EMS Physician Advisory Committee

The EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC) makes recommendations to the Department of Health Services on medical issues related to EMS.  Although the EMS Advisory Board appoints members to the EMS Physician Advisory Committee, the EMS-PAC does not report directly to the Board. Listed below is a summary of the roles, duties, and interactions between the EMS Advisory Board, the EMS Physician Advisory Committee (EMS-PAC), and the State Medical Director. Visit the EMS Board and Committee Meetings page for information on all EMS Board and Committee meetings.

Statutory duties

  • Advise the Department on selection criteria and performance of the State Medical Director
  • Advise the Medical Director on appropriate medical issues

Board-assigned duties

  • Assist with development of qualifications for medical directors at the local level
  • Serve as an advisory committee for all related agencies (Wisconsin Technical College System Board, Department of Transportation)
  • Assist with development of medical protocols for use in Wisconsin
  • Recommend Scope of Practice for each EMT level
  • Other duties as assigned by the Board

Committee membership

Voting members

Steve Andrews, MD, FACEP, FAEMS (Chair)
Aurora Lakeland Medical Center
Elkhorn, WI
Email: steveandrews@hotmail.com

Mark Schultz, DO, FACEP (Vice Chair)
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI
Email: firedr@wi.rr.com

Chuck Cady, MD
Waukesha Memorial Hospital
Waukesha, WI
Email: ccady54@gmail.com

M Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI
Email: colella@mcw.edu

Chris Eberlein, MD
Gundersen Lutheran
La Crosse, WI
Email: cksse4816@mhemail.org

Sean Marquis, MD, MPH, FACEP, FAEMS
Mercy Health System
Janesville, WI
Email: smarquis@mhemail.org

Steven Zils, MD
Aurora Medical Center - Grafton
Grafton, WI
Email: steven.zils@gmail.com

Non-voting members

Michael Clark, MD, MPH
Medical Advisor
Fox Valley Healthcare Coalition
Email: michaelr.clark@wisconsin.gov

Suzanne Martens, MD, State Medical Director
Saint Nicholas Hospital
Sheboygan, WI
Email: Suzanne.Martens@Wisconsin.gov

James Newlun, State EMS Director
1 W Wilson St
PO Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701-2659
Email: James.Newlun@Wisconsin.gov

 
Last Revised: January 6, 2017