Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

EMS Physician Advisory Committee

The EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC) makes recommendations to the Department of Health Services on medical issues related to EMS.  Although the EMS Advisory Board appoints members to the EMS Physician Advisory Committee, the EMS-PAC does not report directly to the Board. Listed below is a summary of the roles, duties, and interactions between the EMS Advisory Board, the EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC), and the State Medical Director. Visit the EMS Board and Committee Meetings page for information on all EMS Board and Committee meetings.

Statutory duties

  • Advise the Department of Health Services on selection criteria and performance of the State Medical Director
  • Advise the Medical Director on appropriate medical issues

Board-assigned duties

  • Assist with development of qualifications for medical directors at the local level
  • Serve as an advisory committee for all related agencies (Wisconsin Technical College System Board, Department of Transportation)
  • Assist with development of medical protocols for use in Wisconsin
  • Recommend Scope of Practice for each EMT level
  • Other duties as assigned by the Board

Committee membership

Voting members

Steven Zils, MD (Chair)
Aurora Medical Center - Grafton
Grafton, WI 53024

Mark Schultz, DO, FACEP (Vice Chair)
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI 53188

Chuck Cady, MD
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI 53188

Michael Clark, MD, MPH
Medical Advisor
Fox Valley Healthcare Coalition

Chris Eberlein, MD
Gunderson Health System
La Crosse, WI 54601

Tom Grawey, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226

Kasey Kronenfeld, MD
SSM Health Wisconsin  
Madison, WI 53715

Sean Marquis, MD, MPH, FACEP, FAEMS
Mercy Health System
Janesville, WI 53548

Robert Zemple, MD
Aurora BayCare Medical Center
Green Bay, WI, 54311

Non-voting members

Jonathan (Mark) Lockhart, EMS Section Chief
1 W Wilson St
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659

M Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH, FACEP
Associate Professor or Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226


This content reflects the views and opinions of the advisory council. It may not reflect the official policy or position of DHS.

Last revised October 22, 2018