client relocated through CRI and resides in the community for 200 days. He passes 

away. His approved care plan per diem was $75.00 per day.  However, his actual costs 
were $50.00 per day. How much does the county have available for a new diversion 
person, $75.00 or $50.00 per day? 
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The county has available to use, for diversions that meet high risk criteria, the amount 
approved for the relocated person. In this example that would be $75.00. (Refer to DDES 
memo series 2006-08) 

 
 
RCAC 
 
64. Can CRI funding be used for RCAC services? 

 
Yes. But, COP-Regular cannot be a funding source in an RCAC. 

 
 
CBRF 
 
65. What is the effect of CRI on a county’s CBRF Cap? 
 

Counties are required to set a limit on the amount of their COP and COP-W and CIP II 
allocation that they will use in CBRFs.  This policy enables counties to make local 
decisions about the extent to which these limited funds may be used for alternative 
residential care.  Using funds from a home care program for out of home care must be 
done deliberately and equitably to advance the goals of the program for participants.   

 
When a person relocates to a CBRF from a nursing home, the cost of that individual’s care 
plan will be figured into the county’s existing CBRF cap.  If there is concern that CRI will 
cause the county to exceed its local CBRF cap, consider the following: 

 
a.  The long-term support planning committee can raise or lower the CBRF limit each 

year.  It is a county established maximum.  The policy cannot exclude nursing 
home relocations from the established cap.  As you are considering the county’s 
cap you may wish to consider the effects of the relocation initiative on the need for 
increasing the cap for CBRF services.   

 
b. The county could establish a local policy creating a “working” percentage but 

allowing that percentage to be exceeded under certain or unanticipated 
circumstances up to a specified higher percentage. This higher percentage is what 
would be reported to the Department. This gives the county some room to respond 
to problems that are unforeseen, like a closing nursing home, or to accommodate 
relocations.  

 
c. When the Department reviews the county set maximums, we do so against dollars 

actually spent each year for people who reside in CBRFs.  If projected 
expenditures exceed the proposed county cap, we will ask the county to describe 
(in the annual COP Plan Update) its plan for progressing toward its goal, including 
timeframes.  We will look for patterns of inappropriate use of funds and will do 
what we can to provide guidance to counties who are struggling with maintaining 
the home-care intent of the program.   
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d. The four conditions for CBRF placement are required for all individuals that are 

considering relocating to a CBRF.  These conditions ensure that home-care and 
residential options are explored and discussed with the individual, that the person 
prefers a CBRF over other settings, that it is cost effective, and a quality setting.  
Variances are required if the CBRF under consideration is larger than 20 beds. 

 
66. Are relocations subject to the same conditions as any other CBRF placement?  
 

Yes. Since the passage of 2007 Wisconsin Act 20 in October 2007, the “five conditions 
were reduced to four,” as the requirement for a preadmission consultation was repealed. 
The remaining four conditions for CBRF placement must still be met for individuals to 
receive CIP II or COP-W funding in a CBRF (s. 46.27(11) (5n). The conditions apply to 
all persons, including those relocating from a nursing home. These conditions ensure that 
home care and residential options are explored and discussed with the individual, that the 
person prefers a CBRF over other settings, that it is cost effective, and is a quality setting.   
 
The CBRF variance requirements apply to relocations as well. If the CBRF under 
consideration is larger than 20 beds a person specific variance must be obtained. 
Facilities larger than twenty beds are waiver allowable for all CIP II and COP-W 
participants with an approved variance. 
 
If the facility is structurally connected to a nursing home a variance must be obtained. 
CBRFs that are structurally connected to a nursing home are an allowable living situation 
for frail elders age 65 and older, but are not a waiver allowable living arrangements for 
participants with a disability who are under age 65. (See DLTC Memo 2008 – 04)  

 
 
67. Will CBRF expenses for individuals receiving CRI funding be included in the current 

monthly CBRF report sent to counties? 
 

CRI funds are a separate funding stream and a different code on HSRS (Field 26, Code 
N), so they will not be incorporated into the current report.  Rather, a new report that 
mirrors the original CBRF report was developed that reflects costs for CRI funding 
individuals. (The report name is LTS015A - LTS NHR/CIO 2 FT - CBRF Expenditure 
Report. This report incorporates the expenses incurred for individuals who reside in a 
CBRF and who use either CRI funding or Family Care Transition funding.) Because CRI 
funding is a part of the CIP II, the CBRF cap applies to that money as well.  To 
accurately determine the county's percent of spending relative to its CBRF cap, you will 
need to combine the expense totals of this report with the original CBRF report. The 
CBRF Cap is a percent of the county's total allocation(s), not a percent of total spending. 
 
