Mental Health Day Treatment Services for Children (Chapter DHS 40) – Initial Certification

Contact Email

Phone

608-261-0656

Fax

608-261-0655
DHS/Division of Quality Assurance
Behavior Health Certification Section
PO Box 2969
Madison, WI 53701-2969

Mental Health Day Treatment Services for Children are certified by the Department of Health Services under Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DHS 40.

Type

Initial

Description

A Mental Health Day Treatment Service for Children means nonresidential care provided on prescription of a physician in a clinically supervised setting that provides case management and an integrated system of individual, family and group counseling or therapy or other services assembled pursuant to an individually prepared plan of treatment that is based upon a multi-disciplinary assessment of the client and his or her family and is designed to alleviate emotional or behavioral problems experienced by the client related to his or her mental illness or severe emotional disturbance.

Duration

One year (Provisional)

Fees

Annual Fees:

Services/Programs Amount
1 $550.00
2 $800.00
3 $1,000.00
4 $1,175.00
5 $1,350.00
Each additional $100.00
Telehealth (per certificate $200.00

Prerequisites

See Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DHS 40 and Chapter DHS 190.09.

Application Process

See Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DHS 40.04; on receipt of an application for initial certification or renewal of certification, the department shall review the application and its supporting documents; designate a representative to conduct an on-site survey of the program, including interviewing program staff. Within 60 days after receiving a completed application for initial certification or renewal of certification, the department shall either certify the program if all requirements for certification are met or deny certification if any requirement has not been met.

The following applications are required for certification of a Day Treatment Services for Children Program:

  • F-00548 (Word) Day Treatment for Children Initial Certification – Chapter DHS 40
  • F-62504* CSAS or Mental Health Clinic Initial Certification Application (call 608-261-0656 for this application)
  • F-00273* (Word) – Behavioral Health Services Renewal Certification Application Chapter DHS 94 – Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances

*These applications are not required if the program is being added to an existing certificate.

Caregiver Background Check – This process is not required if the program is being added to an existing certificate

A caregiver background check (CBC) is required to be completed for all applicants/legal representatives prior to the approval of any new license, certification or registration of a DQA regulated entity.

  • Review information for Licensee Applicants/License Holder Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process web page for the completion of the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form and Appendix. Complete either the Online Caregiver Background Check (CBC) process or the manual application process.
  • Also review information on the requirement for Employee Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process webpage.

WI Statutes

Chapter 51, State Alcohol, Drug Abuse, Developmental Disabilities and Mental Health Act

WI Administrative Code

Chapter DHS 12, Caregiver Background Checks
Chapter DHS 13, Reporting and Investigation of Caregiver Misconduct
Chapter DHS 40, Mental Health Day Treatment Services for Children
Chapter DHS 92, Confidentiality of Treatment of Records
Chapter DHS 94, Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances
Chapter DHS 190.09, Food Service

Additional Information

Visit the Mental Health Treatment Programs website for more information.

Last Revised: December 13, 2017