Family Health Section - Contacts

The Family Health Section has responsibility to improve the health of women, infants, children, teens and families as they progress through the critical developmental milestones of life. A major emphasis of the programs in the Family Health Section involves prevention, early screening, and early intervention. Our programs include Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN), Maternal and Child Health (MCH), Newborn Screening (NBS) and Injury Prevention.

Main Phone Line:  608-266-3890
Fax Number:          608-267-3824

Jody Brassfield - Family Health Section Chief
608-267-7174 / Jody.Brassfield@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Sharon Fleischfresser, MD, MPH - CYSHCN Medical Director
608-266-3674 / Sharon.Fleischfresser@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs Unit, including Newborn Screening, Genetics Program

(Sarah) Kate Johnson - CYSHCN Unit Supervisor
608-267-3861 / SarahKate.Johnson@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Tim Lybeck - Clerical Assistant
608-266-1794 / Tim.Lybeck@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jayne Vargas - Grants Coordinator
608-266-0220 / Jayne.Vargas@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs Program (CYSHCN)

Becky Burns, MSSW - CYSHCN Statewide Coordinator
608-265-0505 / Rebecca.Burns@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Peggy Helm-Quest, MSed, MHA - CYSHCN Health Promotion Consultant
608-267-2945 / Peggy.HelmQuest@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Elizabeth Oftedahl, MPH - CYSHCN Epidemiologist
608-261-9304 / Elizabeth.Oftedahl@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Vacant - Newborn Screening Data and System Integration Specialist

Newborn Screening Program

Blood Screening and Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD)

Tami Horzewski, MS, CHES - Newborn Screening Program Coordinator
608-266-8904 / Tami.Horzewski@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Timothy Markle - Senior Outreach Specialist
608-262-8033 / dhswicongenitaldisorders@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Hearing Screening (Wisconsin Sound Beginnings)

Elizabeth Seeliger, Au.D - Wisconsin Sound Beginnings Program Director
608-267-9191 / Elizabeth.Seeliger@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Shari Galitzer - Quality and Data Manager
608-267-7250 / ShariB.Galitzer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jeanne Gustafon, BS - Follow-Through Parent & Follow-up Outreach Specialist Northern and Western Regions
715-726-7900. ext. 2131/ jgustafson@dhs.co.chippewa.wi.us

Christi Hess, PhD, CCC-SLP - Early Intervention Outreach Specialist Southern Region
608-358-5053 / Christi.Hess@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Rebecca Martin, MPH, IMH-E(II) - Outreach Specialist, Follow-up Coordinator, WIsconsin Sound Beginnings
608-261-7654 / Rebecca.Martin@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Susan Picione, BSN, RN - Follow-up Outreach Specialist Southeastern Region
414-286-6618/ spicio@milwaukee.gov

Connie Stevens, MA - Guide By Your Side (GBYS) Follow-Through Coordinator
608-577-3895 / Connie.Stevens@dhs.wisconsin.gov

W. Marijke van Roojen, LM, CPM, MPH (MCH) - Out of Hospital Outreach Specialist
920-217-3526/ WendyMarijke.vanRoojen@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Injury Prevention and System Integration Unit

Injury and Violence Prevention

Melissa Heinz, MPH - Injury and Violence Prevention Coordinator
608-266-1451 / Melissa.Heinz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Molly Zemke - Injury and Violence Prevention Strategic Planning
608-266-3894 / Molly.Zemke@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Vacant - Injury and Violence Prevention Epidemiologist/Evaluator

National Violent Death Reporting System

Brittany Grogan, MPH - Wisconsin Coordinator
608-267-9008 / Brittany.Grogan@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Opioid Harm Prevention Program

Lisa Bullard-Cawthore, MS, MPH - Opioid Harm Prevention Coordinator
608-266-3008 / Lisa.BullardCawthorne@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Betsy Swenson, MSM - Opioid Harm Prevention Outreach Consultant
608-267-2173 / BetsyM.Swenson@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jennifer Tranmer, MA - Opioid Harm Prevention Communications Specialist
608-267-0329 / Jennifer.Tranmer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Kerry Zaleski, MPH - Opioid Harm Prevention Evaluation Consultant
608-266-3411 / Kerry.Zaleski@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Vacant - Opioid Harm Prevention Epidemiologist

System Integration

Shari Galitzer - Quality and Data Manager
608-267-7250 / ShariB.Galitzer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Julie Maccoux - SPHERE System, Office Operations Associate
920-448-5229 / Julie.Maccoux@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Vacant - State SPHERE System Administrator
 

Maternal and Child Health Unit (MCH)

Terry Kruse - Maternal and Perinatal Consultant
608-267-9662 / Terry.Kruse@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Fiona Weeks, MPH - MCH Epidemiologist/PRAMS Director
608-266-1049 / Fiona.Weeks@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Katie Gillespie, RN, BSN - Women's Health Nurse Consultant
608-266-1538 / Kate.Gillespie@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Leah Ludlum, RN, BSN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-267-6716 / Leah.Ludlum@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Shawn Meyer, RN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-504-6373 / Shawn.Meyer@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Karen Morris, RN, BSN - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
715-836-4989 / KarenJ.Morris@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Mary Rosecky, RN, BSN, CHES - Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant
608-267-9473 / Mary.Rosecky@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Cathy Sendelbach, MS, CHES - Family Planning/Reproductive Health Consultant
920-448-5221 / Catherine.Sendelbach@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Mariah Geiger - Public Health Associate Program Fellow
608-266-2684 / Mariah.Geiger@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Vacant - MCH Equity Consultant

Vacant - Epidemiologist Evaluator

Vacant - Family Planning and Reproductive Health Consultant

Vacant - School-Age Adolescent Health Consultant

Vacant - Office Operations Associate

Vacant - Population Health Service Fellow

Vacant - Population Health Service Fellow

Vacant - Statewide Systems Development (SSDI) Program Director

Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN)

Early Screening

Injury Prevention

Maternal and Child Health

Last Revised: November 8, 2017