EMS Boards and Committees

Several advisory boards advise the Department of Health Services (DHS) on Emergency Medical Services (EMS) issues. Two of these boards and their subcommittees are:

EMS Board

About the EMS Board

The EMS Board provides recommendations directly to DHS. Listed below is a summary of the roles and duties of the EMS Board.

Statutory Duties:

  • Appoints EMS Physician Advisory Committee
  • Periodically reviews and makes recommendations on rules changes
  • Provides review and recommendations to DHS on DHS-proposed rule changes
  • Provides recommendations to DHS on the funding assistance program
  • Provides review and recommendations to DHS on preparation of mandated reports

The EMS Board makes recommendations to DHS on general EMS issues either assigned by legislation or raised by members of the public. Medical issues are referred to the Physician Advisory Committee.

EMS Board members are appointed by the Governor. Appointment information and application.

EMS Board Position Statements:

EMS Board Membership

Member Contact Information Member Contact Information

Jerry Biggart (Chair)
Oak Creek Fire Department
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Email: axswngr@att.net
(term expires 05/01/20)

Mark Fredrickson (Vice-Chair)
Gold Cross Ambulance
Menasha, Wisconsin
Email: mark@goldcross.org
(term expires 05/01/20)

Don Kimlicka
Clintonville Area Ambulance Service
Wisconsin EMS Association
Email: dkimlicka@charter.net
(term expires 05/01/21)

Gregory West
Waukesha County Technical College
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Email: gwest@wctc.edu
(term expires 05/01/20)

Timothy Bantes
Grand Chute Fire Department
Grand Chute, WI
Email: timothy.bantes@grandchute.net
(term expires 05/01/22)

Michael Clark, MD, MPH
Medical Advisor
Fox Valley Healthcare Coalition
Email: michael.clark@ascension.org
(term expires 05/01/21)

Dustin Ridings
Green Bay Metro Fire Department
Green Bay, WI
Email: dustinri@greenbaywi.gov
(term expires 05/01/20)
Chris Eberlein, MD
Gundersen Health
LaCrosse, WI
Email: cmeberle@gundersenhealth.org
(term expires 05/01/21)

Christopher Anderson (Secretary)
Bell Ambulance, Inc.
Milwaukee, WI
Email: ca@264bell.com
(term expires 05/01/20)

Government Representatives
Non-Voting Members:

DHS/DPH Representative
Mark Lockhart, EMS Section Chief

1 W Wilson St
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659
Email: Jonathan.Lockhart@dhs.wisconsin.gov

State EMS and Trauma Medical Director
M Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine & Pediatrics
Medical College of Wisconsin
Email: colella@mcw.edu

DOT/BOTS Representative

4802 Sheboygan Ave
PO Box 7936
Madison, WI 53707-7936

EMSC Representative
Michael Kim, MD, FAAP

UW School of Medicine/Public Health
Madison, WI 53792
Email: mkkim@medicine.wisc.edu

WTCS Board Representative
Timothy Weir

4622 University Avenue
PO Box 7874
Madison, WI 53707-7874
Email: timothy.weir@wtcsystem.edu

Steven Zils, MD
Aurora Medical Center-Grafton
Grafton, Wisconsin
Email: steven.zils@gmail.com
(term expires 05/01/22)

Laura Albert
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Madison, Wisconsin
Email: lauraalbertphd@gmail.com
(term expires 05/01/22)


EMS Board committees are formed to address specific issues and develop recommendations on EMS-related topics. All voting members are appointed by the Board and attend meetings the first Tuesday of the month in conjunction with the regular Board meetings. As with all Board meetings, members of the public are encouraged to attend.

All persons interested in serving on a standing committee should submit their application to the Wisconsin EMS Section.

Standing committees are listed below, with Board members in boldface. A calendar of meeting dates/locations is posted on this website.

Committee Functions


System Quality and Data

  • Public information reporting
  • CQI as it relates to data
  • Establish criteria for reports that drive system quality initiatives
  • Latest NEMSIS version implementation recommendations
  • Monitoring WARDS and compliance with Wisconsin EMS strategic planning

* Carrie Meier (Chair)
* Chris Eberlein, MD (Vice-Chair)

Ryan Huser
Christoph Walters
Mason Pooler
Joshua Brown
Josh Weiner
Dan Pojar

EMS Education and Training
  • Review curricula - All levels as needed
  • Curricula and logistics to transition to a higher-level EMT licensure
  • Statewide biannual training requirements (hot topics, etc.)
  • Assist with educational components related to EMS Office, EMS Board, WTCS and training center initiatives
  • Wisconsin EMS strategic planning

* Greg West (Chair)
Alyssa Cahoon
Brian Litza
Jeff Matcha
Amanda Bates
Jeffrey Freese
Kelly Bechel

EMS System Management and Development
  • Interface with DOT Trans 309 Committee
  • Development of local EMS leadership
  • Legislative initiatives
  • Recommend ways and means to sustain and advance the EMS system in the state
  • Recruitment and retention
  • Mobile Integrated Health Care and other public health integration into public safety

* Michael Clark, MD (Chair)
Dana Sechler
Josh Finke
Thomas Fennell
Nick Romenesko
Nick Eastman

EMS Physician Advisory Committee
  • Assist with development of qualifications for medical directors at the local level
  • Serve as an advisory committee for all related agencies (Wisconsin Technical College System Board, Department of Transportation)
  • Assist with development of medical items for state database
  • Medical director education and statute/rule interpretation and intent
  • Recommend scope of practice for each EMT level
  • Other duties as assigned by the Board

* Steven Zils, MD (Chair)
Mark Schultz, MD
Robert Zemple, MD
Kasey Kronenfeld, MD
Tom Grawey, MD
Michael Lohmeier, MD
Sean Marquis, MD

Last Revised: December 17, 2019