Hospices - Information for Providers

Division of Quality Assurance Information

Other Wisconsin Information

Federal Information

Federal Links - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (including S&C letters), HIPAA, Civil Rights, US Department of Labor, etc.

Licensee Change of Ownership

If operation of the hospice is later transferred to another owner, ownership group, or to a lessee, the licensee is required to notify the Division of Quality Assurance at the time they are planning a change-of-ownership transfer as the license is non-transferable.

Documentation must be submitted to the Division of Quality Assurance to officiate the change of owner.

If operation of the hospice is later transferred to another owner, ownership group, or to a lessee, the Health Insurance Benefits Agreement will be transferred.

  • You are required to notify the Division of Quality Assurance at the time you are planning a change-of-ownership transfer as your license is non-transferable.
  • Complete all applicable sections of application, including Section B. which may be obtained from the Hospice Licensing Specialist who can be reached at 608-266-2702

See Rules & Regulations for hospices:

  • Wisconsin Statutes, Chapter 50.90
  • Wisconsin Administrative Code, DHS 131 - Hospice Rules
  • Please review and submit Policies and Procedures Necessary to meet DHS 131
  • A nonrefundable fee of $300.00 must be included with your application as required under DHS 131.14(1), except that:
    • The fee for a hospice that is a nonprofit corporation and is served entirely by uncompensated volunteers or employs persons in not more than 1.5 positions at 40 hours of employment per week shall be $25; and
    • The fee for a hospice that is a nonprofit organization, that is served entirely by uncompensated volunteers and that charges no fees may be waived by the department upon request.
    Your check should be made payable to the Division of Quality Assurance.
  • Caregiver Background Check Process  - A background check is completed on all signatories and interested parties having access to clients.

    • Select the appropriate section, "New Applicant" or "Existing."
    • Complete and required Background Information Disclosure (BID) forms.
    • Review Chapters 1 and 2 in the "Caregiver Program Manual" concerning the fees and process of employees' background checks.

Additional Information

Safety in Healthcare

Emergency Preparedness

U.S. Department of Labor

Seasonal Information

Additional Resources:

Last Revised: February 9, 2015