Mental Health, Youth Crisis Stabilization Facilities (DHS 50): Initial

Contact Email

Phone

608-261-0656

Fax

608-261-0655

Mailing Address

DHS/DQA/Behavioral Health Certification Section
PO Box 2969
Madison, WI 53701-2969

Type

Initial

Description

A youth crisis stabilization facility is a treatment service with a maximum of eight beds that admits a minor to prevent or de-escalate the minor's mental health crisis and avoid admission of the minor to a more restrictive setting.

Duration

Non-expiring: a certification is valid until suspended or revoked by DHS.

Fees

Biennial Fees:

Services/Programs Amount
1 $1,100.00
2 $1,600.00
3 $2,000.00
4 $2,350.00
5 $2,750.00
Each additional $200.00

Instructions

Step 1:

Before applying for certification, perspective providers must receive approval from the Division of Care and Treatment Services (DCTS). Per Wis. Stat. § 51.042(2)(a), DHS may limit the number of certifications it grants to operate Youth Crisis Stabilization Facilities.

Call 608-266-2717 or email dhswebmaildcts@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Step 2:

Apply for certification through the Division of Quality Assurance (DQA).

See Wis. Admin. Code § DHS 50.03 Certification; On receipt of an application for initial certification, DHS shall review the application and its supporting documents; and designate a representative to conduct an on-site survey of the program, including interviewing program staff. Within 60 days after receiving a completed application for initial certification, DHS shall either certify the program if all requirements for certification are met or deny certification if any requirement has not been met.

The following application is required for certification of a Youth Crisis Stabilization Facility:

Note: A Youth Crisis Stabilization Facility cannot have branch offices. A separate certification must be issued for each address.

Caregiver Background Check – This process is not required if the program is being added to an existing certificate.

A caregiver background check (CBC) is required to be completed for all applicants/legal representatives prior to the approval of any new license, certification or registration of a DQA regulated entity.

  • Review information for Licensee Applicants/License Holder Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process webpage for the completion of the Background Information Disclosure (BID) form and Appendix. Complete either the Online Caregiver Background Check (CBC) process or the manual application process.
  • Also review information on the requirement for Employee Background Checks found on the Caregiver Background Check Process webpage.

WI Statutes

Wisconsin Stat. ch. 51, State Alcohol, Drug Abuse, Developmental Disabilities and Mental Health Act

WI Administrative Code

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 12, Caregiver Background Checks

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 13, Reporting and Investigation of Caregiver Misconduct

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 50, Youth Crisis Stabilization Facilities

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 92, Confidentiality of Treatment of Records

Wisconsin Admin. Code ch. DHS 94, Patient Rights and Resolution of Patient Grievances

Program Information

Visit the Mental Health Treatment Programs webpage for more information.

Last Revised: June 15, 2022