2014-2016 Renewal Information
The mission of the Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services
(EMS) program is to ensure that the highest quality and standards of
pre-hospital emergency medical care are available to all Wisconsin
citizens and visitors. Certification or licensing provides a level of
protection to Wisconsin citizens and visitors, and assures that an
individual holding a certificate or license has met certain minimum
competencies and is authorized to practice, as defined by law. All
current Wisconsin EMS provider licenses and certifications expire on
June 30, 2014.
We have recorded one of the previous
Wisconsin EMS E-Licensing Renewal
Webinars (Adobe Connect,
It is now available for viewing. You may watch it any time
that fits your schedule.
Besides holding a current Wisconsin certification and license to practice as
an Emergency Medical Services provider in Wisconsin, you must also be locally
credentialed with the service for which you are practicing. Licenses and
certifications must be renewed prior to the expiration date of June 30, 2014, in
order to continue practicing under your license. To practice as an EMT or First
Responder in Wisconsin, you must have a current license/certificate and be
credentialed with a service.
Important Renewal Dates
The 2014-2016, Provider License Renewal application is now available online
through your E-Licensing
account for the July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2016, licensing biennium. You
must complete the 2014-2016, Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2014, in
order to obtain a current certification or license that is valid until June 30,
All Wisconsin EMS provider applications are completed in the
The important renewal dates to remember for 2014-2016, are:
November 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 is the standard renewal
July 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014 is the late renewals period
and incurs a $50 late renewal administrative fee (per DHS 110.16 (1) (a)).
January 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 is the reinstatement period
and incurs a $75 reinstatement administrative fee (per DHS 110.16 (1)
A license or certification that has been expired for two years or more may
only be reinstated by successful completion of the initial education, training
and examination requirements.
Your Contact Information
As EMS providers, you should ensure that your U.S. postal mailing address
and email information are kept current in the
This will assure that you will receive all renewal notifications and mailings
from the Wisconsin EMS office. All renewal notices will be sent through the
and to the U.S. postal mailing address listed in your
If you do not receive your 2014-2016 Wisconsin EMS License Renewal
information by March 15, 2014, you should assume that you do not have a current
email address in the
E-Licensing system and/or your U.S. postal mailing address in the system
is incorrect. Those EMS provider applicants with out-of-date addresses in the
system will also be subject to a $30.00 Returned Renewal Fee, as listed in DHS
110.16 (c). Failure to receive a renewal notification does not relieve an EMS
provider of the responsibility to renew his/her license.
Continuing education is a personal responsibility. Your initial or continuing
education refresher training requirements need to be completed between July 1,
2012 and June 30, 2014, for this renewal biennium. Flexible continuing education
may be obtained through any format, but it needs to meet DHS 110.07 renewal of a
license or certificate, refresher retraining requirements. For all EMS
providers, the renewal education refresher requirements for both alternate,
flexible refresher training and standard refresher training are located at:
Waiver Request for Active Military Deployment, Medical Conditions, etc.
If you are unable to renew your current certification or license due to active
military deployment during the biennium, preventing your ability to complete
refresher activities, or you had a significant medical condition during the
biennium that prevented you from completing refresher activities, you may be
able to receive an extension for the renewal process by completing the
Administrative Rule for Licensure - F-00569 (Word, 52 KB). You should submit
the supporting documentation and completed form to
EMS program has sole discretion in determining if the waiver will be granted.
The decision of the EMS program is final and is not appealable under DHS 110.59.
What happens if an EMS provider applicant does not renew his/her license
by June 30, 2014?
If a currently licensed or certified Wisconsin EMS provider has not renewed
his/her provider license or certification by June 30, 2014, that provider may
not function as an EMS provider after that date.
According to DHS 110.05 (2):
“…a person acting or advertising as an EMT or First Responder without a
license or certificate issued by the department or without appropriate
credentialing may be subject to department action under sub ch. V or s. 256.15
(11) (c), (d), or (f), Stats., as applicable.”
