Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Medical Licensing and Certification: End Stage Renal Disease

In Wisconsin, End Stage Renal Disease facilities that are part of Medicare or Medicaid must be certified.




End stage renal disease dialysis certification is for facilities that provide:

  • Outpatient maintenance dialysis services.
  • Home dialysis training and support services.
  • Both services.

Initial certification is for facilities that wish to get payments from Medicare and/or Medicaid programs. Payments are for treating patients two to three times a week. The treatment removes waste from the blood that the kidneys can't remove.


For application details, either:

Last revised January 26, 2023