Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

QUICK LINKS:

Logo for Wisconsin EMS Licensing

2014 Late Renewal

EMS Home

A to Z Index

Complaints and Investigations

Contact EMS Staff

EMS Boards

EMS Administrative Rule 110

EMS State Statute 256

Events/
Opportunities

Exam Schedules

Forms

Licensing/
Certification

Links

Medical Director Resources

Numbered Memo Series

Public Information 

Reciprocity

Service Director Resources

Training Information

Verification of License (exit DHS)

WARDS

Wisconsin EMS providers by County

 

Fitness Center Employee
Training Requirements

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public.  The Department of Health does not testify to, sponsor, or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages.

CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) and first aid training is required for employees of fitness centers.  To satisfy the requirement, fitness center employee(s) shall have up to date certification in CPR and certification in standard first aid.

CPR

The required minimum level of the American Heart Association (AHA) certification is Heartsaver and the required minimum level of American Red Cross (ARC) certification is Adult CPR, both of which consists of 4 hours of instruction, practice and testing. 

While the rule identifies AHA and ARC as CPR training providers, the Department of Health Services, EMS Section has also identified the following department-approved CPR training providers:

  • American Heart Association 
  • American Red Cross 
  • American Safety and Health Institute 
  • Emergency Care and Safety Institute
  • EMS Safety Services
  • National Safety Council
  • T-E-A-M CPR and AED

Equivalent CPR courses (to Heartsaver and Adult CPR) must include one rescuer adult CPR and obstructed airway maneuvers.

FIRST AID

DHS 174 specifies that fitness center employees have ARC standard first aid certification. Equivalent first aid training may be provided but must consist of a minimum of 5 hours of classroom instruction, skill practice and competency testing and a final written examination with training in the following content areas:

  • Introduction to first aid training
  • Legal aspects of first aid treatment
  • Activating the emergency medical system
  • Basic anatomy and physiology
  • Patient assessment and evaluation
  • Wound care and shock
  • Musculoskeletal injuries
  • Spinal and head injuries
  • Eye and nose injuries
  • Medical problems including asthma and anaphylaxis, epilepsy, diabetes, heat exhaustions, heat stroke, etc.
  • Emergency movement.

Further information on the requirements for "First Aid and CPR Training for Employees of Fitness Centers" can be found in Wisconsin Administrative Code DHS 174.06

OTHER

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection is responsible for enforcing of the fitness center laws, Wis. Stat. 100.178. These laws include proof of financial responsibility, contract requirements and staff requirements.

For more information, or to file a complaint, contact the Bureau of Consumer Protection either by phone at (608) 224-4924, via email or directly from their website.

Last Revised: February 04, 2014