Statewide Trauma Advisory Council

Vision

The Wisconsin Trauma Care System's vision is to ensure that all trauma patients in the state of Wisconsin receive comprehensive trauma care.

Mission

Members of the Statewide Trauma Advisory Council (STAC) are dedicated to reducing the death and disability resulting from traumatic injuries and mass casualty events by providing a comprehensive and integrated system of care.

Purpose

The purpose of STAC is to advise and provide leadership to the Department of Health Services (DHS) on issues related to the development, operation and evaluation of the statewide trauma care system.

 
Wisconsin State Statute 15.197(25)(a) identifies STAC membership as being of thirteen voting members appointed by the Department of Health Services Secretary, ensuring that all geographic areas of the state are represented.  Representation to preferentially include:

  • Four physicians who represent urban and rural areas
  • Two registered nurses as defined in s. 146.40(1)(r)
  • Two pre-hospital emergency medical services providers, including one representative of a municipality
  • Two representatives of a rural hospital
  • Two representatives of an urban hospital
  • One member of the emergency medical services boards
Current Members of STAC
Name Email
Marshall Beckman, MD (Chair) mbeckman@mcw.edu  
Ann O'Rourke  (Vice-Chair) orourke@surgery.wisc.edu
Annette Bertelson, RN abertels@froedterthealth.org 
Alex Beuning, MD beuning.alex@mayo.edu
Riccardo Colella, MD colella@mcw.edu
Thomas Derrig, MD thomas.derrig@aurora.org 
Brenda Fellenz, RN brenda.fellenz@ministryhealth.org
David Schultz, MD David.Schultz@thedacare.org
Jason Selwitschka, EMT-P jason.selwitschka@thedacare.org 
Ben Eithun beithun@uwhealth.org
Mason Fisher, MD

mgfisher@gundersenhealth.org

Jeremy Berndt jberndt@bamc.org

 

For corrections to the listings available on this page, please contact the State Trauma Coordinator.

Last Revised: November 11, 2016