Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Family Health Section: Contacts

The Family Health Section of the Bureau of Community Health Promotion within the Division of Public Health has responsibility to improve the health of women, infants, children, teens, and families as they progress through the critical developmental milestones of life. A major emphasis of the programs in the Family Health Section involves prevention, early screening, and early intervention.

Our programs include Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN), Maternal and Child Health (MCH), Newborn Screening (NBS), Violence and Injury Prevention, Opioid and Overdose Harm Prevention, Reproductive Health and Family Planning (RHFP), and Infant and Maternal Health.

Unless otherwise indicated, staff are based out of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services building at 1 W. Wilson St., Madison.

Fax number: 608-267-3824

Kathleen Hanson – KathleenM.Hanson@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Grant Specialist Advanced
608-261-9304

Katrina Heche, MPH – Katrina.Alber@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Title V Block Grant Director
608-504-1336

Maren Holm – Marenl.Holm@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Staff Development Specialist

Ashley Kreul – Ashley.Kreul@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Grant Specialist
608-266-3504

Julia Norton – Julia.Norton@dhs.wisconsin.gov, CDFT – Health Equity Coordinator

Meg Diedrick – Meg.Diedrick@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists Fellow

Deirdre Sperry – Deirdre.Sperry@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists Fellow

Nikki Ripp – Nikki.Ripp@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal and Child Health Unit Supervisor

Kara Benjamin, MPH – Kara.Mathewson@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Director of Adolescent Health Initiatives
608-266-1004

Sharon Gilbert – Sharon.Gilbert@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Home Visiting Nurse Consultant
608-640-6040 (mobile)

Erika Hagen MS, PhD – Erika.Hagen@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Adolescent Health Coordinator

Alicia Hynek – Alicia.Hynek@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Perinatal Nurse Consultant

Mary Kusch, MPH Mary.Kusch@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Title V Evaluator and Epidemiologist/State Systems Development Initiative Grant Director

Virginia Loehr – Virginia.Loehr@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Child and Adolescent Health Consultant

Heidi Massey – HeidiM.Massey@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Title V Community Health Promotion Specialist

Shawn Meyer – Shawn.Meyer@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal and Child Health Public Health Nurse Consultant
608-504-6373

Maggie Smith – MargaretJ.Smith@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Adolescent Health Coordinator
608-886-2947

Justine Thicke – Justine.Thicke@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Adolescent Health Coordinator

Maternal and Child Health Public Health Nurse Consultant – vacant

Maternal and Child Health Nurse Consultant – vacant

Julie Thiel,BS Pharm, PharmD – Juliea.Thiel@dhs.wisconsin.gov – CYSHCN Unit Supervisor
608-571-8438

Michelle Lund, LPC – Michellem.Lund@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) Program Director

Tami Horzewski, MS, CHES – Tami.Horzewski@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Wisconsin Newborn Screening Program Coordinator
608-266-8904

Tim Lybeck – Tim.Lybeck@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Clerical Assistant
608-267-9008

Vince Milisauskas – Vince.Milisauskas@dhs.wisconsin.gov – WE-TRAC and Wisconsin Birth Defects Registry Information System Specialist
608-267-7148

Melissa Olson, MS – Melissa.Olson@dhs.wisconsin.gov – CYSHCN Epidemiologist/Birth Defects Epidemiologist
608-575-1471

Mandy Quainoo – Amanda.Quainoo@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Newborn Screening Follow-through Coordinator
608-335-4146

Leah Ricci – Leah.Reuter@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Newborn Screening Data Reporting and System Integration Specialist
608-628-9302

Elizabeth Seeliger, AuD – Elizabeth.Seeliger@dhs.wisconsin.gov, –  Wisconsin Sound Beginnings Program Director
608-422-1254

Melissa Skenandore – Melissa.Skenandore@dhs.wisconsin.gov – CYSHCN Program Coordinator

Kaitlin Tolliver, MSW, LCSW – Kaitlin.Tolliver@dhs.wisconsin.gov – CYSHCN and Birth Defects Program Coordinator
608-266-6967

Tamara Thompson – Tamara.Thompson@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Newborn Screening Out of Hospital Coordinator
608-332-4861

Isabella Walters – Isabella.Walters@dhs.wisconsin.gov – UW Population Health Service Fellow

Dr. Mary Landry, MD – Mary.Landry@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Title X Medical Director

Ashley Dombrowicki, RN, MSN, BSN – Ashley.Dombrowicki@dhs.wisconsin.gov – RHFP RN Consultant

Chelsea Onchuck, RN – ChelseaM.Onchuck@dhs.wisconsin.gov – RHFP RN Consultant

RHFP Unit Supervisor – vacant

RHFP Epidemiologist – vacant

Kenmikiiya Terry – Kenmikiiya.Terry@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal and Infant Mortality Prevention Unit Supervisor
608-332-8583

Robert Fontella – Robert.Fontella@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Health Education and Outreach Specialist

Emily Morian-Lozano, MPH, MSW – Emily.Morianlozano@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal Mortality Review Epidemiologist
608-266-2684

Karen Morris – KarenJ.Morris@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal Mortality Review Nurse Abstractor (Western Regional Office)

Mary Rosecky – Mary.Rosecky@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal Mortality Review Nurse Abstractor

Jacqueline Sills-Ware – Jacqueline.Sillsware@dhs.wisconsin.gov - Community Partnership Specialist

Hannah Schmidt – Hannah.Schmidt@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Community Partnership Specialist

Mary Wienkers, MPH – Mary.Wienkers@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal Mortality Review Coordinator

Lidarose Young – Lidarose.Young@dhs.wisconsin.gov – Maternal Mortality Review Program Records Gatherer

Maternal and Infant Mortality Prevention Epidemiologist/Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) Project Director – vacant

Resource contacts

National Maternal Mental Health Hotline

You're not alone. Becoming a new parent can be hard. It is normal to feel depressed, anxious, and overwhelmed after having a baby. It's important to remember that mental health challenges are common during this time and there is no shame in seeking help. If you would like someone to talk to, call or text the National Maternal Mental Health Hotline at 833-TLC-MAMA (833-852-6262) any time. The service is available English and Spanish.

Grief support and bereavement resources

Have you or your family been impacted by an infant loss? The Wisconsin Department of Health Services funds partners across the state so that families who lose a baby have access to grief support and bereavement resources. These partners also provide resources for those serving grieving families. The services are free and available to anyone in Wisconsin.

Last revised January 25, 2024