Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Birth to 3 Program: Program Eligibility

The Birth to 3 Program is a statewide program that serves families with children under the age of 3 who have developmental delays or disabilities. An evaluation by your local county Birth to 3 Program will help find if your child is eligible for the program.

Who do I contact?

You can contact your local county Birth to 3 Program to learn:

  • More about the program.
  • What it does.
  • How it can help.

They will help you understand if the program is right for your family. They can also answer any questions you may have. If you want to learn more, contact your county.

Contact your local county program

Who is eligible?

Eligibility is based on one of these:

  • A developmental delay of at least 25% in one or more areas of development
  • A physician-diagnosed condition with a high probability of developmental delay
  • Atypical (unusual) development that negatively affects your child’s overall development

The team that evaluates your child includes:

  • You (the parent or caregiver).
  • A service coordinator.
  • Other professionals trained in child development.

Your child’s growth and learning are always changing. The evaluation will only look at your child’s abilities at a point in time to find if your child needs services. Together, the team will assess your child’s strengths, abilities, and needs.

You will be a part of the evaluation at every step. You know the most about your child’s:

  • Skills and abilities.
  • Health history.
  • General development.

That knowledge will help determine if your child is eligible for the Birth to 3 Program. You can also help the team better understand your child by sharing your:

  • Routines
  • Culture
  • Beliefs

What are the areas of development?

  • Developmental milestones are skills that children gain as they develop and grow. These skills fall into four areas: Language/communication
  • Social/emotional (forming relationships and understanding and managing emotions)
  • Cognitive (learning, thinking, and problem-solving)
  • Movement and physical development

Often, skills build on each other. For example, a baby first learns to pull up, then to stand, and then to walk. Each of those skills is a developmental milestone. Every child develops at their own pace. However, sometimes a child may not reach a milestone by a certain age. If that happens, supports or services from the Birth to 3 Program could help boost their development. Learn more about developmental milestones and find resources for parents and caregivers.

An adult reads to a toddler.
Last revised July 26, 2022