STAC: Regional Trauma Advisory Councils

Wisconsin trauma map by regionWisconsin Statute §256.25(1r) instructs the Department of Health Services (DHS) to develop and implement a statewide trauma care system and to develop Regional Trauma Advisory Councils (RTACs) as part of the system. An RTAC is a group of healthcare organizations, first responder agencies, and public safety and public health partners collaborating to develop, implement, monitor and improve their regional trauma system. Wisconsin has established seven RTACs that align with the seven healthcare emergency readiness coalitions (HERCs).

In order to serve their purpose, RTACs are charged with doing all of the following:

  • Establishing an executive council that reflects professional representation from out-of-hospital providers, trauma care facilities, education and injury prevention.
  • Analyzing local and regional trauma registry data.
  • Creating a local and regional performance improvement process.
  • Developing and implementing injury prevention and education strategies based on performance improvement findings.
  • Developing and submitting to DHS a regional trauma plan based on a needs assessment.
  • Developing regional triage and transport protocols.

Regional Trauma Advisory Councils

There are seven RTACs in Wisconsin. Below is information for each of the seven RTACs including the RTAC coordinators and their contact information, the chairs and vice chairs in each region, and links to the regional websites.

Fox Valley RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Jason Selwitschka
Chair Jeff Grimm, ThedaStar Air Medical
Vice Chair Tracy Miller, Aurora Medical Center - Oshkosh

Regional Website

Northeast RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Delbert Zuleger
Chair Bob Zemple, Aurora BayCare Medical Center
Vice-Chair Mark Madigan, County Rescue Services, Inc.

Regional Website

North Central RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Michael Fraley
Chair Sara Steen, Aspirus Wausau Hospital
Vice-Chair Gina Brandl, Marshfield Medical Center

Regional Website

Northwest RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Robert Goodland
Co-Chair Wayne Street, Mayo Clinic Health System
Co-Chair Eu Claire and Susan Ehman, HealthPartners

Regional Website

South Central RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Dan Williams
Chair Ben Eithun
Vice-Chair Healther Poker

Regional Website

Southeast RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Tom Thrash
Chair Lisa Hass-Peters
Vice Chair Melanie Sinclair

Regional Website

Southwest RTAC

Title Name
RTAC Coordinator Greg Breen
Chair Ben Harris, Crossing Rivers Health
Vice Chair Carl Ukkestad, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Additional contact information for HERC and EMS regional coordinators is available.

For corrections to the listings available on this page, please contact the State Trauma Coordinator.

Last Revised: December 28, 2020

This content reflects the views and opinions of the advisory council. It may not reflect the official policy or position of DHS.