Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Accessibility Informational Resources

Find accessibility resources on this page. The resources provide information, referrals, support, and training.

  • 2010 American with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for Accessible Design: The ADA standards applicable to our funded recipients are issued by the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) and apply to facilities covered by the ADA in new construction and alterations. The DOJ’s standards apply to all facilities covered by the ADA, except public transportation facilities. The standards for covered entities are very similar to those covered under the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) and are closely based on the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG). However, each contains a few unique provisions, which are included in this edition of the standards.
  • ADA: The DOJ webpage contains publications and videos that answer questions such as:
    • What is the ADA?
    • Who is a person with a disability?
    • Who must comply with the ADA?
    • Where can you call to ask questions about the ADA?

The page contains the ADA regulations, design standards, and other media that provide information about compliance with the ADA and enforcement, plus other resource links.

  • CSD of Wisconsin: Assists hearing, deaf or hard of hearing individuals access services and information through the use of professional sign language interpreters. Services can be requested by anyone, whether deaf or hard of hearing, for public or private events in our service areas 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
  • DT Interpreting: Provides a mobile videophone conference unit that connects to certified translators within minutes of a request. The customer pays a monthly subscription fee for use of the equipment and for standby capacity: the availability is 24/7. The cost of the actual translation is charged by the minute.
  • Great Lakes ADA Center: One of 10 regional centers funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, a division of the U.S. Department of Education. Its purpose is to provide technical assistance and training to businesses and people with disabilities regarding the ADA.
  • National Council on Disability: The National Council on Disability is an independent federal agency making recommendations to the president and Congress on issues affecting Americans with disabilities.
  • Office for the Blind and Visually Impaired: The DHS Bureau for the Blind is a source for anyone who needs information about resources to serve our blind or visually impaired population.
  • Office for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: The DHS Office for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing provides information, referral, support, and training for people who are deaf or hard of hearing. In addition, the office can provide training to service providers and others about technology, issues, and laws that relate to the rights of people who are deaf or hard of hearing.
  • Services for people with disabilities: This DHS webpage lists programs and services designed to assist the removal of barriers, increase access, and provide support to people with disabilities.
  • Services for older adults: This DHS webpage lists programs and services designed to help support older adults and their caregivers.
  • Sprint Relay Online: A service offered to deaf and hard of hearing people that lets them place relay calls over the internet between locations in the United States (including its territories). International calls will either be blocked or terminated.
  • Telecommunications Relay Services: This service helps people who are deaf and hard of hearing talk to other people on the phone.
  • U.S. Access Board: The U.S. Access Board is responsible for developing and updating the ADAAG design guidelines. These guidelines are used by the DOG and the DOT in setting enforceable standards that the public must follow. Both the DOJ’s and DOT’s current ADA standards are based on the board’s updated ADAAG from 2004. As a result, for the most part, these two sets of standards are very similar. However, each contains additional requirements that are specific to the facilities covered by the respective agencies. These additional requirements define the types of facilities covered, set effective dates, and provide additional scoping or technical requirements for those facilities. DOJ’s ADA standards apply to all facilities except public transportation facilities, which are subject to DOT’s ADA standards. The edition of the ADA standards provided here are solely applicable to the DOJ’s additional provisions.
Last revised February 10, 2023