 

68. Will an assisted living facility refusing to accept Medicaid continue to be able to refuse? 
 
Yes. The current COP-W/CIP II program policies apply. Counties also can refuse to 
contract with a facility that will not comply with contracting, fiscal or other program 
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requirements which may mean persons relocating may need to choose a facility willing to 
comply. 

 
 
Nursing Home Relocations and Moves from County to County:  
 
69. What should happen if a nursing home resident is interested in relocating to the 

community, however the community of choice is in a different county than the nursing 
home? For example:  Mr. E. wants to leave a nursing home in county A and live in the 
same city as his son who lives in county B. 

 
The county that is first contacted by Mr. E. and/or his relative should call the other 
county involved.  Between the two counties, they can decide who will complete the 
assessment and care plan and bill the cost to the COP assessment and plan in the event 
that the person does not relocate and billing it to transitional care management might not 
be possible. 

 
Next the counties will need to decide who will be providing the ongoing care 
management services which will involve implementing the care plan, securing services, 
establishing contracts and making the move a reality, as well as assuring the health and 
safety of the individual. 

 
CRI funding will be allocated to the county who implements and monitors the care plan. 
(Usually that will be the county where the individual will physically reside after the move 
from the nursing facility.) Also please see Attachment B: “Community Relocation 
Initiative (CRI) and Relocations Between Family Care and Waiver Counties” 
 

70. What if neither county has COP assessment or plan funding? 
 

For those individuals relocated, counties may bill the cost of the assessment and care plan 
to the waiver.  These costs as well as the transitional case management should be coded 
on HSRS as 604.04.   Additionally, counties should enter on HSRS an assessment and 
plan date to COP (LTS code 7).  No costs should be entered – however a county should 
enter the units. 

 
For those individuals who do not relocate, but for whom the county has conducted an 
assessment and plan, the cost may be charged to the COP assessment and plan 
allocations. If these funds have been expended, costs are allowed as administration costs 
for COP. 

 
71. What if the individual is under a protective placement completed by the county where the 

nursing home is located? 
 

The county that completed the protective placement will need to take responsibility for 
the “least restrictive placement”, will implement the relocation and will receive the 
relocation funding.  An interagency agreement, as in other similar situations, could 
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include contracting with the placement county or another qualified agency, for the 
ongoing care management. Also please see Managed Long-Term Care Expansion 
Planning Information #6 “County Residency and Transition to Managed Long-Term 
Care” at http://dhfs.wisconsin.gov/managedltc/grantees/pdf/info6residency.pdf

 
Family Care and CRI 
 
72. What happens to CRI funding when my county rolls to Family Care? 
 

As the person is converted to Family Care, the funding follows in the form of the Family 
Care capitation payment. 

  
73. Can my county continue to access the CRI   funding during the Family Care rollover 

period? 
 

No, once Family Care begins in a county new CRI funding is no longer available.  
Persons who are interested in relocating from institutions should be referred to the Aging 
and Disability Resource Center.  The limit on serving only one-twenty-fourth of the 
county waiting list each month during the first two years of Family Care does not apply 
to persons leaving institutions. 

 
 
Appeal Rights 

 
74.  If an estimate for CRI is submitted to the BLTS and the BLTS deems the cost as excessive, 

does the person have a right to appeal the decision? 
 

 It is important to remember that there are two processes: 
 

a. determination of a person’s waiver eligibility – which can be appealed (see Waiver 
Manual) 
b. determination of funding availability – which the person may appeal, however the 
Division of Hearings and Appeals may find that they do not have jurisdiction. 

 
Any applicant can appeal their denial of waiver eligibility as described in the Waiver 
Manual. The lack of CRI funding is similar to lack of funding at the county level when 
people have to be put on a waiting list. 
 
