Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

WISH: Urban and Rural Counties

County urban and rural designations can vary based on which methodology is used. The Wisconsin Office of Rural Health provides a good summary of the different methodologies. The urban and rural breakdown used here is based on the map as seen in the Wisconsin Office of Rural Health's Rural Wisconsin Health report.

Map of Wisconsin showing rural and urban areas

Urban counties

Brown, Calumet, Chippewa, Columbia, Dane, Douglas, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green, Iowa, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Marathon, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Racine, Rock, St. Croix, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago

Rural counties

Adams, Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Burnett, Clark, Crawford, Dodge, Door, Dunn, Florence, Forest, Grant, Green Lake, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Monroe, Oneida, Pepin, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Waupaca, Waushara, Wood
Last revised October 25, 2022