Any application received after June 30, 2014, will be considered a late
renewal under DHS 110.09 (1):
“An individual may renew a license or certificate that has been expired for
less than 6 months by applying to the department for license or certificate
renewal as specified under s.
110.07 (exit DHS) and submitting the late renewal fee ($50.00) specified under s.
DHS 110.16 (1). (exit DHS) Upon the department's renewal of the applicant's license or
certificate, the EMS professional shall be credentialed under s.
110.52 (exit DHS) before performing emergency medical care as an EMT or First
What if I want to upgrade/downgrade my license?
The Wisconsin EMS program issues only a single license at the highest level (an
EMS provider applicant’s “primary license level”), based on the applicant’s
education and training. You should only complete one renewal application, and
you may only renew at the level of your current license.
If you are eligible to upgrade your license level, then you will need to log
into your E-Licensing
account and complete a Provider Upgrade application.
If you are eligible to downgrade your license level, then you will need to
log into your E-Licensing
account and complete a Provider Downgrade application.
To upgrade or downgrade a license, please use the provider upgrade or
provider downgrade application. The renewal application cannot be used to
upgrade or downgrade a license level.
HOW TO APPLY
Logging in to an E-Licensing Account
As an EMS provider applicant, you can log into your
by entering your username and password on the
account login page.
If you do not remember your username or password, you may attempt to recover
your logon information by going to the E-Licensing logon page and clicking
"forgot username or password." You may also use the “Account Lookup” feature
using your last name, date of birth and social security number. If your
E-Licensing account has a valid email address on file, your logon information
will be sent to you by email. If the EMS program does not have an active email
address on file, you may contact the EMS program for assistance or send your
name, license number, and current email address to:
2014-2016 Wisconsin EMS Provider renewal information needed to complete
As an EMS provider applicant, you will need the following information to
complete the 2014-2016 EMS Provider Renewal Application:
Your initial or continuing EMS education refresher training
completed between July 1, 2012 and June 30, 2014;
Your current CPR card; and
Whether you were convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, or
deferred prosecution, since your last application, or have pending charges
at this time, or received a traffic violation that led to the suspension,
revocation or withdrawal of your driver's license, and all required court
documentation. (You will have the opportunity to upload the documents if you
have them electronically.) If you cannot upload your documents into the
application, you should email them to the Wisconsin EMS program at
fax them to 608-266-6392.
Please remember that making a false statement on an application is cause for
denial of a license renewal per DHS 110.54 (2).
Renewal Process Audits
The EMS program has been conducting random audits of the renewal process. If you
are selected for an audit, you must provide all requested documentation. Copies
of all information entered on the renewal application must be retained for at
least five years. Failure to provide the requested, required documentation will
result in the suspension or revocation of your EMS Provider license or
Getting started to renew an EMS certification or license
Click on the Wisconsin EMS
logo in the upper left corner of this page. You will be redirected to the Wisconsin Department of Health Services EMS
system account login page.
2014-2016 renewal instructions by provider level
2014-2016, First Responder Renewal Instructions P-00598 (PDF,
2014-2016, EMT Basic Renewal Instructions P-00598A
(PDF, 4.0 MB)
2014-2016, EMT Intermediate Technician /AEMT Renewal Instructions
P-00598E (PDF, 4.3 MB)
2014-2016, EMT Intermediate Renewal Instructions P-00598D (PDF,
2014-2016, EMT Paramedic Renewal Instructions P-00598B (PDF,
2014-2016, EMT Paramedic with Critical Care Endorsement Renewal Instructions P-00598C (PDF,
Renewal Instructions P-00598L (PDF,
Administrative Rules (exit DHS)
National Registry of EMTs (exit DHS)
Reciprocity (transfer out-of-state license)
Refresher Course List (PDF, 203 KB)
Renewal Training/Retraining Requirements
Training Centers and Contacts
Verification of Licensure (exit DHS)
Administrative Rule for Licensure - F-00569 (Word, 52 KB)
(Wisconsin Emergency Assistance Volunteer Registry)
July 09, 2014