BLTS will inform the county that CRI funding is either “not available at this time” 
because there is not sufficient funding available for this person’s costs, or, that the 
person’s community costs are so high that CRI funding is not appropriate. In either 
situation, the county can serve the person with its regular COP-Waiver or CIP II 
allocation when the person comes to the top of the county waiting list. 
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Quality Assurance 
 
75. What is the process to assure that persons who relocate will be well cared for? 
 

The person’s care manager and the county’s program have the primary responsibility and 
fulfill that responsibility by having monthly contacts with the participant and/or 
providers, quarterly face-to-face contact with the participant to assess the adequacy of 
services and providers, identifying changing needs, and making necessary changes in the 
plan of care. In addition, the state implements a quality assurance monitoring process, 
hears complaints and remedies/resolves problems that arise. Special follow up will occur 
with participants at the required 30 and 90 day intervals and with people (or their 
families) who have left the program to ascertain why. 

 
76. How will the state assure quality in the CRI program? 
 

The state will assure the following: 
 

• The applicant meets waiver functional and financial eligibility and the plan addresses 
any unmet needs or health and safety issues 

 Initial care plan review by The Management Group, Inc. (TMG) 
 

• The care plan is cost effective and CRI funding is maximized 
 Initial care plan review BLTS/Community Options Section 

 
• Participant has positive adjustment to relocation transition 

 30/90 day questionnaire completed by county agency 
 

• Adequacy of care plan and appropriateness of ongoing services 
 Monitor care plan, health and safety and satisfaction as part of State’s 

quality assurance monitoring reviews and home visits (conducted by 
TMG)  

 
• There are no negative outcomes to participants relocating 

 Follow up surveys for individuals who have returned to the nursing home 
or passed away.   
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CRI Q&A: Attachment A 

GUIDELINES FOR COMPLETING 
COMMUNITY RELOCATION INITIATIVE  

INITIAL CARE PLAN INFORMATION AND FUNDING ESTIMATE (DDE-2678) 
 
 
Please type or use black ink so that forms are legible when faxed. 
 
Name of Applicant, County Applying and Date of Birth of Applicant:  self-explanatory. If 
there is more than one agency in the county, please specify the agency that will be serving the 
individual. 
 
Medicaid Number:  Forms must include the person’s Medicaid number.  Estimates cannot be 
approved until the person’s Medicaid nursing home expenses are verified using the Medicaid 
number.  Save time: do not submit the estimate form until you know the MA number. 
 
Nursing Home Information (Name, status, date of admission):  Please provide the name of 
the nursing home for tracking purposes.  Indicate in the space provided whether or not the 
nursing home is closing or downsizing.  It is helpful for data reporting purposes to know the date 
of admission.  The date of admission should be when the person entered the nursing home 
regardless of funding source. 
 
Date of Planned Relocation/Discharge:  When completing this item, remember that the 
individual should not relocate until the care plan and funding have been approved by the 
Department.  There are many factors that must be taken into account before all approvals are 
given. 
 
If Nursing Home stay is less than 100 days, document why the stay is expected to be long 
term:  The Department must ensure that the people being relocated would not have left the 
nursing home without the help of the Community Relocation Initiative.  The care manager must 
complete this section if the stay will be under 100 days. 
 
Proposed New Living Arrangement:  Please indicate where the person will live.  If the person 
will go to a residential setting, please provide the name if it is known when estimate is submitted. 
 
Estimate of the person’s Daily Waiver Cost:  Daily waiver costs should include all on-going 
costs that will be billed to CIP II, including care management.   Do not include the following in 
this box: room and board; cost share; administrative costs; Medicaid card costs.  Also, do not 
include one time costs in the daily waiver total even if waiver allowable, instead report these 
costs under the “other” box.   
 
Detail (Supportive Home Care, CBRF/AFH Service per diem, Transportation, Adult Day 
Care, Adaptive Aids, one-time Home Modifications, Other):  Please provide the estimated 
daily costs in each area.  Use the “other” box for one-time costs. These do not need to be 
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calculated as daily costs.  If more room is needed, write in, “see attached sheet.”  This will 
enable these one-time costs to be factored in but not as on-going daily costs.  
 
Care management:  On-going care management costs should be included in the daily waiver 
cost estimate.  Please indicate that you have included care management; for example, waiver rate 
is “$70/day incl. $3 cm.” Put one time relocation related care management or assessment and 
plan costs in the “other” box.  
   
