The mission of the Wisconsin Emergency Medical Services (EMS) program is to ensure that the highest quality and standards of pre-hospital emergency medical care are available to all Wisconsin citizens and visitors. Certification or licensing provides a level of protection to Wisconsin citizens and visitors, and assures that an individual holding a certificate or license has met certain minimum competencies and is authorized to practice, as defined by law. All current Wisconsin EMS provider licenses and certifications expire on June 30, 2016.
Besides holding a current Wisconsin certification and license to practice as an Emergency Medical Services provider in Wisconsin, you must also be locally credentialed with the service for which you are practicing. Licenses and certifications must be renewed prior to the expiration date of June 30, 2018, in order to continue practicing under your license. To practice as an EMT or First Responder in Wisconsin, you must have a current license/certificate and be credentialed with a service.
Important Renewal Dates
The 2016-2018 Provider License Renewal application is now available online through your E-Licensing account for the July 1, 2016, through June 30, 2018 licensing biennium. You must complete the 2016-2018 Provider Renewal application by June 30, 2016, in order to obtain a current certification or license that is valid until June 30, 2018.
All Wisconsin EMS provider applications are completed in the E-Licensing system. The important renewal dates to remember for 2016-2018, are:
July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2016 is the standard renewal period.
July 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016 will be the late renewal period and incurs a $50 late renewal administrative fee (per DHS 110.16 (1) (a)).
January 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018 is the current reinstatement period and incurs a $75 reinstatement administrative fee (per DHS 110.16 (1) (b)).
A license or certification that has been expired for two years or more may only be reinstated by successful completion of the initial education, training and examination requirements.
Your Contact Information
As EMS providers, you should ensure that your U.S. postal mailing address and email information are kept current in the E-Licensing system. This will assure that you will receive all renewal notifications and mailings from the Wisconsin EMS office. All renewal notices will be sent through the E-Licensing system and to the U.S. postal mailing address listed in your E-Licensing account.
If you do not receive your 2016-2018 Wisconsin EMS License Renewal information by March 15, 2016, you should assume that you do not have a current email address in the E-Licensing system and/or your U.S. postal mailing address in the system is incorrect. Those EMS provider applicants with out-of-date addresses in the system will also be subject to a $30.00 Returned Renewal Fee, as listed in DHS 110.16 (c). Failure to receive a renewal notification does not relieve an EMS provider of the responsibility to renew his/her license.
Continuing education is a personal responsibility. Your initial or continuing education refresher training requirements need to be completed between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2016, for this renewal biennium. Flexible continuing education may be obtained through any format, but it needs to meet DHS 110.07 renewal of a license or certificate, refresher retraining requirements. For all EMS providers, the renewal education refresher requirements for both alternate, flexible refresher training and standard refresher training are located at:
Waiver Request for Active Military Deployment, Medical Conditions, etc.
If you are unable to renew your current certification or license due to active military deployment during the biennium, preventing your ability to complete refresher activities, or you had a significant medical condition during the biennium that prevented you from completing refresher activities, you may be able to receive an extension for the renewal process by completing the Waiver of Administrative Rule for Licensure - F-00569 (Word, 52 KB). You should submit the supporting documentation and completed form to firstname.lastname@example.org. The EMS program has sole discretion in determining if the waiver will be granted. The decision of the EMS program is final and is not appealable under DHS 110.59.
What happens if an EMS provider applicant does not renew his/her license by June 30, 2016?
If a currently licensed or certified Wisconsin EMS provider has not renewed his/her provider license or certification by June 30, 2016, that provider may not function as an EMS provider after that date.
According to DHS 110.05 (2):
" a person acting or advertising as an EMT or First Responder without a license or certificate issued by the department or without appropriate credentialing may be subject to department action under sub ch. V or s. 256.15 (11) (c), (d), or (f), Stats., as applicable."
Any application received after June 30, 2016, will be considered a late renewal under DHS 110.09 (1):
"An individual may renew a license or certificate that has been expired for less than 6 months by applying to the department for license or certificate renewal as specified under s.DHS 110.07 and submitting the late renewal fee ($50.00) specified under s.DHS 110.16 (1). Upon the department's renewal of the applicant's license or certificate, the EMS professional shall be credentialed under s.DHS 110.52 before performing emergency medical care as an EMT or First Responder."
What if I want to upgrade/downgrade my license?
The Wisconsin EMS program issues only a single license at the highest level (an EMS provider applicant's "primary license level"), based on the applicant's education and training. You should only complete one renewal application, and you may only renew at the level of your current license.
If you are eligible to upgrade your license level, then you will need to log into your E-Licensing account and complete a Provider Upgrade application.
If you are eligible to downgrade your license level, then you will need to log into your E-Licensing account and complete a Provider Downgrade application.
To upgrade or downgrade a license, please use the provider upgrade or provider downgrade application. The renewal application cannot be used to upgrade or downgrade a license level.
How to Apply
Logging in to an E-Licensing Account
If you do not remember your username or password, you may attempt to recover your logon information by going to the E-Licensing logon page and clicking "forgot username or password." You may also use the "Account Lookup" feature using your last name, date of birth and social security number. If your E-Licensing account has a valid email address on file, your logon information will be sent to you by email. If the EMS program does not have an active email address on file, you may contact the EMS program for assistance or send your name, license number, and current email address to: email@example.com.
2016-2018 Wisconsin EMS Provider renewal information needed to complete the application
As an EMS provider applicant, you will need the following information to complete the 2016-2018 EMS Provider Renewal Application:
Your initial or continuing EMS education refresher training completed between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2016;
Your current CPR card and ACLS card as needed for ALS Licensure; and
Whether you were convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, or deferred prosecution, since your last application, or have pending charges at this time, or received a traffic violation that led to the suspension, revocation or withdrawal of your driver's license, and all required court documentation. (You will have the opportunity to upload the documents if you have them electronically.) If you cannot upload your documents into the application, you should email them to the Wisconsin EMS program at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax them to 608-261-6392.
Please remember that making a false statement on an application is cause for denial of a license renewal per DHS 110.54 (2).
Renewal Process Audits
The EMS program has been conducting random audits of the renewal process. If you are selected for an audit, you must provide all requested documentation. Copies of all information entered on the renewal application must be retained for at least five years. Failure to provide the requested, required documentation will result in the suspension or revocation of your EMS Provider license or certification.
Getting started to renew an EMS certification or license
Click on the Wisconsin EMS E-Licensing system logo in the upper left corner of this page. You will be redirected to the Wisconsin Department of Health Services EMS E-Licensing system account login page.
- 2016-2018 License/Certification Renewal Requirements Memo 15-05 (PDF, 66 KB)
- Administrative Rules
- Communication Plan (EMS)
- EMS Section
- Name Change
- National Registry of EMTs
- Reciprocity (transfer out-of-state license)
- Refresher Course List (Note: Scroll down to EMS Refresher List after page opens.)
- Renewal Training/Retraining Requirements
- Training Centers and Contacts
- Verification of Licensure
- Waiver of Administrative Rule for Licensure - F-00569 (Word, 52 KB)
- WEAVR (Wisconsin Emergency Assistance Volunteer Registry)