Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

QUICK LINKS:

Logo for Wisconsin EMS Licensing

2014 Late Renewal

EMS Home

A to Z Index

Complaints and Investigations

Contact EMS Staff

EMS Boards

EMS Administrative Rule 110

EMS State Statute 256

Events/
Opportunities

Exam Schedules

Forms

Licensing/
Certification

Links

Medical Director Resources

Numbered Memo Series

Public Information 

Reciprocity

Service Director Resources

Training Information

Verification of License (exit DHS)

WARDS

Wisconsin EMS providers by County

Wisconsin EMS | EMT License Reciprocity

EMS personnel licensed or trained in other states may be eligible for EMS licensure in Wisconsin. Wisconsin requires current National Registry certification for licensure for all license levels. Eligible applicants without current National Registry certification will need to pass the National Registry examination.  A letter of authorization for entry to the exam will be sent to you upon proof of eligibility.  Documentation and materials needed to determine license eligibility are outlined below for each license level. Electronic applications are submitted through Wisconsin E-Licensing, which will require you to create a Wisconsin E-Licensing account. For details and instructions, please go to the Wisconsin E-Licensing page (exit DHS).

Administrative Fees

The credit card payment system within E-licensing is now functional and able to collect administrative fees. If you are unable to make use of this system, you may submit your fee via cashiers check or money order made out to the "Department of Health Services" and submitted to:

Wisconsin EMS Section Licensing
1 W Wilson St, Room 1150
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659

For a list of all fees, please see our Administrative Fees webpage.

All Wisconsin EMS License levels

  • Complete a Reciprocity License application in Wisconsin E-Licensing (exit DHS).
  • Complete the Verification of Out-of-State Licensure (available in Wisconsin E-Licensing) (exit DHS), print and submit to the state EMS office(s) that you hold or have held an EMS license.
  • Provide a valid NREMT number for the level for which you are applying.
  • Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for an approved Terrorism Awareness course only if you have not completed this course previously.
  • An administrative fee of $50 must be submitted with any reciprocity application submitted after January 1, 2011. 

If you do not currently hold NREMT

  • Complete the Verification of Out-of-State Education form (available in Wisconsin E-Licensing(exit DHS).
  • Wisconsin requires current National Registry certification for licensure for all license levels. Eligible applicants without current National Registry certification will need to pass the National Registry examination.  A letter of authorization for entry to the exam will be sent to you upon proof of eligibility.
  • Complete the Verification of Out-of-State Licensure (available in Wisconsin E-Licensing) (exit DHS), print and submit to the state EMS office(s) that you hold or have held an EMS license.
  • Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for an approved Terrorism Awareness course only if you have not completed this course previously.
  • An administrative fee of $50 must be submitted with any reciprocity application submitted after January 1, 2011. 
  • Submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion for your most recent First Responder refresher course.

Materials will be reviewed and applicants will be notified of eligibility via email. 

How to apply for a Wisconsin EMS License

Contact Information

Helen Pullen
helen.pullen@wisconsin.gov
General Office: (608) 266-1568
Fax: (608) 261-6392

 

Last Revised: October 02, 2014