Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) Transitional Residential Treatment Service (DHS 75.14): Initial

Contact Email

Phone

608-261-0656

Fax

608-261-0655

Mailing Address

DHS/DQA/Behavioral Health Certification Section
PO Box 2969
Madison, WI 53701-2969

Type

Initial

Description

 Attention Providers

Current Wis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 75 (PDF) is still in effect until October 1, 2022. You will need to scroll to find your subchapter, sections, subsections, or paragraphs.

View the text of revised Wis. Admin. Code ch. DHS 75 and visit the Revised DHS 75 Implementation webpage for more information.

 

A transitional residential treatment service is a clinically supervised, peer-supported therapeutic environment with clinical involvement. The service provides substance abuse treatment in the form of counseling for 3 to 11 hours per patient weekly, immediate access to peer support through the environment and intensive case management which may include direct education and monitoring in the areas of personal health and hygiene, community socialization, job readiness, problem resolution counseling, housekeeping and financial planning.

Duration

One year (Provisional)

Fees

Annual Fees:

Services/Programs Amount
1 $550.00
2 $800.00
3 $1,000.00
4 $1,175.00
5 $1,350.00
Each additional $100.00

Instructions

Application Process

According to Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 75.03 (2)(c)Determination. Upon receipt of a completed application for certification DHS shall review the application for compliance with this chapter, which may include an on-site survey. Within 45 days after receiving a completed application, DHS shall either approve or deny the application. If the application for certification is denied, DHS shall give the individual or organization applying for certification reasons, in writing, for the denial and shall inform the individual or organization of a right to appeal that decision under par. (i).

The following applications are required for Community Substance Abuse (CSAS) certification for a Transitional Residential Treatment Service:

* These applications are not required if the service is being added to an existing certification.

Caregiver Background Check

A caregiver background check (CBC) is required to be completed for all applicants/legal representatives prior to the approval of any new license, certification or registration of a DQA regulated entity.

  • Review information for Licensee Applicants/License Holder Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process web page for the completion of the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form and Appendix. Complete either the Online Caregiver Background Check (CBC) process or the manual application process.
  • Also review information on the requirement for Employee Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process webpage.

WI Statutes

Wisconsin Stat. ch. 51, State Alcohol, Drug Abuse, Developmental Disabilities and Mental Health Act

Wisconsin Stat. § 51.45, Prevention and control of alcoholism and drug dependence.

WI Administrative Code

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 12, Caregiver Background Checks

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 13, Reporting and Investigation of Caregiver Misconduct

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 75 including Appendix A, Appendix B, and Appendix C

Wisconsin Admin. Admin. Code § DHS 75.02, Definitions

Wisconsin Admin. Admin. Code § DHS 75.03, General Requirements

Wisconsin Admin. Admin. Code § DHS 75.14, Transitional Residential Treatment Service

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 92, Confidentiality of Treatment of Records

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 94, Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances

Program Information

Visit the Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) Treatment Programs webpage for more information.

Last Revised: June 3, 2022