Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Birth to 3 Program: Information for Counties

In Wisconsin, each county runs the Birth to 3 Program in their area. Counties must meet requirements included in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. It is a federal law. It governs how states and public agencies provide services to children with disabilities. This includes requirements about:

  • Finding families who may qualify
  • Evaluation and eligibility
  • Related services

The Wisconsin administrative code DHS 90 are rules that state how the federal requirements must be followed in Wisconsin.

Essential children's resources

Wisconsin Wayfinder: Children's Resource Network Logo

Wisconsin Wayfinder supports families of children with delays, disabilities, special health care needs, and mental health conditions. Children’s resource guides are helpers who assist families, caregivers, professionals, and organizations in finding a wide array of supports and services available through the Children’s Resource Network.


Ongoing support and guidance

The following pages provide guidance and resources for counties serving children in the Birth to 3 Program and their families.

Do you need information about ways DHS shares information with county programs? Please see the Outreach at a Glance for Counties, P-02704 (PDF), guide.

COVID-19 updates

We are committed to protecting the health and safety of our members and participants during the COVID-19 pandemic. To stay informed about the latest program updates, limitations to in-person contacts, general COVID-19 resources, and more:


Last revised February 7, 2024