FoodShare Wisconsin: Monthly Income Limits

The following income levels are used to determine enrollment in FoodShare Wisconsin. To see if you may be able to enroll, apply today.

FPL stands for "Federal Poverty Level" which is defined by Congress each year.

Note: The federal COVID-19 stimulus package signed into law at the end of December 2020 included funds to increase the maximum allotments for FoodShare recipients by 15% for six months, January 1 through June 30, 2021. This period was extended by the American Rescue Act signed into law in March 2021 and the 15% increase is now effective through September 30, 2021. The maximum allotment column below reflects the temporary increase.

Effective January 1 through September 30, 2021:


*200% FPL
Gross Income Limit

165% FPL
Gross Income Limit
****Separate Household

130% FPL
Gross Income Limit

***Reporting Limit

100% FPL
**Net Income Limit




$1,755 $1,383





$2,371 $1,868





$2,987 $2,353





$3,603 $2,839





$4,219 $3,324





$4,835 $3,809





$5,451 $4,295





$6,067 $4,780





$6,683 $5,266




$8,850 $7,299 $5,752 $4,425 $1,760
For each additional
person add:
$748 $616 $486 $374 $176


* If your family's gross income is at or below 200% of the FPL your family will pass the "Gross Income Test." You will be given certain credits which will be subtracted from your gross income. (By gross income, we mean before any taxes and deductions have been taken.)

** If your family's net income is at or below 100% of the FPL after your credits have been subtracted, you may be able to get FoodShare benefits. For more information about the credits you may be able to get, please see the ForwardHealth Enrollment and Benefits handbook.

***If you are enrolled in FoodShare, you must report to your agency if your family's income goes over 130% of the FPL. For more information about reporting changes, see the ForwardHealth Enrollment and Benefits handbook.

****In a very small percent of cases, 165% of the FPL is used to see if you are able to get FoodShare benefits. This income limit is used if you and your spouse (if married) are living and eating with others and you need to apply separately. You may do this only if:

  1. You are age 60 or older.

  2. You cannot purchase and prepare your own meals because:

  • You are considered by the Social Security Administration to be permanently disabled, or
  • You have a permanent physical or mental non disease-related disability.
  1. The gross monthly income of the persons with whom you and your spouse (if married) live with does not go over 165% of the FPL for the number of others in the household.


USDA Nondiscrimination Statement

More Equal Opportunity Information

Last Revised: April 23, 2021