Comprehensive Community Services (CCS)

Comprehensive Community Services (CCS) is a program for individuals of all ages who need ongoing services for a mental illness, substance use disorder, or a dual diagnosis beyond occasional outpatient care, but less than the intensive care provided in an inpatient setting. The individual works with a dedicated team of service providers to develop a treatment and recovery plan to meet the individual's unique needs and goals. The goal of this community-based approach is to promote better overall health and life satisfaction for the individual. As of December 31, 2016, the latest data available, 4,594 individuals were enrolled in CCS.

Available in 64 counties and 2 tribes

CCS became available to counties and tribes in Wisconsin in 2005. In 2014, the state provided counties and tribes a financial incentive to form regions to increase access to CCS and create efficiencies in administration. Presently, there are 24 certified regions. These regions cover 64 counties and two tribes. One county provides CCS in a non-regional model.

Eligibility for CCS

Eligibility for CCS is determined through a screening process conducted by the county-based or tribal-based provider organization. This screening process is repeated annually to assess the individual's progress.


Information for individuals and their families regarding the CCS Program, including what services are available and how to enroll.


Information for county staff, service provider staff, and other stakeholders in the CCS Program.

Contact CCS Program staff

The Division of Care and Treatment Services oversees the CCS Program for the Department of Health Services. If you have general questions about the program, please call 608-266-2717 or email DHS DCTS CCS Support.

For information on services available in your area, please use this directory to find contact information for your county or tribal agency.

Last Revised: April 12, 2017