PHC: Executive Committee

Staff at the Department of Health Services are currently working on updating the Wisconsin Public Health Council webpages and these updates will be posted in the near future. If you have any questions or would like to know more about the Public Health Council and its current status, please contact Tyler Schoen or Joe Tatar.

The Executive Committee's purpose is to: 1) Provide leadership and to establish and monitor direction for the Council's actions; 2) plan agendas that will create efficient and effective Council meetings that are focused upon the Council's stated purpose, and that include evaluation of meeting effectiveness; and 3) make emergency decisions on behalf of the Council when necessary.


Purpose, Scope and Timing

The charge to this committee is to make recommendations to the full Council on priorities and strategies to achieve the Council's goals related to Healthiest Wisconsin 2010, the state health plan. The full Council has the responsibility to advise the Department of Health Services (DHS), governor, the legislature and the public on progress in implementing DHS' 10-year public health plan and coordination of responses to public health emergencies.

The Executive Committee has the following roles:

  1. Assure the integration of the vision, mission, and strategies into the activities of the Council and its committees.

  2. Review and develop strategies and policies for review by the Council.

  3. Support the priorities and activities of the Council by managing the Council's operations.

The Committee shall perform additional functions from time to time as assigned by the Council.

Proposed Committee Membership and Staffing Responsibilities

The Executive Committee shall be composed of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and at least two, but no more than five, Council members to be appointed by the Chair and approved by the Council.

Executive Committee Members 2005:

  1. Sandy Anderson - Vice Chair

  2. Bevan Baker

  3. John Bartkowski - Vice Chair

  4. Gary Gilmore - Secretary

  5. Stephen Hargarten

  6. Ayaz Samadani - Chair

  7. Jeanan Yasiri

  8. Julie Willems Van Dijk

Susan Wood and Stacia Jankowski of the Division of Public Health will staff this committee.

Meetings of the Executive Committee will be held every other month beginning in March 2005. Each meeting is to be scheduled two weeks prior to the Council meeting. Minutes are to be distributed to all Council members by email within two weeks of the Committee meeting.

Committee business will be conducted in meetings, conference calls and using email. The Chair will develop the meeting agenda and schedule.

Committee Members

Mr. William Keeton (Chair)

Ms. Mary Dorn (Chair-Elect)

Dr. Alan Schwartzstein (Interim Secretary)

Dr. Gary Gilmore (Immediate Past Chair)

Meeting Agendas and Minutes


July 17, 2020

May 22, 2020

April 17, 2020 - Cancelled

March 6, 2020

January 17, 2020


December 20, 2019

December 2, 2019 - Canceled due to lack of quorum

November 15, 2019 

October 11, 2019 

August 26, 2019 

June 27, 2019

June 24, 2019

May 17, 2019

April 12, 2019

March 15, 2019


December 21, 2018

October 19, 2018

August 17, 2018

July 20, 2018

June 15, 2018

April 20, 2018

March 16, 2018

February 16, 2018 (Canceled)

January 12, 2018

Last Revised: June 24, 2022

This content reflects the views and opinions of the advisory council. It may not reflect the official policy or position of DHS.