Family Health Section - Contacts

The Family Health Section has responsibility to improve the health of women, infants, children, teens and families as they progress through the critical developmental milestones of life. A major emphasis of the programs in the Family Health Section involves prevention, early screening, and early intervention. Our programs include Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN), Maternal and Child Health (MCH), Newborn Screening (NBS) and Injury Prevention.

Main Phone Line:  608-266-3890
Fax Number:          608-267-3824

Vacant - Family Health Section Chief

Sharon Fleischfresser, MD, MPH - CYSHCN Medical Director
608-266-3674 / Sharon.Fleischfresser@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs Unit, including Newborn Screening, Genetics Program

(Sarah) Kate Johnson - CYSHCN Unit Supervisor
608-267-3861 / SarahKate.Johnson@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Caroline Hayney - Zika Pregnancy Registry Coordinator
608-261-6879 / Caroline.Hayney@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Tim Lybeck - Clerical Assistant
608-266-1764 / Tim.Lybeck@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jayne Vargas - Grants Coordinator
608-266-0220 / Jayne.Vargas@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs Program (CYSHCN)

Becky Burns, MSSW - CYSHCN Statewide Coordinator
608-265-0505 / Becky.Burns@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Peggy Helm-Quest, MSed, MHA - CYSHCN Health Promotion Consultant
608-267-2945 / Peggy.HelmQuest@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Elizabeth Oftedahl, MPH - CYSHCN Epidemiologist
608-261-9304 / Elizabeth.Oftedahl@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Genetics Program

Michelle Kempf-Weibel - State Genetic Coordinator
608-267-7148 / Michelle.KempfWeibel@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Newborn Screening Program

Blood Screening and Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD)

Tami Horzewski - Newborn Screening Program Coordinator
608-266-8904 / Tami.Horzewski@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Timothy Markle - Senior Outreach Specialist
608-261-6879 / dhswicongenitaldisorders@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Hearing Screening (Wisconsin Sound Beginnings)

Elizabeth Seeliger, Au.D - Wisconsin Sound Beginnings Program Director
608-267-9191 / Elizabeth.Seeliger@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Shari Galitzer - Quality and Data Manager
608-267-7250 / ShariB.Galitzer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jeanne Gustafon, BS - Follow-Through Parent & Follow-up Outreach Specialist Northern and Western Regions
715-726-7900. ext. 2131/ jgustafson@dhs.co.chippewa.wi.us

Christi Hess, PhD, CCC-SLP - Early Intervention Outreach Specialist Southern Region
608-358-5053 / Christi.Hess@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Rebecca Martin, MPH - Outreach Specialist Follow-up Coordinator
608-261-7654 / Rebecca.Martin@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Susan Picione, BSN, RN - Follow-up Outreach Specialist Southeastern Region
414-286-6618/ spicio@milwaukee.gov

Connie Stevens, MA - Guide By Your Side (GBYS) Follow-Through Coordinator
608-266-0917 or 1-888-405-2724/ Connie.Stevens@dhs.wisconsin.gov

vacant - Out of Hospital Outreach Specialist
608-532-6464 or 608-647-2117

Injury Prevention and System Integration Unit

Injury and Violence Prevention

Melissa Heinz, MPH - Injury and Violence Prevention Coordinator
608-266-1451 / Melissa.Heinz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Molly Zemke - Injury and Violence Prevention Strategic Planning
608-266-3894 / Molly.Zemke@dhs.wisconsin.gov

National Violent Death Reporting System

Brittany Grogan, MPH - Wisconsin Coordinator
608-267-9008 / Brittany.Grogan@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Opioid Harm Prevention Program

Lisa Bullard-Cawthore, MS, MPH - Opioid Harm Prevention Coordinator
608-266-3008 / Lisa.BullardCawthorne@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Betsy Swenson, MSM - Opioid Harm Prevention Outreach Consultant
608-267-2173 / BetsyM.Swenson@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jennifer Tranmer, MA - Opioid Harm Prevention Communications Specialist
608-267-0329 / Jennifer.Tranmer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Kerry Zaleski, MPH - Opioid Harm Prevention Evaluation Consultant
608-266-3411 / Kerry.Zaleski@dhs.wisconsin.gov

System Integration

Shari Galitzer - Quality and Data Manager
608-267-7250 / ShariB.Galitzer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

vacant - State SPHERE System Administrator
608-267-7796 /

Julie Maccoux - SPHERE System, Office Operations Associate
920-448-5229 / Julie.Maccoux@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Maternal and Child Health Unit (MCH)

Terry Kruse - Maternal and Child Health Unit Supervisor
608-267-9662 / Terry.Kruse@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Amber Arb, MS - School-Age Adolescent Health Consultant
608-266-1049 / Amber.Arb@dhs.wisconsin.gov

vacant - MCH Epidemiologist/PRAMS Director
608-267-3727 /

Evelyn Cruz - MCH Equity Consultant
608-266-3504 / Evelyn2.Cruz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Katie Gillespie, RN, BSN - Consultant
608-266-1538 / Kate.Gillespie@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Leah Ludlum, RN, BSN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-267-6716 / Leah.Ludlum@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Shawn Meyer, RN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-504-6373 / Shawn.Meyer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Karen Morris, RN, BSN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
715-836-4989 / KarenJ.Morris@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Mary Rosecky, RN, BSN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-267-9473 / Mary.Rosecky@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Cathy Sendelbach - Family Planning Consultant
920-448-5221 / Catherine.Sendelbach@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Leslie Tou - Population Health Service Fellow
608-267-0348 / Leslie.Tou@dhs.wisconsin.gov

vacant - Family Planning and Reproductive Health Consultant
608-266-3959 /

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN)

Early Screening

Injury Prevention

Maternal and Child Health

Last Revised: September 29, 2017