Department of Health Services Logo

 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

QUICK LINKS:

Logo for Wisconsin EMS Licensing

2012 Reinstatement

EMS Home

A to Z Index

Complaints and Investigations

Contact EMS Unit

EMS Boards

EMS Administrative Rule 110

EMS State Statute 256

Events/
Opportunities

Exam Schedules

Forms

Licensing/
Certification

Links

Medical Director Resources

Numbered Memo Series

Public Information 

Reciprocity

Service Director Resources

Training Information

Verification of License (exit DHS)

WARDS

Wisconsin EMS providers by County

Wisconsin E-Licensing

Important E-Licensing Information! Read Carefully!

Before moving to the license application, please review this information carefully.  E-Licensing is best viewed with your monitor at 1024x768 screen resolution.  You may change this in the control panel.  If you do not, you will need to scroll both up and down and left to right.

In order to more quickly communicate with all EMS Providers, Service Directors and Medical Directors, our office intends to use the email address entered in E-Licensing.  Please make sure the email address entered in your E-Licensing account is current and that you are able to access it regularly.

Logon and Passwords

If you held a first responder certificate or EMT license since 2006, or if you hold a current license that expires on June 30, 2012, or you were enrolled in an EMS course through a Wisconsin EMS training center prior to August 2009, you already have a Wisconsin E-Licensing account. 

DO NOT create a new profile!  

  • If you have an active email address in your E-Licensing record and have access to it, you may try to obtain a new password by entering your license number in the logon field, then clicking “forgot password.”  A new password will be sent to your email address.  If you did not provide an email address or you no longer have access to the email address,we have on file in E-Licensing, DO NOT create a new profile. 

  • If you were trained out of state, have taken no EMS training in Wisconsin and are applying for an EMS personnel certificate or license for the first time, you may create a new profile and complete the Reciprocity License Application.

If you need further assistance, please contact the Wisconsin EMS Office.

Online Applications Available

The applications are listed in order as they appear in the E-Licensing (exit DHS). There is a brief description of each application and its use. It is very important that you choose the correct application.

06-2011 Provider Reinstatement License Application – this application must be used by applicants who have held a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license and did not renew their certification or license that has been expired for over six months but less then 2 years as described in DHS 110.09 This application does not assign a new EMS Personnel number. There is a reinstatement administrative fee of $75.00 as listed in DHS 110.16 (b)

Basic Training Permit Application (Only for part of a licensed EMT Basic service) – this application must be used by applicants who do not hold a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license. This training permit is to be used as listed in DHS 110.15 (2)

Basic Training Permit Local Credential Application – You must hold a current Basic Training Permit with a licensed EMT Basic Service prior to completing this application. This application is to be used by EMS Personnel to apply for local credentialing with an EMS agency/provider. It involves obtaining online, electronic approval from the EMS agency’s service director and medical director prior to being authorized to practice with the service. You must be locally credentialed prior to practicing with an EMS agency. There are EMS services with similar names so please select your service carefully!

EMS Instructor I License Application – this application is for applicants to assist Instructor II in the Wisconsin EMS education setting. This application does not assign a new EMS Personnel number. DHS 110.27

EMS Instructor I Local Credential Application – You must hold a current Instructor I license prior to completing this application. This application is to be used by EMS Personnel to apply for local credentialing with an EMS training center. It involves obtaining online, electronic approval from the EMS training center’s service director and medical director prior to being authorized to practice with the service. You must be locally credentialed prior to practicing with an EMS training center.

EMS Instructor II License Application – this application is for applicants to be a licensed instructor II in the Wisconsin EMS education setting. This application does not assign a new EMS Personnel number. DHS 110.28

EMS Instructor II Local Credential Application – You must hold a current Instructor I license prior to completing this application. This application is to be used by EMS Personnel to apply for local credentialing with an EMS training center. It involves obtaining online, electronic approval from the EMS training center’s service director and medical director prior to being authorized to practice with the service. You must be locally credentialed prior to practicing with an EMS training center.

EMS Personnel Initial License Application – this application must be used by applicants who never held a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license. This application assigns a new EMS Personnel number. DHS 110.06

Local Credential Agreement – You must hold a current certificate/license prior to completing this application. This application is to be used by EMS Personnel to apply for local credentialing with an EMS agency/provider. It involves obtaining online, electronic approval from the EMS agency’s service director and medical director prior to being authorized to practice with the service. You must be locally credentialed prior to practicing with an EMS agency. There are EMS services with similar names so please select your service carefully. DHS 110.11

Out of State Trained Individuals Verification of License Form – These forms must be completed by individuals applying for a Reciprocity License. EMS Personnel certificates/licenses who have held any EMS personnel license or certificate in another state and/or who completed EMS training in another state.

Out of State Trained Individuals Verification of Education Form – These forms must be completed by individuals applying for a Reciprocity License. EMS Personnel who have completed EMS training in another state.

Provider Downgrade License Application – this application must be used by applicants who have a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license but are applying to downgrade the level of their certificate/license to a lower level. This application retains your current EMS Personnel certificate/license number. DHS 110.08 (2)

EMS Personnel Upgrade License Application – this application must be used by applicants who have a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license but are applying to upgrade the level of their certificate/license to a higher level. This application retains your current EMS Personnel certificate/license number. DHS 110. 08 (1)

Reciprocity License Form – These forms must be completed by individuals applying for a Reciprocity License. EMS Personnel certificates/licenses who have held any EMS personnel license/certification another state and/or who completed EMS training in another state. There is a $50.00 fee for all reciprocity applications DHS 110.16 (e)

Late Renewal License Form – this application must be used by applicants who have held a Wisconsin EMS Personnel certificate or license and did not renew their certification or license that has been expired for less than as described in DHS 110.09 (1) This application does not assign a new EMS Personnel number. There is a reciprocity administrative fee of $50.00 as listed in DHS 110.16 (e)

If you have been assigned a random password, you will be required to change your password the first time you log in.  Please do not share logon and password information with anyone.  When you first log into E-Licensing, click on Update Profile and make certain that all your personal information is correct and up-to-date.  It is your responsibility to keep this information current at all times.  If you move or obtain a new email address, please log into E-Licensing and update your profile.

E-Licensing will communicate with you as you go through the application process.  Once your license is issued, you will be notified by email.  You may then log into E-Licensing and print a copy of your license.  Only then should you complete the Local Credential Agreement.

Carefully follow all of the above instructions.  You may now go to  E-Licensing (exit DHS) to update your profile or create a new account and complete the appropriate application.

Additional information