Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

QUICK LINKS:

Logo for Wisconsin EMS Licensing

2014 Late Renewal

EMS Home

A to Z Index

Complaints and Investigations

Contact EMS Staff

EMS Boards

EMS Administrative Rule 110

EMS State Statute 256

Events/
Opportunities

Exam Schedules

Forms

Licensing/
Certification

Links

Medical Director Resources

Numbered Memo Series

Public Information 

Reciprocity

Service Director Resources

Training Information

Verification of License (exit DHS)

WARDS

Wisconsin EMS providers by County

EMS Training Center Training Permits
(For students currently enrolled in EMS training)

The training center training permit is granted by the Department of Health Services. The department authorizes the training permit holder to participate in field and clinical training and to perform the duties of an EMT at the practice level for which the permit is issued while enrolled as a student with the approved training center.

The training center training permit allows a student to participate in their clinical experience and "ride along." No clinical experience or "ride along" may begin without the student holding a training permit approved at the appropriate level of training.

Administrative Code Regarding Training Permits

  1. DHS 110.15 (1) Application.
    “To apply for a training permit, the applicant shall submit to the department, in the manner specified by the department, an application with documentation acceptable to the department showing that the applicant meets all of the following eligibility requirements:
    (a) The individual is 17 years of age or older.
    (b) If applying for a EMT Basic training permit, the individual has completed the first 46 hours of the initial EMT basic training or has current certification as a first responder.
    (c) If applying for an EMT training permit above the EMT-basic level, the individual has a current EMT license.
    (d) The individual is enrolled in an initial EMT training course offered by a training center certified by the department.
    (e) The applicant provides any additional information the department requests during its review of the application.”
     
  2. DHS 110.15 (2) Authorized Actions and Limitations.
    (a) “A training permit granted by the department authorizes the training permit holder to participate in field and clinical training and to perform the duties of an EMT at the practice level for which the permit is issued while enrolled as a student with the training center.
    (b) A person who holds a training permit issued under this section may serve as part of a legal ambulance service provider crew for 9-1-1 emergency response or inter-facility transport only if supervised by a preceptor authorized under s. DHS 110.51 (2).
    (c) A person holding an EMT-basic training permit may serve as part of the required ambulance staff but may not be the primary care giver during transport.
    (d) A person holding a training permit may only perform those skills for which he or she has been adequately trained in the course in which he or she is actively enrolled.”
     
  3. DHS 110.15 (3) Duration Of Permits. Training permits are issued and valid for the following periods:
    (a) “An EMT-basic training permit is valid for 12 months from date of issuance, unless the student fails to complete the training under the permit, in which case the permit expires when the trainee leaves the training program.
    (b) The training permit at the EMT-intermediate technician, EMT-intermediate, or EMT-paramedic level expires on the date the student completes the training course. An ambulance service provider may extend the permit up to 12 months from the completion date of the training course. To extend the permit the service must have in place a training plan approved by the department that includes participation of the medical director and is tied to the provider's quality assurance program.
    (c) A training permit may not be renewed.”

Applying for Your Training Center Training Permit

Please complete the training center training permit application as early as possible. You must complete the application in the E-Licensing system and include with the application the completed EMS Training Center Training Permit Eligibility Certification - F-00646 (Word, 58 KB), which is provided to you by your course instructor. Please contact your WI EMS Instructor for the electronic copy of the eligibility certification to be uploaded into your application. Your Wisconsin EMS Training Center Training Permit application will not be processed without this form. Each application submitted to the E-Licensing system is reviewed in the order they are received into the EMS E-Licensing system.

Make sure that your application is complete by reviewing the following questions:

  1. Are all the questions on the application answered correctly?

  2. Have you uploaded the completed Emergency Medical Service Training Center - Training Eligibility Certification – For Electronic In Class Training Permits? F-00646 (Word, 58 KB)

  3. Does the course end date in your application match the end date on your eligibility certification form?

Please remember our office is only able to act on a complete application. If the application is not complete, it will be returned to you and will delay processing and prevent participation in your clinical experience.

Criminal History and Driver's License Revocation Issues

The Fair Employment Act (Wis. Stat. §111.31 - 111.335) (exit DHS) prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of conviction or arrest record unless the circumstances of the conviction or arrest substantially relate to the circumstances of the particular job or licensed activity. Under the Act, it is not employment discrimination on the basis of conviction or arrest record to refuse to license or certify, or to suspend or revoke a license or certificate, if the circumstances of the conviction or arrest substantially relate to the circumstances of the particular licensed activity. The information requested below is used to determine whether a certificate/license should be granted, approved with limitations or denied. The information you provide may be verified against criminal information records. Failure to provide requested information will be considered an incomplete application.

If you answer "yes" to any criminal history question or have any convictions or pending criminal charges, you must submit the following information for each conviction/offense/charge:

  1. Criminal/formal complaint – available from the Clerk of Courts in the county you were convicted.

  2. Judgment of Conviction – available from the Clerk of Courts in the county in which you were convicted.

  3. If currently under supervision, verification of current compliance with supervision. If supervision is complete, verification of discharge from probation/parole.

  4. Verification of compliance with all terms of your court order, including chemical dependency assessment if ordered by the court.

  5. A current copy of your driver's license abstract is available from the Department of Transportation. You can download a PDF version of your driving record using the Department of Transportation’s online application. You can also purchase and receive your record by U.S. postal mail by completing a Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request, MV2896, and mailing it with the appropriate fee to:
                        Wisconsin Department of Transportation
                        P.O. Box 7995
                        Madison, WI 53707-7995

  6. If you have received a deferred prosecution agreement, provide signed copies of the agreement.

  7. If you have received a conviction where your record was expunged, provide the documentation for the expungement.

  8. If the Clerk of Courts in the municipality or county where your criminal history issues occurred no longer has the records, you will need to provide an official letter to the EMS office from the municipality/county court system indicating the records are no longer available.

EMS Training Center Training Permit Application Instructions P-00608 (PDF, 37 KB)

If you have questions, please contact the WI EMS office via email at dhsemssmail@wisconsin.gov.

Adhering to the processes as described above will assure a timely response to your application. Please be aware that due to the length and complexity of some criminal history issues, it may not always be possible to give an immediate decision and we may need to confer with our legal council regarding the final decision.

If you were looking for information about the training permit that is required to become a legal member of the crew for a EMT Basic licensed service, please go to the EMT Basic Training Permit webpage.

Last Revised: April 07, 2014