EMS Physician Advisory Committee

The EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC) makes recommendations to the Department of Health Services on medical issues related to EMS.  Although the EMS Advisory Board appoints members to the EMS Physician Advisory Committee, the EMS-PAC does not report directly to the Board. Listed below is a summary of the roles, duties, and interactions between the EMS Advisory Board, the EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC), and the State Medical Director. Visit the EMS Board and Committee Meetings page for information on all EMS Board and Committee meetings.

Statutory duties

  • Advise the Department of Health Services on selection criteria and performance of the State Medical Director
  • Advise the Medical Director on appropriate medical issues

Board-assigned duties

  • Assist with development of qualifications for medical directors at the local level
  • Serve as an advisory committee for all related agencies (Wisconsin Technical College System Board, Department of Transportation)
  • Assist with development of medical protocols for use in Wisconsin
  • Recommend Scope of Practice for each EMT level
  • Other duties as assigned by the Board

Committee membership

Voting members

Steven Zils, MD (Chair)
Aurora Medical Center - Grafton
Grafton, WI 53024
Email: steven.zils@gmail.com

Mark Schultz, DO, FACEP (Vice Chair)
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI 53188
Email: firedr@wi.rr.com

Chuck Cady, MD
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI 53188
Email: ccady54@gmail.com

Michael Clark, MD, MPH
Medical Advisor
Fox Valley Healthcare Coalition
Email: michaelr.clark@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Chris Eberlein, MD
Gunderson Health System
La Crosse, WI 54601
Email: cksse4816@mhemail.org

Tom Grawey, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226
Email: tgrawey@gmail.com

Kasey Kronenfeld, MD
SSM Health Wisconsin  
Madison, WI 53715
Email: kronenfeld@mep.health

Sean Marquis, MD, MPH, FACEP, FAEMS
Mercy Health System
Janesville, WI 53548
Email: smarquis@mhemail.org

Robert Zemple, MD
Aurora BayCare Medical Center
Green Bay, WI, 54311
Email: bobzemple@gmail.com

Non-voting members

Jonathan (Mark) Lockhart, EMS Section Chief
1 W Wilson St
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659
Email: jonathan.lockhart@dhs.wisconsin.gov

M Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH, FACEP
Associate Professor or Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226
Email: colella@mcw.edu

 
Last Revised: October 22, 2018