Medicaid card costs: If you know the exact Medicaid card costs for the services that will be 
needed in the community, please indicate these dollar amounts on the estimate form, e.g., MA 
personal care. If you do not know the Medicaid card costs for  the services that will be needed in 
the community, please indicate the amount of the service the person will need, such as hours/day, 
times/week, etc. BLTS will generate an estimate.  You do not need to supply the costs for 
medications and physician services. BLTS will make assumptions about those based on history. 
 
Substitute care room and board (CBRF, AFH):  Please supply the room and board costs for 
the substitute care setting; this amount is used to estimate the feasibility of the living 
arrangement.   Please be aware, additional COP funds are not available to help cover room and 
board. 
      
SSI and income:  Indicate if the person will be on SSI and/or SSI-E in the community.  If 
possible, please indicate what the person's income will be upon return to the community.  If the 
community income cannot be obtained, please indicate what the person's income is in the nursing 
home setting and the source of that income. 
 
One time start-up costs:  Itemize those one time costs that will be covered by CIP II-CR and 
those one time costs for which the county is requesting one time COP regular relocation funding 
(a special allocation of exceptional expense funding set aside for this initiative).  Attach a 
separate sheet if necessary.  
 
Estimate of the nursing home costs:  Some have asked if we can provide the rates of nursing 
homes or give counties an idea of what the person's costs are.  The Medicaid allowable rates do 
not really reflect what that individual's costs are as there may be patient liability.  The rates also 
do not include an individual's other card costs in the nursing home.  These can vary considerably 
from person to person.  Counties should provide the community care estimate based on a safe 
care plan.  The Department will research the nursing home costs. 
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CRI: Q & A - Attachment B 
 

COMMUNITY RELOCATION INITIATIVE (CRI) AND RELOCATIONS BETWEEN 
FAMILY CARE AND WAIVER COUNTIES 

 
Scenario 1 - Person resides in a nursing home, is currently enrolled in Family Care 
(minimum of six months) and voluntarily moves to the community in a Waiver County (No 
nursing home Medicaid expenses incurred) 
 

• Person is placed on the receiving County’s wait list. 
• Family Care funds are used to fund the person until they come to the top of the wait 

list. 
 
Scenario 2 - Person resides in a nursing home, is currently enrolled in Family Care (does not 
meet the six month requirement), and voluntarily moves to the community in a Waiver 
County. (No nursing home Medicaid expenses incurred, but Department can use a nursing 
home cost average to do cost comparison.) 
 

• Person is not eligible for Family Care Transition funding. 
• Person is eligible for CRI funds. 
• Person counts as a waiver relocation. 
• County where the person moves receives the CRI funding. 
• Assessment and Plan is done by receiving County. 
• FC care manager works collaboratively with receiving county care manager to assure 

smooth transition. 
 
Scenario 3 - Person resides in a nursing home in a Family Care County – is not currently 
enrolled in Family Care and chooses to move to the community in a Waiver County. (Nursing 
home Medicaid expenses may have been incurred – no Family Care capitation payment in 
place.) 
  

• Waiver County care manager notifies Family Care County of the person’s intent to 
relocate to the waiver county. 

• Waiver County does the assessment and care plan. 
• Waiver County receives CRI funding. 
• Individual counts as a waiver relocation. 

 
Scenario 4 - Person resides in a nursing home in a Family Care County – is not currently 
enrolled in Family Care, chooses to move to a community in a Family Care County, and 
chooses to enroll in Family Care. (Medicaid expenses may have been incurred – no FC 
capitation payment involved until enrollment) 
 

• Resource Center determines eligibility and enrolls person in Family Care. 
• Family Care counts individual as a NH relocation. 
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Scenario 5 - Person resides in nursing home in a waiver county and chooses to move to the 
community in a Family Care county. 
 

• County of first contact (may be waiver county or may be Family Care county) 
alerts the other county of the person’s intent to relocate. 

• County where the person is moving to does assessment and plan. 
• Person enrolls in Family Care (only other choice would be fee-for-service). 
• No CRI funding is involved. 

 
Scenario 6 - Person resides in a nursing home in a waiver county and chooses to move to the 
community in a different waiver county. 
 

• County of first contact notifies the other county of the person’s intent to relocate. 
• County where the person moves to does the assessment and plan. 
• County where the person moves to receives the CRI funding. 
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