Children's Long-Term Support Waiver - Who is Eligible?

All children or young adults must meet the basic requirements listed below for CLTS Waiver eligibility. To qualify for certain types of funding, there may be additional requirements (see below).

To participate in the CLTS Waiver, your child must:

  • be under 22 years of age;

  • be eligible for Wisconsin Medicaid, including:

  • be a United States citizen or have acceptable immigration status;

  • be a Wisconsin resident;

  • not have income in their name in excess of the current Medicaid standards;

  • live at home or in a foster care setting;

  • have a level of care (PDF) need that is typically provided in an institutional setting such as a hospital, a nursing home, or an institution for people with developmental disabilities; and

  • be able to receive safe and appropriate care at home and/or in the community; and be able to receive safe and appropriate care at home and/or in the community that does not have a cost to the Wisconsin Medicaid Program that exceeds the cost Medicaid would pay if the child were in an institution.

Additional Requirements for Certain Types of Funding

Waiver services are funded in part by the federal government and in part by the state or the county. The federal "match" is determined by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. For the CLTS Waiver, Wisconsin fully funds the state "match" for many waiver participants, and local county agencies may have some local funds they could use as a "match" for other waiver participants.

Last Revised: June 19, 2017