Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) Outpatient Treatment Services: Initial Certification

Contact Email




DHS/Division of Quality Assurance
Behavioral Health Certification Section
P.O. Box 2969
Madison, WI 53701-2969

Outpatient Treatment Service is certified by the Department of Health Services (DHS) under Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DHS 75.13.




An outpatient treatment service is a non-residential treatment service totaling less than 12 hours of counseling per patient per week, which provides a variety of evaluation, diagnostic, crisis and treatment services relating to substance abuse to ameliorate negative symptoms and restore effective functioning. Services include individual counseling and intervention and may include group therapy and referral to non-substance abuse services that may occur over an extended period.


One year (Provisional)


Annual Fees:

Services/Programs Amount Branch
1 $550.00 Tier 1 $200.00
2 $800.00 Tier 2 $500.00
3 $1,000.00    
4 $1,175.00    
5 $1,350.00    
Each additional $100.00    


See Wisconsin Administrative Codes Chapter DHS 75.13 (2) and Chapter DHS 75.13 (3)

Application Process

According to Chapter DHS 75.03 (2)(c) – Determination. Upon receipt of a completed application for certification DHS shall review the application for compliance with this chapter, which may include an on-site survey. Within 45 days after receiving a completed application, DHS shall either approve or deny the application. If the application for certification is denied, DHS shall give the individual or organization applying for certification reasons, in writing, for the denial and shall inform the individual or organization of a right to appeal that decision under par. (i).

The following applications are required for Community Substance Abuse Services (CSAS) certification for an Outpatient Treatment Service:

  • F-00544 (Word) CSAS Outpatient Treatment Service Initial Certification Application – Chapter DHS 75.13
  • F-00523 (Word) CSAS General Requirements Initial Certification Application – Chapter DHS 75.03
  • F-00438 (Word) CSAS Verification of Criteria (Clinical Supervisor, Medical Director, Physician, or Service Physician) – Chapter DHS 75.02 (11)
  • F-62504(Word) CSAS or Mental Health Clinic Initial Certification Application
  • F-00273* (Word) Behavioral Health Services Initial Certification Application – Chapter DHS 94 – Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances

*These applications are not required if the service is being added to an existing certificate

Caregiver Background Check

A caregiver background check (CBC) is required to be completed for all applicants/legal representatives prior to the approval of any new license, certification or registration of a DQA regulated entity.

  • Review information for Licensee Applicants/License Holder Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process web page for the completion of the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form and Appendix. Complete either the Online Caregiver Background Check (CBC) process or the manual application process.
  • Also review information on the requirement for Employee Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process webpage.

WI Statutes

Chapter 51, State Alcohol, Drug Abuse, Developmental Disabilities and Mental Health Act
Chapter 51.45, Prevention and Control of Alcoholism

WI Administrative Code

Chapter DHS 12, Caregiver Background Checks
Chapter DHS 13, Reporting and Investigation of Caregiver Misconduct
Chapter DHS 75 including Appendix A, Appendix B and Appendix C
Chapter DHS 75.02, Definitions
Chapter DHS 75.03, General Requirements
Chapter DHS 75.13, Outpatient Treatment Service
Chapter DHS 92, Confidentiality of Treatment of Records
Chapter DHS 94, Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances

Additional Information

Visit the Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) Treatment Programs website for more information.

Last Revised: November 25, 2019