Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Regional Trauma Advisory Councils


A Regional Trauma Advisory Council (RTAC) is an organized group of health care entities and others who are interested in organizing and improving trauma care in a specified region of Wisconsin. The purpose of an RTAC is to develop, implement, and monitor a regional trauma system plan to facilitate trauma system networking within a region.

RTAC membership may include, but is not limited to, hospitals, physicians, nurses, Emergency Medical Service (EMS) providers and their medical directors, rehabilitation facilities, communications centers, injury prevention organizations, and community groups. RTACs collaborate with the State Trauma Advisory Council (STAC), the Department of Health Services Injury Prevention Program, and all other entities involved with, and affected by, injury.

Regional Trauma Advisory Council Map

The 7 regions:

Regions Counties
Region 1: Northwest Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, Saint Croix, Sawyer, Washburn
Region 2: North Central Clark, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, Portage, Price, Taylor, Vilas, Wood
Region 3: Northeast Brown, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto
Region 4: Southwest Buffalo, Crawford, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, Vernon
Region 5: South Central Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Marquette, Sauk, Richland, Rock
Region 6: Fox Valley Area Calumet, Green Lake, Menominee, Outagamie, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago
Region 7: Southeast Fond du Lac, Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha
Last revised December 30, 2019